728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Smokers & Fryers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 30 in. Vertical Digital Electric Smoker

30 in. Vertical Digital Electric Smoker

The 30 in. Masterbuilt Electric Smoker features a 527 sq. in. cooking area and is fully insulated to help you successfully smoke a variety of food. Whether you're cooking jerky, salmon or chicken, Masterbuilt smokers are safe and easy to use. With the convenience of a side wood chip loader, it's easy to infuse meats and vegetables with the flavor of your favorite wood.
Overall rating:
4.632 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(38 reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product34 of 36reviews
Rating Breakdown 38 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(28)
4
(8)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product34 of 36reviews
Customer reviews for 30 in. Vertical Digital Electric Smoker
Review 1 for 30 in. Vertical Digital Electric Smoker
Jace
from PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Liked it so much i bought 2

PostedNovember 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Even though its quite compact, it DOES hold a lot of meat. I found it very simple to you and easy to set up. The ash-catching tray could have been a little larger, imo….and since you're at Home Depot, you might wanna pick up some extra wood to build yourself a stand for this thing----otherwise, you're kind of on the floor with everything. The end product so far for me has come out delicious every single time. I prefer the applewood chips…and Ive found its not really necessary to soak them; they'll smoke regardless, however if the tray is full of ash, you'll see a lot less smoke. -----liked it so much I bought my dad one also.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly, good seal around the door-edge, easy to use digital cook-timer, heats up really fast, fun to use
Cons: Difficult to Clean, needs aluminum foil liner every smoke, unit is too low to the ground, back-side spout with catch tray is useless, chip-ashtray is way too small, does not come with a cover
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 30 in. Vertical Digital Electric Smoker
Mike2430
from Augusta, GA, USA

OUTSTANDING SMOKER

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
OUTSTANDING smoker! Have only used 4 times but absolutely love it. I was very hesitant buying an electric smoker but am very glad I did. The smoker comes up to full heat at 275 in less than 30 min (as recommended in manual) and once it cooled back down to my cooking temp, it maintained that temp within +/- 2 degrees then entire time. Note: one day was 35-40 degrees with rain/wind and another day was 60 degrees. Awesome.
After 4 uses, I now know that the chips last/smoke for about 2 hours+ without having to reload...and it is only a cup of chips! Also, I have received the best results by NOT soaking the chips first. HIGHLY RECOMMEND this smoker.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Distributes Heat Evenly
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 30 in. Vertical Digital Electric Smoker
SmokedStanley
from Taunton Ma
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Little Smoker

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have smoked Many shoulders, briskets, chicken ribs and loins. This smoker does an amazing job. Beautiful bark, maintains temps wether its 0 degrees or 100. I have used it in the middle of a blizzard with no problem. The wood should turn to ash in the smoke tray, I say this because I read a review were they said it didn't. All my chips get soaked in water and always burn down to ash. The only down side I have found with this smoker is I can only fit two large Boston Butts at a time due to the space between shelves. I would highly recomend this smoker. Don't pay more for a glass door that you won't be able to see through halfway yhrough a long smoke.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Sturdy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 30 in. Vertical Digital Electric Smoker
Bell
from Aiken, SC
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Disappointed !!!!

PostedNovember 7, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Really loved the smoker but in less than two years it quit working. We have always kept it in the garage when not in use. Very disappointed.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 30 in. Vertical Digital Electric Smoker
AmateurSmoker
from Nebraska, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great, easy to use!

