728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer

128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer

The Expert Chemical 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer allows you to keep your deck and railings clean and fresh by removing mold and mildew. One-gal. cleans 100 sq. ft. of decking and 20 ft. of railing with spindles. If your spindles are made of a material other than composite and you only need to clean the handrails, one-gal. will cover 40 ft.
Overall rating:
4.468 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(94 reviews) 94
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product81 of 90reviews
Rating Breakdown 94 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(73)
4
(9)
3
(2)
2
(3)
1
(7)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product81 of 90reviews
Customer reviews for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
Review 1 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer

Wow my Deck looks brand new

PostedSeptember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I read reviews all over the internet trying to find a good product to restore my composite deck from the stains and dirt. I purchased the deck cleaner and enhancer through Home Depot. I started with a small section of the deck. The minute I applied this product it started to work and with in 30 minutes that section looked brand new. I have since order more product to finish the remainder of the deck. It really did work for me.
Pros: Immediate Results, Cost Effective, Easy to Use, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

product works on Trex decking.

PostedOctober 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I followed the directions pretty close and the first application took all the mold off. I continued as directed. It did seem to fade the color a bit, or some of the cleaner residue is still present. There is no trace of the mold and when the deck is wet all the color is restored. So next step per Trex website is to buy a restoration color product.
Step after that is to never buy Trex again. Low maintenance, yeah right.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+33points
37out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Maryland

Really works!

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I first tried pressure washing to remove the black stains from my Trex (saddle) decking (three years old). The pressure washing had little or no effect. A week later I applied this product and followed all the instructions and it looks fantastic. I didn't even use a pressure washer during/after application because it wasn't necessary. The decking looks a little bit faded compared to when it was brand new but that might be bleaching from the sun rather than this product. There are no black spots anymore which is a huge improvement. Wear old clothes when you apply it because it will bleach any clothing if it comes in contact with.
Pros: Cost Effective, Fast Results
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Delaware
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Deck Cleaner

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product worked very well and cleaned the grey Trex deck. Unfortunately it only lasted about 6 weeks before reapplication was neccessary (during the summer months). The second application seemed to work into the cold weather and we have seen no problems as yet.
Pros: Cost Effective, Easy to Use, Fast Results
Cons: didn't last long.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Superior, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great deck cleaner

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Wow, I have a Trek deck and nothing worked to get it clean until I used this product. Looks like new got out all the stains and mildew that was on the deck after hard Colorado winter.
Pros: Immediate Results, Cost Effective
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer

Excellent product

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I tried a number of other cleaners for my composite deck, and none of them worked. This product worked wonderfully. I used just 1 gallon on about 300 square feet of composite deck (next time will buy more to do multiple treatments) and it completely cleaned off the mold/mildew. Excellent!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Worked pretty much as shown in the DVD, but didn't cover as much surface as it advertised. Overall, I'm pleased with the look of the trex......
Pros: Effective
Cons: didn't quite cover my 80 sq foot deck
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Gales Ferry, CT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product!

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My Trex decking looks brand new. I will definitely use this product again. Followed the directions exactly as written, looks fabulous.
Pros: Cost Effective, Easy to Use, High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Missouri
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great product

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product cleand my deck fast and easy! Thank you for this great discovery!
Pros: Easy to Use, Fast Results
Cons: limited shelf life
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Quakertown, PA 18951, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product does not work & Expert Chemical does not stand behind their product.

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product seemed to work at first but soon after (1-2 weeks), the mold spots came back worse than before. Customer Service at Expert Chemical had me try the whole day long process again, and had exactly same disappointing results. The company did not stand behind their non working product and told me to call Trex and not them. Don't waste your money or time with this product.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
8out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer

Fantastic for Trex

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Keeping mold off our Trex Deck has always been a challege for the last 8 years. The mold/dirt made the deck look awful most of the year. I have tried numerous products. This stuff was simple to use and the results are fantastic. The cleanser worked right away and you could see the results in each phase of the process. This is much easier than pressure washing.
Pros: Immediate Results, Easy to Use, High Quality, Long-Lasting, Effective
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Upatoi,ga
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not good

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product was degraded when I got it. It is too susceptible to degradation in shipment,etc. I could not effectively use it.
Cons: ineffective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Sagle, Idaho

Awesome!

PostedJune 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the ONLY product that took out the mold that had permeated our Trex decking. We tried other products and this is the only one that worked...it looks brand new. Make sure you follow all three steps...it does make a difference.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Atlanta, Georgia

PostedMay 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a trex deck that became covered with black spots, even in the direct sunlight. This material completely removed all the spots and made the deck look new! Although I followed the instructions to spray undiluted, then scrub with diluted mixture, and finally, follow up with a second undiluted spray, the deck looked great after the first step. Typically products promise more than they deliver but the composite deck cleaner was truly impressive.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Helena, Mt, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great cleaner! Even for soot and ash!

