728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 1 lb. Mice and Rat Bait Chunks-DISCONTINUED

1 lb. Mice and Rat Bait Chunks-DISCONTINUED

Farnam Just One Bite 1 lb. Bait Chunks for Rats and Mice will kill Norway rats, roof rats, house mice and Warfarin-resistant Norway rats. Rodents die within a few days after eating a lethal dose with just 1 bite. The chunks can be placed indoors or outdoors in places where rats and mice travel, but away from children, pets and non-targeted wildlife.
Overall rating:
4.556 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(63 reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product53 of 56reviews
Rating Breakdown 63 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(49)
4
(7)
3
(2)
2
(3)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product53 of 56reviews
Customer reviews for 1 lb. Mice and Rat Bait Chunks-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 1 lb. Mice and Rat Bait Chunks-DISCONTINUED
from Texas, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Have Used Just One Bite for Twelve Years

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Over the last 20 years I've tried several brands and types of rodenticides and Just One Bite is one of the best I've used. EPA regulations which became effect late in 2011 have restricted where second generation anticoagulants, such as the bromadiolone in J.O.B. may be sold has made this product hard to find locally. I was pleased to find it available online.
Pros: Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1 lb. Mice and Rat Bait Chunks-DISCONTINUED

It works!

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this product. I tried 1 piece at a time on the last 3 weekends. After the first piece, I got one mouse. I got nothing on the second but the bait disappeared. On the third, I got another one. I will continue to try until no one comes to get it. Home Depot should sell this product at theirs stores instead of on line only.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1 lb. Mice and Rat Bait Chunks-DISCONTINUED
from MA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked for my use

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Rats love this stuff. However, I can't tell you if it kills them or not. I broke the chunks into smaller pieces and used them to bait rat traps. Used a little PB as glue to hold a bait piece in place and the little jerks(they chewed the knock sensor wire in my odyssey) can't resist.
I didn't like they idea of one them eating the bait, then crawling into the crevasses of my engine to die, which is why I didn't use the bait alone.
Pros: Multi Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1 lb. Mice and Rat Bait Chunks-DISCONTINUED
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Really Works, Awesome

PostedNovember 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I offered this product with 2 other type of baits in our parrot aviary. Tom Cat was the worst. The rats love the smell and taste of Tom Cat but it doesn't kill rats fast. DCon works well when they eat it but it appears that they have to be starving before they eat dcon. Just One Bite is readilly eaten by Norway Rats/Roof Rats/Mice. I wittnessed 3 them take one bite and within hours become lethargic. They actually came out of hiding and walked up to me. I promptly gave them the shovel. Other mice and rats are found dead on a regular basis in our aviary after they eat a small amount of Just One Bite.
+40points
40out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1 lb. Mice and Rat Bait Chunks-DISCONTINUED
from Detroit, MI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is the one to try

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The first night I just put two whole chunks out in different area of the rat trail, The next day the whole chunks were gone and did not see any signs of any more rats. I would buy this product again.
Pros: Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1 lb. Mice and Rat Bait Chunks-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This the one to buy...

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I tried everything else with no luck. This got all of them with one try. Two of them died the first day and the other the day after.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1 lb. Mice and Rat Bait Chunks-DISCONTINUED
from Haverhill, MA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good stuffs

PostedJuly 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I think it is a very good product, because after 3 days to try out this product, we do not see and/or hear any more of the M's footstep noise either in our arctics or in our basement at all.
We did not even have to use 1/2 of the pack. This stuffs must have a good smell and good taste to the M (Do not try to taste this at home).
Pros: Great Quality
Cons: none
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1 lb. Mice and Rat Bait Chunks-DISCONTINUED
from Connecticut, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works well, no mess, good price performer

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Effective and easy to use. I used a 12 inch aluminum dryer exhaust tube to house and protect the bait from rain since it was for outside rats. I hammered a nail into a short piece of wood and then placed the bait through the nail so it would not be pulled out of the tube. More effective than the Tom Cat traps.
Pros: Easy to Install, good price
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1 lb. Mice and Rat Bait Chunks-DISCONTINUED
from California, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product Works Well

