728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head

Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head

The Ryobi Expand-it Universal Power Head features a 2-cycle low-emission engine and is ready to power most any universal lawn and garden attachment. It is also UV protected.
Overall rating:
2.271 / 5
2.3
 / 
5
(413 reviews) 412
Open Ratings Snapshot
33%of customersrecommend this product132 of 398reviews
Rating Breakdown 413 reviews
2.3 out of 5
5
(69)
4
(55)
3
(23)
2
(38)
1
(228)
Features 
3.2 out of 5
3.2 out of 5
Quality 
2.1 out of 5
2.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.6 out of 5
2.6 out of 5
Value 
2.4 out of 5
2.4 out of 5
33%of customersrecommend this product132 of 398reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
Review 1 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
from Holbrook, NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not a good value

PostedJanuary 24, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought 2 in 3 1/3 years. If you get 2 seasons out of these consider it a bonus. No parts available very sensitive carb and fuel system. In order to get 2 seasons, you really have to know how to completey winterize if it will sit more that 2 months. Ethanol fuel eats the fuel system alive if not used. Better to step up to the Toro for a few bucks. Toro is more power and will last longer. 2 Ryobi machines cost me $200 to get 3 1/2 seasons. Toro machine was $129 for power head and all Ryobi attachments worked with it. Toro cost $129 for 4 years and still going I'm surprised Home Depot even still offers this product
Cons: Not Durable, poor quality and value
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
from Seffner, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

2nd time around

PostedMarch 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I just bought one of these powerheads as an identical replacement to one I have that I am happy with. Having two simply gives me versatility and confidence that it something happens to the older one, I've got a newer one to take its place immediately. For the money, I don't believe you can beat the value. I look at the Echo and Stihl models and just marvel at the multiple price difference.
My experience with these Ryobi powerheads have been great, you just need a bit of knowledge and the willingness to apply that knowledge. If you read through many of the favorable reviews, you'll find the one secret to making these powerheads run great: you NEED to get a "Pacman" tool to be able to make an adjustment to the low and high speed needles.
Ryobi is apparently required to ship these according to EPA regulations, which means they are set to run lean. This also means it will run like do do. The adjustment needles are supposed to be "tamper resistent" to the average residential homeowner. Get a Pacman tool so you can make a small adjustment in both the low and high speed needles in the carb and this baby will run just fine. Just Google and find the UTube videos of how to do this if you never heard of it. Otherwise you can give money to your local small engine repair shop and they'll do it for you. They have this inexpensive tool, believe me.
The other very important thing to follow is the instructions, as strange as that may sound to the average Harry Homeowner. At a minimum, use 89 octane gas (gosh, it'll cost you a whole $0.25 more for a gallon, so don't go cheap) and use a quality gas additive like StarTron to combat the effects of E10 ethanol gas. If E15 (or heaven forbid E85) is available in your area, PLEASE don't use! Next thing you know, you'll be writing a review about this hunk of junk.
Oh, and use a quality synthetic, or at a minimum, synthetic blend 2 cycle oil to mix with your gas.
IF all this sounds too complicated and you just want to open the box and expect it to run perfectly all the time for next 10 years, good luck finding anything on the market, or maybe get an electric trimmer instead. Good luck with the lack of power, ability to swap out attachments, dragging an extension cord around, never long enough to get to places you want to trim, can't go near water, (like trimming around lake/pond edge), well, be my guest. But if you want to put a little effort into the darn thing, you'll have a nice running trimmer for many years. Just check out the negative reviews from the guys who didn't do what I've suggested. Your choice.
Pros: Cuts Well, Durable, Powerful, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head

Good once carb adjusted

PostedJune 17, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When I first purchased this power head it had little power and did not like the throttle wide opened. I would have returned it had I not tossed the box it came in. Sounded like not getting enough fuel. I adjusted the the carb (I'm an auto technician). Now runs great. Factory adjustments should have never passed Ryobi's QC. Ryobi has done well for low level non comercial use tooling. I own many of their products along with Bosch (which is a superior product with a price). Unfortunately I would not recommend this power head right now to users who don’t want to make any adjustments straight out the box (they should not need too).
+32points
33out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head

