728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop z_Old_Two-Piece Toilets or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White

Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White

The American Standard Champion 4 2-piece Dual-Flush Elongated Toilet in White is made from ceramic and features an elongated bowl design. The toilet features a 4 in. piston-action accelerator flush valve and comes with a seat, a wax ring and flange bolts.
Overall rating:
4.324 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(68 reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product58 of 67reviews
Rating Breakdown 68 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(45)
4
(13)
3
(1)
2
(5)
1
(4)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product58 of 67reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
Review 1 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Atlanta, GA

What an upgrade...

PostedMarch 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had builder grade toilets in my house for years and got accustomed to struggling with clogs and noise. After upgrading a powder room with a new sink and faucet, I decided to change out the toilet as well as this particular one had been notorious for leaving guests in bad situations. The Champion was easy to install and the performance was a real eye opener...I had not grasped how poor the builder grade toilet really was. The Champion is comfortable, quiet and never struggles...night and day. I've gone ahead and changed out 3 of the 4 toilets in the house so far with one to go....this is a solid product that is light years ahead of what i had.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Richmond, VA

Love this Toilet

PostedMay 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had this toilet for 3 years now and I love it. It has never clogged but did have an issue with the seal gasket in the tank. Using a chlorine based in the tank bowl cleaner caused the seal to leak so there was a small drizzel into the bowl all the time. Contacted the company and they sent a replacement. One comment mentioned the "burping" when you flush. This is true, it's a little strange. But I think it is designed that way to unplug the hole first then everything just goes down. Not like a commercial toilet with a loud whoosh but more a giant silent glug and it's gone. Love it.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Atlanta

Mother-In-Law Trouble

PostedApril 20, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love my wife. And she loves her mother. And so when my mother-in-law is in town, we treat her as we would any guest and let her use the bathroom. Over a 7 year period, she has clogged the toilet no fewer than 30 times (often twice in a day) No, this is a letter to WebMD but rather a note of acknowledgement that the Champion 4 has not only saved my marriage but possibly a woman's life.
It was after her last visit to my house to offload what I can only assume is a steady diet of broccoli, cabbage and gravel that I decided to take matter in my own hands. Vowing to solve the problem once and for all, I strode in to the local Home Depot and after pausing to price the cost of a tarp, a shovel, a large bag of lye and 7-10 years in federal prison I spoke with a nice man in plumbing. After letting me vent and shed a few tears, he directed me to the Champion 4 toilet. You know those moments in your life when the world slows down and all the ambient noise gives way and you are filled with a calm feeling of fulfillment? The birth of my children, hitting the game winning double in the state quarterfinals, college graduation and now this. The Champion 4. Read the other reviews that talk about ease of installation, water flow and seat height--they are all true. It is a great toilet and has operated flawlessly for sometime now but to me it is much more. It is so much more.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Fullerton, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Flush O Rama!

PostedSeptember 10, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just installed the Champion and a Cadet 4. American Standard has done a great job with making toliet replacement intsallations a breeze compared to years ago. All the necessary items are included for "no tools" needed installation. From removal of the old toliet (a 10 year old Toto) to the first flush of the Champion took me 30 minutes. No leaks, no run, no problems!.
And for the extra few dollars the Champion is indeed a champion flush a matic wonder. Whoosh and its bye bye well you get the idea!
If the extra little bit of water is not an issue per flush I would go with the Champion over the Cadet. Just a much better design on waste removal. Flush your troubles down the drain with the American Standard Champion!!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from San Jose, CA

Best toilet ever, comfortable, amazing flush, easy to clean, 10yr warranty

PostedAugust 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the best toilet ever. I had two prior toilets, a Kohler and a Niagra, while both did the job! They did clog on occasion, so required plunging.
Then I spent some time researching, it came down to two models: The American Standard Champion 4 2011 model with the slow close lid (2586.000.020) and the Kohler Cimmaron (Model K-3609-0) both are highly rated on homedepot.com and Amazon.Com But the Kohler did have reported problems of leaving remains on the bowl after a flush, requiring scrubbing. The Kohler also had a 1yr warranty and no toilet seat at $268
When I weighed that against the Champion 4, did not leave remains on the porcelain bowl, 10 year warranty (an industry first) and included a slow close toilet seat at $234, the decision was easy.
The 16.5" right height is chair height so very comfortable. Gents will really appreciate when standing there is no splash back which sometimes occurs with lower 15" toilets. The seat is comfortable which all will appreciate and the flush is amazing. There is no flapper, new 2011 technology has a cup looking mechanism that closes so no more drizzle into the bowl. Installation is very easy as no tools are required. They give you everything you need.
The only complaint is the weight of this beast, it took a lot of strength to haul it, so I took it upstairs in pieces. But once installed, it is solid throne!
Highly recommended, this is the only toilet I would ever consider in future, if anyone asked or if you had to replace one in a rental property.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Scottsdale AZ

