728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop z_Old_Two-Piece Toilets or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White

The American Standard Champion 4 2-piece Dual-Flush Elongated Toilet in White is made from ceramic and features an elongated bowl design. The toilet features a 4 in. piston-action accelerator flush valve and comes with a seat, a wax ring and flange bolts.
Overall rating:
4.324 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(68 reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product58 of 67reviews
Rating Breakdown 68 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(45)
4
(13)
3
(1)
2
(5)
1
(4)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product58 of 67reviews
Customer reviews for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
Review 21 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White

Nice height, flushes fast

PostedOctober 23, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We just had our Champion 4 professionally installed and I love it. I feel like a kid that came in from the outhouse. It not only flushes fast, but it is a lot quieter than our old one. We got the ADA model since we are getting older and it is nice not to have to sit so low. I would recommend this to anyone that is thinking about replacing their toilets. It is great value for the cost, too.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from A small town in Oregon

Champion 4 is a champion

PostedOctober 25, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My handyman installed this toilet for me about 2 months ago. My old toilet had serious problems with solid waste. Sometimes I would have to plunge furiously to get things to go down. Sometimes, I would even have to get up on a ladder to drop a full bucket of water into the old toilet, so I could stop plunging for a day or two.
This toilet is so good. I watch in amazement every day as it flushes completely on the first try. I cannot tell you what a relief it is to know the toilet will flush when I have guests over. This toilet will not embarrass me...or you.
My only reservation is that the handle and its assembly are plastic, so I bought a metal replacement right away.
If you are sick of clogs and plunging, the Champion 4 will make your bathroom a happier place.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Newport News, VA

I CAN FINALLY PUT MY PLUNGER IN THE CLOSET

PostedJanuary 17, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Congress passed the Energy Policy Act back in the early 1990's, mandating 1.6 gallons per flush, and Americans have dealt with poor flushing ever since. Finally a reasonably priced alternative to power assisted toilets that can reek havoc on older plumbing. Installed with ease in less than an hour (including old toilet removal). I can finally put my plunger in the closet. Thank you American Standard for an innovative and consistent product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Chicago, IL

PLUNGER IS GETTING DUSTY!!!!

PostedDecember 5, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, this toilet!!! I was plunging my old toilet at least once a day, sometimes twice a day, due to large bowel movements from my growing boys, and due to the use of too much toilet paper by said boys. My boys and husband give the toilet a workout on a daily basis!! I was sick and tired of plunging the toilet! So, I finally decided to get a new one and went with the Champion due to recommendations from others and because of the great reviews I read. It lives up to everything I heard about it. We bought it the week before Thanksgiving because we were going to have a house full of people. Hasn't clogged once!!! The only reason I gave it four stars is because I don't like the height of the toilet. We went with this one because I thought it wouldn't be that big of a difference, but it is slightly uncomfortable for me as I am only 5'1". However, my husband is 6'2" so I compromised. It isn't a big deal for me, but I wish I would have went with the regular height. However, I'm overwhelmingly happy with it's performance. The other cons for this toilet is the cheap, plastic seat it comes with and the handle seems a little flimsy as well. The handle hasn't been a problem and hopefully will be fine, but I will eventially replace the seat. Overall, very happy with my purchase and would highly recommend it to anyone.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Alexandria, VA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Toilet

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My wife and I just bought a condo and the previous owner had the smallest toilets I have ever seen. Bough this one to try out in the 2nd bath. It works great. It is a toolless install (but you will need tools to get the old one out), which is nice. The only tough part is using the plastic piece to attach the tank to the bowl (need the smaller hands of my wife). Other than that, it is great. We even bought a second for the master bath.
This is also the cheapest price we found (cheaper than lowes, amazon, etc.) by up to $100.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Stroudsburg PA

Champion 4 toilet

PostedDecember 18, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is an excellent product. We had a handyman install it, so we can't comment on ease of installation. But we were very happy with our purchase, from the very first flush. It has a really powerful flush, which washes the entire bowl out. It saves water, which is a great feature. Also, the curved surface at the back of the toilet where it meets the "water closet" is an easy cleaning feature that was the tie-breaker when comparing the different models in the store. You will not regret this purchase.
The only negative is that the warranty is only good within 30 days of purchase. So if you are slowly accumulating items for a major bath remodel as we did, or just are a procrastinator, be aware of this.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from SF Bay Area, CA

2 Rejects -- Poor Glaze

PostedMarch 6, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought two of these to remdel baths. Flush great, relatively quied. Problem: Both have glaze issues in the bowls -- the suface is rough and makes cleaning, even with bleach, impossible.
I would return and replace them, but dont have the time. Very dissapointed every time I see the stains.
Also, plastic seats are cheap, but acceptable for the price. Tend to losen are require retightening.
0points
8out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from NC

GREAT TOILET

PostedAugust 17, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
CERTAINLY ONE OF THE BEST FLUSHING TOILETS ON THE MARKET
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Virginia

Champion 4 review

PostedAugust 10, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have owned this toilet for about 3 months now and have been absolutely delighted with its performance. I know that most people don't get excited about toilets, but the toilets that were in my home when I purchased it several years ago repeatedy clogged or required several flushes to complete their task. Not so with the Champion 4. I have yet to have the toilet clog, it's quieter, refills and cycles quicker, and the china seems to stay cleaner than my older toilet. I highly recommend this product.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Winter Haven Fl

