728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 128 oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer

128 oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer

The Expert Chemical 128 oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer allows you to keep your composite deck and railings clean and fresh by removing mold and mildew. 1-gal. cleans 100 sq. ft. of decking and 20 ft. of railing with spindles. If your spindles are made of a material other than composite and you only need to clean the handrails, 1-gal. will cover 40 ft.
Overall rating:
4.409 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(115 reviews) 115
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product99 of 111reviews
Rating Breakdown 115 reviews
4.4 out of 5
5
(84)
4
(15)
3
(4)
2
(3)
1
(9)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product99 of 111reviews
Customer reviews for 128 oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
Review 1 for 128 oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Urbana, MD
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Couldn't be happier

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I hadn't cleaned my composite deck in about 2 years. It was easier to use then the Corte*Clean product previously applied in the years prior. That item was increasing becoming hard to find. So, I switched to something new.
I treated a small area of my deck with the chemical (just dripped out of container). Attached is a photo of it after sitting for about 10 minutes. No scrubbing was performed. All of the green mold disappeared.
I have 200 sq ft deck and used 2 gallons. It barely made it on the second application.
Overall results were great. I will purchase this again next year.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 128 oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from indiana
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great!

PostedJune 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product worked great on my trex deck! If I would hve ordered extra, it would have finished off some remaining darker areas. But it's expensive @ almost $19/gallon which covers 100 sq. feet and my deck is 800 sq feet-ouch! :(, so I tried to be conservative but still used 7 gallon which computed out to $133 just to clean the deck. I didn't have enough to give it a second coat as it says, but will definitely use it again. Our deck is very shaded with trees and is on the north side of the house which contributes to mold, and stains from multiple leaves in the fall. The actual color of the trex is saddle, but it looked more like walnut before applying the deck cleaner as you can see in the photo.
Pros: does what it says
Cons: expensive
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 128 oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Westampton, NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really did the Trick - Great Product

PostedMay 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The product had to be ordered online. It arrived at my house within 4 days of ordering. The directions stated it had to be used within 30 days of delivery to ensure the chemicals in the product did what they were supposed to do. After reading the directions, I emptied the product into a sprayer and sprayed my deck. It immediately began breaking up the mold spots. This product was outstanding...It did the trick as far as cleaning my composite deck which now looks brand new. I would purchase this product again and would recommend it to anyone with a compositie deck.
Pros: Easy to Use
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 128 oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer

Wow my Deck looks brand new

PostedSeptember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I read reviews all over the internet trying to find a good product to restore my composite deck from the stains and dirt. I purchased the deck cleaner and enhancer through Home Depot. I started with a small section of the deck. The minute I applied this product it started to work and with in 30 minutes that section looked brand new. I have since order more product to finish the remainder of the deck. It really did work for me.
Pros: Immediate Results, Cost Effective, Easy to Use, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 128 oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

product works on Trex decking.

PostedOctober 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I followed the directions pretty close and the first application took all the mold off. I continued as directed. It did seem to fade the color a bit, or some of the cleaner residue is still present. There is no trace of the mold and when the deck is wet all the color is restored. So next step per Trex website is to buy a restoration color product.
Step after that is to never buy Trex again. Low maintenance, yeah right.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+42points
46out of 50found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 128 oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer

This liquid can result in spots and stains on a composite deck

PostedJune 10, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Used this to clean my composite deck. After cleaning, there are light cream colored stains everywhere the liquid was sprayed. The deck is a mess now. I am not recommending this product.
Cons: spots and stains
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 128 oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer

It works in wood too

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Trying to match old wood to new repairs this stuff is magic. San the new, use this on old wait a week and coat old with clear new with stain. Not color perfect but it is accept ingle to the eyes. Wonder ful chemistry is.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 128 oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Ridgewood, NJ

Works very well

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It left a few spots that wouldn't scrub off, but overall the product did a terrific job. And the deck has stayed clean for weeks. Not cheap, but so much easier than 8-10 hours of power washing.
Pros: Easy to Use, lasting results
Cons: fairly expensive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 128 oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer

Used on Trex Deck

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I was immediately surprised to see the product start to lift dark stains on our deck within minutes of first application. Overall effect was very good, but heavy scrubbing with brush required for our deck. It is under a large pine and shaded most day by large hardwoods, and had not been cleaned in 1.5 years. We followed directions using 2 bottles for a deck almost 200sf and were a little short on final spraying. I'd recommend buying one gallon over estimate. I plan to try this out on a stone patio next.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 128 oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer

Great Product!

