728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Attic Ladders or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Everest 12 ft. x 63 in. x 25-1/2 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating

Everest 12 ft. x 63 in. x 25-1/2 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating

Crawl into and out of your attic safely with the Louisville Ladder Everest 12 ft. x 63 in. x 25-1/2 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder. The aluminum frame is strong. The 12 steps are reinforced with angle bracing to provide maximum strength and stability when climbing. Side-to-side movement is minimized by the heavy-duty rail joint hinges. The ladder installs easily with the included installation kit.
Overall rating:
4.049 / 5
4
 / 
5
(41 reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product33 of 38reviews
Rating Breakdown 41 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(20)
4
(13)
3
(3)
2
(0)
1
(5)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product33 of 38reviews
Customer reviews for Everest 12 ft. x 63 in. x 25-1/2 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
Review 1 for Everest 12 ft. x 63 in. x 25-1/2 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
Rich
from Miller Place, NY, USA

Great ladder...here's how to install it without killing yourself

PostedMay 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ok...I've seen reviews complaining about the difficulty lifting this into the hole. Get a helper. Lift the assembly into the attic. Get 2 pieces of 1x4 approx 32" wide. Have all tools, nails, etc. needed to install in attic. Screw 2 pieces of 1x4 across front and back of opening. Carefully place attic ladder on top of braces. Adjust straps provided and nail them in. Remove screws in 1x4s and continue installation. Also, additional measurements that might be helpful before ordering:
Rough opening: 25 1/2 x 63"
Landing space (from hinges to where ladder hits ground if extended to full height of 12 ft): 90"
Swing clearance (when door is open, distance from bottom hinge of first section parallel to floor needed to open next section of ladder): 92"
Landing space will be proportionally less if your ceiling is lower and you have to trim the last section of the ladder. First section of ladder is 57", next 2 are 54" each. Just to clarify..landing space is distance parallel to floor from hinges to where ladder hits floor.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Everest 12 ft. x 63 in. x 25-1/2 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
Ecartelgae
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Stairway to heaven (or my attic)

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This ladder is a bit more expensive but well worth it. The ladder is very stable and wide so that almost anything you would store in an attic will fit. I'm happy with this purchase.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Durable
Cons: Difficult to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Everest 12 ft. x 63 in. x 25-1/2 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
Harry
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I love this ladder.

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Installation took about 2 hours and does require 2 people. I don't know why other reviews say that it requires two people to unfold the ladder for use, because I always open it by myself and without a step ladder. I had to shorten the ladder to fit my ceiling height and the kit includes anti-slip feet to bolt on after trimming to length which makes for a clean finish! Definitely recommmend. The only negative is the door is made from thin plywood.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Everest 12 ft. x 63 in. x 25-1/2 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
IceDoc
from Geneva, IL

Outstanding

PostedJanuary 28, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product! Easy to install, but definitely needs two people (three might be even easier). Very solid workmanship and stable-feeling ladder. Strong springs and tight door fit in its frame. Glad to have a good quality ladder to finally use my attic for more storage!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Everest 12 ft. x 63 in. x 25-1/2 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
MrThumbsnumber1
from Royal palm Beach Florida

Everest 12 foot ladder

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent Quality, easy to read instructions,a snap to install,steady as a rock to climb, and blends well into the cealing
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Everest 12 ft. x 63 in. x 25-1/2 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
CWGrizzwold
from Brooklyn Park, MN, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent ladder for the price!

PostedApril 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Recently purchased this ladder to be used in our garage for overhead storage. Garage ceiling height was 11 feet so we needed something tall and sturdy. This ladder fits the bill and it is lightweight to boot! Installation was not difficult with two people but we used a sheetrock hoist to lift the ladder into place which helped a lot. Ladder is very strudy and the handrails are a nice touch. Unfolding / storing the ladder can be difficult as the other reviews state but it helps that I am 6'4". A step ladder should be used to unfold and refold the ladder which some might argue defeats the purpose, but we don't plan on using this ladder that often which reduces the severity of the issue. Overall a great ladder for the price.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Everest 12 ft. x 63 in. x 25-1/2 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
SGM800
from Kings Park, New York

Attic Ladder

PostedJune 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product was shipped and arrived on time in perfect condition. If some one is handy they can easily install it, with help from another when raising it into the ceiling. It is well consructed and superior to a wooden attic ladder. This is the only ladder to use in a garage where the floor to ceiling height is greater than 8 feet.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Everest 12 ft. x 63 in. x 25-1/2 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
hammer
from li,ny

excellent product

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
heavy duty aluminum stairs easy install, the only problem is stairs are so long for 11 foot ceiling care must be taken if one person is opening and closing stairs
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Everest 12 ft. x 63 in. x 25-1/2 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
Betsinator
from Broomfield, CO

