728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head

Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head

The Ryobi Expand-it Universal Power Head features a 2-cycle low-emission engine and is ready to power most any universal lawn and garden attachment. It is also UV protected.
Overall rating:
2.238 / 5
2.2
 / 
5
(378 reviews) 377
Open Ratings Snapshot
32%of customersrecommend this product115 of 363reviews
Rating Breakdown 378 reviews
2.2 out of 5.0
5
(62)
4
(49)
3
(20)
2
(33)
1
(214)
Features 
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2 out of 5
Quality 
2.1 out of 5.0
2.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.6 out of 5.0
2.6 out of 5
Value 
2.3 out of 5.0
2.3 out of 5
32%of customersrecommend this product115 of 363reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
Review 1 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
from new orleans, LA

Great for a year; then all downhill

PostedApril 3, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this multi-functional weed eater just for the Home. Worked great for about a year. Then started to kill on me during usage. Sent it to a shop; replaced the carburetor during year 2 (even though always used fresh gas every year). Then the next year, same problem – would kill during usage. And give me a hard time to get started again.
Good idea. Just didn't live up to usage.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head

LOL

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The only positive feature of the Expand-it line of products is that if you grab your tubing cutter and cut off a bit of the end of the attachment they will work with the Stihl Kombi power head. Worthless, save your money or buy a quality unit. WORTHLESS JUNK. Throwing my ryobi away with lees than 2 hours on it ,never started ,never ran right, waste of your money. This is like the pretend toy stuff you buy for your child to act like his parents...except it don't make the motor noise....you have to do that with your lips.
Pros: vroooom
Cons: don't work
+5points
9out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't waste your money

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Many years ago, I purchased a Ryobi Expand-It that ran strong for over 10 years that required only routine maintenance. It lived its life so, two years ago, I purchased a new model from HD. The quality of the product has greatly diminished. If you purchase this Ryobi like I did, expect to have problems with the carb. Constant adjustments of the High and Low needles are required if not a complete carb replacement. You might think this unit with attachments is a cheaper alternative that buying each unit separately and you're right ... it is cheaper because it is cheaply built. Spend the extra money and buy a separate blower / edger / trimmer ... by a DIFFERENT brand.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
from tallahassee, fl
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Three or four uses max

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Unfortunately I'm cheap (because I have bought Ryobi trimmers) and a slow learner. I have a veritable graveyard of prior years Ryobi power heads that finked out after less than a season. In the most recent one I used only pre-mixed fuel. Didn't get through one an a half bottles before trimmer refused to start. Shop said the exhaust was plugged up with carbon and cleaned it for $30. Got it home and it started, blew smoke and after a minute it barely ran.
Manual says it cold be the spark plug or spark arrestor screen (see authorized dealer). Too much hassle with Ryobis.
This is my last Ryobi.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
from NJ

The worst.

PostedJune 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this trimmer with a curved trimmer for personal use. After approx. 10 uses the motor would turn on, but it would turn off a few seconds into lawn work. I would not turn on again. I am done with it, and it will be in the trash next week. It's also very heavy. Dont waste your money.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable, Too Heavy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head

Don't buy

PostedJune 3, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
One word sums up this trimmer GARBAGE. Needed to replace my old Ryobi so I went to HD and picked a new Ryobi up. It would not stay running, took it back and exchanged it for the same model. Second one ran like a champ after two times using it. On the third time using it, it would not start no matter how many times I tried to pull it. Started my troubleshooting it had good spark and was getting fuel but would not start. I'm taking this one back also and getting a different brand. I purchased my first Ryobi and used it for 8 years guess this is what happens when you outsource to China, good brand names become junk. Won't buy another Ryobi anything again.
+49points
53out of 57found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head

Good once carb adjusted

PostedJune 17, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When I first purchased this power head it had little power and did not like the throttle wide opened. I would have returned it had I not tossed the box it came in. Sounded like not getting enough fuel. I adjusted the the carb (I'm an auto technician). Now runs great. Factory adjustments should have never passed Ryobi's QC. Ryobi has done well for low level non comercial use tooling. I own many of their products along with Bosch (which is a superior product with a price). Unfortunately I would not recommend this power head right now to users who don’t want to make any adjustments straight out the box (they should not need too).
+26points
27out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
from Tampa
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It has a 3 Year Warranty

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've owned two of these. The first one lasted seven years. The piston rod finally snapped so I bought another. I had it two years and it went bad. The repair shop simply sent it back and Ryobi mailed me a new one. It has a three year warranty too. Compared to the Stihl, the price is a bargain and the warranty makes it even more cost effective. Meanwhile, I simply keep using the old attachments with the new power head. Unless all the attachments break and the power head is out of warranty, I won't be switching to the so-called better brand. I'll leave that to the commercial folks who need to earn a living with those power tools.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Light Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

DO NOT BUY!! HAD TO RETURN AFTER THE FIRST USE!!!

