728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Tillers & Cultivators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 24 in. 158 cc Front Tine Gas 4-Cycle Tiller

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

24 in. 158 cc Front Tine Gas 4-Cycle Tiller

The Yard Machines 24 in. 158 cc Front Tine Gas 4-Cycle Tiller is great for medium-size gardens and for maintaining a previously tilled garden bed. This tiller features a powerful Briggs & Stratton to help you get the job done. The product offers an adjustable tilling width with 12 in. self-sharpening tines to help meet the needs of various cultivation and tilling tasks around your home and property.
Overall rating:
4.267 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
80%of customersrecommend this product12 of 15reviews
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(11)
4
(1)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(2)
80%of customersrecommend this product12 of 15reviews
Customer reviews for 24 in. 158 cc Front Tine Gas 4-Cycle Tiller
Review 1 for 24 in. 158 cc Front Tine Gas 4-Cycle Tiller
DarrellC
from Bountiuful, Utah

Great Buy

PostedMarch 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this tiller and when I got it home, I was pleased to find that all I had to do was put the handle on (no tools required) and add oil and gas. I was also pleased that I can adjust the tines to different widths.
Once I started the tiller, I used it to break up hard ground with grass. It chewed right through the ground. Fair warning.....I did have quite a few tree roots that I hit and when this happens, the tiller will try to jump around on you, just dig in the drag stake and let the machine do the work. It took me about 2 hours to break up a 15x25 area down to a depth of about 12" and I made 2 passes in that 2 hours.
This machine so far has been a great choice. I do recommend it.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 24 in. 158 cc Front Tine Gas 4-Cycle Tiller
fordman1

tiller

PostedMay 16, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Big tiller in a small package ! i bought this tiller new, i wanted a small garden, this machine dug through grass, roots, BIG rocks rite down to the fenders !! what an animal !!!, i ended up with a 40' X 20' plot before i knew it !,
The only thing is change the weak kotter pins on the augers... Besides that you'll get a big bang for the buck's.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 24 in. 158 cc Front Tine Gas 4-Cycle Tiller
Pierre
from Tyler Texas

fantastic

PostedMay 25, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
information you may need to know.
2 year warranty.
only use gasoline that is better then regular, you can use regular as long as its not worse then 10% ethanol.
you can knock out 100foot x 100 foot on a full tank of gas before you have to refill. Very fuel effective. It doesnt weigh very much at all, easy to lift. I enjoyed using it very much. I got as a early birth day gift from my wife and think its just great. just set it to rabbit and take your time. Try to keep tons of dust from flying into the air intake or you will stall it out. great for first time users. Make sure you put the oil in it that comes in the box or you will fry your tiller. You will need to pour almost the whole bottle in. enjoy.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 24 in. 158 cc Front Tine Gas 4-Cycle Tiller
Rbay
from Rocky Mtns.

MTD 158 cc Front tine tiller

PostedMay 25, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This tiller exceeded all expectations at how well it did, read on:
I had my doubts about a front tine tiller but I was tired of having to push my rear tine tiller through everything I tilled. I had heard that front tine tillers were not as good at breaking through tough ground as rear tine tillers, "they were not as good"," they were jumpy".
So, image my reserves to throw a couple hundred dollars to a front tine tiller but I was tired pushing my big rear tine tiller through the ground ( I thought it was the one suppose to be doing all the work).
However, I bought this tiller anyway and brought it home and oiled it gassed it and fired right up and put it right to work. What took me 4-5 hours pushing my rear tine tiller through I whipped through in 45 minutes, granted it had been tilled before. So, I was so impressed with the front tine tiller I wanted to put it to the test to see what it could really handle. So, to the hardest rockiest soil in my yard I went. It was right along the road in compact road base and rock. I wanted to prepare the soil to plant wild flowers. I had to set the drag stake all the way down but to my surprise it started to chug right through it, I was beside myself at how great it was doing and it was slowly pulling me unlike my rear tine which I would have had to constantly be nudging along with tires just spinning.
Now, there is a quick learning curve to the front tine and you'll have to do your own adjustments to the drag bar that greatly helps with control but it's just a quick adjustment to one pin. Read the owners manual, that always helps. If you don't set the drag the front tine tiller will run you all over the place. It does bounce when you hit a big rock but so does a rear tine.
It's just like riding a horse, if you move with the walk or gallop of a horse your in sync but if you ride against the movement of the horse you'll just beat yourself and the horse's back up. But if you flow together it is a nice experience for both of you , the same is for the front tine tiller. Set the drag and relax your arms and flow with it and it will nicely pull you and till your yard close to effortlessly as one can get to doing yard work like tilling.
Also this tiller can reduce in tilling width, the real reason I bought it was so I could go in between garden rows. The width goes down to a 13" which is perfect. So, for the same price as a Mantis tiller you are buying a big tiller and a little tiller all in one.
I couldn't be more thrilled--Happy Tilling!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 24 in. 158 cc Front Tine Gas 4-Cycle Tiller
Superdave144
from Rockaway NJ

Worked well for 2 minutes

PostedApril 1, 2009
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had reservations about buying the floor model, but they didn't have any left and I really needed a tiller. Well I got it home and fired it up. The engine was making a weird noise, but I wasn't sure if it was normal or just a break in thing. I started tilling and it worked well. It dug in pretty good and tilled the soil nicely. The single handle bar and throttle bar made it hard to engage the unit and hold it tightly at the same time. I guess it just takes some getting used to. After a few minutes the unit began to stall every time I would engage it. The only reason I gave it 3 stars instead of 1 is because it did till pretty well in the time it worked.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 24 in. 158 cc Front Tine Gas 4-Cycle Tiller
IM4Unluvyeshua
from White Mountains of AZ

