728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop z_Old_Two-Piece Toilets or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White

The American Standard Champion 4 2-piece Dual-Flush Elongated Toilet in White is made from ceramic and features an elongated bowl design. The toilet features a 4 in. piston-action accelerator flush valve and comes with a seat, a wax ring and flange bolts.
Overall rating:
4.324 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(68 reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product58 of 67reviews
Rating Breakdown 68 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(45)
4
(13)
3
(1)
2
(5)
1
(4)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product58 of 67reviews
Customer reviews for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
Review 21 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Chicago, IL

PLUNGER IS GETTING DUSTY!!!!

PostedDecember 5, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, this toilet!!! I was plunging my old toilet at least once a day, sometimes twice a day, due to large bowel movements from my growing boys, and due to the use of too much toilet paper by said boys. My boys and husband give the toilet a workout on a daily basis!! I was sick and tired of plunging the toilet! So, I finally decided to get a new one and went with the Champion due to recommendations from others and because of the great reviews I read. It lives up to everything I heard about it. We bought it the week before Thanksgiving because we were going to have a house full of people. Hasn't clogged once!!! The only reason I gave it four stars is because I don't like the height of the toilet. We went with this one because I thought it wouldn't be that big of a difference, but it is slightly uncomfortable for me as I am only 5'1". However, my husband is 6'2" so I compromised. It isn't a big deal for me, but I wish I would have went with the regular height. However, I'm overwhelmingly happy with it's performance. The other cons for this toilet is the cheap, plastic seat it comes with and the handle seems a little flimsy as well. The handle hasn't been a problem and hopefully will be fine, but I will eventially replace the seat. Overall, very happy with my purchase and would highly recommend it to anyone.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Bolivar,MO

great toilet

PostedDecember 27, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This toilet was relatively easy to install for me even though I had never installed one before. This is the only toilet I found with a 10 year warranty. It flushes powerfully every time and always does the job. I have had the toilet for a month now and am very satisfied.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Home owner from Boston

Fantastic dual flush, but uncomfortable seat

PostedJanuary 3, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
As an avid golfer, I couldn't pass up a toilet that advertises it can flush a bucket of golf balls!
This toilet is taller than the old standard, which I think is great. It's dual flushing, which the store employee was not aware of. If you hold the lever down for one second, or so, it gives a quick flush using very little water. Surprisingly, I've found this is all I need 90% of the time. Cool! If you hold the lever down longer, it gives a full flush. Very strong!
For the negatives:
1. Open the box before you haul it home. I was missing what the company tells me was supposed to be installed into the tank: bolts for mounting it to the base. This wasted over two hours of my time and several conversations. I was finally given a generic mounting kit, but I would have preferred a new bowl with the correct ones mounted. Or, at least to see one so I could see what they come with.
2. Personally, I think the seat is really uncomfortable. Cuts off my circulation after just a few minutes. Looking online, I see seats for as much as $80 for this toilet, and I don't understand why I'd need to pay more money for a seat that doesn't hurt. TBD.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Atlanta, GA

What an upgrade...

PostedMarch 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had builder grade toilets in my house for years and got accustomed to struggling with clogs and noise. After upgrading a powder room with a new sink and faucet, I decided to change out the toilet as well as this particular one had been notorious for leaving guests in bad situations. The Champion was easy to install and the performance was a real eye opener...I had not grasped how poor the builder grade toilet really was. The Champion is comfortable, quiet and never struggles...night and day. I've gone ahead and changed out 3 of the 4 toilets in the house so far with one to go....this is a solid product that is light years ahead of what i had.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from NEW JERSEY

CHAMPION 4 TOILET

PostedApril 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
THIS IS A GREAT TOILET. AFTER YEARS OF USING A PLUNGER, THIS TOILET IS REMARKABLE. I HAD A PLUMBER INSTALL IT. AND IT TOOK LONGER TO DISCONNECT THE OLD TOILET THEN TO INSTALL THE NEW ONE. ONE FLUSH AND EVERTHING GOES. PEOPLE BUY THIS ONE. ITS GREAT.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Alexandria, VA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Toilet

