728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

With a 4-cycle engine, the Ryobi 18 in. 30 cc Gas Trimmer offers the convenience of not having to mix gas or oil for start-up. The trimmer provides powerful operation in a lightweight, low-emission, anti-vibration and low-noise design. The trimmer shaft offers an optimal reach and helps you trim under obstacles. Ryobi 4-cycle trimmers are the lightest 4-cycle trimmers on the market and come with a best-in-class, three-year warranty.
Overall rating:
2.43 / 5
2.4
 / 
5
(316 reviews) 316
Open Ratings Snapshot
37%of customersrecommend this product116 of 310reviews
Rating Breakdown 316 reviews
2.4 out of 5.0
5
(69)
4
(44)
3
(11)
2
(22)
1
(170)
Features 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
Quality 
2.5 out of 5.0
2.5 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.8 out of 5.0
2.8 out of 5
Value 
2.5 out of 5.0
2.5 out of 5
37%of customersrecommend this product116 of 310reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
Review 1 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Tallahassee
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't be misled into buying this poorly designed product

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product has many features that are attractive:
1- 4-cycle, so no mixing of gas and oil
2 - lots of attachments making this a versitle piece of equipment.
3 - Ryobi brand has a solid track record of producing good equipment at reasonable prices.
Unfortunately, these good features are outweighed by some severe drawbacks.
1 - Storing the unit in any position other than horizontal is likely to result in the loss of oil from the crankcase.
2 - The valves MUST be adjusted every 25 hours of use. If you are using multiple attachments and have a yard larger than a postage stamp, that's at least twice per season.
3 - Poor quality engine internal parts - specifically, the camshaft is made of plastic. In an air-cooled engine, plastic cannot withstand normal operating temperatures that are achieved on a 90 degree day.
4 - For people who are used to using a 2-cycle Ryobi, the head spins backwards requiring a change to your technique or busted shins.
5 - It is heavier than the 2-cycle models.
I purchased one as a replacement for a 2-cycle that I had owned for over 10 years. This first 4-cycle purchase was used according to the owner's manual. It rapidly lost power the first time it was used. I know the oil was at the proper level when I started it the first time. It was used as one would expect to use a weed-eater.
I returned the unit and obtained a replacement. It worked well for a few months, but power began to diminish and it became difficult to start and to keep it running. When I removed the valve cover to adjust the valves, it was clear that the plastic camshaft was severely worn and required replacement - but why go to that trouble? Plastic is not an appropriate material for a camshaft! A major Japanese manufacturer had similar problems with their vertical shaft engines on pressure washers - don't skimp on the camshaft!
A number of people have marked reviews that are critical of this equipment as unhelpful. Others have blamed the problems that were experienced on the owners. Nonsense. As an engineer, I am qualified to state that the original design of this engine was poor and guaranteed its failure. Unless Ryobi has changed the camshaft material (that's possible), then I cannot recommend this device and I know from my own experience that its failure had absolutely nothing to do with the user or the conditions under which it was used. The overwhelming majority of people who rated this device rated it poorly. If it worked for you, consider yourself fortunate. If you haven't purchased one - ask to see the valve adjustment procedure first - and look at the camshaft. If it is still plastic, run.
I've attached a photo of the offending camshaft. The exhaust lobe is clearly the culprit. The intake lobe is perfect. If this were the result of oil starvation, similar damage would have occurred to both lobes. I believe that this is the result of exhaust heat being transferred via the exhaust valve and rocker arm directly to the plastic lobe resulting in softening, malformation and failure.
Pros: All In One
Cons: Not Durable, poor engine quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+157points
175out of 193found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Portland, OR
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GREAT TRIMMER...FOLLOW THE INSTRUCTIONS!!! Steel Camshaft!

