728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

This gas trimmer is lightweight, produces low levels of noise and emissions and has minimal vibration for user comfort. The shaft has a long reach that lets you access difficult areas. It comes with a three-year warranty.
Overall rating:
2.561 / 5
2.6
 / 
5
(371 reviews) 371
Open Ratings Snapshot
41%of customersrecommend this product147 of 362reviews
Rating Breakdown 371 reviews
2.6 out of 5
5
(93)
4
(53)
3
(12)
2
(24)
1
(189)
Features 
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5
Quality 
2.7 out of 5
2.7 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.7 out of 5
2.7 out of 5
41%of customersrecommend this product147 of 362reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 26 Answers
Customer reviews for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
Review 1 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Needham, MA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't buy this, it doesn't last very long.

PostedJune 5, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
You know, from the styling, weight., ease of use and options you can get for this, it would seem like a good deal, it certainly did for me at the time. I purchased all the add-ons, used most of them each year for the last 3 years. But deep inside that little engine that wants to be a big engine, is a piece of plastic camshaft that is spinning away and melting up each the time you turn it on So guess what, after 3 yeas mine eventually melted. It took me a few hours to figure out the problem of why it wouldn't start, first I thought it was the gas, then the carb, then eventually, I opened the rocker cover. And guess what, it was melted away, and then after I spent another 2 hours in disbelief looking on the net for parts, I discovered to my disappointment that there are no replacement parts anywhere to be found. You can buy just about every other part for this trimmer except the burned out cam. So, for this guys, you get one star from me. Mechanical equipment is supposed to be serviceable and parts available for at least 8 -10 years.
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Tallahassee
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't be misled into buying this poorly designed product

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product has many features that are attractive:
1- 4-cycle, so no mixing of gas and oil
2 - lots of attachments making this a versitle piece of equipment.
3 - Ryobi brand has a solid track record of producing good equipment at reasonable prices.
Unfortunately, these good features are outweighed by some severe drawbacks.
1 - Storing the unit in any position other than horizontal is likely to result in the loss of oil from the crankcase.
2 - The valves MUST be adjusted every 25 hours of use. If you are using multiple attachments and have a yard larger than a postage stamp, that's at least twice per season.
3 - Poor quality engine internal parts - specifically, the camshaft is made of plastic. In an air-cooled engine, plastic cannot withstand normal operating temperatures that are achieved on a 90 degree day.
4 - For people who are used to using a 2-cycle Ryobi, the head spins backwards requiring a change to your technique or busted shins.
5 - It is heavier than the 2-cycle models.
I purchased one as a replacement for a 2-cycle that I had owned for over 10 years. This first 4-cycle purchase was used according to the owner's manual. It rapidly lost power the first time it was used. I know the oil was at the proper level when I started it the first time. It was used as one would expect to use a weed-eater.
I returned the unit and obtained a replacement. It worked well for a few months, but power began to diminish and it became difficult to start and to keep it running. When I removed the valve cover to adjust the valves, it was clear that the plastic camshaft was severely worn and required replacement - but why go to that trouble? Plastic is not an appropriate material for a camshaft! A major Japanese manufacturer had similar problems with their vertical shaft engines on pressure washers - don't skimp on the camshaft!
A number of people have marked reviews that are critical of this equipment as unhelpful. Others have blamed the problems that were experienced on the owners. Nonsense. As an engineer, I am qualified to state that the original design of this engine was poor and guaranteed its failure. Unless Ryobi has changed the camshaft material (that's possible), then I cannot recommend this device and I know from my own experience that its failure had absolutely nothing to do with the user or the conditions under which it was used. The overwhelming majority of people who rated this device rated it poorly. If it worked for you, consider yourself fortunate. If you haven't purchased one - ask to see the valve adjustment procedure first - and look at the camshaft. If it is still plastic, run.
I've attached a photo of the offending camshaft. The exhaust lobe is clearly the culprit. The intake lobe is perfect. If this were the result of oil starvation, similar damage would have occurred to both lobes. I believe that this is the result of exhaust heat being transferred via the exhaust valve and rocker arm directly to the plastic lobe resulting in softening, malformation and failure.
Pros: All In One
Cons: Not Durable, poor engine quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+164points
182out of 200found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Ooltewah TN
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Short life

PostedJune 8, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Worked well for most of the first season, but half way through the second it would not take full throttle and finally stalled out and couldn't be restarted. Authorized service center "fixed" it, but still would not run at full throttle. Third season it ran poorly for about two minutes then quit. This time the service center tried but failed to get it running again. Went out and bought a Husqvarna so at least the Ryobi attachments could still be used. That comes to over $100 cost per season! Shame as I liked how it worked when it first came out of the box. Nice weight and balance, good power and did the job quickly. Just didn't work long enough.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: short life
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Nashua, NH

Worthless. Garbage.

