728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Heat Guns or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 11 Amp Variable-Temperature Heat Gun

11 Amp Variable-Temperature Heat Gun

The Ryobi Variable Temperature Heat Gun features a 2-speed fan for a variety of applications. With temperature selections from 200°-1050°F, you have the perfect temperature for any material and surface. Easily remove paint, adhesives, caulk, putty and more with the concentrated heat output. This product is also ideal for thawing frozen pipes, drying plaster, loosening rusted bolts, and forming and bending metals.
Overall rating:
4.491 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(55 reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product44 of 51reviews
Rating Breakdown 55 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(40)
4
(8)
3
(4)
2
(0)
1
(3)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product44 of 51reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for 11 Amp Variable-Temperature Heat Gun
Review 1 for 11 Amp Variable-Temperature Heat Gun
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quality heat gun with excellent features

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
There are several features that I really like.
1. Best is the thermostat for output temp independent of the blower speed. (200°-1050°)
2. Two speed blower for larger or smaller air flow.
3. Designed to set on end to use hands for the object you are working on and not hold the gun.
4. Removable output nozzle shield to get into tighter spaces.
5. 2 attachments, one for pipe bending or heat shrink where you want the hot air to flow around an object and another nozzle end reducer.
Overall good design and quality. I have used it a few times for heat shrink tubing and it works great. It was on sale when I bought it and was a great price for these excellent features.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting, great features
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 11 Amp Variable-Temperature Heat Gun

Excellent Heat Gun!

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great buy! The best feature about this is that you can adjust the temperature setting in a continuous fashion verses discrete settings.
The quality of this gun is exceptional. It feels very sturdy and well made. I recommend this one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 11 Amp Variable-Temperature Heat Gun
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Fit the bill

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The heat gun has 2 fan settings and the heat is adjustable.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 11 Amp Variable-Temperature Heat Gun

Revolutionary

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had never used a heat gun to strip paint before. I had always used chemicals. I found an old desk that had multiple coats of paint on it and wanted to get it stripped but didn't have a way to rinse the chemicals off because of the freezing temperatures outside. I will never use chemicals again!!! With the variable temperature setting I was able to find the perfect temperature and the paint came off in long ribbons with a putty knife without a mess. The built in stand is perfect; I wish more tools were engineered as well as this. The long cord is an added bonus. I will find many uses for this. This is the perfect example of one of those tools that you didn't know you needed until you purchased one. It's gong to make a lot of projects much easier.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 11 Amp Variable-Temperature Heat Gun
from Arizona

died after a year

PostedSeptember 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have two of these heat guns and one died the other day. The thermostat failed so the heat gun only get's luke warm. The heat gun maybe has a dozen hours on it. It doesn't get used very often. Generally I like ryobi but this is the first time something has failed. The 2nd one seems to be holding up.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 11 Amp Variable-Temperature Heat Gun

Gets really hot

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It may not be all you want in a heat gun, buts all you'll ever need at a great price
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 11 Amp Variable-Temperature Heat Gun
from Florida

Well designed heat gun...

PostedMay 23, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Nice design. The heat adjustment control is simple, and the indicators are easy to see. The cord is reasonably long, and there are three slip-on tips to better control the air flow. I have another brand heat gun that I have used for sometime on various projects, but the Ryobi is a far nicer tool, with a better control design. Ryobi has always impressed me with the features, design, performance of their products for the cost.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 11 Amp Variable-Temperature Heat Gun
from New Jersey

The heat is on...

PostedApril 26, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This heat gun is under 70 bucks including tax. It melts layers of paint like Metallica melts faces.
I am in the midst of a DIY project, stripping 40 wicked old shutters and re-painting them. This heat gun melts the paint so I can just basically wipe it off with a scraper, and we are talking about decades upon decades of paint over this house's accents. The house was built in 1860, and all the shutters are custom- fitted to the oddly sized windows. . \
This heat gun comes with attachments that enable me to get in between the shutter slats. The layers of paint bubble up almost immediately! When I think about all the paint stripper and brushes to apply paint stripper that I will NO LONGER have to purchase , this thing pays for itself, and I just have to say... a heat gun like this is a dwelling-owners must-have!!! And no, I was not paid for this endorsement. I am just a lady with a yen for tools and such.
+30points
33out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 11 Amp Variable-Temperature Heat Gun
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great gun for price

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Worked great for stripping multiple layers of paint off an old oak door. Really saved me some time. On sale for $30 is a great deal, although I don't think I would pay much more. Seems like quality construction and like the heat adjustments.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Light Weight
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 11 Amp Variable-Temperature Heat Gun
from Tallahassee

Good Purchase

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have not used it yet. I believe it to be a good product that is why I bought it. HD ask for a review so here it is!
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 11 Amp Variable-Temperature Heat Gun
from Orange County, California

Great product

PostedDecember 5, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I run a mfg facility and we use 2 of these heat guns for many hours per day. I've tried all of the other brands and know first hand that this Ryobi is by far the best quality on the market. Between it's heat capabilities and its durablity, no other heat gun compares!!
+15points
18out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 11 Amp Variable-Temperature Heat Gun
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Impressed

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The variable temperature feature has been very useful in removing everything from paint to window glass. This was an excellent purchase and I have a feeling it will get more use than expected.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 11 Amp Variable-Temperature Heat Gun
from Central PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Justy what I needed

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The winter weather in PA froze my downspouts this year. I used the Ryobi heat gun to melt the ice and avoid water/ice damage. The ability to control the variable temperature proved to be handy while melting the ice. The sale price made this purchase all the better!
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 11 Amp Variable-Temperature Heat Gun

Great Product!

PostedNovember 13, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This works great and fast. I actually used it to remove window tint from my car. Great product!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 11 Amp Variable-Temperature Heat Gun
from Monterey California

Great buy

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great heat gun for the money. Did the job I purchased it for. Would recommend
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 11 Amp Variable-Temperature Heat Gun
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great heat gun

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had this heat gun for a few weeks and like it a lot. It is used to shrink-wrap items and remove stickers. It is replacing a hair dryer
Pros: Powerful, Sturdy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 11 Amp Variable-Temperature Heat Gun
from Arizona, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product. Great price.

PostedMay 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Got this when it was on sale for half off. Definitely a great purchase. Very good quality. This thing works great! I would recommend this over other industrial heat guns that come in a carry case and all that. You can buy a soft case for this one, which is what I did. There is a company on eBay who sells them. I love these newer green Ryobi products. Their Tek4 line is very innovative.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 11 Amp Variable-Temperature Heat Gun

Caulking

PostedNovember 16, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used it to remove the caulking from my bathroom fixtures when re-doing my bathroom. it worked great, good price too.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 11 Amp Variable-Temperature Heat Gun
from Richmond, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works well

PostedMay 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This gun shoots air powerfully. It's adjustable heat settings are convenient, and wow-- does it get hot. It isn't light weight, but isn't horribly heavy either.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 11 Amp Variable-Temperature Heat Gun
from California, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good product!

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this one on sale. Much better than the dual temperature one I had before. Also a lot safer too! The attachments are useful to have and the fact you can prop it up for hands free use is also totally a great feature.
Having the adjustable variable temperature control means I get total control of the unit and it also has a fail safe in there to protect the heat gun itself. I would recommend this to anyone. The only thing I wish it did had was maybe an LED readout gauge for the temperature but the old fashioned analog dial is good too. Sometimes simple is the way to go.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>