728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop z_Old_Two-Piece Toilets or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White

Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White

The American Standard Champion 4 2-piece Dual-Flush Elongated Toilet in White is made from ceramic and features an elongated bowl design. The toilet features a 4 in. piston-action accelerator flush valve and comes with a seat, a wax ring and flange bolts.
Overall rating:
4.324 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(68 reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product58 of 67reviews
Rating Breakdown 68 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(45)
4
(13)
3
(1)
2
(5)
1
(4)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product58 of 67reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
Review 21 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Scottsdale AZ

Champion 4 Elongated toilet #2586

PostedMay 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
American Standard must have read the reviews about the cheap seat on this toilet. I bought this model on 5/15 /11 and was surprised that it came with a self closing one. I did buy a heavier flush handel. Toilet was a snap to install no leaks and flushes like a dream. well worth $234.00 I love the height
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Fullerton, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Flush O Rama!

PostedSeptember 10, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Just installed the Champion and a Cadet 4. American Standard has done a great job with making toliet replacement intsallations a breeze compared to years ago. All the necessary items are included for "no tools" needed installation. From removal of the old toliet (a 10 year old Toto) to the first flush of the Champion took me 30 minutes. No leaks, no run, no problems!.
And for the extra few dollars the Champion is indeed a champion flush a matic wonder. Whoosh and its bye bye well you get the idea!
If the extra little bit of water is not an issue per flush I would go with the Champion over the Cadet. Just a much better design on waste removal. Flush your troubles down the drain with the American Standard Champion!!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White

An amazing toilet!

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
You have to hand it to American Standard. The engineering that went into this toilet is impressive. It seems nothing can clog it, and it still uses a fraction of the water needed by my old toilet. My only complaint is the quality of the lever, but that's simple to replace.
When we ordered, one of the three units didn't include the slow close toilet set because they were older SKUs. Make sure you check this first.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Maryland
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Flushes like a champ!

PostedJanuary 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I installed two of these in my home about 4 months ago, and have had no problems. They flush completely, and I find them as quiet as a toilet can be. It took a while getting adjusted to the flexible seat, but I don't even notice it any more.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Twin Cities, Minnesota

American Standard Champion 4 Toilet

PostedDecember 4, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After many disappointments with flushing mechanisms on other toilets (including use by 3 grandkids), I bought this toilet after some research and exploring the Amer. Std. website. Wow - what a difference! I remodeled my bathroom and this Champion 4 toilet makes a world of difference. I liked it so much that, after two months use, I purchased another for my second bathroom. Well-worth the price - can't go wrong on this one!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from WA State

Excellent

PostedDecember 28, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After continually repairing a 25 year old toilet in our manufactured home, I decided to take the plunge and replace it. I checked Consumer Reports and printed out my shopping list. I also checked the various reviews here.
The product installed perfectly in about 2 hours with everything working as I had hoped. I did re-adjust the flush chain after about the first 6 flushes, as I expected it probably stretched a bit.
As to those that rated this product poorly, all I can say is that they must have other issues; water pressure, flush adjustment, etc... Also it was advertised as a chair height toilet, so if you;re of a smaller stature, then buy a toilet of standard height.
I'm ready to replace my second toilet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Atlanta, GA

Champion Flusher

PostedDecember 28, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I don't usually write reviews, but my experience with this toilet has been so possitive that I felt compelled to write a review. Several features of this Champion 4 have made me a big fan:
1.) Easy install
2..) Higher Seating Position
3.) Comfortable Oblong Seat
4.) Rapid Flush and Fill (this thing almost cleans itself!)
Never thought a toilet could bring such joy to an often unnoticed daily ritual, but it has. I've got two more toilets to relpace, and I'm going Champion 4!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Cleveland, Ohio

Good product!

PostedDecember 28, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is a nice toliet and it is very easy to install. With the exception of the seat it is very nice product. It did require a few simple adjustments to make it flush how I liked. After that it was a fantastic product that has performed very well. The only reason I didn't give it five stars is because the seat. I'm surprised that they have such a cheap seat on such a nice product.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from SE Kansas

It's a Champ

PostedJuly 15, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a great toilet! A very comfortable height, especially for taller people. Also makes rising easier for older folks. A good clean flush every time- no yucky debris left sticking to the sides!! And really, isn't that all you want from a toilet?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Sacramento, CA

Best Flush? Please!