PostedJune 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
OK, so I read all the reviews, including the bad ones, and I thought, this sounds like people are not reading the instructions. And that's got to be it. I followed the instructions (which I thought were very clear and concise), assembled the unit, followed the starting instructions and it started on the second pull. I think it would have started on the first pull if I had pulled hard enough, but I needed to get a feel for it first. It starts every time on the first or second pull.
I ran it for a little more than an hour (about 1&1/2 tanks of fuel) cutting through some verh high grass, weeds and scotch broom. I really wanted to see if it would do it without purchasing the brush cutter head...and it DID! I stalled it once when too much stuff got wrapped around the head, but otherwise it ran great with LOTS of power.
If you read all the way through the instructions, you'll see that they give you the procedure to go through to adjust the valves (recommeneded every 25 hours and quite simple) so I took it apart because I wanted to see the camshaft myself. Mine is steel. I tried a magnet on it and it stuck. What about the plastic ones noted by several reviewers? The only thing I can think of is that Ryobi might have these made in different parts of the world, and they somehow got away with some plastic camshafts. Mine is made in China and it's definitely steel.
Pull cord wont pull? I bet you stored this unit (even for an hour) with the motor hanging down and the shaft up (you'll notice that they don't store them that way in the store!). If that's the case (the instructions clearly state NOT to do this) you just filled the cylinder up with oil from the crankcase and you got a hydraulic lock. Just let the unit sit level on its feet for a while to get the oil to drain back into the sump and it will start. It will probably smoke for a while till it clears.
Smoking motor? I bet you either put too much oil in the sump (you only need to put in what they give you), OR you tilted the unit too far while it was running. If you're used to a 2-stroke trimmer, you can get away with doing that for a few seconds, but with a 4-stroke you won't. They're not designed to do that. And it does use 20W50 motor oil, so you should buy some and keep it on hand because I'm sure that since this is an air-cooled engine, it's going to use some oil on a regular basis.
Won't start after storing? I'll bet you're not using any kind of gas preservative. Let's face it, our gas has lots of Ethanol in it which attracts water and causes the gas to break down. I use Sta-Bil in my gas can all year long and I've never had clogged carb problems with any of my small gas engines. If you want your small engines to run well, use a little octane booster as well. This helps keep the ratio of gas-ethanol under control and helps eliminate the gas breakdown into the gums that clog carb jets, etc. The good news is that you don't need a separate gas can to mix oil in! YESSS!!
My only Con for this unit would be that they should put a cover over the head joint where the gearbox and the spinning trimmer head come together. Although this joint has a fairly small clearance, it's not small enough to stop fine grass from getting wrapped around it. It's not a big deal, but I had to stop and clean it regularly...probably because the stuff I was trimming was so tough and long (up to 3 feet!). There is perfect flange just above the joint, and I'm going to try installing a hose clamp on it to cover the joint and see if that helps.
I don't think you can go wrong with this unit IF YOU READ AND FOLLOW THE INSTRUCTIONS!! I'm very pleased with mine...in case you can't tell.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, no oil and gas to mix!
Cons: trimmer head clogging
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Caldwell idaho
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

best weedeater ever

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to start. Light weight, very powerful. And love that I can get other attachment for it. It was a great buy. And not as load as the 2 strokes. Its so nice not having to mix fuel ever time I wanna use it. Don't have to worry about the kids burning it up!!!!!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Easy to Store, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

Worst purchase ever

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the first review I've ever wrote at 58 yrs old. I've used this for less that a year. Never seen a weed eater that you had to take it apart to check the spark plug.never guess at the oil level if you get it wrong your gonna mess up a lot of things on that motor including the carb. I had to empty all the oil. I had to go thru the carb and clean it. Just a very bad design. The expand it attachments is a great idea but just built so cheaply. I will spend more money and get a stil or echo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

DO NOT BUY!!!

PostedJune 14, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased this trimmer 3 years ago for use around the home. Very little power/speed, got hung up on things constantly. Mid-way through the season it started randomly shutting off while i was trimming, and by the end of the season it had stopped working all together. I have since purchased a STIHL- FS 56 RC-E and can honestly say i will never buy any other brand. It was only $50 more than this ryobi and it powers thru everything, never shuts off or gets hung up, and came with a shoulder strap, safety glasses and a 4 year warranty to boot. Spend the extra money and get the STIHL.
Cons: Not Durable, very poor quality
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Corvallis, OR
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Reliable and good to work with

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It es easy to start and seems to have good power. I like the how easy it is to change the head for the different attachments. The only problem that I have had is some of the attachments had different handles and that is not so easy to change. For me I have found the one that I like and that is the one that I leave on it. Also like that you do not have to mix gas for it.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Maryland
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Don't get sucked-in by "4-Cycle"

PostedAugust 10, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Ryobi + 4-Cycle drew me in. If I had to do it again I wouldn't. Here's the good points... the ability to use different attachments; powerful; easy to start. Now the not-so good... if you tilt the unit left, right, up as you would a 2-cycle, oil will run out of the carburetor; checking/filling the crankcase is not a simple chore; this unit sucks down gasoline, and the tank is not that big; the plastic housing covering the engine will get very warm if not hot, in a very short time (I personally feel this is a poor design).. if you're not careful your arm will pay the price; in less than two years I've had to replace the string spool and button (and I don't mistreat my equipment).
I had high hopes for this unit.... but once this one dies I won't buy another one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Orlando, FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No more gas/oil mixture, hooray

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Moving to a 4-cycle and not having to deal with multiple gas cans is really nice. I also found that the engine vibration is much less that my previous Ryobi. And, best of all, my existing attachment work perfectly.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Great Engine
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bad purchase

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this for my daughter last year because she just purchased a home. Was happy to see a 4 cycle motor head because I thought it would be less hassle for her. I always thought Ryobi has great products, but they really missed the mark on this one. Every time it is used it leaks oil everywhere creating a smokey, slick mess. I kept going back to the manual to see what was wrong. We had done everything correctly, but it will not hold oil. Now I hear that this is a problem with this model. I wish someone would have told me when I was looking at purchasing it at the store that they are junk. I will be getting her a 2 cycle. Expensive reminder to always check product reviews before buying.
Cons: dumps oil everywhere
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Shallotte
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

