728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head

Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head

The Ryobi Expand-it Universal Power Head features a 2-cycle low-emission engine and is ready to power most any universal lawn and garden attachment. It is also UV protected.
Overall rating:
2.258 / 5
2.3
 / 
5
(407 reviews) 406
Open Ratings Snapshot
32%of customersrecommend this product127 of 392reviews
Rating Breakdown 407 reviews
2.3 out of 5
5
(67)
4
(54)
3
(23)
2
(36)
1
(227)
Features 
3.2 out of 5
3.2 out of 5
Quality 
2.1 out of 5
2.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.6 out of 5
2.6 out of 5
Value 
2.4 out of 5
2.4 out of 5
32%of customersrecommend this product127 of 392reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
Review 1 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
from Holbrook, NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not a good value

PostedJanuary 24, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought 2 in 3 1/3 years. If you get 2 seasons out of these consider it a bonus. No parts available very sensitive carb and fuel system. In order to get 2 seasons, you really have to know how to completey winterize if it will sit more that 2 months. Ethanol fuel eats the fuel system alive if not used. Better to step up to the Toro for a few bucks. Toro is more power and will last longer. 2 Ryobi machines cost me $200 to get 3 1/2 seasons. Toro machine was $129 for power head and all Ryobi attachments worked with it. Toro cost $129 for 4 years and still going I'm surprised Home Depot even still offers this product
Cons: Not Durable, poor quality and value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head

Good once carb adjusted

PostedJune 17, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When I first purchased this power head it had little power and did not like the throttle wide opened. I would have returned it had I not tossed the box it came in. Sounded like not getting enough fuel. I adjusted the the carb (I'm an auto technician). Now runs great. Factory adjustments should have never passed Ryobi's QC. Ryobi has done well for low level non comercial use tooling. I own many of their products along with Bosch (which is a superior product with a price). Unfortunately I would not recommend this power head right now to users who don’t want to make any adjustments straight out the box (they should not need too).
+30points
31out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
from Tampa
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It has a 3 Year Warranty

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I've owned two of these. The first one lasted seven years. The piston rod finally snapped so I bought another. I had it two years and it went bad. The repair shop simply sent it back and Ryobi mailed me a new one. It has a three year warranty too. Compared to the Stihl, the price is a bargain and the warranty makes it even more cost effective. Meanwhile, I simply keep using the old attachments with the new power head. Unless all the attachments break and the power head is out of warranty, I won't be switching to the so-called better brand. I'll leave that to the commercial folks who need to earn a living with those power tools.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Light Weight, Easy to Store
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head

Broke after 3 uses

PostedDecember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was very disappointed to find that some type of gear on the handle was completely shattered only after 3 normal uses. I did buy the edger attachment and used it on 2 occasions and it did work fine. Then on the third use I switched back to the normal weed eater head. Upon switching to the run position on the handle, the motor stops running and you can hear the sound of a million pieces swirling around in the handle. I think this product is not made well enough to handle the edger attachment which is much heavier, resulting in the strain of the gears. Lesson learned. Buy separate weed eater and edger tools.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head

3 in 2 years!!!

PostedJanuary 28, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If there was an option for no stars, I would mark that! I bout 2 of these. The first one I had a protection plan and they still gave me a hard time, but they finally replaced it. After that I should've learned. This product is horrible. I smashed the 3 one I bought and I kind of made me feel better. Consider these reviews and do not buy this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head

Don't buy

PostedJune 3, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
One word sums up this trimmer GARBAGE. Needed to replace my old Ryobi so I went to HD and picked a new Ryobi up. It would not stay running, took it back and exchanged it for the same model. Second one ran like a champ after two times using it. On the third time using it, it would not start no matter how many times I tried to pull it. Started my troubleshooting it had good spark and was getting fuel but would not start. I'm taking this one back also and getting a different brand. I purchased my first Ryobi and used it for 8 years guess this is what happens when you outsource to China, good brand names become junk. Won't buy another Ryobi anything again.
+48points
54out of 60found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head

Not good out of the box, but great after adjusting

PostedDecember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Out of the box the product worked for a little while and quickly became hard to start and would die if I gave it some gas. I was very frustrated with it - cleaned the carb, replaced the plastic pipes, filter and bulb with a kit, still no luck.
This part is important- I was able to fix it by doing 2 things,
1: I had to adjust the hidden "high speed" ad "idle" screws. You can google this. I actually tapped them with a hacksaw so a normal screw driver could turn them.
2: I found the screws over the metal plate behind the actual motor would become loose which wouldn't allow for proper compression. I put some tacky glue (most prefer loctite) on the screws and tightened them down.
With these 2 adjustments, the motor starts one the first or second pull and NEVER gives up.
I think it's a tragic shame Ryobi released something which requires tuning after it's broken in, but I felt it was necessary for someone to post the method of correcting the problem.
+91points
95out of 99found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
from new orleans, LA

Great for a year; then all downhill

PostedApril 3, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this multi-functional weed eater just for the Home. Worked great for about a year. Then started to kill on me during usage. Sent it to a shop; replaced the carburetor during year 2 (even though always used fresh gas every year). Then the next year, same problem – would kill during usage. And give me a hard time to get started again.
Good idea. Just didn't live up to usage.
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
from Chino Valley, AZ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Ryobi Does the Job

