728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Attic Ladders or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Everest 12 ft. x 63 in. x 25-1/2 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating

Everest 12 ft. x 63 in. x 25-1/2 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating

Crawl into and out of your attic safely with the Louisville Ladder Everest 12 ft. x 63 in. x 25-1/2 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder. The aluminum frame is strong. The 12 steps are reinforced with angle bracing to provide maximum strength and stability when climbing. Side-to-side movement is minimized by the heavy-duty rail joint hinges. The ladder installs easily with the included installation kit.
Overall rating:
4.049 / 5
4
 / 
5
(41 reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product33 of 38reviews
Rating Breakdown 41 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(20)
4
(13)
3
(3)
2
(0)
1
(5)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product33 of 38reviews
Customer reviews for Everest 12 ft. x 63 in. x 25-1/2 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
Review 21 for Everest 12 ft. x 63 in. x 25-1/2 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
Harry
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I love this ladder.

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Installation took about 2 hours and does require 2 people. I don't know why other reviews say that it requires two people to unfold the ladder for use, because I always open it by myself and without a step ladder. I had to shorten the ladder to fit my ceiling height and the kit includes anti-slip feet to bolt on after trimming to length which makes for a clean finish! Definitely recommmend. The only negative is the door is made from thin plywood.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Everest 12 ft. x 63 in. x 25-1/2 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
CWGrizzwold
from Brooklyn Park, MN, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent ladder for the price!

PostedApril 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Recently purchased this ladder to be used in our garage for overhead storage. Garage ceiling height was 11 feet so we needed something tall and sturdy. This ladder fits the bill and it is lightweight to boot! Installation was not difficult with two people but we used a sheetrock hoist to lift the ladder into place which helped a lot. Ladder is very strudy and the handrails are a nice touch. Unfolding / storing the ladder can be difficult as the other reviews state but it helps that I am 6'4". A step ladder should be used to unfold and refold the ladder which some might argue defeats the purpose, but we don't plan on using this ladder that often which reduces the severity of the issue. Overall a great ladder for the price.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Everest 12 ft. x 63 in. x 25-1/2 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
Rich
from Miller Place, NY, USA

Great ladder...here's how to install it without killing yourself

PostedMay 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ok...I've seen reviews complaining about the difficulty lifting this into the hole. Get a helper. Lift the assembly into the attic. Get 2 pieces of 1x4 approx 32" wide. Have all tools, nails, etc. needed to install in attic. Screw 2 pieces of 1x4 across front and back of opening. Carefully place attic ladder on top of braces. Adjust straps provided and nail them in. Remove screws in 1x4s and continue installation. Also, additional measurements that might be helpful before ordering:
Rough opening: 25 1/2 x 63"
Landing space (from hinges to where ladder hits ground if extended to full height of 12 ft): 90"
Swing clearance (when door is open, distance from bottom hinge of first section parallel to floor needed to open next section of ladder): 92"
Landing space will be proportionally less if your ceiling is lower and you have to trim the last section of the ladder. First section of ladder is 57", next 2 are 54" each. Just to clarify..landing space is distance parallel to floor from hinges to where ladder hits floor.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Everest 12 ft. x 63 in. x 25-1/2 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
TimmyK

Ease of use

PostedApril 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good product for the price. Don't spend too much time squaring up the hole. Frame needed a lot of shimming to get just relatively square. Otherwise works well.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Everest 12 ft. x 63 in. x 25-1/2 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
Anonymous

12 ft attic ladder

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
It fit but the rough opening suggested was too big. had to place 1/2" shim on one side to be able to shim it square. other than that it was easy to install. 1-11/2hours to install after opening was completed.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Everest 12 ft. x 63 in. x 25-1/2 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
Ecartelgae
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Stairway to heaven (or my attic)

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This ladder is a bit more expensive but well worth it. The ladder is very stable and wide so that almost anything you would store in an attic will fit. I'm happy with this purchase.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Durable
Cons: Difficult to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Everest 12 ft. x 63 in. x 25-1/2 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
jlc02harley
from harrisburg, pa.

product was easy to install

PostedSeptember 2, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
product was easy to install but you certainly need 2 people to install.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Everest 12 ft. x 63 in. x 25-1/2 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
Robb
from Fernandina Beach, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well-built and attractive product.

