728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Leaf Blowers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 145 mph 370 CFM Gas Backpack Blower

145 mph 370 CFM Gas Backpack Blower

The Ryobi Gas backpack blower is designed for any homeowner who wants to get the job done with ease and comfort. This blower includes a powerful, low-emissions 30 cc engine to help you accomplish a variety of tasks around the yard. It comes with a tube-mounted throttle with cruise control for easy operation.
Overall rating:
2.062 / 5
2.1
 / 
5
(32 reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
32%of customersrecommend this product10 of 31reviews
Rating Breakdown 32 reviews
2.1 out of 5.0
5
(4)
4
(5)
3
(0)
2
(3)
1
(20)
Features 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Quality 
2.5 out of 5.0
2.5 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Value 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
32%of customersrecommend this product10 of 31reviews
Customer reviews for 145 mph 370 CFM Gas Backpack Blower
Review 21 for 145 mph 370 CFM Gas Backpack Blower
from Tacoma. Wa.

Ryobi Electric Backpack Blower

PostedMarch 19, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased last spring and had second thoughts during assembly but finally got it together. Worked fine for awhile then was hard to start and electric started would nor engage. Will never buy anything by Ryobi again and will not recommend to anyone. Piece of junk.
-1point
4out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 145 mph 370 CFM Gas Backpack Blower
from Atlanta, GA

Attachment falls off

PostedOctober 2, 2009
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It started fine, but the attachment fell off three times during its first use.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 145 mph 370 CFM Gas Backpack Blower

Good

PostedApril 26, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good overall product. could use more power though.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 145 mph 370 CFM Gas Backpack Blower
from Roseburg, OR

Excellent Tool

PostedNovember 14, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this Blower inspite of the initial negative reviews it got from a couple people. The price was right and the features were what I wanted. I purchased direct from my local Home Depot, got the blower home opened the box and commenced a small amount of assembly required. Following the directions and illustrations assembly was only hampered by positioning of the clamps so that they would not snag on clothing. Assembly was simple. I fueled the blower, Primed it the recommended number of times, set the choke. I decided to start the blower using the pull rope the first time even though the battery was charged from the box. It started on the second pull of the rope. After a minute or so of warm up, I attached the tube extensions and set to work on my yard. I never experienced the "complained" of tubes falling off. With leaves and debris that is not soaking wet the job was finished quickly. With wet leaves it takes longer but then even with the Pro Models I have seen it was no different. I have used my blower for over a month now and have put about 40 hours on it. Only things I could see would be improvements are the capacity of the gas tank and the flexability of the flex tube.
I definitely would make this purchase again.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 145 mph 370 CFM Gas Backpack Blower
from Native Houstonian

I Tried Three Times - Don't Buy It!

PostedOctober 30, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I hate reading these reviews as I never know if the writer is just a whining, complaining person that is never happy... .However, I'm the eternal optimist, and wow was I impressed with this blower when I saw it on the shelf - finally, a backpack blower that has an electric start! I wish I had stopped when I was putting it together and the hose that attached to the bottom of the blower kept falling off.... but I wanted to give it a chance (I'm the eternal optimist, remember)...
I used my first blower for about 90 days (I may have used it 4-5 times) and other than the hose falling off periodically (very frustrating), it was quite nice. I bragged to the neighbors, finally, a blower easy to use, etc.. until it wouldn't start.... Fortunately the folks at Home Depot were quite understanding (I believe they have seen a LOT of these come back!) and exchanged #1 without question....
My second blower lasted two weeks, and wouldn't start after just a couple of uses.
By number three I was getting good at putting it together...and yes, no matter how much you practice putting it together, the lower hose never attaches right and will fall off. I used #3 one time, and when I went to start it the next weekend.... you guessed it - it would not start again. Back to my friends at Home Depot (they know me now by first name).
I was patient giving this blower three tries, but gave up and returned #3 promising never to buy another Ryobi product again. The electric start concept is GREAT, and I hope Ryobi figures out how to keep this product running for more than 30 days.
My recommendation if you chose to buy this - KEEP THE RECEIPT!!!!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 145 mph 370 CFM Gas Backpack Blower
from Detroit, MI

Disappointing experience

PostedOctober 15, 2009
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
To have a backpack style blowerwas always a dream. My uses are weekly garage, drive and sidewalk cleaning as well as extensive fall leaf blowing. With an exclusive electric start, model RY09600 seemed to be ideal and a great value too. I also thought that the backpack style would be easier to store than my current hand held blower.
I was a little concerned however, by the prior models low rating in Consumer Reports. I couldn't figure out how all the pieces went together from the store display. Also the link for the manual on the Ryobi website linked to the old model, and there were many errors inconsistencies in the specs on the two websites. ie 25.4 vs actual 30cc engine, 18 MPH vs 200 MPH in book vs 180 MPH on the blower itself. So I took one home last night to give it a closer inspection.
The manual confirmed the 30cc engine. I couldn't figure out how to adjust the upper straps from the manual directions. I needed to make the unit sit higher on my back to be comfortable, but was never successful in getting a good adjustment. I was also hoping that there would be a way to quick disconnect the hose at the elbow so that the unit could be stored hanging on the wall of the garage, but the wire clamps supplied require a nut or screw driver to tighten, making hose removal inconvenient for a quick cleanup job.
BTW It took a long time to correctly assemble the hoses. Both ends of the hoses and elbow are about the same size and have no markings to help in the assembly process. The words and pictures in the manual didn't help much either as there were no specific characteristics in the pictures. When assembled the hoses provide a steeper angle to ground than what I have been used to. I am not sure this would be as effective as my hand held for moving large piles of leaves.
As an afterthought, I also realize that the engine noise right next to your head is likely to be more significant than the noise 4-5 feet away with a hand held.
All said, there were too many issues offseting the electric start feature for me to be sure I was going to be really happy, so I've decided to return it without fueling it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 145 mph 370 CFM Gas Backpack Blower
from Clover, SC 29710, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Starts out great.. Falls apart quickly

PostedMay 19, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had 6 ryoby gas. Units . They all start out great but rapidly become a piece of junk. The battery went bad after 6 months. Fuel primer cracked after 1 year. Straps broke after 4 months, do not try to get fixed under warranty.. Waste of time.. Go buy a Stihl or Husqvarna. The difference in price is worth the quality and service you will receive .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 145 mph 370 CFM Gas Backpack Blower

I guess these are made for the very casual user

PostedMay 23, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Had product for 3 years and had problems on and off the entire time. This past weekend . . . started to whine . . . impeller broke through the housing - how in the world could this happen. Service is as much as a new Husqvarna. Guess which decision I made?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 145 mph 370 CFM Gas Backpack Blower
from Round Rock, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

item shown is not RY09800

PostedJanuary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Item shown has a push button start and is model RY09605.
RY09800 does not have push button start. They are represented online and in stores as the same product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 145 mph 370 CFM Gas Backpack Blower

No Power!

PostedNovember 19, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Assembly...check, crank....check, power....not! We have a cheap electric blower that has more power than this. We are taking back today. Very disappointed in home depot for selling a cheap product.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 145 mph 370 CFM Gas Backpack Blower
from Baltimore County, MD

Impressive, and no problems!

PostedAugust 13, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was a bit concerned when I read the two previous reviews on this Ryobi blower, but I have had none of the problems mentioned in them. The blower has performed very well; it has started first time, every time, and is comfortable to carry. I'm impressed!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 145 mph 370 CFM Gas Backpack Blower

Gifts for Christmas

PostedDecember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought these as gifts for kids. Still in box till the 25th
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
<< 1 2