728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head

Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head

This versatile power head from can work with almost any universal lawn and garden attachment. It has a two-cycle low-emission engine and is UV protected.
Overall rating:
2.283 / 5
2.3
 / 
5
(421 reviews) 420
Open Ratings Snapshot
33%of customersrecommend this product135 of 406reviews
Rating Breakdown 421 reviews
2.3 out of 5
5
(71)
4
(57)
3
(23)
2
(39)
1
(231)
Features 
3.2 out of 5
3.2 out of 5
Quality 
2.1 out of 5
2.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.7 out of 5
2.7 out of 5
Value 
2.4 out of 5
2.4 out of 5
33%of customersrecommend this product135 of 406reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer reviews for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
Review 1 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
from Holbrook, NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not a good value

PostedJanuary 24, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought 2 in 3 1/3 years. If you get 2 seasons out of these consider it a bonus. No parts available very sensitive carb and fuel system. In order to get 2 seasons, you really have to know how to completey winterize if it will sit more that 2 months. Ethanol fuel eats the fuel system alive if not used. Better to step up to the Toro for a few bucks. Toro is more power and will last longer. 2 Ryobi machines cost me $200 to get 3 1/2 seasons. Toro machine was $129 for power head and all Ryobi attachments worked with it. Toro cost $129 for 4 years and still going I'm surprised Home Depot even still offers this product
Cons: Not Durable, poor quality and value
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
from Oxnard Ca.

Great

PostedAugust 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this unit about 3 years ago along with the hedge trimmer, blower, and string trimmer attachments. I use them weekly for my 2 yards and for about a year I used them for my landscaping business also use them occasionally at my friends homestead. They work great can be a little harder to start when it is hot but even with old gas it still starts and runs like a champ. I like this product so much I am looking into buying more Ryobi gas powered tools. I am not sure why so many people are giving bad reviews heck I don't even maintain the power head still has the original spark plug and air filter in it.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head

Good once carb adjusted

PostedJune 17, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When I first purchased this power head it had little power and did not like the throttle wide opened. I would have returned it had I not tossed the box it came in. Sounded like not getting enough fuel. I adjusted the the carb (I'm an auto technician). Now runs great. Factory adjustments should have never passed Ryobi's QC. Ryobi has done well for low level non comercial use tooling. I own many of their products along with Bosch (which is a superior product with a price). Unfortunately I would not recommend this power head right now to users who don’t want to make any adjustments straight out the box (they should not need too).
+34points
35out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head

Don't buy

PostedJune 3, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
One word sums up this trimmer GARBAGE. Needed to replace my old Ryobi so I went to HD and picked a new Ryobi up. It would not stay running, took it back and exchanged it for the same model. Second one ran like a champ after two times using it. On the third time using it, it would not start no matter how many times I tried to pull it. Started my troubleshooting it had good spark and was getting fuel but would not start. I'm taking this one back also and getting a different brand. I purchased my first Ryobi and used it for 8 years guess this is what happens when you outsource to China, good brand names become junk. Won't buy another Ryobi anything again.
+51points
57out of 63found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head

Not good out of the box, but great after adjusting

PostedDecember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Out of the box the product worked for a little while and quickly became hard to start and would die if I gave it some gas. I was very frustrated with it - cleaned the carb, replaced the plastic pipes, filter and bulb with a kit, still no luck.
This part is important- I was able to fix it by doing 2 things,
1: I had to adjust the hidden "high speed" ad "idle" screws. You can google this. I actually tapped them with a hacksaw so a normal screw driver could turn them.
2: I found the screws over the metal plate behind the actual motor would become loose which wouldn't allow for proper compression. I put some tacky glue (most prefer loctite) on the screws and tightened them down.
With these 2 adjustments, the motor starts one the first or second pull and NEVER gives up.
I think it's a tragic shame Ryobi released something which requires tuning after it's broken in, but I felt it was necessary for someone to post the method of correcting the problem.
+94points
98out of 102found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
from Seffner, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

