728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Generators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 6,000-Watt Mean Green Dual Fuel Electric Start (Gas/LPG) Generator

6,000-Watt Mean Green Dual Fuel Electric Start (Gas/LPG) Generator

The Mean Green MP5500DF is a rental duty generator that has the ability to run on two types of fuel supply. Both regular gasoline and LPG (Liquid Propane Gas). The 6.5-gal. gas tank allows the unit to run on 87 octanes Gasoline for up to 10 hours (at 50% load) on a single fill. However, by following the simple instructions (no tools required) you may switch to an emissions friendly and environmentally clean LPG fuel. Simply connect a typical Gas Grill 20 lb. cylinder to the unit with the supplied hose, or the generator may also be fueled using a 40 cylinder. All of these cylinders utilize the same POL thread pattern/size and will attach to the machine using our convenient hose hook up; larger tank sizes such as 100 lb. cylinder need a adapter found at a Plumbing or HVAC Supplier to use but these are readily available. The benefit of LPG is you will never experience a no-run situation due to Bad Gas again. It will run for approximately 6 hours on a 20 lb., 12 hours on a 40 lb. and 30 hours on 100 lb. cylinder. Designed for rugged use, the MP5500DF Mean Green generator is loaded with contractor style features like GFCI Receptacles, Low THD, No Flat Tires and AVR. This unit is fully equipped and works like a PRO.
Overall rating:
4.25 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(28 reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product23 of 26reviews
Rating Breakdown 28 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(16)
4
(8)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(2)
Quality 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product23 of 26reviews
Customer reviews for 6,000-Watt Mean Green Dual Fuel Electric Start (Gas/LPG) Generator
Review 1 for 6,000-Watt Mean Green Dual Fuel Electric Start (Gas/LPG) Generator
from Redding, CT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great unit, but there are things you should know re: propane

PostedNovember 1, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Having dual fuel is great but be aware of a shortcoming when using propane over an extended period. I have had this generator for a year now. I first got it at the end of Hurricane Irene in 2011, It went together easily (although a couple of spacers were missing from the axle and when I called the company they said they would ship them---still waiting). I used it with the 20 lb (barbecue) cylinder. It got used sparingly maybe 4 hours until our power returned. Fast forward to today (Nov 1, 2012 Hurricane Sandy 31/2 days and counting without power). The glitch is because the generator draws the propane so quickly the frost and ice on the cylinder builds up (called in physics the Venturi Effect) to the point were the valve connecting to the generator also freezes which shuts down the unit. Then you need to defrost the valve (I used my car heater) and switch tanks. After telling the propane filling station that I'm about to go gasoline instead of propane they suggested the 100 lb tank which not only lasts about 4x longer (you get maybe 6 hours from a 20 lb'er if the weather is good), but because of higher "head room" as they called it, there is no frost build up. Again though, a glitch. You have to retro fit the fuel line valve because the stock connector only works with 20 lb tanks. I got the 100 lb tank from Home Depot on sale--great deal, the propane filling station did the retro fit for me (no charge, two great deals).
So now, the real versatility of this machine is realized. I filled the generator with gasoline so when I run out of propane I just remove the the connecting line from the generator, turn on the gasoline fuel valve on and voila, you're back in business. When you go back to propane you need to turn off the fuel valve and let the remaining gasoline burn out.
The only reason I am not giving this a perfect score is because the user's manual should make the user aware of the propane issue (for those of us who don't know the science of it) and also let you know that if you choose to go to a different size tank that you will need a different connector, also the manual lacks a lot of info and, oh yeah, 'cause they haven't sent my spacer's yet!
Pros: Easy to Use, Lots of Features, Eco-Friendly, Easy Installation, versatile
Cons: science of propane
+66points
67out of 68found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 6,000-Watt Mean Green Dual Fuel Electric Start (Gas/LPG) Generator
from Gary

