728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

This gas trimmer is lightweight, produces low levels of noise and emissions and has minimal vibration for user comfort. The shaft has a long reach that lets you access difficult areas. It comes with a three-year warranty.
Overall rating:
2.556 / 5
2.6
 / 
5
(378 reviews) 378
Open Ratings Snapshot
40%of customersrecommend this product149 of 369reviews
Rating Breakdown 378 reviews
2.6 out of 5
5
(95)
4
(53)
3
(12)
2
(25)
1
(193)
Features 
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5
Quality 
2.7 out of 5
2.7 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.7 out of 5
2.7 out of 5
40%of customersrecommend this product149 of 369reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 31 Answers
Customer reviews for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
Review 1 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Needham, MA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't buy this, it doesn't last very long.

PostedJune 5, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
You know, from the styling, weight., ease of use and options you can get for this, it would seem like a good deal, it certainly did for me at the time. I purchased all the add-ons, used most of them each year for the last 3 years. But deep inside that little engine that wants to be a big engine, is a piece of plastic camshaft that is spinning away and melting up each the time you turn it on So guess what, after 3 yeas mine eventually melted. It took me a few hours to figure out the problem of why it wouldn't start, first I thought it was the gas, then the carb, then eventually, I opened the rocker cover. And guess what, it was melted away, and then after I spent another 2 hours in disbelief looking on the net for parts, I discovered to my disappointment that there are no replacement parts anywhere to be found. You can buy just about every other part for this trimmer except the burned out cam. So, for this guys, you get one star from me. Mechanical equipment is supposed to be serviceable and parts available for at least 8 -10 years.
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Jacksonville Fl.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Chinese DooDoo

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this because of it being 4 cycle. no more mixing gas! it didn't last long ! I had to replace the fuel lines spark plug and bubble, { I figured because of using ethanol additive in gas}, another sore subject.. it worked awhile... then it quit again!! I opened it up and it has a plastic cam shaft! its DooDoo, it melted, and Ryobi pretty much said oh well! don't buy it! it wont last
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Tallahassee
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't be misled into buying this poorly designed product

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product has many features that are attractive:
1- 4-cycle, so no mixing of gas and oil
2 - lots of attachments making this a versitle piece of equipment.
3 - Ryobi brand has a solid track record of producing good equipment at reasonable prices.
Unfortunately, these good features are outweighed by some severe drawbacks.
1 - Storing the unit in any position other than horizontal is likely to result in the loss of oil from the crankcase.
2 - The valves MUST be adjusted every 25 hours of use. If you are using multiple attachments and have a yard larger than a postage stamp, that's at least twice per season.
3 - Poor quality engine internal parts - specifically, the camshaft is made of plastic. In an air-cooled engine, plastic cannot withstand normal operating temperatures that are achieved on a 90 degree day.
4 - For people who are used to using a 2-cycle Ryobi, the head spins backwards requiring a change to your technique or busted shins.
5 - It is heavier than the 2-cycle models.
I purchased one as a replacement for a 2-cycle that I had owned for over 10 years. This first 4-cycle purchase was used according to the owner's manual. It rapidly lost power the first time it was used. I know the oil was at the proper level when I started it the first time. It was used as one would expect to use a weed-eater.
I returned the unit and obtained a replacement. It worked well for a few months, but power began to diminish and it became difficult to start and to keep it running. When I removed the valve cover to adjust the valves, it was clear that the plastic camshaft was severely worn and required replacement - but why go to that trouble? Plastic is not an appropriate material for a camshaft! A major Japanese manufacturer had similar problems with their vertical shaft engines on pressure washers - don't skimp on the camshaft!
A number of people have marked reviews that are critical of this equipment as unhelpful. Others have blamed the problems that were experienced on the owners. Nonsense. As an engineer, I am qualified to state that the original design of this engine was poor and guaranteed its failure. Unless Ryobi has changed the camshaft material (that's possible), then I cannot recommend this device and I know from my own experience that its failure had absolutely nothing to do with the user or the conditions under which it was used. The overwhelming majority of people who rated this device rated it poorly. If it worked for you, consider yourself fortunate. If you haven't purchased one - ask to see the valve adjustment procedure first - and look at the camshaft. If it is still plastic, run.
I've attached a photo of the offending camshaft. The exhaust lobe is clearly the culprit. The intake lobe is perfect. If this were the result of oil starvation, similar damage would have occurred to both lobes. I believe that this is the result of exhaust heat being transferred via the exhaust valve and rocker arm directly to the plastic lobe resulting in softening, malformation and failure.
Pros: All In One
Cons: Not Durable, poor engine quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+164points
182out of 200found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Nashua, NH

Worthless. Garbage.

