728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Riding Mowers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 54 in. 24 HP Kawasaki Zero-Turn Riding Mower

54 in. 24 HP Kawasaki Zero-Turn Riding Mower

The Cub Cadet 54 in. 24 HP Kawasaki Hydrostatic Zero-Turn Riding Mower features a dual hydro-gear ZT transmission for cooler running temperatures, resulting in increased durability and smoother operation. The triple blades with 1-3/8 in. overlap combined with the heavy duty deck design, provide a superior cut. High back comfortable seat can be adjusted for any operator. Pivoting front axle provides a smoother ride and more professional cut.
Overall rating:
4.667 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product9 of 9reviews
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(7)
4
(1)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(0)
100%of customersrecommend this product9 of 9reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for 54 in. 24 HP Kawasaki Zero-Turn Riding Mower
Review 1 for 54 in. 24 HP Kawasaki Zero-Turn Riding Mower
RonnieD
from Sycamore, AL.

Great mower

PostedJune 17, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had my mower about two weeks and I love it.
Only problem was the PTO would not engage after about a week but Home Depot promptly gave me a new mower. I can cut my lawn in about 1/2 the time on less fuel than my old 42" cut that had a 18.5 HP.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 54 in. 24 HP Kawasaki Zero-Turn Riding Mower
kahaone
from N.E. Pa

Really good machine!

PostedAugust 21, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This year I finally broke down and bought this mower. It was a store return, with 2.3 hours on it. Factory reconditioned, full 3 yr warranty, and they took $1000 off retail price! Was a deal I could not pass up. And, it works great! I mow about 8 acres every week. With my old Cub 20hp, 46" cut it usually took me about 7 hours. Now, I do it in 1/2 the time! About 3.5 hours per week. I almost wish it still took longer, it is fun driving this thing! My only real gripe, is the small 3 gallon fuel tank. I'd really prefer 4 or 4.5 gallons. But overall, this is a great unit, and I wish I had bought one years ago!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 54 in. 24 HP Kawasaki Zero-Turn Riding Mower
TranspacDan
from Port Townsend, Washington

Cub Cadet 54" ZTR mower

PostedJune 15, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a very good mower and an excellent value. To be honest, the mower is more like a 4 star but the value is really great, maybe a 5+ star. To be a truly 5 star mower in my mind, you are talking commercial grade Gravely, Hustler, etc. costing about 3X what the Cub Cadet runs. From my research and what I have driven, this is about as good as it gets in residential mowers and wouldn't be that far off the pace of the commercial grade machines, (except for the speed).
I have around 4+ acres to mow, about 1 acre is formal front yard with an orchard, flowers and shrubs and the rest is a "parked out" field. Both have a lot of trees along with a drainage ditch and berm that are steep enough to challenge a ZTR but this did very well. And I mean really well! I tried a friend's 54" riding lawn mower and it took about 7 hours, this just about cut it in half.
For comparison, I also tried a friend's Gravely 54" (it's awesome) commercial mower before I bought this and while this is not quite as good in terms of overall heavy duty construction, maneuverability and speed, it costs about 1/3 as much. And they both have Kawasaki engines that seem to be the industry leader.
To clarify, the maneuverability is really good and pretty close to the Gravely for going around trees and such but the difference is more evident when it gets moving. For example, when rolling along pretty quickly, in particular down an incline, when I try and turn hard, it does not react immediately but sort of slowly carves a large arc. I have found that it does best by slowing down a lot before I need to turn, however, this may be intentional for safety.
Another thing on my "I wish I could change" list is it is sometimes slower than I would like. The commercial ZTR's can do 12 MPH or more compared to the 6.5 MPH of the Cub. But to be fair, the number of times I could "open it up" and go a lot faster is maybe 10-15% of the lawn and even then, I wouldn't go more than 8-10 MPH anyway. So this costs me a few minutes but for large, smooth, open lawns, it would be more significant and you might wish you had a lot more speed.
Another thing on my wish list would be to have more than a 3 gallon capacity tank. I find that it uses about 1 gallon an hour and it takes about 4 hours to do my yard. A minor inconvenience but it seems to run out when it is on the far edge of the property.
The final "I wish..." is a way to disable the automatic shut down of the blades when in reverse. The Cub Cadet lawn tractor has a bypass that allows you to have this safety feature turned on or off. I wish I could do that with this model. I waste time when I have to turn the mower 180 degrees instead of just backing up. and I never have any kids around to worry about.
A few minor gripes:
Mowing under low branches has bent the key, hit the throttle and pried off the gas cap but this can mostly be avoided with awareness of the branches rubbing the console.
Pluses:
*Fun to drive!
*very good quality construction
*mows steep ditches and challenging hills better than ZTR's are suppose to
*much faster than riding mowers
*easily goes up and over steep hills and ditches, really excellent
*very intuitive, easy to learn-don't worry, anyone can do it
*Fun to drive! (I had to mention it again)
Finally, you can almost judge the quality of the mower by the weight. The commercial grade mowers for the pro's are well over a thousand pounds. The Cub Cadet 54" ZTR at 750 lbs is a lot less than what the pro's use but one heck of a lot more mower than the other residential types for about the same cost or less.
I should also mention that Home Depot delivered this very quickly for not much money. This model was not available anywhere from any dealer locally so I was not able to try it before I bought it. Other Cub Cadet dealers could have ordered this for me but without the ability to return it if it didn't work out well. I didn't test them on it but I was assured the 30 day return policy from HD would have allowed me to return it if it would not have worked as well as it did and if I wasn't as happy with it as I am.
In summary, this is a "Daddy Playstation". Kids get the video games and you get the Cub Cadet RZT 54 mower. It is about as much fun as you can legally have mowing a lawn! It is a great deal and may be the best value for residential mowers around.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 54 in. 24 HP Kawasaki Zero-Turn Riding Mower
WNYPete
from Avoca,New York