4-cycle trimmer

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to assemble and so far has started with relative ease.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Valdosta, GA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ryobi 4 Cycle trimmer

PostedJune 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works great . Never buy anything else . Easy to crank and operate
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Madison, WI, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Multifunction Tool, But Not Recommended For Just Trimming

PostedMay 30, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works well, nice that it can become a 'multitool' but for those that just want a weed trimmer probably not the best.
Pluses, minuses:
+ Feels like the motor is the right amount of power for the job
+ Easy to start up and use
- Unbalanced, feels like you are fighting to hold it properly
- "Weed guard" at the base doesn't cover as much as it could so weed bits fly up and hit you as you work
- Doesn't feel like it was designed for right-handed people as the controls for the motor seem to be in weird places
Pros: Cuts Well, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Light Weight
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Tacoma, WA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Junk!

PostedMay 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this piece of junk 2 summers ago. Worked the first summer I purchased it. After that I had a friend work on the engine because the string was stuck. Now this summer the gas and oil leak! DO NOT BUY!!
Cons: Not Durable, Leaks, doesn't last
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Michigan
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Been great for me!

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Not sure if I just got lucky or i'm gifted in the use of trimmers. I have used this as a poor man Brush Dr to clear 2 acres of scrub, woody sweet fern and the like with no issue. I used the brush cutter attachment. I also use to clear around my cabin on the property as a weed whip.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Powerful, Great Engine
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Louisiana, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Did last the year....

PostedAugust 7, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My 2 cycle trimmer died after years of service and wanted to purchase a 4cycle to replace it. The ryobi was a great price and looking like a good unit to me. The 1st day it was great. two weeks later i needed it again and it was hard to start. It remained hard to start for a few months until one day POP. While running the trimmer at idle walking through the yard the trimmer made a POP noise and lost all compression. No warranty past 90 days so i opened the case up. IT HAS PLASTIC GEARS... Trimmers get hot.. plastic weakens...then pop your trimmer blows up...
Cons: Not Durable
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

Trimmer

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product is hard to start and does not idle well. It tends to cut off if I do not keep the motor engaged.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Seattle
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Only works for a short time

PostedJuly 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I would have given this item a good review after the first season but that's as long as it lasted. After filling the tank with fresh gas the second season, it started and ran fine until I had to shut it off to remove some grass twisted up in the head (this happened often). After I cleared out the twisted grass, the unit started but woud die if I pulled the trigger. Cleaned "air filter" and everything looked fine. Purged and replaced gas with high octane, no ethenol gas. Changed oil. Gave up - not worth my time. Probably not worth yours either.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Lakeland, FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Horrible!!!

PostedAugust 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this model because it was a 4 cycle and liked the idea of not having to mix the gas. I used it the first day I purchased it and was impressed. Went to use it four days later and the string starter was locked up. Brought it back to Home Depot and they tried to pull the string. The man from the garden dept. said the pulley had locked up and exchanged it for me. I used the newly exchanged Ryobi with no problem as soon as I brought it home. Went to use it five days later, and the same thing occurred. I brought it back to Home Depot. Two gentlemen from gardening looked at it and noticed there was oil leaking from the pulley clutch. I asked if I might be doing something wrong. I was told that Ryobi just came out with this 4 cycle model and was still working out its problems. One of the gentlemen believed the problem was that they are using a 4 cycle motor with a 2 cycle clutch. Needless to say, I exchanged it for a Toro.
Cons: keeps breaking.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from cape may court house
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

*not worth a penny*

PostedAugust 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
so disappointed with this product, not worth a penny!!.use only once ,the secand time didnt want to start ,went to home depot they do not want to return its past 30 days ,
Pros: Cuts Well, Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Oklahoma City, OK
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Should never have bought this thing

PostedAugust 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My old 16 year old weed eater trimmer finally died. I bought this to replace it. Didn't read the reviews. I bought it because it is 4cyl and mixing oil and gas is not required. I've had it 2 months. It's leaking oil. The whole bottom of the engine is covered with oil. The tap advance of the line doesn't work. The first time I used it, I had to stop 6 times to re-feed the line into the spool. The grass shield is worthless. Grass sprays all over me when I trim. I've tried to change the positions of how I hold it and the trimming positions. Doesn't matter. When I'm done trimming, I'm covered with grass. Holding the trimmer is not natural for me. But I guess that is different for every person. I really wish I had returned it. Now I'm past the 30 day return window. One of the worst lawn products I've every bought. Why Home Depot and Ryobi continue to sell this product is a mystery to me. I usually enjoy doing yard work. Not now. I dread trimming. Do yourself a favor and RUN not walk, away from this trimmer.
Cons: Not Durable, Too Heavy, leaking oil., sprays grass, tap advance doesn't work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 16 >>