728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Pressure Washers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 3300 psi 3.0 GPM CAT Pump Gas Pressure Washe

3300 psi 3.0 GPM CAT Pump Gas Pressure Washe

The RIDGID 3,300 psi 3 GPM CAT Pump Gas Pressure Washer can deliver a powerful spray for your tough home and professional jobs. This pressure washer is powered by a commercial-grade OHC Subaru engine and CAT pump. The engine features electronic fuel-injection for smooth operation. This unit comes with 5 nozzles for various jobs, including a dual-power soap nozzle for long and close range detergent application. The pressure washer comes with a 0.95-gallon gas tank, steel frame, gun, nozzle and wand. For maneuverability, this washer has 2 wheels.
Overall rating:
4.073 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(41 reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
72%of customersrecommend this product26 of 36reviews
Rating Breakdown 41 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(28)
4
(2)
3
(4)
2
(0)
1
(7)
Features 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
72%of customersrecommend this product26 of 36reviews
Customer reviews for 3300 psi 3.0 GPM CAT Pump Gas Pressure Washe
Review 1 for 3300 psi 3.0 GPM CAT Pump Gas Pressure Washe

** Tip for starting the pressure washer **

PostedNovember 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wanted to reply to the comments regarding starting the pressure washer. I started the PW to clean my driveway and it started up immediately. After about 10 minutes the PW shut off and I had trouble starting it again. I followed the directions ( turn off , pull 4 times, turn on and try again) and still could not get it running.
So I called rigid tech support, they told me the same thing BUT with one additional instruction.
TIP: When pulling the cord to try to restart the PW, hold down the trigger on the spray wand. That did the trick. I have been able to start it without any trouble.
I hope this helps anyone else who owns this pressure washer.
Enjoy!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 3300 psi 3.0 GPM CAT Pump Gas Pressure Washe
from fl

Great machine

PostedFebruary 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this unit from Home Depot as a reconditioned unit, it looked like new. After about a month I used it for the first time. When I put all of the pieces together I realized the the auxiliary handle was missing. I called Ridgid & they sent me a new one @ no charge. As for starting cold or hot I just follow the instructions printed on the washer. Switch off, 4 slow pulls, switch on & it starts. This unit is very balance & easy to move around. I would buy it again!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 3300 psi 3.0 GPM CAT Pump Gas Pressure Washe
from Marriottsville, MD

Solid Spray Washer

PostedJune 26, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have done quite a bit of shopping for the perfect spray washer before finally pulling the trigger and, after having used the machine a few times, I can honestly say that I love this machine. It has everything one could want in a spray washer. This includes: easy assembly, clear instructions, very sturdy design, and very good performance. I used this washer to clean a 180+ sq. ft. deck made of pine and it did a fantastic job.
I am one of the more fussy do-it-yourselfers when it comes to tools and I gotta say I loved this washer as soon as I pulled it out of the box. I would definitely recommend this machine for family and friends.
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 3300 psi 3.0 GPM CAT Pump Gas Pressure Washe
from Snoqualmie, WA

Great pressure washer with a a few nits

PostedNovember 7, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I spent lots of time researching and focused on this pressure washer due to (i) its great CAT pump and (ii) its fuel injected engine. I love not having to deal with carbs over the life of the product, and the CAT pump in a product at this price point is quite impressive, even without the Suburu engine.
So far, I've found the Ridgid to be very powerful. It starts quickly (though in the first few hours, it took a few times for it to start). The trick is to pull slowly and gently four times with the engine switch off, then turn it on and pull one swift pull (this is discussed in the instructions). It is pretty manueverable, and the wheels are actually preferable to the rubber wheels on other units, which you have to continously inflate . Here are the only nits I've found:
1. The unit vibrates considerably on its frame,and the rubber pegs on which it rests do not do a good job of anchoring it, and it can move around slowly. This is more of a problem when it rests on concrete than in the grass or dirt, where the pegs can more easily dig in. You have to be careful to ensure the unit does not vibrate such that the exhaust comes close to a wall, or a plastic trash can (where the heat can melt a hole in the can --ask me how I know). Not sure what the fix is (besides removing the pegs/wheels and letting the unit rest on the floor, where it would be hard to manuever and very heavy).
2. A few times, when I press the wands trigger, the pump can take a while to pressurize (20-30 seconds), and until it comes up to pressure, it can delay a few times. Once it comes up to pressure, it is fine. I've found this to be true on other pressure washers too.
I've used mine to clean teak patio furniture (you have to be very careful to use the 45 degree tip only or you will cut the wood), concrete, cars, and my dirt bike. I used it to clean second story windows, and gutters.
I hesitated spending this much money when there were many choices at $300-500, but my reviews convinced me that spending a bit more for a much better engine and pump meant that I would get a lot more life out of this than if I bought a cheaper unit at Costco or HD.
So far, this one is a winner. I have not found a comparable unit that has the same CAT pump at under $1000.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 3300 psi 3.0 GPM CAT Pump Gas Pressure Washe
from Rockport, TX

