728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Stops Floor Squeaks From Above the Floor

Stops Floor Squeaks From Above the Floor

Squeeeeek No More stops pesky floor squeaks from above the floor by going through the carpet. Find the joist, using the tooling provided in the kit. Then place the tripod fixture over the joist and drive the scored screw through the fixture as far as the fixture will allow. Snap the head of the screw off. The screw snaps off at the score leaving the screw thread to secure the flooring to the joist stopping the squeak. Because the screw snapped at the score ,that was set below the floor, there is nothing to feel and because the screw safely passes through carpet there is nothing to see.
Overall rating:
4.302 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(86 reviews) 86
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product73 of 79reviews
Rating Breakdown 86 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(51)
4
(21)
3
(6)
2
(5)
1
(3)
Appearance 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product73 of 79reviews
Customer reviews for Stops Floor Squeaks From Above the Floor
Review 1 for Stops Floor Squeaks From Above the Floor
Dave
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great tool for carpet

PostedNovember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this was a very easy tool to use. In the past I've always done this with regular screws and battled carpet pulls, and screw heads. The jig made getting the depth a pieace of cake, and every screw snapped perfectly with no rought or pointy spots in the carpet. I've already recommneded this product to several other people.
The only downside is you still have to make sure you find a joist for the screws to bite into. The studfinder worked well once I adjusted the "sheetrock" thickness to 1.5" setting. Make sure you approach the "joist" from both the left and right sides to get the edges then split the difference to make sure you hit center.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Great Instructions, Effective, Easy to Use
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Stops Floor Squeaks From Above the Floor
dmsmith

Works as advertised

PostedApril 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This system works exactly as advertised. I have used it throughout our home to address floors and stairs that had squeaks in them.
I found when using the joist finder bit that it was possible to get a 'false positive' I ended up using a normal stud finder which worked even through the carpet.
Well worth the money in my opinion.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Stops Floor Squeaks From Above the Floor
RealtorBen
from Encino, CA

It's in the flooring section!

PostedApril 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
It's not in hardware - it's in flooring. Don't check the wrong aisle and think they're out of stock!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Stops Floor Squeaks From Above the Floor
coniferguy
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

well designed

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product took care of 90 percent of our squeeks. We have had squeeks for 25 years since our home was built. We have tried other means to quiet the squeeks but nothing worked. This device was easy to use and takes very little time. It was the answer we had been looking for. And it came at a very reasonable price. I have already told many of our friends.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Great Instructions, Effective
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Stops Floor Squeaks From Above the Floor
DIYer
from Salt Lake City, Utah
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Most ingenious tool ever!

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been living with squeaky floors in my living room and bedroom for the 7 years I have owned the near 40 year old house. I found this product through This Old House videos and was shocked at the simplicity.
After purchasing the product and extra screws, I had a lot of squeaks, I began the effort of finding the floor joists. Basement is completely finished so I had to use a vent as a starting place. Worked from there across the room and I am now walking through the living room with a huge smile on my face because there is no longer any sound coming from the floor.
I am now working on my bedroom and am having the same results. This tool is a true wonder, so easy to use, no muss, no fuss, no snags in the carpet, and after 50 screws in the living room, there is no sign that I drilled 50 holes in the carpet, just a nice and quiet room.
Use the joist finder to assist in the process. If you do not place the screws into the joists, the squeaks will not go away.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Great Instructions, Easy to Install, Effective
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Stops Floor Squeaks From Above the Floor
Sunshine
from Chicago
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

What a great invention!

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We were about to get new carpet and took the opportunity to cut up certain parts of the old carpet in advance and tackle the squeaks. We found the nails on the plywood and applied screws per the instructions. A good tip was to use an opened up paper clip to make sure we hit a joist, because many times we didn't. When the screw reached its limit, we heard the familiar "pop," and we moved on to the next screw. IT WORKED PERFECTLY! Eliminated every single squeak. Another tip is to use 2 drills - 1 for the special drill bit that comes with the kit to screw in each screw and 1 for the 1/8 drill bit. Saves a lot of time! We tried using this device over the carpet and were very unsuccessful. Using the attachment to just poke holes everywhere hoping to find the joist was just crazy, and a stud finder didn't help either. And it didn't work on stairs at all, but then again, there are no joists on stairs, and 10 wasted screws later, we gave up. A very good device for wood floors, not carpet.
Pros: Easy to Install, Effective, works as advertised
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Stops Floor Squeaks From Above the Floor
gunrack
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works exactly as advertised!

