728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

This gas trimmer is lightweight, produces low levels of noise and emissions and has minimal vibration for user comfort. The shaft has a long reach that lets you access difficult areas. It comes with a three-year warranty.
Overall rating:
2.56 / 5
2.6
 / 
5
(391 reviews) 391
Open Ratings Snapshot
41%of customersrecommend this product155 of 382reviews
Rating Breakdown 391 reviews
2.6 out of 5
5
(99)
4
(55)
3
(12)
2
(25)
1
(200)
Features 
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5
Quality 
2.7 out of 5
2.7 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.7 out of 5
2.7 out of 5
41%of customersrecommend this product155 of 382reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 31 Answers
Customer reviews for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
Review 1 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Jacksonville Fl.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Chinese DooDoo

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this because of it being 4 cycle. no more mixing gas! it didn't last long ! I had to replace the fuel lines spark plug and bubble, { I figured because of using ethanol additive in gas}, another sore subject.. it worked awhile... then it quit again!! I opened it up and it has a plastic cam shaft! its DooDoo, it melted, and Ryobi pretty much said oh well! don't buy it! it wont last
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Needham, MA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't buy this, it doesn't last very long.

PostedJune 5, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
You know, from the styling, weight., ease of use and options you can get for this, it would seem like a good deal, it certainly did for me at the time. I purchased all the add-ons, used most of them each year for the last 3 years. But deep inside that little engine that wants to be a big engine, is a piece of plastic camshaft that is spinning away and melting up each the time you turn it on So guess what, after 3 yeas mine eventually melted. It took me a few hours to figure out the problem of why it wouldn't start, first I thought it was the gas, then the carb, then eventually, I opened the rocker cover. And guess what, it was melted away, and then after I spent another 2 hours in disbelief looking on the net for parts, I discovered to my disappointment that there are no replacement parts anywhere to be found. You can buy just about every other part for this trimmer except the burned out cam. So, for this guys, you get one star from me. Mechanical equipment is supposed to be serviceable and parts available for at least 8 -10 years.
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Tallahassee
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't be misled into buying this poorly designed product

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product has many features that are attractive:
1- 4-cycle, so no mixing of gas and oil
2 - lots of attachments making this a versitle piece of equipment.
3 - Ryobi brand has a solid track record of producing good equipment at reasonable prices.
Unfortunately, these good features are outweighed by some severe drawbacks.
1 - Storing the unit in any position other than horizontal is likely to result in the loss of oil from the crankcase.
2 - The valves MUST be adjusted every 25 hours of use. If you are using multiple attachments and have a yard larger than a postage stamp, that's at least twice per season.
3 - Poor quality engine internal parts - specifically, the camshaft is made of plastic. In an air-cooled engine, plastic cannot withstand normal operating temperatures that are achieved on a 90 degree day.
4 - For people who are used to using a 2-cycle Ryobi, the head spins backwards requiring a change to your technique or busted shins.
5 - It is heavier than the 2-cycle models.
I purchased one as a replacement for a 2-cycle that I had owned for over 10 years. This first 4-cycle purchase was used according to the owner's manual. It rapidly lost power the first time it was used. I know the oil was at the proper level when I started it the first time. It was used as one would expect to use a weed-eater.
I returned the unit and obtained a replacement. It worked well for a few months, but power began to diminish and it became difficult to start and to keep it running. When I removed the valve cover to adjust the valves, it was clear that the plastic camshaft was severely worn and required replacement - but why go to that trouble? Plastic is not an appropriate material for a camshaft! A major Japanese manufacturer had similar problems with their vertical shaft engines on pressure washers - don't skimp on the camshaft!
A number of people have marked reviews that are critical of this equipment as unhelpful. Others have blamed the problems that were experienced on the owners. Nonsense. As an engineer, I am qualified to state that the original design of this engine was poor and guaranteed its failure. Unless Ryobi has changed the camshaft material (that's possible), then I cannot recommend this device and I know from my own experience that its failure had absolutely nothing to do with the user or the conditions under which it was used. The overwhelming majority of people who rated this device rated it poorly. If it worked for you, consider yourself fortunate. If you haven't purchased one - ask to see the valve adjustment procedure first - and look at the camshaft. If it is still plastic, run.
I've attached a photo of the offending camshaft. The exhaust lobe is clearly the culprit. The intake lobe is perfect. If this were the result of oil starvation, similar damage would have occurred to both lobes. I believe that this is the result of exhaust heat being transferred via the exhaust valve and rocker arm directly to the plastic lobe resulting in softening, malformation and failure.
Pros: All In One
Cons: Not Durable, poor engine quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+165points
183out of 201found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Nashua, NH

Worthless. Garbage.

