728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Tillers & Cultivators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 208 CC, Rear Tine Tiller

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

208 CC, Rear Tine Tiller

The Yard Machines Rear Tine Tiller is ideal for any tough tilling job. With a powerful OHV engine and cast-iron gear drive, this tiller is built to last. A great choice for gardens up to 10,000 square feet or for starting a new garden bed.
Overall rating:
4.429 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product12 of 14reviews
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(11)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(1)
86%of customersrecommend this product12 of 14reviews
Customer reviews for 208 CC, Rear Tine Tiller
Review 1 for 208 CC, Rear Tine Tiller
from san antonio, tx

Favorite piec of equipment

PostedMarch 16, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Dont normally do reviews, but picked up this machine over weekend and tried it out. It is absolutely awesome. Tilled up 1/3 acre yard to resod in a day and a half. That includes prepping yard, cleaning up, tilling at a lower level to break up weeds and grass, and then going over again at 5" depth everywhere. Never have I used a tiller that was so responisve and handled my hard and rocky land in stone oak so well.
I have told everyone about this unit and hope I get a chance to tear up some more ground soon. My new favorite toy in the garage!!....and I got almost every piece of power equipment I can think of.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 208 CC, Rear Tine Tiller
from Towanda Pa

PostedNovember 16, 2009
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It runs strong but the 7/8 nut on one of the drive pulleys keeps coming loose. Each time I use the tiller i have to take off the guard to tighten that nut.I would change that pressed metal pulley, I believe that is why that nut keeps loosening up. other then that it seems to be a decent machine. I will come up with a way to keep that nut tight. To have the wheels turn freely you have to remove the pins from the hubs, that is a hassle. It would be nice to have the handle remove for transport with out using tools. be prepared to get your sockets and wrenches out because this machines will need constant attention to make sure it does not vibrate apart after each use and maybe during use. i have used the tiller 3 times and each time I had to tighten that 7/8 nut each time in the middle of tilling. If you don't mind fixing things then this is a good machine for you
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 208 CC, Rear Tine Tiller
from Green Creek, NC

Good Machine

PostedAugust 27, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Chews up my hard packed red clay really good. Chose this machine based on other positive reviews and so far am quite pleased with the unit. Only 2 things I'm not overly thrilled with, no throttle control on the handle and having to pin/unpin the wheels to the axle for drive and neutral. The throttle control isn't a big deal but I really would have liked a neutral position on the the transmission but then it's one less thing that could cause a problem!
Selected this over the Cub Cadet tiller because some reviews said the Cub would hang up on larger rocks but so far no problem with this tiller breaking them out and moving on.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 208 CC, Rear Tine Tiller
from Philadelphia, TN

Best for the Money

PostedJune 7, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Researched all the tillers on the market. Finally narrowed it down to ariens, cub cadet, and this yard machine. When I got down to it the yard machine dollar for dollar was the better machine in appearance. The arien was shoddy construction sitting next to the yard machine. The cub was difficult to adjust, the yard machine adjusted instantly and without strain.
after using it for 4.5 hours I am in love. It started FIRST crank right off my truck. It shifts from forward to reverse flawlessly. Tills to maximum depth without bogging. I can walk beside the tiller using only one hand and maintain full control. Perfect till spead. Dirt looks like it's been sifted. This is tilling through some rocky soil. Tried it in a root bound section just to see and it ate the roots like candy. tilled the garden ((.33 acres) and had started on the back yard when my wife made me quit.
It is also very quite. I had no problem hearing her screams.
I like it better than the three point tractor tillers I have used.
I am 57 years old and this isn't my first tiller but it could well be my last.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 208 CC, Rear Tine Tiller
from Conway, AR

GREAT TILLER!!!

