728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop z_Old_Two-Piece Toilets or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Champion 4 Complete 2-Piece Round Toilet in White

Champion 4 Complete 2-Piece Round Toilet in White

The American Standard Champion 4 Complete 2-Piece Round Toilet in White is made from ceramic and features a round toilet bowl design that is great for smaller bathrooms. The toilet features a 4 in. piston-action accelerator flush valve and comes with a seat, wax ring and flange bolts.
Overall rating:
4.418 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(79 reviews) 79
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product67 of 77reviews
Rating Breakdown 79 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(52)
4
(17)
3
(4)
2
(3)
1
(3)
Quality 
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2 out of 5
Value 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product67 of 77reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for Champion 4 Complete 2-Piece Round Toilet in White
Review 1 for Champion 4 Complete 2-Piece Round Toilet in White
from Grand Rapids, MI

You can't get a better flush

PostedJanuary 16, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quick, quiet, powerful flush. My old toilet clogged almost every time. This one never clogs. Nothing will stop this toilet from flushing as far as I can tell.
Tightening the tank to the bowl is a bit tricky because it feels like the thing is going to break and the instructions clearly state to not over tighten it. I managed to tighten one all the way down but the other I stopped just short of the back making contact due to breakage fears. The tank is still very secure.
I would take 1 star away for the cheap toilet seat but the seat does not make the toilet in this case. It's still excellent.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Champion 4 Complete 2-Piece Round Toilet in White
from Chicagoland

Excellent product

PostedDecember 10, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Interesting seeing the comments about the difficulty setting the tank onto the base. While this was a bit of a challenge, I did get it to set nicely with a little cranking on the hardware. This does seem like something they need to improve, but it certainly doesn't detract from the overall quality of this toilet. The entire installation took about twenty minutes (I'm a pretty average DIY guy).
Note that the wax ring supplied with the toilet is the standard thickness. If your "closet flange" (the spot on the floor you attach the toilet to) is set low, like mine is due to hardwood flooring, you'll want to buy a thicker ring or use two standard rings.
Consumer Reports rated a sibling model at the top of 19 models they testing in Aug 2009. We agree with there assessment that this thing does a great job with waste removal (we no longer keep a plunger next to the toilet) and that it is very quiet. I highly recommend this model. Beside, how cool is it to have a toilet that can flush a bucket of golf balls and is called "Champion"?
One last note: The upward curved surface behind the seat is a really nice feature for keeping the toilet clean. Having teenage boys overshooting the target can result is some nastiness in the space between the base and the tank, this nice design virtually eliminates the problem.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Champion 4 Complete 2-Piece Round Toilet in White
from Northern California

Outstanding

PostedApril 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After much research, we bought 3 of these toilets and installed them in our new home. We could not be happier. The flush is powerful, fast and complete. It is comfortable and looks good. Absolutely no blockage problems yet and we really don't expect any after using them for several months. A few of the previous reviews concerned us but we took the chance and are glad that we did.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Champion 4 Complete 2-Piece Round Toilet in White
from Highlands Ranch, CO

Excellent Product ...Excellent Buy for the money!

PostedMarch 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a toilet that constantly clogged in my home. I purchased this toilet and it works perfectly. Easy install with all of the necessary items included. Because of the complete satisfaction with this product I purchased and installed two more in my home. Thanks HOME DEPOT for carrying this American Standard Champion 4!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Champion 4 Complete 2-Piece Round Toilet in White
from Louisiana

Champion 4

PostedAugust 10, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I would like to rate the champion 4 it a great toilet so far i have no had a problem with it . I just intsalled it tody it was easy to install.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Champion 4 Complete 2-Piece Round Toilet in White
from Chicago, IL

Champion Grade Toilet

PostedMarch 3, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This toilet was a life saver for me. My old cloggy toilet would only flush good for two flushes after plunging it. Forget about bowels. That old thing couldn't even flush toilet paper. I tried changing the tank innards, plunging and using an auger several times a day not a week.
I was at my wits end!!!!! I thought I might have had a blocked vent somewhere. But, all of those headaches went away when I replaced Mr. Cloggy with my awesome AS Champion 4. This baby flushes like a cyclone, fast and clean. No more wondering if my toilet will flush for the next hour. This is a Champion!****! YAY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Champion 4 Complete 2-Piece Round Toilet in White
from fremont, ca

Uncloggable!