PostedSeptember 17, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
With the extra height of the garage ceiling, I needed an attic stair longer than the standard. Purchased this product based on other's reviews and am very satisfied. It did require that the ceiling opening be lengthened, requiring that ceiling joists be cut and re-installed.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Everest 12 ft. x 63 in. x 25-1/2 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
Anonymous
from Tampa, FL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Good Ladder, Received it Damaged

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had this ladder professionally installed and it works pretty good. Since my ceilings are so tall (~12') it does seem a bit ricketty when you are climbing the ladder, but I would expect that for such a long ladder. I think the quality is good and haven't noticed any issues using it yet (it was installed about 3 weeks ago).
It did have a hole in the wood when we opened the box from shipping (I assume). Since my contractor was there that day to install this thing, I didn't want to have to go through the hassle of sending it back to get another one. He used wood filler to patch the 1" hole and painted over it and it's not an issue.
Pros: Durable, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Everest 12 ft. x 63 in. x 25-1/2 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
hojo

Easy installation - built to last.

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Instructions were very comprehensive and easy to follow. Ladder has extra length, so I used it for access above the 11' ceiling in my garage to increase my storage space. Very strong and sturdy ladder with a wider opening than competitors. I weigh over 200# and the ladder supported me and everything I carried up without any problems.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Everest 12 ft. x 63 in. x 25-1/2 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
Naildriver
from North Mississippi

Really liked the sturdiness of this attic access ladder.

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
As a contractor in today's competitive business climate I look for little ways to separate me from the competition. This attic access ladder was a home run. Not the usual rickety wooden ladder, this one was aluminum with a 350 lbs rating at a "comparable to wood" price. My customer was delighted knowing they could carry a heavy load plus their body weight up or down the ladder without failure of the rails or steps.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Everest 12 ft. x 63 in. x 25-1/2 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
Fletch
from Seneca, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice Ladder

PostedNovember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The quality of the ladder appears to be very nice. The 1/4 wood cover is flimsy, but I believe they all are. The pole that came with the unit does not stay in the pulled out position. Pulling the ladder out and putting it back in is a little difficult due to the 12' length. I have been up and down the ladder numerous time and it appears to be sturdy.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Everest 12 ft. x 63 in. x 25-1/2 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
Tswanson
from New Orleans, LA, USA

Well built

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Well built strong ladder very heavy duty excellent ladder for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Everest 12 ft. x 63 in. x 25-1/2 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
Andy

Does what it should

PostedFebruary 1, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Seems well built but it does not fit a standard 24" center truss. I boxed the rough opening and attached the box to the underside of the truss.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Everest 12 ft. x 63 in. x 25-1/2 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
LadderJoe

Sturdy, well built

PostedFebruary 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This ladder is well built. We have a 12' ceiling in our garage and this ladder works perfect. It is difficult to get the ladder unfolded because it is so high in the air but once it is down it works great.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Everest 12 ft. x 63 in. x 25-1/2 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
wildlifec
from Fort Collins
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Heavy Duty

PostedFebruary 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very sturdy ladder. Does take 2 people to hang it. Worth the money
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Everest 12 ft. x 63 in. x 25-1/2 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
58glj
from LAWRENCE KANSAS
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

poor design

PostedMarch 6, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I BOUGHT THIS SO I WOULD NOT HAVE TO GET A LADDER OUT TO GET IN MY ATTIC. AFTER INSTALLING I FOUND OUT THAT I COULDN'T UNFOLD THE LADDER WITHOUT A STEP LADDER NOR CAN IT BE FOLDED UP WITHOUT A STEP LADDER
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Everest 12 ft. x 63 in. x 25-1/2 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
Comm
from Idaho, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is a great ladder

PostedMay 1, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This ladder is as described and works well. Installation took me about 4 hours with minimal help from my wife. ( I hoisted it up from above) The only complaint I have is that it looks pretty sad when done. I built a frame around it and it helped with the finished look from below.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Everest 12 ft. x 63 in. x 25-1/2 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
BoBo
from Naples, FL, USA

Great value

PostedJune 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Heavy duty solid ladder with nice hand rails for climbing
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Everest 12 ft. x 63 in. x 25-1/2 in. Aluminum Attic Ladder with 350 lb. Load Capacity Type IA Duty Rating
Trustee
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Product is fine, install instructions need improvement

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Rough opening specifications were wrong, much too large
for units requirements...had to shim and build out rough opening after following directions accurately. Once installed, unit is of good quality, except insulation is quite skimpy, will need to augment with additional insulation...
would buy again, problems easy to fix, overall quality trumps negatives...
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: wrong rough opening size bad instructions, skimpy insulation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 >>