MultiPower Dual Fuel

PostedApril 26, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I recently ordered the Multipower MP5500DF Dual Fuel generator and I was very impressed. It is one of the best units I have ever used and the quality and features are impressive. A portable generator is essential to my farming and building operations for running all types of portable equipment and having the flexibility to use LPG is a HUGE bonus. SInce I have had it I have used it for many hours and there has not been any issues. This unit is well built and I am confident it will provide many years of power for our operations. I feel it is the best value in a generator on the market today and I would highly recommend this unit to anyone considering a unit of this size
+25points
27out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 6,000-Watt Mean Green Dual Fuel Electric Start (Gas/LPG) Generator
from Burlington, CT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This generator has many of the features of a commercial unit costing much more

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
A couple of glitches with this unit prevented me from giving it a full 5 star rating. One was a problem with the shipper, it got misrouted to Chicago instead of my town. Once delivered it came off the truck in excellent shape. While assembling the axles and wheels, one axle due to being oversized would not go through the wheel hub, it would jam part way. I called the customer service number and they arranged to have a new wheel and axle shipped to me. That cured that problem. Then the fuel line going from the gas tank to the carb slipped off its barbed fitting. The fuel line had been cut too short at the factory and would not stay connected. I went to the local auto parts store and bought a longer fuel line. To get to the fuel line, I had to remove the air filter cover. Now this has to be a design error!! The two screws on the right side of the cover came out ok. But the two to the left were right behind the tubular frame. I managed to get the lower screw off with some difficulty but the upper one, forget it. I did manage to back it out enough to cut the screw head off and finally remove the cover. After replacing the fuel line and reattaching the filter cover with three screws, starting it up went flawless. I have it set up on propane and it runs great on that fuel !
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 6,000-Watt Mean Green Dual Fuel Electric Start (Gas/LPG) Generator
from NH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Reliable Dual Fuel generator

PostedOctober 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Last power outage we had in NH had gas stations closed all around us. So much easier to stock up additional propane tanks or get 30 or 40lb ones to have a few on hand. The fact that it also runs on gas makes it the perfect choice. Electric start works like a charm and so does everything else on this little beauty.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 6,000-Watt Mean Green Dual Fuel Electric Start (Gas/LPG) Generator
from Salida, CO 81201, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A good product with no customer service by manufacturer.

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I had questions about the specifications of the propane input and was missing a key for the generator.
The service number with the generator was never answered. I tried 3 times for 20 minutes each and never reached customer service person. Left call back number but was never called back. If you expect the manufacturer to help you, buy a different brand.
Cons: no battery with unit, no customer service, no support on internet.
+20points
21out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 6,000-Watt Mean Green Dual Fuel Electric Start (Gas/LPG) Generator
from Dade City, Florida

A Very Good Machine..!!!!!!!!

PostedJuly 6, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have owned 2 other generators before this new one I recently purchased, and for the money this is a Very Good Machine. I checked a lot of prices because I wanted a Dual Fueled and Electric start Generator so my Wife can start it, and fuel it up also, by just the ease of attaching a LPG Tank to a Gas Bar-B-Que Grill, and it is diffcult to find a value priced one. I just recently finished the very few things that needed to be assembled, and then I started it up, and it started Very Easy and runs GREAT, and it is easy to handle..!! Also, not having to store gasoline for the hurricane season.... and it is so easy to store 20# LPG bottles, and not as dangerous. Also it does not go bad in the fuel tank like gasoline, which when you need the Geneator it may cause it not to run properly. Also, I have already recommened it to my Family and Friends, as a Good Machine and a good Investment. It did come shipped in very good condition, without any obvious damage, packed and shipped with care.
Happy Purchaser
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 6,000-Watt Mean Green Dual Fuel Electric Start (Gas/LPG) Generator
from Davenport, Washington

5500w dual fuel generator

PostedAugust 23, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I received generator in less than 8 business days. Unit was well packaged. Easy to assemble. Installed battery connected propane tank and in less than 4 seconds unit started, ran smoothly. Had an hour project using my 10" table saw and 7 1/4" worm drive saw. Generator handled load with no problem.
Very pleased with preformance and quality.
I would highly recommend this generator.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 6,000-Watt Mean Green Dual Fuel Electric Start (Gas/LPG) Generator
from Sullivan County, NY

