728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

With a 4-cycle engine, the Ryobi 18 in. 30 cc Gas Trimmer offers the convenience of not having to mix gas or oil for start-up. The trimmer provides powerful operation in a lightweight, low-emission, anti-vibration and low-noise design. The trimmer shaft offers an optimal reach and helps you trim under obstacles. Ryobi 4-cycle trimmers are the lightest 4-cycle trimmers on the market and come with a best-in-class, three-year warranty.
Overall rating:
2.52 / 5
2.5
 / 
5
(342 reviews) 342
Open Ratings Snapshot
40%of customersrecommend this product133 of 335reviews
Rating Breakdown 342 reviews
2.5 out of 5
5
(83)
4
(47)
3
(12)
2
(23)
1
(177)
Features 
3.4 out of 5
3.4 out of 5
Quality 
2.6 out of 5
2.6 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.9 out of 5
2.9 out of 5
Value 
2.7 out of 5
2.7 out of 5
40%of customersrecommend this product133 of 335reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer reviews for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
Review 1 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Tallahassee
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't be misled into buying this poorly designed product

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product has many features that are attractive:
1- 4-cycle, so no mixing of gas and oil
2 - lots of attachments making this a versitle piece of equipment.
3 - Ryobi brand has a solid track record of producing good equipment at reasonable prices.
Unfortunately, these good features are outweighed by some severe drawbacks.
1 - Storing the unit in any position other than horizontal is likely to result in the loss of oil from the crankcase.
2 - The valves MUST be adjusted every 25 hours of use. If you are using multiple attachments and have a yard larger than a postage stamp, that's at least twice per season.
3 - Poor quality engine internal parts - specifically, the camshaft is made of plastic. In an air-cooled engine, plastic cannot withstand normal operating temperatures that are achieved on a 90 degree day.
4 - For people who are used to using a 2-cycle Ryobi, the head spins backwards requiring a change to your technique or busted shins.
5 - It is heavier than the 2-cycle models.
I purchased one as a replacement for a 2-cycle that I had owned for over 10 years. This first 4-cycle purchase was used according to the owner's manual. It rapidly lost power the first time it was used. I know the oil was at the proper level when I started it the first time. It was used as one would expect to use a weed-eater.
I returned the unit and obtained a replacement. It worked well for a few months, but power began to diminish and it became difficult to start and to keep it running. When I removed the valve cover to adjust the valves, it was clear that the plastic camshaft was severely worn and required replacement - but why go to that trouble? Plastic is not an appropriate material for a camshaft! A major Japanese manufacturer had similar problems with their vertical shaft engines on pressure washers - don't skimp on the camshaft!
A number of people have marked reviews that are critical of this equipment as unhelpful. Others have blamed the problems that were experienced on the owners. Nonsense. As an engineer, I am qualified to state that the original design of this engine was poor and guaranteed its failure. Unless Ryobi has changed the camshaft material (that's possible), then I cannot recommend this device and I know from my own experience that its failure had absolutely nothing to do with the user or the conditions under which it was used. The overwhelming majority of people who rated this device rated it poorly. If it worked for you, consider yourself fortunate. If you haven't purchased one - ask to see the valve adjustment procedure first - and look at the camshaft. If it is still plastic, run.
I've attached a photo of the offending camshaft. The exhaust lobe is clearly the culprit. The intake lobe is perfect. If this were the result of oil starvation, similar damage would have occurred to both lobes. I believe that this is the result of exhaust heat being transferred via the exhaust valve and rocker arm directly to the plastic lobe resulting in softening, malformation and failure.
Pros: All In One
Cons: Not Durable, poor engine quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+161points
179out of 197found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Buda, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

JUNK JUNK JUNK JUNK JUNK JUNK JUNK

PostedApril 22, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had this unit for about three years, within the first 6 months I had to take it to a service shop which they gave me a whole new one. I asked them their opinion and they said they would not even take a free one. I understand now, I only used ethanol free fuel, changed spark plugs several times, and still had a ridiculous time getting it to run. !!!!!!!!!!! DO NOT BUY !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable, junk
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

Very poor power

PostedMarch 21, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased two years ago and new right off the bat it wasn't very powerful. Would bogg down. Now oil poors constantly out of the air filter when I turn it side ways to edge.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Roanoke, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Initial quality is fantastic!

