728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Sliding Windows or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Utility Left-Hand Single Sliding Vinyl Window

Utility Left-Hand Single Sliding Vinyl Window

The TAFCO Utility Vinyl Slider Window, White, with Single-Glazed Glass and Screen is the perfect choice for garages, porches, barns and steel buildings. The solid bright white welded vinyl construction virtually eliminates maintenance issues. A built in J-channel accepts vinyl siding, or most exterior finishes that make it very easy to install. Multiple sized windows are in stock and ready for nationwide delivery. Simply, the TAFCO Utility Vinyl Slider is a beautiful window at a great price.
Overall rating:
4.624 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(93 reviews) 93
Open Ratings Snapshot
99%of customersrecommend this product86 of 87reviews
Rating Breakdown 93 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(60)
4
(31)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Appearance 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
99%of customersrecommend this product86 of 87reviews
Customer reviews for Utility Left-Hand Single Sliding Vinyl Window
Review 1 for Utility Left-Hand Single Sliding Vinyl Window

Great for the money

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Not sure what else you can ask for in a window for this cheap. I used two for my shed I just built and they are perfect for that. They seal pretty well and slide open easily. However, these are sideways sliding windows. If you open the window vertically, it will not stay open. Another kind of odd thing is they screw in from the outside, so really you would just need to pull the window trim off and unscrew the window to break into my shed, but for the price they really are just what I was hoping for. 5 stars because I can't be overly critical at something so much cheaper than all the other options out there.
Pros: Multi Use, Beautiful Appearance, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Easy to Clean, Good Size & Fit
Cons: screws in from the outside so easily broken into
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Utility Left-Hand Single Sliding Vinyl Window

Excellent for the price!

PostedApril 25, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used two of these on my shed. Easy to install, but was not aware of the extra flange on the outside of the frame. This made installation of the siding a bit more difficult. Extra flange doesn't need to be there. Had to get crative with the trim around window.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Utility Left-Hand Single Sliding Vinyl Window
from KS
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Product

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
For my son's club house they were a great value. Maintenance free was a big plus for the price.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Fits in Various Rooms, Good Size & Fit
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Utility Left-Hand Single Sliding Vinyl Window
from Sacramento, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent in all respects

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased 2 of these single glazed windows for a shed, easy ordering, fast free shipping excellent packaging, price and installation were very easy and they looked great on my shed. Highly satisfied customer
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Utility Left-Hand Single Sliding Vinyl Window
from Kalispell, MT
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked great in my storage shed

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Not much to say, it's an inexpensive, basic no frills sliding vinyl window with a bug screen. I used screws to install the mounting flanges, then put siding up against the exterior channels and finished off with some generic molding, I like it.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Good Size & Fit
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Utility Left-Hand Single Sliding Vinyl Window
from Northern California, United States
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy installation

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
It was very nice to be able to order online and receive at my home. The product arrived quickly and was well packed. However, the mounting flanges were not too straight. It looked like they got too hot, or were stored wrong. The windows were easy to install and I guess they will work OK. Time will tell.
Pros: Good Size & Fit, Easy to Install
Cons: Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Utility Left-Hand Single Sliding Vinyl Window
from Middleton, MA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I searched the web as best I could and Home Depot was the only one the had the size that I needed. Much appreciated.

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The quality of the window was acceptable. It fulfilled my need and looks and functions well in my chicken coop.
Pros: Multi Use, Beautiful Appearance, Easy to Install, Functional, Good Size & Fit
Cons: color
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Utility Left-Hand Single Sliding Vinyl Window
from United States
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The windows are great!

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We are remodeling our old barn, the windows are going in easy and it will be great to have this project finished and have years of maintenance free windows! THANKS!
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Easy to Clean, Good Size & Fit, Great Detail
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Utility Left-Hand Single Sliding Vinyl Window
from Kahoka, MO 63445, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great windows for the price

PostedOctober 31, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
These widows are great for deer stands. Very easy to install. Should last forever being vynil.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functional, Good Size & Fit
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Utility Left-Hand Single Sliding Vinyl Window
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product is as shown.

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product was as specified. 1 week delivery time from order date. Works good in a storage shed / ticket booth setup for our events, Good value for the money.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Good Size & Fit
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Utility Left-Hand Single Sliding Vinyl Window
from Troy, TN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A good deal for the money!

PostedFebruary 21, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
These windows were perfect for my project. I built a raised deer blind and needed quiet sliding windows with removeable screens. These were perfect and priced right. Take note that these windows can only be set to open one way. The sliding panel is held in the groove by gravity. This makes for easy removal when cleaning but causes the window to fit too loose to use it for opening upward. While heat loss is not a factor in my blind, these windows would do well for a shop or shed. They seal air tight when closed and latched. I also painted them and the paint stuck pretty good. I don't have a Home Depot close so I ordered these online. They came in just a few days. Hard to beat this window at this price.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Utility Left-Hand Single Sliding Vinyl Window
from Hawthorne, CA, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome window. Easy to install in a 23 9/16" x 23 9/16" space.

