728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 42 in. 19 HP Kohler, automatic transmission, lawn riding tractor

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

42 in. 19 HP Kohler, automatic transmission, lawn riding tractor

A19KH42 features a Kohler Courage 19 HP engine with dual-reciprocating balance system that reduces vibration providing comfortable operation. Features like Ariens step through design, cup holder, standard headlights, and fingertip cutting height adjuster all making cutting the lawn more enjoyable. Dual-reciprocating balance system reduces vibration providing comfortable operation.
Overall rating:
4.458 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product20 of 21reviews
Rating Breakdown 24 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(14)
4
(8)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(0)
95%of customersrecommend this product20 of 21reviews
Customer reviews for 42 in. 19 HP Kohler, automatic transmission, lawn riding tractor
Review 1 for 42 in. 19 HP Kohler, automatic transmission, lawn riding tractor
MFD389
from MIAMI,FL.

ARIENS LAWN MOWER

PostedApril 10, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
EXCELLENT MOWER FOR THE MONEY. QUIET, SMOOTH OPERATING. GOOD ACCESORIES. RELAIBLE.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 42 in. 19 HP Kohler, automatic transmission, lawn riding tractor
Tim2365
from Lewiston, ME

Nice tractor

PostedJuly 12, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just purchased this tractor set it up and cut my lawn for the first time. My first reaction to this tractor is it is extremely smooth. The hydrostatic transmission is easy to use and smoother than the John Deere. My neighbor has the John Deere in the same class of lawn tractors. I noticed his does have a few more bells and whistles. The Ariens comes with the kohler motor compared to the Briggs and Stratton (both great motors). The JD has a few extra cargo spots on it and a hose attachment on the deck.
all things considered I don’t see the need to spend the extra 400 + dollars to ride a John Deere when the Areins is an equal tractor maybe just not as fancy.
I personally like the way the Areins drives better then the Deere.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 42 in. 19 HP Kohler, automatic transmission, lawn riding tractor
RhynoNJ
from Piscataway, NJ

Very Powerful Mower, Louder Than Expected.

PostedMay 21, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Today is 21 May 2009 and I took delivery on 12 May 09. I have a .44 acre lot and the foot print of the house is about 1600 Square Feet. READ THE MANUAL BEFORE you try to get it off the pallet, it will be easier. The mower starts the first time every time - so far. It has plenty of power and I have no trouble mowing up hill or through TALL (really Tall) grass (and weeds). It's very comfortable on flat ground but over bump ground I feel like a bull-rider (for far more than 8 seocnds). I find that the mower is REALLY loud when the throttle is in the "notch" or "RUN" position. It is slightly quieter when you run it just under that speed, which you can. Mowing in reverse is great! The Variable Speed AUTO Trans is EXCELLENT. So FAR so GOOD I will update if I discover anything or run into trouble.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 42 in. 19 HP Kohler, automatic transmission, lawn riding tractor
JerseyMD
from New Jersey

Ariens

PostedMay 28, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this mower last month and have nothing but good things to say about it. I was mowing an acre lot which used to take me over an hour to do with a push mower. Now I can finish the entire lot within 10-15 minutes. I'm able to get away without picking up the clipping using the mower on the second highest setting. As far as comfort. It's extremely smooth however my lot is completely flat so I wouldn't know about rough terrain. The gas tank would be nice if it was over a gallon, but I'm able to finish the entire yard with the one fill. Hopefully Ariens will come out with accessories this year. Would like to see a snow plow attachment.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 42 in. 19 HP Kohler, automatic transmission, lawn riding tractor
smallgrassbusiness
from Lafayette, LA

Good Lawn Mower

PostedSeptember 26, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this lawn mower from the Home Depot store in Lafayette. The first time i cut the grass it scalped my lawn in places that was uneven. I then realized that the the deck wheels had different hieghts they could be set on. I put them on the lowest setting and now the mower cuts smooth and even (no matter how fast you go). The Ariens has plenty of power for the 42" cut. The only draw back was the scalping, and the deck should be able to go higher than it can. The deck is also very easy to level. All in all im very pleased with my mower and it will be put to alot of use. Read the manual before u cut i didnt realsize u had to turn the key to the ROS option to cut in reverse.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 42 in. 19 HP Kohler, automatic transmission, lawn riding tractor
beau6
from Greensburg, PA