Lots of Great Features

PostedApril 10, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This unit suprised me with its features and well constructed details. I hooked up a 20 gal. propane tank connected the battery and hit the starter and it started right up. Came back to my house 4 months later and the same thing happened. Unit has lots of good features on the control and safety side which I appreciate. Good value for the money and great service from trucker who delivered to site I wanted it placed.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 6,000-Watt Mean Green Dual Fuel Electric Start (Gas/LPG) Generator
from United States
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent and works as advertised

PostedNovember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Started right up using propane and the electric start feature. Even inlcudes the AGM battery for the starter. Also tried regular gasoline which started easily and lasted longer in between refills. It's a little noisy but all portable generators at this price range are noisy like a mower. This thing had more than enough power to do 2 refrigerators. oil furnace, microwave, coffee maker, washing machine, gas dryer, kitchen lights, plasma TV, DVD, computer and my 220v well pump. Recommend that everyone hookup a power transfer panel or generator lock up setup to the main panel to power up most of the house. Do not attempt to power up a fully electric stove, elect heat, elect dryer, or AC condenser and you'll be fine with this generator.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 6,000-Watt Mean Green Dual Fuel Electric Start (Gas/LPG) Generator
from Davenport, Washington

Dual Fuel Generator

PostedAugust 17, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I ordered this generator on line, I received the generator in just seven business days. Generator was packed very well, all components were with unit, easy to follow instructions, very impressed with workmanship and quality. I added oil, installed battery, and connected ptopane tank to engine. Turned the key, engine cranked for less than 4 seconds and engine fired and ran perfect. I had about an hour project using my table saw and 71/2 " worm drive saw, generator ran great and had no problem suppluing power for both tools. Noise level lower than I expected, I conversation with my son while generator was running.
Very pleased with my purchase and quality of generator.
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 6,000-Watt Mean Green Dual Fuel Electric Start (Gas/LPG) Generator
from Massachusetts, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Lookin' good

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
With the last no name storm the water poured into our sump pump and then the electricity went out. We bailed the basement all night long so as to not have to deal with flooding and mold, like the storm before that one. NO MORE. I'm a fairly handy 60 year old woman and I could figure out how to set up the generator and get it started for the test run. This model included a battery for the electic start and it was very easy to start. I put on the wheels myself and now can move it around easily. We are ready for the next power outage.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 6,000-Watt Mean Green Dual Fuel Electric Start (Gas/LPG) Generator
from Connecticut, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Nice Machine

PostedNovember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to put together and fired right up on propane.The only problem encountered with this generator is the wheel axle mount is welded to the frame at an angle, and it's NOT a right angle! It's off by about 25 degrees, not quite enough to rub the frame but close. Same problem as noted in another review by "Floyd." It rolls and I can move it, but there does seem to be a quality control issue at the factory since I'm not the only one with this problem. Other than that it's a great machine. I really like the duel fuel and plan to run it on propane as much as possible to avoid the problems associated with stale gas. The electric start works great and to shut it down all you have to do is turn the key to the off position. Restart is a breeze (see "MrBill" review below.) Noise level is what I expected, about the same as my lawnmower or just a little less.
I live in CT and we've had back to back storms, "Irene" in August and now a heavy October snowstorm that left many in the state without power for an extended period of time (well over a week for each storm!) This generator is big enough to power the essentials and then some. Great piece of mind...
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 6,000-Watt Mean Green Dual Fuel Electric Start (Gas/LPG) Generator
from Pawcatuck, CT, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Propane a great choice,with gas if needed

PostedOctober 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Started on propane first crank.fedex curb side was exceptional ,service could not be better.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 6,000-Watt Mean Green Dual Fuel Electric Start (Gas/LPG) Generator
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pretty good unit