PostedDecember 16, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We discovered an infestation of roof rats in the attic and under the house. I caught a couple with traps but they were very wary and hard to kill with traps. I decided to try poison to place outside the house along one wall with a lot of vegitation where I saw some rat droppings. I purchased "Just One Bite II" because of the good reviews. I didn't want to use the poison inside the house and risk them dying inside but I suspected that the rats had a way to enter the house and would come inside and go outside at various times. I put 8 of the bait chunks along the wall and the next day two of them went missing - presumeably taken away by the rats. Over the next several days all but one went missing and the remaining one was chewed up quite a bit. So the rats are definitely attracted to the bait. I haven't seen any dead rats but we no longer have any indication of rat activity inside the house (we used to occasionally hear them scurrying in the attic and find fresh droppings in the attic and under the house). I believe that we have effectively gotten rid of the rat problem with one package of the poison bait.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1 lb. Mice and Rat Bait Chunks-DISCONTINUED
from Bowdoinham, ME, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Mice have moved out

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
One evening when I was putting dishes away I opened the pantry door and came face to face with a mouse. I think he startled me as much as I startled him.
But i couldn't have mice. I have cats. Alas the cats and the mice had become best buddies.
I'm keeping the cats..but the mice must go. So I purchased the rat bait and some mouse traps as well. And presto chango, I haven't seen anymore uninvited critters and I haven't seen the little black things they leave behind.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1 lb. Mice and Rat Bait Chunks-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product

PostedMarch 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've used this bait before with excellent results, but it is no longer available in my store. I ordered two so I could keep some on hand. I would recommend gloves, or at least tissues to avoid skin contact, and wash your hands afterwards. Be safe.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality, very effective
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1 lb. Mice and Rat Bait Chunks-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Just One Bite

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The name of this product says it all. This rat poison kills them after just one bite. I had one mouse in the house now its gone. We have used this product in the past in our garage to kill a rat. I highly recommend it and i am glad Home Depot carries it.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1 lb. Mice and Rat Bait Chunks-DISCONTINUED
from rancho cordova , CA

It's not always about the price

PostedJune 21, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
now i can say " It's not always about the PRICE "
this product is a testament to that... this product may be cheap but it works!!!!!
no more rodents ruining my garden
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1 lb. Mice and Rat Bait Chunks-DISCONTINUED

More effective than some others tried. Be patient.

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Performed as advertised. Have a persistent indigenous outdoor population and keeping them out of crawls difficult. Have used several other but baited around attic (secured so they had to eat to take away) and after several days of frantic feeding...rats are gone. Very effective just not instantaneous.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1 lb. Mice and Rat Bait Chunks-DISCONTINUED
from Phoenix, Arizona
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It REALLY works!

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is the only truly effective weapon against the onslaught of the roof rats. They are everywhere, and too numerous to eliminate with other options. They feed on this bait while you sleep and never know they are near. Only problem is I hear Home Depot has discontinued this item. Big mistake.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1 lb. Mice and Rat Bait Chunks-DISCONTINUED

Very effective

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We were having trouble with burrowing critters here in the desert. I put a bait at each sign of digging and watched as they were nibbled on daily. In less than a week our problem was solved.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1 lb. Mice and Rat Bait Chunks-DISCONTINUED
from Maine, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quik and thorough acting

PostedFebruary 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had a field rat show up one day . . . Not a bad chap, just unwanted . . . Named him Rodney . . . Located three entry holes to his burrow network and inserted a bait chunk in each . . . Rodney no longer visits . . .
Pros: Functionality, Great Quality, Effective, quick acting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1 lb. Mice and Rat Bait Chunks-DISCONTINUED
from albany

Attracts rodents

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
After trying everything, repellant sprays, urine, fencing, have-a-hart traps ... nothing would stop whatever was eating my garden. So put this out, and something nibbled at it, but still my garden got eaten. So put this in a have-a-hart trap and caught three skunks, a mommy and two babies. This stuff doesn't kill the skunks, even after they eat the whole thing. Nonetheless, it worked, and nothing is eating my garden. So I guess it worked.
Pros: Functionality
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1 lb. Mice and Rat Bait Chunks-DISCONTINUED
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works better than expected!!!

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Live on a canyon in San Diego. Spring and summer the rats are everywhere. They have gotten too clever for traps. All close neighbors used this bait with great results. Only downside is when the rats go indoors to die :(
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1 lb. Mice and Rat Bait Chunks-DISCONTINUED

Product works great

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Nail the bait chucks to a board and put it were you think rats are and in no time reduced the population around my barn. It also works great on squirals,after all they are just rats with bushy tails!!
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>