728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

With a 4-cycle engine, the Ryobi 18 in. 30 cc Gas Trimmer offers the convenience of not having to mix gas or oil for start-up. The trimmer provides powerful operation in a lightweight, low-emission, anti-vibration and low-noise design. The trimmer shaft offers an optimal reach and helps you trim under obstacles. Ryobi 4-cycle trimmers are the lightest 4-cycle trimmers on the market and come with a best-in-class, three-year warranty.
Overall rating:
2.418 / 5
2.4
 / 
5
(304 reviews) 304
Open Ratings Snapshot
37%of customersrecommend this product111 of 298reviews
Rating Breakdown 304 reviews
2.4 out of 5.0
5
(66)
4
(42)
3
(10)
2
(21)
1
(165)
Features 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
Quality 
2.5 out of 5.0
2.5 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.9 out of 5.0
2.9 out of 5
Value 
2.5 out of 5.0
2.5 out of 5
37%of customersrecommend this product111 of 298reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
Review 1 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Portland, OR
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GREAT TRIMMER...FOLLOW THE INSTRUCTIONS!!! Steel Camshaft!

PostedJune 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
OK, so I read all the reviews, including the bad ones, and I thought, this sounds like people are not reading the instructions. And that's got to be it. I followed the instructions (which I thought were very clear and concise), assembled the unit, followed the starting instructions and it started on the second pull. I think it would have started on the first pull if I had pulled hard enough, but I needed to get a feel for it first. It starts every time on the first or second pull.
I ran it for a little more than an hour (about 1&1/2 tanks of fuel) cutting through some verh high grass, weeds and scotch broom. I really wanted to see if it would do it without purchasing the brush cutter head...and it DID! I stalled it once when too much stuff got wrapped around the head, but otherwise it ran great with LOTS of power.
If you read all the way through the instructions, you'll see that they give you the procedure to go through to adjust the valves (recommeneded every 25 hours and quite simple) so I took it apart because I wanted to see the camshaft myself. Mine is steel. I tried a magnet on it and it stuck. What about the plastic ones noted by several reviewers? The only thing I can think of is that Ryobi might have these made in different parts of the world, and they somehow got away with some plastic camshafts. Mine is made in China and it's definitely steel.
Pull cord wont pull? I bet you stored this unit (even for an hour) with the motor hanging down and the shaft up (you'll notice that they don't store them that way in the store!). If that's the case (the instructions clearly state NOT to do this) you just filled the cylinder up with oil from the crankcase and you got a hydraulic lock. Just let the unit sit level on its feet for a while to get the oil to drain back into the sump and it will start. It will probably smoke for a while till it clears.
Smoking motor? I bet you either put too much oil in the sump (you only need to put in what they give you), OR you tilted the unit too far while it was running. If you're used to a 2-stroke trimmer, you can get away with doing that for a few seconds, but with a 4-stroke you won't. They're not designed to do that. And it does use 20W50 motor oil, so you should buy some and keep it on hand because I'm sure that since this is an air-cooled engine, it's going to use some oil on a regular basis.
Won't start after storing? I'll bet you're not using any kind of gas preservative. Let's face it, our gas has lots of Ethanol in it which attracts water and causes the gas to break down. I use Sta-Bil in my gas can all year long and I've never had clogged carb problems with any of my small gas engines. If you want your small engines to run well, use a little octane booster as well. This helps keep the ratio of gas-ethanol under control and helps eliminate the gas breakdown into the gums that clog carb jets, etc. The good news is that you don't need a separate gas can to mix oil in! YESSS!!
My only Con for this unit would be that they should put a cover over the head joint where the gearbox and the spinning trimmer head come together. Although this joint has a fairly small clearance, it's not small enough to stop fine grass from getting wrapped around it. It's not a big deal, but I had to stop and clean it regularly...probably because the stuff I was trimming was so tough and long (up to 3 feet!). There is perfect flange just above the joint, and I'm going to try installing a hose clamp on it to cover the joint and see if that helps.
I don't think you can go wrong with this unit IF YOU READ AND FOLLOW THE INSTRUCTIONS!! I'm very pleased with mine...in case you can't tell.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, no oil and gas to mix!
Cons: trimmer head clogging
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Tallahassee
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't be misled into buying this poorly designed product