PostedJuly 4, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This unit is HIGHLY susceptible to hydraulic lock, which means that the motor will lock-up (after the unit has been sitting idle in a garage), not letting you pull the cord, or start it. After returning 2 units (each after using just ONE time) - I learned that this unit must be stored in a HORIZONTAL position to avoid this from happening. Since I don't have the room in my garage to store it like this - without re-laying-out storage for every other broom, shovel, rake, etc. which I already have stored VERTICALLY in my garage - this is a non-starter for me (no pun intended).
The other big issue is that if you run the unit with the engine turned (or upside down) as I sometimes do during edging - it will burn oil and smoke like CRAZY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

Very poor power

PostedMarch 21, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased two years ago and new right off the bat it wasn't very powerful. Would bogg down. Now oil poors constantly out of the air filter when I turn it side ways to edge.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

Best Piece of Garbage Ever!

PostedJune 22, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this a month ago. Used as a weed wacker just fine until the string ran out. They guy in the Home Depot store sold me a new HEAD without any string. Oh well. Also got the chainsaw attachment. It worked ok until the chain came off...about 5 minutes. Re-assembled and the chain was bent at one link. Ordered new chain from OEM. Old stock number obsolete. Finally got a new chain in the mail. Worked well until chain went dull...about 10 minutes of juniper bush cutting. Got a chain sharpener and sharpened the chain and voila it cuts great. Oh, there is this one thing...trying to start it. It does OK after about 15-20 pulls and starts when cold. After running it for 10 minutes, it will NOT restart. I have yanked and yanked on this piece of junk for more time than it actually worked. I hope Home Despot will allow the return.
Cons: Not Durable, Too Heavy, won't start.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from North Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

All the power you need

PostedJuly 1, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
With 30 cc it has all the power you need. Read the instructions and it starts and runs flawlessly. Easily switch between attachments and again power to spare to run them. Base unit is a little pricey, attachments are priced about right though. I will recommend to my friends and co-workers.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Store
Cons: pricey
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Denver, CO.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

NOT FOR HIGH ALTITUDE UNLESS - - -

PostedJune 21, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this unit with great anticipation in spite of all the poor reviews. When I opened the instructions there was a manufacture's warning not to use it at over 2000 ft altitude unless appropriate adjustments are made at a service center. Denver is the mile high city so this trimmer shouldn't be sold here. I did not feel like looking for a service center so put it back in the box unused, returned it to Home Depot and went down the street to a Stihl dealer. No such nonsense with Stihl trimmers.
I really like Ryobi tools and have several in my shop but I understand why the ratings on this equipment is so low what with altitude and fuel restrictions. If a consumer does not pay strict attention to manufacturer warnings the equipment won't last or perform well. I think the features offered for the price are excellent but quality is lacking.
Cons: not set for high altitude
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Scio, Oregon
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Gas trimmer

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We needed a new weed wacker and this product was a perfect fit for us. It was in range of our budget and easy to use.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Alpharetta, GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worst Product ever

PostedJune 15, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I myself have never written a review on any product I have purchased at any store. This product has been the worst experience with a Ryobi product. I have returned it two times to Home depot because the string on the pull start would lock up and not respond, and their rental department informed me it must be defective. This has happened a total of three times now and I have given up returning it an just bought a cheap plug in trimmer
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Tooele, Utah
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

One of the worst purchases I've ever made.

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am a huge fan/owner of Ryobi power tools. The only reason I was in the market for a new trimmer is I gave my parents my long shaft 2 cycle as I didn't think I would ever need one again. I found myself having to clear a lot with waist high grass and headed to Home Depot for a trimmer. Since the '80s I've probably owned a half dozen or more gas trimmers. I chose this because it is a Ryobi and it is 4 cycle. I followed the directions for assembly and start up and it cranked on the 3rd pull and ran fine. No issues there. I have several issues with the quality of the product. You have to really tighten the lower shaft to keep it from rotating. It isn't possible to tighten the handle enough to keep it from moving. It also should come with a shoulder strap. Unlike every other gas trimmer I've owned/used this thing can't be operated in any orientation without stalling and that's a hassle. However, the reason I stopped trying to clear the weeds and got online to write this review was to keep from throwing it into the street and driving over it until no one would attempt resurrection. I am so beyond fed up with the way grass gets wrapped around the trimmer head where it joins the angled drive from the shaft. I've used trimmers for 35 years and NEVER had the issue with grass getting wrapped like this "thing" does. A helicopter requires 5 hours of maintenance for every hour of flight. I figure that's about my average for having to stop and remove the grass. I spent the full $200 on this and I think that was at least $150 too much and the only reason for the $50 is that I could buy one of the other attachments if I was desperate. I wouldn't give this away or even sell it to an enemy; I'm just not that cruel. If this was my first experience with Ryobi, it would be my last. Hard to believe this came from the same company that makes my power tools.
Cons: great idea poor execution
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

Ryobi

PostedJune 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This model rocks. Easy to start. Low maintenance.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

Great trimmer!

