728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Smokers & Fryers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Top Controls

30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Top Controls

The 30 in. Masterbuilt Electric Smoker features a 527 sq. in. cooking area and is fully insulated to help you successfully smoke a variety of food. Whether you're cooking jerky, salmon or chicken, Masterbuilt smokers are safe and easy to use. With the convenience of a side wood chip loader, it's easy to infuse meats and vegetables with the flavor of your favorite wood.
Overall rating:
4.654 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(52 reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product48 of 50reviews
Rating Breakdown 52 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(38)
4
(12)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product48 of 50reviews
Customer reviews for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Top Controls
Review 1 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Top Controls
from Augusta, GA, USA

OUTSTANDING SMOKER

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
OUTSTANDING smoker! Have only used 4 times but absolutely love it. I was very hesitant buying an electric smoker but am very glad I did. The smoker comes up to full heat at 275 in less than 30 min (as recommended in manual) and once it cooled back down to my cooking temp, it maintained that temp within +/- 2 degrees then entire time. Note: one day was 35-40 degrees with rain/wind and another day was 60 degrees. Awesome.
After 4 uses, I now know that the chips last/smoke for about 2 hours+ without having to reload...and it is only a cup of chips! Also, I have received the best results by NOT soaking the chips first. HIGHLY RECOMMEND this smoker.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Distributes Heat Evenly
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Top Controls
from Taunton Ma
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Little Smoker

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have smoked Many shoulders, briskets, chicken ribs and loins. This smoker does an amazing job. Beautiful bark, maintains temps wether its 0 degrees or 100. I have used it in the middle of a blizzard with no problem. The wood should turn to ash in the smoke tray, I say this because I read a review were they said it didn't. All my chips get soaked in water and always burn down to ash. The only down side I have found with this smoker is I can only fit two large Boston Butts at a time due to the space between shelves. I would highly recomend this smoker. Don't pay more for a glass door that you won't be able to see through halfway yhrough a long smoke.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Sturdy
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Top Controls
from Salt Lake City, Utah
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

So far this smoker is working great !

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought the Smokehouse smoker a couple of weeks ago and so far it has been working great. I am a novice smoker and my first few trials with the Smokehouse have been successful. Ribs were excellent, chicken was amazing, and of course I had to try jerky which was amazingly good. I am very happy with this smoker. If you are a rookie smoker and want to get started this low priced smoker seems to do the job. Of course, if you have the money you can buy other smokers that have more capacity, thermometers, and other bells and whistles go ahead but for this hacker I like the smoker, I like the price, and I will take the extra money I saved by going with this smoker and spend it on meat.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Dishwasher Safe, Easy to Clean, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Top Controls
from PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Liked it so much i bought 2

PostedNovember 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Even though its quite compact, it DOES hold a lot of meat. I found it very simple to you and easy to set up. The ash-catching tray could have been a little larger, imo….and since you're at Home Depot, you might wanna pick up some extra wood to build yourself a stand for this thing----otherwise, you're kind of on the floor with everything. The end product so far for me has come out delicious every single time. I prefer the applewood chips…and Ive found its not really necessary to soak them; they'll smoke regardless, however if the tray is full of ash, you'll see a lot less smoke. -----liked it so much I bought my dad one also.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly, good seal around the door-edge, easy to use digital cook-timer, heats up really fast, fun to use
Cons: Difficult to Clean, needs aluminum foil liner every smoke, unit is too low to the ground, back-side spout with catch tray is useless, chip-ashtray is way too small, does not come with a cover
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Top Controls
from Wichita Kansas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love my Masterbuilt

PostedMay 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased my first electric smoker years ago, and used it SO much, that I became complacent and always left it outside without any cover. Rained quite a few times on it and eventually ruined the topside electronic controls. I continued to leave it outdoors afterwards and completely ruined it. I read a few negative reviews about this smoker, but never experienced anything negative myself. I loved the results from the get go!! The old TV saying for another product, of "Set it and forget it" REALLY applies here!! I have been researching other smokers as I am in the market to purchase another, and am always brought back to this one. For the cost, taste, and quality of meat it produces time and time again, and ease of use, this is THE best electric smoker there is!! The side wood chip loader is a fantastic idea! No need to constantly open the door and loose heat, the internal thermometer is also great to keep tabs on your internal meat temp, and the water and drip pan are also easy to use as well. I am an avid Brisket smoker, and as anyone that smokes knows, this is the MOST difficult and expensive to cook. My entire Family is always impressed by the flavor, and consistency of the results! My sister and brother in-law always request a brisket when they visit. Wood chips are very inexpensive, and go a LONG way!! If you Love smoking meats, but also Love time with your Family, I highly recommend this electric smoker..
Pros: ease of use
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Top Controls

Master Built Smoker

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So far ...so good ! It holds almost twice as much as my previous smoker and appears to be doing a much better job as well ! The temp settings and timer make life a whole lot simpler for smoking.
Cleanup is somewhat of a hassle...but had that with the previous one as well.....just have to stay with it. I spray the grates with PAM but it still sticks .
The chip pan works really good....just need to figure out how many times to add chips for the smokiness of whatever it is you are smoking. I guessed at it and it worked very good .
Should have gotten one of these a long time ago....as a tip...don't throw the box it came in away...tape the flaps up and store all the parts inside the smoker ...slide the box upside down over the smoker and you have a storage cover that works out good !
+56points
56out of 56found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Top Controls
from Nebraska, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great, easy to use!

