728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 1-Ton Chain Hoist

1-Ton Chain Hoist

Lift small engines, transmissions, large shop tools, or building supplies, up to 8 feet. Perfect for use in the garage, shop or farm. The Black Bull 1 Ton Heavy Duty Chain Hoist is a safe and easy way to move and lift equipment, tools and supplies weighing up to 2,000 pounds. Securely hook the chain hoist to the ceiling or overhead beam to lift anything in the garage or shop. The 1/4 in. hardened steel chain is equipped with a mechanical load break so this chain hoist is durable and safe to operate. Great for tractor and engine repair or shop use.
Overall rating:
4.048 / 5
4
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product18 of 21reviews
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(9)
4
(9)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(2)
Quality 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product18 of 21reviews
Customer reviews for 1-Ton Chain Hoist
Review 1 for 1-Ton Chain Hoist
from Simsbury, CT
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Chain Hoist

PostedJune 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So far the hoist is doing what I expected. It works well.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1-Ton Chain Hoist
from point blank,texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

this product works as advertised

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
have used hoist to lift lawn tractors for blade change and service,works great.also used to service golf cart.just what I needed.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Nice Design
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1-Ton Chain Hoist
from Tullahoma, TN, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Was exactaly what I wanted.

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Got the hoist quicker than I thought I would. Got it put up and its easy to use. I bolted a 2 x 6 across the rafters in my garage and placed an I-bolt in the 2 x 6 to connect the hoist to. I use it to lift the front of my lawnmower (Gravely Zero turn 54" cut). I lift the front up very, very easy to sharpen the blades and clean under the deck. Good strong equipment - highly recommend for light (under 1 ton) lifting.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1-Ton Chain Hoist
from Lexington, KY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product and great price

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ordered this item to use for a push mower that needed repair. Product is easy to use and was the perfect size for the job.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1-Ton Chain Hoist
from sc
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

this is what my husband needed,it easy to use

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
this product is easy to use an is high quality my husband likes it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1-Ton Chain Hoist
from Honea Path SC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice to have tool

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works for light lifting i.g.lawn tractors, ATV, well constructed and holds the load well.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1-Ton Chain Hoist
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Typical cheap Chinese

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It works and gets the job done. Pull chain is far from smooth, just go slow and it'll feed through. I'm not about to test it too full capacity, but with a couple hundred pounds, the brake holds fine.
Typical, cheap Chinese tool. Don't expect much, and you won't be disappointed.
Pros: cheap
Cons: rough operation
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1-Ton Chain Hoist
from Virginia, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I think the Hoist is great

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I use the hoist for cleaning the underneath of my Lawn tractor and for my zero turn mower.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1-Ton Chain Hoist
from Baltimore, MD

Great value

PostedApril 3, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works great. Operates very smoothly. Solidly holds position when control chain released. Can purchase for about the price it would cost to rent.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1-Ton Chain Hoist
from Little Rock, AR, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bettre than I expected

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After searching the web for chain hoists and comparing reviews and specs, I decided to get this one. It was low cost, and would fit my needs of lifting a 200lb outboard motor in my garage. I've been using the product for about a month now and have had zero problems with it. It always works smoothly and easily. I really love this hoist. It was a great price, too. I would definitely recommend this hoist for light to medium lifting needs.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1-Ton Chain Hoist
from La Crescent Minnessnnoowwddaa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

junk

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
this thing is junk. the links were not all welded together. u get what u pay 4
Cons: junk
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1-Ton Chain Hoist
from Deep East Texas

One ton chain hoist

PostedAugust 23, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this for my husband for Father's Day. He was happy with it. This was what he wanted to pull lawn mower motors out so that he could work on them.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1-Ton Chain Hoist
from SEALE , ALABAMA

1 ton chain hoist

PostedMay 29, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
EASY TO USE , WORKS GREAT , EAXACTLY WHAT
I WAS NEEDING.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1-Ton Chain Hoist
from Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It did the job!

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had to get my boat off it's trailer....this hoist made it a simple, safe job. I recommend it to anyone with a heavy, difficult lifting job to do.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Move
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1-Ton Chain Hoist

Used to lift 600 lbs, Did exactly what it should. Can't beat the price if you need to lift something a few people couldn't.

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The part lifted the 600 lb load I needed to lift, but I am not sure it could lift the 2,000 pounds it is rated for.
The part shipped fast from the supplier and arrived in good order.
Pros: worked as advertised
Cons: wouldn't stand under it fully loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1-Ton Chain Hoist
from Central Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product for the home mechanic

PostedJune 26, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Black Bull 1 ton chain hoist is a must have for the home mechanic like myself for the simple reason that it works great. It was ready to use right out of the box. I used it for lifting our lawn tractor and it worked like a dream with no grunting included. It operated smoothly, quickly, and although the chain kinked(reason for 4 stars) I don't think I will ever give it up. The quality and value of the product is excellent. Buy it if you can!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1-Ton Chain Hoist
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Does the job, price is right

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this to use for lifting heavy bee hive boxes after considering the electric hoist HD sells for $110 or so. It does what I need it to do. My only complaints: the gear ratio requires a lot of pulling on the lift/lower chain to raise and lower the load, and when you're whipping that chain through some lubricating oil spatters things. I'd like it more if the vertical movement required less action.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1-Ton Chain Hoist

This hoist is a good value

PostedMay 15, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I would have given this product 5 out 5 stars if the the pull chain did not break, but it was an easy fix.. Even though I had some difficulty with the pull, I would still recommend this product for light or occasional use. You might consider a step up in quality for more frequent use. But you can not beat the the price and it gets the job done.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1-Ton Chain Hoist
from Sunrise, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works amazingly well.

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Hoist works very well and I have used to lift a large A/C unit and an electric wheel chair with very little effort due to the very high gear ratio.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1-Ton Chain Hoist
from HIghlands Ranch, CO, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Not worth it

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased this to hoist up my Wave Runners off the trailer onto carts. Received and put hoist on my gantry crane. After 4 uses nuts and bolts started to fall of it the exterior housing that is cheap flimsy metal. Chain operation is not smooth on raising or lowering. I would spend the extra money vs. having issues while my 14k wave runner is in the air.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 >>