728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop z_Old_Two-Piece Toilets or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White

Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White

The American Standard Champion 4 2-piece Dual-Flush Elongated Toilet in White is made from ceramic and features an elongated bowl design. The toilet features a 4 in. piston-action accelerator flush valve and comes with a seat, a wax ring and flange bolts.
Overall rating:
4.324 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(68 reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product58 of 67reviews
Rating Breakdown 68 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(45)
4
(13)
3
(1)
2
(5)
1
(4)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product58 of 67reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
Review 21 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
Donnus
from Grants Pass, OR

Awesome Flush

PostedDecember 6, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I spent a lot of on line time reading reviews on different toilets. I finally settled on this one, and it was worth the time. There are too many good reviews on this toilet. It was easy to install. Two inches of additional height makes it very comfortable for my 6'1" or wife's 5'6." We gave it some serious challenges and it passed, literally, everything we could throw at it. Two seconds. That's the time for a complete flush not counting fill time. No swirling water and wondering it it will go down. The oft used plunger is back in the garage.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
Chapjack
from Sylvan Grove, KS

Take time to check the box for all supplies

PostedDecember 24, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Take the time to check the box before leaving the store! We bought this toilet Christmas Eve in a factory sealed box. Upon arriving home from the store (60 miles away), we found that it did not include many of things that were to have been included, such as the tank to bowl gasket, attachment handles with nuts (2), plastic washers (2), wax ring, and t-bolts with retainer (2). We haven't used it yet, but had to scavenge from supplies on hand to even install it. Major headache since most people wouldn't have alternate supplies on hand.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
ToddB
from Home owner from Boston

Fantastic dual flush, but uncomfortable seat

PostedJanuary 3, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
As an avid golfer, I couldn't pass up a toilet that advertises it can flush a bucket of golf balls!
This toilet is taller than the old standard, which I think is great. It's dual flushing, which the store employee was not aware of. If you hold the lever down for one second, or so, it gives a quick flush using very little water. Surprisingly, I've found this is all I need 90% of the time. Cool! If you hold the lever down longer, it gives a full flush. Very strong!
For the negatives:
1. Open the box before you haul it home. I was missing what the company tells me was supposed to be installed into the tank: bolts for mounting it to the base. This wasted over two hours of my time and several conversations. I was finally given a generic mounting kit, but I would have preferred a new bowl with the correct ones mounted. Or, at least to see one so I could see what they come with.
2. Personally, I think the seat is really uncomfortable. Cuts off my circulation after just a few minutes. Looking online, I see seats for as much as $80 for this toilet, and I don't understand why I'd need to pay more money for a seat that doesn't hurt. TBD.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
BIGGUY123
from NEW JERSEY

CHAMPION 4 TOILET

PostedApril 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
THIS IS A GREAT TOILET. AFTER YEARS OF USING A PLUNGER, THIS TOILET IS REMARKABLE. I HAD A PLUMBER INSTALL IT. AND IT TOOK LONGER TO DISCONNECT THE OLD TOILET THEN TO INSTALL THE NEW ONE. ONE FLUSH AND EVERTHING GOES. PEOPLE BUY THIS ONE. ITS GREAT.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
Nick

Quick flush, little water

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a nice toilet: it uses practically no water as compared to my old one from 1991; it flushes everything quickly; it was easy to install, and I feel good about myself that I'm saving just a little bit more off my water bill.
Here are a couple of items to note:
1. The toilet is heavy, so you'll likely need a couple of people to lift the box. Once out of the box, one person can likely handle lifting the bowl.
2. Installing was simple enough, you really don't need any tools other than the ones provided, but you will need a scraper to scrape out the old wax ring.
3. I did buy a new 12" water supply line, since the old one was metal and bent in a way that would not reach the tank. The 12" line just fits, I don't know if that's because this toilet sits higher, I seem to remember more play in the line with other toilets.
4. The toilet rim is 17" high from the floor. The toilet seat almost adds another inch to that. So if you're a short person with short legs, be prepared to barely touch the floor (my wife is 5' 3", and she can't flat-foot the floor, she tiptoes). But it is much easier to get off the toilet than the standard 15" height.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
Karen
from Maryland
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Flushes like a champ!

