728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Paint Sprayers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Control Spray Double Duty HVLP Paint Sprayer - DISCONTINUED

Control Spray Double Duty HVLP Paint Sprayer - DISCONTINUED

The Wagner Control Spray Double Duty HVLP Paint Sprayer uses air pressure technology and AC power to provide a continuous spray. The 2-stage air turbine provides a professional fine finish ideal for staining your deck or refinishing your cabinets. The sprayer is ideal for applying thin materials such as stains, sealers, urethanes, varnishes and lacquers. Use indoor or outdoor.
Overall rating:
4.341 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(91 reviews) 91
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product75 of 86reviews
Rating Breakdown 91 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(63)
4
(14)
3
(3)
2
(4)
1
(7)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product75 of 86reviews
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 32 Answers
Customer reviews for Control Spray Double Duty HVLP Paint Sprayer - DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for Control Spray Double Duty HVLP Paint Sprayer - DISCONTINUED

Great little sprayer

PostedJune 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've been a commercial painter for 30 years and was always skeptical of these inexpensive sprayers. I needed an hvlp sprayer where an airless would just not work, too much pressure and overspray to deal with. I have used this on 3different jobs in the past 6 months. I had ornate metal railings and some open tread stairways and walkways on the rear of an office bldg. to spray. The Wagner worked perfectly right out of the box. You can adjust it from an inch to ten inches for pattern Spray. If anyone complained this sprayer it was probably due to incompedence rather than the fault of the sprayer. If this sprayer would have died after the first job I used it on it would have still been money well spent.
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Control Spray Double Duty HVLP Paint Sprayer - DISCONTINUED
from Malvern, PA 19355, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

just great

PostedMarch 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've spent more than 20 years as a custom painter of automobiles. Today, I had to spray acrylic latex on a home project I'm working on. So I went shopping at my local Home Depot for something that might handle the job well. I read some of the reviews here and elsewhere and to help counterbalance the negative reviews I figured I'd provide my very positive review. This thing is just great.
I poured some flat acrylic latex into the quart cup, added some floetrol, stirred it up, and got perfect results right from the get-go. I didn't check the viscosity, I just added the recommended amount that I would have added if I were hand-brushing a wooden door. Floetrol is a paint additive (I think Home Depot carries it) that improves the flow. Unlike water, it does so without excessive thinning. It's about the same price as paint, so you really aren't spending anymore to use it. I think there are other brands that do the same thing.
Anyhow, it sprayed it well, very little overspray, provided very nice control over how much came out, and was a snap to clean with soapy water. AND, it doesn't make that awful chatter sound that the airless hand-held sprayers do. It just sounds like a small vacuum cleaner. It handles well, stands by itself well, and at this point in time (my first usage) I have absolutely nothing bad to say about it.
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Control Spray Double Duty HVLP Paint Sprayer - DISCONTINUED
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best $68 I've spent in a long time

PostedJanuary 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
There's a reason this thing has nearly five stars. Most of the other Wagner sprayers have very poor reviews but this one looked like just the ticket with its features and high reviews both here and at other websites. I bought it and it is a fantastic sprayer. Very low overspray, lays a nice smooth coat with no orange peel, very easy to control, adjust, and clean.
I sprayed Benjamin Moore Waterborne Satin Impervo with this on my trim, diluting the paint down 1/10 with water before spraying and it laid it down smooth as glass. The trim looks excellent now!
Would recommend this to anyone needing to spray trim, cabinets, doors, walls, etc. Well worth the buy.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Control Spray Double Duty HVLP Paint Sprayer - DISCONTINUED
from Quincy, IL

Great, even with latex primer!

PostedApril 4, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I needed a small projects gun to compliment the large airless sprayer I've been using. The big airless wastes too much paint with overspray and in the long hose...not good for small jobs. The project at hand was spraying latex primer on a bathroom ceiling with fresh knockdown texture. I first looked into the wagner airless units. The Optimus guns get pretty poor reviews so I decided to try this HVLP gun based on the great reviews it gets. I was initially worried because it is not recommended for thick materials. I'm happy to report no problems. I thinned a quart of Kilz Premium Latex Primer to 45 seconds using the Wagner Easy Paint latex paint conditioner and the included viscosity gauge. It worked great. The variable trigger works well for controlling the material flow. I painted a 150sqft bathroom ceiling in 20 minutes and used just the one quart. The only reason I only gave four stars is the cleanup is a bit longer than the 10 minutes advertised. With warm soapy water you can get the gun clean in 20 minutes. The air intake filters were saturated with paint, and the plastic nozzle pieces are tough to get completely clean since you can't get rough with them. Its also tough to get the overspray off of the exterior of the gun. This is a small gripe though, you'll fight cleanup with any paint sprayer.
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Control Spray Double Duty HVLP Paint Sprayer - DISCONTINUED
from Independence, MO

