728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop z_Old_Two-Piece Toilets or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White

Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White

The American Standard Champion 4 2-piece Dual-Flush Elongated Toilet in White is made from ceramic and features an elongated bowl design. The toilet features a 4 in. piston-action accelerator flush valve and comes with a seat, a wax ring and flange bolts.
Overall rating:
4.324 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(68 reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product58 of 67reviews
Rating Breakdown 68 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(45)
4
(13)
3
(1)
2
(5)
1
(4)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product58 of 67reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
Review 21 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Savannah, GA

Excellent Flushing

PostedJuly 11, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought and installed the American Standard Champion 4 #2586 toilet kit myself about 5 months ago. Installation was pretty straight forward. Flush performance is excellent although a little bit loud; I'm amazed at how well it cleans and evacuates the bowl while using very little water. Only rarely do we have to flush twice. My only complaints are about the height and the plastic seat and lid. The bowl height is too tall for my 5'2" wife and almost too high for me (I'm 6'0"). The plastic seat and lid are somewhat flimsy; but are still acceptable at this time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Pittsburgh, PA

ok but not as good as Kohler Cimarron

PostedDecember 23, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this toilet because of recommendation. Tank leans forward because gasket is too thick. Causes seat not to stay up. Seat is cheap, flimsy, and uncomfortable. Flush is weak. Got my money back and bought Kohler Cimarron. Same price, much better in ever aspect. Don't waste your money on this toilet, get the Kohler!
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White

Nice height, flushes fast

PostedOctober 23, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We just had our Champion 4 professionally installed and I love it. I feel like a kid that came in from the outhouse. It not only flushes fast, but it is a lot quieter than our old one. We got the ADA model since we are getting older and it is nice not to have to sit so low. I would recommend this to anyone that is thinking about replacing their toilets. It is great value for the cost, too.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Scottsdale, Arizona

wrong height/good water saver

PostedOctober 7, 2009
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am 5'2 I feel like a kid using this as my whole foot doesn't reach the floor, only the balls of my feet . I don't like the flush handle it is too short to put more than a few fingers on and is a hard flush. It is a great water saver, there is only a very very small amt of water in the bowl.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Huntington New York

excellent

PostedOctober 25, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm glad to have choose the champion 4. It has made our life much easier. My daughter is handicapped, my self I have a bad knee and my husband and I are tall. The hieght is much easier, the flush is great, the only thing is the seat is cheap and will be replaced. It is not comfortable. If you are looking for a higher tiolet this is it.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Atlanta, GA

Solid Flush

PostedJanuary 16, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Champion is a solid toilet all around. Easily flushes anything and is remarkebly quiet. Our old toilet flushed very loudly, and had the tendency for the water to run. This toilet took us 45 minutes to install and is quiet..even right after you flush. The seat sits higher which is much more comfortable than the lower height toilets.
If your looking for value with quality to back it up..buy this toilet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Atlanta

Mother-In-Law Trouble

PostedApril 20, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love my wife. And she loves her mother. And so when my mother-in-law is in town, we treat her as we would any guest and let her use the bathroom. Over a 7 year period, she has clogged the toilet no fewer than 30 times (often twice in a day) No, this is a letter to WebMD but rather a note of acknowledgement that the Champion 4 has not only saved my marriage but possibly a woman's life.
It was after her last visit to my house to offload what I can only assume is a steady diet of broccoli, cabbage and gravel that I decided to take matter in my own hands. Vowing to solve the problem once and for all, I strode in to the local Home Depot and after pausing to price the cost of a tarp, a shovel, a large bag of lye and 7-10 years in federal prison I spoke with a nice man in plumbing. After letting me vent and shed a few tears, he directed me to the Champion 4 toilet. You know those moments in your life when the world slows down and all the ambient noise gives way and you are filled with a calm feeling of fulfillment? The birth of my children, hitting the game winning double in the state quarterfinals, college graduation and now this. The Champion 4. Read the other reviews that talk about ease of installation, water flow and seat height--they are all true. It is a great toilet and has operated flawlessly for sometime now but to me it is much more. It is so much more.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Cleveland, Oh

Love it!

PostedNovember 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We were using a toilet plunger on a daily basis, thinking it was just an old house... Just purchased this toilet and it flushes, every time, fast. life is good! Also love the the comfort height.
great toilet - highly recommend it!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Grants Pass, OR

Awesome Flush

PostedDecember 6, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I spent a lot of on line time reading reviews on different toilets. I finally settled on this one, and it was worth the time. There are too many good reviews on this toilet. It was easy to install. Two inches of additional height makes it very comfortable for my 6'1" or wife's 5'6." We gave it some serious challenges and it passed, literally, everything we could throw at it. Two seconds. That's the time for a complete flush not counting fill time. No swirling water and wondering it it will go down. The oft used plunger is back in the garage.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Sylvan Grove, KS

