728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Attic Ladders or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity

Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity

Crawl into and out of your attic safely with the Louisville Ladder Everest 12 ft. x 63 in. x 25-1/2 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder. The aluminum frame is strong. The 12 steps are reinforced with angle bracing to provide maximum strength and stability when climbing. Side-to-side movement is minimized by the heavy-duty rail joint hinges. The ladder installs easily with the included installation kit.
Overall rating:
4.023 / 5
4
 / 
5
(44 reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
85%of customersrecommend this product35 of 41reviews
Rating Breakdown 44 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(21)
4
(14)
3
(3)
2
(1)
1
(5)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
85%of customersrecommend this product35 of 41reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
Review 21 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from va
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product and was easy to install, was what I expected from home depot

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
easy install, was exactly as stated, it is kind of heavy and takes at least 2 men to install. worked fine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from New Orleans, LA, USA

Well built

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Well built strong ladder very heavy duty excellent ladder for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from Brooklyn Park, MN, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent ladder for the price!

PostedApril 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Recently purchased this ladder to be used in our garage for overhead storage. Garage ceiling height was 11 feet so we needed something tall and sturdy. This ladder fits the bill and it is lightweight to boot! Installation was not difficult with two people but we used a sheetrock hoist to lift the ladder into place which helped a lot. Ladder is very strudy and the handrails are a nice touch. Unfolding / storing the ladder can be difficult as the other reviews state but it helps that I am 6'4". A step ladder should be used to unfold and refold the ladder which some might argue defeats the purpose, but we don't plan on using this ladder that often which reduces the severity of the issue. Overall a great ladder for the price.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity

Does what it should

PostedFebruary 1, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Seems well built but it does not fit a standard 24" center truss. I boxed the rough opening and attached the box to the underside of the truss.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from Webberville, MI, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The stairs r great

PostedFebruary 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The stairs r sturdy and easy to pull down and put up.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity

Sturdy, well built

PostedFebruary 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This ladder is well built. We have a 12' ceiling in our garage and this ladder works perfect. It is difficult to get the ladder unfolded because it is so high in the air but once it is down it works great.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from Fountain Hills, AZ, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

A fall waiting to happen

PostedApril 24, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The ladder is mechanically sturdy but very dangerous. The top five steps slope back to front and have zero space for toe to extension over the aluminum step. You have to place your feet sideways on those down sloping steps to climb up the rest of the steps. If you carry any thing it will require at least one hand/arm to carry and just one hand to negotiate the last five down sloping steps sideways.
The first barrier that blocks the problem steps are insulation panels. Fortunately they are simply held in place by a tight fit between the steps and the wood bottom panel. I slipped the insulation panels out but that only gave me about 1/2" extra toe room when about 3 1/2" would be appropriate for safety. It appears a 2x4 on edge could be used to space the ladder above the bottom panel to help mitigate the safety problem.
My husky carpenter installer said he had a very difficult time folding the ladder up to park in the ceiling opening. He had to stand on another ladder with a heavy lift to bring up the ladder from the middle. He told me it was too dangerous for me to try. A good fix would be with the use of gas-struts like used in auto hoods and SUV tailgates to take all the weight off folding the stairs to close into the ceiling. Like the heavy tailgate on my large SUV. Once you raise the tailgate part way the struts continue lifting the tail gate into position.
This unit should be recalled and modified by the maker to make the ladder reasonably safe to use. I’m sure Home Depot could assist by recommending one of their installation teams. One a plan is in place it should take two skilled workers about 1/2hr to make the change.
I invite management from our local Home Depot to evaluate my findings.
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from Naples, FL, USA

Great value

PostedJune 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Heavy duty solid ladder with nice hand rails for climbing
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity

Ease of use

PostedApril 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good product for the price. Don't spend too much time squaring up the hole. Frame needed a lot of shimming to get just relatively square. Otherwise works well.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Product is fine, install instructions need improvement

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Rough opening specifications were wrong, much too large
for units requirements...had to shim and build out rough opening after following directions accurately. Once installed, unit is of good quality, except insulation is quite skimpy, will need to augment with additional insulation...
would buy again, problems easy to fix, overall quality trumps negatives...
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: wrong rough opening size bad instructions, skimpy insulation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from Colorado, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Best over all value.