PostedApril 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've just purchased and used once, but even with the short run time you can definitely feel the quality.
Easy to assemble and start:
From the time I cut the tape on the box to run time was under 5 minutes. After filling with the provided oil, some gas and priming, it started on the 3rd pull. It ran without dieing until it was fully warm and could set the choke to the run position. Easily restarted with a single pull.
Quiet:
So much quieter than the Ryobi 2 cycle it's replacing. I could easily hear someone talking to me from across the yard without having to shout back. My old trimmer would leave my ears ringing.
Powerful:
Idles at a low RPM and just a small touch of the throttle gives a big jump in power. The throttle has about an inch and a half of travel. I probably used a quarter to a half tops including when I used my edger attachment with a 8 inch steel blade cutting through sod at the edge of the curb.
Quality:
The straight shaft it came with is solid. Feeds line easily without having to pound it to death on the ground. The forward handle attached firmly and doesn't turn or slip on the shaft. It's wrapped in a very comfy rubber for easy gripping and low fatigue.
Hopefully this holds up well. It seems to be quality made and should last with proper care.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

Impressed with it

PostedApril 29, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I can say I was not actually comfortable buying another item from this maker, however I listened to a friend who has one and "yep, I like it". Followed the very simple start up instructions, less than 5 minutes from out of the box to start up. More comfortable than the 2 stroke, less noise, and plenty of power. It could use a little more balancing but hey we are talking about a tool here, not everything is perfect.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Vermont
Age Range:45 to 54
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Little unit

PostedApril 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I Have been looking for a trimmer for a while and decided to go with 4 Cycle tired of mixing gas .Tried this out and was amazed how easily it was to start ,had many others (2cyl) that always started hard . My wife started gardening so I purchased the tiller attachment. Wow! surprised how much soil it can till.great for small garden beds . Its been 3 years now , nice little machine .
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Powerful, Great Engine, Mulches Well
Cons: little noisy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Detroit
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

RYOBI 4 STROKE STRING TRIMMER

PostedApril 27, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
My Ryobi 2 Stroke Trimmer quit after about 10 years of pretty good service.
Wanted another Ryobi so I could continue using the attachments I've collected.
The fact it can be used for these multiple tasks probably is better for it than sitting so much.
I'll probably have the old unit repaired and keep it at the cottage for spot duty up there.
Saw the 4 Stroke, liked the idea, floor model felt good in my hands, took a flyer on it.
The bigger motor size and better torque capability swung the decision that way.
Got home and assembled the unit, went to start it and the motor was seized, thinking this was a fluke - I went back to HD for a "Do Over" and got another unit. If the second one was a dud I'd have bailed on it. The second one assembled and powered up perfectly.
Used it quite heavily over the weekend getting the yard together for the spring. 4 Stroke motor idles nicely between bursts of work - none of the revving that's usually needed to keep a 2 Stroke happy.
I admit I was pleasantly surprised with the Torque!
It did a great job running the Trimmer, Edger, Extendable Chain Saw, and the Hedge Trimmer attachments. All the power I needed.
You should plan to store it flat as it's a 4 stroke motor and the oil will leave the crank case if you don't.
I've always made a practice of adding Sta-Bil to my outdoor power equipment gas cans.
I'll dump unused gas back into the can and run it dry whenever storing it for any length of time.
I kept the little 2.2 OZ oil bottle that came with the unit for measuring out the next 20W-50 oil change.
I'll be watching the oil consumption very closely, and changing the oil out regularly - just to stack the deck my way a little bit more.
Decided to read the reviews... After the Fact, of course.
Was alarmed at the number of negative write ups!
These reviews tended to be at either end of the extremes - People thought it was Wonderful, or Junk...
It's Ryobi - so going in you should expect it to be a cheaper (residential) version of a contractor's tool.
If you're getting into the business you should get a Stihl or a Husquevarna!
I think it has performed as expected - maybe better, and I'm very pleased so far.
At the end of the day it's probably not as great and not as bad as these reviews show.
Only time will tell...
I'm glad I bought the extended warranty this time around.
I'll re-review this unit after I get a full season of use in with this tool.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Light Weight, no more 2 cycle mixing, quieter
Cons: reviews are scary
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Portland, OR
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GREAT TRIMMER...FOLLOW THE INSTRUCTIONS!!! Steel Camshaft!

