728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop z_Old_Two-Piece Toilets or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White

The American Standard Champion 4 2-piece Dual-Flush Elongated Toilet in White is made from ceramic and features an elongated bowl design. The toilet features a 4 in. piston-action accelerator flush valve and comes with a seat, a wax ring and flange bolts.
Overall rating:
4.324 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(68 reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product58 of 67reviews
Rating Breakdown 68 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(45)
4
(13)
3
(1)
2
(5)
1
(4)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product58 of 67reviews
Customer reviews for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
Review 21 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from San Jose, CA

Best toilet ever, comfortable, amazing flush, easy to clean, 10yr warranty

PostedAugust 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the best toilet ever. I had two prior toilets, a Kohler and a Niagra, while both did the job! They did clog on occasion, so required plunging.
Then I spent some time researching, it came down to two models: The American Standard Champion 4 2011 model with the slow close lid (2586.000.020) and the Kohler Cimmaron (Model K-3609-0) both are highly rated on homedepot.com and Amazon.Com But the Kohler did have reported problems of leaving remains on the bowl after a flush, requiring scrubbing. The Kohler also had a 1yr warranty and no toilet seat at $268
When I weighed that against the Champion 4, did not leave remains on the porcelain bowl, 10 year warranty (an industry first) and included a slow close toilet seat at $234, the decision was easy.
The 16.5" right height is chair height so very comfortable. Gents will really appreciate when standing there is no splash back which sometimes occurs with lower 15" toilets. The seat is comfortable which all will appreciate and the flush is amazing. There is no flapper, new 2011 technology has a cup looking mechanism that closes so no more drizzle into the bowl. Installation is very easy as no tools are required. They give you everything you need.
The only complaint is the weight of this beast, it took a lot of strength to haul it, so I took it upstairs in pieces. But once installed, it is solid throne!
Highly recommended, this is the only toilet I would ever consider in future, if anyone asked or if you had to replace one in a rental property.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Stroudsburg PA

Champion 4 toilet

PostedDecember 18, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is an excellent product. We had a handyman install it, so we can't comment on ease of installation. But we were very happy with our purchase, from the very first flush. It has a really powerful flush, which washes the entire bowl out. It saves water, which is a great feature. Also, the curved surface at the back of the toilet where it meets the "water closet" is an easy cleaning feature that was the tie-breaker when comparing the different models in the store. You will not regret this purchase.
The only negative is that the warranty is only good within 30 days of purchase. So if you are slowly accumulating items for a major bath remodel as we did, or just are a procrastinator, be aware of this.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Home owner from Boston

Fantastic dual flush, but uncomfortable seat

PostedJanuary 3, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
As an avid golfer, I couldn't pass up a toilet that advertises it can flush a bucket of golf balls!
This toilet is taller than the old standard, which I think is great. It's dual flushing, which the store employee was not aware of. If you hold the lever down for one second, or so, it gives a quick flush using very little water. Surprisingly, I've found this is all I need 90% of the time. Cool! If you hold the lever down longer, it gives a full flush. Very strong!
For the negatives:
1. Open the box before you haul it home. I was missing what the company tells me was supposed to be installed into the tank: bolts for mounting it to the base. This wasted over two hours of my time and several conversations. I was finally given a generic mounting kit, but I would have preferred a new bowl with the correct ones mounted. Or, at least to see one so I could see what they come with.
2. Personally, I think the seat is really uncomfortable. Cuts off my circulation after just a few minutes. Looking online, I see seats for as much as $80 for this toilet, and I don't understand why I'd need to pay more money for a seat that doesn't hurt. TBD.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White

An amazing toilet!

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
You have to hand it to American Standard. The engineering that went into this toilet is impressive. It seems nothing can clog it, and it still uses a fraction of the water needed by my old toilet. My only complaint is the quality of the lever, but that's simple to replace.
When we ordered, one of the three units didn't include the slow close toilet set because they were older SKUs. Make sure you check this first.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from NEW JERSEY

CHAMPION 4 TOILET

PostedApril 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
THIS IS A GREAT TOILET. AFTER YEARS OF USING A PLUNGER, THIS TOILET IS REMARKABLE. I HAD A PLUMBER INSTALL IT. AND IT TOOK LONGER TO DISCONNECT THE OLD TOILET THEN TO INSTALL THE NEW ONE. ONE FLUSH AND EVERTHING GOES. PEOPLE BUY THIS ONE. ITS GREAT.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Atlanta, GA

What an upgrade...