Mighty Mole Chaser Machine

PostedJune 9, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just finished tilling all around house for garden and for the surrounding flowerbeds. My wife loves fresh tomatoes and the neighbors my zucchinis. This monster machine ground through hard, dry clay soil like a prairie dog tunneling for the winter. Chopped up sod and weeds mixed with local horse apples for composting an amazing, mighty mulch! I plan to aerate all of our lawn, too, letting blades slice neatly while rolling over top. Engine fires up with no coaxing and powerful with no stalling. Brilliant design! Having blades in front seems safer than some rototillers with blades closer to feet. WIsh I had purchased this terrific garden tool long ago!
Only caution, if lifting up to tip forward: Oil will enter engine for nice mosquito smoke bomb and kill engine unless leveled.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 24 in. 158 cc Front Tine Gas 4-Cycle Tiller
DaveAd

Watch out for floormodel units

PostedMay 1, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Had too many problems with the floor model unit. It's going back.
They stored it outside and the gas cap was loose, had to drain water out of the gas tank. Tines and shaft had some surface rust. Pull cord was jammed, unit wouldn't start. Tine control didn't fully engage, cord had too much slack with no way to adjust it.
Based on the other reviews, It may be a decent unit, but the floor model I got was a lemon. If all they have is a floor model, I'd suggest leaving it there.
A comment on the design... the wheels should have been made out of rubber instead of plastic, and they should have spaced the wheels further apart for stability. As is, it's very wobbly and hard to push over my gravel drive.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 24 in. 158 cc Front Tine Gas 4-Cycle Tiller
gr01
from Winston Salem, NC

great buy

PostedMarch 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had reservations about a front tine tiller, I thought the ground would have to be spaded before it could be tilled. I could not have been more surprised. It dug down to the fenders and moved forward with little urging. It did tend to bounce when it encountered a rock. Be warned if you tilt it forward too far it will give you a nice cloud of oil smoke. The only thing I would change would be to redesign the transport wheels and not have them so close together.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 24 in. 158 cc Front Tine Gas 4-Cycle Tiller
Tiller1
from Central Ohio

Surprised Husband

PostedJuly 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our garden was out of control with weeds. My wife brought this tiller home and I figured I had another chore to add to my list. After a few minutes of assembly and prep, this little beauty fired up on the first pull and ran like a champ. I took it to the garden, about 40' X 30', and made the first pass. It worked great. Then my wife took over and finished the rest of the garden in less than 1 hour. Perfect !
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 24 in. 158 cc Front Tine Gas 4-Cycle Tiller
76jeepcj5
from Blissfield, Mi

Nice tiller, Nice price, all USA made.

PostedMay 18, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have always owned front tine tillers as opposed to rear tines due to the fact that they are more compact for me to store, more versitile (width adjustable), and i think easier to use IF you know how to use them. I bought this machine to replace an old early 70's unit that I had inherited and rebuilt. I am overall happy with the new purchase. With the tiller being so light, it tends to jump up and down a little more than my old cast iron slug. In fact, the tine speed is faster than any other front tine units I have owned or used. The tine speed compounds the jumping issue a little, and makes it impossible to tilt the machine forward and "walk it" into position or "drive it" across the lawn with the tines under power, but the light weight makes up for it, so transporting to work site is not a big problem. Also by being so light I can fold the handle, and LIFT it by MYSELF into my small station wagon and take it to my parents and friends homes. Quality USA made Briggs and Stratton motor and width adjustable tines make it a big winner!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 24 in. 158 cc Front Tine Gas 4-Cycle Tiller
Pierre
from Tyler Texas

Pretty awesome

PostedMay 25, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Got this yesterday. 2 year warranty, has to use better then 10% 85 gasoline, but in the owner manual it says you can use normal gasoline but could void the warranty if they find you been using off brand. Fantastic tiller, fast tilling, I recommend mowing your lawn as short as possible where you are going to till will slice through it like butter.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 24 in. 158 cc Front Tine Gas 4-Cycle Tiller
paineel

learn to use it before buying

PostedMay 17, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The user manual does not make it very clear how to really take care of it. In very large letters it should state for people that have never owned a machine that you should not leave a mower sitting with gasoline in it. If you buy this I recommend that you get some type of plastic wrap and cover the air intakes and anywhere that it looks like bugs, dirt, and gunk can get into.
if you get nothing else out of this, make it that you do not leave gasoline in the tank and if you do make sure you go out and start it every 2 days other wise you are looking at forking out a ton of money to repair it and clean it out later.
-9points
2out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 24 in. 158 cc Front Tine Gas 4-Cycle Tiller
kostya
from New Windsor, NY

Great product

PostedSeptember 23, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product looked efficient and robust from the moment we bought it. When we tried it, it was extremely user-friendly. We strongly recomend it to people who are not scared to get dirty and love to work with Nature.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 24 in. 158 cc Front Tine Gas 4-Cycle Tiller
andy100
from colorado

heck ya

PostedNovember 27, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i love this tiller, considering i threw in the towel on my old tiller, this this works wonders, hands down the best bang for the buck!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 24 in. 158 cc Front Tine Gas 4-Cycle Tiller
kssmichigan
from Michigan

Tough little worker!

PostedMay 26, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This thing is tough as nails and will put out as much as you can take...a few passes and you're tillin' up nice soil...and our yard is TOUGH!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.