PostedJune 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
OK, so I read all the reviews, including the bad ones, and I thought, this sounds like people are not reading the instructions. And that's got to be it. I followed the instructions (which I thought were very clear and concise), assembled the unit, followed the starting instructions and it started on the second pull. I think it would have started on the first pull if I had pulled hard enough, but I needed to get a feel for it first. It starts every time on the first or second pull.
I ran it for a little more than an hour (about 1&1/2 tanks of fuel) cutting through some verh high grass, weeds and scotch broom. I really wanted to see if it would do it without purchasing the brush cutter head...and it DID! I stalled it once when too much stuff got wrapped around the head, but otherwise it ran great with LOTS of power.
If you read all the way through the instructions, you'll see that they give you the procedure to go through to adjust the valves (recommeneded every 25 hours and quite simple) so I took it apart because I wanted to see the camshaft myself. Mine is steel. I tried a magnet on it and it stuck. What about the plastic ones noted by several reviewers? The only thing I can think of is that Ryobi might have these made in different parts of the world, and they somehow got away with some plastic camshafts. Mine is made in China and it's definitely steel.
Pull cord wont pull? I bet you stored this unit (even for an hour) with the motor hanging down and the shaft up (you'll notice that they don't store them that way in the store!). If that's the case (the instructions clearly state NOT to do this) you just filled the cylinder up with oil from the crankcase and you got a hydraulic lock. Just let the unit sit level on its feet for a while to get the oil to drain back into the sump and it will start. It will probably smoke for a while till it clears.
Smoking motor? I bet you either put too much oil in the sump (you only need to put in what they give you), OR you tilted the unit too far while it was running. If you're used to a 2-stroke trimmer, you can get away with doing that for a few seconds, but with a 4-stroke you won't. They're not designed to do that. And it does use 20W50 motor oil, so you should buy some and keep it on hand because I'm sure that since this is an air-cooled engine, it's going to use some oil on a regular basis.
Won't start after storing? I'll bet you're not using any kind of gas preservative. Let's face it, our gas has lots of Ethanol in it which attracts water and causes the gas to break down. I use Sta-Bil in my gas can all year long and I've never had clogged carb problems with any of my small gas engines. If you want your small engines to run well, use a little octane booster as well. This helps keep the ratio of gas-ethanol under control and helps eliminate the gas breakdown into the gums that clog carb jets, etc. The good news is that you don't need a separate gas can to mix oil in! YESSS!!
My only Con for this unit would be that they should put a cover over the head joint where the gearbox and the spinning trimmer head come together. Although this joint has a fairly small clearance, it's not small enough to stop fine grass from getting wrapped around it. It's not a big deal, but I had to stop and clean it regularly...probably because the stuff I was trimming was so tough and long (up to 3 feet!). There is perfect flange just above the joint, and I'm going to try installing a hose clamp on it to cover the joint and see if that helps.
I don't think you can go wrong with this unit IF YOU READ AND FOLLOW THE INSTRUCTIONS!! I'm very pleased with mine...in case you can't tell.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, no oil and gas to mix!
Cons: trimmer head clogging
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

DO NOT BUY!!!

PostedJune 14, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased this trimmer 3 years ago for use around the home. Very little power/speed, got hung up on things constantly. Mid-way through the season it started randomly shutting off while i was trimming, and by the end of the season it had stopped working all together. I have since purchased a STIHL- FS 56 RC-E and can honestly say i will never buy any other brand. It was only $50 more than this ryobi and it powers thru everything, never shuts off or gets hung up, and came with a shoulder strap, safety glasses and a 4 year warranty to boot. Spend the extra money and get the STIHL.
Cons: Not Durable, very poor quality
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Madison, WI, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Multifunction Tool, But Not Recommended For Just Trimming

PostedMay 30, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Works well, nice that it can become a 'multitool' but for those that just want a weed trimmer probably not the best.
Pluses, minuses:
+ Feels like the motor is the right amount of power for the job
+ Easy to start up and use
- Unbalanced, feels like you are fighting to hold it properly
- "Weed guard" at the base doesn't cover as much as it could so weed bits fly up and hit you as you work
- Doesn't feel like it was designed for right-handed people as the controls for the motor seem to be in weird places
Pros: Cuts Well, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Light Weight
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Calgary, AB
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Read the manual fully.

