728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Weather Stripping or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 18 in. Round Fireplace Plug

18 in. Round Fireplace Plug

The Battic Door Energy Conservation Products 18 in. Round Fireplace Plug helps seal out energy loss and downdrafts providing a more comfortable home and reduced energy costs. The plug fits below the round damper making installation easy, quick and clean. It's reusable so it pays for itself in energy savings.
Overall rating:
4.667 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product10 of 10reviews
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(8)
4
(4)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product10 of 10reviews
Customer reviews for 18 in. Round Fireplace Plug
Review 1 for 18 in. Round Fireplace Plug
from Illinois
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

fireplace plug

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Easy to install. Inflation instructions somewhat vague.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 18 in. Round Fireplace Plug
from Boston, MA

Love This Product!

PostedApril 3, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just wanted to let you know that I received my draft stopper for my fireplace yesterday and installed it with no problems. What a great product! I noticed a difference right away and it was so easy to install. I can't believe I waited years to solve this problem! Thanks!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 18 in. Round Fireplace Plug
from Scottsdale, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy but not cheap

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Installs quickly and easily and with the flu closed blocks the cold air from seeping into the house. Wish it were less expensive. Made of thick durable plastic that should last.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 18 in. Round Fireplace Plug
from Oklahoma City, OK, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Money saver

PostedDecember 28, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Made a difference in my home. Less expensive then replacing damper and works well. Easy to install and stops the draft. I can see this saving me money all year round. Thanks to the team at Home Depot for reccomending this to me and helping me place my online order.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 18 in. Round Fireplace Plug
from Cherry Valley, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Effective but overpriced

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This product is cleverly designed for its very specific purpose. The quality of the materials is good. I think it will give good service for several years. However, basically it is a heavy duty balloon on a stick. By comparison, there are modest power tools at the same price range (electric chainsaws, for example) which are far more complex and difficult to manufacture. Keep your expectations low.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
Cons: expensive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 18 in. Round Fireplace Plug

Don't wait, this one makes sense

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I should have done this years ago. Instantly after installing the plug, the living room maintained a more constant temperature. The draft from the fireplace is gone.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 18 in. Round Fireplace Plug
from Louisville, KY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for keeping the cold air out

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The balloon was suggested by Honeywell Home Energy Analysis person. Great benefits from having the home analysis from our gas & electric company. The draft coming from our gas fireplace kept our living cold.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Move
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 18 in. Round Fireplace Plug

this product is easy to install

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this product was easy to install and served its purpose well.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 18 in. Round Fireplace Plug
from West Saint Paul, West St. Paul, MN 55118, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Great

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works great to keep out the cold draft coming thru our wood fireplace. Raised the temp in the family room and no more cold drafts. I wish I would have known of this product years ago.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 18 in. Round Fireplace Plug
from Canal Fulton, OH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It works exactly as advertised!

PostedJanuary 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was sceptical when I saw the diagram included in the box. I followed the instructions for installation and it went smoothly. It works great! Even with my fireplace damper cosed and the glass doors closed, I could feel cold air in front of the hearth. There is no more cold air coming in after I inserted the fireplace plug.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 18 in. Round Fireplace Plug

Great idea that works

PostedMay 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I can't say more about the idea. Wish it didn't cost so much. It will pay for itself soon. Everyone should do something about the chimney flue ASAP and save $.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 18 in. Round Fireplace Plug

Seems to close up the air leak from the damper.

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
It fits in the fireplace ok, and does seem to seal against the damper ok. Waiting for my next electric bill to see if it really cut down the cost of my heating. It seems a bit expensive for what it is, but it is cheaper than getting fireplace doors, and the magnetic seal fireplace doors.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.