728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer

128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer

The Expert Chemical 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer allows you to keep your deck and railings clean and fresh. This cleaner helps remove mold and mildew. One-gal. cleans 100 sq. ft. of decking and 20 ft. of railing with spindles. If your spindles are made of a material other than composite and you only need to clean the handrails, one-gal. will cover 40 ft.
Overall rating:
4.568 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(74 reviews) 74
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product65 of 70reviews
Rating Breakdown 74 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(60)
4
(6)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(4)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product65 of 70reviews
Customer reviews for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
Review 1 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
JimsDomain

Wow my Deck looks brand new

PostedSeptember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I read reviews all over the internet trying to find a good product to restore my composite deck from the stains and dirt. I purchased the deck cleaner and enhancer through Home Depot. I started with a small section of the deck. The minute I applied this product it started to work and with in 30 minutes that section looked brand new. I have since order more product to finish the remainder of the deck. It really did work for me.
Pros: Immediate Results, Cost Effective, Easy to Use, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
SamnolikeTrex
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

product works on Trex decking.

PostedOctober 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I followed the directions pretty close and the first application took all the mold off. I continued as directed. It did seem to fade the color a bit, or some of the cleaner residue is still present. There is no trace of the mold and when the deck is wet all the color is restored. So next step per Trex website is to buy a restoration color product.
Step after that is to never buy Trex again. Low maintenance, yeah right.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+26points
28out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
SavvySwabber

Fantastic for Trex

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Keeping mold off our Trex Deck has always been a challege for the last 8 years. The mold/dirt made the deck look awful most of the year. I have tried numerous products. This stuff was simple to use and the results are fantastic. The cleanser worked right away and you could see the results in each phase of the process. This is much easier than pressure washing.
Pros: Immediate Results, Easy to Use, High Quality, Long-Lasting, Effective
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
John
from Eliot, ME
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best composite board deck cleaner we have found.

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Every year we buy a deck wash product, and get poor results. Stains are never completely removed.
This product cleaned up all stains, including the dye from a cheap propane gas stove cover, which the rain had washed off onto the decking leaving black marks that I could not scrub off.
One important point: The directions, which come with product on a DVD, must be followed!!!
Pros: Effective
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
EagleScout42
from Quakertown, PA 18951, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product does not work & Expert Chemical does not stand behind their product.

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product seemed to work at first but soon after (1-2 weeks), the mold spots came back worse than before. Customer Service at Expert Chemical had me try the whole day long process again, and had exactly same disappointing results. The company did not stand behind their non working product and told me to call Trex and not them. Don't waste your money or time with this product.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
7out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
kathydee
from Sagle, Idaho

Awesome!

PostedJune 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the ONLY product that took out the mold that had permeated our Trex decking. We tried other products and this is the only one that worked...it looks brand new. Make sure you follow all three steps...it does make a difference.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
Blrow3
from Helena, Mt, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great cleaner! Even for soot and ash!

PostedMay 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is by far one of the best cleaners I have used for my Trex deck. My color is Saddle and I found that it did a very good job at cleaning any grease, dirt, bird stains. We don't have a problem with mold or mildew here in Montana, but we do with ash and soot from a pellet stove nearby. This has been the only product that cleaned to soot with minimal effort! Does seem to "enhance" deck by lightening slightly. I found that the coverage was a little less than stated, so will have to order some more. But overall, worth the $$!! A++
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
GCAtlanta
from Atlanta, Georgia

PostedMay 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a trex deck that became covered with black spots, even in the direct sunlight. This material completely removed all the spots and made the deck look new! Although I followed the instructions to spray undiluted, then scrub with diluted mixture, and finally, follow up with a second undiluted spray, the deck looked great after the first step. Typically products promise more than they deliver but the composite deck cleaner was truly impressive.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
NJhomeowner
from Bernardsville, NJ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Look no further

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Best results with the least effort that I have used on my composite deck. I'm an admittedly particular person and was thrilled with the results. Watch the video and know that this product is shipped to you AND only has a 35-day shelf life! Follow the instructions and you will be thrilled.
Pros: High Quality, Looks Great
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
Nick
from Palenville, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Better Then Expected Results

PostedMay 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
As titled, I received better then expected results with this product. However, as with most things there are some "other then results" items to take note of.
First thing to note is that the video that comes included (which we're paying for in the price) does mention to use this product "Generously"......I had measured my deck and calculated that two gallons would do it for me. This product is only available through Home Depots web site so if you fall short on your calculations of how much you need.. ...you can't just run over to the store to pick up another gallon. At my calculated two gallons there was a shipping charge. With one more gallon.....there was not.....so i had an extra gallon and boy let me tell you......I needed it to "apply this product generously". I truly lucked out on that. ORDER ONE MORE GALLON THEN YOU THINK YOU NEED!
Secondly, Between clearing & sweeping the deck and getting everything ready to spray....and application time....Don't be surprised if this project consumes 3-4 hours of your day......and don't forget clean-up time added to that number. You will want to completely clean anything that came in contact with this cleaner.....especially your sprayer.if you ever want it to work again.Watch your clothes....IT WILL BLEACH YOUR CLOTHES ON CONTACT.
Thirdly, I strongly recommend using a pressure cleaner on the second (last) rinse. Not only to remove any residue product left behind, but if you find any mold or mildew that was not removed during the previous process,...now is the time to hit it with the pressure and blast it off while in it's weakened state from the cleaner.
Overall, It was a slightly BIGGER & l o n g e r job then the video indicated it would be....and I think they underestimated the amount of product needed to complete the job. I was pleased with the results I received from this product and will use it again in the future when needed.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
DS462583
from Clinton Township, Michigan

Removed Black Spots and Cleaned as Advertised

PostedJune 17, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We get unpredicable winters in Michigan that caused much black spotting. This product removed all black spots and cleaned our 4 year old Trex Decking and restored its original finish,with no noticeable fading, as advertised, when used as directed and after a thorough lengthy rinsing with the garden hose and nozzle after Steps 2 and 3. The popular white powder compound mixed with water that our deck installer recommended that we previously used didn't remove the spots. I wouldn't hesitate to use it again!
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
2boys

Makes our deck look brand new!