PostedJanuary 22, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this from Home Depot in late Sept. Getting delivery was a problem, but once it arrived, I was pleased. The only issue was a crooked wheel due to defective welding, as other reviewers mentioned. I called the US distributor who confirmed the defect. Their tech support is very helpful.I hope it stays in place. We had two power failures totaling 6 days, and it worked flawlessly. Always on propane. I never tried gasoline. Forgot to charge the battery before the first use- I have been trickle charging it since. I also had a problem with HD, it went on sale about a week after whatever the deadline for a partial refund was, and HD would not give me the difference. Bad policy. I've been buying at Lowe's ever since.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 6,000-Watt Mean Green Dual Fuel Electric Start (Gas/LPG) Generator
from CT
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Major flop - Dead on arrival

PostedDecember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Item arrived in relativly decent looking packaging, but the pallet was disintigrating.
The item looked rather nice once opened, but during assembly noted poor craftsmanship as the wheels did not line up & the handle bolt holes are crooked. When i hooked up propane to it, it sounded louder than it should, louder than a comparable gas model. After stopping to check oil level (which was fine) restarted it & it got louder with a distinct clanging coming from inside the engine. Stopped it & have contacted the manufacturer to replace.
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 6,000-Watt Mean Green Dual Fuel Electric Start (Gas/LPG) Generator
from Arizona
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Almost useless

PostedOctober 19, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This could be a useful generator but the information provided in the advertisement leaves out some very important details. It is useless if you want to use it in an RV. The electric start is fine because you won't get it to start any other way. To shut it off you have to shut of the fuel supply until it is gone, then good luck starting it again without running down the battery. The choke should be on the front panel but instead they chose to put it in the back. There is a purge for the propane but it also is in the back so if you don't have access to all sides you will have some serious difficulty in using this thing. Very difficult to start and a pain to stop.
-5points
7out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 6,000-Watt Mean Green Dual Fuel Electric Start (Gas/LPG) Generator
from Ingleside, Il.USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Product extremely defective.

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Generator has a cracked frame through the steel. Freight
delivery will not pick up stating the product runs on gas although never removed entirely from the shipping box. Has no fuel in generator. Driver refused to take pallet upon delivery. I must now try to figure how to take generator to a store ( over 200lbs.) No longer in stock. Obviously sent the last damaged one to us.
On line purchasing is fool hardy. Now they have my credit card number. Shop somewhere else.
+1point
6out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 6,000-Watt Mean Green Dual Fuel Electric Start (Gas/LPG) Generator
from RI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well made and solid construction

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this portable generator as a back up source of power during power outage . It took me about an hour from unpacking, assembly of wheels & handles, adding oil and hook up of propane . it arrived with a charged battery ( it has an electricaI starter ) I made a few false starts to circulate the oil and then started it on the propane with no effort . I have not run it with gasoline yet due to having for a short time . It's nice to have the option or gas or propane . I plugged in a couple of power tools and used it for about 1/2 hour. I am very pleased with this purchase .
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 6,000-Watt Mean Green Dual Fuel Electric Start (Gas/LPG) Generator
from Bergen, New Jersey, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I HOPE IT WORKS WHEN I REALLY NEED IT!

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The delivery was smooth by UPS GROUND freight truck. The box was entirely too light for a 213lb. object. No damage though.
The instruction manual left a great deal of detail out. Go online and download the latest version. It's slightly better. One of the bushings had rattled loose in the carton so it took me longer than necessary to mount the arms.
One of the wheel brackets was welded on the frame crooked, so one of the wheels is the crooked! Disappointed with that.
Once I hooked up my propane tank though, it fired right up. I had to purchase a grounding rod and wire, and a battery trickle charger. Bought an extra 20lb. propane tank too.
I do have peace of mind, though.
For the price, I believe it is a good deal.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 6,000-Watt Mean Green Dual Fuel Electric Start (Gas/LPG) Generator
from Hudson, NH, USA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Portable generator w/multi fuel option

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This generator got delivered just in time to use at the tail end of our last big power outage here in NH. Set up was super easy and in prior storm we never had issues with being able to get regular gas, but this time around you could spend hours waiting at the pump to fill up. Having the option to use propane or gas is great especially when you have a fuel shortage and your power is out. Generator runs fairly quietly and cranked right over on propane. Great value for the money and available options.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>