728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer

128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer

The Expert Chemical 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer allows you to keep your deck and railings clean and fresh by removing mold and mildew. One-gal. cleans 100 sq. ft. of decking and 20 ft. of railing with spindles. If your spindles are made of a material other than composite and you only need to clean the handrails, one-gal. will cover 40 ft.
Overall rating:
4.472 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(91 reviews) 91
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product78 of 87reviews
Rating Breakdown 91 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(72)
4
(7)
3
(2)
2
(3)
1
(7)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product78 of 87reviews
Customer reviews for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
Review 1 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer

Wow my Deck looks brand new

PostedSeptember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I read reviews all over the internet trying to find a good product to restore my composite deck from the stains and dirt. I purchased the deck cleaner and enhancer through Home Depot. I started with a small section of the deck. The minute I applied this product it started to work and with in 30 minutes that section looked brand new. I have since order more product to finish the remainder of the deck. It really did work for me.
Pros: Immediate Results, Cost Effective, Easy to Use, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

product works on Trex decking.

PostedOctober 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I followed the directions pretty close and the first application took all the mold off. I continued as directed. It did seem to fade the color a bit, or some of the cleaner residue is still present. There is no trace of the mold and when the deck is wet all the color is restored. So next step per Trex website is to buy a restoration color product.
Step after that is to never buy Trex again. Low maintenance, yeah right.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+33points
37out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Maryland

Really works!

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I first tried pressure washing to remove the black stains from my Trex (saddle) decking (three years old). The pressure washing had little or no effect. A week later I applied this product and followed all the instructions and it looks fantastic. I didn't even use a pressure washer during/after application because it wasn't necessary. The decking looks a little bit faded compared to when it was brand new but that might be bleaching from the sun rather than this product. There are no black spots anymore which is a huge improvement. Wear old clothes when you apply it because it will bleach any clothing if it comes in contact with.
Pros: Cost Effective, Fast Results
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer

Excellent product

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I tried a number of other cleaners for my composite deck, and none of them worked. This product worked wonderfully. I used just 1 gallon on about 300 square feet of composite deck (next time will buy more to do multiple treatments) and it completely cleaned off the mold/mildew. Excellent!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Gales Ferry, CT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product!

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My Trex decking looks brand new. I will definitely use this product again. Followed the directions exactly as written, looks fabulous.
Pros: Cost Effective, Easy to Use, High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Superior, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great deck cleaner

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Wow, I have a Trek deck and nothing worked to get it clean until I used this product. Looks like new got out all the stains and mildew that was on the deck after hard Colorado winter.
Pros: Immediate Results, Cost Effective
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Upatoi,ga
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not good

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product was degraded when I got it. It is too susceptible to degradation in shipment,etc. I could not effectively use it.
Cons: ineffective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Chicago, IL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks good for about a month then mold returns. Cannot recommend

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this composite deck cleaner based on the many positive reviews. I had used another composite deck cleaner product in the past on my 13 year old Trex deck. I clean my Trex deck every spring.
My purchase was made in the spring and I cleaned the deck following the manufacturers directions. I withheld my review until the end of summer because people see a nice clean deck after cleaning and think the product is great but any bleach based product can make the deck look good. What really counts is that the cleaning product kill mold and delay its return.
Just after cleaning, the deck looked great. No signs of dark spots and the color was consistent across the whole deck.
Now fast forward three weeks after cleaning and the deck has dark mold spots forming. In four weeks the deck looks very similar to what it was before cleaning it. By the end of this summer, early September, the deck looks no better than it did before cleaning. I don't expect the deck to look like it was cleaned after four months of summer use but I was disappointed to see the dark mold forming within three weeks after cleaning. My other cleaning product delayed the return of mold longer.
I cannot recommend this product. There are other, more expensive unfortunately, products that will clean your deck well and delay the return of dark mold. No cleaner will stop the mold from returning. Visit the deck material manufacturers website for a recommended cleaning product.
Pros: Immediate Results
Cons: ineffective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Maryland
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product really did a great job removing green mildew from my composite deck. Recommend highly.

