728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Charcoal Filter for Over-the-Range Microwaves

Charcoal Filter for Over-the-Range Microwaves

The filter is comprised of charcoal, which absorbs old odors and prevents them from recirculating into future meals. Dirty filters also create more strain on your microwave and limit its lifespan. This Genuine GE Part is easy to replace.
Overall rating:
3.188 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
50%of customersrecommend this product7 of 14reviews
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
3.2 out of 5.0
5
(4)
4
(4)
3
(2)
2
(3)
1
(3)
Features 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
Quality 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Value 
3.1 out of 5.0
3.1 out of 5
50%of customersrecommend this product7 of 14reviews
Customer reviews for Charcoal Filter for Over-the-Range Microwaves
Review 1 for Charcoal Filter for Over-the-Range Microwaves

Misleading incorrect part

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I chose the filter based on the serial number in my product manual. While this has the same number it is not the correct part at all. It does not fit at all and even if I kept it and dealt with it being too small the air from the oven vent keeps knocking it over since it is so light and cheaply made. I'm not even sure there's charcoal in this thing or not. Still can't believe my oven didn't come with one of these. Maybe it's a superfluous part that isn't really necessary. Hoping I can return this!
Cons: Not Durable, part not compatible
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Charcoal Filter for Over-the-Range Microwaves
from Central Tx
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not a good value, very lightweight & fit is loose.

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If I had to do over again, I think I would just run the oven without this filter. I guess it may
Remove odors somewhat, but other than that it doesn't have much function that I
Can see. It just kind of tilts against a stop inside oven and moves when fan
Is turned on and off. I'm pretty sure this one filter is supposed to fit multiple
Ovens & doesn't really fit any of them. I can't believe this is what you get for $30!
Cons: No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Charcoal Filter for Over-the-Range Microwaves
from Illinois, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

EXPENSIVE, AND DOES NOT FIT WELL IN MICROWAVE

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
PRODUCT IS OF LESSER QUALITY THAN I EXPECTED FOR THE PRICE. THIS IS A SMALL ALUMINUM FRAME PIECE THAT DOES NOT FIT THE OVERALL APPLICATION WELL.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Charcoal Filter for Over-the-Range Microwaves

works great!

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service was very helpful,the filter was delivered as promised and we installed it with ease. Have only used the microwave a few times since installing the charcoal filter and it worked great. No unpleasant odors. Thank you.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Charcoal Filter for Over-the-Range Microwaves
from Aitkin
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very good

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I really like our new microwave, learning how to use it. Have not done the convection oven yet, will try before we have company and need to use it.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Charcoal Filter for Over-the-Range Microwaves

This product is a great idea.

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The filter helps keep the air clean and improved performance. It's easy to install or change out. The instructions are clear and easy to understand.VMT
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Charcoal Filter for Over-the-Range Microwaves
from Elgin, IL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female

I would recommend this product

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Was pleased with the product, but it was difficult to install.....no instructions included.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy
Cons: No Instructions, Difficult to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Charcoal Filter for Over-the-Range Microwaves

VERY difficult to install

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I haven't tested how well the filter works, but the installation was ridiculously hard, and I don't believe the filter can be replaced now that the microwave is installed because we had to remove the back panel to get the filter to stay in place.
Cons: Difficult to Install
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Charcoal Filter for Over-the-Range Microwaves
from South Windsor, CT
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great GE products

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Purchased the Adora Refrigerator, Adora Dishwasher, Adora Electric Stove and the Profile Microwave/Convection oven. All work as proclaimed. The frig was a little noisey, but a GE rep came out a put in new fans and and a sound insulation cover on the compression. It is quieter now and acceptable.
Pros: Stylish, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Nice Design
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Charcoal Filter for Over-the-Range Microwaves

very easy to install

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
this filter was very easy to install and does a good job.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Charcoal Filter for Over-the-Range Microwaves
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Charcoal filter did not fit

PostedDecember 17, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We ordered the filter that was recommended for my microwave. It did not fit. We installed the microwave without the charcoal filter. Waiting to see results.
Cons: Difficult to Install, Difficult to Use
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Charcoal Filter for Over-the-Range Microwaves
from Houston Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product is very difficult to fit

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product seemed to be what was advertized but there was a difference between the instructions for fitting and the actual. The height was too large and there was no way to hold it and follow the instructions. We thought that it must be the wrong one but it checked with the number in the instruction book. We have found that the instruction books that came with the microwave are too brief and too confuising. We don't know whether we will be able to get the filter out when it needs changing.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Charcoal Filter for Over-the-Range Microwaves
from Salt Lake City, Utah
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

charcoal filter

PostedNovember 18, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was not pleased with the quality & price of this "little" and I mean "little" filter. And it was not even made in the good ole USA!! Very cheaply made and not worth the $$$ and on top of that "shipping"
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Charcoal Filter for Over-the-Range Microwaves
from North Carolina
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy install but seems expensive.

PostedOctober 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This filter is surprisingly effective at eliminating cooking odors.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Charcoal Filter for Over-the-Range Microwaves

GREAT SERVICE, VERY OVERPRICED PRODUCT

PostedMarch 6, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
FAIR FIT, CHEAPLY MADE PRODUCT, SORRY I'LL HAVE TO BUY ANOTHER LATER DOWN THE ROAD. BUT LIKELY IT WILL BE NECESSARY.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Charcoal Filter for Over-the-Range Microwaves

its just a filter

PostedNovember 5, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
not sure why hd wants a review on this its just a filter. An overpriced filter at that too
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.