PostedMarch 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this smoker after doing much research and comparison of similar products. A relative had one, and liked it so much, he bought a second one.
While some of the other reviews were critical of the construction quality, I had no issues whatsoever. Obviously, it wouldn't survive being run over by a truck, but I wasn't expecting that. It arrived in good packaging, was not dented or scratched, and seems to be well-constructed. The drip pans and grates fit well, and the wood loading tube fits and works very well.
The digital readout is easy to install, easy to use, and the unit comes up to temperature quickly. The temp stays constant for hours, and it produces smoke using only a small amount of wood chips.
I have smoked pork shoulder, roast, loin, and ribs. They have all turned out great, especially the ribs.
I also purchased the matching cover, as it will sit on my patio, and will be exposed to the weather. The cover fits well, and seems like it will do the job as intended.
The only addition I could suggest, would be to add wheels to the back, so it could be rolled in and out of storage easily.
Overall, I am happy with the product, and am looking forward to using it for some time to come.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Distributes Heat Evenly
+32points
32out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Top Controls
from Winnfield, LA.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Could not be more pleased with this smoker

PostedSeptember 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this smoker to replace one of another brand I've had for 3 yrs. The heating element and temp. control brunt up twice and bottom started to rust out on old unit. This smoker is stainless steel on inside and heating element is hardwired and should keep the element from failing. Also the Digital temp. control and timer and being able to add wood chips without opening the door are a real plus. Paid only 21% more for this and got at least twice as good a smoker.
Pros: Durable, Superior Craftsmanship
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Top Controls
from Aiken, SC
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Disappointed !!!!

PostedNovember 7, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Really loved the smoker but in less than two years it quit working. We have always kept it in the garage when not in use. Very disappointed.
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Top Controls
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great little smoke box

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very nice smoker. It is well built and nicely insulated. At the maximum temperature you can touch any part of the box without getting burned. Great when you have small children running around.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Top Controls
from Kalispell, Montana

Good value for the price

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This smoker was really more than I expected for what I paid for it. The cabinet seals well and the temperature control is pretty good.
I smoked a slab of ribs for about 5 hrs.-they came out very tender and well smoked-temp was set on 230 degrees. Only added chips once after initial filling-used chips that were fairly small sized-more like course sawdust, not the larger ones I use on my charcoal grill.
Overall, I'm well pleased. Bought the cover-would advise doing that to keep it dry and clean.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Top Controls
from salisbury,north carolina

masterbuilt 30"smoker

PostedNovember 25, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
received our smoker yesterday,odered from website and got it in two days,seasoned it that nite(thanksgivin eve) and did one of our thanksgivin turkeys as per recipes from several friends, and LOVED it....doin venison jerky is unreal.TOTALLY recommend this smoker,we have the one w/o the glass in the door and it is excellent.
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Top Controls
from Montgomery, AL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love this smoker!!!!

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This smoker was preassembled only had to insert racks. Very easy to use, just plug up set temp and timer and meat and wood chips and you are done. The more chips you add the more smoke you add to the flavor of the meat. Don't want it smokey add less chips.
Pros: Superior Craftsmanship
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Top Controls
from Virginia

Almost perfect

PostedAugust 7, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Very satisfied.
The side loader for the wood chips is an OK idea in concept. In fact it can be used perhaps at most only twice. At the first load and then one more load. After the second cup of woods chips the interior wood chip bin is full as one would expect since the wood only smokes and does not burn.
So if more chips need to be added, the door must be opened and the wood chip bin emptied.
+26points
27out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Top Controls
from Des Moines, IA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Greta Smoker

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This smoker is a set ita nd forget it. Set the temp, set the time, and let it smoke. The only thing you have to do is add wood chips every once in a while (Maybe every 15 minutes) to keep the smoke going.
The smoker keeps it's temp fine. The 4 removable racks provides a lot of space for food. I just love this smoker.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Dishwasher Safe, Easy to Clean, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Top Controls
from Lexington, KY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

BEST DECK SMOKER EVER! AAAA

PostedAugust 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I HAVE HAD ALL KINDS OF SMOKERS IN MY TIME BUT FOR THE LAST 2 YEARS THIS BAD BOY HAS BEEN MY NUMBER ONE. IT DOESN'T GET HOT ON THE OUTSIDE SO IT IS GREAT AROUND KIDS AND PETS. YOU CAN PICK IT UP AND MOVE IT AT 275 DEGREES INSIDE IF NEEDED. I'VE HAD 2 BRISKETS 2 PORK LOINS AND 2 CHICKENS IN IT AT ONCE SO IT HOLDS A LOT TOO. AWESOME.
Pros: Sturdy, Distributes Heat Evenly, Durable, Easy to Clean, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship
+33points
37out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Top Controls

Exactly what i wanted

PostedNovember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I am new to the smoking world and wanted something easy to use and produced a good product. This is exactly that.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Top Controls
from NE Tennessee
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Absolutely terrible factory support!

PostedDecember 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this smoker a couple of years ago over the internet and I used it probably 20 or so times. About a year ago, the heating element on the lower back part burnt through. A fairly simple looking fix to just swap out the part or so I thought ( I think there were 4 sheet metal screws to take off the cover plate). I never asked the manufacturer to replace the part under warranty although I feel a warranty replacement would have been justified , I just wanted to buy the part and fix my smoker. Several calls to Masterbuilt resulted in "parts not available - call back in a couple of months" response. Pitiful!
STAY AWAY!
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Top Controls
from Cincinnati, Oh

Great Smoker

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My second one, after 8 years I wore the first one out! Holds plenty of food, good temperature control and easy to use. Great price too!
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 30 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Top Controls
from United States
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

awesome purchase

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easiest way to smoke. Very accurate a well made. I would buy this product again
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
Cons: Difficult to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>