728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head

Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head

The Ryobi Expand-it Universal Power Head features a 2-cycle low-emission engine and is ready to power most any universal lawn and garden attachment. It is also UV protected.
Overall rating:
2.231 / 5
2.2
 / 
5
(389 reviews) 388
Open Ratings Snapshot
32%of customersrecommend this product118 of 374reviews
Rating Breakdown 389 reviews
2.2 out of 5.0
5
(63)
4
(50)
3
(21)
2
(35)
1
(220)
Features 
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2 out of 5
Quality 
2.1 out of 5.0
2.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.6 out of 5.0
2.6 out of 5
Value 
2.3 out of 5.0
2.3 out of 5
32%of customersrecommend this product118 of 374reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
Review 1 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
from Tampa
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It has a 3 Year Warranty

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've owned two of these. The first one lasted seven years. The piston rod finally snapped so I bought another. I had it two years and it went bad. The repair shop simply sent it back and Ryobi mailed me a new one. It has a three year warranty too. Compared to the Stihl, the price is a bargain and the warranty makes it even more cost effective. Meanwhile, I simply keep using the old attachments with the new power head. Unless all the attachments break and the power head is out of warranty, I won't be switching to the so-called better brand. I'll leave that to the commercial folks who need to earn a living with those power tools.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Light Weight, Easy to Store
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head

Frustrating piece of equipment

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product functioned well for the first several times of operation but since then it has required four visits to Home Depot for adjustment of carburetor and still is not running correctly. I have an Echo trimmer that I also use and it has performed great. For the time and money spent running back and forth to Home Depot for adjustments to my Ryobi I would have saved a considerable amount of money and time if I had bought another Echo. In consideration of the ten hours of service that I have gotten out of the Ryobi around my house, I would not recommend the Ryobi gas trimmer with its poor quality engine/carburetor to anyone.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
from new orleans, LA

Great for a year; then all downhill

PostedApril 3, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this multi-functional weed eater just for the Home. Worked great for about a year. Then started to kill on me during usage. Sent it to a shop; replaced the carburetor during year 2 (even though always used fresh gas every year). Then the next year, same problem – would kill during usage. And give me a hard time to get started again.
Good idea. Just didn't live up to usage.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head

Quality Product

PostedSeptember 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased a new power head this year(2014). Have no problems. I own three Ryobi power tools and love them all. The power head I replaced was 13 years old. It helps if you read and follow directions
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head

Good once carb adjusted

PostedJune 17, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When I first purchased this power head it had little power and did not like the throttle wide opened. I would have returned it had I not tossed the box it came in. Sounded like not getting enough fuel. I adjusted the the carb (I'm an auto technician). Now runs great. Factory adjustments should have never passed Ryobi's QC. Ryobi has done well for low level non comercial use tooling. I own many of their products along with Bosch (which is a superior product with a price). Unfortunately I would not recommend this power head right now to users who don’t want to make any adjustments straight out the box (they should not need too).
+28points
29out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head

Don't buy

PostedJune 3, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
One word sums up this trimmer GARBAGE. Needed to replace my old Ryobi so I went to HD and picked a new Ryobi up. It would not stay running, took it back and exchanged it for the same model. Second one ran like a champ after two times using it. On the third time using it, it would not start no matter how many times I tried to pull it. Started my troubleshooting it had good spark and was getting fuel but would not start. I'm taking this one back also and getting a different brand. I purchased my first Ryobi and used it for 8 years guess this is what happens when you outsource to China, good brand names become junk. Won't buy another Ryobi anything again.
+48points
53out of 58found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't waste your money

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Many years ago, I purchased a Ryobi Expand-It that ran strong for over 10 years that required only routine maintenance. It lived its life so, two years ago, I purchased a new model from HD. The quality of the product has greatly diminished. If you purchase this Ryobi like I did, expect to have problems with the carb. Constant adjustments of the High and Low needles are required if not a complete carb replacement. You might think this unit with attachments is a cheaper alternative that buying each unit separately and you're right ... it is cheaper because it is cheaply built. Spend the extra money and buy a separate blower / edger / trimmer ... by a DIFFERENT brand.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head

A throw-away piece

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Listen to the one star reviews. I've made the mistake of buying three of these. About one a year or so. The latest one is about three months old. It was already running rough and I'd had to fix it once already, and then the throttle cable broke. I'm finally done with Ryobi's junk. I'm going to get something else even if it means I have to buy new attachments.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head

LOL

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The only positive feature of the Expand-it line of products is that if you grab your tubing cutter and cut off a bit of the end of the attachment they will work with the Stihl Kombi power head. Worthless, save your money or buy a quality unit. WORTHLESS JUNK. Throwing my ryobi away with lees than 2 hours on it ,never started ,never ran right, waste of your money. This is like the pretend toy stuff you buy for your child to act like his parents...except it don't make the motor noise....you have to do that with your lips.
Pros: vroooom
Cons: don't work
+3points
9out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head

Not good out of the box, but great after adjusting

PostedDecember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Out of the box the product worked for a little while and quickly became hard to start and would die if I gave it some gas. I was very frustrated with it - cleaned the carb, replaced the plastic pipes, filter and bulb with a kit, still no luck.
This part is important- I was able to fix it by doing 2 things,
1: I had to adjust the hidden "high speed" ad "idle" screws. You can google this. I actually tapped them with a hacksaw so a normal screw driver could turn them.
2: I found the screws over the metal plate behind the actual motor would become loose which wouldn't allow for proper compression. I put some tacky glue (most prefer loctite) on the screws and tightened them down.
With these 2 adjustments, the motor starts one the first or second pull and NEVER gives up.
I think it's a tragic shame Ryobi released something which requires tuning after it's broken in, but I felt it was necessary for someone to post the method of correcting the problem.
+89points
93out of 97found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head

Terrible

PostedSeptember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Didn't even last one year. Was never easy to start when it did work.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
from Fort Smith
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Why does Home Depot even carry this junk?

