728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Cleaners or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer

128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer

The Expert Chemical 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer allows you to keep your deck and railings clean and fresh by removing mold and mildew. One-gal. cleans 100 sq. ft. of decking and 20 ft. of railing with spindles. If your spindles are made of a material other than composite and you only need to clean the handrails, one-gal. will cover 40 ft.
Overall rating:
4.56 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(84 reviews) 84
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product74 of 80reviews
Rating Breakdown 84 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(68)
4
(7)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(5)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product74 of 80reviews
Customer reviews for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
Review 1 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer

Wow my Deck looks brand new

PostedSeptember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I read reviews all over the internet trying to find a good product to restore my composite deck from the stains and dirt. I purchased the deck cleaner and enhancer through Home Depot. I started with a small section of the deck. The minute I applied this product it started to work and with in 30 minutes that section looked brand new. I have since order more product to finish the remainder of the deck. It really did work for me.
Pros: Immediate Results, Cost Effective, Easy to Use, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

product works on Trex decking.

PostedOctober 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I followed the directions pretty close and the first application took all the mold off. I continued as directed. It did seem to fade the color a bit, or some of the cleaner residue is still present. There is no trace of the mold and when the deck is wet all the color is restored. So next step per Trex website is to buy a restoration color product.
Step after that is to never buy Trex again. Low maintenance, yeah right.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+32points
36out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Superior, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great deck cleaner

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Wow, I have a Trek deck and nothing worked to get it clean until I used this product. Looks like new got out all the stains and mildew that was on the deck after hard Colorado winter.
Pros: Immediate Results, Cost Effective
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Worcester, MA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fantastic product

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I ordered this product because of the great reviews. This product did not disappoint. Once sprayed, it immediately started eating away at the mold and dirt that had accumulated for years on our deck. It is a little pricey but why waste your money on cheaper products that can't handle the job? I will definitely use this product again.
Pros: Immediate Results, High Quality, Fast Results, Effective
Cons: Aroma
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Detroit, MI

Best product we've ever used for removing mold from our deck

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
A little expensive, but definitely worth it. Make sure you follow the idrecitons exactly and it works great. Other products involved hard scrubbing and did not last longer than a few months. This one just needs a little brushing and so far looks very promising. We will see what is looks like after the winter snows and spring melts next year.
Pros: Easy to Use, Immediate Results, Fast Results, Effective
Cons: little expensive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from ny

works great

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
seems to be the only thing that works to get most of the black mold off of the deck
Pros: Easy to Use, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Minnesota
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't waste your money

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought two containers and followed the instructions exactly, hoping for great results. Unfortunately, the product does not remove the leopard spots that form each year on Trex decking. I've used other products that have worked much better.
Very disappointed in this product!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Myrtle Beach, SC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does the Job, but with several cleaning steps and procedures

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Removing all mold from composite decking such as Trex can be very difficult.
This is one of the very few products that Trex recommends for cleaning pesty mold from their composite decking. There is an excellent DVD that comes with the material that shows all of the procedures and steps needed and following them precisely is important to completely removing all of the mold from the decking. This chemical WILL lighten the deck color due to the strong presence of bleach. The material is mixed to order. It cannot be stored at temp over 85 or it will go bad. In addition, it expires in 30 days. It is a strong chemical so protecting plants is important.
The manufacturer states that one gal will do 100 sq ft, but we did not get that much coverage. I recommend buying extra.
So, there are lots of requirements and procedures to using this chemical, but the results were very good.
Pros: Effective
Cons: Aroma, complicated to use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Staten Island, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really Does the Job

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our composite deck was covered in mold and mildew. Tried several different products and nothing worked. then we found this and boy did it do the job. A little time consuming but well worth it.
Pros: Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer

Fantastic for Trex

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Keeping mold off our Trex Deck has always been a challege for the last 8 years. The mold/dirt made the deck look awful most of the year. I have tried numerous products. This stuff was simple to use and the results are fantastic. The cleanser worked right away and you could see the results in each phase of the process. This is much easier than pressure washing.
Pros: Immediate Results, Easy to Use, High Quality, Long-Lasting, Effective
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Staten Island NY
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Cleaner for composite decks. Plan to clean within 35 days as specified in the instructions.

PostedJune 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Excellent Cleaner for composite decks. Used another brand with no success. Very expensive to clean larger decks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Brentwood, TN, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The only one that worked

PostedMay 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We have a Trex deck that gets black mold spots over the months. We have tried many products to get rid of the spots, and this Expert Chemical product is the only one that gets the job done. It is not too physically difficult to apply, thought there is scrubbing needed. We apply it about every 6 months and the deck is wonderful.
Pros: Immediate Results, Easy to Use, High Quality, Fast Results, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer

This product WORKS!!!