10 times faster

PostedJuly 13, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Did a great job staining my daughter's fence. A lot better than I expected. Sprayed 15 gallons of stain. Worked like a champ. My daughter walked behing and brushed out any runs. Low noise and easy cleanup.
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Control Spray Double Duty HVLP Paint Sprayer - DISCONTINUED
from Iowa
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

3 product used and by far the best

PostedMay 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My dad bought the little spray ones that look like a weed killer. That's about all they are good for. This thing. WOW!! I had lattice that needed treated and this is by far the only way to go. And cleaning it was also very easy. If you want to cuss and waste treatment then dont by this. But if you want a fast easy and clean way to treat something. Then a must buy.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Control Spray Double Duty HVLP Paint Sprayer - DISCONTINUED
from Denver, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

My new best friend

PostedSeptember 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I always hated painting. Results were always disappointing. Hated the cleanup of brushes, and even worst, cleanup of rollers. This puppy is making me happy. Yes, you need to practice, but no, you do not have to thin down your latex paint to water-like. One or two table spoons of water in a cup of paint does the job. It creates mirror like surfaces. Clean up is a breeze. Less then 5 minutes. Loving it.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Control Spray Double Duty HVLP Paint Sprayer - DISCONTINUED

Works like a Charm, No Dripping, But Impractical for Large Jobs

PostedSeptember 19, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
PROS: EASY TO USE; NO DRIPPING; ALMOST PLUG-N-PLAY ; EASY TO CLEAN; RELIABLE; FASTER THAN BRUSH; STURDY; LEAVES A NICE, SMOOTH FINISH
CONS: LACK OF FLEX SHAFT MAKES IT HEAVY AT FULL LOAD; VERY HARD TO WORK IN NARROW SPACES; EASY BUT TAKES TIME TO CLEAN
My wife decided to repaint the kitchen cabinets. After completing the priming session on one of the cabinets, I was not satisfied with the results that she was getting. I made some research about spray painting, and decided to buy the Wagner Control Spray Double Duty Sprayer.
The Wagner was easy to assemble: lock in the nozzle, attach the little tank, fill it out (no thinner was required with my paint) and it is ready to go. I was able to prime the cabinet doors easily and saving substantial time (I would say x3 faster than brush).
The machine is somewhat loud, although not unbearably loud, with a distinct vacuum-type sound. The paint is sprayed consistently, especially when following the instructions as to the proper direction and hand movement. However, if you are expecting a dramatic speed improvement, you should go with a more professional, expensive sprayer.
One thing bothered me: the Wagner can get heavy at full load and difficult to maneuver in small spaces. When working the inside of the cabinet (especially the corner cabinets), I had to work like a contortionist to reach certain spots. It took about seven hours to finish the inside of the cabinets, but it is a very big kitchen. It leaves a nice, smooth finish, significantly better than a brush.
I don’t see it as being helpful to paint large surfaces like entire rooms. But it is a great machine for smaller jobs, and certainly stand-alone furniture. The cabinet doors, which had been detached, were a breeze to complete.
We will have to apply the paint coat but I am confident that it will work as well as with the primer.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Control Spray Double Duty HVLP Paint Sprayer - DISCONTINUED
from New Lenox, IL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Awesome sprayer but add water or Floetrol with latex paint

PostedApril 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Most negative feedbacks I noticed were when people complained about thick paint ( sprayer good for stain-er, varnish etc. not for paint ) I did some research and problem resolve :-) If you read manual they shows chart for paint timing when you check paint with the little black cup strainer that came with your sprayer. Than you add water or Floetrol to get the right mix. Simple !!! Now try it again and enjoy - Lol!
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Control Spray Double Duty HVLP Paint Sprayer - DISCONTINUED
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

buy this, save an arm (and a leg)

