728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 3 ft. Aluminum 2-Step Stool 225 lb. Load Capacity

3 ft. Aluminum 2-Step Stool 225 lb. Load Capacity

The Cosco retro aluminum 2-step stool has a throwback look from long ago and offers utility and style with a 225 lb. weight capacity and classic chrome finish. It has a padded seat and back with sturdy leg tubing for stability. The step slides smoothly in and out and the treads are over-molded for security.
Overall rating:
3.893 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(28 reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
79%of customersrecommend this product22 of 28reviews
Rating Breakdown 28 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(11)
4
(10)
3
(2)
2
(3)
1
(2)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
79%of customersrecommend this product22 of 28reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for 3 ft. Aluminum 2-Step Stool 225 lb. Load Capacity
Review 1 for 3 ft. Aluminum 2-Step Stool 225 lb. Load Capacity
from LA, CA

A little small and uncomfortable for me

PostedMay 14, 2009
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Online I loved the look and the concept behind a shop stool that could double in a pinch as a step stool for reaching those items I stack up high in the garage.
The stool comes well packaged with good enough directions and the paint job is pretty cool. Unfortunately, the utility of this chair / step stool fails me on both counts.
First, I'm a larger guy, over 6' and I just couldn't get comfortable sitting on the chair. Perhaps I need to go on a diet.
Second, the steps I pull out easily enough....and while they are sturdy to support my size, they feel very small. Too small to really get comfortable stepping up.
So, I bequeathed this to the girlfriend for the kitchen. She's a foot shorter and weighs about half as much, so she can get into those kitchen cabinets now and can rest on the chair when she's undertaking larger baking projects.
But for a shop chair or garage stool...this one didn't work out for me.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 3 ft. Aluminum 2-Step Stool 225 lb. Load Capacity
from Narragansett, RI

Thanks for the Memories....

PostedMay 28, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this item as a Mother's Day gift for my 86 year old Mom. She had mentioned that she missed her step stool (that has long seen the landfill). This one definitely suits her specific needs and wants (she wanted it to sit on while she cooks at the stove). It's light enough for her to manage so that she can move it when she needs to reach a high shelf. Makes me remember the days when every kitchen had one!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 3 ft. Aluminum 2-Step Stool 225 lb. Load Capacity
from Texas

VERY disappointing!!

PostedMarch 20, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was excited to order two of these stools because the one we have from my grandparents is still in great shape. When they arrived, I was so very disappointed. The stool is NOT adult size. It looks like a miniature next to the old one. I would say the only person this would be appropriate for would be an eleven to thirteen year old child. Before ordering this product be sure you understand it is not going to work for an adult if you plan to sit on it.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 3 ft. Aluminum 2-Step Stool 225 lb. Load Capacity
from Hammond, LA

Cosco step stool

PostedMarch 21, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Nothing like the old step stool. The old Cosco stool had wider and more stable steps and the steps did not flip out when you picked up the stool to move it. You have tilt the stool backward so the steps do not flip out and hit your shin. Steps very narrow, but all in all it surves a purpose.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 3 ft. Aluminum 2-Step Stool 225 lb. Load Capacity

Great!

PostedAugust 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just what I was looking for! Can't find 'em these days and this one is exactly what I wanted. I hesitated because of prior reviews, but I have zero probs with it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 3 ft. Aluminum 2-Step Stool 225 lb. Load Capacity
from KCMO
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Crumby Cosco!!!

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Comfort 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
VERY difficult to assemble. VERY small seat. NOT VERY HAPPY!!!
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, Not Sturdy, Flimsy Quality, Appearance, piece of junk---nothing like the old originals!!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 3 ft. Aluminum 2-Step Stool 225 lb. Load Capacity
from Muncie, IN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This Product work out just as I wanted it to.

PostedJanuary 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Comfort 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My mother wanted for her home to use in the kitchen. So she could reach top of her cabinets. and use while she was cooking.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 3 ft. Aluminum 2-Step Stool 225 lb. Load Capacity
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Adequate to the task.

