728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 128 oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer

128 oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer

The Expert Chemical 128 oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer allows you to keep your composite deck and railings clean and fresh by removing mold and mildew. 1-gal. cleans 100 sq. ft. of decking and 20 ft. of railing with spindles. If your spindles are made of a material other than composite and you only need to clean the handrails, 1-gal. will cover 40 ft.
Overall rating:
4.465 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(101 reviews) 101
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product87 of 97reviews
Rating Breakdown 101 reviews
4.5 out of 5
5
(78)
4
(9)
3
(4)
2
(3)
1
(7)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product87 of 97reviews
Customer reviews for 128 oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
Review 1 for 128 oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer

Wow my Deck looks brand new

PostedSeptember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I read reviews all over the internet trying to find a good product to restore my composite deck from the stains and dirt. I purchased the deck cleaner and enhancer through Home Depot. I started with a small section of the deck. The minute I applied this product it started to work and with in 30 minutes that section looked brand new. I have since order more product to finish the remainder of the deck. It really did work for me.
Pros: Immediate Results, Cost Effective, Easy to Use, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 128 oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Westampton, NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really did the Trick - Great Product

PostedMay 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The product had to be ordered online. It arrived at my house within 4 days of ordering. The directions stated it had to be used within 30 days of delivery to ensure the chemicals in the product did what they were supposed to do. After reading the directions, I emptied the product into a sprayer and sprayed my deck. It immediately began breaking up the mold spots. This product was outstanding...It did the trick as far as cleaning my composite deck which now looks brand new. I would purchase this product again and would recommend it to anyone with a compositie deck.
Pros: Easy to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 128 oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

product works on Trex decking.

PostedOctober 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I followed the directions pretty close and the first application took all the mold off. I continued as directed. It did seem to fade the color a bit, or some of the cleaner residue is still present. There is no trace of the mold and when the deck is wet all the color is restored. So next step per Trex website is to buy a restoration color product.
Step after that is to never buy Trex again. Low maintenance, yeah right.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+39points
43out of 47found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 128 oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Maryland

Really works!

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I first tried pressure washing to remove the black stains from my Trex (saddle) decking (three years old). The pressure washing had little or no effect. A week later I applied this product and followed all the instructions and it looks fantastic. I didn't even use a pressure washer during/after application because it wasn't necessary. The decking looks a little bit faded compared to when it was brand new but that might be bleaching from the sun rather than this product. There are no black spots anymore which is a huge improvement. Wear old clothes when you apply it because it will bleach any clothing if it comes in contact with.
Pros: Cost Effective, Fast Results
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 128 oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Bucks County, Pa
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exceptional. Outstanding

PostedMay 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Cleaned our composite deck to like new condition. Second use in 3 years. Just make sure you cover nearby shrubs.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 128 oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Tustin
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fantastic Product

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This cleaner does it's job. Well.
Takes care of dirt, grime and mold. Leaves my composite deck looking new again. Minus the fading that comes with exposure to the sun that is.
Best to use on a cloudy day. Just make sure you're wearing clothes that you don't mind coming in contact with a bleach based liquid.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 128 oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Manasss, VA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best composite deck cleaner I have ever tried

PostedMay 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
While Expert Chemical Composite Deck Cleaner seems a bit pricey, I have tried nine other cleaners recommended by the manufacturer of the decking (TimberTech) and none of them worked - period. Expert Chemical was easy to apply. Even the scrubbing step was not that difficult. And when the final application dried, the deck looked practically new again. I am definitely going to be using Expert Chemical again for my deck cleaning.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 128 oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Columbus, Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Did an OK job.