Quality shows but watch the oil level

PostedJuly 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This replaced a S***s unit and the quality shows. When initially filling the motor with oil, be sure to get it to the upper hatched area as per the manual - don't screw the dipstick in to test, just push it into the hole, withdraw, and read. There is a low oil cutoff switch - unless the unit has the right amount of oil, it won't start. Mine took the entire 18 oz. bottle of oil provided. Another tip is to remove the nozzle when starting and use a velcro strap to hold the trigger open - prevents backlash and starts easily.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 3300 psi 3.0 GPM CAT Pump Gas Pressure Washe
from Rockford, IL

Couldn't start when warm

PostedApril 25, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'd read the reviews and knew there was a potential issue with warm starts, but the specs on this pressure washer make it just what I was looking for. There's a lot to like here. The CAT pump is a nice find in a box store offering. The packaging on this Rigid pressure washer is heavy duty and well thought out. The fold down handle allows more compact storage. The quality of the wand was surprisingly good and it felt good in my hands. The rubber tip holder has a spot for all of the tips and fits right on the wand, making tip changes quick and easy. The hose is very stiff and I probably would have tried to replace it down the line. The manuals leave a lot to be desired. They don't even mention the pump. You can get the service and parts manuals for the Subaru engine from the Subaru website. There is a cutout in the front plate that appears to be for something specific, but I couldn't find anything in the manual about it.
The only performance issue that I had with this pressure washer is the same as several other reviewers on here. I could not get it to re-start after it was warmed up. I did all of the things that have been suggested. I verified that the oil level was correct (when warm). I did the four-six pulls with the switch off. I squeezed the wand trigger to relieve the pressure between pulls. It simply would not start when warm. I went so far as to pull the spark plug - it was dry and showed no spark during pulls when hot. (what does that say?) There just aren't any adjustments available on this EFI unit. At any rate, I expect an $800 pressure washer to be easy starting and easy re-starting. Fortunately, HD refunded my purchase price without any hassle. Time to start looking for a different pressure washer. Too bad, because I really liked almost everything else about this one.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 3300 psi 3.0 GPM CAT Pump Gas Pressure Washe
from St. Louis, Missouri

Competition Hates this Engine, Customers Love it

PostedSeptember 17, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Guys,
My friend and I both have this washer it is amazing…. I manage the maintenance department at a Local Golf Course in Missouri.
It is used multiple times every day to wash turf equipment. It is used weekly for heavy work like degreasing and readying a machine for repair.
It is simply the best washer money can buy. It has the performance of a machine worth more than $1000.
We also saw the starting issue. We worked around it easily. If the unit is hot and you let it sit a few minutes then try to restart, sometimes it doesn’t start. We noticed that if it "popped" but did not fire off on the first pull, turn the switch off and pull the engine over a few times. You do not have to pull hard, just move the piston up and down and "clear the air" so to speak. Then switch it back on and she starts on the first pull.
I do not care what the others say, I know that these start with WAAAYYYY less effort than any other pressure washer, or for that matter any other piece of equipment we have at the course. I get some of the older guys that run the mowers that love the unit because they say it will always start easily. All of the operators use the washer when they are finished with their job. Most do not know how to start anything without a key. We used to have another brand with a regular carburetor and I was always going out to start the washer because someone forgot to turn on the fuel, or put the choke on when they were not supposed to, or ran the engine with the choke on, etc…. With this EFI unit, PROBLEM SOLVED.
If you ask me, the negative comments are from the competition shaking in their boots. WAY TO GO RIGID…
Oh, my friend with the same unit does painting and cedar restoration in town. He loves the unit because it is lighter than any other with the same power. He swears the unit uses less fuel than any other. He said that he too loved the fact that there was no starting confusion. He also said before he bought the EFI unit; the guys would regularly forget to turn the fuel off before loading it in the truck and the engine would fill up with gas. With EFI, problem solved.
I wouldn’t own a car without EFI anymore… Why would I own an engine without EFI.
When are the Mowers getting this?
Paul K.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 3300 psi 3.0 GPM CAT Pump Gas Pressure Washe
from Beatrice Nebraska

