728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Chainsaws & Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 24 in. 66.8 cc Gas Chainsaw

24 in. 66.8 cc Gas Chainsaw

The CS-680 is ECHO's most popular felling saw delivers excellent speed and reliability for enhanced productivity. It has replaceable bumper spikes that help improve control for easier cutting along with a cushioned left-handed grip for added comfort. The CS-680 come standard with a 24 in. bar and chain. This unit comes with a standard five year consumer warranty.
Overall rating:
4.667 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product19 of 20reviews
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(17)
4
(3)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Features 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product19 of 20reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for 24 in. 66.8 cc Gas Chainsaw
Review 1 for 24 in. 66.8 cc Gas Chainsaw

excellent chainsaw

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
As a home owner I am receiving truckloads weekly of hardwood logs. Some up to 4 feet in diameter. This saw has done miraculous work on the wood. I have had the saw for a few months and it's already cut 30+ cord of wood and still on the factory chain (sharpened many times of course). I only use 97 octane with an approved mix. Any less in octane will cause the saw to get vapor lock. Love the electronic ignition. Easy to start time after time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 24 in. 66.8 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Southern Maryland
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

No Regrets

PostedMarch 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I did not purchase my saw from Home Depot, I purchased from a local dealer, however this saw has blown all my expectations out of the water. I have owned 3 Stihls in the past and they don't even come close. I have made four test cuts in 20" solid red oak and the saw didn't even skip a beat. Plus it comes stock with a dual port muffler. It pulls a 24" chain without hesitation. The bar and chain are Oregon power match painted with Echo's logo, and the chain is a full chisel. This saw is a true sleeper.
+19points
20out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 24 in. 66.8 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Lake Almanor, California, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

really like this saw

PostedOctober 15, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
this saw cuts great for it's weight. I live up in the mountains and depend on fire wood for heat in the winter. the Echo cuts down 18" to 28" trees all day long and rounds them up in no time. Could have a smidge more power, but once the timing adjusts to your cut it powers right through a 24" tree like a champ. pretty good purchase for the buck.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 24 in. 66.8 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Upstate NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Value Felling Saw

PostedOctober 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been cutting wood for more than 30 years and am a mechanic. I own Stihl, Echo and Homelite plus used to be a Poulan dealer. I bought an Echo CS-4500 in 1987 and still use it regularly. My recent purchase of the CS-680 occurred when I upped my 044 Stihl to a bigger bar (36") for large willow and hemlock and wanted another felling saw in the 70cc class. My excellent 20+ years Echo experience led me to look at this CS-680 which is still an old school saw. It does not have the auto-tune features of the newer model designs and (after "decaping" the jet screws) I am able to adjust the saw for maximum power. During the first hour of heavy cutting I adjusted the high speed twice by enriching a 1/16 turn. I rated its features as Good because of the issue with having to decap the jets. I would expect that if you cut heavy (20"+) without a break as I do, you may have the potential to run too lean and stick the piston. Of course the warranty will cover it if you use the Echo oil and don't mess with the jets but.... Why blow up a good saw if you don't have to. This saw is several hundred dollars cheaper than the Husky and Stihl equivalents and is a joy to operate. As far as power, you won't notice the difference between it an the others. Buy it while you can as rumors have it that Echo will phase this out and you will be looking at a saw with a whole lot more plastic.... the old school manual over-ride oiler is great in seasoned wood too!
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Cuts Well, Good Size & Weight, manual oiler overide, $200 cheaper than stihl
Cons: limit caps on jets
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 24 in. 66.8 cc Gas Chainsaw

So far good investment

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I like to break a chainsaw in easy. My first use with this CS-680 was on two standing dead Red Oak trees about a foot across at the base of the trunk. Using "Midgrade gas" with a echo oil mix this saw made light work of it's first job. Both dead trees where down and cut too 18" logs ready for my log splitter in no time. The next two hardwoods I will be cutting will tell me more about what the saw can do. I own a CS-450 It impressed me enough to buy this CS-680. The 680 is a little harder to get started. Once it's running it has the power needed for my type of work. I heat my home with wood. Both of these saws will make this a much easier job to do.
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 24 in. 66.8 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Fort Edward N.Y.

cs 680 Echo Chain Saw

PostedJanuary 3, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My Family bought me this chain saw for Christmas. This is the most powerful and lightest saw of this type I have ever used. It easily cuts thru hard rock maple and never loses power. I absolutely love this saw. Thanks for an excellent product!!!!
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 24 in. 66.8 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Georgia