Attic Ladder

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This ladder is perfect and I have a very high ceiling in my garage. The installation was not difficult and the ladder is study.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Everest 12 ft. x 63 in. x 25-1/2 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
Bobo
from Lee's Summit, MO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy installation instructions harder to deploy

PostedDecember 9, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
For the most part I believe everyone that purchases this system will feel secure on it. The steps of the ladder feel comfortable with the exception of the steps that have the door under them. Your toes hit against the insulation panel mounted on the attic side of the door which might take some getting used to. The deployment is hard because of the length of the ladder being 12 feet. A second person is required to avoid damaging the unit when the folding part is pulled down. Gravity and its weight make it come down with force so you have to be ready on the floor while your assistant is on a step ladder unfolding the stowed sections. It works well deploying it according to instructions. A clothesline and a pulley may make this a one person operation. All in all this is a good product that will make throwing a ladder everytime you need in the attic unneccessary.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Everest 12 ft. x 63 in. x 25-1/2 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
Fletch
from Seneca, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice Ladder

PostedNovember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The quality of the ladder appears to be very nice. The 1/4 wood cover is flimsy, but I believe they all are. The pole that came with the unit does not stay in the pulled out position. Pulling the ladder out and putting it back in is a little difficult due to the 12' length. I have been up and down the ladder numerous time and it appears to be sturdy.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Everest 12 ft. x 63 in. x 25-1/2 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
hojo

Easy installation - built to last.

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Instructions were very comprehensive and easy to follow. Ladder has extra length, so I used it for access above the 11' ceiling in my garage to increase my storage space. Very strong and sturdy ladder with a wider opening than competitors. I weigh over 200# and the ladder supported me and everything I carried up without any problems.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Everest 12 ft. x 63 in. x 25-1/2 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
Anonymous
from Tampa, FL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Good Ladder, Received it Damaged

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had this ladder professionally installed and it works pretty good. Since my ceilings are so tall (~12') it does seem a bit ricketty when you are climbing the ladder, but I would expect that for such a long ladder. I think the quality is good and haven't noticed any issues using it yet (it was installed about 3 weeks ago).
It did have a hole in the wood when we opened the box from shipping (I assume). Since my contractor was there that day to install this thing, I didn't want to have to go through the hassle of sending it back to get another one. He used wood filler to patch the 1" hole and painted over it and it's not an issue.
Pros: Durable, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Everest 12 ft. x 63 in. x 25-1/2 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
Scheistermeister
from Cincinnati, OH, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Go with a cheaper ladder

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Frame wasn't square or even. The insulation is simply a small square that does not cover the entire door panel and looks more like sound deadening mat it is so thin. Only plus side was that the legs were built long and came with extensions. For a 12ft ceiling the legs needed almost a foot cut off the bottom.
Pros: long reach
Cons: poor insulation, not square
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Everest 12 ft. x 63 in. x 25-1/2 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
jblo
from fulton, ms
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Minimum Quality to still meet the need.

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This ladder is a slight improvement over the too short wood ladder the previous owners installed. The wood ladder was better quality but its shortness made it dangerous. The aluminum ladder is theoretically safer but its quality makes its long term usage doubtful. Worst part is it takes two people to raise and lower it safely;.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: doesn't seem durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Everest 12 ft. x 63 in. x 25-1/2 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
Scheistermeister
from Cincinnati, OH, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor Quality

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Poor overall build quality, frame wasn't squared, "insulation" equivalent to thin sound deadening mat and only covered small portion of door panel.
Pros: long leg length
Cons: poor quality, poor insulation
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Everest 12 ft. x 63 in. x 25-1/2 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
Trustee
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Product is fine, install instructions need improvement

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Rough opening specifications were wrong, much too large
for units requirements...had to shim and build out rough opening after following directions accurately. Once installed, unit is of good quality, except insulation is quite skimpy, will need to augment with additional insulation...
would buy again, problems easy to fix, overall quality trumps negatives...
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: wrong rough opening size bad instructions, skimpy insulation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Everest 12 ft. x 63 in. x 25-1/2 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
Tim13

Great Product

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
great product now i have a a ton of extra storage thats easy to get to!!!
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Everest 12 ft. x 63 in. x 25-1/2 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
texasitshot
from Friendswood, Tx

Nice Ladder & Good Value

PostedAugust 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great attic stairway ladder and it was a good value on the HD website
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Everest 12 ft. x 63 in. x 25-1/2 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
Comm
from Idaho, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is a great ladder

PostedMay 1, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This ladder is as described and works well. Installation took me about 4 hours with minimal help from my wife. ( I hoisted it up from above) The only complaint I have is that it looks pretty sad when done. I built a frame around it and it helped with the finished look from below.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>