PostedMay 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this tiller about a week ago after researching and studying the many rear tine tillers out there. I found this one to be the best in my opinion because of the price and the style of the tine drive trans. I have a pretty large garden area and it cut my tilling to a fraction of the time it usually takes. Can't believe how remarkably easy it is to break ground with this machine. I've been looking for friends to envite me to till up some ground for them. Can't wait to use it again.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 208 CC, Rear Tine Tiller
from Phillips, NE

Yard Machine Rear Tine Tiller

PostedJuly 13, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have this machine and it is everything I expected and more. I not only tilled the garden with ease, but also half a lot to prepare for new landscaping. I'm a rather small built person, but this big machine was easy to handle and manuever. Had the job done in no time. Would recommend this as a "buy".
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 208 CC, Rear Tine Tiller
from Riggs, MO

Power and Function combined

PostedJune 2, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I looked at several tillers to decide to get this one. Factors that affected my decision was affected by Home Depot's policy that I can take it back within 30 days. This gives me a bit more piece of mind as other stores say you buy it and it is yours. I looked at several reviews on other products. I actually waaned a different product until I read the reviews. I bought this tiller from a local Home Depot Store.
I wanted to make sure it was what I wanted in the first 30 days. I put it to the test, HARD. It outperformed my expectation. I dug through some tough tough clay. I ground it up to a beautiful fine composition. In addition, the tires are right size for traction. I would not go any smaller. The tiller started on one pull. After it was very warm, I turned it off, put the tires in cruise mode, and started it again. Took 2 pulls. No big deal.
The manual said walk behind to one side and use one hand to manueaver tiller. Good luck with that. I used two hands. My back was sore after 8 hours of tilling. Unbelievable work I accomplished.
I also own a small tiller. This works great for inbetween rows when I weed, but for serious tilling, go for the gold and get this reasonablly priced tiller.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 208 CC, Rear Tine Tiller
from Granbury, Texas

Great machine for the price

PostedSeptember 5, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this tiller 2 weeks ago, After all the online reviews at different sights, I bought this over the Cub cadet because of the price. I have used this several times while getting my fall garden ready. I love this machine. It operates smoothly, it breaks up the ground with little effort and is easy to maneuver. The only complaint I have is the pin set up for locking in the wheels. This is a minor inconvenience but the overall machine is a dream.The balance on it is good and there are ample adjustments for a wide variety of users. It starts on the first pull every time and is quite and smooth running.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 208 CC, Rear Tine Tiller
from Long Island

Tough unit, when it starts

PostedJune 15, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Hard starting from day 1. Worked for one season now needs service for non-starting. Plus, to actually use the unit you have to manually lock the wheels, then manually unlock the wheels before moving the unit back to storage. This requires that you slightly lift the unit with one hand, then spin the wheel w/the other hand until the pin-holes line-up. Pure 1960's design. I should have bought a Craftsman.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 208 CC, Rear Tine Tiller
from Brookshire, TX

AWESOME

PostedMarch 23, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We purchased the rear tine tiller instead of the front tine tiller because of the need to break up the ground. I picked it up last night and started in a small area that we are wanting to reseed with grass. We were able to complete the tilling within 30 minutes and get the seed planted. I would recommend this product to anyone that will be needing a tiller several times for larger areas. GRADE A AWESOME!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 208 CC, Rear Tine Tiller
from Indiana

It gets the job done

PostedMarch 13, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Nice product for the price point.
I needed it to dig out a rather large area of land so that I could create a garden. It did what it needed to do without incident. It was easy to assemble and easy to operate. If you are looking to till a rather large piece of land made of clay, this product works well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 208 CC, Rear Tine Tiller
from Conway, AR

PostedMay 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
excellent tiller for the price cuts through dirt like butter. Easy to operate. Would definitely recommend this machine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 208 CC, Rear Tine Tiller
from Meta, Missouri

Excellent Product

PostedMarch 15, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I researched many a tillers and for the price and quality unbeatable machine!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 208 CC, Rear Tine Tiller
from Chaparral, New Mexico

Great

PostedMay 11, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Cuts through the ground fast.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.