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quick & easy to use. Recommend getting a pump sprayer.
Pros: Easy to Remove, Cost Effective, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer

Dont bother

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Plain old concentrated Clorox Bleach worked just as well.
Also you can use pool shock, I have heard from professional power-washers/
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Worcester, MA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fantastic product

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I ordered this product because of the great reviews. This product did not disappoint. Once sprayed, it immediately started eating away at the mold and dirt that had accumulated for years on our deck. It is a little pricey but why waste your money on cheaper products that can't handle the job? I will definitely use this product again.
Pros: Immediate Results, High Quality, Fast Results, Effective
Cons: Aroma
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer

Fantastic for Trex

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Keeping mold off our Trex Deck has always been a challege for the last 8 years. The mold/dirt made the deck look awful most of the year. I have tried numerous products. This stuff was simple to use and the results are fantastic. The cleanser worked right away and you could see the results in each phase of the process. This is much easier than pressure washing.
Pros: Immediate Results, Easy to Use, High Quality, Long-Lasting, Effective
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Quakertown, PA 18951, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product does not work & Expert Chemical does not stand behind their product.

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product seemed to work at first but soon after (1-2 weeks), the mold spots came back worse than before. Customer Service at Expert Chemical had me try the whole day long process again, and had exactly same disappointing results. The company did not stand behind their non working product and told me to call Trex and not them. Don't waste your money or time with this product.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
8out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Detroit, MI

Best product we've ever used for removing mold from our deck

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
A little expensive, but definitely worth it. Make sure you follow the idrecitons exactly and it works great. Other products involved hard scrubbing and did not last longer than a few months. This one just needs a little brushing and so far looks very promising. We will see what is looks like after the winter snows and spring melts next year.
Pros: Easy to Use, Immediate Results, Fast Results, Effective
Cons: little expensive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Sagle, Idaho

Awesome!

PostedJune 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the ONLY product that took out the mold that had permeated our Trex decking. We tried other products and this is the only one that worked...it looks brand new. Make sure you follow all three steps...it does make a difference.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Minnesota
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't waste your money

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought two containers and followed the instructions exactly, hoping for great results. Unfortunately, the product does not remove the leopard spots that form each year on Trex decking. I've used other products that have worked much better.
Very disappointed in this product!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Eliot, ME
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best composite board deck cleaner we have found.

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Every year we buy a deck wash product, and get poor results. Stains are never completely removed.
This product cleaned up all stains, including the dye from a cheap propane gas stove cover, which the rain had washed off onto the decking leaving black marks that I could not scrub off.
One important point: The directions, which come with product on a DVD, must be followed!!!
Pros: Effective
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Atlanta, Georgia

PostedMay 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a trex deck that became covered with black spots, even in the direct sunlight. This material completely removed all the spots and made the deck look new! Although I followed the instructions to spray undiluted, then scrub with diluted mixture, and finally, follow up with a second undiluted spray, the deck looked great after the first step. Typically products promise more than they deliver but the composite deck cleaner was truly impressive.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Myrtle Beach, SC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does the Job, but with several cleaning steps and procedures

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Removing all mold from composite decking such as Trex can be very difficult.
This is one of the very few products that Trex recommends for cleaning pesty mold from their composite decking. There is an excellent DVD that comes with the material that shows all of the procedures and steps needed and following them precisely is important to completely removing all of the mold from the decking. This chemical WILL lighten the deck color due to the strong presence of bleach. The material is mixed to order. It cannot be stored at temp over 85 or it will go bad. In addition, it expires in 30 days. It is a strong chemical so protecting plants is important.
The manufacturer states that one gal will do 100 sq ft, but we did not get that much coverage. I recommend buying extra.
So, there are lots of requirements and procedures to using this chemical, but the results were very good.
Pros: Effective
Cons: Aroma, complicated to use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from ny

works great

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
seems to be the only thing that works to get most of the black mold off of the deck
Pros: Easy to Use, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>