728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 6 in. Hammer-End Joint Knife with Rubber Soft-Grip

6 in. Hammer-End Joint Knife with Rubber Soft-Grip

This 6 in. Hammer-End Joint Knife has a high carbon steel blade for proper flex and smooth feathered finish and resists wear, abrasion and damage from most common paint thinners.
Overall rating:
2.8 / 5
2.8
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
58%of customersrecommend this product7 of 12reviews
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
2.8 out of 5.0
5
(2)
4
(5)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(5)
Quality 
2.8 out of 5.0
2.8 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
58%of customersrecommend this product7 of 12reviews
Customer reviews for 6 in. Hammer-End Joint Knife with Rubber Soft-Grip
Review 1 for 6 in. Hammer-End Joint Knife with Rubber Soft-Grip
from Canton
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

blade started to rust!

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The feel and flexibility of the knife is just fine, however the blade started to rust on me after the first day of use. Either it's not stainless or it's an inferior quality stainless steel. I have other joint knifes (from a different store) that have lasted years without ever showing any signs of rust. If the oxidation is not removed before starting your job it will smear off into the joint.
Pros: feels good
Cons: Maintenance, rusts
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 6 in. Hammer-End Joint Knife with Rubber Soft-Grip
from Las Vegas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Just as good as the more expensive ones !

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Cant get any better ! Just as good as the more expensive products !
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Straight, Great Value, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Economical, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 6 in. Hammer-End Joint Knife with Rubber Soft-Grip
from Westfield, MA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

comfortable handle

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
All of my drywall trowles are this brand I work them hard and I know I can depend on them for the long haul.
Pros: Performs Well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 6 in. Hammer-End Joint Knife with Rubber Soft-Grip
from Dayton, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Piece of junk

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
not at all satisfied I wish I bought a hyde .This knife bent the first time I used it to tape a joint .I should return it i'ts more junk from china .I thought it would be good because of the name but no luck there.
Cons: flimsy junk
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 6 in. Hammer-End Joint Knife with Rubber Soft-Grip

not good at all

PostedNovember 30, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
bought 4 of them and they all broke at the handle. i have yet to take them back. DO NOT BUY!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 6 in. Hammer-End Joint Knife with Rubber Soft-Grip
from Sioux Falls

Breaks upon use

PostedMay 30, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
simply put the collet breaks upon use. Makes it flimsy and extremely flexible.
Partial tang, not handle length.
Junk
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 6 in. Hammer-End Joint Knife with Rubber Soft-Grip
from sunny sequim,wa
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Comfortable handle,

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Comfortable handle, easy to use. appears good for occasional use
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 6 in. Hammer-End Joint Knife with Rubber Soft-Grip
from Logan, OH 43138, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Daily

This product needs straighter edges

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I recently purchased a 12" trowel for dry wall mudding and found that the edges have a curve which I would say is a product defect and makes it rather hard to keep good flat joints while attempting to mud and creates high sides which in turns causes trowel to drag on the tips terribly
Pros: Economical, Reliable
Cons: Difficult to Use, Inconsistent
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 6 in. Hammer-End Joint Knife with Rubber Soft-Grip
from Hopewell, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Daily

WOULD BUY AGAIN

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
GOOD QUALITY, GOOD VALUE AND WILL RECOMMEND TO OTHERS.
Pros: Performs Well, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 6 in. Hammer-End Joint Knife with Rubber Soft-Grip
from Omaha
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Rusts easily

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've had this Knife for about a week now and boy does it ever rust easily.
I wouldn't recommend buying this for drywall mudding and taping.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 6 in. Hammer-End Joint Knife with Rubber Soft-Grip
from Toms River, NJ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Good Taping Knife

PostedApril 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This kniife is good for setting tape and top coating. The hammer end helps set those ocasional high nails.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Easy to Clean, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 6 in. Hammer-End Joint Knife with Rubber Soft-Grip
from Haddonfield, NJ, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Not flexible enough for drywall finishing

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased item to remove wallpaper from plaster walls and it woked great without wetting walls. It didn't work to good removing wallpaper adhesive
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Good Shape, Easy to Clean
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 6 in. Hammer-End Joint Knife with Rubber Soft-Grip
from Sea Girt, NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good product easy to use

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Handy tool works well
Easy to use
This tool comes in very handy
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 6 in. Hammer-End Joint Knife with Rubber Soft-Grip
from Akron, OH, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

too expensive

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Another overpriced tool, it better last a long time to justify the cost. Seems to work ok.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 6 in. Hammer-End Joint Knife with Rubber Soft-Grip
from Buckner, Ill.

good joint knife.

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
when received , tip was bent. Had to it return to Marion, Ill. store. which is 30 miles away. It should have been checked before shipping.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.