728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Smokers & Fryers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Top Controls

30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Top Controls

The 30 in. Masterbuilt Electric Smoker features a 527 sq. in. cooking area and is fully insulated to help you successfully smoke a variety of food. Whether you're cooking jerky, salmon or chicken, Masterbuilt smokers are safe and easy to use. With the convenience of a side wood chip loader, it's easy to infuse meats and vegetables with the flavor of your favorite wood.
Overall rating:
4.625 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(48 reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product44 of 46reviews
Rating Breakdown 48 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(34)
4
(12)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product44 of 46reviews
Customer reviews for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Top Controls
Review 1 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Top Controls
from Augusta, GA, USA

OUTSTANDING SMOKER

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
OUTSTANDING smoker! Have only used 4 times but absolutely love it. I was very hesitant buying an electric smoker but am very glad I did. The smoker comes up to full heat at 275 in less than 30 min (as recommended in manual) and once it cooled back down to my cooking temp, it maintained that temp within +/- 2 degrees then entire time. Note: one day was 35-40 degrees with rain/wind and another day was 60 degrees. Awesome.
After 4 uses, I now know that the chips last/smoke for about 2 hours+ without having to reload...and it is only a cup of chips! Also, I have received the best results by NOT soaking the chips first. HIGHLY RECOMMEND this smoker.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Distributes Heat Evenly
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Top Controls
from Taunton Ma
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Little Smoker

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have smoked Many shoulders, briskets, chicken ribs and loins. This smoker does an amazing job. Beautiful bark, maintains temps wether its 0 degrees or 100. I have used it in the middle of a blizzard with no problem. The wood should turn to ash in the smoke tray, I say this because I read a review were they said it didn't. All my chips get soaked in water and always burn down to ash. The only down side I have found with this smoker is I can only fit two large Boston Butts at a time due to the space between shelves. I would highly recomend this smoker. Don't pay more for a glass door that you won't be able to see through halfway yhrough a long smoke.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Sturdy
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Top Controls
from PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Liked it so much i bought 2

PostedNovember 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Even though its quite compact, it DOES hold a lot of meat. I found it very simple to you and easy to set up. The ash-catching tray could have been a little larger, imo….and since you're at Home Depot, you might wanna pick up some extra wood to build yourself a stand for this thing----otherwise, you're kind of on the floor with everything. The end product so far for me has come out delicious every single time. I prefer the applewood chips…and Ive found its not really necessary to soak them; they'll smoke regardless, however if the tray is full of ash, you'll see a lot less smoke. -----liked it so much I bought my dad one also.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly, good seal around the door-edge, easy to use digital cook-timer, heats up really fast, fun to use
Cons: Difficult to Clean, needs aluminum foil liner every smoke, unit is too low to the ground, back-side spout with catch tray is useless, chip-ashtray is way too small, does not come with a cover
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Top Controls
from Salt Lake City, Utah
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

So far this smoker is working great !

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought the Smokehouse smoker a couple of weeks ago and so far it has been working great. I am a novice smoker and my first few trials with the Smokehouse have been successful. Ribs were excellent, chicken was amazing, and of course I had to try jerky which was amazingly good. I am very happy with this smoker. If you are a rookie smoker and want to get started this low priced smoker seems to do the job. Of course, if you have the money you can buy other smokers that have more capacity, thermometers, and other bells and whistles go ahead but for this hacker I like the smoker, I like the price, and I will take the extra money I saved by going with this smoker and spend it on meat.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Dishwasher Safe, Easy to Clean, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Top Controls
from Wichita Kansas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love my Masterbuilt