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a squeak in the floor in our bedroom for 15 years. I finally got around to fixing it (popped to the top of the list) and after searching the web a little I found this product at Home Depot. The floor was carpeted so I was a little concerned about it snagging carpet.
It took me a little bit to find the joists but the kit includes a handy bit that will find them. Once I put a few screws in I completely stopped the squeaks! I had them in about three places around the bed. Now NO MORE SQUEAKS.
You could actually hear them downstairs but no longer. Also, no snags to the carpet! Can't tell I ran about 20 screws through the carpet. The screws broke off below the subfloor level so that wasn't an isssue.
I have plenty screws left too if I need to fix another squeak. Highly recommend!
Pros: Easy to Install
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Stops Floor Squeaks From Above the Floor
DLP345
from Washington Stae
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best thing for squeeks!

PostedJune 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This tool is soooo easy to use and it really works! The only thing is...wish I would of gotten the extra screws because after fixing the main squeeks, I want to go through and fix every little squeek in the house! Ha Ha Buy it! You won't be sorry!
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Stops Floor Squeaks From Above the Floor
Sean
from Sarasota.FL

Smart, easy to use, effective

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had loud floor squeaks under wall-to-wall carpet over wide area. This did the trick. I put the special (very clever) screws every 2 inches instead of the 4 inches recommended. Probably over -kill, but I was determined to stop the squeaking without having to remove the carpeting. Excellent tool. Suggest buy lots of extra screws (you can always bring them back) Very simple to use. Recommend it highly.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Stops Floor Squeaks From Above the Floor
BobW
from Canby, Oregon
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Exactly as advertised!

PostedNovember 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a new house (less than a year old) had a squeak under the carpet in bedroom. I crawled under the house - with my wife working the squeak from the top - found that the 1 1/4" tongue and grove plywood wasn't glued between it and the floor beam. I went and purchased the Squeeeeek stoppers. Used three (3) and the squeak is GONE. No sound when we walk over that area. EXpensive screws - very INexpensive repair.
Pros: Great Instructions, Effective
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Stops Floor Squeaks From Above the Floor
bobo
from CT
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Extremely effective

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
One bedroom floor was very creaky under w-w carpet. One location actually bounced & hit the joist! Installed about 50 screws through the carpet without a snag and cured the issue. Screws tied down the underlayment tight and no more squeaks and groans. I highly recommend this product. Next is the living room hardwood flooring.
Pros: Easy to Install, Effective
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Stops Floor Squeaks From Above the Floor
JenKB
from Chico, CA

Works pretty well

PostedNovember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had some hardwood floor boards that were creaking due to the cold weather. I used this product in the area and it worked pretty well.
I don't think I hit a beam on all of them but it still seemed to work. The area is much quieter to walk on now. I filled the holes with wood filler and you can't see it unless you look very closely.
The only thing I don't like is that the circular tool that comes with it for the screw to go into leaves a circle mark on the hardwood because it's pressed against the wood so hard when you're screwing it in. It might come out with polish.
Pros: Easy to Install, Effective
Cons: circular tool leaves a mark on hardwood
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Stops Floor Squeaks From Above the Floor
Katie
from NYC
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

worth more than what it costs.

PostedSeptember 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a problem with the screw not snapping at first. The manual says this problem can occur when the hardwood is softer than what they used for testing.
When this happens, you use carpet installer with pointy legs instead of round installer. This completely solved my problem. I only used 3 screws but it already dramatically reduced the squeaking. I guess if I use a few more, it will completely remove squeaking.
I'm so glad I got this one instead of "counter snap kit" because "counter snap kit" doesn't come with carpet installer. Although I have hardwood floor, I couldn't have made it work without the carpet installer since the screws didn't snap with round installer.
Pros: Easy to Install, Effective
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Stops Floor Squeaks From Above the Floor
AceoStar
from North Carolina
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

I love this product!

