728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 4-Cycle 30 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

4-Cycle 30 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

With a 4-cycle engine, the Ryobi 18 in. 30 cc Gas Trimmer offers the convenience of not having to mix gas or oil for start-up. The trimmer provides powerful operation in a lightweight, low-emission, anti-vibration and low-noise design. The trimmer shaft offers an optimal reach and helps you trim under obstacles. Ryobi 4-cycle trimmers are the lightest 4-cycle trimmers on the market and come with a best-in-class, three-year warranty.
Overall rating:
2.327 / 5
2.3
 / 
5
(251 reviews) 251
Open Ratings Snapshot
35%of customersrecommend this product86 of 246reviews
Rating Breakdown 251 reviews
2.3 out of 5.0
5
(50)
4
(33)
3
(8)
2
(18)
1
(142)
Features 
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2 out of 5
Quality 
2.4 out of 5.0
2.4 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.7 out of 5.0
2.7 out of 5
Value 
2.4 out of 5.0
2.4 out of 5
35%of customersrecommend this product86 of 246reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for 4-Cycle 30 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
Review 1 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
Dave
from Tallahassee
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't be misled into buying this poorly designed product

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product has many features that are attractive:
1- 4-cycle, so no mixing of gas and oil
2 - lots of attachments making this a versitle piece of equipment.
3 - Ryobi brand has a solid track record of producing good equipment at reasonable prices.
Unfortunately, these good features are outweighed by some severe drawbacks.
1 - Storing the unit in any position other than horizontal is likely to result in the loss of oil from the crankcase.
2 - The valves MUST be adjusted every 25 hours of use. If you are using multiple attachments and have a yard larger than a postage stamp, that's at least twice per season.
3 - Poor quality engine internal parts - specifically, the camshaft is made of plastic. In an air-cooled engine, plastic cannot withstand normal operating temperatures that are achieved on a 90 degree day.
4 - For people who are used to using a 2-cycle Ryobi, the head spins backwards requiring a change to your technique or busted shins.
5 - It is heavier than the 2-cycle models.
I purchased one as a replacement for a 2-cycle that I had owned for over 10 years. This first 4-cycle purchase was used according to the owner's manual. It rapidly lost power the first time it was used. I know the oil was at the proper level when I started it the first time. It was used as one would expect to use a weed-eater.
I returned the unit and obtained a replacement. It worked well for a few months, but power began to diminish and it became difficult to start and to keep it running. When I removed the valve cover to adjust the valves, it was clear that the plastic camshaft was severely worn and required replacement - but why go to that trouble? Plastic is not an appropriate material for a camshaft! A major Japanese manufacturer had similar problems with their vertical shaft engines on pressure washers - don't skimp on the camshaft!
A number of people have marked reviews that are critical of this equipment as unhelpful. Others have blamed the problems that were experienced on the owners. Nonsense. As an engineer, I am qualified to state that the original design of this engine was poor and guaranteed its failure. Unless Ryobi has changed the camshaft material (that's possible), then I cannot recommend this device and I know from my own experience that its failure had absolutely nothing to do with the user or the conditions under which it was used. The overwhelming majority of people who rated this device rated it poorly. If it worked for you, consider yourself fortunate. If you haven't purchased one - ask to see the valve adjustment procedure first - and look at the camshaft. If it is still plastic, run.
I've attached a photo of the offending camshaft. The exhaust lobe is clearly the culprit. The intake lobe is perfect. If this were the result of oil starvation, similar damage would have occurred to both lobes. I believe that this is the result of exhaust heat being transferred via the exhaust valve and rocker arm directly to the plastic lobe resulting in softening, malformation and failure.
Pros: All In One
Cons: Not Durable, poor engine quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+145points
161out of 177found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
Brandon
from Louisiana, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Did last the year....

PostedAugust 7, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My 2 cycle trimmer died after years of service and wanted to purchase a 4cycle to replace it. The ryobi was a great price and looking like a good unit to me. The 1st day it was great. two weeks later i needed it again and it was hard to start. It remained hard to start for a few months until one day POP. While running the trimmer at idle walking through the yard the trimmer made a POP noise and lost all compression. No warranty past 90 days so i opened the case up. IT HAS PLASTIC GEARS... Trimmers get hot.. plastic weakens...then pop your trimmer blows up...
Cons: Not Durable
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
Anonymous

DO NOT BUY!!!