PostedAugust 7, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have been thinking about purchasing a lawn tractor for some time now. We have 1/2 acre, which isn't much, but we are not getting any younger. My wife would mow the front and I would do the back. Recently my wife has had back issues, so we purchased this tractor. It is not to large(as are most of them) and not too small for our job. We are very happy with this product. It does a very nice cut is such little time. I would highly recommend this tractor to others. I am attempting to find out if it has a devise to pick up leaves. I would appreciate it -if someone would let me know. Thanks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 42 in. 19 HP Kohler, automatic transmission, lawn riding tractor
RidingMowMan
from DE, USA

New to the riding mower

PostedSeptember 19, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is my first riding mower and I did some research before I wanted to invest in the product. I found this was the best price for the job it has to do for me which is cutting grass and perhaps the bi annual aerating of the yard. 1/3 of an acre of land and adding the mulching kit was easy to install for this model being a first for me. Being automatic allows me to slow down and speed up with the slight tilt of the lever. I now enjoy mowing the lawn because it cuts the time in half and gives me enough energy to invest in other lawn tasks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 42 in. 19 HP Kohler, automatic transmission, lawn riding tractor
jrobin3360
from Meade County, KY

New Mower Purchase

PostedJuly 11, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I read the reviews of other Ariens products & was impressed enough to buy one, although not the one I wanted (out of stock). This one turned out to be a great mower although I may have to make some deck adjustments to get a level cut. I really like the hydrostatic transmission. Makes mowing around all the trees & shrubs easier. The Kohler engine has power to spare & puts B&S to shame. The R.O.S. is great as long as you place the key switch in the proper position
On the downside, IT NEEDS A BIGGER FUEL TANK (I hope Ariens reads this). I mow 2 acres & had to fill the tank twice to finish the job & the tank was nearly empty when I did finish. I like the cup holder (holds my smokes well. My drink ended up w/grass clippings in it).
Overall, a great mower.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 42 in. 19 HP Kohler, automatic transmission, lawn riding tractor
badboy01
from little rock ar

Awesome tractor

PostedSeptember 10, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I had a tough time deciding what brand name tractor to purchase. After reading reviews on different makes I decided to buy the Ariens brand. I'm glad I did. It has a quiet, smooth running motor. It does a great job mowing my yard. I gave it 4 stars because the steering wheel was not aligned properly and the headlights did not work
I did not see any sense in taking it back because of those defects. I fixed them myself. No problem. It has been two months now. So far so good.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 42 in. 19 HP Kohler, automatic transmission, lawn riding tractor
ScottB61

Only one concern

PostedNovember 3, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This model is simple to operate. The hydrostatic tranny is a plus as well as the turning radius (yet not zero). Cut 1.5 ac just fine. Concerned about obtaining parts. Only one dealer in large area of NJ carried the mulching kit (~$50). The blades for life (1-set of 2 21" blades/yr) is a good deal at ~$15/blade. Bag kit is $300 (moderately high $). Oil chg is easy. Steering mech & Kohler engine seem strong. Last MTD lasted 17 yrs. Hope this does too. Good luck!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 42 in. 19 HP Kohler, automatic transmission, lawn riding tractor
JBradford
from Sarasota, FL

Great first impression

PostedSeptember 17, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this Tuesday, got it delivered yesterday, in the crate (my choice), and it rained just as I fired it up. Had to wait til today to give it its test drive.
Uncrating took nothing but a box cutter, assembly entailed only mounting the seat and steering wheel, checking oil, and adding gas. It fired and ran with a turn of the key.
Today I "broke it in" mowing a half acre of over-soggy overgrown Florida turf that hadn't been mowed for 3 weeks. It was a tough test and a real workout. Part of the yard was almost a swamp. With those big fat tires and plenty of power, it took it on, handled beautifully, and gave me a great cut. I'm impressed.
Quality and workmanship are excellent, the Kohler engine is a beast, and the hydrostatic drive is smooth as silk. Time will tell, but as of now, I'm convinced that I've bought a machine that will serve me for a LONG time to come.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 42 in. 19 HP Kohler, automatic transmission, lawn riding tractor
sparky1
from Woodbridge,NJ