PostedFebruary 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Here's the deal, I have 300 linear feet of 6' box fence to seal/stain, front and back (that's 3600 square feet of nooks and crannies). Last time I used clear seal and a pump sprayer and it went well, but this time the pump sprayer clogged too much (tinted maybe?), so I went old school and started using a 4" brush. This did a nice job but took forever and was very hard to get all the nooks, an used way more sealer (at $75 buck for 5 gallons). End result, 45 minutes for 8 linear feet (one side) and used 1/2 gallon, and my arm got really tired and ached. I only have a few hours a day so this was starting to really get old on day 3, where I ran low on sealer and went back to the Depot.
This is when I decided to buy this sprayer, a little less then the cost of another can of sealer, I was skeptical.
Got home, filled it up, plugged it in, and within an hour I finished off more fence then in the entire previous three days and used less then half the amount of sealant, plus I got into area's that you just can't with a brush.
This thing blows a cloud of sealer and I had to wear a mask and glasses, and my hair was sealed up great. It was not very windy either, this things just blows a ton air mixed with a fine mist of sealer (or what-ever you use it for).
I can't see how you could use it indoors but since that is not my mission, I guess that's your problem :-)
Ok so over the course of the rest of the fence this will probably save me $150 or more in sealant, days or weeks of effort, and the associated medical cost of my arm falling off from working that old brush into the depths of a box fence.
In summary, you situation anything like mine? Then just go buy the darn thing already, you will not regret it.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Control Spray Double Duty HVLP Paint Sprayer - DISCONTINUED

Thank god for this Product!

PostedJune 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product didn't just save my husband and I time, it practically saved our marriage. Of course I'm kidding on the latter, but this truly is a great product. The project was staining our new custom swing set. We figured how hard could it be to stain it. What a chore the first day turned out to be. By 3 hours into the job we were bickering and miserable. That afternoon we bought the Sprayer. Sunday morning we went out to finish the job hoping for the best. We are not handy people but found this tool to be very easy to use. And talk about saving us time and energy. It stained the set so much easier than using a paintbrush. It also looks nicer than the part we had done by hand (less streaky). Never tackle such a tedious project by hand! Just spend the $70 and save yourself the headache. Next weekend we will do coat 2 and I anticipate being able to do that in just one day rather than two. Thank you Wagner!!!!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Control Spray Double Duty HVLP Paint Sprayer - DISCONTINUED
from Portland, OR, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This sprayer almost makes me feel like lowering my prices.

PostedNovember 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wash and stain decks for a living. I bought this thing after spending a whole day using a brush to stain a handrail of a deck. The next hand rail I did took me about an hour. My labor profits went through the roof.
For a cheep handheld sprayer for thinner liquids...this thing is great!!!!
Easy to work, easy to clean. It might not last as long with the high amount I use it, but it has paid for it self over a dozen times now. I might upgrade to a nice professional Graco...but I will still use this Wagner for my smaller jobs.
-Stewart, Portland OR
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Control Spray Double Duty HVLP Paint Sprayer - DISCONTINUED
from Akron, OH

PostedJanuary 18, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I cannot say enough good things about this sprayer. I bought it to spray acrylic latex on crown molding. Thinned it out to 45 secoond runout and it looks fabulous. Heck it looks better than the Pro's who did the trim install when we bought the house. Very little overspray, very accurate paint placement, and constant fan and spray rate is perfect. Anyway this tool is worth every penny and then some. I will be re-painting most of the trim in the house including the 6 panel doors.
Dont even think about it just buy one and impress yourself on what you can do.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Control Spray Double Duty HVLP Paint Sprayer - DISCONTINUED
from Minneapolis, MN, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great sprayer! Worth every penny.

PostedMay 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this sprayer to paint my kitchen cabinets. The flow of paint was very easy to control, and easy to feather the spray. Although this is no professional sprayer, it certainly delivered professional results. I did learn a few lessons along the way. Take the time to mess with the air flow. Sometimes higher air flow produced less paint flow and often gummed up the nozzle. Keep an eye on the nozzle. I carried around a damp cloth. If I started and stopped it too much, paint would build up. If i kept a nice even flow, it was never a problem. I was planning on throwing this out when I was done, but now I'm dreaming up more things to paint.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Control Spray Double Duty HVLP Paint Sprayer - DISCONTINUED
from Strongsville, Ohio

Best Wagner Sprayer

PostedJune 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this paint sprayer, at first I bought the more expensive Wagner thinking that it would work better because I believe that you get what you pay for, but not in this case. I bought the Wagner Optimus Airless Paint Sprayer for $99 and it was terrible. The Double Duty is far superior than the Optimus. The Double Duty is very easy to clean up and it really distributes the paint evenly. The motor is very similar to a hair blow dryer and really makes painting very easy. There was very little mess. I really can't stress enough on how well this sprayer works.
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Control Spray Double Duty HVLP Paint Sprayer - DISCONTINUED
from Brick NJ

Best bang for your buck with EXCELLENT results!