PostedMarch 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had builder grade toilets in my house for years and got accustomed to struggling with clogs and noise. After upgrading a powder room with a new sink and faucet, I decided to change out the toilet as well as this particular one had been notorious for leaving guests in bad situations. The Champion was easy to install and the performance was a real eye opener...I had not grasped how poor the builder grade toilet really was. The Champion is comfortable, quiet and never struggles...night and day. I've gone ahead and changed out 3 of the 4 toilets in the house so far with one to go....this is a solid product that is light years ahead of what i had.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Tri Cites, Michigan
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best Toilet Ever

PostedOctober 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We also used to have to use the plunger all the time my 5yr old son would plug our old toilet. Installation was easy, and it looks very nice. The tank is higher up so if you have little guys that miss it wont go under tank as easy much better for cleaning. The seat is very cozy, you could flush a five dollar foot long down this toilet. I used to be a plumber / service tech and this is the most impressive toilet I have ever seen I love this thing and would tell all friends and family about it.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Scottsdale AZ

Champion 4 Elongated toilet #2586

PostedMay 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
American Standard must have read the reviews about the cheap seat on this toilet. I bought this model on 5/15 /11 and was surprised that it came with a self closing one. I did buy a heavier flush handel. Toilet was a snap to install no leaks and flushes like a dream. well worth $234.00 I love the height
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Flowery Branch, GA

I love this toilet.

PostedOctober 22, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We just installed two of these American Standard Champion 4 (ADA height) toilets in our house and I love them both. The toilets they replaced had trouble disposing of solid waste. So, we had to flush two, three, even four times to get the waste down. And the noise of refilling sounded like a water line busted and sometimes like a jet engine revving up. The Champion 4 takes whatever we throw at it. There is the noise of the flush when air siphons back into the "U" channel. It refills quickly and quietly.
About the only negative things are that the seat that comes with it are cheap plastic and are not very comfortable. Luckily we researched this and kept the seats off the old toilets.
Another thing that could be improved upon it the flush handle. It is plastic and feels like it is angled to the point that your fingers will slip off of it when pushing down on it.
One last thing is that the hold down bolts that come with it are the smaller size of hold down bolts. I believe it comes with 3/16 inch bolts. I do recommend getting 1/4 inch bolts. They don't cost much and will hold down the toilet better.
Overall though, I love this toilet and will be installing another one in the kids bathroom in a couple of weeks. I hope this helps you make your decision.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Duluth, GA

Like the toilet, hate the seat

PostedDecember 5, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We like everything about this toilet, except the seat. We had to purchase another seat for $30 because the one that came with it was terrible.
Add at least $30 to the price of the toilet because you'll be buying a new seat, too.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Cleveland, Oh

Love it!

PostedNovember 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We were using a toilet plunger on a daily basis, thinking it was just an old house... Just purchased this toilet and it flushes, every time, fast. life is good! Also love the the comfort height.
great toilet - highly recommend it!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Johnstown, PA

Tank will not touch bowl

PostedJanuary 6, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This toilet has good flushing power, but it has a bad tank and bowl design. I bought this at my local Home Depot and folowed the instructions supplied with the toilet. Despite this, the tank will not go the full way down and touch the bowl--it wobbles and has leaked once. I contacted American Standard customer service via e-mail and they told me to do what I explained to them didn't work--AMAZING. I'm probably going to have to take the toilet up and return it to Home Depot--a real mess.
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Chicago, IL

PLUNGER IS GETTING DUSTY!!!!

PostedDecember 5, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, this toilet!!! I was plunging my old toilet at least once a day, sometimes twice a day, due to large bowel movements from my growing boys, and due to the use of too much toilet paper by said boys. My boys and husband give the toilet a workout on a daily basis!! I was sick and tired of plunging the toilet! So, I finally decided to get a new one and went with the Champion due to recommendations from others and because of the great reviews I read. It lives up to everything I heard about it. We bought it the week before Thanksgiving because we were going to have a house full of people. Hasn't clogged once!!! The only reason I gave it four stars is because I don't like the height of the toilet. We went with this one because I thought it wouldn't be that big of a difference, but it is slightly uncomfortable for me as I am only 5'1". However, my husband is 6'2" so I compromised. It isn't a big deal for me, but I wish I would have went with the regular height. However, I'm overwhelmingly happy with it's performance. The other cons for this toilet is the cheap, plastic seat it comes with and the handle seems a little flimsy as well. The handle hasn't been a problem and hopefully will be fine, but I will eventially replace the seat. Overall, very happy with my purchase and would highly recommend it to anyone.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Sylvan Grove, KS