PostedMay 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased my first electric smoker years ago, and used it SO much, that I became complacent and always left it outside without any cover. Rained quite a few times on it and eventually ruined the topside electronic controls. I continued to leave it outdoors afterwards and completely ruined it. I read a few negative reviews about this smoker, but never experienced anything negative myself. I loved the results from the get go!! The old TV saying for another product, of "Set it and forget it" REALLY applies here!! I have been researching other smokers as I am in the market to purchase another, and am always brought back to this one. For the cost, taste, and quality of meat it produces time and time again, and ease of use, this is THE best electric smoker there is!! The side wood chip loader is a fantastic idea! No need to constantly open the door and loose heat, the internal thermometer is also great to keep tabs on your internal meat temp, and the water and drip pan are also easy to use as well. I am an avid Brisket smoker, and as anyone that smokes knows, this is the MOST difficult and expensive to cook. My entire Family is always impressed by the flavor, and consistency of the results! My sister and brother in-law always request a brisket when they visit. Wood chips are very inexpensive, and go a LONG way!! If you Love smoking meats, but also Love time with your Family, I highly recommend this electric smoker..
Pros: ease of use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Top Controls
from Nebraska, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great, easy to use!

PostedMarch 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this smoker after doing much research and comparison of similar products. A relative had one, and liked it so much, he bought a second one.
While some of the other reviews were critical of the construction quality, I had no issues whatsoever. Obviously, it wouldn't survive being run over by a truck, but I wasn't expecting that. It arrived in good packaging, was not dented or scratched, and seems to be well-constructed. The drip pans and grates fit well, and the wood loading tube fits and works very well.
The digital readout is easy to install, easy to use, and the unit comes up to temperature quickly. The temp stays constant for hours, and it produces smoke using only a small amount of wood chips.
I have smoked pork shoulder, roast, loin, and ribs. They have all turned out great, especially the ribs.
I also purchased the matching cover, as it will sit on my patio, and will be exposed to the weather. The cover fits well, and seems like it will do the job as intended.
The only addition I could suggest, would be to add wheels to the back, so it could be rolled in and out of storage easily.
Overall, I am happy with the product, and am looking forward to using it for some time to come.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Distributes Heat Evenly
+32points
32out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Top Controls

Master Built Smoker

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So far ...so good ! It holds almost twice as much as my previous smoker and appears to be doing a much better job as well ! The temp settings and timer make life a whole lot simpler for smoking.
Cleanup is somewhat of a hassle...but had that with the previous one as well.....just have to stay with it. I spray the grates with PAM but it still sticks .
The chip pan works really good....just need to figure out how many times to add chips for the smokiness of whatever it is you are smoking. I guessed at it and it worked very good .
Should have gotten one of these a long time ago....as a tip...don't throw the box it came in away...tape the flaps up and store all the parts inside the smoker ...slide the box upside down over the smoker and you have a storage cover that works out good !
+56points
56out of 56found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Top Controls
from Aiken, SC
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Disappointed !!!!

PostedNovember 7, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Really loved the smoker but in less than two years it quit working. We have always kept it in the garage when not in use. Very disappointed.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Top Controls
from La Garita, CO
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great smoker

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was always a charcoal smoker kind of guy until I saw the electric one a cousin of my wife had. The ease of operation had me at once. Great smoked flavor and faster due to more consistent heat control. I bought the one without the glass door, you can't see through the glass after several minutes of cooking anyway.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Distributes Heat Evenly
Cons: Difficult to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Top Controls
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great little smoke box

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very nice smoker. It is well built and nicely insulated. At the maximum temperature you can touch any part of the box without getting burned. Great when you have small children running around.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Top Controls
from Friendswood, Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellant!