Great

PostedAugust 10, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i just got this mower over the weekend and all i have to say is "wow" this by far is the best mower i have ever bought. there was no clumping before i installed the grass catcher,which at a cost of $300.00 is well worth it also, this mower has pleanty of power to get the job done. i also thank the home depot for "throwing " in the free blade for life offer! a must buy at the price that the home depot is selling for!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 42 in. 19 HP Kohler, automatic transmission, lawn riding tractor
ErnieT
from Colorado

Riding mower

PostedJuly 21, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just bought this item today and am already pleased with it. My old mower was a Mongomery Ward so you know it was old.
I especially like the motion lever where I can adjust the speed of forward or backward movement so very easily.
I had wanted the 46" model but am glad now that they were out of them. I think my rather rough terrain would have made the wider model less effective.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 42 in. 19 HP Kohler, automatic transmission, lawn riding tractor
SparkyO
from Mobile, AL

Really good mower for the money

PostedAugust 26, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased the Model A19KH42 42 In. Deck 19 HP Kohler Engine Automatic Tractor at Home Depot. Not alot of bells and whistles that the Deere & Cub mowers had. Cuts great, plenty fast, smooth ride. The free blades for life is also a plus.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 42 in. 19 HP Kohler, automatic transmission, lawn riding tractor
custer
from demotte in.

smoth

PostedOctober 21, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got 42ni. automatic 1month ago and I love it . the cut is even and the automatic shift is so smoth that I can't wait to cut the grass .I had a MTD the ariens blows it away I say get it you will love it to
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 42 in. 19 HP Kohler, automatic transmission, lawn riding tractor
Faganator
from Owensboro, Ky

The best riding mower i have ever owned!

PostedOctober 12, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This mower is by far the best mower that i have ever owned! Starts nice and easy the first time every time! Now only if i could make it drive itself... Seriously its a great mower!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 42 in. 19 HP Kohler, automatic transmission, lawn riding tractor
gphillips

PostedOctober 11, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
purchased this mower in August, have used it every week since. I haven't found anything to complain about so far, I would certainly recommend it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 42 in. 19 HP Kohler, automatic transmission, lawn riding tractor
DallasLivin
from Dallas, TX

It Can Handle the Job of a Bush Hog

PostedAugust 7, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Was asked to mow "grass" 3-4 ft. high. When got to job there were saplings, boulders, and cacti. This mower handled the job better than most.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 42 in. 19 HP Kohler, automatic transmission, lawn riding tractor
ghandi
from 10509

great mower

PostedJune 11, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
used it twice runs smooth cuts smooth looks smooth i even waxed it old craftsman no matchlove it
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 42 in. 19 HP Kohler, automatic transmission, lawn riding tractor
DigTheDome
from Kingston, GA

Real Solid Machine

PostedJuly 23, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My lot is 27,000 sq ft (over 1/2 acre), house has a 1500 sq ft footprint. I bought this rider to replace my 12 yo White (by MTD) rider that my stepson finished off. This rider is very well built and solid. Where the Cub Cadet and JD have plastic this one has steel. This particular machine was a refurbished unit and had $300 knocked off the price.
I was not familiar with the hydrostatic drive and this took a turn around the yard to get used to. Once I got familiar with drive I was very pleased with how it functions and how smooth it operated. The lever to engage the blade (PTO) is just beneath the steering wheel like the transmission lever in a car. It was easy to engage/disengage and well within reach. The blade height adjustment lever can be set and left in place. The cut in reverse feature is very handy if you put the starter key in the correct position. My old machine would cut off in reverse with the blade engaged.
I bought the grass catcher for it which was a snap to install. The grass catcher mount will not interfere with the hitch for connecting my spreader attachment like it did on the White. (I had to partially remove the mounting bracket - 8 bolts - so the spreader would not be obstructed)
Pros:
Hydrostatic drive
grass catcher mount
19 HP Kohler® Courage®
reverse cut
Cons:
none right now
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>