PostedJuly 4, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This unit is HIGHLY susceptible to hydraulic lock, which means that the motor will lock-up (after the unit has been sitting idle in a garage), not letting you pull the cord, or start it. After returning 2 units (each after using just ONE time) - I learned that this unit must be stored in a HORIZONTAL position to avoid this from happening. Since I don't have the room in my garage to store it like this - without re-laying-out storage for every other broom, shovel, rake, etc. which I already have stored VERTICALLY in my garage - this is a non-starter for me (no pun intended).
The other big issue is that if you run the unit with the engine turned (or upside down) as I sometimes do during edging - it will burn oil and smoke like CRAZY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Vernon, VT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Much more handy than I thought it would be

PostedAugust 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought the power head with trimmer as an impulse purchase while at HD one day, partly due to price. The Stihl system with the same attachments I bought runs for over $750, and the Stihl is a 27 cc 2 cycle engine, while this is a 30cc 4 cycle engine. It is much more powerful than the 2 cycle trimmer I was using. I also bought the adjustable hedge trimmer head and pruner attachments. I have found that, when using these, the machine needs to be filled with gasoline more often because the fuel intake is right below the gas cap. The machine is designed to have the head held downward, so when working overhead, the fuel intake can end up above the fuel. But the machine is quiet and has plenty of power for what I need. It starts very easily. You do want to have a small gas can to use to fill this- filling it from a 5 gallon can doesn't work very well!
Pros: Easy to Use, Great Engine
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Millsboro, Delaware
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Purchase

PostedAugust 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My last Ryobi trimmer lasted 18 years also some of my old attachments work with this trimmer. Very easy to start and use. I had to purchase shoulder strap does not come with one.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Great Engine
Cons: had to purchase shoulder strap
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Georgia
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Waste of time and money

PostedAugust 22, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this unit because of Ryobi reputation as well as the fact I could use it for other purposes with right/additional attachments. I followed the instructions word by word and the unit started right away on the night I purchased it. The next morning, I got all ready to attack the over grown grass and weeds that have been growing near the walls and to my surprise the pull cord would not budge, it was stuck. The troubleshooting section of the manual says, if that happens it means oil has got into the combustion compartment and the user needs to remove the spark plug, clean it, clean something else too and then try again ... and I was like, I just want to trim grass, I don't want to turn into an auto mechanic. So, I thought, this unit is waste of time, a brand new $200 machine should not break down on its maiden voyage and chances are the very same thing is going to happen time after time after time. This trimmer is going back to HomeDepot.
Cons: Not Durable, Too Heavy, does not work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

Good oversll

PostedAugust 9, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Unit has plenty of power. It is easy to crank, even after a long winter with now use. You can NOT store it vertically. I found out the hard way, but after letting it lay level on the ground, it started right up. When stored vertically, the motor seizes up because oil gets in places that it's not intended to be. One issue that I'd did have was that the gas cap started spitting out fuel. I have owned the unit for over a year and believe it is leaps and bounds above the old 2 cycle toro it replaced
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

Awful, awful product. Broke after 1 season

PostedAugust 20, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
One of the worst purchases I ever made. Total piece of junk. Broke after 1 season. Hard to start. Smoke everywhere. Oil leaks. Driveshaft just snapped.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Crawfordsville, IN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Gas trimmer

PostedAugust 18, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Great trimmer. Easy to start. Simple fuel. Easy to use.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

