728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Cooking or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Oven Igniter for Gas Ranges

Oven Igniter for Gas Ranges

Replaces all round style (Carborundum) oven igniters. It includes two high temp wire nuts. It does not replace flat style igniters. The dark grey coil is very fragile, so handle with care.
Overall rating:
4.643 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product12 of 13reviews
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(12)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Features 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product12 of 13reviews
Customer questions and answers:
29 Questions | 30 Answers
Customer reviews for Oven Igniter for Gas Ranges
Review 1 for Oven Igniter for Gas Ranges
from Braselton, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product works great!

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product works great in my oven. It does exactly what it is supposed to. Fairly easy to install as well. I am not the best handyman in the world, but I replaced this myself. I wasn't 100 percent sure that this was the issue for my oven not working, but I ordered the part, and with great instructions, I installed it and my family is cooking warm meals again!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, High Quality, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Oven Igniter for Gas Ranges
from Staten Is
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It works

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good product. Was in stock and shipped to the store for pick-up. Was easy to install by DIY person.
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Oven Igniter for Gas Ranges
from Crystal Lake, IL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Nice packaging with clear directions

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The 75 gallon hot water tank is a bit much for 1 person to handle, but once in was a breeze to maneuver. The directions were clear and all the parts required to adapt to my current piping were all standard. The cost of this unit did make me consider installing 2-40 gallon units instead, but the simplicity of the unit sold it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Cons: cost vs 2-40s, short guarantee
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Oven Igniter for Gas Ranges
from nj
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Genuine GE part for less

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The genuine GE igniter part came with good directions for installation. I would recommend this product to anyone. My problem was removal of the old igniter part. The directions were oversimplified in this respect.
I ended up removing the oven door, and storage drawer under the oven. Then after removing the oven bottom metal plate (2 thumb screws) and gas flame metal baffle under that (2 small metal screws with nut driver), the venturi and igniter are exposed.
I decided to remove the entire gas venturi (gas tube with holes in it) that the igniter is attached to, because I could not get the nut driver or wrench on the screws holding the igniter in place. Also, the screws holding the bracket in place were not accessible. Once the venturi was removed, another issue came up; the screw ends holding the igniter in place are flanged, and don't unscrew all the way, so I couldn't remove the igniter. However since there was enough space with the screws loosened [in between the bracket of the igniter and venturi], I decided to use my soniccrafter with the flat "metal cutting" blade, to cut each screw quickly.
Once that was done, the new igniter installed easily into the existing bracket with new screws that were provided. I then reinstalled the venturi [with new igniter attached] into the oven and completed the wiring process per directions. [Tip:cut the wires of the old igniter as close to the old igniter as possible - it gives you that much more wire slack to work with when wiring in the new igniter when connecting with the ceramic wire connectors provided.
After that, I plugged the oven in and tested it for ignition and operation by pressing "Bake" controls and setting oven temp at 200 degrees. It ignited and worked fine. I reinstalled the oven bottom, oven door and drawer.
The Product is a genuine GE part and came with good installation instructions. It cost less than going to the GE site directly. I needed the part quickly so I paid for "Express Shipping". The part arrived 2 days later, early evening, around 6pm on the 2nd day. Not what I was expecting, for paying all that extra $$ to get it in one business day. But, as I was told by HD customer service, that delivery time only applies to Business Orders - not Consumers. So....determine if the extra $$ your paying, to get it delivered to you quickly, is worth it. I don't understand why the difference between consumer and business for delivery--- aren't we all Customers who deserve the same courtesy and service for the price we are paying to receive expedited delivery????
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Oven Igniter for Gas Ranges
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

every thing I needed

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
to fix the oven. this is a reoccuring problem with this oven and I saved money by doing it myself.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Oven Igniter for Gas Ranges
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect fit and easy to install

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It arrived on time and was exactly what I needed. The install was easy and my stove fired right up after!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Oven Igniter for Gas Ranges
from san diego

Product was delivered without the igniter

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Summary line says it all. The package came in on time with an unopened bag inside. Unfortunately the bag contained the wire nuts and bracket. No igniter...
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Oven Igniter for Gas Ranges

Easy self repair and replacement

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had no trouble getting to the part in my oven and pulling it out, finding the model number of the oven finding the specific replacement part, ordering it, getting it in and then replacing it in my oven. It worked beautifully without a hitch!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Oven Igniter for Gas Ranges
from Lexington, NC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

gas igniter

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
quality product
shipped in good order and efficently
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Oven Igniter for Gas Ranges

Correct product, in stock, good price.

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good product, have to replace it too often though.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Oven Igniter for Gas Ranges
from Twentynine Palms, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

IT WAS EXACTLY WHAT I NEEDED

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It was shipped out fast so that I could install it in my customer's house quicker. I liked that.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Oven Igniter for Gas Ranges
from Florissant, MO, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product fixed our oven. It was not working for almost a year. We were nervous that it wouldn't work because we did it ourselves. We were very pleased that it was an easy product to use and understandable.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Oven Igniter for Gas Ranges

Great Product

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I thought about going to the GE Parts website for this; however, GE was $1.00 cheaper and their shipping was outrageous. HD has them beat by a mile. Same product, less money, sorry GE; HD is the way to go.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Oven Igniter for Gas Ranges

Right part

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Item arrived within a few days. It was easy to install and enabled us to fix the oven without calling an expensive repairer. Will see how long it works...
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.