728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop z_Old_Two-Piece Toilets or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White

Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White

The American Standard Champion 4 2-piece Dual-Flush Elongated Toilet in White is made from ceramic and features an elongated bowl design. The toilet features a 4 in. piston-action accelerator flush valve and comes with a seat, a wax ring and flange bolts.
Overall rating:
4.324 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(68 reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product58 of 67reviews
Rating Breakdown 68 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(45)
4
(13)
3
(1)
2
(5)
1
(4)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product58 of 67reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
Review 21 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Atlanta, GA

Solid Flush

PostedJanuary 16, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Champion is a solid toilet all around. Easily flushes anything and is remarkebly quiet. Our old toilet flushed very loudly, and had the tendency for the water to run. This toilet took us 45 minutes to install and is quiet..even right after you flush. The seat sits higher which is much more comfortable than the lower height toilets.
If your looking for value with quality to back it up..buy this toilet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from nj

water saver, comfortable but strange smell

PostedMarch 14, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After I chose AS Champion Elongated toilet, I told my contractor to replace the old one. I am happy n with the comfort, height and water saving flush but a strange type of smell is there. Will it go away or remain like this. Also, I do not have cleaning instructions so please inform. Thank you.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Atlanta, GA

Nice toilet , cheap seat

PostedMay 4, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Toilet works great, was easy to install. Only bummer was the cheap seat.
If it came w/ a 129.00 toilet I would understand.
On an upgraded toilet I would expect an upgraded seat.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Savannah, GA

Excellent Flushing

PostedJuly 11, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought and installed the American Standard Champion 4 #2586 toilet kit myself about 5 months ago. Installation was pretty straight forward. Flush performance is excellent although a little bit loud; I'm amazed at how well it cleans and evacuates the bowl while using very little water. Only rarely do we have to flush twice. My only complaints are about the height and the plastic seat and lid. The bowl height is too tall for my 5'2" wife and almost too high for me (I'm 6'0"). The plastic seat and lid are somewhat flimsy; but are still acceptable at this time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from NC

GREAT TOILET

PostedAugust 17, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
CERTAINLY ONE OF THE BEST FLUSHING TOILETS ON THE MARKET
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Flowery Branch, GA

I love this toilet.

PostedOctober 22, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We just installed two of these American Standard Champion 4 (ADA height) toilets in our house and I love them both. The toilets they replaced had trouble disposing of solid waste. So, we had to flush two, three, even four times to get the waste down. And the noise of refilling sounded like a water line busted and sometimes like a jet engine revving up. The Champion 4 takes whatever we throw at it. There is the noise of the flush when air siphons back into the "U" channel. It refills quickly and quietly.
About the only negative things are that the seat that comes with it are cheap plastic and are not very comfortable. Luckily we researched this and kept the seats off the old toilets.
Another thing that could be improved upon it the flush handle. It is plastic and feels like it is angled to the point that your fingers will slip off of it when pushing down on it.
One last thing is that the hold down bolts that come with it are the smaller size of hold down bolts. I believe it comes with 3/16 inch bolts. I do recommend getting 1/4 inch bolts. They don't cost much and will hold down the toilet better.
Overall though, I love this toilet and will be installing another one in the kids bathroom in a couple of weeks. I hope this helps you make your decision.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Cleveland, Oh

Love it!

PostedNovember 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We were using a toilet plunger on a daily basis, thinking it was just an old house... Just purchased this toilet and it flushes, every time, fast. life is good! Also love the the comfort height.
great toilet - highly recommend it!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Chicago, IL

PLUNGER IS GETTING DUSTY!!!!

PostedDecember 5, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, this toilet!!! I was plunging my old toilet at least once a day, sometimes twice a day, due to large bowel movements from my growing boys, and due to the use of too much toilet paper by said boys. My boys and husband give the toilet a workout on a daily basis!! I was sick and tired of plunging the toilet! So, I finally decided to get a new one and went with the Champion due to recommendations from others and because of the great reviews I read. It lives up to everything I heard about it. We bought it the week before Thanksgiving because we were going to have a house full of people. Hasn't clogged once!!! The only reason I gave it four stars is because I don't like the height of the toilet. We went with this one because I thought it wouldn't be that big of a difference, but it is slightly uncomfortable for me as I am only 5'1". However, my husband is 6'2" so I compromised. It isn't a big deal for me, but I wish I would have went with the regular height. However, I'm overwhelmingly happy with it's performance. The other cons for this toilet is the cheap, plastic seat it comes with and the handle seems a little flimsy as well. The handle hasn't been a problem and hopefully will be fine, but I will eventially replace the seat. Overall, very happy with my purchase and would highly recommend it to anyone.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Sylvan Grove, KS

Take time to check the box for all supplies

PostedDecember 24, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Take the time to check the box before leaving the store! We bought this toilet Christmas Eve in a factory sealed box. Upon arriving home from the store (60 miles away), we found that it did not include many of things that were to have been included, such as the tank to bowl gasket, attachment handles with nuts (2), plastic washers (2), wax ring, and t-bolts with retainer (2). We haven't used it yet, but had to scavenge from supplies on hand to even install it. Major headache since most people wouldn't have alternate supplies on hand.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Bolivar,MO

great toilet

PostedDecember 27, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This toilet was relatively easy to install for me even though I had never installed one before. This is the only toilet I found with a 10 year warranty. It flushes powerfully every time and always does the job. I have had the toilet for a month now and am very satisfied.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Home owner from Boston

