728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Home>

Customer reviews for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity

Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity

Crawl into and out of your attic safely with the Louisville Ladder Everest 12 ft. x 63 in. x 25-1/2 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder. The aluminum frame is strong. The 12 steps are reinforced with angle bracing to provide maximum strength and stability when climbing. Side-to-side movement is minimized by the heavy-duty rail joint hinges. The ladder installs easily with the included installation kit.
Overall rating:
4.022 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(46 reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product37 of 43reviews
Rating Breakdown 46 reviews
4.0 out of 5
5
(22)
4
(14)
3
(4)
2
(1)
1
(5)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product37 of 43reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
Review 21 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from va
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product and was easy to install, was what I expected from home depot

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
easy install, was exactly as stated, it is kind of heavy and takes at least 2 men to install. worked fine.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from Webberville, MI, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The stairs r great

PostedFebruary 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The stairs r sturdy and easy to pull down and put up.
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity

Ease of use

PostedApril 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Good product for the price. Don't spend too much time squaring up the hole. Frame needed a lot of shimming to get just relatively square. Otherwise works well.
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity

12 ft attic ladder

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
It fit but the rough opening suggested was too big. had to place 1/2" shim on one side to be able to shim it square. other than that it was easy to install. 1-11/2hours to install after opening was completed.
Pros: Easy to Install
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from Geneva, IL

Outstanding

PostedJanuary 28, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great product! Easy to install, but definitely needs two people (three might be even easier). Very solid workmanship and stable-feeling ladder. Strong springs and tight door fit in its frame. Glad to have a good quality ladder to finally use my attic for more storage!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity

Bad Design

PostedMay 15, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The problem with this ladder is that the second and the third leaf do no have a spring on them. So the only way to open this ladder without getting hit in the head is to use another ladder climb on top of it and then try to open this one with much strain. Would NOT recommend this product
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from Broomfield, CO

Attic Ladder

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This ladder is perfect and I have a very high ceiling in my garage. The installation was not difficult and the ladder is study.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from li,ny

excellent product

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
heavy duty aluminum stairs easy install, the only problem is stairs are so long for 11 foot ceiling care must be taken if one person is opening and closing stairs
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from Ann Arbor, MI, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Aluminum ladder is strong/sturdy - very adequate for occasional use

PostedOctober 18, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Just finished installation. Have been up and down it many times to create a big attic storage space for car parts and seasonal items. It is stable and sturdy when fully extended with the feet squarely on the floor.
Good value ladder system that works well at 12 foot height. Be aware that you can reach and open the pull down door with the provided pole. However, to unfold (and to re-fold) the bottom 2 ladder sections you have to be on a step ladder. This could be difficult for a smaller person to do alone. Any high ceiling pull down ladder would be the same.
Was able to install myself from above using hoist in attic with nylon straps as a sling to lift into framed opening. Take care to use the shimming process described in the instructions to get the plywood door squarely aligned for fully closing in the frame. The hinge end is critical to getting it all aligned. I had to redo.
Safe installation from below at 12 foot height would require 2 people on ladders, or a scaffold, or drywall hoist to lift into the opening.
I used construction adhesive to retain the insulation pieces that fit between the ladder and the plywood door. They have tendency to slide out and block the full closing of the door
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from Chesapeake, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Need to work with someone who has installed before

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Have used this product extensive and it holds up..
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from Brooklyn Park, MN, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent ladder for the price!

PostedApril 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Recently purchased this ladder to be used in our garage for overhead storage. Garage ceiling height was 11 feet so we needed something tall and sturdy. This ladder fits the bill and it is lightweight to boot! Installation was not difficult with two people but we used a sheetrock hoist to lift the ladder into place which helped a lot. Ladder is very strudy and the handrails are a nice touch. Unfolding / storing the ladder can be difficult as the other reviews state but it helps that I am 6'4". A step ladder should be used to unfold and refold the ladder which some might argue defeats the purpose, but we don't plan on using this ladder that often which reduces the severity of the issue. Overall a great ladder for the price.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from Naples, FL, USA

Great value

PostedJune 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Heavy duty solid ladder with nice hand rails for climbing
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from Royal palm Beach Florida

Everest 12 foot ladder

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Excellent Quality, easy to read instructions,a snap to install,steady as a rock to climb, and blends well into the cealing
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity

Easy installation - built to last.

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Instructions were very comprehensive and easy to follow. Ladder has extra length, so I used it for access above the 11' ceiling in my garage to increase my storage space. Very strong and sturdy ladder with a wider opening than competitors. I weigh over 200# and the ladder supported me and everything I carried up without any problems.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from Idaho, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is a great ladder

PostedMay 1, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This ladder is as described and works well. Installation took me about 4 hours with minimal help from my wife. ( I hoisted it up from above) The only complaint I have is that it looks pretty sad when done. I built a frame around it and it helped with the finished look from below.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from Tampa, FL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Good Ladder, Received it Damaged

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had this ladder professionally installed and it works pretty good. Since my ceilings are so tall (~12') it does seem a bit ricketty when you are climbing the ladder, but I would expect that for such a long ladder. I think the quality is good and haven't noticed any issues using it yet (it was installed about 3 weeks ago).
It did have a hole in the wood when we opened the box from shipping (I assume). Since my contractor was there that day to install this thing, I didn't want to have to go through the hassle of sending it back to get another one. He used wood filler to patch the 1" hole and painted over it and it's not an issue.
Pros: Durable, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from fulton, ms
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Minimum Quality to still meet the need.

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This ladder is a slight improvement over the too short wood ladder the previous owners installed. The wood ladder was better quality but its shortness made it dangerous. The aluminum ladder is theoretically safer but its quality makes its long term usage doubtful. Worst part is it takes two people to raise and lower it safely;.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: doesn't seem durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from harrisburg, pa.

product was easy to install

PostedSeptember 2, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
product was easy to install but you certainly need 2 people to install.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from Fernandina Beach, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well-built and attractive product.

PostedSeptember 17, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
With the extra height of the garage ceiling, I needed an attic stair longer than the standard. Purchased this product based on other's reviews and am very satisfied. It did require that the ceiling opening be lengthened, requiring that ceiling joists be cut and re-installed.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity

Does what it should

PostedFebruary 1, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Seems well built but it does not fit a standard 24" center truss. I boxed the rough opening and attached the box to the underside of the truss.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 >>