728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head

Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head

The Ryobi Expand-it Universal Power Head features a 2-cycle low-emission engine and is ready to power most any universal lawn and garden attachment. It is also UV protected.
Overall rating:
2.173 / 5
2.2
 / 
5
(341 reviews) 340
Open Ratings Snapshot
30%of customersrecommend this product98 of 328reviews
Rating Breakdown 341 reviews
2.2 out of 5.0
5
(52)
4
(41)
3
(19)
2
(31)
1
(198)
Features 
3.1 out of 5.0
3.1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.5 out of 5.0
2.5 out of 5
Value 
2.3 out of 5.0
2.3 out of 5
30%of customersrecommend this product98 of 328reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
Review 1 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
SEAN
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

DO NOT BUY!! HAD TO RETURN AFTER THE FIRST USE!!!

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
During the initial use I was impressed, started well, ran well with plenty of power. I was excited to use it for my second job but when the time came it was hard to start, After pulling numerous times it started but was bogging and had no power. Even died out after applying throttle. After smelling gas I noticed the carburetor was leaking gas. I know it was only a gasket but still this was brand new and should not be leaking. So I returned for full refund and bought the commercial Echo. I also noticed the manufacture date was late 2011 and I purchased it new in February of 2014. Perhaps that's why the gasket dried out and malfunctioned. I spend the extra buck on the ECHO but well worth the investment.
Pros: Powerful, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: leaks gas
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
gary
from new orleans, LA

Great for a year; then all downhill

PostedApril 3, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this multi-functional weed eater just for the Home. Worked great for about a year. Then started to kill on me during usage. Sent it to a shop; replaced the carburetor during year 2 (even though always used fresh gas every year). Then the next year, same problem – would kill during usage. And give me a hard time to get started again.
Good idea. Just didn't live up to usage.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
debsnwc
from Lafayette, LA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good bye Ryobi!

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
As usual after only one season I can only get it to start after about TWENTY pulls and then it sputters and stops!!! Happened last year as well....no more Ryobi.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
Obama

Junk

PostedMarch 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Piece of junk. Had problems ever since I bought it, was always difficult to start. Exchanged for new model early on then new model had carburetor leaking fuel. 3rd time was the charm and that weed eater lasted about a year before succumbing to the same problems where it was difficult to start. Cheap but you're better off spending an extra $10 and getting something that will last.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
buyer

Interchange feature nice, but...

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
...that's the only reason it gets 4 stars. It can be hard to start and keep running until its fully warmed up.
This is my second head. The first had a linkage problem (after 4 years) last year, which cost me more to get repaired than just buying new. This year, the unit lost vacuum for the gas feed, so I just junked it. The new one has the same difficulty in starting (numerous pulls) and will easily quit running until its totally warmed up.
Pros: All In One, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable, hard to start
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
Young
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Reliability is Poor

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Reliability is very poor as Ryobi Trimmer Power Head lasted only 2.5 years. Will not buy Ryobi products again.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: reliability
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
JonM

Don't buy

PostedJune 3, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
One word sums up this trimmer GARBAGE. Needed to replace my old Ryobi so I went to HD and picked a new Ryobi up. It would not stay running, took it back and exchanged it for the same model. Second one ran like a champ after two times using it. On the third time using it, it would not start no matter how many times I tried to pull it. Started my troubleshooting it had good spark and was getting fuel but would not start. I'm taking this one back also and getting a different brand. I purchased my first Ryobi and used it for 8 years guess this is what happens when you outsource to China, good brand names become junk. Won't buy another Ryobi anything again.
+49points
53out of 57found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
lw14
from mandeville
Age Range:45 to 54
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

horrible tools

PostedApril 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
purchased one a few years ago and have had nothing but trouble, starting it, keeping it running, and eventually experienced mechanical failure with the weed eater extension. Purchased another head when old one began to both leak and run inconsistently to the point of THAT'S IT, I might as well use a pair of scissors. I have used the new head 2 times and once more this morning when the pull cord has become loose after failing to get this thing to start (I'm not Hercules). I'm done with Ryobi products, they are not suited to the average consumer.
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
Mike

Good once carb adjusted

PostedJune 17, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When I first purchased this power head it had little power and did not like the throttle wide opened. I would have returned it had I not tossed the box it came in. Sounded like not getting enough fuel. I adjusted the the carb (I'm an auto technician). Now runs great. Factory adjustments should have never passed Ryobi's QC. Ryobi has done well for low level non comercial use tooling. I own many of their products along with Bosch (which is a superior product with a price). Unfortunately I would not recommend this power head right now to users who don’t want to make any adjustments straight out the box (they should not need too).
+25points
26out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
meatcleaver
from Dalton Georgia
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

garbage

PostedApril 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This machine is absolute garbage. No exageration. I bought one and took it home and it never started one time. I took it back and exchanged it. I had to put up with some grief from the lawn and garden guy to get it exchanged. I took that one home and used it twice. The handle got so hot I had to keep my hand pulled all the way up just to use it. I stopped after a while to put gas in and take a break and it never ran again. I changed the plug and cleaned everything and it wouldnt even sputter. The worst weedeater experience ive had. Buy something else
Cons: Too Heavy, Difficult to Use, wont even run
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
DSGNRj
from Orlando, FL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Doesn't run anymore...

