728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence

Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence

The PetSafe Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence will help keep your dog contained and safe, away from pools, flowerbeds and the streets. The easy-to-install fence allows you to create the layout and control the wire boundary to accommodate your needs. The included receiver collar allows you to train your dog to stay within the safety of your yard. This fence is appropriate for dogs weighing 8 - 75 lbs.
Overall rating:
4.04 / 5
4
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
80%of customersrecommend this product20 of 25reviews
Rating Breakdown 25 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(15)
4
(5)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(4)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
80%of customersrecommend this product20 of 25reviews
Customer reviews for Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence
Review 1 for Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence
Patti
from Oak Brook, IL 60523, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Thank you for helping me train my pup & keep him safe!

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Innotek saved my sanity (Dog Fencing with RF underground wire). First, they instructed me how to install a wire around my property in a DVD and booklet. Then, the DVD made it easy to train my dog to stay safely in our yard!
Friends at the local off-leash dog park recommended that I install this brand myself. I was skeptical that I could do it myself but after much research, I bought this and found it to be SO simple to put in...and I have 3/4 of an acre. Most of the wire is buried under 2" of soil and in the "groundcover area" we did tie-downs. It took very little time to lay it out and throw dirt on the wire (maybe 2 hours) and we trained our dog with three easy 20 minute sessions with lots of rewards and encouragement. He is a black lab pit bull mix and is very good with passers-by and bicyclists now.... I am so very happy to have saved a ton of money on this device instead of having a competitor's product installed...That quote was 6 times the price I paid for this Innotek system!
My dog is thrilled to have the run of the yard. I'm proud to have done-it-myself and saved a ton! Happy Happy Happy.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, good instructive dvd is included, good battery life lower cost replacement batterie, can deploy device on other collars if desired
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence
Kendal2014
from Knoxville, TN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The dog should thank me!

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed mine above ground, using lawn staples, in about three weeks the wire is not noticable at all.
I have a very energetic dotson, It chased anything and everything. Hated any person it did not live amongst and tried to get rid of everybody from the house. It would stay gone for hours..... I really considered taking it to a shelter as I did not have the patience for it. After invisible fencing it went from a bad dog to a good puppy.
I did not follow the training video except for a couple of days and after a couple of days learning from trial and error... It knows and goes up to six inches of its boundry... not even the greatest temptation could get it to cross it. It chases rabbits, birds and etc...and comes to a sudden stop once it reaches the boundry.
Also along with invisible fencing... I then added a doggy door. Wow, now he is so great. Goes in and out on his own... Still high energy but now very independant and runs himself to complete happiness in the yard now..
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence
sandacita1207
from Newnan, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great fence!

PostedDecember 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this fence a couple of years ago after we took down our wooden fence. I have an 80 lb lab and an 11 lb. dachshund, both of whom LOVE to run away. They don't run anymore. I have peace of mind and my dogs are safe. I read that someone said it is a waste of money. I think they must have not followed directions or there was something wrong with the wiring maybe.
Now for my sofa and leather chair that the dogs have ownership of...I'm going to try this fence in the house. I want my furniture back. I think this will work perfectly.
I was skeptical at first as my dogs seem to find a way to leave. They have not gone past this fence. It was so easy to install and the cost was great considering the cost of a visible fence.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence
Homeowner
from Marysville, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Good value

PostedDecember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought this and an extra collar for 2 Bassett Hounds, who are really bullheaded and are notorious for not listening. We ran 2 of the underground leads with a cable installer from a local rental store about 6' away from each other in a concentric ring. Total installation time was around 4-5 hours. After the initial training of around 4 days (not as long as the video said, but close enough), we let them loose to test, and one dog go too far out and didn't remember his training & wound up outside the fence, yelping the whole way. We brought him back inside the perimeter and turned it up a bit to around the middle setting, gave him another training session to remind him to turn around, and he never crossed it again. About a week later, we let them out & they saw a rabbit and took off after it, but stopped cold when they reached the safe perimeter (they made a visible trail in the grass at the perimeter). I like how it sounds a tone to remind them before they get too close and it bites them, you could see their ears perk and they looked around when they heard the tone.
I did have one of the collars' studs come loose and the battery unit fell off, but it didn't hurt it, and were fortunately able to use longer studs since the kit came with spares. If I had a complaint, it would be that you have to change the batteries in the collars, I probably should have bought one with rechargeable collars, but they are way above the price of this set.
I was really skeptical because I'd heard a lot about how these fences sometimes didn't work well, but it's been about 4 months now, & we can let them out without worrying about them any more, & we think that this was some of the best money we ever spent, because now we don't have to go out with them and stand guard every time we put them out.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Easy to Install
Cons: collars not rechargeable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence
glk000

basic wire fence

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It went in easy, rented the mini wire trencher. Simple to wire. I have not had this long enough to know how my dog will do. Seems to work properly, beeps as you get closer with a change in beeps the closer you get.
Pros: Easy to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence
Zoegirl
from Orchard Park, NY 14127, USA

Works!