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product has many features that are attractive:
1- 4-cycle, so no mixing of gas and oil
2 - lots of attachments making this a versitle piece of equipment.
3 - Ryobi brand has a solid track record of producing good equipment at reasonable prices.
Unfortunately, these good features are outweighed by some severe drawbacks.
1 - Storing the unit in any position other than horizontal is likely to result in the loss of oil from the crankcase.
2 - The valves MUST be adjusted every 25 hours of use. If you are using multiple attachments and have a yard larger than a postage stamp, that's at least twice per season.
3 - Poor quality engine internal parts - specifically, the camshaft is made of plastic. In an air-cooled engine, plastic cannot withstand normal operating temperatures that are achieved on a 90 degree day.
4 - For people who are used to using a 2-cycle Ryobi, the head spins backwards requiring a change to your technique or busted shins.
5 - It is heavier than the 2-cycle models.
I purchased one as a replacement for a 2-cycle that I had owned for over 10 years. This first 4-cycle purchase was used according to the owner's manual. It rapidly lost power the first time it was used. I know the oil was at the proper level when I started it the first time. It was used as one would expect to use a weed-eater.
I returned the unit and obtained a replacement. It worked well for a few months, but power began to diminish and it became difficult to start and to keep it running. When I removed the valve cover to adjust the valves, it was clear that the plastic camshaft was severely worn and required replacement - but why go to that trouble? Plastic is not an appropriate material for a camshaft! A major Japanese manufacturer had similar problems with their vertical shaft engines on pressure washers - don't skimp on the camshaft!
A number of people have marked reviews that are critical of this equipment as unhelpful. Others have blamed the problems that were experienced on the owners. Nonsense. As an engineer, I am qualified to state that the original design of this engine was poor and guaranteed its failure. Unless Ryobi has changed the camshaft material (that's possible), then I cannot recommend this device and I know from my own experience that its failure had absolutely nothing to do with the user or the conditions under which it was used. The overwhelming majority of people who rated this device rated it poorly. If it worked for you, consider yourself fortunate. If you haven't purchased one - ask to see the valve adjustment procedure first - and look at the camshaft. If it is still plastic, run.
I've attached a photo of the offending camshaft. The exhaust lobe is clearly the culprit. The intake lobe is perfect. If this were the result of oil starvation, similar damage would have occurred to both lobes. I believe that this is the result of exhaust heat being transferred via the exhaust valve and rocker arm directly to the plastic lobe resulting in softening, malformation and failure.
Pros: All In One
Cons: Not Durable, poor engine quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+153points
171out of 189found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Tacoma, WA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Junk!

PostedMay 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this piece of junk 2 summers ago. Worked the first summer I purchased it. After that I had a friend work on the engine because the string was stuck. Now this summer the gas and oil leak! DO NOT BUY!!
Cons: Not Durable, Leaks, doesn't last
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bad purchase

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this for my daughter last year because she just purchased a home. Was happy to see a 4 cycle motor head because I thought it would be less hassle for her. I always thought Ryobi has great products, but they really missed the mark on this one. Every time it is used it leaks oil everywhere creating a smokey, slick mess. I kept going back to the manual to see what was wrong. We had done everything correctly, but it will not hold oil. Now I hear that this is a problem with this model. I wish someone would have told me when I was looking at purchasing it at the store that they are junk. I will be getting her a 2 cycle. Expensive reminder to always check product reviews before buying.
Cons: dumps oil everywhere
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Valdosta, GA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ryobi 4 Cycle trimmer

PostedJune 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works great . Never buy anything else . Easy to crank and operate
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

DO NOT BUY!!!

PostedJune 14, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased this trimmer 3 years ago for use around the home. Very little power/speed, got hung up on things constantly. Mid-way through the season it started randomly shutting off while i was trimming, and by the end of the season it had stopped working all together. I have since purchased a STIHL- FS 56 RC-E and can honestly say i will never buy any other brand. It was only $50 more than this ryobi and it powers thru everything, never shuts off or gets hung up, and came with a shoulder strap, safety glasses and a 4 year warranty to boot. Spend the extra money and get the STIHL.
Cons: Not Durable, very poor quality
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from pooler. Ga.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Can I return this after using it

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I got this today since my 6 year 2 cycle was down. But I found that I only moved up to problems. My main one is the line feed. Out of the 2 hours of use I had to rewind it over 10 times. Plus you need to work on the engine every 25 HOURS. What you need to know how to do this also to trim your grass.
It's not wroth the price.
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Madison, WI, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Multifunction Tool, But Not Recommended For Just Trimming

PostedMay 30, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works well, nice that it can become a 'multitool' but for those that just want a weed trimmer probably not the best.
Pluses, minuses:
+ Feels like the motor is the right amount of power for the job
+ Easy to start up and use
- Unbalanced, feels like you are fighting to hold it properly
- "Weed guard" at the base doesn't cover as much as it could so weed bits fly up and hit you as you work
- Doesn't feel like it was designed for right-handed people as the controls for the motor seem to be in weird places
Pros: Cuts Well, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Light Weight
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Louisiana, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Did last the year....