PostedAugust 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used another product in the past which Home Depot doesn't carry anymore. Looking for another option, I tried Expert Chemical based on the positive reviews and I was glad I did. It ended up cheaper and equally effective as my previous product. It did make our deck look brand new! I like the dvd that comes with the package as it demonstrates the step-by- step procedure and precautions. This will be my deck cleaner of choice from now on!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
Sonny
from Hatfield, Ma.

Easy application

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I tried different products. Some worked, and some didn't. The key to this product is that it can dry before rinsing where as the others could not. Very little elbow grease and I didn't have to use my pressure washer. It completely removed the mold and mildew stains.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
dlcs
from washington, pa

great product

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It was extremely easy to apply and removed mold instantly. 'Exceeded my expectations.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
JB45
from Northwest Pennslvania
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

performs as advertised

PostedMay 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Did an excellent job of cleaning a deck that hadn't been washed in a few years and had some quite severe mold.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
SalParadise
from Oswego, NY, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works. A little pricey. Tricky instructions.

PostedAugust 16, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
First, the good news: this stuff works very well on mold, as well as on dirt. It's first rate.
Now the no-so-good news.
At around twenty bucks for 100 sq. ft. of coverage, it seems a little pricey.
You'll need the following equipment to apply it: a sprayer; a deck brush; a bucket; eye protection; latex gloves; and a hose or a pressure washer. If you have any plants, you will want to cover them with some plastic sheeting before you begin.
BTW, I doubt very much that you will need the pressure washer. This stuff works very well, and a hose with some moderate water pressure does a great job of removing it.
The product has a very short shelf life (around 30 days), and is damaged by sun or heat.
If you have a red Trex deck, call the company for special instructions before you start. You might, in fact, want to do this before you order the product, so you know what you are getting yourself into :)
Finally, I found the instructions to be confusing.
*Step 1: empty 1 gallon of cleaner into your sprayer and apply generously.
*Step 2: mix one cup of cleaner to a gallon of water and scrub.
*Step 3: wait a minute! If you only bought one gallon of cleaner and you put the entire gallon into the sprayer back in Step 1, where did the cup of cleaner you needed for Step 2 come from?
Why didn't they tell you back in Step 1 to reserve a cup of cleaner for Step 2? Things would have been so much easier if they had. Oh well, you probably bought more than one gallon of the product, so it won't be a problem for you.
Summary: this is very good product, Use it up as soon as you get it; it loses effectiveness fairly quickly, so don't buy more than you need.
Pros: Easy to Use, Fast Results, Effective
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
JArora
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked Great

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Product worked great and deck looks very nice, although now it is a bit lighter (it bleaches it out). Not a lot of scrubbing required. It will be interesting to see what it looks like in the Spring. We ordered 2 gallons for our 11 x 40 Trex deck + stairs. Did not have quite enough product to clean all of the railing spindles and "outside" of deck. Next time I would order 3 gallons. Had order shipped directly to our house which was convenient.
Pros: Easy to Use, Immediate Results, Fast Results, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
JimTheRoofer
from Temple Hills, MD, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works well: brightens and removes stains from Trex decking.
A bit labor-intensive: apply with sprayer, scrub, hose-off, apply 2nd coat with sprayer.
Pros: Cost Effective, Immediate Results, Fast Results, Effective
Cons: multiple applications
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
Mark

Appears to work well, but time will tell...

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product comes with very clear instructions, including a DVD. However, one gallon is supposed to be good for 100 sq. ft., but if applied per instructions (including that "GENEROUS" first application), it will do 80 sq. ft. at most. On the other hand, it has a short shelf life, so don't get more than you need.
The product did a good job of removing spots of mildew from my Home Depot "Veranda" brand traditional (non-capped) decking installed in northern Virginia, although some faint "ghosts" are still visible. Also, the final application (which is left on the deck) is hydrophilic and attracts moisture from humid air, which sometimes makes the deck look damp.
Time will tell whether the product actually keeps mildew away for "up to a year."
I was disappointed to find that, although I can buy all sorts of cleaning products at my local Home Depot (including things like laundry detergent that are available everywhere), I cannot buy this product. Perhaps stocking it would be admitting an uncomfortable truth: Home Depot's own brand of composite decking does develop mildew and is not the zero-maintenance product it was advertised to be. However, since mildew IS a problem in damp climates and since this product IS a manufacturer's recommended mildew cleaner/inhibitor, HD is missing a good bet by not stocking it in its stores (short shelf life notwithstanding).
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
jacsr
from N. Central WI
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product did the job.

PostedOctober 30, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I didn't have a scrub brush as some have recommended but it still did a very good job just by letting it sit on the deck for about 30 minutes and then power washing it off. I tried some spots on the deck with the power washer only and there was a noticeable difference. I think a light scrubbing with a brush would work much better.
Pros: Cost Effective, Easy to Use, Fast Results, Effective
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>