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My wife and I just bought a condo and the previous owner had the smallest toilets I have ever seen. Bough this one to try out in the 2nd bath. It works great. It is a toolless install (but you will need tools to get the old one out), which is nice. The only tough part is using the plastic piece to attach the tank to the bowl (need the smaller hands of my wife). Other than that, it is great. We even bought a second for the master bath.
This is also the cheapest price we found (cheaper than lowes, amazon, etc.) by up to $100.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Green Valley, AZ

PostedSeptember 11, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Flushes and cleans very well. Easy to install. Very solid workmanship, although the seat is marginal.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Shoreview, MN

superior toilet

PostedOctober 2, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I remodeled my bathroom last winter and had this toilet installed. The flushing is superior and is very easy to clean. The right height is nice even for us younger folks. Even the toilet seat that it comes with is comfortable, so there is no need to shop for another.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Scottsdale, Arizona

wrong height/good water saver

PostedOctober 7, 2009
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am 5'2 I feel like a kid using this as my whole foot doesn't reach the floor, only the balls of my feet . I don't like the flush handle it is too short to put more than a few fingers on and is a hard flush. It is a great water saver, there is only a very very small amt of water in the bowl.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Central MA

Waste of money

PostedOctober 17, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am thoroughly disappointed in this toilet. I am replacing it with a Kohler Archer toilet which I should have purchased in the first place. It won't even flush tissue much less anything else and certainly not a bucket of golf balls. Also, the water does not move about the bowl to clean it as it is flushing... a total WASTE OF MONEY. It's going out on the front lawn with a free sign on it - hopefully, someone will take if off my hands.
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Waukesha, Wisconsin

TOSS THE PLUNGER

PostedJanuary 27, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This unit replaced a 2nd Generation "Water Saving" unit. Not much in saving water, when you have to flush a second time. This unit is well made...very easy to install (I'm no handyman). Everything is complete (tank has all components already installed). This unit is a bit taller than a standard unit, but for a taller person 6' +, or a person with bad knees, or vintage in age, a perfect design.
But, how does it flush, you may ask.......PERFECT....never a problem.....and it does save water...about a 1/3 less than previous models, and works much, much better. As for the seat thats included...compare it to a $15.00 replacement seat...not great, but not cheap. I don't write reviews unless the item is great or a piece of junk. This is a 10 out of 10!!!!!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Roanoke, Va

Worth every penny!!

PostedMarch 27, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I did a lot of research on this product before purchase. My toilets were the original low water design and believe me if you have to flush 2-3 times you aren't saving water. This toilet is quiet and as the ad says flushes completely ever time. Its fairly easy to install and looks good. One thing to be aware of is the large (long) footprint. I had to reroute the water input line to the left because of the conflict.
I have had them installed about a month and I am %100 satisfied.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Cleveland, OH

Amazing toilet. Cheap seat and handle

PostedJune 2, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The toilet is perfect in every way except the handle and seat are poor quality. I changed the handle because it had a sharp edge on it and was also too low profile. The seat is flimsy. I tried to tighten the tank as much as I could and it still is not secure on the base. Other than that it has never let me down
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Commack, NY

Put the plunger out to pasture

PostedJune 26, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We have only had the toilet for a couple of days, but it has passed the "acid" test, if you know what I mean. It handles solid waste much better than the old Kohler toilet that it replaced.
We had it installed by a professional plumber, so installation went smoothly. The only issue was the plumber said the bolts that came with it to attach the toilet to the floor were too thin/not strong enough, so he replaced them with ones he supplied.
Noise level seems reasonable; perhaps a bit louder than old toilet, but only for a few seconds.
My wife is also not happy with the seat, which is why I am only giving 4 stars.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Flower Mound, TX

AS Champion Toilet kit

PostedJuly 15, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I installed the toilet yesterday and so far I have 2 complaints. The flush chain and handle are both junk. I took the chan and lever off of a 15 year old toilet and it works great. The 2nd is the fill time seems awfully slow. Otherwise the toilet is great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Webster Massachusetts

Burp.....