1/3 mow time savings at 1/3 mower price

PostedJuly 27, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this mower after much research and checking my friends machines. I have operated it now for nearly 5 engine hours problem free. Basically the first mow and some trimming, yes, I trim with this 54" deck. My 121" behind a 85 hp turbo diesle is for the big part of the yard.
This cub gives a smooth ride, great mowing performance, excellent build quality, and everything is easy to service. The grease zerks are easy to get at, deck has enough access to broom it off, and belts are all easy to get and to inspect. Love the fact it takes 30 seconds to remove the deck and about 120 seconds to re-install.
Where this machine is not so good is just in the design of zero turns in general, mainly no slopes over 10 degrees in my opinion. I never felt comfortable when not on the level. Maybe with more time on it I will be better at it. Cup holder is on wrong side, needs to be moved to non-discharge side. A little more resistance on the steering rods would not hurt either. It would help in tracking better looking straight lines in my opinion.
I would rate this machine with five stars if the cup holder was on the correct side. So I really give it a 4.99
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 54 in. 24 HP Kawasaki Zero-Turn Riding Mower
Spotsy
from Spotsylvania, VA

RZT54 Review

PostedApril 19, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just purchased an RZT54 from HomeDepot and used it for 3 hours last week. This machine is awesome once you get used to the controls. I really like it. I did have a few minor problems though that appear to be mostly caused by the assembler. The belt for the hydro drive came loose once...had to put that back on and found that the spring loaded arm has a useless square hole for a ratchet or breaker bar. The hole is too close to a pulley, so it cannot be accessed properly. Also, the throttle stop bolt on the right arm control stick needed to be adjusted as it prevented full motion. And I found that there was no grease in any of the grease fittings. Lastly, I had to correct an issue with the front center deck roller, as there was 2 spacers on one side instead of a spacer on either side.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 54 in. 24 HP Kawasaki Zero-Turn Riding Mower
matt252
from houston tx

Great mower

PostedApril 29, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
had one for 5 year commercial use and never let me down
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 54 in. 24 HP Kawasaki Zero-Turn Riding Mower
jgendreau
from Southern Mississippi

Just got mine

PostedFebruary 17, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Bought this modle to replace a 12 yr old Scotts 25 hp 54" rider.
THE GOOD:
First Zero turn I've been on, Takes some gettin use to. It's fun once you get the hang of it. Has the power needed and very comfortable to rider, a little ruff on the bumps though. added a set of Driving lights to the front for the dark times and added LED's under the skirt to shine on the deck. Looks Awesome and I can mow at midnight if I really want to make the neighbors mad!! LOL Added the bagger for this mower to collect the clippings fror Composting. All in all I like this machine so far time will tell.
THE BAD:
Had ti do some tweaking to get it track right, it would pull to the left all the time. adjusting the stops recommended didn't solve the pull. had to adjust the actual rod. The mower deck doesn't lower low enough but I'll have to fabricate new longer deck bar's. Bagger kit was not engineereed very well, some of the parts just didn't fit right. (ie: front shoot attachment point on the deck, the plastic shoot itself took some pushing to get all the way on.) I don't like the semi rubber handgrips, they irritae me hands so I have to wear gloves. Needs Bigger tires to make ride softer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 54 in. 24 HP Kawasaki Zero-Turn Riding Mower
g8rvet
from near Tallahassee, FL

Just purchased this

PostedJuly 21, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this instore in Tallahassee Florida. Wow, the sales help was just that, very helpful. My family was in the hardware business for years and I am very picky with the sales folks and these people exceeded my expectations in helpfulness and friendliness.
Now, the product. I am giving it a 5 so far. I used it for the first time and there is a learning curve to driving these. My son and nephew both use one at work and showed me how to drive. Within 30 minutes I was very comfortable. Once I got comfortable, I mowed my lawn that takes about 4 hours with a 60 inch finish mower on my 25HP tractor in 2.5 hours! Cut was just as good. It trims almost as close as a weedeater and will cut my weedeating time in half as well. If you don't think you want to spend the money, for goodness sake, don't sit on and mow with one of these, because you will figure out a way to buy one. They are that nice. I bought the extended warranty out to 7 years for a very reasonable price as well. Friend has the 50" that is 4 years old with no problems.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 54 in. 24 HP Kawasaki Zero-Turn Riding Mower
mrgriffin
from nashville georgia

nice machine

PostedApril 4, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i have had this machine for several years .its really been a great mower.i mow several acres twice a week during season .im going to buy another just so we can cut our mowing time in half
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.