PostedMarch 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this smoker after doing much research and comparison of similar products. A relative had one, and liked it so much, he bought a second one.
While some of the other reviews were critical of the construction quality, I had no issues whatsoever. Obviously, it wouldn't survive being run over by a truck, but I wasn't expecting that. It arrived in good packaging, was not dented or scratched, and seems to be well-constructed. The drip pans and grates fit well, and the wood loading tube fits and works very well.
The digital readout is easy to install, easy to use, and the unit comes up to temperature quickly. The temp stays constant for hours, and it produces smoke using only a small amount of wood chips.
I have smoked pork shoulder, roast, loin, and ribs. They have all turned out great, especially the ribs.
I also purchased the matching cover, as it will sit on my patio, and will be exposed to the weather. The cover fits well, and seems like it will do the job as intended.
The only addition I could suggest, would be to add wheels to the back, so it could be rolled in and out of storage easily.
Overall, I am happy with the product, and am looking forward to using it for some time to come.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Distributes Heat Evenly
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 30 in. Vertical Digital Electric Smoker
Gotcha

Master Built Smoker

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So far ...so good ! It holds almost twice as much as my previous smoker and appears to be doing a much better job as well ! The temp settings and timer make life a whole lot simpler for smoking.
Cleanup is somewhat of a hassle...but had that with the previous one as well.....just have to stay with it. I spray the grates with PAM but it still sticks .
The chip pan works really good....just need to figure out how many times to add chips for the smokiness of whatever it is you are smoking. I guessed at it and it worked very good .
Should have gotten one of these a long time ago....as a tip...don't throw the box it came in away...tape the flaps up and store all the parts inside the smoker ...slide the box upside down over the smoker and you have a storage cover that works out good !
+52points
52out of 52found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 30 in. Vertical Digital Electric Smoker
Gkrs4
from Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

First electric smoker, very impressed.

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Holds temp well. Load in temp and time and walk away. Only thing I would change, it needs a larger bin for wood. Has to be loaded all the time. Can't leave for more than an hour or so or it will run out.
Pros: Distributes Heat Evenly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 30 in. Vertical Digital Electric Smoker
Danny
from Maryland
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome smoker!

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've only had my smoker for about 2 weeks. This model was recommended to me by a friend. So far I have smoked 2 briskets and 3 slabs of ribs. They have all turned out great! Great price, great quality!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 30 in. Vertical Digital Electric Smoker
FriscoVeteran
from Frisco, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Have not had any problems

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this smoker 4 years ago as another option over my stick burner. I have not had any trouble with this product so far. It maintains temp well, and allows rack removal for large/odd cuts of meat. This unit is easy to clean after use although I use foil in my water pan and grease trap to make this task even easier. It's nice to have something that I don't have to keep a close eye on when I'm smoking peppers to make paprika or chipotles to ribs, pork butt and brisket. I still use my stick burner for very large cuts and crowds but still use the electric for smaller jobs or appetizers. It also comes in handy for the holidays in keeping a freshly smoked ham warm and other items. I have full double ovens in the house and it's still nice to have a little extra room "just in case". I'm going to build an enclosure for it this year to bring the height up to make it a little easier to work with (I'm 6'4"). I always keep mine in my shed with a smoker cover I purchased separately when not in use. I don't know if that has been the issue for those who have had electrical issues but may be worth the small investment.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Distributes Heat Evenly, maintains temperature
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 30 in. Vertical Digital Electric Smoker
TxSmoker
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great little smoke box

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very nice smoker. It is well built and nicely insulated. At the maximum temperature you can touch any part of the box without getting burned. Great when you have small children running around.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 30 in. Vertical Digital Electric Smoker
valmont
from Kalispell, Montana

Good value for the price

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This smoker was really more than I expected for what I paid for it. The cabinet seals well and the temperature control is pretty good.
I smoked a slab of ribs for about 5 hrs.-they came out very tender and well smoked-temp was set on 230 degrees. Only added chips once after initial filling-used chips that were fairly small sized-more like course sawdust, not the larger ones I use on my charcoal grill.
Overall, I'm well pleased. Bought the cover-would advise doing that to keep it dry and clean.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 30 in. Vertical Digital Electric Smoker
orangerail
from salisbury,north carolina

masterbuilt 30"smoker

PostedNovember 25, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
received our smoker yesterday,odered from website and got it in two days,seasoned it that nite(thanksgivin eve) and did one of our thanksgivin turkeys as per recipes from several friends, and LOVED it....doin venison jerky is unreal.TOTALLY recommend this smoker,we have the one w/o the glass in the door and it is excellent.
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 30 in. Vertical Digital Electric Smoker
GGee
from NE Tennessee
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Absolutely terrible factory support!