Don't buy

PostedJune 3, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
One word sums up this trimmer GARBAGE. Needed to replace my old Ryobi so I went to HD and picked a new Ryobi up. It would not stay running, took it back and exchanged it for the same model. Second one ran like a champ after two times using it. On the third time using it, it would not start no matter how many times I tried to pull it. Started my troubleshooting it had good spark and was getting fuel but would not start. I'm taking this one back also and getting a different brand. I purchased my first Ryobi and used it for 8 years guess this is what happens when you outsource to China, good brand names become junk. Won't buy another Ryobi anything again.
+48points
54out of 60found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head

Hard to start

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Previous unit worked well for 2 years, then became impossible to start, so purchased s new one. New unit is hard to start, and will not idle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head

Great product

PostedMarch 15, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We have a Ryobi head that we purchased 10 years ago! Other than the minor wear and tear, it has been good to us. With having to purchase a new one this year I can hopefully it too will last 10 years.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
from Tampa
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It has a 3 Year Warranty

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I've owned two of these. The first one lasted seven years. The piston rod finally snapped so I bought another. I had it two years and it went bad. The repair shop simply sent it back and Ryobi mailed me a new one. It has a three year warranty too. Compared to the Stihl, the price is a bargain and the warranty makes it even more cost effective. Meanwhile, I simply keep using the old attachments with the new power head. Unless all the attachments break and the power head is out of warranty, I won't be switching to the so-called better brand. I'll leave that to the commercial folks who need to earn a living with those power tools.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Light Weight, Easy to Store
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head

Not good out of the box, but great after adjusting

PostedDecember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Out of the box the product worked for a little while and quickly became hard to start and would die if I gave it some gas. I was very frustrated with it - cleaned the carb, replaced the plastic pipes, filter and bulb with a kit, still no luck.
This part is important- I was able to fix it by doing 2 things,
1: I had to adjust the hidden "high speed" ad "idle" screws. You can google this. I actually tapped them with a hacksaw so a normal screw driver could turn them.
2: I found the screws over the metal plate behind the actual motor would become loose which wouldn't allow for proper compression. I put some tacky glue (most prefer loctite) on the screws and tightened them down.
With these 2 adjustments, the motor starts one the first or second pull and NEVER gives up.
I think it's a tragic shame Ryobi released something which requires tuning after it's broken in, but I felt it was necessary for someone to post the method of correcting the problem.
+92points
96out of 100found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
from San Diego
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

4 years and still going strong

PostedMarch 5, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I live in southern California and so I use mine almost every month throughout the year. After 4 years of use it still runs like new. The only things I've had to replace are the air filter and the string spool/head
The spool and bump head do wear down after time. The only con I can think of is that the gas tank is kind of small. I also have the hedge trimmer attachment and it is very handy for bushes and shrubs like Chinese box wood.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Cons: small gas tank
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
from new orleans, LA

Great for a year; then all downhill

PostedApril 3, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this multi-functional weed eater just for the Home. Worked great for about a year. Then started to kill on me during usage. Sent it to a shop; replaced the carburetor during year 2 (even though always used fresh gas every year). Then the next year, same problem – would kill during usage. And give me a hard time to get started again.
Good idea. Just didn't live up to usage.
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head

DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Like most of the reviews indicate - avoid at all costs! Two years of very light use and properly cared for and no longer starts. On last use worked for 15 minutes, shut it off and no longer starts regardless of what one does. This was my second one in 2 years! Never again. Trying to find a 2-cycle that works with the attachments I have for it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
from California Central Coast
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fourth Power Head in 15 Years

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Since I have several attachments, I have continued with the Ryobi knowing that after two or three years I will have to replace the power unit. Eventually the unit becomes hard to start or loses power or won't start.
Years ago I took a power head to a repair shop. The bill was almost as much as a new unit and the repair lasted only a month or two.
The Ryobi is a less expensive solution than buying quality stand alone power tools.
Pros: All In One
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
from Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Headache right out of the box