Champion 4 Elongated toilet #2586

PostedMay 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
American Standard must have read the reviews about the cheap seat on this toilet. I bought this model on 5/15 /11 and was surprised that it came with a self closing one. I did buy a heavier flush handel. Toilet was a snap to install no leaks and flushes like a dream. well worth $234.00 I love the height
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Home owner from Boston

Fantastic dual flush, but uncomfortable seat

PostedJanuary 3, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
As an avid golfer, I couldn't pass up a toilet that advertises it can flush a bucket of golf balls!
This toilet is taller than the old standard, which I think is great. It's dual flushing, which the store employee was not aware of. If you hold the lever down for one second, or so, it gives a quick flush using very little water. Surprisingly, I've found this is all I need 90% of the time. Cool! If you hold the lever down longer, it gives a full flush. Very strong!
For the negatives:
1. Open the box before you haul it home. I was missing what the company tells me was supposed to be installed into the tank: bolts for mounting it to the base. This wasted over two hours of my time and several conversations. I was finally given a generic mounting kit, but I would have preferred a new bowl with the correct ones mounted. Or, at least to see one so I could see what they come with.
2. Personally, I think the seat is really uncomfortable. Cuts off my circulation after just a few minutes. Looking online, I see seats for as much as $80 for this toilet, and I don't understand why I'd need to pay more money for a seat that doesn't hurt. TBD.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Tri Cites, Michigan
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best Toilet Ever

PostedOctober 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We also used to have to use the plunger all the time my 5yr old son would plug our old toilet. Installation was easy, and it looks very nice. The tank is higher up so if you have little guys that miss it wont go under tank as easy much better for cleaning. The seat is very cozy, you could flush a five dollar foot long down this toilet. I used to be a plumber / service tech and this is the most impressive toilet I have ever seen I love this thing and would tell all friends and family about it.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White

An amazing toilet!

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
You have to hand it to American Standard. The engineering that went into this toilet is impressive. It seems nothing can clog it, and it still uses a fraction of the water needed by my old toilet. My only complaint is the quality of the lever, but that's simple to replace.
When we ordered, one of the three units didn't include the slow close toilet set because they were older SKUs. Make sure you check this first.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White

Quick flush, little water

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a nice toilet: it uses practically no water as compared to my old one from 1991; it flushes everything quickly; it was easy to install, and I feel good about myself that I'm saving just a little bit more off my water bill.
Here are a couple of items to note:
1. The toilet is heavy, so you'll likely need a couple of people to lift the box. Once out of the box, one person can likely handle lifting the bowl.
2. Installing was simple enough, you really don't need any tools other than the ones provided, but you will need a scraper to scrape out the old wax ring.
3. I did buy a new 12" water supply line, since the old one was metal and bent in a way that would not reach the tank. The 12" line just fits, I don't know if that's because this toilet sits higher, I seem to remember more play in the line with other toilets.
4. The toilet rim is 17" high from the floor. The toilet seat almost adds another inch to that. So if you're a short person with short legs, be prepared to barely touch the floor (my wife is 5' 3", and she can't flat-foot the floor, she tiptoes). But it is much easier to get off the toilet than the standard 15" height.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Coventry RI
Gender:Male

This is great!

PostedSeptember 17, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought the Champion 4 in August 2011. Prior to this I had an overflow twice a month and had to call a plummer every 6 or 8 weeks. Now I have thrown the plumbers helper in the trash. My wife said it was GROSS...She's right. Eight weeks and no back-up. These toilets are super. The flush bar could be stronger but I can deal. The seats are fairly comfortable, besides I'm not in there very long. Installation was a snap!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Limerick ,PA

Great flusher!