PostedAugust 7, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My 2 cycle trimmer died after years of service and wanted to purchase a 4cycle to replace it. The ryobi was a great price and looking like a good unit to me. The 1st day it was great. two weeks later i needed it again and it was hard to start. It remained hard to start for a few months until one day POP. While running the trimmer at idle walking through the yard the trimmer made a POP noise and lost all compression. No warranty past 90 days so i opened the case up. IT HAS PLASTIC GEARS... Trimmers get hot.. plastic weakens...then pop your trimmer blows up...
Cons: Not Durable
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Wisconsin
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ryobi 4 Cycle Video Review

PostedJune 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this 4 cycle, straight shaft trimmer to help with our 2 acre yard. I've read the 4 cycles last longer and are easier to start. I made a video of me unboxing the product, assembling it and starting it. All VERY EASY. Quite a nice surprise. The trimmer has performed perfectly (waaaay better than previous 2 cycle models I've owned over the years) for the 2 weeks I've had it. Obviously I can't speak to longevity yet.
Simper to Assemble, EASY to start. Throaty purr to the motor. I'm quite happy. I've read other reviews and had some hesitation but as of now I love my new trimmer.
Only CON I can see is the weight, but we'll balance that better by moving the middle hand grip.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Powerful, Great Engine
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

DONT DO IT

PostedMay 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
DO NOT BUY THIS THING.
I used it for maybe 5 mins then it died, after I got it restarted the thing constantly died on me every single time.. after a hour I gave up and just returned it and went and bought a STIHL. I should have just done that to begin with
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Utah
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Poor Quality

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Used this trimmer three times. On third time of use the trimmer stopping running after four or five times or restarting it the unit was harder to restart. On the last time to unit would not start. Couldn't finish my yard.. Going to return it. Second item I bought with this brand name wont be a third.
Cons: Difficult to Use, sort life
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

I don't understand all the bad reviews

PostedMay 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Got this as a gift and was worried because of all the bad reviews. However, my unit works flawlessly and reliably for an hour or so of continuous use. I love the fact that it works with all different brands of attachments. Also love that it doesn't require any special oil fuel mixture. A few keys that I've always followed with my small engine equipment is to store them flat so fuel and oil don't leak or sit in odd locations that would gum the unit up. I also only use premium gasoline to ensure clean smooth operation. I love this powerful trimmer! It's been running strong for two years and started right up after a winter of storage.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Illinois
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Starts easy and runs well

PostedJuly 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This is my 4th trimmer I've ever owned. I followed the manufacturer's instructions before my first attempt to start it and have never had a problem starting it. I use it weekly and have had it for a couple of months now. I have never ran it out of gas. I'd buy it again.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Folsom, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Took it back twice

PostedMay 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Seemed like a good all-in-one option so we bought the base unit and the edger and hedge trimmer attachments. Brought it home and used all the first day. 1 week later, trimmer locked up and pull string won't budge. Figure I got a bad one as it started fine the 1st day, so return for exchange. Exchange starts and runs fine...until the next Sunday when it behaves the exact same as the 1st one. Pull cord is locked up and won't budge. Grab the base unit and all of the attachments and return. Cost me 2 tanks of gas for "use" of what is apparently a single use unit.
Pros: All In One
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable, Too Heavy, won't start
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

Great

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Yes I would recommend this just because of all the uses and it just takes gas.
Pros: Cuts Well, Good Size & Weight, Great Engine, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Ashburn, VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

$ave your money

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this trimmer because it required standard gasoline, not the mixed stuff. After only 18 months, it has completely stopped working. I have cleaned out the spark plug, flushed the gas line and still, it won't come on. Regrettably, Home Depot does not give me the option to weigh in at less than one star. Save your money and frustration and buy anything but Ryobi.
Pros: this product will keep landfill employees employed
Cons: stops working after 18 months over limited use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Portland, Oregon
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Unlike all my Ryobi shop tools - this is awful (again)

