728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Paint Sprayers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Control Spray Double Duty HVLP Paint Sprayer - DISCONTINUED

Control Spray Double Duty HVLP Paint Sprayer - DISCONTINUED

The Wagner Control Spray Double Duty HVLP Paint Sprayer uses air pressure technology and AC power to provide a continuous spray. The 2-stage air turbine provides a professional fine finish ideal for staining your deck or refinishing your cabinets. The sprayer is ideal for applying thin materials such as stains, sealers, urethanes, varnishes and lacquers. Use indoor or outdoor.
Overall rating:
4.341 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(91 reviews) 91
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product75 of 86reviews
Rating Breakdown 91 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(63)
4
(14)
3
(3)
2
(4)
1
(7)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product75 of 86reviews
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 32 Answers
Customer reviews for Control Spray Double Duty HVLP Paint Sprayer - DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for Control Spray Double Duty HVLP Paint Sprayer - DISCONTINUED
from Malvern, PA 19355, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

just great

PostedMarch 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've spent more than 20 years as a custom painter of automobiles. Today, I had to spray acrylic latex on a home project I'm working on. So I went shopping at my local Home Depot for something that might handle the job well. I read some of the reviews here and elsewhere and to help counterbalance the negative reviews I figured I'd provide my very positive review. This thing is just great.
I poured some flat acrylic latex into the quart cup, added some floetrol, stirred it up, and got perfect results right from the get-go. I didn't check the viscosity, I just added the recommended amount that I would have added if I were hand-brushing a wooden door. Floetrol is a paint additive (I think Home Depot carries it) that improves the flow. Unlike water, it does so without excessive thinning. It's about the same price as paint, so you really aren't spending anymore to use it. I think there are other brands that do the same thing.
Anyhow, it sprayed it well, very little overspray, provided very nice control over how much came out, and was a snap to clean with soapy water. AND, it doesn't make that awful chatter sound that the airless hand-held sprayers do. It just sounds like a small vacuum cleaner. It handles well, stands by itself well, and at this point in time (my first usage) I have absolutely nothing bad to say about it.
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Control Spray Double Duty HVLP Paint Sprayer - DISCONTINUED

Works like a Charm, No Dripping, But Impractical for Large Jobs

PostedSeptember 19, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
PROS: EASY TO USE; NO DRIPPING; ALMOST PLUG-N-PLAY ; EASY TO CLEAN; RELIABLE; FASTER THAN BRUSH; STURDY; LEAVES A NICE, SMOOTH FINISH
CONS: LACK OF FLEX SHAFT MAKES IT HEAVY AT FULL LOAD; VERY HARD TO WORK IN NARROW SPACES; EASY BUT TAKES TIME TO CLEAN
My wife decided to repaint the kitchen cabinets. After completing the priming session on one of the cabinets, I was not satisfied with the results that she was getting. I made some research about spray painting, and decided to buy the Wagner Control Spray Double Duty Sprayer.
The Wagner was easy to assemble: lock in the nozzle, attach the little tank, fill it out (no thinner was required with my paint) and it is ready to go. I was able to prime the cabinet doors easily and saving substantial time (I would say x3 faster than brush).
The machine is somewhat loud, although not unbearably loud, with a distinct vacuum-type sound. The paint is sprayed consistently, especially when following the instructions as to the proper direction and hand movement. However, if you are expecting a dramatic speed improvement, you should go with a more professional, expensive sprayer.
One thing bothered me: the Wagner can get heavy at full load and difficult to maneuver in small spaces. When working the inside of the cabinet (especially the corner cabinets), I had to work like a contortionist to reach certain spots. It took about seven hours to finish the inside of the cabinets, but it is a very big kitchen. It leaves a nice, smooth finish, significantly better than a brush.
I don’t see it as being helpful to paint large surfaces like entire rooms. But it is a great machine for smaller jobs, and certainly stand-alone furniture. The cabinet doors, which had been detached, were a breeze to complete.
We will have to apply the paint coat but I am confident that it will work as well as with the primer.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Control Spray Double Duty HVLP Paint Sprayer - DISCONTINUED
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best $68 I've spent in a long time