PostedFebruary 21, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I installed one of these in my old house and it's a real performer. Only a little water goes into the bowl, and at first I didn't think there was any way this thing was going to flush well, but wow, it does.
I did have the same problem as another reviewer with the tank not touching the base in front. The spud gasket is HUGE (gasket b/w the tank and base) and the tank will really wobble around when you first put it on. I also called AS customer support and they said to just keep tightening. I never did get them to touch, but it never leaked or caused any problems.
I am going to install more of these in my new house and am thinking about buying a Fluidmaster tank kit and use the spud gasket that comes with that instead of the stock one.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Bolivar,MO

great toilet

PostedDecember 27, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This toilet was relatively easy to install for me even though I had never installed one before. This is the only toilet I found with a 10 year warranty. It flushes powerfully every time and always does the job. I have had the toilet for a month now and am very satisfied.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from NEW JERSEY

CHAMPION 4 TOILET

PostedApril 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
THIS IS A GREAT TOILET. AFTER YEARS OF USING A PLUNGER, THIS TOILET IS REMARKABLE. I HAD A PLUMBER INSTALL IT. AND IT TOOK LONGER TO DISCONNECT THE OLD TOILET THEN TO INSTALL THE NEW ONE. ONE FLUSH AND EVERTHING GOES. PEOPLE BUY THIS ONE. ITS GREAT.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Johnstown, PA

Tank will not touch bowl

PostedJanuary 6, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This toilet has good flushing power, but it has a bad tank and bowl design. I bought this at my local Home Depot and folowed the instructions supplied with the toilet. Despite this, the tank will not go the full way down and touch the bowl--it wobbles and has leaked once. I contacted American Standard customer service via e-mail and they told me to do what I explained to them didn't work--AMAZING. I'm probably going to have to take the toilet up and return it to Home Depot--a real mess.
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
Gender:Male

Right Height not always Right

PostedFebruary 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this and installed it because my wife has bad knees. She is about 5'4" and her feet would dangle, heels about 2" from floor. I think it is the combination of elongated and the added height that makes it a problem. I bet she would do fine on a higher round bowl. Anyway I had to uninstall the toilet and went back to HD to exchange for regular height Champion 4. HD does not stock the regular height so I had to order it and wait a week without a master bathroom toilet. When it came it was a box with the tank and another box with the toilet. I had to go purchase my own wax ring, flanges, and toilet seat. My wife is sitting pretty now.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Sylvan Grove, KS

Take time to check the box for all supplies

PostedDecember 24, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Take the time to check the box before leaving the store! We bought this toilet Christmas Eve in a factory sealed box. Upon arriving home from the store (60 miles away), we found that it did not include many of things that were to have been included, such as the tank to bowl gasket, attachment handles with nuts (2), plastic washers (2), wax ring, and t-bolts with retainer (2). We haven't used it yet, but had to scavenge from supplies on hand to even install it. Major headache since most people wouldn't have alternate supplies on hand.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Waukesha, Wisconsin

TOSS THE PLUNGER

PostedJanuary 27, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This unit replaced a 2nd Generation "Water Saving" unit. Not much in saving water, when you have to flush a second time. This unit is well made...very easy to install (I'm no handyman). Everything is complete (tank has all components already installed). This unit is a bit taller than a standard unit, but for a taller person 6' +, or a person with bad knees, or vintage in age, a perfect design.
But, how does it flush, you may ask.......PERFECT....never a problem.....and it does save water...about a 1/3 less than previous models, and works much, much better. As for the seat thats included...compare it to a $15.00 replacement seat...not great, but not cheap. I don't write reviews unless the item is great or a piece of junk. This is a 10 out of 10!!!!!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Calif

After 4 years it is still the best

PostedDecember 16, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
There is nothing this toilet cannot flush and the tall height is a must for me. Only thing is it is not the prettiest toilet out there but it works better than any I have every owned. After three years and many tests, it passes with flying colors. No plunger needs to be kept anymore. I did have a flushing part in the tank start leaking, called the company and sent a new one and it is back up and working perfect again. Save the paperwork in case it ever happens to you.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Huntington New York

excellent

PostedOctober 25, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm glad to have choose the champion 4. It has made our life much easier. My daughter is handicapped, my self I have a bad knee and my husband and I are tall. The hieght is much easier, the flush is great, the only thing is the seat is cheap and will be replaced. It is not comfortable. If you are looking for a higher tiolet this is it.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>