Runs fine, but needs to be careful before starting

PostedAugust 19, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I purchased this model only because it was a 30cc 4 stoke, and was tired of my old 2 stroke not starting up right away. I read the reviews before I used it and it worked very well. There are a couple of things I have learned to successfully using this unit. After reading many of the reviews I came to the conclusion that people where miss handling the unit by turning it upside down or storing it vertically and letting oil get into the engine. This unit must always be stored horizontally otherwise the oil will seep into the cylinder and mix with the fuel and it will not run. Also the gas needs to be high octane, with the least amount of ethanol as possible. The unit cannot be turned over upside down when cleaning or swapping out the heads, otherwise oil will get into engine again and will not restart. Do not let the fuel tank level get low when running it because air bubbles will get into the fuel line and the engine will sputter. When you first purchase unit remove the head cover to make sure yours has a metal camshaft, if it is plastic just return it. I have followed these rules, and the engine runs right away on the 2nd pull of the cord. Plenty of power and quieter than a 2 stroke. Don't use the standard retractable line head when cutting extra long grass, due to tangles, which then you will have to remove the head to untangle, because you do not want to turn the unit upside down. Best to buy aftermarket swivel line type head. Will save you line and a ton of time. Gave this 4 stars only because of the precautions needed, but overall a good experience to using it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from decatur,al
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Hard to start, no owner's manual in box , was told I would get one from company, wrong. String will not feed out at all.\

PostedAugust 14, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not good at all,poor starting, cutting line a mess, no manual to help with problems.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Melbourne, Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ryobi 4 cycle power head trimmer DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!

PostedAugust 2, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased new with extended warranty from Home Depot. Within 3 months carburator went bad. Returned to Home Depot they said the warranty I purchased does NOT apply until after manufactures warranty runs out. I go to warranty service facility with Ryobi claims involved and after inspection the carburator is bad and Ryobi will not cover it because it is a fuel related problem???? IYou have to put a fuel additive to prevent it from rotting the carburator out. So I need a new carburator 125$, the service guy was great and found a used carburator he installed for $60. Off with my new/used carb and fuel additive. It worked for 4 months then the primer bulb deteriorated 1 year later the primer bulb cracked again and the carburator is leaking fuel from the air intake and where it is mounted. The only positive is I now know a great small engine repair mechanic.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

Do Not Buy This Trimmer!!!

PostedAugust 11, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Trimmer head never fed from the start after purchase. Should have returned it instead of trying to just make it work. Warranty doesn't cover problem, even if purchased with defective parts.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

worst purchase ever

PostedAugust 11, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After only few uses its one of the hardest things to start and when you finally start the thing it will not stay running. Don't waste your money on this garbage .
Cons: Difficult to Use, hard to start and it wont stay running
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Ooltewah TN
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Short life

PostedJune 8, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Worked well for most of the first season, but half way through the second it would not take full throttle and finally stalled out and couldn't be restarted. Authorized service center "fixed" it, but still would not run at full throttle. Third season it ran poorly for about two minutes then quit. This time the service center tried but failed to get it running again. Went out and bought a Husqvarna so at least the Ryobi attachments could still be used. That comes to over $100 cost per season! Shame as I liked how it worked when it first came out of the box. Nice weight and balance, good power and did the job quickly. Just didn't work long enough.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: short life
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Ever

PostedAugust 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy start, plenty of power and great attachments. If you follow instructions you won't have problems.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

Stalls and lack of power

PostedJuly 17, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this to replace the Troy-bilt I had for 7 years without issue until it died. This unit will not run or stay running when using it in other than a downward angle. Uv had this unit for a year now. Most of the time I have to run it at half choke for it to stay running and even then it sputters. The choke on the unit positioned do that it is easy to hit it with your arm while using the unit. I am in the process of researching a new one. This is the second Ryobi product the has been junk, the other was a blower
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Akron, Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Had issues from the beginning and only lasted 3 years

PostedJuly 27, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This trimmer was always always difficult to start and would take about 5 minutes to warm up before I could actually do any trimming. After it was warm though it worked fine. After 3 years it started leaking oil and would completely drain the oil in about 2 hours after filling it. I could probably replace a gasket to get it working again but it isn't really worth the effort considering the issues I have always had with it.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from WENATCHEE
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

piece of junk

PostedAugust 2, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this trimmer 2 times for my front yard (20' x 20') to trim the edge of the yard, the 3th time this piece of junk started leaking oil because of low quality of parts (bronze nipple from carburetor broke)
NO, I DON'T RECOMMEND THIS TRIMMER, ADD $40 MORE AND BUY A STIHL BRAND OR ECHO.
Pros: Cuts Well
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 19 >>