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For the cost, this fencing works well! We are using it to cut our yard in half ( we have a few acres).... So we are not protecting from street or anything, but it works well, she learned very quickly too!! We did a few training sessions, and when she forgot, she got a shock ( we have it at mid level)... So amount of shock is controllable . Enough flags supplied too. After two days, she now stops at the tone, so she won't get shocked.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Lots of Features, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence
srlwrence

Finally our little guy is safe!

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This invisible fence is a godsend. We can work outside now without worry and our little man is safe. The collar is a reasonable size and it only took a couple of zaps for him to get the message. It took us about four hours to install around a third acre lot with anout 20 feet of wire left over. Cannot beat the price and comfort.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence
dp90

not for fast dogs

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Super easy to install. Training video was very comprehensive. I have two issues with this. 1. The shock scared one dog so badly that she refuses to go outside now and must be carried in and out. 2. My other dog gets around the shock by walking swiftly through the fence. Apparently if you don't walk up slowly, it will not register that the dog is near the edge of the yard. (I have 14 lb and 7 lb chihuahua mix just for reference.)
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence
kwood2
from Kentucky
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked perfectly for our needs

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We have a dog who dug under our fence. This product instantly stopped the digging. No training really needed. We just made a loop around the fence (around the bottom of the fence in one direction and at the top of the fence as we looped back to the power supply.) this was a good solution for us.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence
Mikew2000

works great. 6 hours to install

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
so far so good after a week
6 hours to install
no problems so far
Thanks!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence
Sarah

Easy and great value

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product just saved me $8000 due to NOT having to put in a vinyl fence to keep my dog in. (8K compared to $100 was a no-brainer) It was really easy to install and set up, just make sure you follow the directions to be so far away from electrical and utilities. My dog learned the boundaries within a day thanks to the training video and overall I'm very happy with the product.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence
bash

Works Great

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I found the installation guide online first to read about it and that helped. Installed per instructions and is working like a charm. I like the field strength adjustment to adjust the distance the collar "beeps" prior to shocking.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence
sarah
from connecticut
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

do not buy!!!!

PostedOctober 20, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
easy to assemble but does not keep my 90lb. dog in or my 35lb. dog in. My larger dog just twitches like it is a mosquito and my little dog does nothing. He stands directly on the line and is not affected at all, and when he walks away the collar is stuck on until you shake it. I wish I took the other reviews advise, now I have spent $100 on this and I have to go buy Invisible Fence as well. What a waste of money!!!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence
bobby
from Traverse City, MI, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very good product

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For the price, I was a bit skeptical of what I would be receiving. living on a square city lot, I own a small dog that liked to to jump the fence whenever another dog came down the sidewalk. I needed a good system that would only shock when my dog was within a foot or two of the fence to maximize her range. This product works just as advertised, is simple to install, and comes with warning tones before the shock for a good humane approach. I would definitely recommend.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence
Blake
from Michigan
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very good product

PostedJanuary 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had recently moved, and needed a new dog fence at my new house. I had the same innotek system at my old house, and was very satisfied with it. Easy to install, my suggestion would be to use a power edger. It makes the job so much faster. My dogs love the freedom, instead of being tied up.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence
polson

Not as expected

PostedJuly 22, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I ordered this to use with my two daughters dogs. I assumed that it would be combatable because it is a petsafe product. Below are the things I did not like about this product.
The collar power is not adjustable.
It is not combatable with other petsafe fences.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence
James
from California, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedOctober 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Very successful in keeping our dog in our yard. Video is helpful and training is easy!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence
Happy

Love it!

PostedApril 16, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have a Havernese that kept running away and this fence put an end to it. Although the collar is big for an 8 lb dog, she learned quickly (without getting zapped) and responds to the beep. Installation did take about 6 hrs, but it was very easy. Highly recommend this fence.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence
Fred
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product came to me used

PostedMarch 28, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was very upset when I received this product. It was obviously used by another person before me. It was missing some of the wire. It wasn't even packaged in properly. Home depot could have at least inspected the product before they sent it to another customer. Everything was dirty, missing or out of the package. As far as the product goes, we couldn't use it because the instructions tell you that you cannot run the wire withing 10 ft of any electricity or cable wires or it could cause the dogs collar to go off without control. Well, I don't know about you, but we have cables and electricity running all over our yard. What a waste of time. And the dog collar was so big and heavy, that I don't think a 10lb dog would be able to carry it around his neck without getting tired of it and struggling to carry the extra weight. Very dissapointed in the product and Home Depot.
-2points
4out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Innotek Wired 1/3 Acre In-Ground Dog Fence
sfranks13
from Texas, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

This product does the job

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have been using this product for about 2 weeks. My dog is a small mix breed. She used to try to tear up the fence getting to the neighbors dog, now she won't go near it. It is great, now we can repair the damage she did to their fence and won't have to worry about future damage.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>