PostedMay 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a new home owner with zero DIY experience. I had one squeak that was so loud it sent the cats running when I came near. Before purchasing the squeeeeak no more, I watched a few videos on installation but the confidence was all I needed because the kit came packed with everything you need to make your life just a bit more peaceful. I highly recommend this to anyone with carpet and a squeeky floor. Make sure you have a good stud finder to locate the joists, but there is a test screw that comes with the kit just in case.
Pros: Easy to Install, Modern, Effective, invisible
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Stops Floor Squeaks From Above the Floor
RAD1
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just what I needed

PostedMay 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Finding the joists is the hardest part. Once located, the screws are easy to use, along with the guide, and once you snap off the top part, you can't even tell they are there except for one thing, THE SQUEEK IS GONE!!!!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Stops Floor Squeaks From Above the Floor
tmglchamlp

A rare product that works as well as advertised!

PostedApril 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product was recomended to me by a guy that renovates houses for a living. I was skeptical at first but now I'm a believer. In less than 15 minutes I completley solved my squeaky floor problem in the bathroom. Once that was done I started walking around the house finding other problem areas. Under the carpet it can take a minute to find the studs but if you're systematic about testing for them it's really not that bad. I don't however, recomend using on a smooth surfaced linoleum. It is quite difficult to mask the hole with caulking. I did use it on textured linoleum though with great results. I would recommend watching the youtube video before you start.
Pros: Easy to Install, Effective, excellent value
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Stops Floor Squeaks From Above the Floor
thebighash
from GA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Value.. Just watch out when you have berber carpet

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This kit is great and well designed. I managed to reduce the squeaks by 60-70% and I'll head to THD later today to pick up another 50 screws and finish the job off.
I have berber carpet and I found out that the joist finding drill bit would leave visible marks if you drill a few holes in a short time. I think it's because it gets hot and it tends to burn the carpet around it! Nothing scary though, just be careful and start in the least visible areas to practice!
I also found it very difficult to locate the joists! It turned out they run in a different direction than the rest of the house! and they are 24 inches apart rather than 16! I almost gave up but I spent around 2 hours using my studfinder (with deepscan) and trying to make sense of the readings it gave. Doing many locations and filtering out the wrong readings was not easy but I eventually located the joists!
Once you locate the joists and the squeaky area it becomes easy. It took less than 30min to do 30 screws along 3 joists. It did not make a difference when I wrapped the screws with tape as mentioned in the directions for use with berbet carpet. Each screw kept catching the carpet a little as it made its way in, but once it went through I had no issues. After you snap the screw it is totally invisible and the area appears intact.
I wasted around 20 screws in the wrong locations when I thought the joists ran across the opposite direction! Don't trust your studfinder like you would on a wall :) More readings = more accuracy!
Preparation is critical.
I gave it four stars since five would mean perfect, and this is not perfect yet.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Stops Floor Squeaks From Above the Floor
beach
from San Francisco, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked as advertised

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Worked well in carpet and hardwood floor. Got rid of squeak in carpet. Easy to use. Key is finding the floor joist
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Stops Floor Squeaks From Above the Floor
Deb0123
from Temple, GA

Break-off screws--one word WONDERFUL

PostedJune 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I placed my order online on Sunday evening. By mid-day Tuesday, the product was shipped and in my hands! When installing, the only problem was actually finding the floor joists through the carpet and sub-flooring. (Ended up using a long drill bit and drilling up from the basement.) I have, and will continue to, recommend this product to everyone. I bought package with 50 screws...but in reality, I should have gotten 100 screws.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Stops Floor Squeaks From Above the Floor
SingingMonkey
from Akron, OH, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works, but hard to use

PostedFebruary 21, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The product works fine if you're able to locate the floor joists. The joist locator supplied in the box just simply DID NOT WORK. It wouldn't even penetrate the floor. I had to pull up a corner of carpet and see where the joists were located and measure from that. Once I knew where one joist was at, I just measured in 16" increments to locate more joists. I screwed down and tested if the squeak was gone. If it wasn't, I pulled the screw back up and tried another spot.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>