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Comfort 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The threaded holes in the stairs do not line up with the screw holes in the tubing.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Functional
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, Unaligned
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 3 ft. Aluminum 2-Step Stool 225 lb. Load Capacity
from Jackson, MI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Love the look and ease of use

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Comfort 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Love the look and stability of the chair. Some what disappointed in the "plastic" parts though, makes me wonder about the durability over time aspect. At this point only time will tell, so far so good though.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Vibrant Color, Looks Great, Perfect Size, Good Size & Weight, Functional
Cons: plastic parts
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 3 ft. Aluminum 2-Step Stool 225 lb. Load Capacity
from CO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Not just a generic stepstool

PostedJanuary 30, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Comfort 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Nice-looking retro feel, smaller than the original but handy for an extra seat to perch on & double to reach those high places.
It took longer than should have to put together because holes were not completely drilled in side braces. It was hard to line up to get the screws through & had to take partially apart to tap out. One screw never would go in the whole way in one area but is sturdy when fully assembled. It was somewhat disappointing that the glides for the steps are plastic. If made of metal would be much more substantial. As it is, you have to hold the steps in when moving the stool. I had reviewed several months before purchasing so was not surprised with the issues I had. It is still the stool I wanted.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Sturdy, Looks Great, Functional, Nice Design
Cons: Unaligned, not old-fashioned good quality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 3 ft. Aluminum 2-Step Stool 225 lb. Load Capacity
from Duvall, WA 98019, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not an exact replica.

PostedFebruary 20, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Comfort 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The "ladder" slides out, there are plastic parts, and the backrest is not as sturdy as I remember it. It appears sturdy enough for light use, and it is probably OSHA approved, just not as I wanted it. The red is okay, but a little dull. The cushion on the seat should be measured in mils! Still, it works just fine for reaching top cupboards, I feel safe using it, and I do think of my grandmother everytime it catches my eye. So itis worth the cost for memories alone. (Quick and easy to assemble)
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Good Size & Weight, Functional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 3 ft. Aluminum 2-Step Stool 225 lb. Load Capacity

Rework required in order to assemble

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The stool would not go together correctly because there is an interference fit when trying to assemble the second step. I had to use my bench grinder to remove material from the step in order to complete the assembly.
Pros: 1950's nostalgia
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, Unaligned
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 3 ft. Aluminum 2-Step Stool 225 lb. Load Capacity
from Fort Worth, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Item

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Comfort 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is stronger than I thought it would be, looks great and my grandkids love it!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Looks Great, Perfect Size
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 3 ft. Aluminum 2-Step Stool 225 lb. Load Capacity

This was the perfect addition to our kitchen.

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Comfort 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product meets my needs perfectly. Our kitchen has 12 foot ceilings and without this stool, I would not be able to reach half of my cupboards! It is light weight but very sturdy so I can move it easily but still feel secure when climbing.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Vibrant Color, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Comfortable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 3 ft. Aluminum 2-Step Stool 225 lb. Load Capacity
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Neat little chair/stool

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Comfort 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Awesome vintage look. Compliments my decor nicely and add an extra seat to the bar. It felt a little unstable sometimes, but I got used to it. I do wish there was a slightly taller option.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Vibrant Color, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 3 ft. Aluminum 2-Step Stool 225 lb. Load Capacity
from Los Angeles
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This Retro Red chair works perfectly.

PostedJuly 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Comfort 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I ordered this product because I am able to stand only for short periods. This really cute, retro red chair is perfect for my needs.....I can sit while I prepare dinner, the steps allow me to reach the second shelf in my cupboards and as a bonus, it matches the décor in my kitchen perfectly. Assembly was simple, even for a 72 year-old woman who is slightly disabled. I would definitely recommend this product.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Vibrant Color, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Functional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 3 ft. Aluminum 2-Step Stool 225 lb. Load Capacity
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Super sturdy

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Comfort 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great! Very functional. Easy to assemble......................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Excellent Quality, Looks Great
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 3 ft. Aluminum 2-Step Stool 225 lb. Load Capacity
from Selah, WA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Perfect for my needs as I can't stand for long without pain.

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Comfort 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I need to climb as my balance isn't what it was a few years ago.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Excellent Quality, Sturdy, Looks Great, Perfect Size, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Well Made, Comfortable, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 3 ft. Aluminum 2-Step Stool 225 lb. Load Capacity
from Forest, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Features

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I had recently installed shelving in my garage and was looking for a work bench stool that would also serve as a step stool for reaching the upper shelves. This stool has all the features I was looking for.
My mom had something similar in her kitchen in the 60's which is what I had in mind when I was looking for a work bench stool
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 3 ft. Aluminum 2-Step Stool 225 lb. Load Capacity
from Maryland, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Poor quality

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The chair legs are very uneven, so the chair wobbles severely.
Pros: Sturdy, Looks Great
Cons: Wobbles, Unaligned
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>