728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Garden Fencing or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 6 ft. H. x 16 ft. L Reed Fencing

6 ft. H. x 16 ft. L Reed Fencing

Reed fencing is a convenient and cost effective way to add texture and a dynamic aesthetic to your home and garden. This fencing is constructed from fresh water reed that grows abundantly along river banks, wetlands, and estuaries. The pre-assembled panels are carefully woven together by vinyl coated wire to ensure durability while remaining seamless. This lightweight material is perfect for easily covering unsightly structures such as old fencing, or it can add a tropical aesthetic to your landscape or pool area. Using reed fencing as a screen can also aid in enhancing privacy for your home and garden. Using renewable resources is an excellent way to aid in preserving our environment, the abundant growth rate of fresh water reed makes it an eco-friendly option.
Overall rating:
4.058 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(139 reviews) 139
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product113 of 129reviews
Rating Breakdown 139 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(66)
4
(44)
3
(12)
2
(5)
1
(12)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product113 of 129reviews
Customer reviews for 6 ft. H. x 16 ft. L Reed Fencing
Review 1 for 6 ft. H. x 16 ft. L Reed Fencing
Roger
from Baldwinsville, NY 13027, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product!

PostedApril 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Several years ago I bought a Pergola to shade my deck. After just a few seasons, the fabric ripped and could not be replaced. I was left with just the metal frame. As I was searching for alternative ideas, I found this product available from Home Depot. Other customers had used it as a shade roof, so I decided to try it. Installing it was easy with just a few cable ties and some wood screws. I'm already finding other places I could use this.
Pros: Multi Use, High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Stylish, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 6 ft. H. x 16 ft. L Reed Fencing
MAMAJ
from Sacramento, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64

A BEAUTIFUL FENCE TO KEEP MY CATS IN THE YARD!

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
One of my cats, Stevia, kept going over the wooden fence, so I searched and found this. It was so easy to nail the reed to the wood fence. I had some left over so cut it into sections of 2 feet, and put it the other way on top, so it kind of curls as you can see in pic. She still paces around, plotting another escape, but so far so good. I may not know how to change the date on this camera (still has last year's date when I got it) but thank God I can out smart a cat!
Pros: Vibrant Color, Multi Use, High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Shape, Easy to Clean, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+38points
39out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 6 ft. H. x 16 ft. L Reed Fencing
Doreen
from Hamilton Township, NJ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

This is a miracle product!

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We installed a stockade fence to the outside of our existing chain link fence, but the inside of the fence made our backyard look like a true "eye sore". We were looking for a product that was attractive yet durable and reasonably priced, so we could cover the area. The reed fencing was so easy to work with and we attached it to the existing fence with clear cable ties. It not only covered the ugly pieces of wood and chain link, but it added more privacy and gave that particular area in our yard a lovely appearance. It took less than 4 hours to complete the entire job and are thrilled with the end result. We love this product and would certainly recommend it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Good Shape, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, Reliable, great to cover unsightly areas.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+78points
80out of 82found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 6 ft. H. x 16 ft. L Reed Fencing
MsLA
from Marietta, GA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Found a Different Use

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Was looking for something inexpensive to cover the back deck. While browsing the garden department at Home Depot, found this privacy fencing that was the perfect size and very light. Laid 2 1x4s across the top beams, stapled one side with a heavy duty stapler. Kept rolling the fencing across the top, moving the 1x4s until got the fencing to the other side...all 16 feet....perfect size and stapled it in place, Put the cover up first and spent the rest of the day working in the cool shade.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, Light Weight, Good Shape
Cons: can't think of any
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+53points
54out of 55found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 6 ft. H. x 16 ft. L Reed Fencing
Rizzo

Bamboo reed fencing

PostedSeptember 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Been a vision of mine for some time.. Easy to put up, simple zip ties. Installed over concrete wall. The wife loves it and so do all my friends.. recommend this product to anyone looking to improve over all look to their back yard and add some privacy.. Nothing worse than taking a little skinny dip in the pool to have your neighbors peeking over your wall.. hehehe
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+30points
30out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 6 ft. H. x 16 ft. L Reed Fencing
DIYgirl
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Gave a facelift to my fence!

PostedApril 3, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used this to hide a fried, patched cedar fence until we can replace it. Easy to install using a staple gun.
After a year in the AZ sun, it is starting to show its age, but worked well for the purpose intended.
Next time I think I will go with the bamboo to last longer.
Pros: Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+50points
50out of 50found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 6 ft. H. x 16 ft. L Reed Fencing
HeyJude

Great Value

PostedApril 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product was a superb value for the money. We were looking for a way to camouflage an ugly chain link fence and this product worked great. It was easy to install with some
wire twist ties (not included). It does let light through which
was perfect for our use. The only critique would be that the
fence is specified as 16' long and even when stretched it fell
almost 2' short of that.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, Great Value, Economical
Cons: shorter than advertised length
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+29points
35out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 6 ft. H. x 16 ft. L Reed Fencing
JPisme

So far so good

PostedJune 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It's what I expected....minimal privacy coverage but does the trick. I trimmed mine from 6 feet to 5 feet high using a circular saw. And the other reviewers are right, you won't get 16 feet out of a roll.
I over lapped two sections of it over a span of about 21 feet, so I have 4 foot sections on either side that only have one layer and you can really tell. I attached pictures because so many other people did and it really helped me make a decision. I suggest others do the same.
I used zip ties as well and it takes two people.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Inconsistent
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 6 ft. H. x 16 ft. L Reed Fencing
drrdhp
from Columbus, OH, USA

awesomeness

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i love this stuff. it sheds a bit but i feel like this might be normal for any kind of fencing. i cut it in half and put the two halves together (for double the privacy) on my balcony so i wouldn't have to keep sharing awkward glances and smiles with my neighbors haha. i know that sounds awful-- but one smile and greeting per day is enough. It's durable enough to be okay with light wind and some rain yet light enough to be cut in half. I used zip ties as other reviewers recommended and it looks awesome. i feel like i have a little oasis on my balcony now. AND IT WAS SO AFFORDABLE!! i'm really happy with the purchase.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+52points
66out of 80found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 6 ft. H. x 16 ft. L Reed Fencing
Dave
from Hermosa Beach, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Arrived next day & was exactly as advertised