PostedJuly 4, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This unit is HIGHLY susceptible to hydraulic lock, which means that the motor will lock-up (after the unit has been sitting idle in a garage), not letting you pull the cord, or start it. After returning 2 units (each after using just ONE time) - I learned that this unit must be stored in a HORIZONTAL position to avoid this from happening. Since I don't have the room in my garage to store it like this - without re-laying-out storage for every other broom, shovel, rake, etc. which I already have stored VERTICALLY in my garage - this is a non-starter for me (no pun intended).
The other big issue is that if you run the unit with the engine turned (or upside down) as I sometimes do during edging - it will burn oil and smoke like CRAZY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Ooltewah TN
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Short life

PostedJune 8, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Worked well for most of the first season, but half way through the second it would not take full throttle and finally stalled out and couldn't be restarted. Authorized service center "fixed" it, but still would not run at full throttle. Third season it ran poorly for about two minutes then quit. This time the service center tried but failed to get it running again. Went out and bought a Husqvarna so at least the Ryobi attachments could still be used. That comes to over $100 cost per season! Shame as I liked how it worked when it first came out of the box. Nice weight and balance, good power and did the job quickly. Just didn't work long enough.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: short life
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Akron, Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Had issues from the beginning and only lasted 3 years

PostedJuly 27, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This trimmer was always always difficult to start and would take about 5 minutes to warm up before I could actually do any trimming. After it was warm though it worked fine. After 3 years it started leaking oil and would completely drain the oil in about 2 hours after filling it. I could probably replace a gasket to get it working again but it isn't really worth the effort considering the issues I have always had with it.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

Stalls and lack of power

PostedJuly 17, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this to replace the Troy-bilt I had for 7 years without issue until it died. This unit will not run or stay running when using it in other than a downward angle. Uv had this unit for a year now. Most of the time I have to run it at half choke for it to stay running and even then it sputters. The choke on the unit positioned do that it is easy to hit it with your arm while using the unit. I am in the process of researching a new one. This is the second Ryobi product the has been junk, the other was a blower
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from California
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Maintenance instructions

PostedJuly 29, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ryobi Powerhead Fix's
1. If it looks like engine is dead check the small screen in the muffler since it seems to clog up. Replace yearly
2. Engine only takes 2.2oz of oil no more. Check ever 5 hours of runtime.
Use 20W50.
How to check the oil level: take off any attachment, and adjust the end of the straight shaft so that it is level side-to-side. Remove the oilstick, wipe clean, and reinsert it, remove the stick and read. It should be at the bottom of the hatch to 1/2 up the hatchmarks, not more.
3. Only use ethanol free fuel. You can get this from a marina or a local power equipment store.
4. You will need to replace the plug periodically. It is a Champion RY4C (CHA 978) you can order it from a NAPA store.
5. Never run the unit on its side. Rotate the attachemnt.
6. If it is wanting to die while idling then turn the idle scew one or two turns to increase the idle rpms.
More idle adjustment instructions: There are 2 screws in the front of the carb looking from the front the left is low speed the right is high. At idle adjust the low speed till it runs the fastest and back off 1/4 turn. If it does not want to speed up try adjusting the high speed when you pull the trigger usually clock wise hold trigger full open while doing this and do it slowly until it runs as fast as it can and back off 1/4 turn.
7. Start the unit with it laying flat
8. Store the unit laying flat or hanging with the head up.
9. Run the unit dry before storing for extended abmounts of time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

Very poor power

PostedMarch 21, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased two years ago and new right off the bat it wasn't very powerful. Would bogg down. Now oil poors constantly out of the air filter when I turn it side ways to edge.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Holly Springs
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Seems to be an excellent purchase so far.

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This trimmer is working flawlessly so far. The only improvement I would like to see is that when starting it can be a beast dealing with the engine compression when pulling the starting rope. Not sure how this could be improved as compression is a necessary component of engine function.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

DO NOT BUY!!!

PostedJune 14, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased this trimmer 3 years ago for use around the home. Very little power/speed, got hung up on things constantly. Mid-way through the season it started randomly shutting off while i was trimming, and by the end of the season it had stopped working all together. I have since purchased a STIHL- FS 56 RC-E and can honestly say i will never buy any other brand. It was only $50 more than this ryobi and it powers thru everything, never shuts off or gets hung up, and came with a shoulder strap, safety glasses and a 4 year warranty to boot. Spend the extra money and get the STIHL.
Cons: Not Durable, very poor quality
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

Best Piece of Garbage Ever!