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great price, easy to install, best value over all.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from Cincinnati, OH, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor Quality

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Poor overall build quality, frame wasn't squared, "insulation" equivalent to thin sound deadening mat and only covered small portion of door panel.
Pros: long leg length
Cons: poor quality, poor insulation
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from Florida, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

well built ladder - good price - free shipping

PostedJanuary 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed this in my new garage - job went well but please
note - do not make your ceiling (rough) opening until you
have received the ladder and can measure it for the actual
size opening you will need! My ladder frame was not the size as advertised and waiting until I could measure it saved a lot of
shimming. Another 'reviewer' noted this so mine was not
an exception.
My ceiling is 13'-3" high so I had to build a "box" of 3/4"
plywood to 'lower' the installed height to 12'. Plywood box
is fastened to the ceiling joists/headers w/ 1/4" bolts - same
for the ladder frame to the plywood.
Instructions w/ the ladder advise that you need 2 people (read
1 and 1 w/ very strong arms) and a step ladder to lower the ladder for use - I don't have have that option so I have installed
a pulley & 1/4" nylon rope that works safely & easily to lower
& raise the ladder.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Nice Design
Cons: not easy to lower for use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from Tampa, FL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Good Ladder, Received it Damaged

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had this ladder professionally installed and it works pretty good. Since my ceilings are so tall (~12') it does seem a bit ricketty when you are climbing the ladder, but I would expect that for such a long ladder. I think the quality is good and haven't noticed any issues using it yet (it was installed about 3 weeks ago).
It did have a hole in the wood when we opened the box from shipping (I assume). Since my contractor was there that day to install this thing, I didn't want to have to go through the hassle of sending it back to get another one. He used wood filler to patch the 1" hole and painted over it and it's not an issue.
Pros: Durable, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from Cincinnati, OH, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Go with a cheaper ladder

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Frame wasn't square or even. The insulation is simply a small square that does not cover the entire door panel and looks more like sound deadening mat it is so thin. Only plus side was that the legs were built long and came with extensions. For a 12ft ceiling the legs needed almost a foot cut off the bottom.
Pros: long reach
Cons: poor insulation, not square
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity

12 ft attic ladder

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
It fit but the rough opening suggested was too big. had to place 1/2" shim on one side to be able to shim it square. other than that it was easy to install. 1-11/2hours to install after opening was completed.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from fulton, ms
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Minimum Quality to still meet the need.

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This ladder is a slight improvement over the too short wood ladder the previous owners installed. The wood ladder was better quality but its shortness made it dangerous. The aluminum ladder is theoretically safer but its quality makes its long term usage doubtful. Worst part is it takes two people to raise and lower it safely;.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: doesn't seem durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Stairway to heaven (or my attic)

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This ladder is a bit more expensive but well worth it. The ladder is very stable and wide so that almost anything you would store in an attic will fit. I'm happy with this purchase.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Durable
Cons: Difficult to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity

Extremely difficult to open

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When the contractor installed the door he commented that it was so hard to lower that there was no way my wife would be able to do it. He was right.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from Lee's Summit, MO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy installation instructions harder to deploy

PostedDecember 9, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
For the most part I believe everyone that purchases this system will feel secure on it. The steps of the ladder feel comfortable with the exception of the steps that have the door under them. Your toes hit against the insulation panel mounted on the attic side of the door which might take some getting used to. The deployment is hard because of the length of the ladder being 12 feet. A second person is required to avoid damaging the unit when the folding part is pulled down. Gravity and its weight make it come down with force so you have to be ready on the floor while your assistant is on a step ladder unfolding the stowed sections. It works well deploying it according to instructions. A clothesline and a pulley may make this a one person operation. All in all this is a good product that will make throwing a ladder everytime you need in the attic unneccessary.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 >>