PostedJune 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Not sure what all the bad reviews are about. Just like one of the other guys said, I'm guessing it's mostly operator error.
I filled the trimmer with the proper amount of oil exactly as the directions said. I went through the start procedure just like the instructions said. And this thing started for the very first time on the second pull. It ran great with full power and choke off within 15 seconds.
I store the unit horizontally. No issues.
I have also edged with this trimmer and had no smoke or bogging down or flooding of the carbs. I plan on buying the edger attachment anyway, but so far it's done great using the string.
I can't yet comment if this trimmer has a plastic or steel camshaft though. But with a 3 year warranty and optional additional warranty from the retailer, I'm not THAT concerned.
I have no negative feedback on this trimmer. Everything about it has been great so far and I have not noticed a single issue like other reviewers.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Steamboat Colorado
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Great!!

PostedJune 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought this, Ryobi 4-Cycle 30cc Gas Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Trimmer, last September '14. after reading the reviews posted here. I have not had as single issued with this trimmer. It usually starts with 1 or two pulls. Even after storing over the winter ( of course I drained the fuel before storing.). After a month of rain everyday this past May I put fuel in it and it started on the second pull. The weeds/grass was in some places over a foot tall, this trimmer cut through them with no problems, it has plenty of power and rarely do I have to use full throttle. I really like the fact that I DO NOT have to mix oil and fuel, I can use the same fuel for lawn mower, snow blower and trimmer. As with any tool or equipment, read the manual and follow the instructions and you should have no problems.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Powerful, Easy to Store
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Springfield,VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Starts easily

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No mixing of gas and oil. Starts easily. Love the ease of changing attachments. Glad I bought this item.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Baton Rouge
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Trimmer

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Started dry on second pull in full choke. Runs great. Tons of torque. Can cut stuff in no time that would otherwise take forever. I dont think i will ever get used to the sound of a 4 stroke trimmer... the only bad thing i can say is the string that came with the trimmer is no good.
Other than that it is a standard Ryobi great product.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Fitchburg, MA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Machine, Awful Trimmer Head

PostedJune 15, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
To all the reviewers that gave this trimmer low scores I would either say I feel bad that you got a bad unit or read the instructions. This is a 4 stroke engine which by its nature is going to be hard to pull start due to its size. Filled the unit will oil, checked the level, filled with gas, primed 10 times as stated, pulled 3 times in full choke and VROOM. More torque then you can shake a stick at, so much power I had grass embedded into my leg.
The ONLY complaint i have with this unit is with the trimmer head, what a major pain. Lousy design that if you are not paying the closest attention the line gets sucked into the head and you are down for 5-10 min disassembling and restringing and rewinding the string. Don't even get me started on the cheap line they supply with this, it was breaking at the very sight of a hard object. After replacing the string with Rino-Tuff .095 and learning the hard way you HAVE to maintain tension on the line when winding into the spool I got the thing functioning well. You still must keep an ear out for the change in pitch of low line and bump more out or it will suck in however. I plan on replacing the head with a Rino-tuff X4 or the like very shortly. Had that on my last trimmer and loved it.
All in all a very good trimmer.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Powerful, Great Engine
Cons: awful trimmer head
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Indianapolis Indiana
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Brand new and won't start

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've tried and tried to start this piece of junk. Put a new spark plug in, still no luck. The company says not to take it back to Home Depot, what am I supposed to do with it? It doesn't even make a decent door stop. Save your money, go buy Black and Decker, Toro, anything but this junk.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Too Heavy, won't start
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

Plastic Can Shaft

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After two seasons, trimmer stopped running. Gave it a full clean out and tune up with new plug....still wouldn't start. Took it apart and noticed it has a PLASTIC Camshaft! The exhaust side rocker was melted and spun down. Research revealed you cannot purchase this part alone and have to buy the entire short block, which is over half the price of the trimmer. Because the trimmer head on mine is in rough shape too, I'm going to junk it. What a waste, all that money only to be thwarted by a cheap piece of plastic inside the engine. I'll never purchase another Ryobi product.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

DO NOT BUY!!!

PostedJune 14, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased this trimmer 3 years ago for use around the home. Very little power/speed, got hung up on things constantly. Mid-way through the season it started randomly shutting off while i was trimming, and by the end of the season it had stopped working all together. I have since purchased a STIHL- FS 56 RC-E and can honestly say i will never buy any other brand. It was only $50 more than this ryobi and it powers thru everything, never shuts off or gets hung up, and came with a shoulder strap, safety glasses and a 4 year warranty to boot. Spend the extra money and get the STIHL.
Cons: Not Durable, very poor quality
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 18 >>