728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 42 in. 16.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 6-Speed Front-Engine Riding Mower

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

42 in. 16.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 6-Speed Front-Engine Riding Mower

The Poulan XT 42 in. 16.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 6-Speed Front-Engine Riding Mower has a 16.5 HP Briggs & Stratton single-cylinder engine for high productivity and powerful cutting performance. The 42 in. cutting deck mows more grass in fewer passes and less cutting time, and the 18 in. turn radius allows you to easily mow around obstacles. This versatile riding mower has 6 settings to allow you to select cutting heights ranging from 1 in. to 5-1/2 in., and the low-back seat provides operator support.
Overall rating:
3.867 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
91%of customersrecommend this product10 of 11reviews
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(8)
4
(3)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(3)
91%of customersrecommend this product10 of 11reviews
Customer reviews for 42 in. 16.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 6-Speed Front-Engine Riding Mower
Review 1 for 42 in. 16.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 6-Speed Front-Engine Riding Mower
from Massachusetts

TRACTOR

PostedApril 17, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got it on sale for $200 less. It is exacly what I wanted, completely manual, plenty of power, good clean cut, starts easily. I had a John Deere , but got tired of having it in the shop every year with $250 plus repair charges!! Looks like a great machine! Highly reccomend!!!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 42 in. 16.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 6-Speed Front-Engine Riding Mower
from Hamilton, OH

Second One Worked Well....

PostedApril 17, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought the Poulan 42/16.5 lawn tractor and tried to level the deck since it wasn't level initially. Cut the grass and one side of the deck scalped the lawn and the other left it long. After repeated efforts, I could not level the deck and reported the problem to Home Depot. They agreed to replace it with another one.....and the second one works fine right out of the crate. I shopped around for quite a while and read a lot of reviews....not much on the internet about this model.....but it was priced right and so far it does what it is supposed to. Plenty of power for a flat lawn, cuts evenly and has a tight turning raduis. I like it so far.... If you're looking for a basic lawn tractor, this one is a good choice.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 42 in. 16.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 6-Speed Front-Engine Riding Mower

good quality for the price

PostedMay 19, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used this mower for about two weeks everything is in good working condition. I have had no problems straight out of the box. Plenty of power, it can get in and out of some rough terrain ( from a lawn perspective). Does a great job pulling a 3ft by 4ft cart filled with rocks
i believe this mower is priced well. I will recommend it to family. I would not recommend this mower for someone with a very large lawn. My lawn is about 2 acres and and this mower is the perfect size for it
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 42 in. 16.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 6-Speed Front-Engine Riding Mower
from fayetteville n.c.

needs improvements

PostedMay 2, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
good overall mower for the price, (but!) cutting deck could use wheels to keep from scalping ground. mount holes are already there, probably for another model. deck bottom is sharp and cut into the discharge shute and mandrell cover when deck is raised. needs a cover strip. engine hood bumpers fell off first time i used it, cheap adhesive. small stuff but what else was overlooked during the design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 42 in. 16.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 6-Speed Front-Engine Riding Mower
from McCalla, Alabama

Poulan Lawn Tractor

PostedMay 20, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Straight out of the box. All I had to do was add gasoline. Cranks very easily. The mower cut the yard very neatly and evenly on first try. No adjustments were necessary. I am very happy with my purchase and the staff at the Home Depot in my town were very helpful and friendly.I would recommend this mower to my friends and family. A good deal for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 42 in. 16.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 6-Speed Front-Engine Riding Mower
from Ma.

Great

PostedJuly 2, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I think for the money its very good ..The mower starts very easy ,feels smooth and cuts like a dream . I would be more than happy to tell my friends and I already have told them how wonderful this mower runs,looks and performs.Well worth the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 42 in. 16.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 6-Speed Front-Engine Riding Mower

Not Happy

PostedMay 30, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
With in a 24 hour time frame I had to return the mower to homedepot. After several attempts, I was unable to level the deck and keep it level. My yard looks like it was cut with a weedeater.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 42 in. 16.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 6-Speed Front-Engine Riding Mower
from Manassas, Va.

Nice...

PostedJuly 4, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I did my "homework" in researching for this type of grass cutter. I found this one at the local HD. Looked over the owners manual prior to putting the tractor to the task of cutting. Instructions are written well, the manual for the engine is clear and concise. I monitored the hour limit for the oil change for the factory oil, changed it out. Some of the other reviews that I read regarding the use of leveling wheels for the deck are straight on. I will be looking for a set of these wheels in the very near future.
Pros: Ease of starting. Good safety feature with the reverse engine shut off as well as the ejected driver shut off. (one nice feature that is in the engine maintenance manual is the schematic diagram. I will be adding a regulator circuit to filter the 12 V and using it to power a portable music player)
Another pro is the feature for turning off the reverse cutoff switch when you want to back up while the cutting deck is engaged.
Steering is excellent for moving in and out of tight turns.
Cons: Need to add a indicator or two for fuel level, as well as a water resistant / proof power socket (hopefully really well filtered) for applying power to portable music players. Another item is rather bothersome: Exhaust fumes from the engine. Routed out the front and if the wind is in your face while cutting, the exhaust fumes are blown into your face.
Other items of note: Many aftermarket items for catching grass and towable items such as feeders and sweeping lawn of leaves are available, you just have to do due diligence in checking to see if the item will fit without a whole lot of modifications.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 42 in. 16.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 6-Speed Front-Engine Riding Mower
from Chelmsford, MA

First Impressions - Very happy

PostedAugust 10, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My 10 year old Toro self propelled had been repaired a few times and of late the self propelled dive did not work. So I started looking for a new self propelled mower. The average price of a decent machine was between $300 and $400. While at HD on Saturday looking at mowers I noticed a smaller, red, sporty looking rider mower sitting amonst the larger Cub Cadets. I sat in the seat and it was very comfortable. The price was under a $1000. The construction looked and felt good: nice wide tires, sheet metal did not feel tinny or cheap, brigs and straton 16 and a half hp motor...hmmm. I knew I needed a leaf bag for fall leave cleaning and from internet searches realized that was an additional $250 or so. So I flagged down the HD associate in that department who was very helpful and took it home in my truck. I bought the "universal" leaf bag but left it at the store since the model numbers listed on the side of the box did not have this Poulon number. The associate said he would call the leaf bag manufacturer and make certain it will fit. I got the rider home and unloaded it from my truck. I read the owner's manual and called my brother-in-law and told him I bought a rider (since he was the only person I knew that had one). He came over and told me the controls were the same as the controls on his large Husqvarna (who I found out owns Poulon). We charged the battery, put fuel in it and it started right up. It sounded great no rattles or anything for us to tighten. All features on the rider worked beautifully. The rider drove easily, cut the grass perfectly, the rider was quick in 6th gear (my brother-in-law said it was faster than his rider), the turning radius was excellent, it was comfortable to drive, in other words, after playing with it for a little under an hour, my first impressions are is that it is a nice machine especially for the money. I will report back after some more "real" use and I attach a bag etc.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for 42 in. 16.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 6-Speed Front-Engine Riding Mower
Based on the average of (6) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2 out of 5
2 out of 2 recommend this product