728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

With a 4-cycle engine, the Ryobi 18 in. 30 cc Gas Trimmer offers the convenience of not having to mix gas or oil for start-up. The trimmer provides powerful operation in a lightweight, low-emission, anti-vibration and low-noise design. The trimmer shaft offers an optimal reach and helps you trim under obstacles. Ryobi 4-cycle trimmers are the lightest 4-cycle trimmers on the market and come with a best-in-class, three-year warranty.
Overall rating:
2.539 / 5
2.5
 / 
5
(349 reviews) 349
Open Ratings Snapshot
40%of customersrecommend this product137 of 341reviews
Rating Breakdown 349 reviews
2.5 out of 5
5
(85)
4
(50)
3
(12)
2
(23)
1
(179)
Features 
3.4 out of 5
3.4 out of 5
Quality 
2.7 out of 5
2.7 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.7 out of 5
2.7 out of 5
40%of customersrecommend this product137 of 341reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer reviews for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
Review 1 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Tallahassee
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't be misled into buying this poorly designed product

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product has many features that are attractive:
1- 4-cycle, so no mixing of gas and oil
2 - lots of attachments making this a versitle piece of equipment.
3 - Ryobi brand has a solid track record of producing good equipment at reasonable prices.
Unfortunately, these good features are outweighed by some severe drawbacks.
1 - Storing the unit in any position other than horizontal is likely to result in the loss of oil from the crankcase.
2 - The valves MUST be adjusted every 25 hours of use. If you are using multiple attachments and have a yard larger than a postage stamp, that's at least twice per season.
3 - Poor quality engine internal parts - specifically, the camshaft is made of plastic. In an air-cooled engine, plastic cannot withstand normal operating temperatures that are achieved on a 90 degree day.
4 - For people who are used to using a 2-cycle Ryobi, the head spins backwards requiring a change to your technique or busted shins.
5 - It is heavier than the 2-cycle models.
I purchased one as a replacement for a 2-cycle that I had owned for over 10 years. This first 4-cycle purchase was used according to the owner's manual. It rapidly lost power the first time it was used. I know the oil was at the proper level when I started it the first time. It was used as one would expect to use a weed-eater.
I returned the unit and obtained a replacement. It worked well for a few months, but power began to diminish and it became difficult to start and to keep it running. When I removed the valve cover to adjust the valves, it was clear that the plastic camshaft was severely worn and required replacement - but why go to that trouble? Plastic is not an appropriate material for a camshaft! A major Japanese manufacturer had similar problems with their vertical shaft engines on pressure washers - don't skimp on the camshaft!
A number of people have marked reviews that are critical of this equipment as unhelpful. Others have blamed the problems that were experienced on the owners. Nonsense. As an engineer, I am qualified to state that the original design of this engine was poor and guaranteed its failure. Unless Ryobi has changed the camshaft material (that's possible), then I cannot recommend this device and I know from my own experience that its failure had absolutely nothing to do with the user or the conditions under which it was used. The overwhelming majority of people who rated this device rated it poorly. If it worked for you, consider yourself fortunate. If you haven't purchased one - ask to see the valve adjustment procedure first - and look at the camshaft. If it is still plastic, run.
I've attached a photo of the offending camshaft. The exhaust lobe is clearly the culprit. The intake lobe is perfect. If this were the result of oil starvation, similar damage would have occurred to both lobes. I believe that this is the result of exhaust heat being transferred via the exhaust valve and rocker arm directly to the plastic lobe resulting in softening, malformation and failure.
Pros: All In One
Cons: Not Durable, poor engine quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+162points
180out of 198found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

Very poor power

PostedMarch 21, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased two years ago and new right off the bat it wasn't very powerful. Would bogg down. Now oil poors constantly out of the air filter when I turn it side ways to edge.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Buda, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

JUNK JUNK JUNK JUNK JUNK JUNK JUNK

PostedApril 22, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had this unit for about three years, within the first 6 months I had to take it to a service shop which they gave me a whole new one. I asked them their opinion and they said they would not even take a free one. I understand now, I only used ethanol free fuel, changed spark plugs several times, and still had a ridiculous time getting it to run. !!!!!!!!!!! DO NOT BUY !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable, junk
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

Plastic Can Shaft

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After two seasons, trimmer stopped running. Gave it a full clean out and tune up with new plug....still wouldn't start. Took it apart and noticed it has a PLASTIC Camshaft! The exhaust side rocker was melted and spun down. Research revealed you cannot purchase this part alone and have to buy the entire short block, which is over half the price of the trimmer. Because the trimmer head on mine is in rough shape too, I'm going to junk it. What a waste, all that money only to be thwarted by a cheap piece of plastic inside the engine. I'll never purchase another Ryobi product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Works well for me!