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
During the initial use I was impressed, started well, ran well with plenty of power. I was excited to use it for my second job but when the time came it was hard to start, After pulling numerous times it started but was bogging and had no power. Even died out after applying throttle. After smelling gas I noticed the carburetor was leaking gas. I know it was only a gasket but still this was brand new and should not be leaking. So I returned for full refund and bought the commercial Echo. I also noticed the manufacture date was late 2011 and I purchased it new in February of 2014. Perhaps that's why the gasket dried out and malfunctioned. I spend the extra buck on the ECHO but well worth the investment.
Pros: Powerful, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: leaks gas
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head

Not good out of the box, but great after adjusting

PostedDecember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Out of the box the product worked for a little while and quickly became hard to start and would die if I gave it some gas. I was very frustrated with it - cleaned the carb, replaced the plastic pipes, filter and bulb with a kit, still no luck.
This part is important- I was able to fix it by doing 2 things,
1: I had to adjust the hidden "high speed" ad "idle" screws. You can google this. I actually tapped them with a hacksaw so a normal screw driver could turn them.
2: I found the screws over the metal plate behind the actual motor would become loose which wouldn't allow for proper compression. I put some tacky glue (most prefer loctite) on the screws and tightened them down.
With these 2 adjustments, the motor starts one the first or second pull and NEVER gives up.
I think it's a tragic shame Ryobi released something which requires tuning after it's broken in, but I felt it was necessary for someone to post the method of correcting the problem.
+87points
91out of 95found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
from Valrico, Fl
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well when it starts, Hopefully it will last.

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I would recommend this power head due to its low price. I have previous model for about 1 1/2 years when it wouldn't start anymore. I tried a couple different fixes but none worked, so I bought a new one. Apparently Ryobi has made some changes to carburetor since previous model due to starting sequence so hopefully it will last longer.
Pros: low price point, simplified starting procedure
Cons: none as of yet
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
from Illinois
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Three words: Carb adjustment tool.

PostedApril 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This growing season will be my sixth with this head. I use the blower & trimmer weekly, and the edger & trimmer about once a month from April until November. It's still going strong after 6 years, but the secret is that you need to adjust carb. These things are set far too lean from the factory (pollution controls...)
After a couple of years, mine got harder to start and bogged down when trying to rev. Then it started running rough at full-speed. Then I had to run it half-choked. Then it became impossible to start in cool weather. I put up with it for a season, and was about to junk it & buy a new head when I watched a few YouTube videos about carb adjustments. A $10 carb adjustment tool, 15 minutes of tinkering with the idle, low and high speed jet screws, and my Ryobi now starts on the first or second pull, idles normally, and revs smoothly & quickly.
There are better and more expensive power heads on the market, no doubt. But with a little TLC, these Ryobi heads can provide years of service.
Pros: All In One
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
from Idaho
Age Range:25 to 34

Piece of garbage

PostedMay 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used it twice. The first two times I used it, it started without any problems. I had to use with half choke or it would bog down and die. When I got it out to use for the third time it would not start. If I put full directly in carb it would start run for 5 seconds and die. Checked lines they were all clean. Which you would expect since it had been used for maybe 30 minutes max. Do not buy.
On an added note. I had to modify the trimmer extension just to get it to go on the power head. Waste of money and waste of time.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
from Tampa, FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Horrible Engine from a Horrible Brand

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Just found out today you cannot use this engine with gas you buy at the gas station (with ethanol). You have to buy special gas without ethanol or treat your gas. My mower and other gas powered devices do not have this issue. The service center representing Ryobi was horrible and tried to get me to spend $70 to fix an $80 engine. I will probably just buy another engine from another brand. I have heard good things about Toro.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
from Fl
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ran twice then didn't.

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought to replace Craftsman trimmer head that died since the attachments I had would fit.. Used TrueFuel premix in it with right ratio. Ran on two separate times but never got to use it to do anything. Had blister on my finger from trying to crank it multiple time to start it after the second run. Should have followed the review recommedations on this site to NOT buy. Oh well...bought different manufactor and new attachments.
Cons: Difficult to Use, doesn't work for long
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
from Saginaw, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great system.

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My old power head lasted many years and did plenty of work. The new one fits all of the attachments I already have, so it was a great value to have to replace just the power head. This is a great system.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head

Ryobi is not what it used to be

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought it and used it for less than 10 times and it won't start. The 2 years warranty is a joke. Used to own this product from this brand and was running well for several years. Now it seems it has gone down on quality and I will never buy product from this brand again.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
from Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Headache right out of the box

PostedMarch 16, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Took it home and would only run if on 1/2 choke. Took it back and got a replacement. Due to bad choke lever placement kept choking out the engine when lever rubbed against my hip. Put a hook & spring on to hold the choke open. After 2 months the tension screw that holds the attachments stripped out and had to replace it with a hardened bolt & nut. At about 6 months the throttle cable slipped out of position and engine would only run at 1/2 speed. Had to wire the cable into place with wire ties because the plastic handle would not hold it in place any more. At about 1 year the fuel lines split and had to be replaced. At about 2 yrs. the drive shaft stripped out and would no longer run the attachments. Donated it to the waste disposal people this past week.
Pros: came in a nice box
Cons: Not Durable, poorly designed, cheap materials
+24points
27out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
from Pinellas Park, Florida

Great for the price...

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the third Ryobi trimmer I have purchased, the last 2 lasted about 4 or 5 years each and for the money it's well worth it. This time I just purchased the power head as I have the attachments from the others. I just added the trimmer head and some gas and I was ready to go...
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Great Engine
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
from pennsylvania
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best low cost trimmer out there

PostedJune 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had this trimmer for 9 years now, and it still works as good as the day I bought it. I don't see why there are so many negative reviews of this trimmer. Perhaps most people expect things to work perfectly all of the time. Yes, you may have to adjust the carb after a few seasons, maybe clean it out a little as well or change the spark plug. Anyway, this trimmer surprised me since it lasted so long(still going) at such a cheap price. I don't just trim lightly either. I've been cutting grass/weeds that are 3 to 4 feet high mostly when I do use it. All of the other low cost trimmers I've owned in the past never lasted more than 2 or 3 seasons. This one far outlasted my expectations.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 19 >>