NEEDS A HONDA

PostedAugust 19, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very nice unit if it would start when its warm. I think a honda engine would make this a GREAT unit. Be nice if the soap spray would have a little more pressure and a built in soap dispencer..
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 3300 psi 3.0 GPM CAT Pump Gas Pressure Washe
from Lynn, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great pressure washer

PostedMay 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I wanted to buy a pressure washer to clean the cement deck around my pool and clean the house's siding. So far I have spent about 12 hours using it and the results have been great. Two of my neighbors have bought lesser washers recently and both broke down after a couple weekends of use. My hope is this washer will hold up and it feels like it will. I think the size is just right for what I want to do with it. I read some reviews and the cat pump sounds like it is among the best. I look forward to using it all summer long and getting my place cleaned up. Then having it for many years to come. The asssembly took about 20 minutes, pretty easy.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 3300 psi 3.0 GPM CAT Pump Gas Pressure Washe
from CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great! Hot start not an issue if you can read...

PostedSeptember 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had two craftsman before this one, Terrible, both stopped working with serious issues after a short time. I bought this on clearance from my local HD store. It was missing some accessories, bought them and got it home unit fires up fine. On the first hot start, unit did not start back up, read the starting instructions on the gas tank and it tells you what to do, then it fired right up. Seems the hot start "issue" you see written about here by some goes away after a little break in time , a couple hours on this unit. EFI is a great feature, mine doesn't use that much gas... Nice unit. What a deal!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Powerful, Great Engine
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 3300 psi 3.0 GPM CAT Pump Gas Pressure Washe
from Pembroke Pines, FL

DON"T BUY !!

PostedAugust 7, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Before buying, I read a review stating that the engine does not start when it's hot. I figured it was the buyer's bad luck so I purchased it anyway. I had the SAME PROBLEM. Engine refuses to start when it's hot. I am returning it and buying a DeWatt with the Honda engine. Stay away from Ridgid
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 3300 psi 3.0 GPM CAT Pump Gas Pressure Washe
from Rural Hall,NC

don't waste your time

PostedJuly 25, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this pressure washer 2 weeks ago.When I got it home I took my time putting it together going over every nook and cranny.To late to start using it that day so bright and early the next morning i was at it.Everything went fine that day,it was the next day that the trouble started or should i say didn't start.Never could get it running so I took it back and got another one.Well guess what after having to argue with the customer service guy I got another one,and did the same thing.Never again will I waste time or money on another ridgid product.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 3300 psi 3.0 GPM CAT Pump Gas Pressure Washe
from Raleigh, NC

Rigid 3300

PostedNovember 15, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Before purchasing this unit I did quite a bit of research, I wanted the best value for the money. This unit got my attention because of its quality parts; a CAT pump and a commercial Subaru engine. I also liked the design and the warranty. I have not been dissapointed. This unit starts with the first few pulls, it's powerful and easy to use, not too noisey, the hose, wand and other accessories are also of good quality. I purchased an extra length of hose for added reach and also purchased a turbo nozzle which is now a must have for driveways. I would stress to follow the directions carefully to make sure you have water always going through the pump before you start the engine and always when the engine is running. So far I am very please with my purchase.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 3300 psi 3.0 GPM CAT Pump Gas Pressure Washe
from MO

excellent washer

PostedSeptember 17, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Best pressure washer to use ever...Always start in 1 or two pulls...
Other reviewers that could not start a new engine when hot probably did not follow the simple starting instructions posted clearly on the fuel tank. If engine does not start in 4 pulls, DO NOT pull any more and follow the instuctions on the tank... If ever no start, after 4 pulls: Put switch to off, pull 4 times, then switch to on and start. If you do not follow instuctions and try to pull more than 4 times and no start, you may have to pull it 6 to 8 times with the switch off to purge the system...Then on to start...Mine seemed to get improved hot starting as the engine broke in...How much easier this engine is to use with EFI with no choke, no shut off valve, no carburetor maintenance, more power makes this washer worth it...
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 3300 psi 3.0 GPM CAT Pump Gas Pressure Washe
from Southeast USA