PostedSeptember 25, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the first time I have ever seen a toiolet flush like this. Instaling was very easy, as is with most toilets. They even include the socket for attaching the tank to the bowl. The name brand American Standard is made in Mexico. After it is in and all filled with water, I gave it the TEST flush. The water in the bowl burped. Yup you read it right, it burps and then evacuates. this little burp may seem minor, but remember that whatever you put in it is going to be part of that little eruption, and expel some of that into the surrounding air. So make sure you drop the lid first. The second negative aspect is that the bowl started to sweat when it got humid yesterday, and BLUE drops of wateer started running out from between the tank and the bowl. Here we go,,, a Saturday morning removing the tank to see where the blue is coming from. After I got a look at the bottom of the tank it was bue something on it, so I cleaned it off, and so far so good. Cleaning the blue stains off the floor was not fun, it didn't want to come off and bleach is the only thing that worked. I would not recommend this toilet to anybody, especially at this price. For half the price my made in China Jacuzzi brand is far superior.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Calif

After 4 years it is still the best

PostedDecember 16, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
There is nothing this toilet cannot flush and the tall height is a must for me. Only thing is it is not the prettiest toilet out there but it works better than any I have every owned. After three years and many tests, it passes with flying colors. No plunger needs to be kept anymore. I did have a flushing part in the tank start leaking, called the company and sent a new one and it is back up and working perfect again. Save the paperwork in case it ever happens to you.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White

Quick flush, little water

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a nice toilet: it uses practically no water as compared to my old one from 1991; it flushes everything quickly; it was easy to install, and I feel good about myself that I'm saving just a little bit more off my water bill.
Here are a couple of items to note:
1. The toilet is heavy, so you'll likely need a couple of people to lift the box. Once out of the box, one person can likely handle lifting the bowl.
2. Installing was simple enough, you really don't need any tools other than the ones provided, but you will need a scraper to scrape out the old wax ring.
3. I did buy a new 12" water supply line, since the old one was metal and bent in a way that would not reach the tank. The 12" line just fits, I don't know if that's because this toilet sits higher, I seem to remember more play in the line with other toilets.
4. The toilet rim is 17" high from the floor. The toilet seat almost adds another inch to that. So if you're a short person with short legs, be prepared to barely touch the floor (my wife is 5' 3", and she can't flat-foot the floor, she tiptoes). But it is much easier to get off the toilet than the standard 15" height.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Tri Cites, Michigan
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best Toilet Ever

PostedOctober 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We also used to have to use the plunger all the time my 5yr old son would plug our old toilet. Installation was easy, and it looks very nice. The tank is higher up so if you have little guys that miss it wont go under tank as easy much better for cleaning. The seat is very cozy, you could flush a five dollar foot long down this toilet. I used to be a plumber / service tech and this is the most impressive toilet I have ever seen I love this thing and would tell all friends and family about it.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from WA State

Excellent

PostedDecember 28, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After continually repairing a 25 year old toilet in our manufactured home, I decided to take the plunge and replace it. I checked Consumer Reports and printed out my shopping list. I also checked the various reviews here.
The product installed perfectly in about 2 hours with everything working as I had hoped. I did re-adjust the flush chain after about the first 6 flushes, as I expected it probably stretched a bit.
As to those that rated this product poorly, all I can say is that they must have other issues; water pressure, flush adjustment, etc... Also it was advertised as a chair height toilet, so if you;re of a smaller stature, then buy a toilet of standard height.
I'm ready to replace my second toilet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 >>