PostedMay 5, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Didn't like the fact that I had to buy online. Overall it did a good job. Didn't clean as I wished. Next time I will get something else that I can buy from store shelf.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 128 oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Delaware
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Deck Cleaner

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The product worked very well and cleaned the grey Trex deck. Unfortunately it only lasted about 6 weeks before reapplication was neccessary (during the summer months). The second application seemed to work into the cold weather and we have seen no problems as yet.
Pros: Cost Effective, Easy to Use, Fast Results
Cons: didn't last long.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 128 oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer

Works great

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Make sure to cover any plants or grass or they will be harmed. Cleans the composite decking great and keeps the mold away. If I knew the decking would be this much trouble I would have went with traditional lumber.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 128 oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Quakertown, PA 18951, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product does not work & Expert Chemical does not stand behind their product.

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product seemed to work at first but soon after (1-2 weeks), the mold spots came back worse than before. Customer Service at Expert Chemical had me try the whole day long process again, and had exactly same disappointing results. The company did not stand behind their non working product and told me to call Trex and not them. Don't waste your money or time with this product.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
13out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 128 oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Superior, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great deck cleaner

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Wow, I have a Trek deck and nothing worked to get it clean until I used this product. Looks like new got out all the stains and mildew that was on the deck after hard Colorado winter.
Pros: Immediate Results, Cost Effective
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 128 oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer

Fantastic for Trex

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Keeping mold off our Trex Deck has always been a challege for the last 8 years. The mold/dirt made the deck look awful most of the year. I have tried numerous products. This stuff was simple to use and the results are fantastic. The cleanser worked right away and you could see the results in each phase of the process. This is much easier than pressure washing.
Pros: Immediate Results, Easy to Use, High Quality, Long-Lasting, Effective
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 128 oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Sagle, Idaho

Awesome!

PostedJune 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the ONLY product that took out the mold that had permeated our Trex decking. We tried other products and this is the only one that worked...it looks brand new. Make sure you follow all three steps...it does make a difference.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 128 oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Tigard
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female

Product too complicated and difficult to use.

PostedMarch 12, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product did not perform as expected and there should have been instructions to read at the store before we ordered. I am not sure that we will order it again. The store should keep the product on hand so that we don't have to order.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 128 oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Atlanta, Georgia

PostedMay 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have a trex deck that became covered with black spots, even in the direct sunlight. This material completely removed all the spots and made the deck look new! Although I followed the instructions to spray undiluted, then scrub with diluted mixture, and finally, follow up with a second undiluted spray, the deck looked great after the first step. Typically products promise more than they deliver but the composite deck cleaner was truly impressive.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 128 oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Helena, Mt, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great cleaner! Even for soot and ash!

PostedMay 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is by far one of the best cleaners I have used for my Trex deck. My color is Saddle and I found that it did a very good job at cleaning any grease, dirt, bird stains. We don't have a problem with mold or mildew here in Montana, but we do with ash and soot from a pellet stove nearby. This has been the only product that cleaned to soot with minimal effort! Does seem to "enhance" deck by lightening slightly. I found that the coverage was a little less than stated, so will have to order some more. But overall, worth the $$!! A++
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 128 oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer

Excellent product

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I tried a number of other cleaners for my composite deck, and none of them worked. This product worked wonderfully. I used just 1 gallon on about 300 square feet of composite deck (next time will buy more to do multiple treatments) and it completely cleaned off the mold/mildew. Excellent!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 128 oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Clinton Township, Michigan

Removed Black Spots and Cleaned as Advertised

PostedJune 17, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We get unpredicable winters in Michigan that caused much black spotting. This product removed all black spots and cleaned our 4 year old Trex Decking and restored its original finish,with no noticeable fading, as advertised, when used as directed and after a thorough lengthy rinsing with the garden hose and nozzle after Steps 2 and 3. The popular white powder compound mixed with water that our deck installer recommended that we previously used didn't remove the spots. I wouldn't hesitate to use it again!
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 128 oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Eliot, ME
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best composite board deck cleaner we have found.

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Every year we buy a deck wash product, and get poor results. Stains are never completely removed.
This product cleaned up all stains, including the dye from a cheap propane gas stove cover, which the rain had washed off onto the decking leaving black marks that I could not scrub off.
One important point: The directions, which come with product on a DVD, must be followed!!!
Pros: Effective
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>