PostedJanuary 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
There's a reason this thing has nearly five stars. Most of the other Wagner sprayers have very poor reviews but this one looked like just the ticket with its features and high reviews both here and at other websites. I bought it and it is a fantastic sprayer. Very low overspray, lays a nice smooth coat with no orange peel, very easy to control, adjust, and clean.
I sprayed Benjamin Moore Waterborne Satin Impervo with this on my trim, diluting the paint down 1/10 with water before spraying and it laid it down smooth as glass. The trim looks excellent now!
Would recommend this to anyone needing to spray trim, cabinets, doors, walls, etc. Well worth the buy.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Control Spray Double Duty HVLP Paint Sprayer - DISCONTINUED
from Denver, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

My new best friend

PostedSeptember 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I always hated painting. Results were always disappointing. Hated the cleanup of brushes, and even worst, cleanup of rollers. This puppy is making me happy. Yes, you need to practice, but no, you do not have to thin down your latex paint to water-like. One or two table spoons of water in a cup of paint does the job. It creates mirror like surfaces. Clean up is a breeze. Less then 5 minutes. Loving it.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Control Spray Double Duty HVLP Paint Sprayer - DISCONTINUED
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

buy this, save an arm (and a leg)

PostedFebruary 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Here's the deal, I have 300 linear feet of 6' box fence to seal/stain, front and back (that's 3600 square feet of nooks and crannies). Last time I used clear seal and a pump sprayer and it went well, but this time the pump sprayer clogged too much (tinted maybe?), so I went old school and started using a 4" brush. This did a nice job but took forever and was very hard to get all the nooks, an used way more sealer (at $75 buck for 5 gallons). End result, 45 minutes for 8 linear feet (one side) and used 1/2 gallon, and my arm got really tired and ached. I only have a few hours a day so this was starting to really get old on day 3, where I ran low on sealer and went back to the Depot.
This is when I decided to buy this sprayer, a little less then the cost of another can of sealer, I was skeptical.
Got home, filled it up, plugged it in, and within an hour I finished off more fence then in the entire previous three days and used less then half the amount of sealant, plus I got into area's that you just can't with a brush.
This thing blows a cloud of sealer and I had to wear a mask and glasses, and my hair was sealed up great. It was not very windy either, this things just blows a ton air mixed with a fine mist of sealer (or what-ever you use it for).
I can't see how you could use it indoors but since that is not my mission, I guess that's your problem :-)
Ok so over the course of the rest of the fence this will probably save me $150 or more in sealant, days or weeks of effort, and the associated medical cost of my arm falling off from working that old brush into the depths of a box fence.
In summary, you situation anything like mine? Then just go buy the darn thing already, you will not regret it.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Control Spray Double Duty HVLP Paint Sprayer - DISCONTINUED

Thank god for this Product!

PostedJune 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product didn't just save my husband and I time, it practically saved our marriage. Of course I'm kidding on the latter, but this truly is a great product. The project was staining our new custom swing set. We figured how hard could it be to stain it. What a chore the first day turned out to be. By 3 hours into the job we were bickering and miserable. That afternoon we bought the Sprayer. Sunday morning we went out to finish the job hoping for the best. We are not handy people but found this tool to be very easy to use. And talk about saving us time and energy. It stained the set so much easier than using a paintbrush. It also looks nicer than the part we had done by hand (less streaky). Never tackle such a tedious project by hand! Just spend the $70 and save yourself the headache. Next weekend we will do coat 2 and I anticipate being able to do that in just one day rather than two. Thank you Wagner!!!!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Control Spray Double Duty HVLP Paint Sprayer - DISCONTINUED
from Versailles, OH