PostedJune 14, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Sorely disappointed in the AS Champion4, especially after reading other glowing reviews of this product. Holding the handle down for the full flush, it would not even rinse the sides of the bowl at all. Multiple flush didn't help. If waste wasn't within 1" of water surface, it was still there after the flush, including lint, hair, and urine spots. Returned same day for a refund and picked up a Kohler Memoirs toilet. Much more $$ but it provides a good flush and excellent rinsing action. I'm happy again!
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Virginia

Champion 4 review

PostedAugust 10, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have owned this toilet for about 3 months now and have been absolutely delighted with its performance. I know that most people don't get excited about toilets, but the toilets that were in my home when I purchased it several years ago repeatedy clogged or required several flushes to complete their task. Not so with the Champion 4. I have yet to have the toilet clog, it's quieter, refills and cycles quicker, and the china seems to stay cleaner than my older toilet. I highly recommend this product.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Johnstown, PA

Tank will not touch bowl

PostedJanuary 6, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This toilet has good flushing power, but it has a bad tank and bowl design. I bought this at my local Home Depot and folowed the instructions supplied with the toilet. Despite this, the tank will not go the full way down and touch the bowl--it wobbles and has leaked once. I contacted American Standard customer service via e-mail and they told me to do what I explained to them didn't work--AMAZING. I'm probably going to have to take the toilet up and return it to Home Depot--a real mess.
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White

Nice height, flushes fast

PostedOctober 23, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We just had our Champion 4 professionally installed and I love it. I feel like a kid that came in from the outhouse. It not only flushes fast, but it is a lot quieter than our old one. We got the ADA model since we are getting older and it is nice not to have to sit so low. I would recommend this to anyone that is thinking about replacing their toilets. It is great value for the cost, too.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from A small town in Oregon

Champion 4 is a champion

PostedOctober 25, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My handyman installed this toilet for me about 2 months ago. My old toilet had serious problems with solid waste. Sometimes I would have to plunge furiously to get things to go down. Sometimes, I would even have to get up on a ladder to drop a full bucket of water into the old toilet, so I could stop plunging for a day or two.
This toilet is so good. I watch in amazement every day as it flushes completely on the first try. I cannot tell you what a relief it is to know the toilet will flush when I have guests over. This toilet will not embarrass me...or you.
My only reservation is that the handle and its assembly are plastic, so I bought a metal replacement right away.
If you are sick of clogs and plunging, the Champion 4 will make your bathroom a happier place.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from SF Bay Area, CA

2 Rejects -- Poor Glaze

PostedMarch 6, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought two of these to remdel baths. Flush great, relatively quied. Problem: Both have glaze issues in the bowls -- the suface is rough and makes cleaning, even with bleach, impossible.
I would return and replace them, but dont have the time. Very dissapointed every time I see the stains.
Also, plastic seats are cheap, but acceptable for the price. Tend to losen are require retightening.
0points
8out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Newport News, VA

I CAN FINALLY PUT MY PLUNGER IN THE CLOSET

PostedJanuary 17, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Congress passed the Energy Policy Act back in the early 1990's, mandating 1.6 gallons per flush, and Americans have dealt with poor flushing ever since. Finally a reasonably priced alternative to power assisted toilets that can reek havoc on older plumbing. Installed with ease in less than an hour (including old toilet removal). I can finally put my plunger in the closet. Thank you American Standard for an innovative and consistent product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from San Diego

Great Flush...but

PostedAugust 16, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
IF YOU USE A PLUMBER OR HOME DEPOT TO INSTALL: You will have no problems and enjoy a great flush. Wow, I was flushing my old 3.5 gal. twice to get a flush, but now only once. Saving lots of water here in San Diego. Also, the bowl stays clean.
IF YOU INSTALL YOURSELF: When attaching the tank, it doesn't seem that you can tighten the tank down enough to meet the bowl without cracking the tank. I called American Standard and the customer service person said she gets about 10 calls a day on this question. She told me not to worry, just tighten it carefully and evenly on both sides and you won't crack the tank. The tank first contacts the front contacks of the bowl, and with further tightening it contacts the rear. I used both a level and spacers as I tightened about a half turn each time to keep it even. It takes a little time, but it works. I'm 66 years old, so anyone with a little common sense can do it. Good luck, you'll appreciate your efforts.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Green Valley, AZ

PostedSeptember 11, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Flushes and cleans very well. Easy to install. Very solid workmanship, although the seat is marginal.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Florida

WOW

PostedAugust 14, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
we had issues in our guest bathroom for 2 years. as soon as i installed this toilet not one issue has occured. i am now planning on putting this model in my master bath, and i dont even need to replace it. the little bit of extra money is well worth it, trust me you will spend more money on a plumber.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Scottsdale, Arizona

wrong height/good water saver

PostedOctober 7, 2009
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am 5'2 I feel like a kid using this as my whole foot doesn't reach the floor, only the balls of my feet . I don't like the flush handle it is too short to put more than a few fingers on and is a hard flush. It is a great water saver, there is only a very very small amt of water in the bowl.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 >>