PostedMay 7, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After sitting in the shed during one of the coldest winters and forgetting to empty the gas out, I dump what was in there and refilled it with fresh fuel.
Started with the second pull without pumping the bulb.
The string is a joy to refill compared to others I have own. And never have had a problem with it spooling out.
I wish the attachments were cheaper. Could almost buy separate tools for the same price.
Last trimmer I has was a Ryobi 2 cycle that was somewhere between bad and terrible. Mostly because of the carburetor. Unrepairable, adjustable, you could only replace it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Colorado Springs, CO
Age Range:17 or under
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Pretty good for the money

PostedMay 16, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
So I bought this trimmer last year, and I read the reviews, and they didn't look to good. I bought it anyways. So I guess the early versions of the trimmer with the letters x430 or something, had plastic camshaft, and they melted after hard use. But mine is the newer s430 with I think a metal one now. The thing is a little hard to start due to high compression, but I can deal with it. It still start second pull cold or hot. ENGINE IS EXTREMELY POWERFUL. WILL CUT THROUGH ALMOST ANYTHING
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine
Cons: Too Heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Roanoke, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Initial quality is fantastic!

PostedApril 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've just purchased and used once, but even with the short run time you can definitely feel the quality.
Easy to assemble and start:
From the time I cut the tape on the box to run time was under 5 minutes. After filling with the provided oil, some gas and priming, it started on the 3rd pull. It ran without dieing until it was fully warm and could set the choke to the run position. Easily restarted with a single pull.
Quiet:
So much quieter than the Ryobi 2 cycle it's replacing. I could easily hear someone talking to me from across the yard without having to shout back. My old trimmer would leave my ears ringing.
Powerful:
Idles at a low RPM and just a small touch of the throttle gives a big jump in power. The throttle has about an inch and a half of travel. I probably used a quarter to a half tops including when I used my edger attachment with a 8 inch steel blade cutting through sod at the edge of the curb.
Quality:
The straight shaft it came with is solid. Feeds line easily without having to pound it to death on the ground. The forward handle attached firmly and doesn't turn or slip on the shaft. It's wrapped in a very comfy rubber for easy gripping and low fatigue.
Hopefully this holds up well. It seems to be quality made and should last with proper care.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Near Honea Path, SC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love the 4 cycle engine

PostedMay 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I love not having to mix the oil and gas. The engine is strong and runs well. While the balance could be a little better the trimmer does a good job. I would recommend it.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Great Engine
Cons: not balanced good
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Vernon, TX
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Be Sure To Get The Extended Warranty

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After two uses and while in the shed it got knocked over and now it's acting like the engine is locked up... always a Easy start... great handling... I would recommend... Just be sure to keep it up right and secure... i allowed the product to sit for a week before attempting to restart and that's when it was locked up on me... I'll be returning the product for an exchange...
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Illinois

Worst purchase ever - Extremely low quality

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased in 2014, used 1 time no issues - the next time I went to use it I couldn't pull the cord - took it back to Home depot - got a new one. Replaced worked 1 on time tried using it for the first time in 2015 and the same thing. Can't pull the cord. Quality leaves something to be desired.
Cons: Not Durable, no quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

Impressed with it

PostedApril 29, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I can say I was not actually comfortable buying another item from this maker, however I listened to a friend who has one and "yep, I like it". Followed the very simple start up instructions, less than 5 minutes from out of the box to start up. More comfortable than the 2 stroke, less noise, and plenty of power. It could use a little more balancing but hey we are talking about a tool here, not everything is perfect.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from High Point NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product

PostedMay 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
So far so good. Cranked on the second pull out of the box. I'm very satisfied and have no regrets on the purchase. I recommend.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

DO NOT BUY!!!

