728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Tools & Maintenance or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Stops Floor Squeaks From Above the Floor

Stops Floor Squeaks From Above the Floor

Squeeeeek No More stops pesky floor squeaks from above the floor by going through the carpet. Find the joist, using the tooling provided in the kit. Then place the tripod fixture over the joist and drive the scored screw through the fixture as far as the fixture will allow. Snap the head of the screw off. The screw snaps off at the score leaving the screw thread to secure the flooring to the joist stopping the squeak. Because the screw snapped at the score,that was set below the floor, there is nothing to feel. Because the screw safely passes through carpet there is also nothing to see.
Overall rating:
4.314 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(102 reviews) 102
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product88 of 95reviews
Rating Breakdown 102 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(61)
4
(24)
3
(8)
2
(6)
1
(3)
Appearance 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product88 of 95reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer reviews for Stops Floor Squeaks From Above the Floor
Review 1 for Stops Floor Squeaks From Above the Floor
from California
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very, very Impressed!

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I usually do not write reviews; however, in this rare instance, I felt very compelled. This is without a doubt, an excellent product. I was somewhat skeptical of this product of this at first, but decided to give it a try versus yanking up carpet and padding to fix the annoying squeaks in our upstairs hall and kid's bedrooms. It took about 10 minutes to identify the joist pattern (my floor joist ran opposite of the recommended search pattern), after which it was an easy install. This is the best $20 I have ever spent on home improvement. Do not be afraid to put multiple screws in close proximity if you have a load squeak. A month after install and quiet as can be!
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Stops Floor Squeaks From Above the Floor
from New Oxford, Pennsylvania
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

As seen on TV!

PostedApril 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Saw this on "This old House" how to video clip. Looked very easy, but almost too easy?!?! For the price it was worth a shot. I have a carpeted living room that had squeaks all through out. Especially at the entrance. I follow the instructions using the tips acquired from Tom Silva of This Old House and BAM! Squeaky floors are a thing of the past. I was so elated that one, it worked, and two, it was easy enought to make a novice come off like a pro! Might need to purchase more of the special screws, but again, for the price well worth it. Especially when comparing it to the cost of contracting a pro. Glad I found this product, and am glad to recommend it to family and friends!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Effective
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Stops Floor Squeaks From Above the Floor
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great tool for carpet

PostedNovember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
this was a very easy tool to use. In the past I've always done this with regular screws and battled carpet pulls, and screw heads. The jig made getting the depth a pieace of cake, and every screw snapped perfectly with no rought or pointy spots in the carpet. I've already recommneded this product to several other people.
The only downside is you still have to make sure you find a joist for the screws to bite into. The studfinder worked well once I adjusted the "sheetrock" thickness to 1.5" setting. Make sure you approach the "joist" from both the left and right sides to get the edges then split the difference to make sure you hit center.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Great Instructions, Effective, Easy to Use
+23points
24out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Stops Floor Squeaks From Above the Floor
from Lenexa, KS
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wasn't sold on this

PostedFebruary 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Wasn't really sure about this product. Tried a spot in the closet out of the way. Was really impressed!!. I used a stud finder to locate joists instead of the way the instructions said. Wife is happy so all things are good in Kansas!!
Pros: Easy to Install, Effective
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Stops Floor Squeaks From Above the Floor
from Encino, CA

It's in the flooring section!

PostedApril 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
It's not in hardware - it's in flooring. Don't check the wrong aisle and think they're out of stock!
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Stops Floor Squeaks From Above the Floor
from Naperville, il
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Squeaks are in fact gone

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Worked really well. Hardest part was finding joists, once that was done, drilling was easy and breaking the heads off was simple as well. This is the first time I ever wrote a positive review for any product... It worked that well that I wanted to share with any who would read.
Pros: Effective
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Stops Floor Squeaks From Above the Floor
from Indiana
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works Great!

PostedFebruary 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Awesome product! Super easy to use and fixes annoying squeaks.
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Stops Floor Squeaks From Above the Floor
from Gainesville, VA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product if seated to right depth

PostedMarch 13, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
As so many other reviews reported, this product really works! Finding joists were tough especially since I finally discovered that mine were 24 inches on center and not the typical 16. On a couple occasions the screw head did not hold the bit, slipping and stripping the head resulting with a screw not driven to the predefined hight and the the tip breaking prematurely (perhaps from hitting a knot or other nail in the joist). In those cases a noticeable part of the screw was above subfloor. Instructions didn't give any tips for remedying that situation. Can't countersink because they are screws so only option is to remove. Have a pair of vice grips handy to grab and manually unscrew the fastener from the floor if you are lucky enough to find the tip above the carpet.. Some dimpling noted in carpet where repairs occurred, probably because we have a very thick padding under the carpet. that tended to bunch up where screwed.
Pros: Effective
Cons: Hard to Remove
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Stops Floor Squeaks From Above the Floor
from Decatur, AL
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Outstanding! Better than the old finishing nails & coat hangers!

