728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Drywall Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 6 in. Hammer-End Joint Knife with Rubber Soft-Grip

6 in. Hammer-End Joint Knife with Rubber Soft-Grip

This 6 in. Hammer-End Joint Knife has a high carbon steel blade and cast metal hammer-end. This tool is used for spotting nails (apply first coat of mud over nail). It offers proper flex and smooth feathered finish. It is wear resistant, abrasion and damage from most common paint thinners.
Overall rating:
2.958 / 5
3.0
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
57%of customersrecommend this product12 of 21reviews
Rating Breakdown 24 reviews
3.0 out of 5
5
(5)
4
(6)
3
(2)
2
(5)
1
(6)
Quality 
3.1 out of 5
3.1 out of 5
Value 
3.1 out of 5
3.1 out of 5
57%of customersrecommend this product12 of 21reviews
Customer reviews for 6 in. Hammer-End Joint Knife with Rubber Soft-Grip
Review 1 for 6 in. Hammer-End Joint Knife with Rubber Soft-Grip

comfortable but not durable

PostedApril 2, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Comfortable grip but metal isn't stainless. Didn't even use enough to finish bathroom before it started pitting. Bought a cheaper 12" blade from a store that stocks only parts from China and it is in great shape.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 6 in. Hammer-End Joint Knife with Rubber Soft-Grip

cheap xxxxxxxxxxxxx

PostedMarch 26, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
if it was stainless steel so it would not rust and you have to clean rust all the time , aslo handle started falling apart on frisrt room
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 6 in. Hammer-End Joint Knife with Rubber Soft-Grip
from NE Ohio
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

JUNK

PostedApril 20, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The blade started rusting after the first clean and dry and then proceeded to work itself loose from the handle in about 3 days. The blade is still in the handle but flops around when taping. Already ordered a 3 pack of 6 inch Hyde knives from Depot for $16 versus this junk that cost $10 for one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 6 in. Hammer-End Joint Knife with Rubber Soft-Grip
from Canton
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

blade started to rust!

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The feel and flexibility of the knife is just fine, however the blade started to rust on me after the first day of use. Either it's not stainless or it's an inferior quality stainless steel. I have other joint knifes (from a different store) that have lasted years without ever showing any signs of rust. If the oxidation is not removed before starting your job it will smear off into the joint.
Pros: feels good
Cons: Maintenance, rusts
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 6 in. Hammer-End Joint Knife with Rubber Soft-Grip
from Brighton, Mi.
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

i learned how to do dry wall mud for the 1st time using this

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
when u 1st do your drywall mud you put the sticky tape down, then apply a coat down the seam 6 ines wide, this is the knife I use.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Straight, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Economical, Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 6 in. Hammer-End Joint Knife with Rubber Soft-Grip
from Twentynine Palms, California
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

joint knife

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
flexible and easy to use. nice size to hide sheet rock seams
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 6 in. Hammer-End Joint Knife with Rubber Soft-Grip
from Alta Loma, California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great tool for taping

PostedJanuary 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Thanks corporate for stocking this tool, I cant buy from HD if you dont stock the item....................
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 6 in. Hammer-End Joint Knife with Rubber Soft-Grip
from Chesapeake
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Weekly

Good all-around joint knife

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The knife has an easy to hold grip but is a bit stiff though.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight
Cons: too stiff
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 6 in. Hammer-End Joint Knife with Rubber Soft-Grip
from Chattanooga, TN
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Super disappointed

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was really disappointed. It looked like stainless steel. It was more expensive like stainless steel. It RUSTED after just one use and the stainless looking finish got pit marks all over it.
I could have gotten a better product for half the price at Harbor Freight or Walmart.
Cons: not stainless
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 6 in. Hammer-End Joint Knife with Rubber Soft-Grip

Does what it should.

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Works as intended. It will rust if you don't properly clean and dry it after usage.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 6 in. Hammer-End Joint Knife with Rubber Soft-Grip

not good at all

PostedNovember 30, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
bought 4 of them and they all broke at the handle. i have yet to take them back. DO NOT BUY!
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 6 in. Hammer-End Joint Knife with Rubber Soft-Grip
from Las Vegas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Just as good as the more expensive ones !

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Cant get any better ! Just as good as the more expensive products !
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Straight, Great Value, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Economical, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 6 in. Hammer-End Joint Knife with Rubber Soft-Grip
from Westfield, MA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

comfortable handle

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
All of my drywall trowles are this brand I work them hard and I know I can depend on them for the long haul.
Pros: Performs Well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 6 in. Hammer-End Joint Knife with Rubber Soft-Grip
from Dayton, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Piece of junk

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
not at all satisfied I wish I bought a hyde .This knife bent the first time I used it to tape a joint .I should return it i'ts more junk from china .I thought it would be good because of the name but no luck there.
Cons: flimsy junk
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 6 in. Hammer-End Joint Knife with Rubber Soft-Grip
from Sioux Falls

Breaks upon use

PostedMay 30, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
simply put the collet breaks upon use. Makes it flimsy and extremely flexible.
Partial tang, not handle length.
Junk
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 6 in. Hammer-End Joint Knife with Rubber Soft-Grip
from Logan, OH 43138, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Daily

This product needs straighter edges

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I recently purchased a 12" trowel for dry wall mudding and found that the edges have a curve which I would say is a product defect and makes it rather hard to keep good flat joints while attempting to mud and creates high sides which in turns causes trowel to drag on the tips terribly
Pros: Economical, Reliable
Cons: Difficult to Use, Inconsistent
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 6 in. Hammer-End Joint Knife with Rubber Soft-Grip
from sunny sequim,wa
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Comfortable handle,

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Comfortable handle, easy to use. appears good for occasional use
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 6 in. Hammer-End Joint Knife with Rubber Soft-Grip
from Hopewell, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Daily

WOULD BUY AGAIN

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
GOOD QUALITY, GOOD VALUE AND WILL RECOMMEND TO OTHERS.
Pros: Performs Well, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 6 in. Hammer-End Joint Knife with Rubber Soft-Grip
from Omaha
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Rusts easily

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've had this Knife for about a week now and boy does it ever rust easily.
I wouldn't recommend buying this for drywall mudding and taping.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 6 in. Hammer-End Joint Knife with Rubber Soft-Grip
from Toms River, NJ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Good Taping Knife

PostedApril 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This kniife is good for setting tape and top coating. The hammer end helps set those ocasional high nails.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Easy to Clean, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>