Flushing

PostedAugust 18, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
When I moved into my new home I was embarrassed when people had to flush several times and or use the plunger. I bought the Toilet and it worked perfect, I then went down and bought 2 more for the other bathrooms. Won’t buy anything but this one. And you can flush on that.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Seattle area

Great product

PostedOctober 23, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am very happy with this toilet, especially considering the price. I went from a toilet that plugged every time, to this one that has not plugged up yet. The installation and instructions were very easy.
I can see the problem with the handle and lever - it is pretty cheap, and not very functional - your fingers tend to slip off it. If it breaks I will just replace it which is no big deal to me. The refill time is a little slow (75 seconds) but that is partially due to my lousy water pressure. If it does not plug, then fast refill time is not that important anyway... Toillet seat is cheap but I bought one of those Bemis slow close ones which are awesome. I'll never own a regular closer aagain! I did have to buy a longer water supply tube since the previous toilet was a standard height. Overall very happy - especially with the HD price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Roanoke, Va

Worth every penny!!

PostedMarch 27, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I did a lot of research on this product before purchase. My toilets were the original low water design and believe me if you have to flush 2-3 times you aren't saving water. This toilet is quiet and as the ad says flushes completely ever time. Its fairly easy to install and looks good. One thing to be aware of is the large (long) footprint. I had to reroute the water input line to the left because of the conflict.
I have had them installed about a month and I am %100 satisfied.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Duluth, GA

Like the toilet, hate the seat

PostedDecember 5, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We like everything about this toilet, except the seat. We had to purchase another seat for $30 because the one that came with it was terrible.
Add at least $30 to the price of the toilet because you'll be buying a new seat, too.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White

An amazing toilet!

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
You have to hand it to American Standard. The engineering that went into this toilet is impressive. It seems nothing can clog it, and it still uses a fraction of the water needed by my old toilet. My only complaint is the quality of the lever, but that's simple to replace.
When we ordered, one of the three units didn't include the slow close toilet set because they were older SKUs. Make sure you check this first.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Coventry RI
Gender:Male

This is great!

PostedSeptember 17, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought the Champion 4 in August 2011. Prior to this I had an overflow twice a month and had to call a plummer every 6 or 8 weeks. Now I have thrown the plumbers helper in the trash. My wife said it was GROSS...She's right. Eight weeks and no back-up. These toilets are super. The flush bar could be stronger but I can deal. The seats are fairly comfortable, besides I'm not in there very long. Installation was a snap!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Huntington New York

excellent

PostedOctober 25, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'm glad to have choose the champion 4. It has made our life much easier. My daughter is handicapped, my self I have a bad knee and my husband and I are tall. The hieght is much easier, the flush is great, the only thing is the seat is cheap and will be replaced. It is not comfortable. If you are looking for a higher tiolet this is it.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from San Antonio, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Easy install

PostedJanuary 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Hard to give accolades to a commode but this is a dandy. American Standard has made this pretty much an idiot proof installation but be fore warned, this is a heavy commode. Otherwise, it's pretty much already assembled and adjusted. Install for a novice maybe 30 minutes from a clean set. Flush takes less than a second and is almost instant. The unit has a coating on the finish that means you cannot use an acid type toilet bowl cleaner. Just use a disinfectant and a brush- real easy. About the only bad thing to say about it is that some of the solid waste will cling to the bowl as it's flushed. While I don't know about Nationally, Home Depot does not stock any parts for these units so if you have issues, you'll be at a plumbing supply to get them. The entire unit though is covered by a 10 year warranty including parts, toilet seat has a 1 year warranty. The warranty is probably why HD doesn't stock parts. If you're looking for a GOOD low flow commode that works, especially on older houses, this is the one. HD also had the lowest price in our area by a LOT!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Limerick ,PA

Great flusher!

PostedFebruary 21, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I installed one of these in my old house and it's a real performer. Only a little water goes into the bowl, and at first I didn't think there was any way this thing was going to flush well, but wow, it does.
I did have the same problem as another reviewer with the tank not touching the base in front. The spud gasket is HUGE (gasket b/w the tank and base) and the tank will really wobble around when you first put it on. I also called AS customer support and they said to just keep tightening. I never did get them to touch, but it never leaked or caused any problems.
I am going to install more of these in my new house and am thinking about buying a Fluidmaster tank kit and use the spud gasket that comes with that instead of the stock one.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Bolivar,MO

great toilet

PostedDecember 27, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This toilet was relatively easy to install for me even though I had never installed one before. This is the only toilet I found with a 10 year warranty. It flushes powerfully every time and always does the job. I have had the toilet for a month now and am very satisfied.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Champion 4 2-Piece Right Height Elongated Toilet in White
from Sacramento, CA

Best Flush? Please!

PostedJune 14, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Sorely disappointed in the AS Champion4, especially after reading other glowing reviews of this product. Holding the handle down for the full flush, it would not even rinse the sides of the bowl at all. Multiple flush didn't help. If waste wasn't within 1" of water surface, it was still there after the flush, including lint, hair, and urine spots. Returned same day for a refund and picked up a Kohler Memoirs toilet. Much more $$ but it provides a good flush and excellent rinsing action. I'm happy again!
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 >>