728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Hand Showers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for EcoFlow 5-Spray Hand Shower in Chrome

EcoFlow 5-Spray Hand Shower in Chrome

This Waterpik EcoFlow 5-Spray Hand Shower in Chrome provides a way for you to enjoy the luxurious benefits of a multi-spray showerhead while saving water. Reduce energy consumption without compromising water force and use the water pause setting located on the handle for an additional water-saving option. The attractive chrome finish looks fresh and polished. The 60 in. hose lets you easily wash the dog or rinse off the shower wall.
Overall rating:
2.546 / 5
2.5
 / 
5
(33 reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
36%of customersrecommend this product12 of 33reviews
Rating Breakdown 33 reviews
2.5 out of 5.0
5
(9)
4
(3)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(17)
Quality 
2.5 out of 5.0
2.5 out of 5
Value 
2.4 out of 5.0
2.4 out of 5
36%of customersrecommend this product12 of 33reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer reviews for EcoFlow 5-Spray Hand Shower in Chrome
Review 1 for EcoFlow 5-Spray Hand Shower in Chrome
from Milwaukee, WI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bracket broke after 3 months

PostedFebruary 15, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
While the shower head delivered many good and different sprays the plastic bracket that holds the shower head broke after a little more than 3 months use.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EcoFlow 5-Spray Hand Shower in Chrome

broke after less than 3 years; but misting feature is nice

PostedApril 17, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had to replace this after only about three years, and it was seriously leaking at least a year before I replaced it. If it leaks, then I don't see how it can possibly be saving water, as it is advertised to do so. This week I finally had to replace it, because the holding bracket cracked open, and it shot water everywhere. The whole thing looks like tough metal, but it is really made of cheap chrome plated plastic.
The massage feature is cute, but after a few months it stopped working, and I have no idea how to fix it. My best guess is that minerals in our semi-hard water clogged up the internal rotating mechanism, but that is just a wild guess on my part.
The outside of the individual nozzles get clogged up about every six months. You can scratch the minerals off with your fingernail, or soak it in a bucket of vinegar all day. If you don't clean off those minerals then the water flow really slows down.
I saw another brand that advertised no-clog nozzles, but read the fine print, and it says you can wipe off the mineral build up. So, I don't see much of an advantage there. What happens is the drops of water evaporate on the nozzles when the shower is turned off, and the minerals evaporate out and build up over time. Eventually they get to be so big that they start clogging the nozzle. I honestly don't know how you can avoid this problem.
A guy in Home Depot told me that he just buys the cheapest handheld shower available, maybe $20, and uses it forever. That doesn't have all the fancy massage/misting options, but if you're on a budget it's worth considering. The handheld feature is nice, no matter how cheap of one you buy, if you want help cleaning out the shower.
So why did the bracket crack on mine? It is cheap plastic, that is my best guess. We do however move it from side to side sometimes, and maybe the strain of doing that, reaching up there and grabbing it, caused the failure??? It certainly wasn't abused.
To be fair, three people used this shower on a daily basis before it had to be replaced. I have an identical one on another shower that was installed at about the same time, is used by only one person, and it still works fine.
HOWEVER....
Waterpik is the only model I can find that has a mist setting. This is very useful with hot water, to clear out your lungs if you're having a cold, bronchitis, or something like that. For that reason, I bought another identical model, because I couldn't find that feature with any other brand. Beware though, if you frequently fill up your bathroom with steam, then your light fixtures will start to rust, and you're more likely to get mold and mildew. Be sure to ventilate your bathroom after using the misting feature.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Install, misting feature is nice
Cons: cheap chome plated plastic
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EcoFlow 5-Spray Hand Shower in Chrome

Bad Design

PostedOctober 30, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Just got this shower head last night and am returning it. The head is too heavy for the mount resulting in the head swinging down plus it elevates the head to high. I thought the ecoflow would adjust to almost no flow but theres still a significant amount coming out at the lowest setting.
I decided to not experiment anymore and just get the PW Shower Flow Controller valve from Menards and get a shower head I like. This flow controller is easier to control and easily screws to the shower pipe. I can shut the flow if i want to. I'm using it in our other bathroom and am happy with it. Its only $4.97.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EcoFlow 5-Spray Hand Shower in Chrome
from Nashua, NH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poorly designed

