728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Garden Fencing or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 6 ft. H. x 16 ft. L Reed Fencing

6 ft. H. x 16 ft. L Reed Fencing

Reed fencing is a convenient and cost effective way to add texture and a dynamic aesthetic to your home and garden. This fencing is constructed from fresh water reed that grows abundantly along river banks, wetlands, and estuaries. The pre-assembled panels are carefully woven together by vinyl coated wire to ensure durability while remaining seamless. This lightweight material is perfect for easily covering unsightly structures such as old fencing, or it can add a tropical aesthetic to your landscape or pool area. Using reed fencing as a screen can also aid in enhancing privacy for your home and garden. Using renewable resources is an excellent way to aid in preserving our environment, the abundant growth rate of fresh water reed makes it an eco-friendly option.
Overall rating:
4.011 / 5
4
 / 
5
(181 reviews) 181
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product149 of 171reviews
Rating Breakdown 181 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(81)
4
(59)
3
(18)
2
(8)
1
(15)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product149 of 171reviews
Customer reviews for 6 ft. H. x 16 ft. L Reed Fencing
Review 1 for 6 ft. H. x 16 ft. L Reed Fencing
from Baldwinsville, NY 13027, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product!

PostedApril 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Several years ago I bought a Pergola to shade my deck. After just a few seasons, the fabric ripped and could not be replaced. I was left with just the metal frame. As I was searching for alternative ideas, I found this product available from Home Depot. Other customers had used it as a shade roof, so I decided to try it. Installing it was easy with just a few cable ties and some wood screws. I'm already finding other places I could use this.
Pros: Multi Use, High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Stylish, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+39points
41out of 43found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 6 ft. H. x 16 ft. L Reed Fencing

Looks good

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Built a tiki hut and attached this fence to a solid wall. I don't think it would work very well as a stand alone fence because the reeds are kind of flimsy but it worked great for my application. Easy to work with. Only thing I didn't like was the measurements. You would really have to stretch it to get 16 feet
Pros: Easy to Install, Light Weight
Cons: length stated unrealistic
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 6 ft. H. x 16 ft. L Reed Fencing
from Hamilton Township, NJ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

This is a miracle product!

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We installed a stockade fence to the outside of our existing chain link fence, but the inside of the fence made our backyard look like a true "eye sore". We were looking for a product that was attractive yet durable and reasonably priced, so we could cover the area. The reed fencing was so easy to work with and we attached it to the existing fence with clear cable ties. It not only covered the ugly pieces of wood and chain link, but it added more privacy and gave that particular area in our yard a lovely appearance. It took less than 4 hours to complete the entire job and are thrilled with the end result. We love this product and would certainly recommend it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Good Shape, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, Reliable, great to cover unsightly areas.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+113points
116out of 119found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 6 ft. H. x 16 ft. L Reed Fencing
from Sacramento, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64

A BEAUTIFUL FENCE TO KEEP MY CATS IN THE YARD!

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
One of my cats, Stevia, kept going over the wooden fence, so I searched and found this. It was so easy to nail the reed to the wood fence. I had some left over so cut it into sections of 2 feet, and put it the other way on top, so it kind of curls as you can see in pic. She still paces around, plotting another escape, but so far so good. I may not know how to change the date on this camera (still has last year's date when I got it) but thank God I can out smart a cat!
Pros: Vibrant Color, Multi Use, High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Shape, Easy to Clean, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+81points
84out of 87found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 6 ft. H. x 16 ft. L Reed Fencing

Bamboo reed fencing

PostedSeptember 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Been a vision of mine for some time.. Easy to put up, simple zip ties. Installed over concrete wall. The wife loves it and so do all my friends.. recommend this product to anyone looking to improve over all look to their back yard and add some privacy.. Nothing worse than taking a little skinny dip in the pool to have your neighbors peeking over your wall.. hehehe
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+69points
69out of 69found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 6 ft. H. x 16 ft. L Reed Fencing
from Marietta, GA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Found a Different Use

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Was looking for something inexpensive to cover the back deck. While browsing the garden department at Home Depot, found this privacy fencing that was the perfect size and very light. Laid 2 1x4s across the top beams, stapled one side with a heavy duty stapler. Kept rolling the fencing across the top, moving the 1x4s until got the fencing to the other side...all 16 feet....perfect size and stapled it in place, Put the cover up first and spent the rest of the day working in the cool shade.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, Light Weight, Good Shape
Cons: can't think of any
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+85points
88out of 91found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 6 ft. H. x 16 ft. L Reed Fencing
from Covina, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great low-cost fencing.

PostedOctober 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I am very pleased with the size, quality and look of this product. I attached it to existing chain link fence to add style and increase security. Very happy with it and will probably buy more for other areas of our large backyard.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Easy to Install, Stylish
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 6 ft. H. x 16 ft. L Reed Fencing
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Gave a facelift to my fence!