PostedJune 14, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased this trimmer 3 years ago for use around the home. Very little power/speed, got hung up on things constantly. Mid-way through the season it started randomly shutting off while i was trimming, and by the end of the season it had stopped working all together. I have since purchased a STIHL- FS 56 RC-E and can honestly say i will never buy any other brand. It was only $50 more than this ryobi and it powers thru everything, never shuts off or gets hung up, and came with a shoulder strap, safety glasses and a 4 year warranty to boot. Spend the extra money and get the STIHL.
Cons: Not Durable, very poor quality
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Vermont
Age Range:45 to 54
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Little unit

PostedApril 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I Have been looking for a trimmer for a while and decided to go with 4 Cycle tired of mixing gas .Tried this out and was amazed how easily it was to start ,had many others (2cyl) that always started hard . My wife started gardening so I purchased the tiller attachment. Wow! surprised how much soil it can till.great for small garden beds . Its been 3 years now , nice little machine .
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Powerful, Great Engine, Mulches Well
Cons: little noisy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Portland, OR
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GREAT TRIMMER...FOLLOW THE INSTRUCTIONS!!! Steel Camshaft!

PostedJune 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
OK, so I read all the reviews, including the bad ones, and I thought, this sounds like people are not reading the instructions. And that's got to be it. I followed the instructions (which I thought were very clear and concise), assembled the unit, followed the starting instructions and it started on the second pull. I think it would have started on the first pull if I had pulled hard enough, but I needed to get a feel for it first. It starts every time on the first or second pull.
I ran it for a little more than an hour (about 1&1/2 tanks of fuel) cutting through some verh high grass, weeds and scotch broom. I really wanted to see if it would do it without purchasing the brush cutter head...and it DID! I stalled it once when too much stuff got wrapped around the head, but otherwise it ran great with LOTS of power.
If you read all the way through the instructions, you'll see that they give you the procedure to go through to adjust the valves (recommeneded every 25 hours and quite simple) so I took it apart because I wanted to see the camshaft myself. Mine is steel. I tried a magnet on it and it stuck. What about the plastic ones noted by several reviewers? The only thing I can think of is that Ryobi might have these made in different parts of the world, and they somehow got away with some plastic camshafts. Mine is made in China and it's definitely steel.
Pull cord wont pull? I bet you stored this unit (even for an hour) with the motor hanging down and the shaft up (you'll notice that they don't store them that way in the store!). If that's the case (the instructions clearly state NOT to do this) you just filled the cylinder up with oil from the crankcase and you got a hydraulic lock. Just let the unit sit level on its feet for a while to get the oil to drain back into the sump and it will start. It will probably smoke for a while till it clears.
Smoking motor? I bet you either put too much oil in the sump (you only need to put in what they give you), OR you tilted the unit too far while it was running. If you're used to a 2-stroke trimmer, you can get away with doing that for a few seconds, but with a 4-stroke you won't. They're not designed to do that. And it does use 20W50 motor oil, so you should buy some and keep it on hand because I'm sure that since this is an air-cooled engine, it's going to use some oil on a regular basis.
Won't start after storing? I'll bet you're not using any kind of gas preservative. Let's face it, our gas has lots of Ethanol in it which attracts water and causes the gas to break down. I use Sta-Bil in my gas can all year long and I've never had clogged carb problems with any of my small gas engines. If you want your small engines to run well, use a little octane booster as well. This helps keep the ratio of gas-ethanol under control and helps eliminate the gas breakdown into the gums that clog carb jets, etc. The good news is that you don't need a separate gas can to mix oil in! YESSS!!
My only Con for this unit would be that they should put a cover over the head joint where the gearbox and the spinning trimmer head come together. Although this joint has a fairly small clearance, it's not small enough to stop fine grass from getting wrapped around it. It's not a big deal, but I had to stop and clean it regularly...probably because the stuff I was trimming was so tough and long (up to 3 feet!). There is perfect flange just above the joint, and I'm going to try installing a hose clamp on it to cover the joint and see if that helps.
I don't think you can go wrong with this unit IF YOU READ AND FOLLOW THE INSTRUCTIONS!! I'm very pleased with mine...in case you can't tell.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, no oil and gas to mix!
Cons: trimmer head clogging
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Madison, WI, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Multifunction Tool, But Not Recommended For Just Trimming

PostedMay 30, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Works well, nice that it can become a 'multitool' but for those that just want a weed trimmer probably not the best.
Pluses, minuses:
+ Feels like the motor is the right amount of power for the job
+ Easy to start up and use
- Unbalanced, feels like you are fighting to hold it properly
- "Weed guard" at the base doesn't cover as much as it could so weed bits fly up and hit you as you work
- Doesn't feel like it was designed for right-handed people as the controls for the motor seem to be in weird places
Pros: Cuts Well, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Light Weight
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Detroit
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