PostedJuly 1, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The shower head which works good does not fit into the holder. It has already fallen out twice in the first week.
Just poorly designed.
I'll be buying another one from a different manufacturer
this weekend.
Cons: poor design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EcoFlow 5-Spray Hand Shower in Chrome
from Charlotte, NC, USA

Chrome fitting failure

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought on 2/7/11. Easy to install, and enjoyed while it lasted. Chrome covered plastic fitting failed on 9/6/12. It split rightdown the center on the plastic molding seam. I've enjoyed the shower head, but why use cheap plastic fitting for such an important piece of the assembly? Appears to be the same experience GTaDIYer from Milwaukee, WI. reported.
Cons: product failed in 1 year 7 months
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EcoFlow 5-Spray Hand Shower in Chrome
from Matawan, NJ

Great water saving showerhead!

PostedMay 22, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had bought my Ecoflow showerhead in Jan. 2009. I just received my water bill and I can already see the difference in my water usage. The spray is pretty powerful, considering it is a water saver showerhead. I noticed only a slight difference in the spray between my old non-water saving shower head and the Ecoflow. The Ecoflow was a little less powerful. I would not call the spray "wimpy" at all. There may be more forceful showerheads on the market, but I doubt if they will save you water, and money, like this one. My whole family uses the pause feature when soaping up and then the full spray when rinsing. The pause feature reduces the water flow to save you even more water and money. The showerhead has five spray settings and they all work great. The massage spray is excellent for sore back muscles. I highly recommend this showerhead for anyone that wants to conserve water without giving up a comfortable shower.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EcoFlow 5-Spray Hand Shower in Chrome
from White Bear Lake, MN

Where's the pressure?

PostedApril 19, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The packaging clearly states that the user will not experience any reduction in water pressure. Well that simply is not true. Of the five functions available, only a single one generates a pressure commensurate with previous shower heads in my home and that function would not be utilized on a daily basis.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EcoFlow 5-Spray Hand Shower in Chrome
from Cornelius, OR

Not what you would expect from a Low Flow

PostedAugust 30, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We just bought this shower head and we are very pleased with the performance. I was skeptical at first of the pressure, but quickly found out that I had nothing to worry about. Does it have enough pressure to exfoliate your skin? No. Does it have enough pressure to make your shower just as enjoyable as a 2.5 gpm shower head? Absolutely. We have not seen our first bill to gauge a total savings, but based on everything i have read about this shower head we will see a nice savings. Don't let the worthless low flow shower heads of the past deter you from purchasing this unit.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EcoFlow 5-Spray Hand Shower in Chrome
from The humid East Coast

a bit deceptive

PostedOctober 30, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We purchased the showerhead as a replacement for an old, inefficient unit supplied with our 25 yr old house. The specifications seemed good, and the price was reasonable. It is too bad that the unit does not seem to perform as we expected.
The showerhead - even the hose- is made from shiny plastic materials that simulates a chrome finish on metal. It does not have a solid "feel". The flow is weaker than expected (it is an "eco" unit, but still...) and the different settings for the head all seem to give about the same pattern and the same flow. Even the "pause" setting - where the flow is supposed to be suspended, permits flow, though somewhat reduced.
We installed this in an infrequently used shower. We expect that it will last longer there.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EcoFlow 5-Spray Hand Shower in Chrome
from Hazlet, NJ

Great water saving shower head.

PostedMarch 29, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had purchase three of these for my house and my two rental units. I could not be happier with the shower heads. The spray is powerful in all five modes even though it is using only 1.5 gallons of water per minute. The pause feature reduces the water flow to save even more water, while allowing you get a lighter spray to keep warm and soap up. I have had these Ecoflow shower heads since November of 2008 and I have seen a significant reduction in my water usage over the last quarter.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EcoFlow 5-Spray Hand Shower in Chrome
from Philadelphia, PA, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not satisfactory in a shower stall

PostedNovember 30, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This was the only low-flow shower head in the store so there was no choice. It does not work well in a shower stall. You cannot make the the bracket swivel down far enough to direct water to the center of the stall. It might work better in a tub shower. Don't expect a deluge. You can't make 1.6 gallons a minute feel like a tropical downpour (or equal to the 2.5+ gallon heads). And it is entirely plastic.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EcoFlow 5-Spray Hand Shower in Chrome
from So. Cal

Pause, what pause?

