728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Stops Floor Squeaks From Above the Floor

Stops Floor Squeaks From Above the Floor

Squeeeeek No More stops pesky floor squeaks from above the floor by going through the carpet. Find the joist, using the tooling provided in the kit. Then place the tripod fixture over the joist and drive the scored screw through the fixture as far as the fixture will allow. Snap the head of the screw off. The screw snaps off at the score leaving the screw thread to secure the flooring to the joist stopping the squeak. Because the screw snapped at the score ,that was set below the floor, there is nothing to feel and because the screw safely passes through carpet there is nothing to see.
Overall rating:
4.289 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(90 reviews) 90
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product76 of 83reviews
Rating Breakdown 90 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(53)
4
(22)
3
(6)
2
(6)
1
(3)
Appearance 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product76 of 83reviews
Customer reviews for Stops Floor Squeaks From Above the Floor
Review 1 for Stops Floor Squeaks From Above the Floor
from Decatur, AL
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Outstanding! Better than the old finishing nails & coat hangers!

PostedJuly 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The pull drill joist finder in itself was worth this buy. This is very clever and well-engineered, right down to the snap-off screws. I had so much fun that I almost can't wait to attack the next squeak...well, maybe not that much fun...
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Effective
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Stops Floor Squeaks From Above the Floor
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great tool for carpet

PostedNovember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this was a very easy tool to use. In the past I've always done this with regular screws and battled carpet pulls, and screw heads. The jig made getting the depth a pieace of cake, and every screw snapped perfectly with no rought or pointy spots in the carpet. I've already recommneded this product to several other people.
The only downside is you still have to make sure you find a joist for the screws to bite into. The studfinder worked well once I adjusted the "sheetrock" thickness to 1.5" setting. Make sure you approach the "joist" from both the left and right sides to get the edges then split the difference to make sure you hit center.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Great Instructions, Effective, Easy to Use
+19points
20out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Stops Floor Squeaks From Above the Floor
from Austin TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really Works

PostedApril 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had 2 squeaks and it got em both. Hardest part is finding the floor joist. I knew which direction the floor joists went so I just used the joist finding screw provided and checked every few inches till I found it. I have burber carpet and put scotch tape on the threads as instructed and the carpet was undamaged. The one squeak stopped on the first screw, but I put 2 more in for good measure. The other one took 3 screws, I put in a 4th for good measure. This was $20 well spent.
Pros: Effective
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Stops Floor Squeaks From Above the Floor
from Encino, CA

It's in the flooring section!

PostedApril 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
It's not in hardware - it's in flooring. Don't check the wrong aisle and think they're out of stock!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Stops Floor Squeaks From Above the Floor

Works as advertised

PostedApril 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This system works exactly as advertised. I have used it throughout our home to address floors and stairs that had squeaks in them.
I found when using the joist finder bit that it was possible to get a 'false positive' I ended up using a normal stud finder which worked even through the carpet.
Well worth the money in my opinion.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Stops Floor Squeaks From Above the Floor

Squeeek No More

PostedJuly 27, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Perhaps it was operator error, however I used almost 40 screws and bracketed every possible location for the floor joists and still have the same two floor squeaks. My feeling is that once you snap off the screw head so that it doesn't show, it leaves only the shaft to hold the sub-floor down tightly to the support. It stopped the squeak for a couple of minutes but the squeaks began again once the spot was walked upon a few times.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Stops Floor Squeaks From Above the Floor
from Washington Stae
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best thing for squeeks!

PostedJune 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This tool is soooo easy to use and it really works! The only thing is...wish I would of gotten the extra screws because after fixing the main squeeks, I want to go through and fix every little squeek in the house! Ha Ha Buy it! You won't be sorry!
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Stops Floor Squeaks From Above the Floor
from ct
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Not bad of a product

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The product was very easy to use,great for all floors recommend
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Stops Floor Squeaks From Above the Floor
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

well designed

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product took care of 90 percent of our squeeks. We have had squeeks for 25 years since our home was built. We have tried other means to quiet the squeeks but nothing worked. This device was easy to use and takes very little time. It was the answer we had been looking for. And it came at a very reasonable price. I have already told many of our friends.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Great Instructions, Effective
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Stops Floor Squeaks From Above the Floor
from NYC
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

worth more than what it costs.

PostedSeptember 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a problem with the screw not snapping at first. The manual says this problem can occur when the hardwood is softer than what they used for testing.
When this happens, you use carpet installer with pointy legs instead of round installer. This completely solved my problem. I only used 3 screws but it already dramatically reduced the squeaking. I guess if I use a few more, it will completely remove squeaking.
I'm so glad I got this one instead of "counter snap kit" because "counter snap kit" doesn't come with carpet installer. Although I have hardwood floor, I couldn't have made it work without the carpet installer since the screws didn't snap with round installer.
Pros: Easy to Install, Effective
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Stops Floor Squeaks From Above the Floor
from Sarasota.FL