2nd time around

PostedMarch 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I just bought one of these powerheads as an identical replacement to one I have that I am happy with. Having two simply gives me versatility and confidence that it something happens to the older one, I've got a newer one to take its place immediately. For the money, I don't believe you can beat the value. I look at the Echo and Stihl models and just marvel at the multiple price difference.
My experience with these Ryobi powerheads have been great, you just need a bit of knowledge and the willingness to apply that knowledge. If you read through many of the favorable reviews, you'll find the one secret to making these powerheads run great: you NEED to get a "Pacman" tool to be able to make an adjustment to the low and high speed needles.
Ryobi is apparently required to ship these according to EPA regulations, which means they are set to run lean. This also means it will run like do do. The adjustment needles are supposed to be "tamper resistent" to the average residential homeowner. Get a Pacman tool so you can make a small adjustment in both the low and high speed needles in the carb and this baby will run just fine. Just Google and find the UTube videos of how to do this if you never heard of it. Otherwise you can give money to your local small engine repair shop and they'll do it for you. They have this inexpensive tool, believe me.
The other very important thing to follow is the instructions, as strange as that may sound to the average Harry Homeowner. At a minimum, use 89 octane gas (gosh, it'll cost you a whole $0.25 more for a gallon, so don't go cheap) and use a quality gas additive like StarTron to combat the effects of E10 ethanol gas. If E15 (or heaven forbid E85) is available in your area, PLEASE don't use! Next thing you know, you'll be writing a review about this hunk of junk.
Oh, and use a quality synthetic, or at a minimum, synthetic blend 2 cycle oil to mix with your gas.
IF all this sounds too complicated and you just want to open the box and expect it to run perfectly all the time for next 10 years, good luck finding anything on the market, or maybe get an electric trimmer instead. Good luck with the lack of power, ability to swap out attachments, dragging an extension cord around, never long enough to get to places you want to trim, can't go near water, (like trimming around lake/pond edge), well, be my guest. But if you want to put a little effort into the darn thing, you'll have a nice running trimmer for many years. Just check out the negative reviews from the guys who didn't do what I've suggested. Your choice.
Pros: Cuts Well, Durable, Powerful, Light Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
from Ft Lauderdale FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not what it used to be !

PostedMay 8, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased this to replace older Ryobi that was 30cc and lasted 6 years. New model is less powerful, does not perform the same as older model and has difficulty starting after just 4 uses. Returned it to Home Depot and purchased Toro head unit which runs great and fits all Ryobi expand-it attachments.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable, carb issues
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
from Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Headache right out of the box

PostedMarch 16, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Took it home and would only run if on 1/2 choke. Took it back and got a replacement. Due to bad choke lever placement kept choking out the engine when lever rubbed against my hip. Put a hook & spring on to hold the choke open. After 2 months the tension screw that holds the attachments stripped out and had to replace it with a hardened bolt & nut. At about 6 months the throttle cable slipped out of position and engine would only run at 1/2 speed. Had to wire the cable into place with wire ties because the plastic handle would not hold it in place any more. At about 1 year the fuel lines split and had to be replaced. At about 2 yrs. the drive shaft stripped out and would no longer run the attachments. Donated it to the waste disposal people this past week.
Pros: came in a nice box
Cons: Not Durable, poorly designed, cheap materials
+24points
27out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
from Bucks, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Biggest piece of excerement

PostedJune 23, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had an older Ryobi power head that had a larger engine, which lasted me for ten years, so I couldn't complain. I purchased this as a replacement last season. Hard to start from the get go, but it would eventually start. This season, however, (and I drain all my power equipment of gas at the end of the season) I have used it maybe 5-6 times, although I cut probably 15 times already. the reason I didn't use it is I couldn't get it started. It won't start now because I threw it over the fence and it landed in the street, shattering, due to my frustration with this Junk
Oh, it's underpowered too.
Time to buy a new quality head. Thanks for nothing Ryobi.
+17points
22out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
from Tampa
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It has a 3 Year Warranty

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I've owned two of these. The first one lasted seven years. The piston rod finally snapped so I bought another. I had it two years and it went bad. The repair shop simply sent it back and Ryobi mailed me a new one. It has a three year warranty too. Compared to the Stihl, the price is a bargain and the warranty makes it even more cost effective. Meanwhile, I simply keep using the old attachments with the new power head. Unless all the attachments break and the power head is out of warranty, I won't be switching to the so-called better brand. I'll leave that to the commercial folks who need to earn a living with those power tools.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Light Weight, Easy to Store
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
from Allentown, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Will get a new one soon

PostedAugust 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I've had the Ryobi string trimmer for about ten years. Worked great. The only issue is if you are away for a while then it may need to replace the gas and oil mix. Love this machine
Pros: Cuts Well, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Light Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use, difficult to start
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
from new orleans, LA