PostedMarch 22, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was very excited to get this showerhead home and save some water using the pause function. However, there is no difference between the pause and the regular flow- we tried all 5 spray settings- there might have been a sight change in pressure, but I would definitely NOT call this selling feature "pause" or water-saving.
Plus, the workmanship is not what I expected- the head is plastic w/ a chrome paint job- not very sturdy.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EcoFlow 5-Spray Hand Shower in Chrome
from Bloomfield, NJ

wimpy wimpy wimpy

PostedMay 6, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this model because we were at a "Green Fair" and shown this model as a way to enjoy our shower and save water. It may save water but the force of the water coming out of the head is no better than using a camp shower , a bucket with holes punched in it. Its going back to the store tomorrow, I like a shower head with a little force behind it.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for EcoFlow 5-Spray Hand Shower in Chrome
from Bozeman, MT

Works Great.

PostedApril 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First, if flow seems really low, adjust the water cut back dial at the base of the hand held. Mine came set very close to the most reduced setting, and after adjusting the setting all is fine.
The shower head comes with several usable settings. It is made out of plastic. The hose is flexible enough.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for EcoFlow 5-Spray Hand Shower in Chrome

If you like a good shower, don't buy this

PostedMarch 10, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The water pressure coming out of this is terrible. Only 1 of the 5 settings is even passable for a decent shower. The pressure is so weak, if you turn it upside down the water only goes around 6" up.
If you like a decent shower this is not the product for you.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for EcoFlow 5-Spray Hand Shower in Chrome
from Beaumont, Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Worst Ever!

PostedNovember 1, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Don't believe any of these people who loved this product. Had to be written by employees of the company. This is the worst shower ever. Please read other web site reviews before purchasing. This thing sprays water in a pattern that is slightly larger than a tennis ball + there is a water saving device built in. It takes forever to take a shower. Small pattern plus hardly any water coming out will not save you water. In the shower twice as long as normal. Better suited for bathing a kitten or puppy - not adult humans.
Cons: small spray pattern, twice as long to shower
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for EcoFlow 5-Spray Hand Shower in Chrome
from Arizona, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Not worth it even if was 90% off

PostedJuly 16, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is a shiny piece of plastic. After replacing all the plumbing fixtures in the house, this was the last and by far the most disappointing. Almost entirely plastic, it was impossible get a water-tight seal at ANY junction. Directions specify no teflon tape. Finger tight connections leak like a sieve and plastic fittings won't survive a wrench. I threw it out and reinstalled the old head.
Waterpik appears to be coasting on reputation at this point or farmed out the engineering to 5th graders.
Cons: Difficult to Install, low quality, Leaks
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for EcoFlow 5-Spray Hand Shower in Chrome
from Metairie, LA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good value for price.

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
It took more plumbing know-how than I thought it would. Also, because it was a good bit longer than the one it replaced, it sticks up higher toward the ceiling and is harder to reach than the original one. The 5 settings are ok but none are very strong of a stream of water. All are soft like a spring shower which some people prefer.
Pros: Lots of Features, Stylish, Modern
Cons: Difficult to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for EcoFlow 5-Spray Hand Shower in Chrome
from Mississippi, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DO NOT BUY THIS IF YOU WANT A NICE RELAXING SHOWER

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the weakest shower I've ever taken. The shower in our 5th wheel camper is stronger than this. I thought I never was going to get enough water on me to get a shower not too mention trying to rinse the shampoo out of my hair. Going to get a different one tomorrow. I need something of more than a trickle to get clean.
Cons: Weak Water Pressure
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for EcoFlow 5-Spray Hand Shower in Chrome
from South Carolina
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

A great product

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My wife and I purchased it in order to bathe me after having double knee replacement. It did everything needed and more. Without it I don't know how I could have bathed without it being a sponge bath. I have purchased this same item before but a different brand and it turned out to be junk. We are very happy with this one.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>