PostedJuly 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The pull drill joist finder in itself was worth this buy. This is very clever and well-engineered, right down to the snap-off screws. I had so much fun that I almost can't wait to attack the next squeak...well, maybe not that much fun...
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Effective
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Stops Floor Squeaks From Above the Floor
from Maryland
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedMarch 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to use, quick and price is great. I will recommend this to everyone I know.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Instructions, Effective
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Stops Floor Squeaks From Above the Floor
from Washington Stae
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best thing for squeeks!

PostedJune 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This tool is soooo easy to use and it really works! The only thing is...wish I would of gotten the extra screws because after fixing the main squeeks, I want to go through and fix every little squeek in the house! Ha Ha Buy it! You won't be sorry!
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Stops Floor Squeaks From Above the Floor
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Really did the job

PostedJanuary 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Removed 95% of my squeaks under carpet floors ! A great product worth the money!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Stops Floor Squeaks From Above the Floor
from Austin TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really Works

PostedApril 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had 2 squeaks and it got em both. Hardest part is finding the floor joist. I knew which direction the floor joists went so I just used the joist finding screw provided and checked every few inches till I found it. I have burber carpet and put scotch tape on the threads as instructed and the carpet was undamaged. The one squeak stopped on the first screw, but I put 2 more in for good measure. The other one took 3 screws, I put in a 4th for good measure. This was $20 well spent.
Pros: Effective
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Stops Floor Squeaks From Above the Floor
from NYC
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

worth more than what it costs.

PostedSeptember 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had a problem with the screw not snapping at first. The manual says this problem can occur when the hardwood is softer than what they used for testing.
When this happens, you use carpet installer with pointy legs instead of round installer. This completely solved my problem. I only used 3 screws but it already dramatically reduced the squeaking. I guess if I use a few more, it will completely remove squeaking.
I'm so glad I got this one instead of "counter snap kit" because "counter snap kit" doesn't come with carpet installer. Although I have hardwood floor, I couldn't have made it work without the carpet installer since the screws didn't snap with round installer.
Pros: Easy to Install, Effective
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Stops Floor Squeaks From Above the Floor

not around at store

PostedFebruary 16, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
everytime I go to the store they are always out even know it says they have some they need to order more
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Stops Floor Squeaks From Above the Floor

squeeks no more

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Product works exactly as described. I've already told my friends about it
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Stops Floor Squeaks From Above the Floor
from Chico, CA

Works pretty well

PostedNovember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had some hardwood floor boards that were creaking due to the cold weather. I used this product in the area and it worked pretty well.
I don't think I hit a beam on all of them but it still seemed to work. The area is much quieter to walk on now. I filled the holes with wood filler and you can't see it unless you look very closely.
The only thing I don't like is that the circular tool that comes with it for the screw to go into leaves a circle mark on the hardwood because it's pressed against the wood so hard when you're screwing it in. It might come out with polish.
Pros: Easy to Install, Effective
Cons: circular tool leaves a mark on hardwood
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Stops Floor Squeaks From Above the Floor
from Sarasota.FL

Smart, easy to use, effective

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Had loud floor squeaks under wall-to-wall carpet over wide area. This did the trick. I put the special (very clever) screws every 2 inches instead of the 4 inches recommended. Probably over -kill, but I was determined to stop the squeaking without having to remove the carpeting. Excellent tool. Suggest buy lots of extra screws (you can always bring them back) Very simple to use. Recommend it highly.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Stops Floor Squeaks From Above the Floor
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just what I needed

PostedMay 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Finding the joists is the hardest part. Once located, the screws are easy to use, along with the guide, and once you snap off the top part, you can't even tell they are there except for one thing, THE SQUEEK IS GONE!!!!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Stops Floor Squeaks From Above the Floor

Works as advertised

PostedApril 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This system works exactly as advertised. I have used it throughout our home to address floors and stairs that had squeaks in them.
I found when using the joist finder bit that it was possible to get a 'false positive' I ended up using a normal stud finder which worked even through the carpet.
Well worth the money in my opinion.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>