Great for a year; then all downhill

PostedApril 3, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this multi-functional weed eater just for the Home. Worked great for about a year. Then started to kill on me during usage. Sent it to a shop; replaced the carburetor during year 2 (even though always used fresh gas every year). Then the next year, same problem – would kill during usage. And give me a hard time to get started again.
Good idea. Just didn't live up to usage.
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
from Wheat Ridge, CO
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't waste your money or time

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased in 2010. Beginning 2nd season, became very difficult to to start (usually wouldn't), and would stall out immediately as soon as the throttle was squeezed. At that point it would not start again. Sometimes could get it to run with choke on and do very light trimming. Ryobi always says bad fuel. Nonsense. Have used True Fuel since it came on the market roughly 3 years ago. Spend the extra money for Stihl or Echo light duty commercial. You'll be way ahead in the long run.
Pros: none
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable, unreliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
from Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A pain to start ... if you ever get it started

PostedJuly 18, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It's amazing in the year 2012 that no one can create an internal combustion engine that starts easily. I bought a replacement power head this morning at HD, and inside the box was a used one. I went back to the store to exchange it for a new one. Upon getting it home, filling it with gas, it would not start ... there was no spark, nothing. Now I have to head back again for a third one. The problem with this setup is once you have the accessories you need, you are locked into their substandard head design.
Pros: versatile
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable, pain to start
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
from Euless
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Had this for over 4 years and it still works great

PostedJune 13, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Worked the heck out of it every season. Used it with different attachments for trimming, edging, brush cutting, pruning and leaf blowing. Getting harder to start (maybe 6 jerks at most) but once it gets going, easy to restart. I just made sure I used premium gas and before putting it away for the winter, I make sure all the gas is used up. Never had it serviced or repaired. Didn't think the cost of having it serviced was worth the it. Today it failed me. Just lost power and then quit. Wouldn't start again. Checked everything I could (even consulted the Internet). Couldn't get it to run again until I discovered that the housing for the throttle was cracked and the cable got loose. What.... Cheap plastic? This is why I didn't give it 5 stars. The plastic housing can't be repaired and had to improvise. Got the cable to work again and the trimmer started in 2 pulls. Really good motor maybe just need to improve the quality of the plastic parts. I'll probably buy the same item if ever this one quits for good.
Pros: All In One, Great Engine, Long-Lasting, very affordable
Cons: Not Durable, cheap plastic parts
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
from Ansonia, CT, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disposable Trimmer

PostedMarch 25, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'm on my 3rd Ryobi gas trimmer and this one is now giving me fits. All 3 had the same symptoms:
First, starting it becomes a hassle with several pulls and alternating between full and half throttle while the neighbors chuckle.
Then, it only stays running at full throttle.
Finally, it stops running altogether. Naturally, the trash guys won't take it so now I have to spend my lunch hour running to the dump.
You've been warned.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable
+20points
25out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
from California Central Coast
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fourth Power Head in 15 Years

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Since I have several attachments, I have continued with the Ryobi knowing that after two or three years I will have to replace the power unit. Eventually the unit becomes hard to start or loses power or won't start.
Years ago I took a power head to a repair shop. The bill was almost as much as a new unit and the repair lasted only a month or two.
The Ryobi is a less expensive solution than buying quality stand alone power tools.
Pros: All In One
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
from San Antonio, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DO NOT PURCHASE

PostedJune 24, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Had a Ryobi before ran great with heavy use for years had all the attachements till it died out. Purchased this unit; couldn't get it started EVER. Returned it and exchanges it for another one. Got it started ran it, stop to change attachments and never ran again!
+13points
15out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
from West Palm Beach, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

GOOD FOR 6 MONTHS ONLY, NOT RELIABLE

PostedApril 22, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this thing about 7 months ago, I used every 2 weeks, and one day it won't start, I tried everything and nothing, cheap material, not reliable, TERRIBLE, don't waste your money on this, support takes too long to react, I had a previous Ryobi and that one still works, the new ones are cheap and useless, better spend a little bit more and buy a better one, definitely no this model. this is the last time I buy Ryobi.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
from lexington ky
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Great! if you could actually attach some string to it.

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
this thing works great, starts easy, and has more power than you will need. the problem is the attachments are garbage! A trimmer head won't last through the season. I need to go buy a new trimmer head to use this year. it's the 3rd one and I haven't had it 2 seasons. They are apparently meant to be disposable.Somebody really needs to re-design the attachments. The power head works great if you just want to listen to it run. If you need to cut weeds, get something else!
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable, Too Heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 21 >>