728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence

The PetSafe Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence will help keep your dog contained and safe, away from pools, flowerbeds and the streets. The easy-to-install fence allows you to create the layout and control the wire boundary to accommodate your needs. The included receiver collar allows you to train your dog to stay within the safety of your yard. This fence is appropriate for dogs weighing 8 - 75 lbs.
Overall rating:
4.026 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(38 reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
84%of customersrecommend this product32 of 38reviews
Rating Breakdown 38 reviews
4.0 out of 5
5
(21)
4
(8)
3
(3)
2
(1)
1
(5)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
84%of customersrecommend this product32 of 38reviews
Customer reviews for Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence
Review 1 for Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence
from Oak Brook, IL 60523, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Thank you for helping me train my pup & keep him safe!

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Innotek saved my sanity (Dog Fencing with RF underground wire). First, they instructed me how to install a wire around my property in a DVD and booklet. Then, the DVD made it easy to train my dog to stay safely in our yard!
Friends at the local off-leash dog park recommended that I install this brand myself. I was skeptical that I could do it myself but after much research, I bought this and found it to be SO simple to put in...and I have 3/4 of an acre. Most of the wire is buried under 2" of soil and in the "groundcover area" we did tie-downs. It took very little time to lay it out and throw dirt on the wire (maybe 2 hours) and we trained our dog with three easy 20 minute sessions with lots of rewards and encouragement. He is a black lab pit bull mix and is very good with passers-by and bicyclists now.... I am so very happy to have saved a ton of money on this device instead of having a competitor's product installed...That quote was 6 times the price I paid for this Innotek system!
My dog is thrilled to have the run of the yard. I'm proud to have done-it-myself and saved a ton! Happy Happy Happy.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, good instructive dvd is included, good battery life lower cost replacement batterie, can deploy device on other collars if desired
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence
from Gardner, KS, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very impressed

PostedMay 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought a storm/doggie door and a wired, underground fence. The door is gorgeous and was easily installed. The underground fence system is a bit more complicated, but a friend and I figured it out pretty fast and had it installed in no time. Now my dog can go out anytime he wants and stays within his defined area.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence
from PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great investment.

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The quality seems good enough. The system works very well and I'm relieved from keeping my eye on my chow chow all day. I have a 4 foot chain link fence but my dog kept finding new ways of getting under it and running off. Tracking down a dog at 1:00 am is not cool. When I set this up I had the receiver in my hand and got too close to the fence. My natural instincts made me drop everything from both hands. It gets my dogs attention very well and he's never tried to get out again. I interwove the wire through the fence links about at about 2 feet high but not too many times so that you can pull the wire through. I take the collar off before I sleep. I spray and wipe the contacts with alcohol. Had the unit for about 3 months and the battery is still ok but I ordered more from ebay. The system works very well so far, has made my dog safer, home depots price was great so I give this unit a very well deserved 5 stars. Also, you'll pay about 60.00 more for this unit at amazon.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, decent quality
Cons: no cons
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence
from Fort Worth, TX
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked great for me!

PostedMarch 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have a 45lbs dog who is very active and jumps our fence all the time, until we got this in-ground fence. I installed it and did the training like the DVD it comes with said. The first day she was free to roam on her own she was corrected with the static shock a couple of times. She keeps her distance now and knows her place. She also goes into the front yard now and knows her boundaries even without an actual fence. It's been a total 180 and my worry about her running away has completely disappeared. Other in-ground fences are $150 and up for the same stuff, this is a real bargain at around $100 from Home Depot.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Cons: i have not found a con yet
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence
from Knoxville, TN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The dog should thank me!

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I installed mine above ground, using lawn staples, in about three weeks the wire is not noticable at all.
I have a very energetic dotson, It chased anything and everything. Hated any person it did not live amongst and tried to get rid of everybody from the house. It would stay gone for hours..... I really considered taking it to a shelter as I did not have the patience for it. After invisible fencing it went from a bad dog to a good puppy.
I did not follow the training video except for a couple of days and after a couple of days learning from trial and error... It knows and goes up to six inches of its boundry... not even the greatest temptation could get it to cross it. It chases rabbits, birds and etc...and comes to a sudden stop once it reaches the boundry.
Also along with invisible fencing... I then added a doggy door. Wow, now he is so great. Goes in and out on his own... Still high energy but now very independant and runs himself to complete happiness in the yard now..
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence
from Texas
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great!

PostedMay 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This product worked exactly as intended. Keeps my dog out of the garden and away from the nosy neighbor peeking her head over the fence. Definitely would recommend to anyone looking for a way to limit where your dog can go within the yard.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence
from Manheim PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Dog Fence

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This was a good product easy to install. I wish they would have put in the box a 5 step easy instruction guide to training the dog. The DVD although thorough and helpful could have been summed up in 5 easy steps on a piece of paper. Also I couldn't find a solution to my backyards configuration without double looping the yard which would require me to purchase more wire so I simply created a work around by planting the wire in front of the back door. This is no fault to the system just something different than what I originally had in mind when I started the project. As a result I can't put the collar on the dog inside the house and then open the door and let her run out. In other words, I have to put the dog inside the fence and then put the collar on. Not a big deal just a minor work around. I think I would have the same problem with any of the other products I was looking at.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence

Our newly adopted stray loves it!

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We had a stray turn up and weren't prepared to install the $1500 fence in our back yard yet. We found this one and it works perfect for our needs. We had enough wire to fence the back and part of the front yard so she has tons of space to run. Our neighbors have even commented on how happy she looks running around the yard. She learned very quickly where the lines were and only had to be shocked a couple of times to realize what the flags meant. Not even a 3 legged cat or squirrel have been able to coax her across that line!
Pros: Easy to Use
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence

Finally our little guy is safe!