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought 6 rolls. When unrolled, they measured 14' 8". My wife and I were able to easily stretch them to the advertised 16'. Installation over an old wood fence took about 3 hours. If you are trying to stretch the reed fencing as you install it, you must twist the wire tails at each end of the fencing to hook the new section to the old one, otherwise the initial fasteners may/will pull out.
Pros: Easy to Install, Light Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 6 ft. H. x 16 ft. L Reed Fencing
suzy
from Land O' Lakes, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Product

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this to cover the front of a bar in an outside pavilion..
It added the tiki touch we wanted...we love it.. 6'x16' covers alot of stuff. would purshase again.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 6 ft. H. x 16 ft. L Reed Fencing
Stewman
from Fort Lauderdale, Florida

Great Temporary Fence

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Easy to install and great look. I have a low 4' high chain link fence with a 6' high ficus hedge. I bought the reed fence after taking out the ficus (it was dying) and replacing with smaller plants until they grew in.
This is my second purchase. The reed fence works fine providing privacy, but tying it to the chain link fence that's 2 feet shorter it lasted only 6 months. The shrubs still haven't grown tall enough for privacy, so that's why the second purchase.
Much cheaper than wood fence panels or bamboo panels!
Pros: Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Install
Cons: doesn't last
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 6 ft. H. x 16 ft. L Reed Fencing
pskovan
from Poughkeepsie, NY

this product is very good.

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
worked out beautifully, was just what I wanted.It blocks out an eyesore in my backyard.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 6 ft. H. x 16 ft. L Reed Fencing
Willbo
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked well for my use. Gives the effect I wanted.

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We mounted the reed fencing on a wall behind some artwork and it looks great. Projects the right setting and makes the art work stand out. Took a bit of effort to mount and cut it around the windows but it finished out well.
Pros: Multi Use, Stylish
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 6 ft. H. x 16 ft. L Reed Fencing
Ruby
from Wormleysburg, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Looks great

PostedApril 3, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
We're attempting to give our deck a more tropical look. My husband added on a roof to cover a bar he built and we used this product to make a great tropical look to top the roof off with. I plan to purchase more to use for decorative purposes during this transformation as it progresses.
Pros: Stylish
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 6 ft. H. x 16 ft. L Reed Fencing
Kimmisue
from Dayton, OH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Need 3 layers for privacy

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I read reviews on this product before purchasing this as opposed to bamboo. In hindsight, I should have purchased regular wood privacy fencing and propped it up with cement blocks until I can afford to have it installed. I thought 2 layers would be sufficient, but it wasn't even close. I needed complete privacy from the neighbors. I was surprised when 3 layers was sufficient, because I thought I would need 4 layers. It's easy to manuever, even with the multiple layers. I'm wiring it to chain-link fencing. When I install a permanent wood or vinyl privacy fence, I will re-use this elsewhere.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install, Light Weight
Cons: very little privacy with one layer
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 6 ft. H. x 16 ft. L Reed Fencing
Alan
from Aston, PA

Water treat it first!

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We've put up this fencing between our properties for many years now, so we have some experience (this is probably the seventh time we've bought it). Each time it lasts anywhere from 5-10 years, but it's so inexpensive to replace it's well worth it. The trick is to treat the fencing with a water sealant before putting it up - you'll easily get 3x the life out of it, and it'll stay newer looking longer. And after shopping online, Home Depot clearly had the best price (we had to get 5 of these to cover the entire length of our fence, which still came in under $150). Well worth it if you take the time to seal it before you put it up!
+54points
54out of 54found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 6 ft. H. x 16 ft. L Reed Fencing
crease
from provo, UT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good, but .. . . .. .

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Very Good product, but you may need to double it up. I used it to screen off the neighbors car port from my backyard. I started with one layer and realized it wasn't going to cut it! You can see straight through it! I doubled it and worked great! Not happy I had to spend the extra money, but what more can you ask for when you will have to spend a small fortune for a cedar fence. I will be saving up for that, in the meantime, this will provide some greatly needed privacy!
Pros: Easy to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 6 ft. H. x 16 ft. L Reed Fencing
Andrea
from Palm Beach Gardens, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Not made well

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was quite disappointed with the reed fencing. It provides MINIMAL privacy. You can see right through it but the real issue is the poor workmanship. Large gaps go without any pieces of fencing while many are not even the full length (many already broken or portions just skipped), You go from 1-4 inches without any coverage and gaps with nothing, just pieces of wire. I will not be buying this fencing anymore. In my opinion, it is worth purchasing something of better quality that costs a bit more. I purchased 8 of these and each one was made the same as I thought initially I got a bad one, but apparently that is how poorly these are made. I am not impressed.
Cons: poor quality
+24points
26out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 6 ft. H. x 16 ft. L Reed Fencing
happy1
from Tucson, AZ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good value!!

PostedApril 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had to look at the back of my neighbors shed and it was not a pretty site. Thought I'd give this a try for a quick fix. Very impressed! Went up easily and looks really good. Making my backyard my own again. Put up along a chain ling fence with a little wire and then stapled when I got around the corner to Stockdale fence. Put it 3 roll in about an hour!. Good value!!
Pros: Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Install, Stylish, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>