PostedJune 22, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this a month ago. Used as a weed wacker just fine until the string ran out. They guy in the Home Depot store sold me a new HEAD without any string. Oh well. Also got the chainsaw attachment. It worked ok until the chain came off...about 5 minutes. Re-assembled and the chain was bent at one link. Ordered new chain from OEM. Old stock number obsolete. Finally got a new chain in the mail. Worked well until chain went dull...about 10 minutes of juniper bush cutting. Got a chain sharpener and sharpened the chain and voila it cuts great. Oh, there is this one thing...trying to start it. It does OK after about 15-20 pulls and starts when cold. After running it for 10 minutes, it will NOT restart. I have yanked and yanked on this piece of junk for more time than it actually worked. I hope Home Despot will allow the return.
Cons: Not Durable, Too Heavy, won't start.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Marietta georgia

Terrible trimmer

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not only will it not start, Home Depot doesn't carry the spark plug. They do for the 2cycle but not the 4.
Cons: hd doesn't have the parts
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

worst purchase ever

PostedJuly 5, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
every time I want to start it it is a chore. I use ethnol free gas and it still is terrible. I am not a weed trimmer mechanic. just need it to start when I am ready to use it.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from North Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

All the power you need

PostedJuly 1, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
With 30 cc it has all the power you need. Read the instructions and it starts and runs flawlessly. Easily switch between attachments and again power to spare to run them. Base unit is a little pricey, attachments are priced about right though. I will recommend to my friends and co-workers.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Store
Cons: pricey
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Denver, CO.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

NOT FOR HIGH ALTITUDE UNLESS - - -

PostedJune 21, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this unit with great anticipation in spite of all the poor reviews. When I opened the instructions there was a manufacture's warning not to use it at over 2000 ft altitude unless appropriate adjustments are made at a service center. Denver is the mile high city so this trimmer shouldn't be sold here. I did not feel like looking for a service center so put it back in the box unused, returned it to Home Depot and went down the street to a Stihl dealer. No such nonsense with Stihl trimmers.
I really like Ryobi tools and have several in my shop but I understand why the ratings on this equipment is so low what with altitude and fuel restrictions. If a consumer does not pay strict attention to manufacturer warnings the equipment won't last or perform well. I think the features offered for the price are excellent but quality is lacking.
Cons: not set for high altitude
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Scio, Oregon
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Gas trimmer

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We needed a new weed wacker and this product was a perfect fit for us. It was in range of our budget and easy to use.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Alpharetta, GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worst Product ever

PostedJune 15, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I myself have never written a review on any product I have purchased at any store. This product has been the worst experience with a Ryobi product. I have returned it two times to Home depot because the string on the pull start would lock up and not respond, and their rental department informed me it must be defective. This has happened a total of three times now and I have given up returning it an just bought a cheap plug in trimmer
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Madison, WI, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Multifunction Tool, But Not Recommended For Just Trimming

PostedMay 30, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Works well, nice that it can become a 'multitool' but for those that just want a weed trimmer probably not the best.
Pluses, minuses:
+ Feels like the motor is the right amount of power for the job
+ Easy to start up and use
- Unbalanced, feels like you are fighting to hold it properly
- "Weed guard" at the base doesn't cover as much as it could so weed bits fly up and hit you as you work
- Doesn't feel like it was designed for right-handed people as the controls for the motor seem to be in weird places
Pros: Cuts Well, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Light Weight
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Tooele, Utah
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

One of the worst purchases I've ever made.

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am a huge fan/owner of Ryobi power tools. The only reason I was in the market for a new trimmer is I gave my parents my long shaft 2 cycle as I didn't think I would ever need one again. I found myself having to clear a lot with waist high grass and headed to Home Depot for a trimmer. Since the '80s I've probably owned a half dozen or more gas trimmers. I chose this because it is a Ryobi and it is 4 cycle. I followed the directions for assembly and start up and it cranked on the 3rd pull and ran fine. No issues there. I have several issues with the quality of the product. You have to really tighten the lower shaft to keep it from rotating. It isn't possible to tighten the handle enough to keep it from moving. It also should come with a shoulder strap. Unlike every other gas trimmer I've owned/used this thing can't be operated in any orientation without stalling and that's a hassle. However, the reason I stopped trying to clear the weeds and got online to write this review was to keep from throwing it into the street and driving over it until no one would attempt resurrection. I am so beyond fed up with the way grass gets wrapped around the trimmer head where it joins the angled drive from the shaft. I've used trimmers for 35 years and NEVER had the issue with grass getting wrapped like this "thing" does. A helicopter requires 5 hours of maintenance for every hour of flight. I figure that's about my average for having to stop and remove the grass. I spent the full $200 on this and I think that was at least $150 too much and the only reason for the $50 is that I could buy one of the other attachments if I was desperate. I wouldn't give this away or even sell it to an enemy; I'm just not that cruel. If this was my first experience with Ryobi, it would be my last. Hard to believe this came from the same company that makes my power tools.
Cons: great idea poor execution
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 19 >>