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This invisible fence is a godsend. We can work outside now without worry and our little man is safe. The collar is a reasonable size and it only took a couple of zaps for him to get the message. It took us about four hours to install around a third acre lot with anout 20 feet of wire left over. Cannot beat the price and comfort.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence

good product. just not for us.

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
We installed the system, with the space available there are several corners that have the shock that shouldn't. Only use half the time because dog is so scared of going outdoors now.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence
from Marysville, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Good value

PostedDecember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We bought this and an extra collar for 2 Bassett Hounds, who are really bullheaded and are notorious for not listening. We ran 2 of the underground leads with a cable installer from a local rental store about 6' away from each other in a concentric ring. Total installation time was around 4-5 hours. After the initial training of around 4 days (not as long as the video said, but close enough), we let them loose to test, and one dog go too far out and didn't remember his training & wound up outside the fence, yelping the whole way. We brought him back inside the perimeter and turned it up a bit to around the middle setting, gave him another training session to remind him to turn around, and he never crossed it again. About a week later, we let them out & they saw a rabbit and took off after it, but stopped cold when they reached the safe perimeter (they made a visible trail in the grass at the perimeter). I like how it sounds a tone to remind them before they get too close and it bites them, you could see their ears perk and they looked around when they heard the tone.
I did have one of the collars' studs come loose and the battery unit fell off, but it didn't hurt it, and were fortunately able to use longer studs since the kit came with spares. If I had a complaint, it would be that you have to change the batteries in the collars, I probably should have bought one with rechargeable collars, but they are way above the price of this set.
I was really skeptical because I'd heard a lot about how these fences sometimes didn't work well, but it's been about 4 months now, & we can let them out without worrying about them any more, & we think that this was some of the best money we ever spent, because now we don't have to go out with them and stand guard every time we put them out.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Easy to Install
Cons: collars not rechargeable
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence
from Kentucky
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked perfectly for our needs

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We have a dog who dug under our fence. This product instantly stopped the digging. No training really needed. We just made a loop around the fence (around the bottom of the fence in one direction and at the top of the fence as we looped back to the power supply.) this was a good solution for us.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence

works great. 6 hours to install

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
so far so good after a week
6 hours to install
no problems so far
Thanks!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence
from Newnan, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great fence!

PostedDecember 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this fence a couple of years ago after we took down our wooden fence. I have an 80 lb lab and an 11 lb. dachshund, both of whom LOVE to run away. They don't run anymore. I have peace of mind and my dogs are safe. I read that someone said it is a waste of money. I think they must have not followed directions or there was something wrong with the wiring maybe.
Now for my sofa and leather chair that the dogs have ownership of...I'm going to try this fence in the house. I want my furniture back. I think this will work perfectly.
I was skeptical at first as my dogs seem to find a way to leave. They have not gone past this fence. It was so easy to install and the cost was great considering the cost of a visible fence.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence
from rochester, ny
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Horrible Purchase

PostedMay 31, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Put this in about a year ago and this transmitter seems to be slowly losing effectiveness. Not that the signal was that strong to begin with. I initially buried the wire about 2 inches with the setting cranked to the MAX and the collar would beep within 6 inches of the wire. within a few months my dog was running into the neighbors yard to only find out the signal was only detected if the collar was within 2 inches of the wire. I then pulled the wire out of the ground and laid it on top and used the yard staples. This was marginally sufficient for a few more months until my dog again started running into the neighbors yard after their dog. Piece of junk and YES i did change batteries regularly and even had a second collar for my other dog, Useless.
Cons: weak signal
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence

Easy and great value

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product just saved me $8000 due to NOT having to put in a vinyl fence to keep my dog in. (8K compared to $100 was a no-brainer) It was really easy to install and set up, just make sure you follow the directions to be so far away from electrical and utilities. My dog learned the boundaries within a day thanks to the training video and overall I'm very happy with the product.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence

not for fast dogs

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Super easy to install. Training video was very comprehensive. I have two issues with this. 1. The shock scared one dog so badly that she refuses to go outside now and must be carried in and out. 2. My other dog gets around the shock by walking swiftly through the fence. Apparently if you don't walk up slowly, it will not register that the dog is near the edge of the yard. (I have 14 lb and 7 lb chihuahua mix just for reference.)
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence
from Orchard Park, NY 14127, USA

Works!

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
For the cost, this fencing works well! We are using it to cut our yard in half ( we have a few acres).... So we are not protecting from street or anything, but it works well, she learned very quickly too!! We did a few training sessions, and when she forgot, she got a shock ( we have it at mid level)... So amount of shock is controllable . Enough flags supplied too. After two days, she now stops at the tone, so she won't get shocked.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Lots of Features, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence

Works Great

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I found the installation guide online first to read about it and that helped. Installed per instructions and is working like a charm. I like the field strength adjustment to adjust the distance the collar "beeps" prior to shocking.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence
from Vancouver
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A little disappointed

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I was a little surprised that this had to be a closed loop system. I was planning on going from one side of the house, around the fence and back to the other corner of the house. But when I read the instructions the wire had to come back to the box. So I had a heck of a time trying to run it down the side of the house. And now I need to unplug the system when I let the dog in or out because he can’t come in the door if it’s on. He even got shocked inside the house because he got too close to the wall. It would be better if it didn’t need to come back.
Cons: Difficult to Install
-3points
2out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 >>