728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Heat Guns or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 11 Amp Variable-Temperature Heat Gun

11 Amp Variable-Temperature Heat Gun

The Ryobi Variable Temperature Heat Gun features a 2-speed fan for a variety of applications. With temperature selections from 200°-1050°F, you have the perfect temperature for any material and surface. Easily remove paint, adhesives, caulk, putty and more with the concentrated heat output. This product is also ideal for thawing frozen pipes, drying plaster, loosening rusted bolts, and forming and bending metals.
Overall rating:
4.523 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(44 reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
85%of customersrecommend this product35 of 41reviews
Rating Breakdown 44 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(33)
4
(5)
3
(4)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
85%of customersrecommend this product35 of 41reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for 11 Amp Variable-Temperature Heat Gun
Review 1 for 11 Amp Variable-Temperature Heat Gun
Dilbert
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quality heat gun with excellent features

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
There are several features that I really like.
1. Best is the thermostat for output temp independent of the blower speed. (200°-1050°)
2. Two speed blower for larger or smaller air flow.
3. Designed to set on end to use hands for the object you are working on and not hold the gun.
4. Removable output nozzle shield to get into tighter spaces.
5. 2 attachments, one for pipe bending or heat shrink where you want the hot air to flow around an object and another nozzle end reducer.
Overall good design and quality. I have used it a few times for heat shrink tubing and it works great. It was on sale when I bought it and was a great price for these excellent features.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting, great features
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 11 Amp Variable-Temperature Heat Gun
Dtice

Gets really hot

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It may not be all you want in a heat gun, buts all you'll ever need at a great price
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 11 Amp Variable-Temperature Heat Gun
Looking4aBetterWay

Revolutionary

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had never used a heat gun to strip paint before. I had always used chemicals. I found an old desk that had multiple coats of paint on it and wanted to get it stripped but didn't have a way to rinse the chemicals off because of the freezing temperatures outside. I will never use chemicals again!!! With the variable temperature setting I was able to find the perfect temperature and the paint came off in long ribbons with a putty knife without a mess. The built in stand is perfect; I wish more tools were engineered as well as this. The long cord is an added bonus. I will find many uses for this. This is the perfect example of one of those tools that you didn't know you needed until you purchased one. It's gong to make a lot of projects much easier.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 11 Amp Variable-Temperature Heat Gun
Thom47
from Central PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Justy what I needed

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The winter weather in PA froze my downspouts this year. I used the Ryobi heat gun to melt the ice and avoid water/ice damage. The ability to control the variable temperature proved to be handy while melting the ice. The sale price made this purchase all the better!
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 11 Amp Variable-Temperature Heat Gun
Cooper
from California, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good product!

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this one on sale. Much better than the dual temperature one I had before. Also a lot safer too! The attachments are useful to have and the fact you can prop it up for hands free use is also totally a great feature.
Having the adjustable variable temperature control means I get total control of the unit and it also has a fail safe in there to protect the heat gun itself. I would recommend this to anyone. The only thing I wish it did had was maybe an LED readout gauge for the temperature but the old fashioned analog dial is good too. Sometimes simple is the way to go.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 11 Amp Variable-Temperature Heat Gun
Kenji
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great features and a good value.

PostedMarch 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I burned out a cheap heat gun, that seemed well built but didn't last for more than just a few small light duty projects. Also it had only minimal features. This Ryobi was on sale and it has some pretty nice features, so I ordered it on line and had it sent for me to pick up at a local Home Depot store, which worked out fine for me. I've only used it for a couple of projects, but it seems to be holding up pretty well. The variable temp control is working great for my applications, being that I don't need crazy high heat, and I like how I can set it down to stand on its own.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 11 Amp Variable-Temperature Heat Gun
BofT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great heat gun

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had this heat gun for a few weeks and like it a lot. It is used to shrink-wrap items and remove stickers. It is replacing a hair dryer
Pros: Powerful, Sturdy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 11 Amp Variable-Temperature Heat Gun
Spunout
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great gun for price

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Worked great for stripping multiple layers of paint off an old oak door. Really saved me some time. On sale for $30 is a great deal, although I don't think I would pay much more. Seems like quality construction and like the heat adjustments.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Light Weight
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 11 Amp Variable-Temperature Heat Gun
mwat
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good for this price.