PostedJanuary 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed two of these in my home about 4 months ago, and have had no problems. They flush completely, and I find them as quiet as a toilet can be. It took a while getting adjusted to the flexible seat, but I don't even notice it any more.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
Unhappybuyer
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Lousy toilet, wish we didn't buy it

PostedJune 3, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I hate this toilet. It runs about every 4th flush, don't know how to fix it. Also, the handle is super flimsy, and sometimes when you push it down, it doesn't flush. Worst toilet ever.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
TK
from Green Valley, AZ

PostedSeptember 11, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Flushes and cleans very well. Easy to install. Very solid workmanship, although the seat is marginal.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
macjo
from janesville, wisconsin

great flush

PostedOctober 1, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this is my second champion toilet and I have one more to go--- no more plugged stools and i`m one happy flusher.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
aneuhart
from Pittsburgh, PA

ok but not as good as Kohler Cimarron

PostedDecember 23, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this toilet because of recommendation. Tank leans forward because gasket is too thick. Causes seat not to stay up. Seat is cheap, flimsy, and uncomfortable. Flush is weak. Got my money back and bought Kohler Cimarron. Same price, much better in ever aspect. Don't waste your money on this toilet, get the Kohler!
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
WAHarleyGuy
from WA State

Excellent

PostedDecember 28, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After continually repairing a 25 year old toilet in our manufactured home, I decided to take the plunge and replace it. I checked Consumer Reports and printed out my shopping list. I also checked the various reviews here.
The product installed perfectly in about 2 hours with everything working as I had hoped. I did re-adjust the flush chain after about the first 6 flushes, as I expected it probably stretched a bit.
As to those that rated this product poorly, all I can say is that they must have other issues; water pressure, flush adjustment, etc... Also it was advertised as a chair height toilet, so if you;re of a smaller stature, then buy a toilet of standard height.
I'm ready to replace my second toilet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
BGold
from Atlanta, GA

Champion Flusher

PostedDecember 28, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I don't usually write reviews, but my experience with this toilet has been so possitive that I felt compelled to write a review. Several features of this Champion 4 have made me a big fan:
1.) Easy install
2..) Higher Seating Position
3.) Comfortable Oblong Seat
4.) Rapid Flush and Fill (this thing almost cleans itself!)
Never thought a toilet could bring such joy to an often unnoticed daily ritual, but it has. I've got two more toilets to relpace, and I'm going Champion 4!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
leachp

Champion4

PostedJanuary 18, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The toilet is perfect except for the seat. I purchased another seat to use instead of the one that come with. I was surprised that they furnished that type of seat. I love the height, elongated, quick flush, low water use, easy to install...what more could you ask for? a different seat!~ Only rzason it received 5 stars was the seat!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
MikeBrenMan
from Atlanta

Mother-In-Law Trouble

PostedApril 20, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love my wife. And she loves her mother. And so when my mother-in-law is in town, we treat her as we would any guest and let her use the bathroom. Over a 7 year period, she has clogged the toilet no fewer than 30 times (often twice in a day) No, this is a letter to WebMD but rather a note of acknowledgement that the Champion 4 has not only saved my marriage but possibly a woman's life.
It was after her last visit to my house to offload what I can only assume is a steady diet of broccoli, cabbage and gravel that I decided to take matter in my own hands. Vowing to solve the problem once and for all, I strode in to the local Home Depot and after pausing to price the cost of a tarp, a shovel, a large bag of lye and 7-10 years in federal prison I spoke with a nice man in plumbing. After letting me vent and shed a few tears, he directed me to the Champion 4 toilet. You know those moments in your life when the world slows down and all the ambient noise gives way and you are filled with a calm feeling of fulfillment? The birth of my children, hitting the game winning double in the state quarterfinals, college graduation and now this. The Champion 4. Read the other reviews that talk about ease of installation, water flow and seat height--they are all true. It is a great toilet and has operated flawlessly for sometime now but to me it is much more. It is so much more.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
MikePud
from Seattle area

