728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Attic Ladders or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity

Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity

Crawl into and out of your attic safely with the Louisville Ladder Everest 12 ft. x 63 in. x 25-1/2 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder. The aluminum frame is strong. The 12 steps are reinforced with angle bracing to provide maximum strength and stability when climbing. Side-to-side movement is minimized by the heavy-duty rail joint hinges. The ladder installs easily with the included installation kit.
Overall rating:
4.022 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(46 reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product37 of 43reviews
Rating Breakdown 46 reviews
4.0 out of 5
5
(22)
4
(14)
3
(4)
2
(1)
1
(5)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product37 of 43reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
Review 21 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from harrisburg, pa.

product was easy to install

PostedSeptember 2, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
product was easy to install but you certainly need 2 people to install.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from Lee's Summit, MO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy installation instructions harder to deploy

PostedDecember 9, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
For the most part I believe everyone that purchases this system will feel secure on it. The steps of the ladder feel comfortable with the exception of the steps that have the door under them. Your toes hit against the insulation panel mounted on the attic side of the door which might take some getting used to. The deployment is hard because of the length of the ladder being 12 feet. A second person is required to avoid damaging the unit when the folding part is pulled down. Gravity and its weight make it come down with force so you have to be ready on the floor while your assistant is on a step ladder unfolding the stowed sections. It works well deploying it according to instructions. A clothesline and a pulley may make this a one person operation. All in all this is a good product that will make throwing a ladder everytime you need in the attic unneccessary.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity

ladder is good quality, the door is thin plywood not so good

PostedDecember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
very happy with product. The door could be better quality.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from li,ny

excellent product

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
heavy duty aluminum stairs easy install, the only problem is stairs are so long for 11 foot ceiling care must be taken if one person is opening and closing stairs
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from fulton, ms
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Minimum Quality to still meet the need.

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This ladder is a slight improvement over the too short wood ladder the previous owners installed. The wood ladder was better quality but its shortness made it dangerous. The aluminum ladder is theoretically safer but its quality makes its long term usage doubtful. Worst part is it takes two people to raise and lower it safely;.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: doesn't seem durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from North Mississippi

Really liked the sturdiness of this attic access ladder.

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
As a contractor in today's competitive business climate I look for little ways to separate me from the competition. This attic access ladder was a home run. Not the usual rickety wooden ladder, this one was aluminum with a 350 lbs rating at a "comparable to wood" price. My customer was delighted knowing they could carry a heavy load plus their body weight up or down the ladder without failure of the rails or steps.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from New Orleans, LA, USA

Well built

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Well built strong ladder very heavy duty excellent ladder for the money.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from LAWRENCE KANSAS
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

poor design

PostedMarch 6, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I BOUGHT THIS SO I WOULD NOT HAVE TO GET A LADDER OUT TO GET IN MY ATTIC. AFTER INSTALLING I FOUND OUT THAT I COULDN'T UNFOLD THE LADDER WITHOUT A STEP LADDER NOR CAN IT BE FOLDED UP WITHOUT A STEP LADDER
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from Webberville, MI, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The stairs r great

PostedFebruary 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The stairs r sturdy and easy to pull down and put up.
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I love this ladder.

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Installation took about 2 hours and does require 2 people. I don't know why other reviews say that it requires two people to unfold the ladder for use, because I always open it by myself and without a step ladder. I had to shorten the ladder to fit my ceiling height and the kit includes anti-slip feet to bolt on after trimming to length which makes for a clean finish! Definitely recommmend. The only negative is the door is made from thin plywood.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from Seneca, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice Ladder

PostedNovember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The quality of the ladder appears to be very nice. The 1/4 wood cover is flimsy, but I believe they all are. The pole that came with the unit does not stay in the pulled out position. Pulling the ladder out and putting it back in is a little difficult due to the 12' length. I have been up and down the ladder numerous time and it appears to be sturdy.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from Fountain Hills, AZ, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