Take time to check the box for all supplies

PostedDecember 24, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Take the time to check the box before leaving the store! We bought this toilet Christmas Eve in a factory sealed box. Upon arriving home from the store (60 miles away), we found that it did not include many of things that were to have been included, such as the tank to bowl gasket, attachment handles with nuts (2), plastic washers (2), wax ring, and t-bolts with retainer (2). We haven't used it yet, but had to scavenge from supplies on hand to even install it. Major headache since most people wouldn't have alternate supplies on hand.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Florida

WOW

PostedAugust 14, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
we had issues in our guest bathroom for 2 years. as soon as i installed this toilet not one issue has occured. i am now planning on putting this model in my master bath, and i dont even need to replace it. the little bit of extra money is well worth it, trust me you will spend more money on a plumber.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from nj

water saver, comfortable but strange smell

PostedMarch 14, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After I chose AS Champion Elongated toilet, I told my contractor to replace the old one. I am happy n with the comfort, height and water saving flush but a strange type of smell is there. Will it go away or remain like this. Also, I do not have cleaning instructions so please inform. Thank you.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Flowery Branch, GA

I love this toilet.

PostedOctober 22, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We just installed two of these American Standard Champion 4 (ADA height) toilets in our house and I love them both. The toilets they replaced had trouble disposing of solid waste. So, we had to flush two, three, even four times to get the waste down. And the noise of refilling sounded like a water line busted and sometimes like a jet engine revving up. The Champion 4 takes whatever we throw at it. There is the noise of the flush when air siphons back into the "U" channel. It refills quickly and quietly.
About the only negative things are that the seat that comes with it are cheap plastic and are not very comfortable. Luckily we researched this and kept the seats off the old toilets.
Another thing that could be improved upon it the flush handle. It is plastic and feels like it is angled to the point that your fingers will slip off of it when pushing down on it.
One last thing is that the hold down bolts that come with it are the smaller size of hold down bolts. I believe it comes with 3/16 inch bolts. I do recommend getting 1/4 inch bolts. They don't cost much and will hold down the toilet better.
Overall though, I love this toilet and will be installing another one in the kids bathroom in a couple of weeks. I hope this helps you make your decision.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Twin Cities, Minnesota

American Standard Champion 4 Toilet

PostedDecember 4, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After many disappointments with flushing mechanisms on other toilets (including use by 3 grandkids), I bought this toilet after some research and exploring the Amer. Std. website. Wow - what a difference! I remodeled my bathroom and this Champion 4 toilet makes a world of difference. I liked it so much that, after two months use, I purchased another for my second bathroom. Well-worth the price - can't go wrong on this one!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Calif

After 4 years it is still the best

PostedDecember 16, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
There is nothing this toilet cannot flush and the tall height is a must for me. Only thing is it is not the prettiest toilet out there but it works better than any I have every owned. After three years and many tests, it passes with flying colors. No plunger needs to be kept anymore. I did have a flushing part in the tank start leaking, called the company and sent a new one and it is back up and working perfect again. Save the paperwork in case it ever happens to you.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Johnstown, PA

Tank will not touch bowl

PostedJanuary 6, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This toilet has good flushing power, but it has a bad tank and bowl design. I bought this at my local Home Depot and folowed the instructions supplied with the toilet. Despite this, the tank will not go the full way down and touch the bowl--it wobbles and has leaked once. I contacted American Standard customer service via e-mail and they told me to do what I explained to them didn't work--AMAZING. I'm probably going to have to take the toilet up and return it to Home Depot--a real mess.
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Huntsville, Al

Excellent toilet

PostedMay 29, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the second house we have installed these toilets in. Easy to install (although i don't recommend using wax rings with the plastic funnel as it tends to not allow the toilet to seat correctly) with just a basic knowledge. Excellent product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from OR

Works great

PostedMay 25, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased 2 of these toilets for replacing my old 3 gallon ones, and they work great. Some reviewers found the flushing noise to loud, but I didn't. The cleaning efficiency of the flush was way better then my old toilets.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from morrow, ga.

PostedFebruary 26, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
needed to replace one toilet decided to go ahead and replace 2 with plans to replace the 3rd next month. limited knowledge of low flow toilets and there effectiveness in saving water. sales person instrumental in helping me decide on the Champion 4 Right Height. seat height and warranty were my deciding factors. installation took less then 2 hours. both toilets are gorgeous and deliver as promised, great swirling action. drawbacks, can get pricey with delivery fee $75.00 and removal cost of $25.00 per unit. find out how to clean the bowels to avoid voiding the warranty. better toilet seats needed ( ones provided cheap and uncomfortable). otherwise pleased with the purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Atlanta, GA

What an upgrade...

PostedMarch 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had builder grade toilets in my house for years and got accustomed to struggling with clogs and noise. After upgrading a powder room with a new sink and faucet, I decided to change out the toilet as well as this particular one had been notorious for leaving guests in bad situations. The Champion was easy to install and the performance was a real eye opener...I had not grasped how poor the builder grade toilet really was. The Champion is comfortable, quiet and never struggles...night and day. I've gone ahead and changed out 3 of the 4 toilets in the house so far with one to go....this is a solid product that is light years ahead of what i had.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 >>