Good product for a first time painter

PostedSeptember 27, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had never used a spray gun before but had a couple of big projects to tackle (painting garage cabinets, new railings on porch landings, two new entry doors) so I decided I needed better tools to make these projects bearable. This tool was very simple to use and I was painting within 20 minutes of putting the tool together. This tool worked great with both an oil based enamel and a latex based primer. I never had to thin out either material. It took me a couple of minutes of practicing to really get the hang of covering the surfaces properly, but I ended up being VERY happy with the results. Clean up is the worst part of the gun, taking about 20-30 minutes to make sure that the tool is spotless, but everything else about this tool couldn't be better. If you want a good general purpose sprayer to learn with while getting a great bang for your buck, this is it. Beats a roller or a brush by far!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Control Spray Double Duty HVLP Paint Sprayer - DISCONTINUED
from Akron, OH

PostedJanuary 18, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I cannot say enough good things about this sprayer. I bought it to spray acrylic latex on crown molding. Thinned it out to 45 secoond runout and it looks fabulous. Heck it looks better than the Pro's who did the trim install when we bought the house. Very little overspray, very accurate paint placement, and constant fan and spray rate is perfect. Anyway this tool is worth every penny and then some. I will be re-painting most of the trim in the house including the 6 panel doors.
Dont even think about it just buy one and impress yourself on what you can do.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Control Spray Double Duty HVLP Paint Sprayer - DISCONTINUED
from Brick NJ

Best bang for your buck with EXCELLENT results!

PostedJuly 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I read the reviews of this and all other sprayers in the $50 to $100 price range at HD and other stores. I was looking for a cheap quick, but reliable solution to brushing 6 panel doors.
Knowing the problems mentioned by other users of this and similar products I decided to give this one a try.
I was spraying high gloss white on 6 panel doors.
As long as you follow the basic guidelines of spraying your golden.
Paint, especially latex, MUST be thinned.
Feather the trigger for more or less paint depending on how fast you move the gun.
Keep gun perpendicular to surface at all times.
Occasionally stop and clean the tip with a rag and appropriate thinner.
Go slow! Do not expect one coat coverage. 2 light coats are better then1 thick coat.
Painted 10 6 panel doors, 2 coats, both sides in 5 hours. That included unmounting, prepping and a break for dinner.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Control Spray Double Duty HVLP Paint Sprayer - DISCONTINUED

Not recommended for staining Fences or Deck

PostedAugust 21, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros:
One thing I like about this sprayer is that it is really easy to use and the cleanup is not that difficult. It isn't too heavy and all you do is point and spray. There is not too much of an overspray so you get good control of the spray pattern. Good for small projects like furniture, book shelves.
Cons:
The nob adjuster to change the spray pattern could be designed better. When changing between the vertical and horizontal spray pattern there is a tendency to get the pattern crooked. Wish there was a click mechanism of some sort that you could determine that the spray pattern is completely vertical or horizontal so that you dont end up being something in between.
My biggest issue is that this sprayer was recommended to me by a Home Depot worker to spray the deck and fences. However this sprayer does not spray a thick enough stream onto the deck and fence in a single pass. You have to spray it again to get a thick enough coverage. I had to spray over the same path multiple times and this ended up making the project twice as long and me extremely tired. I had about 800 sqare feet of area to cover and it took me about 6 hours to finish this project.
So if you are buying this to spray stains on fence or deck I would recommend you use something more powerful.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Control Spray Double Duty HVLP Paint Sprayer - DISCONTINUED

Best bang for the buck...