PostedNovember 28, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this toilet about 3 years ago. It has NEVER clogged or overflowed despite heavy use and often large amounts of material to be flushed. This is in sharp contrast to the older toilets in our house. I am about to replace them with this model or perhaps the right-height version. I am so looking forward to not having to have plungers in each of those bathrooms once I do or cleaning up dirty wet floors! At the time I bought this, the Home Depot people told me this was their best flushing low flush (1.6) toilet.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Champion 4 Complete 2-Piece Round Toilet in White
from San Diego, CA

Great toilet

PostedFebruary 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I did quite a bit of reasearch before choosing the Champion 4. One of my main criteria was flushing efficiency. This toilet has not let us down. Its flushing power is all that it's cracked up to be. I believe this is due to the design, which features the industry's widest trap way (2 3/8") and flush valve (4"). We also wanted a toilet that uses 1.6 gpf as opposed to the 1.28 gpf. Others with the smaller water volume seem to complain that it often requires two flushes to clear the bowl, which defeats the purpose of getting a toilet using less water per flush. Ours hasn't required two flushes yet.
While we've only had it a week, it has never clogged and we are very pleased with it.
I chose to have Home Depot install it. This can be a hit or miss proposition, but the installer was excellent. Not a leak or any issue at all. We are delighted with this toilet.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Champion 4 Complete 2-Piece Round Toilet in White
from MI

Great

PostedJanuary 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Install was a breeze and all tools and seals are provided. Very quiet flush that is powerful. I bought a different seat because the one supplied was cheap and flimsy and as someone else said, it has a hard edge. I also read that this toilet was rated very high by Consumer Reports. I will replace all of my toilets with this one
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Champion 4 Complete 2-Piece Round Toilet in White
from Michigan

very happy

PostedSeptember 12, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very happy with purchase so far. Purchased for a small 1/2 bath that gets a lot of use. I had intended on purchasing the smaller American Standard model, but with the help of a Home Depot employee I decided on this one. I'm glad I did. Flushes great, everything needed for installation was included in the box. Installation was quick and easy.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Champion 4 Complete 2-Piece Round Toilet in White
from Manassas, VA

This product is excellent

PostedSeptember 3, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this toilets. I have been using American Standards for some time and this is the best so far. With right height and no messy left overs. Only complain is the seat which is cheap compare to the actual toilet.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Champion 4 Complete 2-Piece Round Toilet in White
from Chicago, IL

PostedMarch 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This toilet doesn't seem to have much power but really gets the job done. I was constantly plunging before this toilet was installed and haven't had to since! My only complaint is that it could probably do a better job rinsing the bowl. Otherwise it's a great toilet for the price.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Champion 4 Complete 2-Piece Round Toilet in White
from Staten Island, NY

WOW!

PostedOctober 19, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
WOW!!!! This toilet is just as the commercial promised!
It definitely saves water and the flush is quick and cleans out quickly. One of the other good things is that it does not take long to fill up again so that if you have to you can flush again quickly.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Champion 4 Complete 2-Piece Round Toilet in White
from Pittsburgh, PA

Champion4 Round Front, Complete Toilet-To-Go, Whit

PostedSeptember 3, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This toilet has a powerful flush, much better than my old toillet, which was always needing plunging This toilet has a quiet fill-up too. Having a very small bathroom, this toilet fits perfectly, not too big and not too small, just right. Comfortable seat too.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Champion 4 Complete 2-Piece Round Toilet in White
from MI

Works Great Very good buy!

