728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Riding Mower & Tractor Attachments or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 48 in. Plug Aerator

48 in. Plug Aerator

The Ariens 48 in. Plug Aerator features a steel frame and galvanized aerator knives for durability. This aerator is designed to create plugs 3 in. in depth and remove 3/4 in. soil plugs.
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product8 of 8reviews
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(4)
4
(4)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product8 of 8reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for 48 in. Plug Aerator
Review 1 for 48 in. Plug Aerator
from Georgia
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product. We'll made

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product is very well made. It worked great on my lawn and easy to use.
Pros: Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 48 in. Plug Aerator
from Dracut, MA

Time to make the holes...

PostedMay 15, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you have hard ground, the type of ground or lawn your feet hurt after walking on it.
Then the 48" plug aerator is the tool for you (any size really). It makes a 1/2" hole 2 to 4 inches deep (pending on the weight on the top) and pulls out a small cores of dirt. You can do one pass or a few passes and you done. I drove around a bit after crushing up all the little cores. I seeded and watered. The lawn that was there responded almost immediately, getting air and nutrient's to the roots where it's needed.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 48 in. Plug Aerator
from Brownton,MN

holy lawn batman

PostedJune 8, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Hey, I found a product made in America! Woo Hoo!
This aerator made good plugs with only 130lbs of weight but the lawn had to have the right moisture. Too wet and the plugs would not slide thru, too dry and it would not penetrate. The best time was the day after a .5 inch rain. I have heavy clay loam soil and it worked great. And best of all it is made in the good old U.S.A. Please buy America and save our jobs.
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 48 in. Plug Aerator
from Southern NH
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

First Experience, worked acceptably

PostedMay 28, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I bought this to avoid renting a self-propelled unit every year. Assembly was tedious but fairly straightforward. There are a couple of steps where the instructions could be clearer. There are many, many small parts especially nuts and bolts. Unlike several other things I have assembled recently these were bagged not carded and I was missing a couple of items. Fortunately they were all common hardware store items and I already had them in my workshop parts bins. Care is required when assembling since all of the 32 plug spikes are very sharp and it is easy to cut oneself while putting the unit together.
I have only used it once so far. The unit towed well and I liked the ability to use the lift handle from the tractor seat unlike several other models I saw. The lawn I aerated was quite damp so I expected good penetration using about 140 lbs of concrete blocks. The plugs, however, were a little shorter than I expected so I'll have to tune that the next time I use the unit so see if I can get better penetration. So far I am pleased with this purchase.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 48 in. Plug Aerator
from pa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works great, can't beat the price

PostedApril 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Took a while to assemble, and the spikes are very sharp. I used it on my lawn with about 80 pounds on top of it to weight it down after it had rained the previous day and it worked fine. Plugs were about 3 inches deep max - make sure you cut your grass before using it.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 48 in. Plug Aerator
from Indian Trail, NC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Ariens - 48 in. Plug Aerator

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It work well going deeper 11/2 inch or more. In some other area were dryer and hard soil. It make a mark on the ground, I had 3 cement blocks on the table may be i need more weight. Overhaul this aerator is good. Not hard to put together, I did in 4 hours taking my time.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: free shipping save money
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 48 in. Plug Aerator
from CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product for the price

PostedSeptember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this product surprised me as to how easy it was to use. The assembly was fairly easy although watch the sharp edges. Do the heavier weights as required and it will be a snap to use.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 48 in. Plug Aerator
from Maryland
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works well, would recommend.

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Seems to do a good job. It is a 4 foot wide unit, probably a 3 foot wide unit would be better for the average home owner.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: a 3 foot wide is better for the home owner
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.