PostedMarch 16, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Took it home and would only run if on 1/2 choke. Took it back and got a replacement. Due to bad choke lever placement kept choking out the engine when lever rubbed against my hip. Put a hook & spring on to hold the choke open. After 2 months the tension screw that holds the attachments stripped out and had to replace it with a hardened bolt & nut. At about 6 months the throttle cable slipped out of position and engine would only run at 1/2 speed. Had to wire the cable into place with wire ties because the plastic handle would not hold it in place any more. At about 1 year the fuel lines split and had to be replaced. At about 2 yrs. the drive shaft stripped out and would no longer run the attachments. Donated it to the waste disposal people this past week.
Pros: came in a nice box
Cons: Not Durable, poorly designed, cheap materials
+24points
27out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head

Broke after 3 uses

PostedDecember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was very disappointed to find that some type of gear on the handle was completely shattered only after 3 normal uses. I did buy the edger attachment and used it on 2 occasions and it did work fine. Then on the third use I switched back to the normal weed eater head. Upon switching to the run position on the handle, the motor stops running and you can hear the sound of a million pieces swirling around in the handle. I think this product is not made well enough to handle the edger attachment which is much heavier, resulting in the strain of the gears. Lesson learned. Buy separate weed eater and edger tools.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
from Allentown, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Will get a new one soon

PostedAugust 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I've had the Ryobi string trimmer for about ten years. Worked great. The only issue is if you are away for a while then it may need to replace the gas and oil mix. Love this machine
Pros: Cuts Well, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Light Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use, difficult to start
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
from Bucks, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Biggest piece of excerement

PostedJune 23, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had an older Ryobi power head that had a larger engine, which lasted me for ten years, so I couldn't complain. I purchased this as a replacement last season. Hard to start from the get go, but it would eventually start. This season, however, (and I drain all my power equipment of gas at the end of the season) I have used it maybe 5-6 times, although I cut probably 15 times already. the reason I didn't use it is I couldn't get it started. It won't start now because I threw it over the fence and it landed in the street, shattering, due to my frustration with this Junk
Oh, it's underpowered too.
Time to buy a new quality head. Thanks for nothing Ryobi.
+17points
22out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head

3 in 2 years!!!

PostedJanuary 28, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If there was an option for no stars, I would mark that! I bout 2 of these. The first one I had a protection plan and they still gave me a hard time, but they finally replaced it. After that I should've learned. This product is horrible. I smashed the 3 one I bought and I kind of made me feel better. Consider these reviews and do not buy this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
from Chino Valley, AZ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Ryobi Does the Job

PostedOctober 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have use Ryobi gas powered yard products for quite some time. They are reliable, easy to use, and durable. The power head drive a number of attachments that interchange easily and I have used most of them with this power head. It has plenty of power to drive any of the related attachments. It starts easily when starting instructions ore followed. The only minor problem was that the idle needed to be adjusted from the beginning, but this is a simple adjustment to make. Overall I am pleased with this product and it is a good value for the price.
Pros: All In One, Easy to Use, Durable, Powerful, versitile
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
from Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A pain to start ... if you ever get it started

PostedJuly 18, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It's amazing in the year 2012 that no one can create an internal combustion engine that starts easily. I bought a replacement power head this morning at HD, and inside the box was a used one. I went back to the store to exchange it for a new one. Upon getting it home, filling it with gas, it would not start ... there was no spark, nothing. Now I have to head back again for a third one. The problem with this setup is once you have the accessories you need, you are locked into their substandard head design.
Pros: versatile
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable, pain to start
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
from Ansonia, CT, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disposable Trimmer

PostedMarch 25, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'm on my 3rd Ryobi gas trimmer and this one is now giving me fits. All 3 had the same symptoms:
First, starting it becomes a hassle with several pulls and alternating between full and half throttle while the neighbors chuckle.
Then, it only stays running at full throttle.
Finally, it stops running altogether. Naturally, the trash guys won't take it so now I have to spend my lunch hour running to the dump.
You've been warned.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable
+20points
25out of 30found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 21 >>