PostedApril 3, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used this to hide a fried, patched cedar fence until we can replace it. Easy to install using a staple gun.
After a year in the AZ sun, it is starting to show its age, but worked well for the purpose intended.
Next time I think I will go with the bamboo to last longer.
Pros: Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+57points
57out of 57found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 6 ft. H. x 16 ft. L Reed Fencing
from Chicago, il
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Worked perfectly!

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used the fencing as to turn my garage into a Tiki Bar.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Light Weight, Good Shape
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 6 ft. H. x 16 ft. L Reed Fencing
from Columbus, OH, USA

awesomeness

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i love this stuff. it sheds a bit but i feel like this might be normal for any kind of fencing. i cut it in half and put the two halves together (for double the privacy) on my balcony so i wouldn't have to keep sharing awkward glances and smiles with my neighbors haha. i know that sounds awful-- but one smile and greeting per day is enough. It's durable enough to be okay with light wind and some rain yet light enough to be cut in half. I used zip ties as other reviewers recommended and it looks awesome. i feel like i have a little oasis on my balcony now. AND IT WAS SO AFFORDABLE!! i'm really happy with the purchase.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+64points
78out of 92found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 6 ft. H. x 16 ft. L Reed Fencing

So far so good

PostedJune 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It's what I expected....minimal privacy coverage but does the trick. I trimmed mine from 6 feet to 5 feet high using a circular saw. And the other reviewers are right, you won't get 16 feet out of a roll.
I over lapped two sections of it over a span of about 21 feet, so I have 4 foot sections on either side that only have one layer and you can really tell. I attached pictures because so many other people did and it really helped me make a decision. I suggest others do the same.
I used zip ties as well and it takes two people.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Inconsistent
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 6 ft. H. x 16 ft. L Reed Fencing

Great Value

PostedApril 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product was a superb value for the money. We were looking for a way to camouflage an ugly chain link fence and this product worked great. It was easy to install with some
wire twist ties (not included). It does let light through which
was perfect for our use. The only critique would be that the
fence is specified as 16' long and even when stretched it fell
almost 2' short of that.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, Great Value, Economical
Cons: shorter than advertised length
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+34points
40out of 46found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 6 ft. H. x 16 ft. L Reed Fencing
from Land O' Lakes, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Product

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this to cover the front of a bar in an outside pavilion..
It added the tiki touch we wanted...we love it.. 6'x16' covers alot of stuff. would purshase again.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 6 ft. H. x 16 ft. L Reed Fencing
from brooklyn, ny
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Love it!

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to put up and it looks great! Have a little more privacy also.
Pros: Easy to Install, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 6 ft. H. x 16 ft. L Reed Fencing
from Oregon
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great pool dressing!

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This fencing is great for many uses. Shipped right to the house is great.
Pros: Easy to Install, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 6 ft. H. x 16 ft. L Reed Fencing
from Poughkeepsie, NY

this product is very good.

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
worked out beautifully, was just what I wanted.It blocks out an eyesore in my backyard.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 6 ft. H. x 16 ft. L Reed Fencing
from Aston, PA

Water treat it first!

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We've put up this fencing between our properties for many years now, so we have some experience (this is probably the seventh time we've bought it). Each time it lasts anywhere from 5-10 years, but it's so inexpensive to replace it's well worth it. The trick is to treat the fencing with a water sealant before putting it up - you'll easily get 3x the life out of it, and it'll stay newer looking longer. And after shopping online, Home Depot clearly had the best price (we had to get 5 of these to cover the entire length of our fence, which still came in under $150). Well worth it if you take the time to seal it before you put it up!
+75points
75out of 75found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 6 ft. H. x 16 ft. L Reed Fencing
from by M30 / M61 enterchange
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

reed fencing

PostedJune 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you have a privacy fence , you know the good side goes on the outside ... This can be stained or painted any color to make your yard more appealing on the inside that you look at when enjoying the back yard .. Helps plants , bushes , & yard furniture all look better and stand out to yourself and guests .. also can be used for trellises for climbing vines .. Makes everything stand out and look beautiful .. I'm not finished with it yet as far as getting all of it in place , but so far I love it ..
Pros: Multi Use, High Quality of Material, Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Install, Stylish, Light Weight, Seals Well
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 6 ft. H. x 16 ft. L Reed Fencing
from Wormleysburg, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Looks great

PostedApril 3, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
We're attempting to give our deck a more tropical look. My husband added on a roof to cover a bar he built and we used this product to make a great tropical look to top the roof off with. I plan to purchase more to use for decorative purposes during this transformation as it progresses.
Pros: Stylish
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
13out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 6 ft. H. x 16 ft. L Reed Fencing
from Prunedale, CA

Looks nice... At first.

PostedMay 16, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've been using this product for years as it's fairly inexpensive and looks nice. That being said, it only looks nice for maybe a year at best. It quickly weathers and turns a dull grey color then it gets very brittle and breaks apart easily. I've used the more expensive bamboo which lasts much longer but because of the price I just buy this now and replace every year or so. We have a 4' high fence in the backyard the dog is able to jump over so we just use a staple gun and some bailing wire and attach this to the fence. No more wandering dog.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install, Light Weight
Cons: degrades sooner than expected.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 10 >>