728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head

Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head

The Ryobi Expand-it Universal Power Head features a 2-cycle low-emission engine and is ready to power most any universal lawn and garden attachment. It is also UV protected.
Overall rating:
2.251 / 5
2.3
 / 
5
(399 reviews) 398
Open Ratings Snapshot
32%of customersrecommend this product124 of 384reviews
Rating Breakdown 399 reviews
2.3 out of 5.0
5
(66)
4
(52)
3
(22)
2
(35)
1
(224)
Features 
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2 out of 5
Quality 
2.1 out of 5.0
2.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.6 out of 5.0
2.6 out of 5
Value 
2.3 out of 5.0
2.3 out of 5
32%of customersrecommend this product124 of 384reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
Review 1 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
from Tampa
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It has a 3 Year Warranty

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've owned two of these. The first one lasted seven years. The piston rod finally snapped so I bought another. I had it two years and it went bad. The repair shop simply sent it back and Ryobi mailed me a new one. It has a three year warranty too. Compared to the Stihl, the price is a bargain and the warranty makes it even more cost effective. Meanwhile, I simply keep using the old attachments with the new power head. Unless all the attachments break and the power head is out of warranty, I won't be switching to the so-called better brand. I'll leave that to the commercial folks who need to earn a living with those power tools.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Light Weight, Easy to Store
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
from Chino Valley, AZ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Ryobi Does the Job

PostedOctober 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have use Ryobi gas powered yard products for quite some time. They are reliable, easy to use, and durable. The power head drive a number of attachments that interchange easily and I have used most of them with this power head. It has plenty of power to drive any of the related attachments. It starts easily when starting instructions ore followed. The only minor problem was that the idle needed to be adjusted from the beginning, but this is a simple adjustment to make. Overall I am pleased with this product and it is a good value for the price.
Pros: All In One, Easy to Use, Durable, Powerful, versitile
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
from Savannah, GA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Never has let me down

PostedOctober 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My wife purchased the Ryobi Expand it kit for my birthday over three years ago and I still use it to this day. I have the curved trimmer and the edger. Each year I change the oil and spruce it up. Follow the instructions and it starts up each time. Only thing I recommend is to change out the trimmer head and that will save you money in the long run on trimmer string. Worth every penny and less expensive than buying several different products when this can do the same thing for hundreds less.
Don't let all the negative reviews fool you, this is a great system if you follow the directions and use it right.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
from new orleans, LA

Great for a year; then all downhill

PostedApril 3, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this multi-functional weed eater just for the Home. Worked great for about a year. Then started to kill on me during usage. Sent it to a shop; replaced the carburetor during year 2 (even though always used fresh gas every year). Then the next year, same problem – would kill during usage. And give me a hard time to get started again.
Good idea. Just didn't live up to usage.
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head

Good once carb adjusted

PostedJune 17, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When I first purchased this power head it had little power and did not like the throttle wide opened. I would have returned it had I not tossed the box it came in. Sounded like not getting enough fuel. I adjusted the the carb (I'm an auto technician). Now runs great. Factory adjustments should have never passed Ryobi's QC. Ryobi has done well for low level non comercial use tooling. I own many of their products along with Bosch (which is a superior product with a price). Unfortunately I would not recommend this power head right now to users who don’t want to make any adjustments straight out the box (they should not need too).
+29points
30out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head

Frustrating piece of equipment

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product functioned well for the first several times of operation but since then it has required four visits to Home Depot for adjustment of carburetor and still is not running correctly. I have an Echo trimmer that I also use and it has performed great. For the time and money spent running back and forth to Home Depot for adjustments to my Ryobi I would have saved a considerable amount of money and time if I had bought another Echo. In consideration of the ten hours of service that I have gotten out of the Ryobi around my house, I would not recommend the Ryobi gas trimmer with its poor quality engine/carburetor to anyone.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head

Quality Product

PostedSeptember 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased a new power head this year(2014). Have no problems. I own three Ryobi power tools and love them all. The power head I replaced was 13 years old. It helps if you read and follow directions
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head

Don't buy

PostedJune 3, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
One word sums up this trimmer GARBAGE. Needed to replace my old Ryobi so I went to HD and picked a new Ryobi up. It would not stay running, took it back and exchanged it for the same model. Second one ran like a champ after two times using it. On the third time using it, it would not start no matter how many times I tried to pull it. Started my troubleshooting it had good spark and was getting fuel but would not start. I'm taking this one back also and getting a different brand. I purchased my first Ryobi and used it for 8 years guess this is what happens when you outsource to China, good brand names become junk. Won't buy another Ryobi anything again.
+48points
54out of 60found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head

great price

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ryoni at such a liw price. Amazing. Just be sure to use non-ethanol
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head