PostedMay 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is by far one of the best cleaners I have used for my Trex deck. My color is Saddle and I found that it did a very good job at cleaning any grease, dirt, bird stains. We don't have a problem with mold or mildew here in Montana, but we do with ash and soot from a pellet stove nearby. This has been the only product that cleaned to soot with minimal effort! Does seem to "enhance" deck by lightening slightly. I found that the coverage was a little less than stated, so will have to order some more. But overall, worth the $$!! A++
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Eliot, ME
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best composite board deck cleaner we have found.

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Every year we buy a deck wash product, and get poor results. Stains are never completely removed.
This product cleaned up all stains, including the dye from a cheap propane gas stove cover, which the rain had washed off onto the decking leaving black marks that I could not scrub off.
One important point: The directions, which come with product on a DVD, must be followed!!!
Pros: Effective
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Chicago, IL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks good for about a month then mold returns. Cannot recommend

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this composite deck cleaner based on the many positive reviews. I had used another composite deck cleaner product in the past on my 13 year old Trex deck. I clean my Trex deck every spring.
My purchase was made in the spring and I cleaned the deck following the manufacturers directions. I withheld my review until the end of summer because people see a nice clean deck after cleaning and think the product is great but any bleach based product can make the deck look good. What really counts is that the cleaning product kill mold and delay its return.
Just after cleaning, the deck looked great. No signs of dark spots and the color was consistent across the whole deck.
Now fast forward three weeks after cleaning and the deck has dark mold spots forming. In four weeks the deck looks very similar to what it was before cleaning it. By the end of this summer, early September, the deck looks no better than it did before cleaning. I don't expect the deck to look like it was cleaned after four months of summer use but I was disappointed to see the dark mold forming within three weeks after cleaning. My other cleaning product delayed the return of mold longer.
I cannot recommend this product. There are other, more expensive unfortunately, products that will clean your deck well and delay the return of dark mold. No cleaner will stop the mold from returning. Visit the deck material manufacturers website for a recommended cleaning product.
Pros: Immediate Results
Cons: ineffective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Palenville, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Better Then Expected Results

PostedMay 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
As titled, I received better then expected results with this product. However, as with most things there are some "other then results" items to take note of.
First thing to note is that the video that comes included (which we're paying for in the price) does mention to use this product "Generously"......I had measured my deck and calculated that two gallons would do it for me. This product is only available through Home Depots web site so if you fall short on your calculations of how much you need.. ...you can't just run over to the store to pick up another gallon. At my calculated two gallons there was a shipping charge. With one more gallon.....there was not.....so i had an extra gallon and boy let me tell you......I needed it to "apply this product generously". I truly lucked out on that. ORDER ONE MORE GALLON THEN YOU THINK YOU NEED!
Secondly, Between clearing & sweeping the deck and getting everything ready to spray....and application time....Don't be surprised if this project consumes 3-4 hours of your day......and don't forget clean-up time added to that number. You will want to completely clean anything that came in contact with this cleaner.....especially your sprayer.if you ever want it to work again.Watch your clothes....IT WILL BLEACH YOUR CLOTHES ON CONTACT.
Thirdly, I strongly recommend using a pressure cleaner on the second (last) rinse. Not only to remove any residue product left behind, but if you find any mold or mildew that was not removed during the previous process,...now is the time to hit it with the pressure and blast it off while in it's weakened state from the cleaner.
Overall, It was a slightly BIGGER & l o n g e r job then the video indicated it would be....and I think they underestimated the amount of product needed to complete the job. I was pleased with the results I received from this product and will use it again in the future when needed.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Maryland
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product really did a great job removing green mildew from my composite deck. Recommend highly.

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quick & easy to use. Recommend getting a pump sprayer.
Pros: Easy to Remove, Cost Effective, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 128-oz. Composite Deck Cleaner and Enhancer
from Clinton Township, Michigan

Removed Black Spots and Cleaned as Advertised

PostedJune 17, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We get unpredicable winters in Michigan that caused much black spotting. This product removed all black spots and cleaned our 4 year old Trex Decking and restored its original finish,with no noticeable fading, as advertised, when used as directed and after a thorough lengthy rinsing with the garden hose and nozzle after Steps 2 and 3. The popular white powder compound mixed with water that our deck installer recommended that we previously used didn't remove the spots. I wouldn't hesitate to use it again!
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>