Take time to check the box for all supplies

PostedDecember 24, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Take the time to check the box before leaving the store! We bought this toilet Christmas Eve in a factory sealed box. Upon arriving home from the store (60 miles away), we found that it did not include many of things that were to have been included, such as the tank to bowl gasket, attachment handles with nuts (2), plastic washers (2), wax ring, and t-bolts with retainer (2). We haven't used it yet, but had to scavenge from supplies on hand to even install it. Major headache since most people wouldn't have alternate supplies on hand.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Scottsdale, Arizona

wrong height/good water saver

PostedOctober 7, 2009
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am 5'2 I feel like a kid using this as my whole foot doesn't reach the floor, only the balls of my feet . I don't like the flush handle it is too short to put more than a few fingers on and is a hard flush. It is a great water saver, there is only a very very small amt of water in the bowl.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from San Diego

Great Flush...but

PostedAugust 16, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
IF YOU USE A PLUMBER OR HOME DEPOT TO INSTALL: You will have no problems and enjoy a great flush. Wow, I was flushing my old 3.5 gal. twice to get a flush, but now only once. Saving lots of water here in San Diego. Also, the bowl stays clean.
IF YOU INSTALL YOURSELF: When attaching the tank, it doesn't seem that you can tighten the tank down enough to meet the bowl without cracking the tank. I called American Standard and the customer service person said she gets about 10 calls a day on this question. She told me not to worry, just tighten it carefully and evenly on both sides and you won't crack the tank. The tank first contacts the front contacks of the bowl, and with further tightening it contacts the rear. I used both a level and spacers as I tightened about a half turn each time to keep it even. It takes a little time, but it works. I'm 66 years old, so anyone with a little common sense can do it. Good luck, you'll appreciate your efforts.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Atlanta

Mother-In-Law Trouble

PostedApril 20, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I love my wife. And she loves her mother. And so when my mother-in-law is in town, we treat her as we would any guest and let her use the bathroom. Over a 7 year period, she has clogged the toilet no fewer than 30 times (often twice in a day) No, this is a letter to WebMD but rather a note of acknowledgement that the Champion 4 has not only saved my marriage but possibly a woman's life.
It was after her last visit to my house to offload what I can only assume is a steady diet of broccoli, cabbage and gravel that I decided to take matter in my own hands. Vowing to solve the problem once and for all, I strode in to the local Home Depot and after pausing to price the cost of a tarp, a shovel, a large bag of lye and 7-10 years in federal prison I spoke with a nice man in plumbing. After letting me vent and shed a few tears, he directed me to the Champion 4 toilet. You know those moments in your life when the world slows down and all the ambient noise gives way and you are filled with a calm feeling of fulfillment? The birth of my children, hitting the game winning double in the state quarterfinals, college graduation and now this. The Champion 4. Read the other reviews that talk about ease of installation, water flow and seat height--they are all true. It is a great toilet and has operated flawlessly for sometime now but to me it is much more. It is so much more.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Waukesha, Wisconsin

TOSS THE PLUNGER

PostedJanuary 27, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This unit replaced a 2nd Generation "Water Saving" unit. Not much in saving water, when you have to flush a second time. This unit is well made...very easy to install (I'm no handyman). Everything is complete (tank has all components already installed). This unit is a bit taller than a standard unit, but for a taller person 6' +, or a person with bad knees, or vintage in age, a perfect design.
But, how does it flush, you may ask.......PERFECT....never a problem.....and it does save water...about a 1/3 less than previous models, and works much, much better. As for the seat thats included...compare it to a $15.00 replacement seat...not great, but not cheap. I don't write reviews unless the item is great or a piece of junk. This is a 10 out of 10!!!!!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Sacramento, CA

Best Flush? Please!

PostedJune 14, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Sorely disappointed in the AS Champion4, especially after reading other glowing reviews of this product. Holding the handle down for the full flush, it would not even rinse the sides of the bowl at all. Multiple flush didn't help. If waste wasn't within 1" of water surface, it was still there after the flush, including lint, hair, and urine spots. Returned same day for a refund and picked up a Kohler Memoirs toilet. Much more $$ but it provides a good flush and excellent rinsing action. I'm happy again!
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Commack, NY

Put the plunger out to pasture

PostedJune 26, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We have only had the toilet for a couple of days, but it has passed the "acid" test, if you know what I mean. It handles solid waste much better than the old Kohler toilet that it replaced.
We had it installed by a professional plumber, so installation went smoothly. The only issue was the plumber said the bolts that came with it to attach the toilet to the floor were too thin/not strong enough, so he replaced them with ones he supplied.
Noise level seems reasonable; perhaps a bit louder than old toilet, but only for a few seconds.
My wife is also not happy with the seat, which is why I am only giving 4 stars.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 >>