Not good out of the box, but great after adjusting

PostedDecember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Out of the box the product worked for a little while and quickly became hard to start and would die if I gave it some gas. I was very frustrated with it - cleaned the carb, replaced the plastic pipes, filter and bulb with a kit, still no luck.
This part is important- I was able to fix it by doing 2 things,
1: I had to adjust the hidden "high speed" ad "idle" screws. You can google this. I actually tapped them with a hacksaw so a normal screw driver could turn them.
2: I found the screws over the metal plate behind the actual motor would become loose which wouldn't allow for proper compression. I put some tacky glue (most prefer loctite) on the screws and tightened them down.
With these 2 adjustments, the motor starts one the first or second pull and NEVER gives up.
I think it's a tragic shame Ryobi released something which requires tuning after it's broken in, but I felt it was necessary for someone to post the method of correcting the problem.
+90points
94out of 98found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head

Till it got warm.

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It ran like a beast until it got warmed up, after that it died and wouldn't stay running. Had to wait for it to cool down for it to start up again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head

Failed in less than 90 days

PostedSeptember 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Ran well the first couple of uses. Then would only run with the choke on "A" setting. Now after less than 3 months it doesn't run at all. Home Depot will not exchange this unit because carburetor problems are not covered under the manufacturer's warranty. Read the fine print - the Ryobi warranty does't cover anything related to the fuel system. I had an old Homelite that lasted for 12 years. These new Ryobi units are junk. Do not buy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
from Albany Ga
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor Product Performance

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After the first season, hard to start; when it does start, it won't idle. Head gasket leaks. Vibrates so hard the screws on the gas tank came loose and fell off. I won't buy another one.
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't waste your money

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Many years ago, I purchased a Ryobi Expand-It that ran strong for over 10 years that required only routine maintenance. It lived its life so, two years ago, I purchased a new model from HD. The quality of the product has greatly diminished. If you purchase this Ryobi like I did, expect to have problems with the carb. Constant adjustments of the High and Low needles are required if not a complete carb replacement. You might think this unit with attachments is a cheaper alternative that buying each unit separately and you're right ... it is cheaper because it is cheaply built. Spend the extra money and buy a separate blower / edger / trimmer ... by a DIFFERENT brand.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head

LOL

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The only positive feature of the Expand-it line of products is that if you grab your tubing cutter and cut off a bit of the end of the attachment they will work with the Stihl Kombi power head. Worthless, save your money or buy a quality unit. WORTHLESS JUNK. Throwing my ryobi away with lees than 2 hours on it ,never started ,never ran right, waste of your money. This is like the pretend toy stuff you buy for your child to act like his parents...except it don't make the motor noise....you have to do that with your lips.
Pros: vroooom
Cons: don't work
+3points
9out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
from Allentown, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Will get a new one soon

PostedAugust 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've had the Ryobi string trimmer for about ten years. Worked great. The only issue is if you are away for a while then it may need to replace the gas and oil mix. Love this machine
Pros: Cuts Well, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Light Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use, difficult to start
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
from Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Headache right out of the box

PostedMarch 16, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Took it home and would only run if on 1/2 choke. Took it back and got a replacement. Due to bad choke lever placement kept choking out the engine when lever rubbed against my hip. Put a hook & spring on to hold the choke open. After 2 months the tension screw that holds the attachments stripped out and had to replace it with a hardened bolt & nut. At about 6 months the throttle cable slipped out of position and engine would only run at 1/2 speed. Had to wire the cable into place with wire ties because the plastic handle would not hold it in place any more. At about 1 year the fuel lines split and had to be replaced. At about 2 yrs. the drive shaft stripped out and would no longer run the attachments. Donated it to the waste disposal people this past week.
Pros: came in a nice box
Cons: Not Durable, poorly designed, cheap materials
+24points
27out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head

Weedwacker

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Works well This is the second one I bought easy to use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head

Absolutely the worst

PostedSeptember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The hardest starting power tool I have ever used. Only buy this as aerobic workout equipment. After pulling about a hundred times and getting only a minute of run time---on about the 5th usage---I chucked it in the trash. Believe the many negative reviews. This is junk.
Cons: Difficult to Use, incredibly hard starting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head

A throw-away piece

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Listen to the one star reviews. I've made the mistake of buying three of these. About one a year or so. The latest one is about three months old. It was already running rough and I'd had to fix it once already, and then the throttle cable broke. I'm finally done with Ryobi's junk. I'm going to get something else even if it means I have to buy new attachments.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 20 >>