Easy to start

PostedAugust 28, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the easiest to start pressure washer I have used. The EFI engine gives the convenience of no more choke lever, no more fuel shut off valve to mess with during transport, and more engine power. This engine runs very smooth. Several reviewers had an issue with hot restart. I had this happen once when new, but by simply following the starting instructions posted clearly on the fuel tank you will get the unit back running powering through dirt. All that is needed if the engine ever does not start is turn switch to off, pull 4 times, then back to on and start as normal. I think this issue is related to engine break-in because once my unit got some run time on it, the engine always starts in one or two pulls. The only complaint I have with the water pump is the engine is very hard to pull if the wand handle is not pulled.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 3300 psi 3.0 GPM CAT Pump Gas Pressure Washe
from Venice, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Subaru EFI engine will not start hot

PostedJanuary 21, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This machine has a great pump. Also it has good power for the money. Just don't shut it down and expect it to restart for 4 to 5 hours. Yes I have done what is instructed to restart the engine with zero luck. It has been to the shop four times and the service people have the same problem as I. If you want a nice looking boat anchor this is the machine to buy.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 3300 psi 3.0 GPM CAT Pump Gas Pressure Washe

Great buy with lots of features!

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product started right up!!! Put together well and love all the different tips and features. Great quality product that almost has too much power for what I need but I'm extremely happy with my purchase.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 3300 psi 3.0 GPM CAT Pump Gas Pressure Washe
from Charleston, SC

Very unreliable fuel system

PostedSeptember 6, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When it ran it was great. However after warming up, the engine would never restart. I did follow the procedure for restarting (four pulls off to purge air from the efi system) but this would only yield the engine turning over once and would shutdown 1 to 2 seconds later. As before, if it was the first time cranking for the day or after being shutdown for 5 or 6 hours, it would crank with no problem...actually quite easy. Once it was heated, it would never re-crank. I did use the proper weight oil and at the correct capacity per the shop manual. I took it back and will buying either a Honda or Briggs&Straton mounted pressure washer. As one review put it best, I've learned all I need to know about Subaru/Robin EFI.
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 3300 psi 3.0 GPM CAT Pump Gas Pressure Washe
from O'Fallon, Illinois

Save your money...

PostedJune 29, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I did some product review on this model prior to purchasing. The biggest Issue I noted was the unit would not start again after it had been running for a while and then shut down for a lengthy period. Some users had this issue while others did not. I'm fairly mechanically inclined and figured I could work around this issue in the event it happened. I was absolutely WRONG. If I shut the unit down briefly and attempted to start it again, it would run. If I shut it down for over 10-15 minutes and then attempted to start it, I nearly pulled my back out. The pull start would pull well initially(when cool), then the pump would build up pressure and I have to release the pressure by activating the pressure wand. Then the unit would pull easy again; however, it would not start. Attempting to start it with the pump pressurized could cause an injury.
Once the unit is running, I can't say there are any issues. If you purchased the G Clean cannister with it (As I did), good luck finding a place to mount it where it doesn't vibrate itself off.
Ultimately, for the price ($750), I would not have expected this 'hot starting' problem.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 3300 psi 3.0 GPM CAT Pump Gas Pressure Washe
from South East Michigan

Best of the Best.

PostedJune 4, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I looked around for a while to try to find the right combination of durability, price and features. I don't want to buy a new pressure washer every other year, and I am willing to pay a little more for premium components. I borrowed a friends pressure washer, which was loud, hard to start when hot (I have the bruise to prove it) and shook the whole deck I was trying to clean.
The Subaru engine starts up easy, is quiet, and seems to be happy at any speed. I like the heavy duty features of the engine.
CAT pump works great, and has a great repuataion for durability. Output was impressive, both pressure washers were advertized as being the same, but the CAT was delivering more pressure and flow.
The Ridgid owners manual was dismal. It focuses almost completely on how to get started and what to do if the engine doesn't start and almost complety ignores the maintenence of the engine and pump. Information such as engine oil change intervals, or oil recomendations for the pump was missing. If you dig around on their website, you can find that CAT Pumps recomend changing the pump oil at 50 hours, this is missing in the owners manual. Subaru also has a great website for the engine, but this information should have been included with the unit.
I would recomend this to anyone who wants a top quality pressure washer that will last for a very long time.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>