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I haven't actually measured yet so I don't really know but I have a feeling that the temperature is a little lower than it is indicated.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 11 Amp Variable-Temperature Heat Gun
Dreambuilder

Very pleased with the features and quality

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After using this heat gun my old one does not even come close to the quality of this one. I'm very pleased with the price and quality.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 11 Amp Variable-Temperature Heat Gun
BobC
from Florida

Well designed heat gun...

PostedMay 23, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Nice design. The heat adjustment control is simple, and the indicators are easy to see. The cord is reasonably long, and there are three slip-on tips to better control the air flow. I have another brand heat gun that I have used for sometime on various projects, but the Ryobi is a far nicer tool, with a better control design. Ryobi has always impressed me with the features, design, performance of their products for the cost.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 11 Amp Variable-Temperature Heat Gun
Lyse
from New Jersey

The heat is on...

PostedApril 26, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This heat gun is under 70 bucks including tax. It melts layers of paint like Metallica melts faces.
I am in the midst of a DIY project, stripping 40 wicked old shutters and re-painting them. This heat gun melts the paint so I can just basically wipe it off with a scraper, and we are talking about decades upon decades of paint over this house's accents. The house was built in 1860, and all the shutters are custom- fitted to the oddly sized windows. . \
This heat gun comes with attachments that enable me to get in between the shutter slats. The layers of paint bubble up almost immediately! When I think about all the paint stripper and brushes to apply paint stripper that I will NO LONGER have to purchase , this thing pays for itself, and I just have to say... a heat gun like this is a dwelling-owners must-have!!! And no, I was not paid for this endorsement. I am just a lady with a yen for tools and such.
+29points
32out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 11 Amp Variable-Temperature Heat Gun
pete
from Conneaut Lake, Pennsylvania 16316, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

alot of heat

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this has been a cold winter , mainly use this on frozen water lines has worked great so far.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 11 Amp Variable-Temperature Heat Gun
kjonesel
from Palmyra, IN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Perfect for a service truck

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Where we use it once in a while to bend PVC conduit this heat gun is perfect. It was affordable enough to put on every truck.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 11 Amp Variable-Temperature Heat Gun
DWeb
from Del Rio, Texas
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Heat Gun!!!

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased this for use on a graphic installation on a golf cart and it worked extremely well with it's different temperature settings. Also came in quite handy when assembling my own electrical cables and wiring harnesses for the same project.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Light Weight, long cord, high visibility
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 11 Amp Variable-Temperature Heat Gun
MikeM

Nice design & features, but motor/fan on the cheap side

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Good price and nice features like adjustable heat range.
The design and materials are also very good.
However, it uses a small motor that is noisy and vibrates at the high speed setting.
It very well may last a long time, but it doesn't sound like it will...
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 11 Amp Variable-Temperature Heat Gun
homefixer
from Overland Park, KS, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product & Design

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a well designed product. The temperature selection is easy to access and clearly marked. The gun heats up quickly and can be easily adjusted up or down. the stand up design allows for safely and easily resting the gun. I would recommend this to a friend.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 11 Amp Variable-Temperature Heat Gun
braincell38

just okay

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
A bit disappointed with this one. The fan has some vibration and excess noise at the high setting (more than other models I've tried). Compared the the $15 heat gun I got at HF, this doesn't have higher quality although the Ryobi has adjustable heat which is a plus. Only recommended if you need the adjustable heat.
Pros: adjustable temp
Cons: Noisy
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 11 Amp Variable-Temperature Heat Gun
DKGI
from Orange County, California

Great product

PostedDecember 5, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I run a mfg facility and we use 2 of these heat guns for many hours per day. I've tried all of the other brands and know first hand that this Ryobi is by far the best quality on the market. Between it's heat capabilities and its durablity, no other heat gun compares!!
+15points
18out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 11 Amp Variable-Temperature Heat Gun
Mike
from Niagara Falls, NY, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great tool, adjustable heat ranges

PostedSeptember 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great little heat gun. I have a doors in my house with about 10 layers of paint on them. I started with chemical strippers, but after wasting a lot of money and aggravation with the strippers, I bought this little gem. You can set the heat to the proper range to peel off paint, without burning the wood underneath. Great buy!
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>