PostedJuly 14, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Loved this product and have used many things trying to get my composite deck clean of mold and mildew. I would have given it a 5 star but for some reason I could not click on the fifth star from my cell phone trying to rate this.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 128 oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from western new york
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great composite deck restorer

PostedJuly 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
product came with dvd showing how to apply cleaner in easy one, two , three steps. worked as advertised and really looks nearly brand new.
Pros: Easy to Use, great results
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 128 oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Maryland

Really works!

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I first tried pressure washing to remove the black stains from my Trex (saddle) decking (three years old). The pressure washing had little or no effect. A week later I applied this product and followed all the instructions and it looks fantastic. I didn't even use a pressure washer during/after application because it wasn't necessary. The decking looks a little bit faded compared to when it was brand new but that might be bleaching from the sun rather than this product. There are no black spots anymore which is a huge improvement. Wear old clothes when you apply it because it will bleach any clothing if it comes in contact with.
Pros: Cost Effective, Fast Results
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 128 oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Massachuesets
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A deck cleaner that actually works

PostedJune 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My composite deck hasn't been cleaned since I installed it (about 7 yrs). It was covered with black mold spots. I've tried other cleaners in the past that didn't even come close to removing the mold. I purchased the product as a last ditch effort before attempting to paint the deck. After using this product my deck looks brand new. Follow the instructions and you won't be disappointed.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 128 oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Southern Oregon
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Our deck looks new again..

PostedJune 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Our Evergrain decking is 5 years old, had never been cleaned and had a moderate amount of dirt and mold. With 848 sq. ft. we ordered 10 gallons but could have gotten by with only 8 (we used the leftover amount to clean our garage entry). We felt the price per gallon was a little steep but decided to buy it after reading the many positive reviews. We followed the instructional DVD closely and I am happy to say this product surpassed our expectations. There was a powdery residue left after the final application had dried and the instructions said it could be just swept away with a broom but I chose to rinse it off as we have pets and I didn't want them walking in it. Our Storm Gray colored decking looks like new again!
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 128 oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer

Trex deck cleaner

PostedJune 18, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Product not as fresh as expected-2 of 3 gallons had some haziness so were older- not made fresh as advertised.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 128 oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Quakertown, PA 18951, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product does not work & Expert Chemical does not stand behind their product.

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product seemed to work at first but soon after (1-2 weeks), the mold spots came back worse than before. Customer Service at Expert Chemical had me try the whole day long process again, and had exactly same disappointing results. The company did not stand behind their non working product and told me to call Trex and not them. Don't waste your money or time with this product.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
13out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 128 oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from lewes, delaware
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

save your money

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
i got the same thing out of bleach and dish soap. save your money unless you are giving money away then just send it to me.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 128 oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Brewster, NY

Does a Great Job But Doesn't Go Very Far

PostedJune 2, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This stuff really works. I couldn't believe how my composite deck looked like new after a treatment but a gallon of the stuff is good for only 100 Sq. Ft.! That's a 10' x 10' patch. I stretched it out a bit and managed to do a bigger section since I only ordered 1 gallon but be warned that you will need several gallons to clean most decks.
Pros: Easy to Clean
Cons: doesn't go very far
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 128 oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Cincinnati, OH
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Verada compoosite deck looks like new!

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I was interested in the product from the advertisements and reviews; but rarely does a product exceed my expectations! I used this on a Veranda brand composite deck I installed in 2008. Although not recommended, I had carefully power washed the deck twice before with modest results. Biggest problem was that two pin oak trees shade about 1/2 of the 750 sq ft deck and cause mold and algae stains in the composite. Although power washing helped, it was a PITA to have to go very slowly and carefully to not "bruise" the composite.
I followed the instructions very carefully and applied the cleaner liberally (be sure to pay attention to the "from the bottom up" spray application--I ended up with a couple of streaks where I went "top down" using my garden sprayer).
WOW--and I do mean WOW--when I finished my deck looked as good as installation day! I also put a final coat (per the instructional CD that came with the cleaner) and am hopeful I won't have the same green/black spots as before reappear (been two months and so far so good!).
Only reason I gave 4 out of 5 stars on the Value rating was that it didn't seem to have the coverage I was looking for. I had over bought by about 2 1/2 gallons from the coverage recommendation thinking I could return unused--glad I did because I ran out very close to 100% done.
Good stuff.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Durable, High Quality
Cons: coverage--add 10% more
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 128 oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from reno, nv
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

best trex cleaner we have ever found

PostedJune 2, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
this worked well, wish we didn't have to order on-line only.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>