728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lighting Accessories & Changers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 50 ft. 5-Bulb Lighting String

50 ft. 5-Bulb Lighting String

This 50 ft. 5-Bulb Lighting String is a useful tool at home or on the job when a series of indoor lights is required. 5 protective cages are included to help protect the lightbulbs from damage.
Overall rating:
4.909 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product11 of 11reviews
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
4.9 out of 5.0
5
(10)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Value 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product11 of 11reviews
Customer reviews for 50 ft. 5-Bulb Lighting String
Review 1 for 50 ft. 5-Bulb Lighting String
from League City, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lights Up My Entire 50x40 Foot Attic

PostedFebruary 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've been working on a rather extensive attic project in an older house we recently moved into. The attic is roughly 50 feet long and 40 feet wide and had only one pull-chain light at the attic entrance. I had temporarily strung lights on extension cords all over the attic so we could see what we were doing as we worked. That meant too many extension cords with light socket adapters, too many separate lights and cords, and too much dependence on flashlights and headlamps. I finally decided to invest in one of these Husky 50-foot, 5-socket Temporary String Worklights. It has made a tremendous difference in conveniently and efficiently lighting the attic space and took only a few minutes to set up in the attic
The cord assembly is first rate (durable and heavy duty). It is specified for both indoor and outdoor use by the manufacturer. The specs say to use no more than one 150-watt bulb per receptacle, so what I did was to go with a set of five Leviton twin-socket lamp holder adapters to split each socket from one to two sockets and picked up ten 23-watt compact fluorescent light (CFL) bulbs rated at 100-watt equivalent, then set up each socket with two of the CFL bulbs. Doing that made the actual light setup (two bulbs in each splitter) too large to fit the cages that came with the string worklight, but that was fine for my purposes. The entire setup puts out a tremendous amount of light, easily lighting the entire 50x40 foot attic, and with the CFL bulbs each socket stays relatively cool compared to higher wattage incandescent bulbs.
I highly recommend this product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Nice Design, Easy Installation, heavy duty
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 50 ft. 5-Bulb Lighting String
from Flagstaff AZ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

heavy duty even for outdoor use

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed this to run from a second-story balcony to a tree in my patio. It lights my backyard and patio, and brings power to the patio 40 feet from the house. Although the product is sold "for indoor use only," my installation has survived rain, snow, and freezing for 4 winters and 4 summers, It is plugged into GFCI to prevent dangerous situations, but it has never tripped the GFCI. I could not be more pleased.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 50 ft. 5-Bulb Lighting String
from Trona, California 93592
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product - does exactly what I wanted it to do. Fair pricing also.

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product was purchased to provide light in a garage/workshop adjacent to my home. The item does all that I wanted and does so neatly by also offering another source of power at the end of the cord, so that I'm able to lug in additional work items such as my router or drill press. I have no problem recommending this item to any other shopper, it is very good and strong and provides plenty of light.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 50 ft. 5-Bulb Lighting String
from Dallas, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

50 ft lighting string

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It was exactly what it was supposed to be. No surprises or disappointments.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 50 ft. 5-Bulb Lighting String
from McAllen, Texas
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This Tool Is a Must

PostedJune 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
As An Air Conditioning Contractor This Extension Is a Must. Just Bought it a Couple of Weeks Ago. For a Complete System Installation In a Old Home With No Attic light. Attic was about 50ft x 50ft. My Installers Couldn't be any happier it was lighting up the whole attic Plus this extension gives you the option of connecting another extension cord or an electric tool on the other end. FYI We Just used it light night with my family for a bbq get together just love this extension. I definitely would recommend it to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 50 ft. 5-Bulb Lighting String

Gets the job done

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Nice HD wire for the 50'. I wish the hooks were larger but we used large cable ties to hang the lights. Overall I would buy again.
Pros: Easy to Use, Very Bright, Easy Installation
Cons: hooks aren't big enough to hang lights
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 50 ft. 5-Bulb Lighting String
from Kentucku

A Light to light up the dark

PostedSeptember 4, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We are craft vendors and we attend fairs and festivals all over the state of Kentucky. Most of our events are outside and last until after dark. We have been depending on just the street lights for lighting up our tent and any other vendor next to us. Then last month we went to the Nibroc Festival and the vendor next to us was using the lighting string with 5 bulb cage and it lit up our tent as well.
We were so pleased with this that we came home and ordered one to use at future events. It is so handy with the cage guarding the light bulbs and makes it easy to replace any blown light bulb. The way the cages are made it provides us with optimal lighting which is a big plus for us. When we expand our tent size we are definitely buying more of these light sets.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 50 ft. 5-Bulb Lighting String

Very good value!

PostedJanuary 9, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Lighting string proved to be heavy duty and the price was unbeatable.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 50 ft. 5-Bulb Lighting String
from va
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works great

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i put this up in my attic. i plug it in when i need light up there. It comes with little hooks you can use to hang it. It also has an extension cable outlet at the far end of the cable which is convenient.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 50 ft. 5-Bulb Lighting String
from Deerfield, NH, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Well

PostedNovember 17, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed these in my attic using lag style hooks into the bottom of the roof truss. they space out perfect and the quality is very good.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 50 ft. 5-Bulb Lighting String
from La Grange, KY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Better than I expected Great product

PostedNovember 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This light system was very hheavy duty and served my needs prefectly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.