PostedAugust 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am brand new on spray painting so I wanted to try with a not too expensive option...after a lot of research I bought this sprayer and after reading all instructions and following them by the detail, I achieved excellent results on the beds I am painting for my daughters (they wanted flat colors), on the first try! Paint job is smooth and uniform and I applied Latex paint!!! I used Rustoleum thinned down with Wagner Paint Easy to 35 seconds…I just add one hand for the primer and 2 for the paint and that was all!!! I paint all my furniture using minwax stains and polyurethanes by brush, now I want to give them a try with this excellent sprayer…for the price, this is one of the best purchases I ever made. I even registered here at HD just to write my review as I am really pleased with this tool. By the way, I did not have any of the troubles that are mentioned in other reviews, this thing works flawless!!! Thanks Wagner!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Control Spray Double Duty HVLP Paint Sprayer - DISCONTINUED
from Portland, OR, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This sprayer almost makes me feel like lowering my prices.

PostedNovember 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wash and stain decks for a living. I bought this thing after spending a whole day using a brush to stain a handrail of a deck. The next hand rail I did took me about an hour. My labor profits went through the roof.
For a cheep handheld sprayer for thinner liquids...this thing is great!!!!
Easy to work, easy to clean. It might not last as long with the high amount I use it, but it has paid for it self over a dozen times now. I might upgrade to a nice professional Graco...but I will still use this Wagner for my smaller jobs.
-Stewart, Portland OR
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Control Spray Double Duty HVLP Paint Sprayer - DISCONTINUED
from Fort Worth, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Saved me time and $$$$

PostedDecember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After only 7 years in a new home I had to replace my entire fence (200 ft) and I wasn't expecting the neighbors to help with the cost. This was the last fence I wanted to redo and after careful planning I chose NOT to use the pre-built panels, but to use 5 1/2" cedar pickets, 2X6 runners on the ground, and galvanized posts. Once the fence was up I knew I wanted to stain it. My neighbor had recently redid about 80 ft of fence and used the Behr Waterproofing Stain, applying with the pump sprayer. He used about 7 gallons for both sides, so I figured I would at least need 10 -12 gallons for one side. At $145 per 5 gallons and a pump sprayer I spent $336. I chose the Weather Proofing Stain, which was the next grade up. I tested the pump sprayer with water to see which nozzle I needed to use. I filled the sprayer with about 2 gallons of stain and went to work. It looked like I was staining with a water pistol!!! I swapped the nozzles, increased the pressure, cussed, and no luck. I called HD and they told me to bring the sprayer up and exchange. A bit of a pain to dump the stain back into the bucket, but I managed to without too much trouble. I got to HD and told the person at the returns what I needed. She took the sprayer and I headed to paint. While I was there the little girl working the paint counter mentioned that she knew someone that had the same problem and ended up using a roller; that was not an option for me. I had (2) days before it was going to rain. She pointed over at the sprayers. I looked at the selection, which included (3) different Wagners and a Ryobi, ranging in price from $50 - $100. After looking at each one I chose this model, since it mentioned "ideal for staining" on the box. Now I did hesitate to buy this thing since I had bought a Wagner Sprayer about 10 years ago to paint a few bedrooms; what a mess. Cleanup was a hassle and I never used it again. Anyway I get this sprayer home, unpack it, and put it together. I again tested it with water; it worked fine. I then added the stain and tried again. 3 hours later I was finished!!! I took the thing apart and washed it in hot soapy water in the kitchen sink. The next day I applied a second coat to the entire fence, except for about 8 feet. I had only used 5 gallons of stain. I took the other 5 gallon bucket back and purchased a 1 gallon can to finish. I wrapped up the last 8 feet and had enough left in the sprayer to apply one coat to my neighbors gate adjacent to me and I still have about 2/3 of a can left.
So I spent:
$145 - 5 gallons
$35 - 1 gallon
$68 - sprayer
Total $ 248, instead of $336.
I saved several hours using the sprayer and spent $100 less on the stain. If I had bought the thing the first time I would have saved more time, not to mention the gas burned.
Do yourself a favor and buy the sprayer. You won't regret it!!!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Control Spray Double Duty HVLP Paint Sprayer - DISCONTINUED
from New Lenox, IL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Awesome sprayer but add water or Floetrol with latex paint

