728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence

Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence

The PetSafe Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence will help keep your dog contained and safe, away from pools, flowerbeds and the streets. The easy-to-install fence allows you to create the layout and control the wire boundary to accommodate your needs. The included receiver collar allows you to train your dog to stay within the safety of your yard. This fence is appropriate for dogs weighing 8 - 75 lbs.
Overall rating:
3.939 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(33 reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
82%of customersrecommend this product27 of 33reviews
Rating Breakdown 33 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(17)
4
(8)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(5)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
82%of customersrecommend this product27 of 33reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence
Review 1 for Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence
from Oak Brook, IL 60523, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Thank you for helping me train my pup & keep him safe!

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Innotek saved my sanity (Dog Fencing with RF underground wire). First, they instructed me how to install a wire around my property in a DVD and booklet. Then, the DVD made it easy to train my dog to stay safely in our yard!
Friends at the local off-leash dog park recommended that I install this brand myself. I was skeptical that I could do it myself but after much research, I bought this and found it to be SO simple to put in...and I have 3/4 of an acre. Most of the wire is buried under 2" of soil and in the "groundcover area" we did tie-downs. It took very little time to lay it out and throw dirt on the wire (maybe 2 hours) and we trained our dog with three easy 20 minute sessions with lots of rewards and encouragement. He is a black lab pit bull mix and is very good with passers-by and bicyclists now.... I am so very happy to have saved a ton of money on this device instead of having a competitor's product installed...That quote was 6 times the price I paid for this Innotek system!
My dog is thrilled to have the run of the yard. I'm proud to have done-it-myself and saved a ton! Happy Happy Happy.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, good instructive dvd is included, good battery life lower cost replacement batterie, can deploy device on other collars if desired
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence
from Gardner, KS, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very impressed

PostedMay 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought a storm/doggie door and a wired, underground fence. The door is gorgeous and was easily installed. The underground fence system is a bit more complicated, but a friend and I figured it out pretty fast and had it installed in no time. Now my dog can go out anytime he wants and stays within his defined area.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence

Our newly adopted stray loves it!

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We had a stray turn up and weren't prepared to install the $1500 fence in our back yard yet. We found this one and it works perfect for our needs. We had enough wire to fence the back and part of the front yard so she has tons of space to run. Our neighbors have even commented on how happy she looks running around the yard. She learned very quickly where the lines were and only had to be shocked a couple of times to realize what the flags meant. Not even a 3 legged cat or squirrel have been able to coax her across that line!
Pros: Easy to Use
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence
from Vancouver
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A little disappointed

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I was a little surprised that this had to be a closed loop system. I was planning on going from one side of the house, around the fence and back to the other corner of the house. But when I read the instructions the wire had to come back to the box. So I had a heck of a time trying to run it down the side of the house. And now I need to unplug the system when I let the dog in or out because he can’t come in the door if it’s on. He even got shocked inside the house because he got too close to the wall. It would be better if it didn’t need to come back.
Cons: Difficult to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence
from Knoxville, TN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The dog should thank me!

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed mine above ground, using lawn staples, in about three weeks the wire is not noticable at all.
I have a very energetic dotson, It chased anything and everything. Hated any person it did not live amongst and tried to get rid of everybody from the house. It would stay gone for hours..... I really considered taking it to a shelter as I did not have the patience for it. After invisible fencing it went from a bad dog to a good puppy.
I did not follow the training video except for a couple of days and after a couple of days learning from trial and error... It knows and goes up to six inches of its boundry... not even the greatest temptation could get it to cross it. It chases rabbits, birds and etc...and comes to a sudden stop once it reaches the boundry.
Also along with invisible fencing... I then added a doggy door. Wow, now he is so great. Goes in and out on his own... Still high energy but now very independant and runs himself to complete happiness in the yard now..
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence
from rochester, ny
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Horrible Purchase

PostedMay 31, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Put this in about a year ago and this transmitter seems to be slowly losing effectiveness. Not that the signal was that strong to begin with. I initially buried the wire about 2 inches with the setting cranked to the MAX and the collar would beep within 6 inches of the wire. within a few months my dog was running into the neighbors yard to only find out the signal was only detected if the collar was within 2 inches of the wire. I then pulled the wire out of the ground and laid it on top and used the yard staples. This was marginally sufficient for a few more months until my dog again started running into the neighbors yard after their dog. Piece of junk and YES i did change batteries regularly and even had a second collar for my other dog, Useless.
Cons: weak signal
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence
from Marysville, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Good value

