728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Attic Ladders or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity

Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity

Crawl into and out of your attic safely with the Louisville Ladder Everest 12 ft. x 63 in. x 25-1/2 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder. The aluminum frame is strong. The 12 steps are reinforced with angle bracing to provide maximum strength and stability when climbing. Side-to-side movement is minimized by the heavy-duty rail joint hinges. The ladder installs easily with the included installation kit.
Overall rating:
4.07 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(43 reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product35 of 40reviews
Rating Breakdown 43 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(21)
4
(14)
3
(3)
2
(0)
1
(5)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product35 of 40reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
Review 21 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from va
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product and was easy to install, was what I expected from home depot

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
easy install, was exactly as stated, it is kind of heavy and takes at least 2 men to install. worked fine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I love this ladder.

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Installation took about 2 hours and does require 2 people. I don't know why other reviews say that it requires two people to unfold the ladder for use, because I always open it by myself and without a step ladder. I had to shorten the ladder to fit my ceiling height and the kit includes anti-slip feet to bolt on after trimming to length which makes for a clean finish! Definitely recommmend. The only negative is the door is made from thin plywood.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from Brooklyn Park, MN, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent ladder for the price!

PostedApril 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Recently purchased this ladder to be used in our garage for overhead storage. Garage ceiling height was 11 feet so we needed something tall and sturdy. This ladder fits the bill and it is lightweight to boot! Installation was not difficult with two people but we used a sheetrock hoist to lift the ladder into place which helped a lot. Ladder is very strudy and the handrails are a nice touch. Unfolding / storing the ladder can be difficult as the other reviews state but it helps that I am 6'4". A step ladder should be used to unfold and refold the ladder which some might argue defeats the purpose, but we don't plan on using this ladder that often which reduces the severity of the issue. Overall a great ladder for the price.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity

Ease of use

PostedApril 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good product for the price. Don't spend too much time squaring up the hole. Frame needed a lot of shimming to get just relatively square. Otherwise works well.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity

12 ft attic ladder

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
It fit but the rough opening suggested was too big. had to place 1/2" shim on one side to be able to shim it square. other than that it was easy to install. 1-11/2hours to install after opening was completed.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from Royal palm Beach Florida

Everest 12 foot ladder

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent Quality, easy to read instructions,a snap to install,steady as a rock to climb, and blends well into the cealing
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity

Bad Design

PostedMay 15, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The problem with this ladder is that the second and the third leaf do no have a spring on them. So the only way to open this ladder without getting hit in the head is to use another ladder climb on top of it and then try to open this one with much strain. Would NOT recommend this product
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from Seneca, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice Ladder

PostedNovember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The quality of the ladder appears to be very nice. The 1/4 wood cover is flimsy, but I believe they all are. The pole that came with the unit does not stay in the pulled out position. Pulling the ladder out and putting it back in is a little difficult due to the 12' length. I have been up and down the ladder numerous time and it appears to be sturdy.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity

ladder is good quality, the door is thin plywood not so good

PostedDecember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
very happy with product. The door could be better quality.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from New Orleans, LA, USA

Well built

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Well built strong ladder very heavy duty excellent ladder for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity

Sturdy, well built

PostedFebruary 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This ladder is well built. We have a 12' ceiling in our garage and this ladder works perfect. It is difficult to get the ladder unfolded because it is so high in the air but once it is down it works great.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from LAWRENCE KANSAS
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

poor design

PostedMarch 6, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I BOUGHT THIS SO I WOULD NOT HAVE TO GET A LADDER OUT TO GET IN MY ATTIC. AFTER INSTALLING I FOUND OUT THAT I COULDN'T UNFOLD THE LADDER WITHOUT A STEP LADDER NOR CAN IT BE FOLDED UP WITHOUT A STEP LADDER
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from Fountain Hills, AZ, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

A fall waiting to happen

PostedApril 24, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The ladder is mechanically sturdy but very dangerous. The top five steps slope back to front and have zero space for toe to extension over the aluminum step. You have to place your feet sideways on those down sloping steps to climb up the rest of the steps. If you carry any thing it will require at least one hand/arm to carry and just one hand to negotiate the last five down sloping steps sideways.
The first barrier that blocks the problem steps are insulation panels. Fortunately they are simply held in place by a tight fit between the steps and the wood bottom panel. I slipped the insulation panels out but that only gave me about 1/2" extra toe room when about 3 1/2" would be appropriate for safety. It appears a 2x4 on edge could be used to space the ladder above the bottom panel to help mitigate the safety problem.
My husky carpenter installer said he had a very difficult time folding the ladder up to park in the ceiling opening. He had to stand on another ladder with a heavy lift to bring up the ladder from the middle. He told me it was too dangerous for me to try. A good fix would be with the use of gas-struts like used in auto hoods and SUV tailgates to take all the weight off folding the stairs to close into the ceiling. Like the heavy tailgate on my large SUV. Once you raise the tailgate part way the struts continue lifting the tail gate into position.
This unit should be recalled and modified by the maker to make the ladder reasonably safe to use. I’m sure Home Depot could assist by recommending one of their installation teams. One a plan is in place it should take two skilled workers about 1/2hr to make the change.
I invite management from our local Home Depot to evaluate my findings.
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from fulton, ms
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Minimum Quality to still meet the need.

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This ladder is a slight improvement over the too short wood ladder the previous owners installed. The wood ladder was better quality but its shortness made it dangerous. The aluminum ladder is theoretically safer but its quality makes its long term usage doubtful. Worst part is it takes two people to raise and lower it safely;.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: doesn't seem durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from Cincinnati, OH, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor Quality

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Poor overall build quality, frame wasn't squared, "insulation" equivalent to thin sound deadening mat and only covered small portion of door panel.
Pros: long leg length
Cons: poor quality, poor insulation
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity

ladder

PostedSeptember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
very well made worth the price very easy to install
and easy to get up and down with the wider steps
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from Fernandina Beach, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well-built and attractive product.

PostedSeptember 17, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
With the extra height of the garage ceiling, I needed an attic stair longer than the standard. Purchased this product based on other's reviews and am very satisfied. It did require that the ceiling opening be lengthened, requiring that ceiling joists be cut and re-installed.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from Chesapeake, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Need to work with someone who has installed before

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Have used this product extensive and it holds up..
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from Webberville, MI, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The stairs r great

PostedFebruary 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The stairs r sturdy and easy to pull down and put up.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from Florida, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

well built ladder - good price - free shipping

PostedJanuary 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed this in my new garage - job went well but please
note - do not make your ceiling (rough) opening until you
have received the ladder and can measure it for the actual
size opening you will need! My ladder frame was not the size as advertised and waiting until I could measure it saved a lot of
shimming. Another 'reviewer' noted this so mine was not
an exception.
My ceiling is 13'-3" high so I had to build a "box" of 3/4"
plywood to 'lower' the installed height to 12'. Plywood box
is fastened to the ceiling joists/headers w/ 1/4" bolts - same
for the ladder frame to the plywood.
Instructions w/ the ladder advise that you need 2 people (read
1 and 1 w/ very strong arms) and a step ladder to lower the ladder for use - I don't have have that option so I have installed
a pulley & 1/4" nylon rope that works safely & easily to lower
& raise the ladder.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Nice Design
Cons: not easy to lower for use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 >>