728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for MasterCool 5000 CFM Side-Draft Roof 8 in. Media Evaporative Cooler for 1650 sq. ft. (Motor Not Included)

MasterCool 5000 CFM Side-Draft Roof 8 in. Media Evaporative Cooler for 1650 sq. ft. (Motor Not Included)

This MasterCool down-discharge evaporative cooler is American-made and provides an economical, environmentally-friendly means of cooling up to 1,650 sq. ft. Engineered for maximum airflow and superior durability, the MasterCool line of coolers not only save energy dollars, but provides years of worry-free cooling comfort for you and your family. This unit can accommodate a 1/3, 1/2 or 3/4 hp motor (sold separately) based on your cooling needs. This evaporative cooler performs best in dry, arid climates.
Overall rating:
4.625 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product7 of 7reviews
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(6)
4
(1)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product7 of 7reviews
Customer reviews for MasterCool 5000 CFM Side-Draft Roof 8 in. Media Evaporative Cooler for 1650 sq. ft. (Motor Not Included)
Review 1 for MasterCool 5000 CFM Side-Draft Roof 8 in. Media Evaporative Cooler for 1650 sq. ft. (Motor Not Included)
Glenn
from Parker, AZ, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Much better than the old unit .

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This unit is designed much better than the previous mastercool cooler I had. The thermoplastic wet section should last much longer than the original unit .
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for MasterCool 5000 CFM Side-Draft Roof 8 in. Media Evaporative Cooler for 1650 sq. ft. (Motor Not Included)
dagor
from Arizona

Bitter sweet...

PostedMay 30, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Though I have had good luck w/ Home Depot in the past I wasn't so lucky with this one. I purchased it because it had free shipping - for a 200 pound piece of equipment that is a plus. However it arrived dented in three different places. On top of that since I had a used 3/4 hp motor all I needed was the pulley and the one recommended for this unit had the wrong bore shaft. Other than that it works great just looks like it has been around the block. I guess I could have refused shipment but what would you do if you lived in Arizona in June?
+12points
20out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 3 for MasterCool 5000 CFM Side-Draft Roof 8 in. Media Evaporative Cooler for 1650 sq. ft. (Motor Not Included)
renorb
from Reno, NV, USA

Good Buy

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This cooler works great. I've had it installed for about two months now with no problems, absolutely no leaks, and very good operation.
The only negative comments I have are: the sheet metal is somewhat flimsy, so you have to be careful when you remove the inspection panels not to bend them; a couple of sheet metal screws were over-tightened at the factory and the threads were stripped as a result; the filter media added a mild but odd odor to the air for the first week or so of operation.
I would abolutely buy this cooler again and I would recommend it to a friend. Strangely, it was much cheaper to buy the bare unit and purchase the motor, pulley, and purge pump separately rather than buying a complete assembled unit.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Quiet, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Economical, Reliable
Cons: some stripped sheet metal screws from factory
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for MasterCool 5000 CFM Side-Draft Roof 8 in. Media Evaporative Cooler for 1650 sq. ft. (Motor Not Included)
JohnnyBfromPeoria
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simply The Best

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I ordered this online for pickup at my local store. I had the same model on my Phoenix house for 18 years before the cabinet rusted through and needed replacement, so this one was easy to just put up in its place. The pads last for years at a shot, so you eventually save money over Aspen pad models. The sections (wet section and blower cabinet) are able to be separated for ease of transport and I was able to get the entire thing in the back of my SUV. All in all a very high quality unit.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for MasterCool 5000 CFM Side-Draft Roof 8 in. Media Evaporative Cooler for 1650 sq. ft. (Motor Not Included)
bunker
from California, USA
Age Range:45 to 54

This product has been great!

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Since we have installed the swap cooler, we've only had the ac on twice. So glad we got this and wish we had done it sooner!!
Pros: Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for MasterCool 5000 CFM Side-Draft Roof 8 in. Media Evaporative Cooler for 1650 sq. ft. (Motor Not Included)
FcoAbu
from AZ

Awesome Cooler

PostedMay 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This the third mastercool unit I've owned for different houses. The air feels much like AC in that it's cold like AC but not overly humid like your typical swamp cooler. Even during the humid monsoon season this unit gets us through quite comfortably! I've got mine connected to a thermostat and couldn't be happier!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for MasterCool 5000 CFM Side-Draft Roof 8 in. Media Evaporative Cooler for 1650 sq. ft. (Motor Not Included)
hd700

Works exacly as needed.

PostedOctober 19, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Overall the cooler was pretty simple to install. Once I figured out how to take it apart, that is. Keeps my green house at the temperature where I need it. The installation instructions around the motor/pulley were a bit on the vague side for someone who does not deal with this type of equipment. But, I was able to work around the issues encountered. Over all the unit works well, time will tell how long it will last.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for MasterCool 5000 CFM Side-Draft Roof 8 in. Media Evaporative Cooler for 1650 sq. ft. (Motor Not Included)
pnolan
from Maricopa Arizona
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product does what its supposed to to . Great product

PostedMay 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the best cooler we have ever owned. Works great.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.