PostedJune 14, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased this trimmer 3 years ago for use around the home. Very little power/speed, got hung up on things constantly. Mid-way through the season it started randomly shutting off while i was trimming, and by the end of the season it had stopped working all together. I have since purchased a STIHL- FS 56 RC-E and can honestly say i will never buy any other brand. It was only $50 more than this ryobi and it powers thru everything, never shuts off or gets hung up, and came with a shoulder strap, safety glasses and a 4 year warranty to boot. Spend the extra money and get the STIHL.
Cons: Not Durable, very poor quality
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
Homeremodeler533
from Madison, WI, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Multifunction Tool, But Not Recommended For Just Trimming

PostedMay 30, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works well, nice that it can become a 'multitool' but for those that just want a weed trimmer probably not the best.
Pluses, minuses:
+ Feels like the motor is the right amount of power for the job
+ Easy to start up and use
- Unbalanced, feels like you are fighting to hold it properly
- "Weed guard" at the base doesn't cover as much as it could so weed bits fly up and hit you as you work
- Doesn't feel like it was designed for right-handed people as the controls for the motor seem to be in weird places
Pros: Cuts Well, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Light Weight
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
cheapscotsman
from victoria bc
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works okay for a few years

PostedApril 16, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Tried a four stoke to replace a old two stoke and it worked for 4 years with other attachments but getting harder to start. 4 stroke are a lot more complex and they have to cut corners to make one at this price. Now will go back to 2 stroke simpler design, less parts, easier to start, and can run at any angle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
DirtGirl
from Florida, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Leaking oil

PostedJune 10, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My husband and I replaced our Ryobi 2 cycle with this after the pull cord stopped engaging. The 4 cycle worked great for the first 6 months and then began to act up. The trimmer would start, but not continue to run or it would sputter while it ran. Last weekend I went out to start it and the pull cord seemed to be stuck and wouldn't pull. I gave it a pull and heard a strange gurgling sound as it engaged. Oil.....oil all over the place, down my arm and all over my driveway. There is now a large puddle in my garage. I have several accessories for this but they are all trash bound. I have seen good reviews on a different trimmer and I will go with that, as I do not wish to deal with the headache of another Ryobi.
Pros: interchangable accessories
Cons: Not Durable
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
JoeD
from Donalsonville, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Trimmer

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Top of the line, easy to use and start, does get heavy and could use a strap
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
KrazieSj
from Calgary, AB
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Read the manual fully.

PostedJuly 28, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This thing is really easy to over fill with oil which is where most of the problems are coming from. It specifically states to have the unit level on the ground and fill using a funnel. Then, while still laying on the ground check the level of the oil. Originally I filled it up too much and had problems like many here did. Oil flying out of odd places, tons of smoke, engine dying every 5 minutes and not wanting to start and lack lust performance. I emptied some oil out because I had filled it incorrectly and followed the manual to a T. Trimmer ran like a champ after that. 2 pull start, no more smoke, power like it advertised and never died the rest of the time I used it. Have yet to see about longevity on this particular unit but initial quality suggests it's decent for what you pay.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Powerful
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
jimbo
from texas
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great product so far!

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have only owned this trimmer for a year but not one problem or complaint yet. And the convenience of no gas & oil mixture is worth it. Only issue is its a bit touchy if the engine is turned on its side while running.
Pros: Powerful, Cuts Well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
juice

Design is much better now

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased a unit unit from the newest production run, and proceeded to torture test it. After using the brushcutter attachment (with an appropriate blade) to mow down around 1/3 acre of mature (30 ft tall) bamboo, I can say that this unit performs exceptionally well for the price point. I beat on this thing hard for around 15 hours of run time and it was still performing just as it did when I received it. I have used the trimmer for other tasks as well with no issues whatsoever. As with any mechanical equipment, you must pay attention to things like oil level, but if you aren't willing to do that then you should probably stick with paying someone to do things for you.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful
+7points
12out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
sparky1
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Inexpensive 4-Stroke String Trimmer

PostedMay 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have used up 2 full gas tanks & have had no problems. Engine starts up on the 1st or 2nd pull even when cold. The torque from the engine is great especially when using the blower & edging attachments.
The unit is heavier then a 2-stroke model but with the extra torque the weight is acceptable.
Pros: Easy to Use, Powerful
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
StevieG82247
from Fallston, MD, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

lots of power

PostedJuly 22, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
At first I was a little concerned about the low end power of the four stroke engine. But after using it WOW, much more power than the 2 stroke trimmers I've had. As stated in the other reviews, the gas tank is small and you can not edge with this trimmer due to carb. flooding (can be corrected by purchasing the edger attachment). But other than that It is easy to start cold or warm, the power head works great with the tiller attachment, and no more mixing of gas and oil!
Pros: Easy to Use, Powerful, Great Engine
Cons: small gas tank
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
Mark
from Syracuse, NY