PostedDecember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought this and an extra collar for 2 Bassett Hounds, who are really bullheaded and are notorious for not listening. We ran 2 of the underground leads with a cable installer from a local rental store about 6' away from each other in a concentric ring. Total installation time was around 4-5 hours. After the initial training of around 4 days (not as long as the video said, but close enough), we let them loose to test, and one dog go too far out and didn't remember his training & wound up outside the fence, yelping the whole way. We brought him back inside the perimeter and turned it up a bit to around the middle setting, gave him another training session to remind him to turn around, and he never crossed it again. About a week later, we let them out & they saw a rabbit and took off after it, but stopped cold when they reached the safe perimeter (they made a visible trail in the grass at the perimeter). I like how it sounds a tone to remind them before they get too close and it bites them, you could see their ears perk and they looked around when they heard the tone.
I did have one of the collars' studs come loose and the battery unit fell off, but it didn't hurt it, and were fortunately able to use longer studs since the kit came with spares. If I had a complaint, it would be that you have to change the batteries in the collars, I probably should have bought one with rechargeable collars, but they are way above the price of this set.
I was really skeptical because I'd heard a lot about how these fences sometimes didn't work well, but it's been about 4 months now, & we can let them out without worrying about them any more, & we think that this was some of the best money we ever spent, because now we don't have to go out with them and stand guard every time we put them out.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Easy to Install
Cons: collars not rechargeable
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence
from Hamilton ohio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as Intended...so far

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Box was open when received and had been taped back together. All items were accounted for, however it was a mix of pet safe and innotek equipment. All items were there and appeared to be new
Installation was what was expected. Ended up using a cable installer which made the job much easier. Collar seems to work as intended. I have removed the electrodes to try to train the dog to react to the sound of the collar, as described in the training video. I will re post if I have any issues once the electrodes are re installed. I was able to fence my lot with one roll of wire and did not need to splice.
Seems like a great product for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence

Works Great

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased this product for our problem child. Constant runner. We live in the country and she would run for hours. After 1 day of training on the invisible fence, she has been home for weeks now. Huge relief!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence

Finally our little guy is safe!

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This invisible fence is a godsend. We can work outside now without worry and our little man is safe. The collar is a reasonable size and it only took a couple of zaps for him to get the message. It took us about four hours to install around a third acre lot with anout 20 feet of wire left over. Cannot beat the price and comfort.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence
from Newnan, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great fence!

PostedDecember 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this fence a couple of years ago after we took down our wooden fence. I have an 80 lb lab and an 11 lb. dachshund, both of whom LOVE to run away. They don't run anymore. I have peace of mind and my dogs are safe. I read that someone said it is a waste of money. I think they must have not followed directions or there was something wrong with the wiring maybe.
Now for my sofa and leather chair that the dogs have ownership of...I'm going to try this fence in the house. I want my furniture back. I think this will work perfectly.
I was skeptical at first as my dogs seem to find a way to leave. They have not gone past this fence. It was so easy to install and the cost was great considering the cost of a visible fence.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence
from Hudson, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Innotek Wired 1/3 acre in ground dog fence

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
2nd purchase of this type of dog fence. We had good luck with the first one with no fence allowed in area that when we moved and had a fence which new dog would climb out of we went with it a 2nd time. Our dog Indian Girl now stays inside our fence and will not go near it after being shock one time, this is after she removed the flags to play with. We had to purchase extra wire to be able to do the twist where we wanted her to be able to go as we had more area to cover. Well worth the price to know our girl is safe.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence

works great. 6 hours to install

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
so far so good after a week
6 hours to install
no problems so far
Thanks!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence
from Kentucky
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked perfectly for our needs

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We have a dog who dug under our fence. This product instantly stopped the digging. No training really needed. We just made a loop around the fence (around the bottom of the fence in one direction and at the top of the fence as we looped back to the power supply.) this was a good solution for us.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence
from Orchard Park, NY 14127, USA

Works!

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For the cost, this fencing works well! We are using it to cut our yard in half ( we have a few acres).... So we are not protecting from street or anything, but it works well, she learned very quickly too!! We did a few training sessions, and when she forgot, she got a shock ( we have it at mid level)... So amount of shock is controllable . Enough flags supplied too. After two days, she now stops at the tone, so she won't get shocked.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Lots of Features, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence

basic wire fence

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It went in easy, rented the mini wire trencher. Simple to wire. I have not had this long enough to know how my dog will do. Seems to work properly, beeps as you get closer with a change in beeps the closer you get.
Pros: Easy to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence
from Columbus, OH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good value

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is good value for it's price. Easy to install and troubleshoot.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, simple
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence

Easy and great value

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product just saved me $8000 due to NOT having to put in a vinyl fence to keep my dog in. (8K compared to $100 was a no-brainer) It was really easy to install and set up, just make sure you follow the directions to be so far away from electrical and utilities. My dog learned the boundaries within a day thanks to the training video and overall I'm very happy with the product.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence

not for fast dogs

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Super easy to install. Training video was very comprehensive. I have two issues with this. 1. The shock scared one dog so badly that she refuses to go outside now and must be carried in and out. 2. My other dog gets around the shock by walking swiftly through the fence. Apparently if you don't walk up slowly, it will not register that the dog is near the edge of the yard. (I have 14 lb and 7 lb chihuahua mix just for reference.)
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence

Works Great

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I found the installation guide online first to read about it and that helped. Installed per instructions and is working like a charm. I like the field strength adjustment to adjust the distance the collar "beeps" prior to shocking.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 >>