PostedMay 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is my third year using this product - I use to power wash the composite decking and still had a hard time getting it clean.
This stuff works amazing - no power washer needed - follow the instructions - my deck is gorgeous after this cleaning and stays that way all season -
follow the instructions - you won't be disappointed.
Pros: Immediate Results, Cost Effective, Easy to Use, High Quality, Fast Results, Long-Lasting, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Quakertown, PA 18951, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product does not work & Expert Chemical does not stand behind their product.

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product seemed to work at first but soon after (1-2 weeks), the mold spots came back worse than before. Customer Service at Expert Chemical had me try the whole day long process again, and had exactly same disappointing results. The company did not stand behind their non working product and told me to call Trex and not them. Don't waste your money or time with this product.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
8out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Eliot, ME
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best composite board deck cleaner we have found.

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Every year we buy a deck wash product, and get poor results. Stains are never completely removed.
This product cleaned up all stains, including the dye from a cheap propane gas stove cover, which the rain had washed off onto the decking leaving black marks that I could not scrub off.
One important point: The directions, which come with product on a DVD, must be followed!!!
Pros: Effective
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Sagle, Idaho

Awesome!

PostedJune 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the ONLY product that took out the mold that had permeated our Trex decking. We tried other products and this is the only one that worked...it looks brand new. Make sure you follow all three steps...it does make a difference.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Atlanta, Georgia

PostedMay 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a trex deck that became covered with black spots, even in the direct sunlight. This material completely removed all the spots and made the deck look new! Although I followed the instructions to spray undiluted, then scrub with diluted mixture, and finally, follow up with a second undiluted spray, the deck looked great after the first step. Typically products promise more than they deliver but the composite deck cleaner was truly impressive.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Helena, Mt, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great cleaner! Even for soot and ash!

PostedMay 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is by far one of the best cleaners I have used for my Trex deck. My color is Saddle and I found that it did a very good job at cleaning any grease, dirt, bird stains. We don't have a problem with mold or mildew here in Montana, but we do with ash and soot from a pellet stove nearby. This has been the only product that cleaned to soot with minimal effort! Does seem to "enhance" deck by lightening slightly. I found that the coverage was a little less than stated, so will have to order some more. But overall, worth the $$!! A++
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Palenville, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Better Then Expected Results

PostedMay 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
As titled, I received better then expected results with this product. However, as with most things there are some "other then results" items to take note of.
First thing to note is that the video that comes included (which we're paying for in the price) does mention to use this product "Generously"......I had measured my deck and calculated that two gallons would do it for me. This product is only available through Home Depots web site so if you fall short on your calculations of how much you need.. ...you can't just run over to the store to pick up another gallon. At my calculated two gallons there was a shipping charge. With one more gallon.....there was not.....so i had an extra gallon and boy let me tell you......I needed it to "apply this product generously". I truly lucked out on that. ORDER ONE MORE GALLON THEN YOU THINK YOU NEED!
Secondly, Between clearing & sweeping the deck and getting everything ready to spray....and application time....Don't be surprised if this project consumes 3-4 hours of your day......and don't forget clean-up time added to that number. You will want to completely clean anything that came in contact with this cleaner.....especially your sprayer.if you ever want it to work again.Watch your clothes....IT WILL BLEACH YOUR CLOTHES ON CONTACT.
Thirdly, I strongly recommend using a pressure cleaner on the second (last) rinse. Not only to remove any residue product left behind, but if you find any mold or mildew that was not removed during the previous process,...now is the time to hit it with the pressure and blast it off while in it's weakened state from the cleaner.
Overall, It was a slightly BIGGER & l o n g e r job then the video indicated it would be....and I think they underestimated the amount of product needed to complete the job. I was pleased with the results I received from this product and will use it again in the future when needed.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Clinton Township, Michigan

Removed Black Spots and Cleaned as Advertised

PostedJune 17, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We get unpredicable winters in Michigan that caused much black spotting. This product removed all black spots and cleaned our 4 year old Trex Decking and restored its original finish,with no noticeable fading, as advertised, when used as directed and after a thorough lengthy rinsing with the garden hose and nozzle after Steps 2 and 3. The popular white powder compound mixed with water that our deck installer recommended that we previously used didn't remove the spots. I wouldn't hesitate to use it again!
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>