PostedApril 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Most negative feedbacks I noticed were when people complained about thick paint ( sprayer good for stain-er, varnish etc. not for paint ) I did some research and problem resolve :-) If you read manual they shows chart for paint timing when you check paint with the little black cup strainer that came with your sprayer. Than you add water or Floetrol to get the right mix. Simple !!! Now try it again and enjoy - Lol!
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Control Spray Double Duty HVLP Paint Sprayer - DISCONTINUED
from Independence, Kentucky

Nice and quiet

PostedMay 24, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have not heard very good things about Wagner sprayers. However, this provided me with the tool to finish 400 board feet inside and out in a day and a half. I was suprised by the coverage that the tub provided (I used the larger of the two included). The three spray patters are handy as well. It was not as loud as I anticipated. The sprayer sounds like a vacuum cleaner when in use. Cleaning the unit is a must when finished. The only drawback to the sprayer is (in most cases) is the mess. It was a little cumbersome the first couple of times I tried to screw the tub to the sprayer. I used a shop towel to clean up any excess. With any painting/staining projects, there were touch-ups needed. The stain came out a bit splotchy before I got the hang of the spray pattern. Overall, I think this is a product that will last and be used again. If only I had something else to stain now...
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Control Spray Double Duty HVLP Paint Sprayer - DISCONTINUED
from Wrenshall,mn

Best stain sprayer ever!!!

PostedMarch 31, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I own a log home and I needed to re stain it this spring. So after the task of finding a stain to use I had to choose paint brush or spray. Well after talking to a buddie that is a painter he recomended brushing the first coat and spray the second. All the reviews that are negative about this product are because they did not research on what this gun can spray. I did the second coat on my house in about three hours! It was rediculas how great this gun worked on the stain. I will never ever go with out having one around when you have a stain, clear, or enamal coating. Saved me 2 days of work. And the clean up is a snap. And it is not very noise and not hardly any overspray. AWSOME PRODUCT!!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Control Spray Double Duty HVLP Paint Sprayer - DISCONTINUED
from MD

Read directions before buying

PostedApril 25, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I purchased this sprayer to complete varnishing of a fence and deck which worked well. In the directions it notes that the sprayer can be used for latex paints, if appropriately thinned and even comes with a tool for gauging the viscosity of the paint.
Never happened until I spent 20 minutes cleaning it out and finally sprayed water again.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Control Spray Double Duty HVLP Paint Sprayer - DISCONTINUED
from new jersey

great value for the money

PostedMay 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i needed a sprayer to paint my fence.I read the reviews for this product .It works great! The only recommendation that would have is to try an area first like cardboard or scrap wood to see how the sprayer works.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Control Spray Double Duty HVLP Paint Sprayer - DISCONTINUED

Wagner wins again

PostedSeptember 26, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've owned many Wagner products over the years and loved them all. I used this unit for spraying a new primed wood cabinet and doors and was extremely happy with the results. I used an oil base satin enamel that I diluted according to the paint mfg. using acetone and the finish came out looking like a factory finish. A tip for anyone new to using one of these sprayers is to be sure you make enough passes over the piece you're painting so enough paint gets on. The unit has a control knob to adjust how much paint comes out and even on the highest setting, it is still a very fine mist but if you keep making passes over the piece it will fill in. You'll be able to see where you haven't covered enough because it will have a dimpled or orange peel look to the surface. Once it is all covered well, it might initially look like too much paint but it will flow out (best to lay flat to paint) over the next few hours. Just don't disturb it until it is fully dry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Control Spray Double Duty HVLP Paint Sprayer - DISCONTINUED
from Sacramento, Ca

Superb for polyurethane

PostedApril 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just finished spraying Cabot satin poly on 16 kitchen cabinet doors with fantastic results. Really simple device that is easy to set up, use and clean (which takes less than 5 minutes). This has to be the easiest sprayer to use if your an amateur looking for professional results. Thank you Wagner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>