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Like so many others... this one lasted me only ONE season. Now it won't run. As soon as I push the throttle it shuts off. I saw someone adjusted a few screws in the back. I'll try that. But it's definitely NOT THE RYOBI QUALITY I'M USED TO.
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use, doesn't last
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head

Not good out of the box, but great after adjusting

PostedDecember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Out of the box the product worked for a little while and quickly became hard to start and would die if I gave it some gas. I was very frustrated with it - cleaned the carb, replaced the plastic pipes, filter and bulb with a kit, still no luck.
This part is important- I was able to fix it by doing 2 things,
1: I had to adjust the hidden "high speed" ad "idle" screws. You can google this. I actually tapped them with a hacksaw so a normal screw driver could turn them.
2: I found the screws over the metal plate behind the actual motor would become loose which wouldn't allow for proper compression. I put some tacky glue (most prefer loctite) on the screws and tightened them down.
With these 2 adjustments, the motor starts one the first or second pull and NEVER gives up.
I think it's a tragic shame Ryobi released something which requires tuning after it's broken in, but I felt it was necessary for someone to post the method of correcting the problem.
+83points
87out of 91found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
ExRyobiowner
from Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Headache right out of the box

PostedMarch 16, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Took it home and would only run if on 1/2 choke. Took it back and got a replacement. Due to bad choke lever placement kept choking out the engine when lever rubbed against my hip. Put a hook & spring on to hold the choke open. After 2 months the tension screw that holds the attachments stripped out and had to replace it with a hardened bolt & nut. At about 6 months the throttle cable slipped out of position and engine would only run at 1/2 speed. Had to wire the cable into place with wire ties because the plastic handle would not hold it in place any more. At about 1 year the fuel lines split and had to be replaced. At about 2 yrs. the drive shaft stripped out and would no longer run the attachments. Donated it to the waste disposal people this past week.
Pros: came in a nice box
Cons: Not Durable, poorly designed, cheap materials
+24points
27out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
TerryH
from New Hill, NC
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Doesn't last

PostedApril 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've had several years of using this and it consistently lets me down. It's always got something going wrong with it. Nice idea, but would like a lot more reliability out of it.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
Brian
from Dallas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

didn't last 1 summer

PostedApril 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
worked great, until it just stopped working 2-3 months later, when it wouldn't run without the choke, so no real power.
cleaned the carb, spark arrester and muffler. replaced the plug. no luck.
I've spent $30+ trying to make it work.. its going to the landfill to visit the previous one I had (also Ryobi)
only used for light edging and trimming.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
thesimonfamily
from Allentown, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Will get a new one soon

PostedAugust 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've had the Ryobi string trimmer for about ten years. Worked great. The only issue is if you are away for a while then it may need to replace the gas and oil mix. Love this machine
Pros: Cuts Well, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Light Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use, difficult to start
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
2ndtrimmer
from san mateo
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Like the flexibility of the trimmer

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was glad to find out that I had option of just buying the motor part of the trimmer, saved me money. The new motor piece worked great with the trimmer attachment. The new motor is a lot easier to start, less steps to get it started.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
jamesbtex
from Plano, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor engine exhaust design, multiple units failed exactly the same way after only 2 years.

PostedApril 10, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have owned four of these over the years. The first one did not want to stay running and was very hard to start. I took it back and exchanged it and the replacement worked fine. Got about 2 years of use out of it then it broke. I purchased a new power head and the chock design had been changed. I liked the functionality of the old choke but to tell you the truth the new design was more reliable. The unit would start within two pull and stay running. That one lasted about 2 years and broke. I'm now on my fourth one and it has the same choke design and also starts easy and keeps running even at idle. But not it is developing the same problem as the previous 3.
Ryobi has a serious design issue with their motors and they have had this issue for at least 10 years now with no improvement.
There are only two long screws that hold the muffler onto the engine. These screws become loose over time. They are not unscrewing but instead will snap about 1/2 way into the threaded section or they will strip out the very soft threads in the body of the engine. The engine housing is made out of a soft metal (probably aluminum). The combination of this soft metal and the exhaust pressure pushing out from the cylinder against the muffler causes the screws to snap, the threads to strip and I have even had the metal cover break right where the screw head is due to vibration when the screws become loose.
The first clue that this is happening is that the top of the unit next to your forearm will get uncomfortably hot, then after time you will hear it start rattling. I have at times been able to tighten things up again by installing another larger washer (in the case where the cover broke). In the case where the screw snaps at the threaded part you have to get the broken piece out and find a replacement screw that is the correct length. Even then by this point the soft metal threads are beginning to strip. It will only be a matter of time before they fail all together and then the only choice will be a new motor. I think I will try the Toro next time since it fits all the expandit attachments for the Ryobi and it seems to have a much better feedback rating.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable, cheaply made, poorly designed engine, only lasts 2 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
pnv0218
from Ansonia, CT, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disposable Trimmer

PostedMarch 25, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'm on my 3rd Ryobi gas trimmer and this one is now giving me fits. All 3 had the same symptoms:
First, starting it becomes a hassle with several pulls and alternating between full and half throttle while the neighbors chuckle.
Then, it only stays running at full throttle.
Finally, it stops running altogether. Naturally, the trash guys won't take it so now I have to spend my lunch hour running to the dump.
You've been warned.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable
+20points
25out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
Billy69Bob
from Allegan, MI 49010, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Listen to the sales person.

PostedJuly 27, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When I first got it home I thought I had purchased a lemon. I had a pruner attachment on it and could not get any rpms to run it. I called Home Depot and they said to bring it back. The first words out of the salesperson, who I had dealt with the night before, was "Did you use a high octane fuel?" which he said it required. I replied "No", so he then drained out my fuel and added his and it ran great. Been using it ever since with no running or starting issues. I guess it pays to listen.
Pros: Cuts Well, Sturdy, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine
Cons: awkward to handle while starting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 17 >>