Great product

PostedOctober 23, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am very happy with this toilet, especially considering the price. I went from a toilet that plugged every time, to this one that has not plugged up yet. The installation and instructions were very easy.
I can see the problem with the handle and lever - it is pretty cheap, and not very functional - your fingers tend to slip off it. If it breaks I will just replace it which is no big deal to me. The refill time is a little slow (75 seconds) but that is partially due to my lousy water pressure. If it does not plug, then fast refill time is not that important anyway... Toillet seat is cheap but I bought one of those Bemis slow close ones which are awesome. I'll never own a regular closer aagain! I did have to buy a longer water supply tube since the previous toilet was a standard height. Overall very happy - especially with the HD price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
MizFurball
from A small town in Oregon

Champion 4 is a champion

PostedOctober 25, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My handyman installed this toilet for me about 2 months ago. My old toilet had serious problems with solid waste. Sometimes I would have to plunge furiously to get things to go down. Sometimes, I would even have to get up on a ladder to drop a full bucket of water into the old toilet, so I could stop plunging for a day or two.
This toilet is so good. I watch in amazement every day as it flushes completely on the first try. I cannot tell you what a relief it is to know the toilet will flush when I have guests over. This toilet will not embarrass me...or you.
My only reservation is that the handle and its assembly are plastic, so I bought a metal replacement right away.
If you are sick of clogs and plunging, the Champion 4 will make your bathroom a happier place.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
omed123
from Stroudsburg PA

Champion 4 toilet

PostedDecember 18, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is an excellent product. We had a handyman install it, so we can't comment on ease of installation. But we were very happy with our purchase, from the very first flush. It has a really powerful flush, which washes the entire bowl out. It saves water, which is a great feature. Also, the curved surface at the back of the toilet where it meets the "water closet" is an easy cleaning feature that was the tie-breaker when comparing the different models in the store. You will not regret this purchase.
The only negative is that the warranty is only good within 30 days of purchase. So if you are slowly accumulating items for a major bath remodel as we did, or just are a procrastinator, be aware of this.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
Ambercrombie
from Limerick ,PA

Great flusher!

PostedFebruary 21, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I installed one of these in my old house and it's a real performer. Only a little water goes into the bowl, and at first I didn't think there was any way this thing was going to flush well, but wow, it does.
I did have the same problem as another reviewer with the tank not touching the base in front. The spud gasket is HUGE (gasket b/w the tank and base) and the tank will really wobble around when you first put it on. I also called AS customer support and they said to just keep tightening. I never did get them to touch, but it never leaked or caused any problems.
I am going to install more of these in my new house and am thinking about buying a Fluidmaster tank kit and use the spud gasket that comes with that instead of the stock one.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
TrapperL
from San Antonio, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Easy install

PostedJanuary 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Hard to give accolades to a commode but this is a dandy. American Standard has made this pretty much an idiot proof installation but be fore warned, this is a heavy commode. Otherwise, it's pretty much already assembled and adjusted. Install for a novice maybe 30 minutes from a clean set. Flush takes less than a second and is almost instant. The unit has a coating on the finish that means you cannot use an acid type toilet bowl cleaner. Just use a disinfectant and a brush- real easy. About the only bad thing to say about it is that some of the solid waste will cling to the bowl as it's flushed. While I don't know about Nationally, Home Depot does not stock any parts for these units so if you have issues, you'll be at a plumbing supply to get them. The entire unit though is covered by a 10 year warranty including parts, toilet seat has a 1 year warranty. The warranty is probably why HD doesn't stock parts. If you're looking for a GOOD low flow commode that works, especially on older houses, this is the one. HD also had the lowest price in our area by a LOT!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
dlamb214
from Virginia

Champion 4 review

PostedAugust 10, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have owned this toilet for about 3 months now and have been absolutely delighted with its performance. I know that most people don't get excited about toilets, but the toilets that were in my home when I purchased it several years ago repeatedy clogged or required several flushes to complete their task. Not so with the Champion 4. I have yet to have the toilet clog, it's quieter, refills and cycles quicker, and the china seems to stay cleaner than my older toilet. I highly recommend this product.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 >>