Great Saw

PostedApril 26, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This saw is great. Started up right away and every time after. Cut through some real tough wood like a breeze. I would definitely recommend this saw to anyone and I will always buy ECHO after this.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 24 in. 66.8 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Lower Lake, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Easy starting lots of power and not too heavy

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased for use around the ranch, with a very large oak down over a road. It's no longer blocking the road. Plenty of power to use the entire blade. This is not a saw for a beginner. I'm left handed but of course I use this right handed. It's easy to start, it has lots of power and with a 24" blade it handles all the big jobs. It does have a 27" blade available which I'm sure it can handle.
Pros: Cuts Well, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, easy starting
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 24 in. 66.8 cc Gas Chainsaw
from fl
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Product

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This 24" gas chainsaw cuts with ease and gets the job done.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 24 in. 66.8 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Mississippi

Solid, powerful saw

PostedMay 16, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've got around 10hrs on this saw now and love it. The chain tensioner took a little getting used to but works great; oil capacity & automatic oiler w/manual is perfectly matched to gasoline capacity. Outstanding power, 24" bar makes short work of 80yr old Oaks & Hickory. Though a little hefty for endurance cutting, the speed of cutting makes it a great choice.
This saw replaced a worn-out poulan pro.
Only bummer with the saw is no carrying case / scabbord.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 24 in. 66.8 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Crete, IL (Chicago suburb)

Great saw

PostedMarch 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this saw to turn three large trees in my yard into firewood so basically to cut all three trees down and into smal enough peices for the log splitter (shortest tree was about 50'). This saw did an excellent job. Had debated between Echo and Stihl and went with Echo as I've heard they last much longer and I saw they are much more affordable and have a 5 year warranty compared to Stihls 1 year. The only advantage to Stihl that I've heard is they run at a higher RPM so they cut a little faster. Being a guy I was intrigued but this Echo is more than powerful enough. One last thing is Echo is based in Chicagoland and buying through them helps protect the local economy and American jobs. Using this saw just reinforced the fact that there is no way I would buy another brand.
+10points
13out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 24 in. 66.8 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Iowa, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great chainsaw for price

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I cut wood to heat our home. I have been fine with an 18" chainsaw, but started to run out of smaller trees that had fallen. This chainsaw cuts about twice as fast as my craftsman 18" chainsaw, and seems to be built better too. I have only had this for about a month, but seems to be a great running chainsaw with no problems yet.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Durable, Powerful
Cons: no sheath for chain bar
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 24 in. 66.8 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Saginaw, Michigan

very powerful saw

PostedOctober 31, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The nice thing about Echo is that they all use the same gas/oil mix. Buy the Oil by the Case cheaper. Thios saw does the job as advertised. Can order bigger or smaller bars a Plus.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 24 in. 66.8 cc Gas Chainsaw
from alabama
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

fast cutting and powerful felling saw

PostedJanuary 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought cs680 and cs400 in feb 2009. Have cut 176 fullsize truck loads (LONG WHEEL BASE) of firewood before any trouble. I let the 680 get too hot. Having it rebuilt. Great saw. Keep it clean and you will have no starting problems. Use the echo oil-gas mix. Saw is as heavy as this 54 yr old can handle. Have to pull it out on the big ones, trim with the 400.
Pros: Cuts Well, Sturdy, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Long-Lasting
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 24 in. 66.8 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Northern Mn

CS680 Chain saw

PostedJuly 28, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great saw. Runs smooth and quiet. More than enough power for my use. Would buy Echo again.
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 24 in. 66.8 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Piqua, OH 45356, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

awsome product

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Used a few times now, great power ease of assembly, cuts smooth and fast,well built machine!!!!
Pros: Great Engine
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 24 in. 66.8 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Pueblo, CO, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Saw

PostedNovember 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Best sawbfor the money hands down I have used the other big names and yet ECHO has always been just as good or better for half the price. I will never buy another brand for power equipment.
Pros: Cuts Well, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Long-Lasting
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 24 in. 66.8 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Seattle, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

ok product

PostedJuly 20, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
cuts well, a little tricky to start do not choke after its been run.
Pros: Cuts Well, Good Size & Weight
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 24 in. 66.8 cc Gas Chainsaw
from lubbock texas

24" echo

PostedOctober 19, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
cut like a champ, unbelievable for about an hour then seized up. Had the right 2 stroke mix, maybe just a bad unit, hope so, otherwise I can not recommend
-5points
4out of 13found this review helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for 24 in. 66.8 cc Gas Chainsaw
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
2 out of 2 recommend this product