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very easy to set up. The instruction are short and easy to follow. It uses very little wood and is well insulated. When cooking the outside is safe to touch making it safe to have children around. I've cooked two chickens, a rack of ribs and a 12 pound brisket in the last week. If you like or just want to make your own slow smoked BBQ you can't beat this for the price! Don't forget to cover the water pan and drip tray with tin foil! It will save you a LOT of work cleaning up!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Top Controls
from Tulsa
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

We love it

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Surprisingly easy to use, and we don't miss a glass door at all. We've used it 3 times in1 week: salmon, pulled pork and ribs
Pros: Easy to Clean, Distributes Heat Evenly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Top Controls
from Northern WI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good pruduct, easy set up and operation

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Used it for the first time last week. DELICIOUS results with pork loin and turkey beat.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Top Controls
from Anoka, MN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Smoker

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great smoker, easy to put together. It holds temperature great. The only downfall is that I would have liked it to be a little taller.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Distributes Heat Evenly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Top Controls
from Encinitas, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good, inexpensive smoker

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The smoker arrived with a damaged rack support (a bad weld). I called HD and they are sending me a replacement part, no hassle. I have previously owned this smoker for over 3 years before the heating element went out. It worked fine for over three years. There is one change to the smoker. The wood filling box is smaller on this smoker than the previous one. You therefore have to put wood in it more often. Overall it works fine and is very reasonably priced.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Large Cooking Space
Cons: small wood container
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Top Controls
from NE Tennessee
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Absolutely terrible factory support!

PostedDecember 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this smoker a couple of years ago over the internet and I used it probably 20 or so times. About a year ago, the heating element on the lower back part burnt through. A fairly simple looking fix to just swap out the part or so I thought ( I think there were 4 sheet metal screws to take off the cover plate). I never asked the manufacturer to replace the part under warranty although I feel a warranty replacement would have been justified , I just wanted to buy the part and fix my smoker. Several calls to Masterbuilt resulted in "parts not available - call back in a couple of months" response. Pitiful!
STAY AWAY!
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Top Controls
from iowa
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

LOV E THIS SMOKER

PostedJune 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
THE SMOKER WAS A GREAT BUY.SHIPPING WAS FAST. EASY TO ASSEMBLE,AND WORKS GREAT. WE COOKED FOR A FAMILY MEAL, CHICKEN AND PORK LOINS AND GOT RAVE REVIEWS FROM ALL. OUR SON AND SON IN LAW EACH HAVE THIS SMOKER AND LOVE IT. OUR DAUGHTER SAYS ITS GREAT FOR TURKEYS TOO.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Top Controls
from Kalispell, Montana

Good value for the price

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This smoker was really more than I expected for what I paid for it. The cabinet seals well and the temperature control is pretty good.
I smoked a slab of ribs for about 5 hrs.-they came out very tender and well smoked-temp was set on 230 degrees. Only added chips once after initial filling-used chips that were fairly small sized-more like course sawdust, not the larger ones I use on my charcoal grill.
Overall, I'm well pleased. Bought the cover-would advise doing that to keep it dry and clean.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Top Controls
from salisbury,north carolina

masterbuilt 30"smoker

PostedNovember 25, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
received our smoker yesterday,odered from website and got it in two days,seasoned it that nite(thanksgivin eve) and did one of our thanksgivin turkeys as per recipes from several friends, and LOVED it....doin venison jerky is unreal.TOTALLY recommend this smoker,we have the one w/o the glass in the door and it is excellent.
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Top Controls
from Frisco, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Have not had any problems

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this smoker 4 years ago as another option over my stick burner. I have not had any trouble with this product so far. It maintains temp well, and allows rack removal for large/odd cuts of meat. This unit is easy to clean after use although I use foil in my water pan and grease trap to make this task even easier. It's nice to have something that I don't have to keep a close eye on when I'm smoking peppers to make paprika or chipotles to ribs, pork butt and brisket. I still use my stick burner for very large cuts and crowds but still use the electric for smaller jobs or appetizers. It also comes in handy for the holidays in keeping a freshly smoked ham warm and other items. I have full double ovens in the house and it's still nice to have a little extra room "just in case". I'm going to build an enclosure for it this year to bring the height up to make it a little easier to work with (I'm 6'4"). I always keep mine in my shed with a smoker cover I purchased separately when not in use. I don't know if that has been the issue for those who have had electrical issues but may be worth the small investment.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Distributes Heat Evenly, maintains temperature
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>