PostedMarch 28, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Well worth the money easy to install, We use to have a problem with plug toilet 2-3 time a week. NOT any more!
Have had this toilet for 3 mo. no problem at all..
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Champion 4 Complete 2-Piece Round Toilet in White
from KS

Tank and bowl do not fit properly

PostedNovember 29, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this toilet last night thinking it would be a normal install, I was wrong. A couple of hours later I still could not get the tank to rest on the bowl as the instructions indicated. I could get the front ribs to touch but the tank was leaning forward and nowhere near the rear ribs. I adjusted the tank forward, backward, but nothing I did would get it close to the rear ribs. I even took the huge gasket off and sat the tank on the bowl to see if it would rest on the front and rear ribs...it would not. At this point I came to the conclusion that it was impossible to install it as shown in the poorly written instructions. I tightened the bolts as tight as possible and even had someone rest on the tank to push it down as far as it would go. I searched the web high and low and found this to be a problem with this toilet. I got up first thing in the morning (going all night without a toilet) and rushed to the nearest Home Depot which is an hour away to pick up a Kohler Wellworth. It installed in no time without any issue. The tank sat firmly on the bowl and I couldn't be any happier...plus it was half the price. I am not a golfer so flushing a bucket of golf balls down the drain isn't a feature I would ever need.
Every person has their own opinion and thoughts when it comes to a purchase, do yourself a favor and research this toilet before throwing your money at it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Champion 4 Complete 2-Piece Round Toilet in White

Champion 4 Toile

PostedFebruary 24, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am not happy with the water level, it does not come up the sides, only a little 3 inch area of water down in the hole. Had it looked at and was told that is the way it's made. Because of this the bowl does not clean itself very well and the shape of the hole makes getting a brush to the bottom difficult, well I guess a bottle brush would work, but geeze! Ha! Otherwise it's a nice toilet, but I will be tossing it for this reason.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Champion 4 Complete 2-Piece Round Toilet in White
from Pasadena, MD

only lasted 15 months in our house

PostedJanuary 7, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We remodeled our whole bathroom last year, and this toilet is the one I wanted since my special needs son has successfully killed 4 toilets in the pass, flushing Dixie cups and bath toys. Well the toilet has clogged 2 times and we were only successful unclogging it once. So15 months after installing it, I'm replacing it, because it's clogged. Also you need to realize one thing. The toilet might be able to "flush anything" but can your main pipes take it. Earlier this year I had to pay $400 to a plumber to clear an item from clogging my pipes out to the street.
-14points
1out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Champion 4 Complete 2-Piece Round Toilet in White
Age Range:35 to 44
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent toilet with easy installation

PostedJanuary 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We were replacing an older toilet, because the older one was plugging up several times a week. We bought the Champion4 after reading a lot about the flushing capabilities of many toilets. We have had the Champion4 for almost a year now and have never plugged it. The flush sound is unusual compared to other toilets, but the moise made is about on par with the 2 other toilets that I have.
I have installed at least 4 other toilets over the years, and this one is by far the easiest. The installation is remarkably simple because of these:
- Includes everything (except water supply line)
- Tool included to tighten the tank bolts and the seat bolts
- Flange bolts tighten with a finger-tight plastic nut
- Flange bolt cover is tall, so no bolt cutters required
- I needed no other tools
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Champion 4 Complete 2-Piece Round Toilet in White

OK Toilet, tight connections

PostedJanuary 20, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I give it 4/5 stars for including a cheap toilet seat. Very thin and filmsy.
Also I don't like the cheap flusher handle either. It's plastic and has very sharp, pointy edges.
If you're putting this toilet in a home, then yes, you will probably have to spend more money buying
these parts separately.
Compared to older toilets, the tank is smaller, the bottom edge is narrowed in, so the area around
where you connect the water supply doesn't give you a lot of room for you hands.
And the worst part about installing this toilet is tightening those recessed toilet-to-tank bolts.
You will spend forever on this part.
And, when you finally get it installed, the water refill on the tank seems extremely slow,
compared to older toilets.
But, aesthetics aside, it works.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>