PostedMay 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have many Ryobi shop tools some corded some rechargeable. All great value and operation. My first Ryobi string trimmer was an equally bad experience, It was an old 2 stroke in the early 2000's. It worked for about a year with very irritating and intermitant reliability. I threw it away and replaced it with a 4 stroke 30cc Cub Cadet also from HD at the recommendation of the HD crew member who told me about the challenges of 2 stroke engines and fuel mixtures, etc. (all true) The Cub Cadet worked very well for over 10 years. It was a great product until it needed service. The fact is: no one really wants to work on these very small engines. They are difficult to get parts for in many cases, and the cost of the repair can generally be more than have the cost of a replacement unit. The Cub Cadet's failure was a predicament for me. Over the years I had purchased 4 of the available Expand-IT attachments (which I really like) and wanted to buy a fifth (pole trimmer) to use at a new yard with lots of 30 year old shrubs. The only 4 stroke string trimmer in stock at the HD near me was the Ryobi. After some encouragement from the crew member about other customers reports about the 4-stroke Ryobi - I overlooked my past experience and bought the powerhead and took it home. It started beautifully and worked very well for about an hour. Once it stopped, it stopped. I thought, it may be running hot, as they do and it may be best to let it cool down. The next day I tried to start it with it's choke set and primed properly. One attempt at a pull - the ripcord would not release. I re-read the manual. It is not helpful at dealing with this issue. I went to the internet and did what I should have done more carefully before purchase - checked others experience with the unit. As it appears, the failure I experienced is not atypical of this unit. In fact, on many garden sites as well as competitive home solution sites, this is a very common report. True, people report more poor quality than good quality in most cases. True also that if you look for recommendations for a high quality reliable string trimmer - you can literally spend days researching only to learn that most are made by one of three manufactures who have merged over the years or, in other cases, simply OEM their product from one of these three anyway. Moreover, everyone will shred the low to mid cost string trimmers, except for the publications who get advertising $ from these same companies or have only short term initial experience reviews. I do want to continue to use and grow my Expand-IT attachments. I would happily spend money on a string trimmer that would lose 100% of its value over a few years of use. That's why I can't fault the 4 stoke Cub Cadet. It failed but I got tons of use out of it and homestly, did not care for it in the way that I now know these small engines must be cared for (fuel mixture 2 stroke models or gas 4-stroke which also have requirements for the best blend of gas, air filter, and other items not generally learned until they need repair/replacement) I'm thinking about another Cub Cadet - but there are just as many awful reviews of their current 4 stroke model. I'm tempted to buy the absolute cheapest Expand-IT capable power head I can find during the Memorial Day sales - but also go to a used Lawn Mower & Tool repair shop and buy something with a higher duty cycle that's been rebuilt. It may be slightly more expensive to go this route but like I said, I don't mind spending a few hundred dollars on something that works well - I'm just not certain any of these home use low cost small engine trimmers are expected to last more than a season. Built in obsolesence is probably part of the business model.
Pros: Powerful, Cuts Well, All In One, Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable, unreliable, inconsistant
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Wylie, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Skip it

PostedJuly 13, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was lured in by the siren song of not needing to deal with mixing oil and gas again. The trimmer worked great initially. It started easily and was relatively quiet. Around a month in is when the problems started. It started misfiring with the choke in the run position and eventually would just suddenly stall. It ran fine with the choke in the partial position. After another week or two, the misfiring and stalling also started happening in the partial choke position. Naturally, Home Depots return period for gas powered items is only 30 days, which means I'm stuck with it now.
When searching the internet for the problems, I found that lots of people had similar issues. Some posts from a few years ago about the same trimmer mentioned that all the trimmer needed was some adjusting of the carburetor and it'd run perfectly after that. Back then, Ryobi put an adjustable carburetor on these units. Unfortunately, Ryobi has changed to a nonadjustable carburetor now. The problems I'm having are generally symptoms of running too lean, something that would be easy to fix... If the carburetor was still adjustable.
This experience has shown me that 2 cycle is the way to go for trimmers. If you really must go with a 4 cycle, then at least avoid these Ryobis at all cost.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Lafayette, CO

Great little machine

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My father in law recommended I get a 4 cycle trimmer. I love not mixing gas and it has enough power to do everything I need. I was a little disappointed with the plastic line that comes in the machine, so you should look into getting some replacement line pretty quick. I got some square line (the edges make it last longer and cut better.
One thing I will say is that the "EZ Reel" isn't so easy at first, but if you push through the learning curve, you'll really like it in the end.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 15 >>