RYOBI 4 STROKE STRING TRIMMER

PostedApril 27, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
My Ryobi 2 Stroke Trimmer quit after about 10 years of pretty good service.
Wanted another Ryobi so I could continue using the attachments I've collected.
The fact it can be used for these multiple tasks probably is better for it than sitting so much.
I'll probably have the old unit repaired and keep it at the cottage for spot duty up there.
Saw the 4 Stroke, liked the idea, floor model felt good in my hands, took a flyer on it.
The bigger motor size and better torque capability swung the decision that way.
Got home and assembled the unit, went to start it and the motor was seized, thinking this was a fluke - I went back to HD for a "Do Over" and got another unit. If the second one was a dud I'd have bailed on it. The second one assembled and powered up perfectly.
Used it quite heavily over the weekend getting the yard together for the spring. 4 Stroke motor idles nicely between bursts of work - none of the revving that's usually needed to keep a 2 Stroke happy.
I admit I was pleasantly surprised with the Torque!
It did a great job running the Trimmer, Edger, Extendable Chain Saw, and the Hedge Trimmer attachments. All the power I needed.
You should plan to store it flat as it's a 4 stroke motor and the oil will leave the crank case if you don't.
I've always made a practice of adding Sta-Bil to my outdoor power equipment gas cans.
I'll dump unused gas back into the can and run it dry whenever storing it for any length of time.
I kept the little 2.2 OZ oil bottle that came with the unit for measuring out the next 20W-50 oil change.
I'll be watching the oil consumption very closely, and changing the oil out regularly - just to stack the deck my way a little bit more.
Decided to read the reviews... After the Fact, of course.
Was alarmed at the number of negative write ups!
These reviews tended to be at either end of the extremes - People thought it was Wonderful, or Junk...
It's Ryobi - so going in you should expect it to be a cheaper (residential) version of a contractor's tool.
If you're getting into the business you should get a Stihl or a Husquevarna!
I think it has performed as expected - maybe better, and I'm very pleased so far.
At the end of the day it's probably not as great and not as bad as these reviews show.
Only time will tell...
I'm glad I bought the extended warranty this time around.
I'll re-review this unit after I get a full season of use in with this tool.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Light Weight, no more 2 cycle mixing, quieter
Cons: reviews are scary
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Calgary, AB
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Read the manual fully.

PostedJuly 28, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This thing is really easy to over fill with oil which is where most of the problems are coming from. It specifically states to have the unit level on the ground and fill using a funnel. Then, while still laying on the ground check the level of the oil. Originally I filled it up too much and had problems like many here did. Oil flying out of odd places, tons of smoke, engine dying every 5 minutes and not wanting to start and lack lust performance. I emptied some oil out because I had filled it incorrectly and followed the manual to a T. Trimmer ran like a champ after that. 2 pull start, no more smoke, power like it advertised and never died the rest of the time I used it. Have yet to see about longevity on this particular unit but initial quality suggests it's decent for what you pay.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Powerful
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Louisiana, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Did last the year....

PostedAugust 7, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My 2 cycle trimmer died after years of service and wanted to purchase a 4cycle to replace it. The ryobi was a great price and looking like a good unit to me. The 1st day it was great. two weeks later i needed it again and it was hard to start. It remained hard to start for a few months until one day POP. While running the trimmer at idle walking through the yard the trimmer made a POP noise and lost all compression. No warranty past 90 days so i opened the case up. IT HAS PLASTIC GEARS... Trimmers get hot.. plastic weakens...then pop your trimmer blows up...
Cons: Not Durable
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from North Canton, OH

Read reviews and bought it anyways; bad decision

PostedMay 3, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I read the reviews but went to the store to consult with the department specialist: After I asked him about the return rate for this specific model, he confirmed that almost none of these every come back.
I liked the option of the 2 head types.
I like the power, sound, weight and balance of the unit when it ran.
I figured the unit would be hard to start the first time as it ships dry, without oil. Followed the instructions exactly, filled the oil, filled with fresh gas, primed, etc... So when it took 10 minutes and a whole lot of pulling to start it I wasn't surpised. For the first 5 minutes it wouldn't idle unless it was choked; it seemed to finally warm up and I was able to drop it down to half-choke after another 5 minutes. Then I put it in run and used it for 10 minutes, just to break it in and make sure the oil was well spread throughout the machine. I then went and mowed my entire yard. Came back to restart the unit and it took almost 15 minutes of pulling and it wouldn't stay started even on full choke (stalled instantly on half choke or run). Finally got it running and ran it for another 10 minutes, hoping it was just a fluke. But had the same starting experience the following afternoon.
So the good news is that Home Depot took the return without hesitation.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 17 >>