A fall waiting to happen

PostedApril 24, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The ladder is mechanically sturdy but very dangerous. The top five steps slope back to front and have zero space for toe to extension over the aluminum step. You have to place your feet sideways on those down sloping steps to climb up the rest of the steps. If you carry any thing it will require at least one hand/arm to carry and just one hand to negotiate the last five down sloping steps sideways.
The first barrier that blocks the problem steps are insulation panels. Fortunately they are simply held in place by a tight fit between the steps and the wood bottom panel. I slipped the insulation panels out but that only gave me about 1/2" extra toe room when about 3 1/2" would be appropriate for safety. It appears a 2x4 on edge could be used to space the ladder above the bottom panel to help mitigate the safety problem.
My husky carpenter installer said he had a very difficult time folding the ladder up to park in the ceiling opening. He had to stand on another ladder with a heavy lift to bring up the ladder from the middle. He told me it was too dangerous for me to try. A good fix would be with the use of gas-struts like used in auto hoods and SUV tailgates to take all the weight off folding the stairs to close into the ceiling. Like the heavy tailgate on my large SUV. Once you raise the tailgate part way the struts continue lifting the tail gate into position.
This unit should be recalled and modified by the maker to make the ladder reasonably safe to use. I’m sure Home Depot could assist by recommending one of their installation teams. One a plan is in place it should take two skilled workers about 1/2hr to make the change.
I invite management from our local Home Depot to evaluate my findings.
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Stairway to heaven (or my attic)

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This ladder is a bit more expensive but well worth it. The ladder is very stable and wide so that almost anything you would store in an attic will fit. I'm happy with this purchase.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Durable
Cons: Difficult to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from Naples, FL, USA

Great value

PostedJune 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Heavy duty solid ladder with nice hand rails for climbing
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from Brooklyn Park, MN, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent ladder for the price!

PostedApril 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Recently purchased this ladder to be used in our garage for overhead storage. Garage ceiling height was 11 feet so we needed something tall and sturdy. This ladder fits the bill and it is lightweight to boot! Installation was not difficult with two people but we used a sheetrock hoist to lift the ladder into place which helped a lot. Ladder is very strudy and the handrails are a nice touch. Unfolding / storing the ladder can be difficult as the other reviews state but it helps that I am 6'4". A step ladder should be used to unfold and refold the ladder which some might argue defeats the purpose, but we don't plan on using this ladder that often which reduces the severity of the issue. Overall a great ladder for the price.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from Idaho, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is a great ladder

PostedMay 1, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This ladder is as described and works well. Installation took me about 4 hours with minimal help from my wife. ( I hoisted it up from above) The only complaint I have is that it looks pretty sad when done. I built a frame around it and it helped with the finished look from below.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from Colorado, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Best over all value.

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great price, easy to install, best value over all.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from Cincinnati, OH, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor Quality

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Poor overall build quality, frame wasn't squared, "insulation" equivalent to thin sound deadening mat and only covered small portion of door panel.
Pros: long leg length
Cons: poor quality, poor insulation
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity
from Florida, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

well built ladder - good price - free shipping

PostedJanuary 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I installed this in my new garage - job went well but please
note - do not make your ceiling (rough) opening until you
have received the ladder and can measure it for the actual
size opening you will need! My ladder frame was not the size as advertised and waiting until I could measure it saved a lot of
shimming. Another 'reviewer' noted this so mine was not
an exception.
My ceiling is 13'-3" high so I had to build a "box" of 3/4"
plywood to 'lower' the installed height to 12'. Plywood box
is fastened to the ceiling joists/headers w/ 1/4" bolts - same
for the ladder frame to the plywood.
Instructions w/ the ladder advise that you need 2 people (read
1 and 1 w/ very strong arms) and a step ladder to lower the ladder for use - I don't have have that option so I have installed
a pulley & 1/4" nylon rope that works safely & easily to lower
& raise the ladder.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Nice Design
Cons: not easy to lower for use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Everest 10 ft. - 12 ft., 25.5 x 63 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity

12 ft attic ladder

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
It fit but the rough opening suggested was too big. had to place 1/2" shim on one side to be able to shim it square. other than that it was easy to install. 1-11/2hours to install after opening was completed.
Pros: Easy to Install
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 >>