Smart, easy to use, effective

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had loud floor squeaks under wall-to-wall carpet over wide area. This did the trick. I put the special (very clever) screws every 2 inches instead of the 4 inches recommended. Probably over -kill, but I was determined to stop the squeaking without having to remove the carpeting. Excellent tool. Suggest buy lots of extra screws (you can always bring them back) Very simple to use. Recommend it highly.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Stops Floor Squeaks From Above the Floor
from Chico, CA

Works pretty well

PostedNovember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had some hardwood floor boards that were creaking due to the cold weather. I used this product in the area and it worked pretty well.
I don't think I hit a beam on all of them but it still seemed to work. The area is much quieter to walk on now. I filled the holes with wood filler and you can't see it unless you look very closely.
The only thing I don't like is that the circular tool that comes with it for the screw to go into leaves a circle mark on the hardwood because it's pressed against the wood so hard when you're screwing it in. It might come out with polish.
Pros: Easy to Install, Effective
Cons: circular tool leaves a mark on hardwood
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Stops Floor Squeaks From Above the Floor
from North Carolina
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

I love this product!

PostedMay 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a new home owner with zero DIY experience. I had one squeak that was so loud it sent the cats running when I came near. Before purchasing the squeeeeak no more, I watched a few videos on installation but the confidence was all I needed because the kit came packed with everything you need to make your life just a bit more peaceful. I highly recommend this to anyone with carpet and a squeeky floor. Make sure you have a good stud finder to locate the joists, but there is a test screw that comes with the kit just in case.
Pros: Easy to Install, Modern, Effective, invisible
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Stops Floor Squeaks From Above the Floor
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just what I needed

PostedMay 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Finding the joists is the hardest part. Once located, the screws are easy to use, along with the guide, and once you snap off the top part, you can't even tell they are there except for one thing, THE SQUEEK IS GONE!!!!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Stops Floor Squeaks From Above the Floor
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works exactly as advertised!

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a squeak in the floor in our bedroom for 15 years. I finally got around to fixing it (popped to the top of the list) and after searching the web a little I found this product at Home Depot. The floor was carpeted so I was a little concerned about it snagging carpet.
It took me a little bit to find the joists but the kit includes a handy bit that will find them. Once I put a few screws in I completely stopped the squeaks! I had them in about three places around the bed. Now NO MORE SQUEAKS.
You could actually hear them downstairs but no longer. Also, no snags to the carpet! Can't tell I ran about 20 screws through the carpet. The screws broke off below the subfloor level so that wasn't an isssue.
I have plenty screws left too if I need to fix another squeak. Highly recommend!
Pros: Easy to Install
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Stops Floor Squeaks From Above the Floor

A rare product that works as well as advertised!

PostedApril 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product was recomended to me by a guy that renovates houses for a living. I was skeptical at first but now I'm a believer. In less than 15 minutes I completley solved my squeaky floor problem in the bathroom. Once that was done I started walking around the house finding other problem areas. Under the carpet it can take a minute to find the studs but if you're systematic about testing for them it's really not that bad. I don't however, recomend using on a smooth surfaced linoleum. It is quite difficult to mask the hole with caulking. I did use it on textured linoleum though with great results. I would recommend watching the youtube video before you start.
Pros: Easy to Install, Effective, excellent value
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Stops Floor Squeaks From Above the Floor
from Salt Lake City, Utah
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Most ingenious tool ever!

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been living with squeaky floors in my living room and bedroom for the 7 years I have owned the near 40 year old house. I found this product through This Old House videos and was shocked at the simplicity.
After purchasing the product and extra screws, I had a lot of squeaks, I began the effort of finding the floor joists. Basement is completely finished so I had to use a vent as a starting place. Worked from there across the room and I am now walking through the living room with a huge smile on my face because there is no longer any sound coming from the floor.
I am now working on my bedroom and am having the same results. This tool is a true wonder, so easy to use, no muss, no fuss, no snags in the carpet, and after 50 screws in the living room, there is no sign that I drilled 50 holes in the carpet, just a nice and quiet room.
Use the joist finder to assist in the process. If you do not place the screws into the joists, the squeaks will not go away.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Great Instructions, Easy to Install, Effective
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Stops Floor Squeaks From Above the Floor
from Temple, GA

Break-off screws--one word WONDERFUL

PostedJune 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I placed my order online on Sunday evening. By mid-day Tuesday, the product was shipped and in my hands! When installing, the only problem was actually finding the floor joists through the carpet and sub-flooring. (Ended up using a long drill bit and drilling up from the basement.) I have, and will continue to, recommend this product to everyone. I bought package with 50 screws...but in reality, I should have gotten 100 screws.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Stops Floor Squeaks From Above the Floor
from Winter Haven FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Great!

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was not convinced that it would be so easy to fix the floor squeaking problem, but this kit worked perfectly! You need to put some effort into finding the joists. A decent stud finder and the special stud finding screws included in the kit do the job. Use the jig provided and follow the instructions... problem solved! no more squeaks!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Stops Floor Squeaks From Above the Floor
from West Des Moines, IA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Thank Goodness

PostedOctober 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was searching for solutions to an upstairs floor squeaking and came across a youtube video of a guy using this. Thank Goodness I did, because I went out and bought it, used it, and ended years worth of frustration and annoyance in about 10 minutes.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>