Great Trimmer for the money...negative reviews may be user error

PostedJune 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My previous trimmer was a 2cycle Ryobi that lasted over 10 years. (Let me also preface this review by saying that I am by no means a mechanic.)
I bought this because it was a great value at $179, so for under $200 I got a 4cycle trimmer.
I have owned this trimmer since June 2011, now 1 year old. It has never been trouble starting, never leaked oil or any of the other issues described here by other people claiming that they purchased the the S430.
Here is what I have found with the trimmer:
It didn't seem to have the same torque as my old 2cycle but for good reason, when I replaced the trimmer line I discovered that somehow I had collected pieces of pantyhose around the spool shaft along with long strands of vegetation. After removing the jam, the machine was not lacking torque.
Replacing the line was difficult when using high performance .095 line because the shape is triangular. I switched to the single line attachment. (The manual is poorly written on how to re-spool the line and is very small print and I have great eyesight)
Starting is easy, I press the fuel priming bulb until I see fuel bubbling and no more, then I set the choke to full, pull once and then set to half and the unit usually starts on the second or third pull. Once it starts, I hold the throttle on full for 5-10 seconds, let off the throttle and switch to on position. I always run the machine out of fuel, never once do I put the machine away with fuel in it. Also, I always check the oil level and the level remains constant.
When I run the machine, I DO NOT tip the machine, I run it with the throttle trigger pointing down, I have NEVER had oil leak from the unit, EVER. I do not rotate the engine, when I store the unit it is stored horizontally and out of fuel. I would recommend only adding enough fuel to complete your job.
During operation I only run the machine as high as it would require to do the job, there is no reason to run continuous full throttle, I suspect that this may be the reason some people are overheating their engines and causing shutdown.
Restarting a warm or hot engine, I typically re-set the choke to half choke and pull twice (I do not hit the primer bulb). If it doesn't start on the second pull, I remove the choke and set it to the on position, the unit usually starts on the next pull. I hold the throttle full for a couple seconds and then let off.
Improvements I would like to see on the unit:
Better written manual, the one that comes with the unit is terrible and poorly written and may be a big reason for so many problems.
Incorporate a shaft protector to prevent weeds and other objects from twisting around the line spool shaft causing the head to slow down or lock up. I will look at modifying my unit to prevent this in the future.
As for all the bad reviews, I suspect that a very large number of them are a result of user error or they have some sort of agenda as I have not experienced a single one of their problems, no smoke, no dripping oil, no hard starting, no engine seizures, no failed parts, no broken shafts, no quitting.
There are higher quality trimmers available (this is not a Stihl) BUT, if you want to spend under $200 for a respectable home trimmer, the Ryobi 4cycle will perform for you but you have to use some common sense. This is not a $400 unit and shouldn't be reviewed as such.
I also have several attachments, blower, edger and rototiller.
+24points
26out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
James74
from North Canton, OH

Read reviews and bought it anyways; bad decision

PostedMay 3, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I read the reviews but went to the store to consult with the department specialist: After I asked him about the return rate for this specific model, he confirmed that almost none of these every come back.
I liked the option of the 2 head types.
I like the power, sound, weight and balance of the unit when it ran.
I figured the unit would be hard to start the first time as it ships dry, without oil. Followed the instructions exactly, filled the oil, filled with fresh gas, primed, etc... So when it took 10 minutes and a whole lot of pulling to start it I wasn't surpised. For the first 5 minutes it wouldn't idle unless it was choked; it seemed to finally warm up and I was able to drop it down to half-choke after another 5 minutes. Then I put it in run and used it for 10 minutes, just to break it in and make sure the oil was well spread throughout the machine. I then went and mowed my entire yard. Came back to restart the unit and it took almost 15 minutes of pulling and it wouldn't stay started even on full choke (stalled instantly on half choke or run). Finally got it running and ran it for another 10 minutes, hoping it was just a fluke. But had the same starting experience the following afternoon.
So the good news is that Home Depot took the return without hesitation.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
Brian
from MD
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

improved from previous models...2 thumbs up

PostedMarch 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'll be honest that I have only had this a few days but the little bit use speaks for itself. I used this product for the last hour and it really cuts off the competition and previous models. It starts very easy, does not lose a single bit of power over a straight hour of use and does not need mixed gas which is the ultimate plus...all this and it does not vibrate at all compared to the st##l my dad has. The one thing that sets me as weird is how tight the motor feels when pulling the chord but it is brand new so I'll see how well it breaks in. I would highly recommend this line trimmer and look forward to trying out other attachments and giving away my two-stroke to charity.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
wrenchmonkey

Camshaft is metal

PostedMarch 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I don't believe the reviewer about the plastic camshaft, I really can't imagine Ryobi doing that. I'm a mechanic, and I've never heard anything more ludicris. I took mine apart before running it to confirm that it wasn't, and the cam is indeed made of metal.
+13points
23out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
mixerdude
from Kingman AZ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Trimmer!