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought one of these new last summer as my older Ryobi power head, which was much better, finally locked up. I have pretty much every attachment they made so I'm kind of married to this system. Don't make the same mistake. This thing has been difficult to start from day one, even when following the directions to the letter. It's now to the point where if it does not start on the first or second pull, it floods. Waiting 20 minutes to retry does not work. You must remove the plug and crank out the gas and try again the next day. Total junk.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
from Illinois
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Three words: Carb adjustment tool.

PostedApril 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This growing season will be my sixth with this head. I use the blower & trimmer weekly, and the edger & trimmer about once a month from April until November. It's still going strong after 6 years, but the secret is that you need to adjust carb. These things are set far too lean from the factory (pollution controls...)
After a couple of years, mine got harder to start and bogged down when trying to rev. Then it started running rough at full-speed. Then I had to run it half-choked. Then it became impossible to start in cool weather. I put up with it for a season, and was about to junk it & buy a new head when I watched a few YouTube videos about carb adjustments. A $10 carb adjustment tool, 15 minutes of tinkering with the idle, low and high speed jet screws, and my Ryobi now starts on the first or second pull, idles normally, and revs smoothly & quickly.
There are better and more expensive power heads on the market, no doubt. But with a little TLC, these Ryobi heads can provide years of service.
Pros: All In One
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Owned 2 and that's enough

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I really liked this product when I first bought it. The problem with it is that it only last a year then dead. I bought a extra warranty and I had it in the shop at least once every year. I didn't matter what I did. This last year after it was fixed I only bought premixed gas in a small can for the weed eater. I have tried everything to keep this weed eater running and not have to send it to the shop. The last time Home Depot just gave me my money back I spent on it. That must tell you something. They didn't even want the weed eater back. I would say look around before you buy. I wouldn't spend my money on it. If you do make sure you get a extended warranty because you will need it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
from Allentown, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Will get a new one soon

PostedAugust 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've had the Ryobi string trimmer for about ten years. Worked great. The only issue is if you are away for a while then it may need to replace the gas and oil mix. Love this machine
Pros: Cuts Well, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Light Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use, difficult to start
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
from Miramar Beach, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't Buy

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
In spite of the negative reviews, I purchased this product based on previous experience with Ryobi products and the fact that my attachments are Ryobi. What a mistake! It started fine right out of the box using 50 -1 purchased from Home Depot (don't mix your own). After a few minutes, I released the trigger expecting it to idle. Instead of idling, it shut down and wouldn't restart. I let it cool and tried again. It started but, again, wouldn't idle or restart. I returned it the day after purchase to Home Depot and got a Toro which had higher ratings (and higher price). Toro working great so far (one day). Consumer Reports suggest using the pre-mixed can of oil and gas rather than using your own ethanol mix which is why I mentioned it. The pre-mixed has a shelf life of two years.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use, won't restart
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
from Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Headache right out of the box

PostedMarch 16, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Took it home and would only run if on 1/2 choke. Took it back and got a replacement. Due to bad choke lever placement kept choking out the engine when lever rubbed against my hip. Put a hook & spring on to hold the choke open. After 2 months the tension screw that holds the attachments stripped out and had to replace it with a hardened bolt & nut. At about 6 months the throttle cable slipped out of position and engine would only run at 1/2 speed. Had to wire the cable into place with wire ties because the plastic handle would not hold it in place any more. At about 1 year the fuel lines split and had to be replaced. At about 2 yrs. the drive shaft stripped out and would no longer run the attachments. Donated it to the waste disposal people this past week.
Pros: came in a nice box
Cons: Not Durable, poorly designed, cheap materials
+24points
27out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
from tallahassee, fl
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Three or four uses max

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Unfortunately I'm cheap (because I have bought Ryobi trimmers) and a slow learner. I have a veritable graveyard of prior years Ryobi power heads that finked out after less than a season. In the most recent one I used only pre-mixed fuel. Didn't get through one an a half bottles before trimmer refused to start. Shop said the exhaust was plugged up with carbon and cleaned it for $30. Got it home and it started, blew smoke and after a minute it barely ran.
Manual says it cold be the spark plug or spark arrestor screen (see authorized dealer). Too much hassle with Ryobis.
This is my last Ryobi.
Cons: Not Durable
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

DO NOT BUY!! HAD TO RETURN AFTER THE FIRST USE!!!

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
During the initial use I was impressed, started well, ran well with plenty of power. I was excited to use it for my second job but when the time came it was hard to start, After pulling numerous times it started but was bogging and had no power. Even died out after applying throttle. After smelling gas I noticed the carburetor was leaking gas. I know it was only a gasket but still this was brand new and should not be leaking. So I returned for full refund and bought the commercial Echo. I also noticed the manufacture date was late 2011 and I purchased it new in February of 2014. Perhaps that's why the gasket dried out and malfunctioned. I spend the extra buck on the ECHO but well worth the investment.
Pros: Powerful, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: leaks gas
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
from Bucks, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Biggest piece of excerement

PostedJune 23, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had an older Ryobi power head that had a larger engine, which lasted me for ten years, so I couldn't complain. I purchased this as a replacement last season. Hard to start from the get go, but it would eventually start. This season, however, (and I drain all my power equipment of gas at the end of the season) I have used it maybe 5-6 times, although I cut probably 15 times already. the reason I didn't use it is I couldn't get it started. It won't start now because I threw it over the fence and it landed in the street, shattering, due to my frustration with this Junk
Oh, it's underpowered too.
Time to buy a new quality head. Thanks for nothing Ryobi.
+17points
22out of 27found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 20 >>