PostedJuly 28, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This thing is really easy to over fill with oil which is where most of the problems are coming from. It specifically states to have the unit level on the ground and fill using a funnel. Then, while still laying on the ground check the level of the oil. Originally I filled it up too much and had problems like many here did. Oil flying out of odd places, tons of smoke, engine dying every 5 minutes and not wanting to start and lack lust performance. I emptied some oil out because I had filled it incorrectly and followed the manual to a T. Trimmer ran like a champ after that. 2 pull start, no more smoke, power like it advertised and never died the rest of the time I used it. Have yet to see about longevity on this particular unit but initial quality suggests it's decent for what you pay.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Powerful
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Louisiana, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Did last the year....

PostedAugust 7, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My 2 cycle trimmer died after years of service and wanted to purchase a 4cycle to replace it. The ryobi was a great price and looking like a good unit to me. The 1st day it was great. two weeks later i needed it again and it was hard to start. It remained hard to start for a few months until one day POP. While running the trimmer at idle walking through the yard the trimmer made a POP noise and lost all compression. No warranty past 90 days so i opened the case up. IT HAS PLASTIC GEARS... Trimmers get hot.. plastic weakens...then pop your trimmer blows up...
Cons: Not Durable
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Florida
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Efficient and Versatile!

PostedMarch 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Exactly what I wanted. A bit heavy, but worth it! Would buy again if needed.
Pros: Cuts Well, Durable
Cons: Too Heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Wildomar, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great!

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My husband and son are very happy with this trimmer. They say it works great!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

It worked the first few times and then never able to use again

PostedOctober 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When I first got the trimmer, I liked the fact that it ran only on gas and started easily. I was able to use it (with the pole saw attachment) on 2 different occasions. On the third try, I had difficulty starting it, but finally got it going and was able to use it. On the 4th try, it would not start at all. The starter cord completely locked and I was not able to start it. It was sent in for repair but it still didn't work when I got it back. For the price, it is a very poor quality product and I would not recommend it (or any other Ryobi) product to anyone after making this purchase.
Pros: All In One
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Florida, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Leaking oil

PostedJune 10, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My husband and I replaced our Ryobi 2 cycle with this after the pull cord stopped engaging. The 4 cycle worked great for the first 6 months and then began to act up. The trimmer would start, but not continue to run or it would sputter while it ran. Last weekend I went out to start it and the pull cord seemed to be stuck and wouldn't pull. I gave it a pull and heard a strange gurgling sound as it engaged. Oil.....oil all over the place, down my arm and all over my driveway. There is now a large puddle in my garage. I have several accessories for this but they are all trash bound. I have seen good reviews on a different trimmer and I will go with that, as I do not wish to deal with the headache of another Ryobi.
Pros: interchangable accessories
Cons: Not Durable
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from North Canton, OH

Read reviews and bought it anyways; bad decision

PostedMay 3, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I read the reviews but went to the store to consult with the department specialist: After I asked him about the return rate for this specific model, he confirmed that almost none of these every come back.
I liked the option of the 2 head types.
I like the power, sound, weight and balance of the unit when it ran.
I figured the unit would be hard to start the first time as it ships dry, without oil. Followed the instructions exactly, filled the oil, filled with fresh gas, primed, etc... So when it took 10 minutes and a whole lot of pulling to start it I wasn't surpised. For the first 5 minutes it wouldn't idle unless it was choked; it seemed to finally warm up and I was able to drop it down to half-choke after another 5 minutes. Then I put it in run and used it for 10 minutes, just to break it in and make sure the oil was well spread throughout the machine. I then went and mowed my entire yard. Came back to restart the unit and it took almost 15 minutes of pulling and it wouldn't stay started even on full choke (stalled instantly on half choke or run). Finally got it running and ran it for another 10 minutes, hoping it was just a fluke. But had the same starting experience the following afternoon.
So the good news is that Home Depot took the return without hesitation.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Glendale, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So far so good

