728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop z_Old_Two-Piece Toilets or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White

Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White

The American Standard Champion 4 2-piece Dual-Flush Elongated Toilet in White is made from ceramic and features an elongated bowl design. The toilet features a 4 in. piston-action accelerator flush valve and comes with a seat, a wax ring and flange bolts.
Overall rating:
4.324 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(68 reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product58 of 67reviews
Rating Breakdown 68 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(45)
4
(13)
3
(1)
2
(5)
1
(4)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product58 of 67reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
Review 21 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from San Jose, CA

Best toilet ever, comfortable, amazing flush, easy to clean, 10yr warranty

PostedAugust 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the best toilet ever. I had two prior toilets, a Kohler and a Niagra, while both did the job! They did clog on occasion, so required plunging.
Then I spent some time researching, it came down to two models: The American Standard Champion 4 2011 model with the slow close lid (2586.000.020) and the Kohler Cimmaron (Model K-3609-0) both are highly rated on homedepot.com and Amazon.Com But the Kohler did have reported problems of leaving remains on the bowl after a flush, requiring scrubbing. The Kohler also had a 1yr warranty and no toilet seat at $268
When I weighed that against the Champion 4, did not leave remains on the porcelain bowl, 10 year warranty (an industry first) and included a slow close toilet seat at $234, the decision was easy.
The 16.5" right height is chair height so very comfortable. Gents will really appreciate when standing there is no splash back which sometimes occurs with lower 15" toilets. The seat is comfortable which all will appreciate and the flush is amazing. There is no flapper, new 2011 technology has a cup looking mechanism that closes so no more drizzle into the bowl. Installation is very easy as no tools are required. They give you everything you need.
The only complaint is the weight of this beast, it took a lot of strength to haul it, so I took it upstairs in pieces. But once installed, it is solid throne!
Highly recommended, this is the only toilet I would ever consider in future, if anyone asked or if you had to replace one in a rental property.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Atlanta, GA

What an upgrade...

PostedMarch 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had builder grade toilets in my house for years and got accustomed to struggling with clogs and noise. After upgrading a powder room with a new sink and faucet, I decided to change out the toilet as well as this particular one had been notorious for leaving guests in bad situations. The Champion was easy to install and the performance was a real eye opener...I had not grasped how poor the builder grade toilet really was. The Champion is comfortable, quiet and never struggles...night and day. I've gone ahead and changed out 3 of the 4 toilets in the house so far with one to go....this is a solid product that is light years ahead of what i had.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from nj

water saver, comfortable but strange smell

PostedMarch 14, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After I chose AS Champion Elongated toilet, I told my contractor to replace the old one. I am happy n with the comfort, height and water saving flush but a strange type of smell is there. Will it go away or remain like this. Also, I do not have cleaning instructions so please inform. Thank you.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Huntington New York

excellent

PostedOctober 25, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm glad to have choose the champion 4. It has made our life much easier. My daughter is handicapped, my self I have a bad knee and my husband and I are tall. The hieght is much easier, the flush is great, the only thing is the seat is cheap and will be replaced. It is not comfortable. If you are looking for a higher tiolet this is it.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Commack, NY

Put the plunger out to pasture

PostedJune 26, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We have only had the toilet for a couple of days, but it has passed the "acid" test, if you know what I mean. It handles solid waste much better than the old Kohler toilet that it replaced.
We had it installed by a professional plumber, so installation went smoothly. The only issue was the plumber said the bolts that came with it to attach the toilet to the floor were too thin/not strong enough, so he replaced them with ones he supplied.
Noise level seems reasonable; perhaps a bit louder than old toilet, but only for a few seconds.
My wife is also not happy with the seat, which is why I am only giving 4 stars.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from SE Kansas

It's a Champ

PostedJuly 15, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great toilet! A very comfortable height, especially for taller people. Also makes rising easier for older folks. A good clean flush every time- no yucky debris left sticking to the sides!! And really, isn't that all you want from a toilet?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Twin Cities, Minnesota

American Standard Champion 4 Toilet

PostedDecember 4, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After many disappointments with flushing mechanisms on other toilets (including use by 3 grandkids), I bought this toilet after some research and exploring the Amer. Std. website. Wow - what a difference! I remodeled my bathroom and this Champion 4 toilet makes a world of difference. I liked it so much that, after two months use, I purchased another for my second bathroom. Well-worth the price - can't go wrong on this one!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Flower Mound, TX

AS Champion Toilet kit

PostedJuly 15, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I installed the toilet yesterday and so far I have 2 complaints. The flush chain and handle are both junk. I took the chan and lever off of a 15 year old toilet and it works great. The 2nd is the fill time seems awfully slow. Otherwise the toilet is great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White

Quick flush, little water

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a nice toilet: it uses practically no water as compared to my old one from 1991; it flushes everything quickly; it was easy to install, and I feel good about myself that I'm saving just a little bit more off my water bill.
Here are a couple of items to note:
1. The toilet is heavy, so you'll likely need a couple of people to lift the box. Once out of the box, one person can likely handle lifting the bowl.
2. Installing was simple enough, you really don't need any tools other than the ones provided, but you will need a scraper to scrape out the old wax ring.
3. I did buy a new 12" water supply line, since the old one was metal and bent in a way that would not reach the tank. The 12" line just fits, I don't know if that's because this toilet sits higher, I seem to remember more play in the line with other toilets.
4. The toilet rim is 17" high from the floor. The toilet seat almost adds another inch to that. So if you're a short person with short legs, be prepared to barely touch the floor (my wife is 5' 3", and she can't flat-foot the floor, she tiptoes). But it is much easier to get off the toilet than the standard 15" height.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from NEW JERSEY

CHAMPION 4 TOILET

PostedApril 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
THIS IS A GREAT TOILET. AFTER YEARS OF USING A PLUNGER, THIS TOILET IS REMARKABLE. I HAD A PLUMBER INSTALL IT. AND IT TOOK LONGER TO DISCONNECT THE OLD TOILET THEN TO INSTALL THE NEW ONE. ONE FLUSH AND EVERTHING GOES. PEOPLE BUY THIS ONE. ITS GREAT.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from morrow, ga.