PostedJuly 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I read the reviews of this and all other sprayers in the $50 to $100 price range at HD and other stores. I was looking for a cheap quick, but reliable solution to brushing 6 panel doors.
Knowing the problems mentioned by other users of this and similar products I decided to give this one a try.
I was spraying high gloss white on 6 panel doors.
As long as you follow the basic guidelines of spraying your golden.
Paint, especially latex, MUST be thinned.
Feather the trigger for more or less paint depending on how fast you move the gun.
Keep gun perpendicular to surface at all times.
Occasionally stop and clean the tip with a rag and appropriate thinner.
Go slow! Do not expect one coat coverage. 2 light coats are better then1 thick coat.
Painted 10 6 panel doors, 2 coats, both sides in 5 hours. That included unmounting, prepping and a break for dinner.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Control Spray Double Duty HVLP Paint Sprayer - DISCONTINUED

Best bang for the buck...

PostedAugust 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am brand new on spray painting so I wanted to try with a not too expensive option...after a lot of research I bought this sprayer and after reading all instructions and following them by the detail, I achieved excellent results on the beds I am painting for my daughters (they wanted flat colors), on the first try! Paint job is smooth and uniform and I applied Latex paint!!! I used Rustoleum thinned down with Wagner Paint Easy to 35 seconds…I just add one hand for the primer and 2 for the paint and that was all!!! I paint all my furniture using minwax stains and polyurethanes by brush, now I want to give them a try with this excellent sprayer…for the price, this is one of the best purchases I ever made. I even registered here at HD just to write my review as I am really pleased with this tool. By the way, I did not have any of the troubles that are mentioned in other reviews, this thing works flawless!!! Thanks Wagner!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Control Spray Double Duty HVLP Paint Sprayer - DISCONTINUED
from Wrenshall,mn

Best stain sprayer ever!!!

PostedMarch 31, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I own a log home and I needed to re stain it this spring. So after the task of finding a stain to use I had to choose paint brush or spray. Well after talking to a buddie that is a painter he recomended brushing the first coat and spray the second. All the reviews that are negative about this product are because they did not research on what this gun can spray. I did the second coat on my house in about three hours! It was rediculas how great this gun worked on the stain. I will never ever go with out having one around when you have a stain, clear, or enamal coating. Saved me 2 days of work. And the clean up is a snap. And it is not very noise and not hardly any overspray. AWSOME PRODUCT!!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Control Spray Double Duty HVLP Paint Sprayer - DISCONTINUED
from Versailles, OH

Good product for a first time painter

PostedSeptember 27, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had never used a spray gun before but had a couple of big projects to tackle (painting garage cabinets, new railings on porch landings, two new entry doors) so I decided I needed better tools to make these projects bearable. This tool was very simple to use and I was painting within 20 minutes of putting the tool together. This tool worked great with both an oil based enamel and a latex based primer. I never had to thin out either material. It took me a couple of minutes of practicing to really get the hang of covering the surfaces properly, but I ended up being VERY happy with the results. Clean up is the worst part of the gun, taking about 20-30 minutes to make sure that the tool is spotless, but everything else about this tool couldn't be better. If you want a good general purpose sprayer to learn with while getting a great bang for your buck, this is it. Beats a roller or a brush by far!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Control Spray Double Duty HVLP Paint Sprayer - DISCONTINUED

Not recommended for staining Fences or Deck

PostedAugust 21, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros:
One thing I like about this sprayer is that it is really easy to use and the cleanup is not that difficult. It isn't too heavy and all you do is point and spray. There is not too much of an overspray so you get good control of the spray pattern. Good for small projects like furniture, book shelves.
Cons:
The nob adjuster to change the spray pattern could be designed better. When changing between the vertical and horizontal spray pattern there is a tendency to get the pattern crooked. Wish there was a click mechanism of some sort that you could determine that the spray pattern is completely vertical or horizontal so that you dont end up being something in between.
My biggest issue is that this sprayer was recommended to me by a Home Depot worker to spray the deck and fences. However this sprayer does not spray a thick enough stream onto the deck and fence in a single pass. You have to spray it again to get a thick enough coverage. I had to spray over the same path multiple times and this ended up making the project twice as long and me extremely tired. I had about 800 sqare feet of area to cover and it took me about 6 hours to finish this project.
So if you are buying this to spray stains on fence or deck I would recommend you use something more powerful.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>