728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Attic Ladders or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity

Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity

Crawl into and out of your attic safely with the Louisville Ladder Everest 12 ft. x 63 in. x 25-1/2 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder. The aluminum frame is strong. The 12 steps are reinforced with angle bracing to provide maximum strength and stability when climbing. Side-to-side movement is minimized by the heavy-duty rail joint hinges. The ladder installs easily with the included installation kit.
Overall rating:
4.021 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(48 reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product39 of 45reviews
Rating Breakdown 48 reviews
4.0 out of 5
5
(23)
4
(14)
3
(5)
2
(1)
1
(5)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product39 of 45reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
Review 21 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity

Ease of use

PostedApril 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Good product for the price. Don't spend too much time squaring up the hole. Frame needed a lot of shimming to get just relatively square. Otherwise works well.
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity

Does what it should

PostedFebruary 1, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Seems well built but it does not fit a standard 24" center truss. I boxed the rough opening and attached the box to the underside of the truss.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity

Sturdy, well built

PostedFebruary 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This ladder is well built. We have a 12' ceiling in our garage and this ladder works perfect. It is difficult to get the ladder unfolded because it is so high in the air but once it is down it works great.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from Idaho, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is a great ladder

PostedMay 1, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This ladder is as described and works well. Installation took me about 4 hours with minimal help from my wife. ( I hoisted it up from above) The only complaint I have is that it looks pretty sad when done. I built a frame around it and it helped with the finished look from below.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity

Easy installation - built to last.

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Instructions were very comprehensive and easy to follow. Ladder has extra length, so I used it for access above the 11' ceiling in my garage to increase my storage space. Very strong and sturdy ladder with a wider opening than competitors. I weigh over 200# and the ladder supported me and everything I carried up without any problems.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from New Orleans, LA, USA

Well built

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Well built strong ladder very heavy duty excellent ladder for the money.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from harrisburg, pa.

product was easy to install

PostedSeptember 2, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
product was easy to install but you certainly need 2 people to install.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Product is fine, install instructions need improvement

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Rough opening specifications were wrong, much too large
for units requirements...had to shim and build out rough opening after following directions accurately. Once installed, unit is of good quality, except insulation is quite skimpy, will need to augment with additional insulation...
would buy again, problems easy to fix, overall quality trumps negatives...
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: wrong rough opening size bad instructions, skimpy insulation
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from Seneca, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice Ladder

PostedNovember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The quality of the ladder appears to be very nice. The 1/4 wood cover is flimsy, but I believe they all are. The pole that came with the unit does not stay in the pulled out position. Pulling the ladder out and putting it back in is a little difficult due to the 12' length. I have been up and down the ladder numerous time and it appears to be sturdy.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from Fort Collins
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Heavy Duty

PostedFebruary 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very sturdy ladder. Does take 2 people to hang it. Worth the money
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from Miller Place, NY, USA

Great ladder...here's how to install it without killing yourself

PostedMay 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ok...I've seen reviews complaining about the difficulty lifting this into the hole. Get a helper. Lift the assembly into the attic. Get 2 pieces of 1x4 approx 32" wide. Have all tools, nails, etc. needed to install in attic. Screw 2 pieces of 1x4 across front and back of opening. Carefully place attic ladder on top of braces. Adjust straps provided and nail them in. Remove screws in 1x4s and continue installation. Also, additional measurements that might be helpful before ordering:
Rough opening: 25 1/2 x 63"
Landing space (from hinges to where ladder hits ground if extended to full height of 12 ft): 90"
Swing clearance (when door is open, distance from bottom hinge of first section parallel to floor needed to open next section of ladder): 92"
Landing space will be proportionally less if your ceiling is lower and you have to trim the last section of the ladder. First section of ladder is 57", next 2 are 54" each. Just to clarify..landing space is distance parallel to floor from hinges to where ladder hits floor.
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Stairway to heaven (or my attic)

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This ladder is a bit more expensive but well worth it. The ladder is very stable and wide so that almost anything you would store in an attic will fit. I'm happy with this purchase.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Durable
Cons: Difficult to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from Cincinnati, OH, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Go with a cheaper ladder

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Frame wasn't square or even. The insulation is simply a small square that does not cover the entire door panel and looks more like sound deadening mat it is so thin. Only plus side was that the legs were built long and came with extensions. For a 12ft ceiling the legs needed almost a foot cut off the bottom.
Pros: long reach
Cons: poor insulation, not square
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from Fountain Hills, AZ, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

A fall waiting to happen

PostedApril 24, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The ladder is mechanically sturdy but very dangerous. The top five steps slope back to front and have zero space for toe to extension over the aluminum step. You have to place your feet sideways on those down sloping steps to climb up the rest of the steps. If you carry any thing it will require at least one hand/arm to carry and just one hand to negotiate the last five down sloping steps sideways.
The first barrier that blocks the problem steps are insulation panels. Fortunately they are simply held in place by a tight fit between the steps and the wood bottom panel. I slipped the insulation panels out but that only gave me about 1/2" extra toe room when about 3 1/2" would be appropriate for safety. It appears a 2x4 on edge could be used to space the ladder above the bottom panel to help mitigate the safety problem.
My husky carpenter installer said he had a very difficult time folding the ladder up to park in the ceiling opening. He had to stand on another ladder with a heavy lift to bring up the ladder from the middle. He told me it was too dangerous for me to try. A good fix would be with the use of gas-struts like used in auto hoods and SUV tailgates to take all the weight off folding the stairs to close into the ceiling. Like the heavy tailgate on my large SUV. Once you raise the tailgate part way the struts continue lifting the tail gate into position.
This unit should be recalled and modified by the maker to make the ladder reasonably safe to use. I’m sure Home Depot could assist by recommending one of their installation teams. One a plan is in place it should take two skilled workers about 1/2hr to make the change.
I invite management from our local Home Depot to evaluate my findings.
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from Naples, FL, USA

Great value

PostedJune 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Heavy duty solid ladder with nice hand rails for climbing
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from fulton, ms
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Minimum Quality to still meet the need.

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This ladder is a slight improvement over the too short wood ladder the previous owners installed. The wood ladder was better quality but its shortness made it dangerous. The aluminum ladder is theoretically safer but its quality makes its long term usage doubtful. Worst part is it takes two people to raise and lower it safely;.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: doesn't seem durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from Cincinnati, OH, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor Quality

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Poor overall build quality, frame wasn't squared, "insulation" equivalent to thin sound deadening mat and only covered small portion of door panel.
Pros: long leg length
Cons: poor quality, poor insulation
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I love this ladder.

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Installation took about 2 hours and does require 2 people. I don't know why other reviews say that it requires two people to unfold the ladder for use, because I always open it by myself and without a step ladder. I had to shorten the ladder to fit my ceiling height and the kit includes anti-slip feet to bolt on after trimming to length which makes for a clean finish! Definitely recommmend. The only negative is the door is made from thin plywood.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from Rogersville, MO 65742, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

A product that meets the requirements

PostedMay 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This ladder should have been installed when our house was built, but the builder told us that he had installed the longest attic ladder available. Our garage ceiling is 11'7" high and the standard ladder is 10'. The only drawback that I can see is there should be a pole, or something that would allow you to put the ladder back up into the ceiling. They do provide a hook to get it down, but it's a trial to get it put back, once down.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from Colorado, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Best over all value.

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great price, easy to install, best value over all.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 >>