PostedOctober 28, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Assembly was easy. Using regular gas is great. For me, start up has been easy the half dozen days I've used it. (But then I am used to an old cranky generator.) I have had no problems with the engine so far. I start it, I run it at full speed, off - on, choke - run, repeat multiple times during a job, no problems so far. But it is a gasoline engine. I can see how if it stored in a certain position, fluids may back up or leak into unwanted areas causing malfunction. I store mine relatively horizontal, so far - no problems.
I do beat up on the 0.095 inch line quite a bit. I wish it lasted longer. But overall I like it. I'll keep my fingers crossed.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Fallston, MD, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

lots of power

PostedJuly 22, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
At first I was a little concerned about the low end power of the four stroke engine. But after using it WOW, much more power than the 2 stroke trimmers I've had. As stated in the other reviews, the gas tank is small and you can not edge with this trimmer due to carb. flooding (can be corrected by purchasing the edger attachment). But other than that It is easy to start cold or warm, the power head works great with the tiller attachment, and no more mixing of gas and oil!
Pros: Easy to Use, Powerful, Great Engine
Cons: small gas tank
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Syracuse, NY

Great Trimmer for the money...negative reviews may be user error

PostedJune 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My previous trimmer was a 2cycle Ryobi that lasted over 10 years. (Let me also preface this review by saying that I am by no means a mechanic.)
I bought this because it was a great value at $179, so for under $200 I got a 4cycle trimmer.
I have owned this trimmer since June 2011, now 1 year old. It has never been trouble starting, never leaked oil or any of the other issues described here by other people claiming that they purchased the the S430.
Here is what I have found with the trimmer:
It didn't seem to have the same torque as my old 2cycle but for good reason, when I replaced the trimmer line I discovered that somehow I had collected pieces of pantyhose around the spool shaft along with long strands of vegetation. After removing the jam, the machine was not lacking torque.
Replacing the line was difficult when using high performance .095 line because the shape is triangular. I switched to the single line attachment. (The manual is poorly written on how to re-spool the line and is very small print and I have great eyesight)
Starting is easy, I press the fuel priming bulb until I see fuel bubbling and no more, then I set the choke to full, pull once and then set to half and the unit usually starts on the second or third pull. Once it starts, I hold the throttle on full for 5-10 seconds, let off the throttle and switch to on position. I always run the machine out of fuel, never once do I put the machine away with fuel in it. Also, I always check the oil level and the level remains constant.
When I run the machine, I DO NOT tip the machine, I run it with the throttle trigger pointing down, I have NEVER had oil leak from the unit, EVER. I do not rotate the engine, when I store the unit it is stored horizontally and out of fuel. I would recommend only adding enough fuel to complete your job.
During operation I only run the machine as high as it would require to do the job, there is no reason to run continuous full throttle, I suspect that this may be the reason some people are overheating their engines and causing shutdown.
Restarting a warm or hot engine, I typically re-set the choke to half choke and pull twice (I do not hit the primer bulb). If it doesn't start on the second pull, I remove the choke and set it to the on position, the unit usually starts on the next pull. I hold the throttle full for a couple seconds and then let off.
Improvements I would like to see on the unit:
Better written manual, the one that comes with the unit is terrible and poorly written and may be a big reason for so many problems.
Incorporate a shaft protector to prevent weeds and other objects from twisting around the line spool shaft causing the head to slow down or lock up. I will look at modifying my unit to prevent this in the future.
As for all the bad reviews, I suspect that a very large number of them are a result of user error or they have some sort of agenda as I have not experienced a single one of their problems, no smoke, no dripping oil, no hard starting, no engine seizures, no failed parts, no broken shafts, no quitting.
There are higher quality trimmers available (this is not a Stihl) BUT, if you want to spend under $200 for a respectable home trimmer, the Ryobi 4cycle will perform for you but you have to use some common sense. This is not a $400 unit and shouldn't be reviewed as such.
I also have several attachments, blower, edger and rototiller.
+25points
27out of 29found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 17 >>