PostedMarch 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This trimmer replaced a 2-cycle trimmer I had for many years. I was never really a fan of gas powered trimmers. However, they are unsurpassed when it comes down to power. The 4-cycle engine is a fairly clean burning unit, and should require less maintenance over the years. Also, 2-cycle engines do not like cold weather. I use my rototiller attachment in winter and early spring to prepare my soil for gardening. The 2-cycle was always a bearcat to get started, and required some choke during the operation, even when warmed-up. I used this unit when temps were around 40 degrees, and it hummed right along. Even held a steady idle without dying. I can say that I do not feel I will go back to 2-cycle again. This unit had plenty of power to run my attachments with ease. Another benefit is I will not have to mix and store 2-cycle gas any more.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Light Weight
+7points
11out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
HomeOwnerJoe
from Glendale, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So far so good

PostedOctober 28, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Assembly was easy. Using regular gas is great. For me, start up has been easy the half dozen days I've used it. (But then I am used to an old cranky generator.) I have had no problems with the engine so far. I start it, I run it at full speed, off - on, choke - run, repeat multiple times during a job, no problems so far. But it is a gasoline engine. I can see how if it stored in a certain position, fluids may back up or leak into unwanted areas causing malfunction. I store mine relatively horizontal, so far - no problems.
I do beat up on the 0.095 inch line quite a bit. I wish it lasted longer. But overall I like it. I'll keep my fingers crossed.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
Bif76
from Bakersfield, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product is poor at best.

PostedMarch 16, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this product because I had a 4 stroke trimmmer before and it was the best string trimmer I ever owned. Started in 1 to 3 pulls, great power. When this trimmer was new I felt the same way. Not quite the power of the my previous unit, but acceptable. After just a few uses it started losing power and would not run at full throtle. That was not that big a deal because I usually opperate at 1/4 to 1/2 throtle. After about 20 hours of opperation it would not run above idle. I have been a mechanic for over 30 years and even worked 3 years at a golf course as an equipment mechanic and I worked on many trimmers in my time. After changing plug, checking for fuel blockage and even putting a new carberator on the unit it still would not run above idle. After reading some of the product reviews I noted that the engine had a plastic camshaft. Checked the cam and sure enough the lobes had flattened out. I bought this low quality unit in the fall so when it failed I had it past the 90 day store return policy. Do not buy this you will be sorry.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One
Cons: Not Durable
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 4-Cycle 30 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
SofarSogood
from New York

Very Impressed / Reading Manual Helps / Some Advice

PostedAugust 18, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this unit a few weeks back before seeing the reviews on this site. I was tempted to take the unit back to Home Depot except for the fact that the unit ran perfectly for me.
Our machine came with one (1) bottle of oil. I added the oil and gas and I was off and running. Pushing the primer bulb seven times seems important for starting the unit.
I suspect most of the reviews about oil spilling out all over the place have to do with owners reporting that their units came with two bottles of oil. If you are not willing to read the manual then you may add both bottles of oil - which the manual states will damage the engine.
The owner whose unit engine seized may have assumed the unit came with oil.
We have used the trimmer quite a bit and I'm very
happy with it so far. Recently we purchased the hedge
trimmer attachment and spent three hours cutting our
wildly overgrown 150' hedge. So far so good.
I just purchased the pruning attachment but have not had time to try it. It looks well built and comes with an
extension piece that will come in handy.
One piece of advice: recently I experienced the issue where the trimmer would start and stop. It seemed like
priming was the only way to run it. It turned out a quarter size leaf was stuck in the quarter size air intake screen. I suspect this might be the cause of
some of the problems people have reported. I
removed the leaf and the trimmer runs like a champ.
So far there is nothing to indicate that this unit is not built well. Many of the problems reported seem more
about users not reading the manual than about an
flawed trimmer. After a year I will report back again.
By then I should have the edger attachment too.
I'm very happy not having to mix gas and oil. I really
like the unit and it seems like a very versatile unit.
My only piece of advice is to read the manual.
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 12 >>