Fantastic dual flush, but uncomfortable seat

PostedJanuary 3, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
As an avid golfer, I couldn't pass up a toilet that advertises it can flush a bucket of golf balls!
This toilet is taller than the old standard, which I think is great. It's dual flushing, which the store employee was not aware of. If you hold the lever down for one second, or so, it gives a quick flush using very little water. Surprisingly, I've found this is all I need 90% of the time. Cool! If you hold the lever down longer, it gives a full flush. Very strong!
For the negatives:
1. Open the box before you haul it home. I was missing what the company tells me was supposed to be installed into the tank: bolts for mounting it to the base. This wasted over two hours of my time and several conversations. I was finally given a generic mounting kit, but I would have preferred a new bowl with the correct ones mounted. Or, at least to see one so I could see what they come with.
2. Personally, I think the seat is really uncomfortable. Cuts off my circulation after just a few minutes. Looking online, I see seats for as much as $80 for this toilet, and I don't understand why I'd need to pay more money for a seat that doesn't hurt. TBD.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from NEW JERSEY

CHAMPION 4 TOILET

PostedApril 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
THIS IS A GREAT TOILET. AFTER YEARS OF USING A PLUNGER, THIS TOILET IS REMARKABLE. I HAD A PLUMBER INSTALL IT. AND IT TOOK LONGER TO DISCONNECT THE OLD TOILET THEN TO INSTALL THE NEW ONE. ONE FLUSH AND EVERTHING GOES. PEOPLE BUY THIS ONE. ITS GREAT.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Fullerton, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Flush O Rama!

PostedSeptember 10, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just installed the Champion and a Cadet 4. American Standard has done a great job with making toliet replacement intsallations a breeze compared to years ago. All the necessary items are included for "no tools" needed installation. From removal of the old toliet (a 10 year old Toto) to the first flush of the Champion took me 30 minutes. No leaks, no run, no problems!.
And for the extra few dollars the Champion is indeed a champion flush a matic wonder. Whoosh and its bye bye well you get the idea!
If the extra little bit of water is not an issue per flush I would go with the Champion over the Cadet. Just a much better design on waste removal. Flush your troubles down the drain with the American Standard Champion!!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Green Valley, AZ

PostedSeptember 11, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Flushes and cleans very well. Easy to install. Very solid workmanship, although the seat is marginal.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Scottsdale, Arizona

wrong height/good water saver

PostedOctober 7, 2009
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am 5'2 I feel like a kid using this as my whole foot doesn't reach the floor, only the balls of my feet . I don't like the flush handle it is too short to put more than a few fingers on and is a hard flush. It is a great water saver, there is only a very very small amt of water in the bowl.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Bradenton, Florida

American Standard - Champion 4

PostedOctober 18, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Recently had to update our bath area and that included replacing 2, 21 year old toilets. Have done many home projects, but never tackled a toilet. We went to Home Depot where the associate was very helpful and walked us through our needs.
We settled on this item and brand due to previous experience with American Standard and the efficiency rating of "10".
The toilet came complete and ready to be installed with easy to follow instructions. After removing the old clunker toilets, these were easy to install and included ALL hardware necessary for this inexperienced homeowner to do. The seats that came with the toilets are comfortable and will not need to be replaced.
We have had them installed(2) for several weeks now and they are very comfortable, flush cleanly and clearly, and have been used a lot in this family of seven(7). Hopefully none of the kids tries out the 18 golf balls test.
Thanks for making an easy to follow product that will deliver environmental savings as well.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Cleveland, Ohio

Good product!

PostedDecember 28, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a nice toliet and it is very easy to install. With the exception of the seat it is very nice product. It did require a few simple adjustments to make it flush how I liked. After that it was a fantastic product that has performed very well. The only reason I didn't give it five stars is because the seat. I'm surprised that they have such a cheap seat on such a nice product.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Waukesha, Wisconsin

TOSS THE PLUNGER

PostedJanuary 27, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This unit replaced a 2nd Generation "Water Saving" unit. Not much in saving water, when you have to flush a second time. This unit is well made...very easy to install (I'm no handyman). Everything is complete (tank has all components already installed). This unit is a bit taller than a standard unit, but for a taller person 6' +, or a person with bad knees, or vintage in age, a perfect design.
But, how does it flush, you may ask.......PERFECT....never a problem.....and it does save water...about a 1/3 less than previous models, and works much, much better. As for the seat thats included...compare it to a $15.00 replacement seat...not great, but not cheap. I don't write reviews unless the item is great or a piece of junk. This is a 10 out of 10!!!!!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Seattle, WA

Hyper Flush

PostedMay 30, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I finished a complete main bathroom remodel. Expensive. I chose this particular model because I really hate clearing a clogged toilet. After months of use, not a single clod. The box claimed to flush a bucket of golf balls. I probably could. I won't test it though. I works because it dumps volumes of water and has a large waste orifice. It comes as a complete kit but the flush lever is a wimpy plastic job that failed after a month of use. I replaced it with an inexpensive yet stylish one from HD. I'll replace the seat some time in the future. It's a cheap o but hasn't failed. I'll say it's a great value, but mostly, it just works. No clogs. That's what was the single most important feature, then appearance, then value. It hits all those. Happy flushing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Commack, NY

Put the plunger out to pasture

PostedJune 26, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We have only had the toilet for a couple of days, but it has passed the "acid" test, if you know what I mean. It handles solid waste much better than the old Kohler toilet that it replaced.
We had it installed by a professional plumber, so installation went smoothly. The only issue was the plumber said the bolts that came with it to attach the toilet to the floor were too thin/not strong enough, so he replaced them with ones he supplied.
Noise level seems reasonable; perhaps a bit louder than old toilet, but only for a few seconds.
My wife is also not happy with the seat, which is why I am only giving 4 stars.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 >>