PostedFebruary 26, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
needed to replace one toilet decided to go ahead and replace 2 with plans to replace the 3rd next month. limited knowledge of low flow toilets and there effectiveness in saving water. sales person instrumental in helping me decide on the Champion 4 Right Height. seat height and warranty were my deciding factors. installation took less then 2 hours. both toilets are gorgeous and deliver as promised, great swirling action. drawbacks, can get pricey with delivery fee $75.00 and removal cost of $25.00 per unit. find out how to clean the bowels to avoid voiding the warranty. better toilet seats needed ( ones provided cheap and uncomfortable). otherwise pleased with the purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Seattle area

Great product

PostedOctober 23, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am very happy with this toilet, especially considering the price. I went from a toilet that plugged every time, to this one that has not plugged up yet. The installation and instructions were very easy.
I can see the problem with the handle and lever - it is pretty cheap, and not very functional - your fingers tend to slip off it. If it breaks I will just replace it which is no big deal to me. The refill time is a little slow (75 seconds) but that is partially due to my lousy water pressure. If it does not plug, then fast refill time is not that important anyway... Toillet seat is cheap but I bought one of those Bemis slow close ones which are awesome. I'll never own a regular closer aagain! I did have to buy a longer water supply tube since the previous toilet was a standard height. Overall very happy - especially with the HD price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from A small town in Oregon

Champion 4 is a champion

PostedOctober 25, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My handyman installed this toilet for me about 2 months ago. My old toilet had serious problems with solid waste. Sometimes I would have to plunge furiously to get things to go down. Sometimes, I would even have to get up on a ladder to drop a full bucket of water into the old toilet, so I could stop plunging for a day or two.
This toilet is so good. I watch in amazement every day as it flushes completely on the first try. I cannot tell you what a relief it is to know the toilet will flush when I have guests over. This toilet will not embarrass me...or you.
My only reservation is that the handle and its assembly are plastic, so I bought a metal replacement right away.
If you are sick of clogs and plunging, the Champion 4 will make your bathroom a happier place.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Cleveland, Oh

Love it!

PostedNovember 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We were using a toilet plunger on a daily basis, thinking it was just an old house... Just purchased this toilet and it flushes, every time, fast. life is good! Also love the the comfort height.
great toilet - highly recommend it!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Grants Pass, OR

Awesome Flush

PostedDecember 6, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I spent a lot of on line time reading reviews on different toilets. I finally settled on this one, and it was worth the time. There are too many good reviews on this toilet. It was easy to install. Two inches of additional height makes it very comfortable for my 6'1" or wife's 5'6." We gave it some serious challenges and it passed, literally, everything we could throw at it. Two seconds. That's the time for a complete flush not counting fill time. No swirling water and wondering it it will go down. The oft used plunger is back in the garage.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Sylvan Grove, KS

Take time to check the box for all supplies

PostedDecember 24, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Take the time to check the box before leaving the store! We bought this toilet Christmas Eve in a factory sealed box. Upon arriving home from the store (60 miles away), we found that it did not include many of things that were to have been included, such as the tank to bowl gasket, attachment handles with nuts (2), plastic washers (2), wax ring, and t-bolts with retainer (2). We haven't used it yet, but had to scavenge from supplies on hand to even install it. Major headache since most people wouldn't have alternate supplies on hand.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from NC

GREAT TOILET

PostedAugust 17, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
CERTAINLY ONE OF THE BEST FLUSHING TOILETS ON THE MARKET
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Webster Massachusetts

Burp.....

PostedSeptember 25, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the first time I have ever seen a toiolet flush like this. Instaling was very easy, as is with most toilets. They even include the socket for attaching the tank to the bowl. The name brand American Standard is made in Mexico. After it is in and all filled with water, I gave it the TEST flush. The water in the bowl burped. Yup you read it right, it burps and then evacuates. this little burp may seem minor, but remember that whatever you put in it is going to be part of that little eruption, and expel some of that into the surrounding air. So make sure you drop the lid first. The second negative aspect is that the bowl started to sweat when it got humid yesterday, and BLUE drops of wateer started running out from between the tank and the bowl. Here we go,,, a Saturday morning removing the tank to see where the blue is coming from. After I got a look at the bottom of the tank it was bue something on it, so I cleaned it off, and so far so good. Cleaning the blue stains off the floor was not fun, it didn't want to come off and bleach is the only thing that worked. I would not recommend this toilet to anybody, especially at this price. For half the price my made in China Jacuzzi brand is far superior.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White

Nice height, flushes fast

PostedOctober 23, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We just had our Champion 4 professionally installed and I love it. I feel like a kid that came in from the outhouse. It not only flushes fast, but it is a lot quieter than our old one. We got the ADA model since we are getting older and it is nice not to have to sit so low. I would recommend this to anyone that is thinking about replacing their toilets. It is great value for the cost, too.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White

An amazing toilet!

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
You have to hand it to American Standard. The engineering that went into this toilet is impressive. It seems nothing can clog it, and it still uses a fraction of the water needed by my old toilet. My only complaint is the quality of the lever, but that's simple to replace.
When we ordered, one of the three units didn't include the slow close toilet set because they were older SKUs. Make sure you check this first.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 >>