PostedDecember 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this smoker a couple of years ago over the internet and I used it probably 20 or so times. About a year ago, the heating element on the lower back part burnt through. A fairly simple looking fix to just swap out the part or so I thought ( I think there were 4 sheet metal screws to take off the cover plate). I never asked the manufacturer to replace the part under warranty although I feel a warranty replacement would have been justified , I just wanted to buy the part and fix my smoker. Several calls to Masterbuilt resulted in "parts not available - call back in a couple of months" response. Pitiful!
STAY AWAY!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 30 in. Vertical Digital Electric Smoker
WILJAMIN
from Lexington, KY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

BEST DECK SMOKER EVER! AAAA

PostedAugust 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I HAVE HAD ALL KINDS OF SMOKERS IN MY TIME BUT FOR THE LAST 2 YEARS THIS BAD BOY HAS BEEN MY NUMBER ONE. IT DOESN'T GET HOT ON THE OUTSIDE SO IT IS GREAT AROUND KIDS AND PETS. YOU CAN PICK IT UP AND MOVE IT AT 275 DEGREES INSIDE IF NEEDED. I'VE HAD 2 BRISKETS 2 PORK LOINS AND 2 CHICKENS IN IT AT ONCE SO IT HOLDS A LOT TOO. AWESOME.
Pros: Sturdy, Distributes Heat Evenly, Durable, Easy to Clean, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship
+31points
35out of 39found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 30 in. Vertical Digital Electric Smoker
1plus1is2
from Virginia

Almost perfect

PostedAugust 7, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Very satisfied.
The side loader for the wood chips is an OK idea in concept. In fact it can be used perhaps at most only twice. At the first load and then one more load. After the second cup of woods chips the interior wood chip bin is full as one would expect since the wood only smokes and does not burn.
So if more chips need to be added, the door must be opened and the wood chip bin emptied.
+25points
26out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 30 in. Vertical Digital Electric Smoker
ABakes

Exactly what i wanted

PostedNovember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I am new to the smoking world and wanted something easy to use and produced a good product. This is exactly that.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 30 in. Vertical Digital Electric Smoker
The1SmokingFool
from Dallas,Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I am really enjoying this skmoker

PostedDecember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The one thingt hat I have found is that the unit is so well insulated that the food cooked faster then most reccommended time & temperatures..A 21 lb. Brined Turket cooked in 5 1/2 hours, Was I surprised. You bet. I thought it woud take at least 8 hrs. at 225 degrees. Juicy and delicious..
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Distributes Heat Evenly
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 30 in. Vertical Digital Electric Smoker
Trex60
from Cincinnati, Oh

Great Smoker

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My second one, after 8 years I wore the first one out! Holds plenty of food, good temperature control and easy to use. Great price too!
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 30 in. Vertical Digital Electric Smoker
KLG05
from Tulsa, OK, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedDecember 4, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used it for the first time to smoke a Turkey for Thanksgiving. It worked perfectly and gave my turkey a beautiful color and wood taste. It tasted like the expensive all wood smoker without all of the work. All I had to do is once every 45 minutes to an hour go out and put a few wood chips in the smoker and done. Can't wait to see what else I can smoke.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 30 in. Vertical Digital Electric Smoker
JimCal
from Dallas. TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Product that performs well and exceeds expectations!

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love my new electric smoker. Does a great job cooking chicken, ribs, and beef. I would make the same decision again in a heartbeat. Just be sure and cover the water pan with heavy duty aluminum foil and clean up is a snap. I put the grates in my dishwasher and they cleaned up well.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship
+16points
20out of 24found this review helpful.
1 2 >>