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The window is great quality, and you can't beat free shipping on orders of $45 or more. I purchased two of them, but when I realized that my previous window space was 1.5" too small in both the vertical and horizontal dimensions, I ended up having to cut out much of the wall and even into the 2x4s. It took me at least 10 hours for the entire job, but now that it's done, it looks beautiful. Just be sure that your window space is a about 1/16" over 23.5" in each direction if you plan to install this beauty. I ended up returning the second window because of the crazy hassle that the first one was to install.
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, High Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Utility Left-Hand Single Sliding Vinyl Window
from Kansas City
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good window for playhouse.

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I built my girls a playhouse and needed some windows. The people at the store look at you funny when you ask for single pane, non-insulated windows, but these work perfect for my project and the price wasn't too bad.
The only drawback is that the "J" groove on the outside of the windows was deeper than the 3/4 inch smartside trim used to finish out the windows. I had to use a really thick bead of caulk to fill the gap. It was just under a 1/4 of an inch. I don't think anyone but me will ever notice, but it just looks a little wierd. I removed the screens since it is just a playhouse and I think they actually look better without.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Utility Left-Hand Single Sliding Vinyl Window
from Mesa, AZ

Tafco Windows

PostedSeptember 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After hunting thru several used construction material business I ended up at Home Depot, these windows were very inexpensive and the quality was an excellent choice for my new 12'X12' storage shed. I got cross ventilation and light now in my shed. I'm a happy camper.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Utility Left-Hand Single Sliding Vinyl Window
from NJ

Great replacement basement window if you dont care about function / quality

PostedNovember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I needed to replace two basement windows which were hidden inside in the furnace room. I was looking for something which I can lock slightly open to allow fresh air to the furnace and look nice from the outside, where people would see them. This window fit the bill perfectly They are really cheap and the window panes sort of "flop around" when your slide them up or down. As I locked them in place with a screw through the frame, this does not affect me. For the purpose, this was perfect. They were super easy to set and install. If you are looking for an actual functional window with ANY thermal properties, this is NOT what you want. A great cheap chinese window which looks nice but is very low quality! Perfect for unused basement where insulation / security are not issues.
FYI, the external dimensions are slightly greater than 24X24!
Pros: Great Value, Good Size & Fit, Easy to Install
Cons: Quality, not functional, Size
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Utility Left-Hand Single Sliding Vinyl Window
from San Diego, CA

Excellent budget window

PostedDecember 13, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this window knowing that it was single-pane and a budget line of product and got exactly what I expected. Since I am installing this in a shed, it didnt need to be dual pane, low-e,etc.
Upon receipt, I was pleasantly surprised to find a few added features such as breakaway fins for both new construction as well as retro-your choice and a more solid lock than I expected.
Overall, great window for the money and well worth the savings over other brands: J#$%wen and M#$%gard.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Utility Left-Hand Single Sliding Vinyl Window

Great product for a shed etc. Good Value.

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great product for a shed etc. Good Value. We used ours for a new chicken coupe.
Pros: Great Value
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Utility Left-Hand Single Sliding Vinyl Window
from Davenport, WA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great shed window...but it has J-channels

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I couldn't be more pleased. These NON-insulated windows are easy to install, they operate smooth as butter, and they look great. The specs were right on -- this was really important for me, since I built my 2x4 wall-frames BEFORE the windows came, with nice square window openings just 1/8 inch larger than the specs. The instructions recommend you leave 1/2 inch leeway, but that is just WAY too much slop for me. I had to cut off a couple of little vinyl "bumps" at the corners that didn't quite fit in my ultra-tight frames, but that only took a moment.
The one thing I didn't like was the J-channels, intended for applications with vinyl siding or the like. My shed's walls are sheathed in T-111 siding, and I just wanted to cut holes in the siding panels and fit them over the installed windows. But NO-O-O, the J-channels stick way out past the nominal window dimensions. instead I had to cut one edge off each siding panel and slide the panel into the J-channel AROUND the installed window, then patch the siding cut-out back in with lots of caulk.
...After I'd done that for 5 windows, I found out I could have just cut off the vinyl J-channels...DOH! Never thought of that. Too soon old, too late schmardt. So be warned, if you don't need the J-channels, just take a very sharp box cutter or something similar and put the blade INSIDE the J-channel at the corner, and just slice it away. If you try this from the outside, it's hard to cut in a straight line, but from the inside, the corner of the J-channel tends to hold the blade running in a nice straight line.
Anyway, no complaints about the form or function of these windows, they are great, if you don't need insulated windows.
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Utility Left-Hand Single Sliding Vinyl Window
from Enterprise, OR 97828, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great value and the shipping and handling was quick.

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am making a portable elevated tower with a 7' x7' shed on top. This will be used this spring to keep watch over my cattle and calves to help protect them from the Canadian wolves that were introduced to the Pacific Northwest. I need to be able to veiw 360 degrees and these 2x2 single pane windows will do very well at a resonable price. Thank You
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Utility Left-Hand Single Sliding Vinyl Window

Excellent window

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
for the money great for a shed this is durable has a nice screen included don't have to pay extra very easy to install this is not a window you would use in your house but for a shed or utility room it is great and reasonably priced
Pros: Multi Use, Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>