PostedOctober 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have use Ryobi gas powered yard products for quite some time. They are reliable, easy to use, and durable. The power head drive a number of attachments that interchange easily and I have used most of them with this power head. It has plenty of power to drive any of the related attachments. It starts easily when starting instructions ore followed. The only minor problem was that the idle needed to be adjusted from the beginning, but this is a simple adjustment to make. Overall I am pleased with this product and it is a good value for the price.
Pros: All In One, Easy to Use, Durable, Powerful, versitile
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

piece of junk

PostedJanuary 2, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this to replace the one I have which is a cheap piece of junk but I have the attachments and need to use them, so I bought another power head.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
from Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Headache right out of the box

PostedMarch 16, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Took it home and would only run if on 1/2 choke. Took it back and got a replacement. Due to bad choke lever placement kept choking out the engine when lever rubbed against my hip. Put a hook & spring on to hold the choke open. After 2 months the tension screw that holds the attachments stripped out and had to replace it with a hardened bolt & nut. At about 6 months the throttle cable slipped out of position and engine would only run at 1/2 speed. Had to wire the cable into place with wire ties because the plastic handle would not hold it in place any more. At about 1 year the fuel lines split and had to be replaced. At about 2 yrs. the drive shaft stripped out and would no longer run the attachments. Donated it to the waste disposal people this past week.
Pros: came in a nice box
Cons: Not Durable, poorly designed, cheap materials
+24points
27out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
from Allentown, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Will get a new one soon

PostedAugust 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I've had the Ryobi string trimmer for about ten years. Worked great. The only issue is if you are away for a while then it may need to replace the gas and oil mix. Love this machine
Pros: Cuts Well, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Light Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use, difficult to start
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
from Bucks, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Biggest piece of excerement

PostedJune 23, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had an older Ryobi power head that had a larger engine, which lasted me for ten years, so I couldn't complain. I purchased this as a replacement last season. Hard to start from the get go, but it would eventually start. This season, however, (and I drain all my power equipment of gas at the end of the season) I have used it maybe 5-6 times, although I cut probably 15 times already. the reason I didn't use it is I couldn't get it started. It won't start now because I threw it over the fence and it landed in the street, shattering, due to my frustration with this Junk
Oh, it's underpowered too.
Time to buy a new quality head. Thanks for nothing Ryobi.
+17points
22out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head

Nice Power Head

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this power head tool as a backup for my 8yr old power head tool I replaced the carburetor on. This new one comes with filter system and fits all my Ryobi attachments allowing me to not have to change so often. Great price!
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head

Better than others say

PostedDecember 6, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Most of the time it fires right up. Been using this series for years. The older ones did seem to last a lot longer. Love the versatility of all the attchments but when this dies I will most likely look else where. Hard to start if hot and runs out of gas. Current motor looses power unexpectedly now.
Pros: All In One
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
from Savannah, GA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Never has let me down

PostedOctober 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My wife purchased the Ryobi Expand it kit for my birthday over three years ago and I still use it to this day. I have the curved trimmer and the edger. Each year I change the oil and spruce it up. Follow the instructions and it starts up each time. Only thing I recommend is to change out the trimmer head and that will save you money in the long run on trimmer string. Worth every penny and less expensive than buying several different products when this can do the same thing for hundreds less.
Don't let all the negative reviews fool you, this is a great system if you follow the directions and use it right.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
from Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A pain to start ... if you ever get it started

PostedJuly 18, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It's amazing in the year 2012 that no one can create an internal combustion engine that starts easily. I bought a replacement power head this morning at HD, and inside the box was a used one. I went back to the store to exchange it for a new one. Upon getting it home, filling it with gas, it would not start ... there was no spark, nothing. Now I have to head back again for a third one. The problem with this setup is once you have the accessories you need, you are locked into their substandard head design.
Pros: versatile
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable, pain to start
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head
from Ansonia, CT, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disposable Trimmer

PostedMarch 25, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'm on my 3rd Ryobi gas trimmer and this one is now giving me fits. All 3 had the same symptoms:
First, starting it becomes a hassle with several pulls and alternating between full and half throttle while the neighbors chuckle.
Then, it only stays running at full throttle.
Finally, it stops running altogether. Naturally, the trash guys won't take it so now I have to spend my lunch hour running to the dump.
You've been warned.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable
+20points
25out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head

LOL

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The only positive feature of the Expand-it line of products is that if you grab your tubing cutter and cut off a bit of the end of the attachment they will work with the Stihl Kombi power head. Worthless, save your money or buy a quality unit. WORTHLESS JUNK. Throwing my ryobi away with lees than 2 hours on it ,never started ,never ran right, waste of your money. This is like the pretend toy stuff you buy for your child to act like his parents...except it don't make the motor noise....you have to do that with your lips.
Pros: vroooom
Cons: don't work
+3points
9out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Expand-It 2-Cycle 26 cc Trimmer Power Head

Quality Product

PostedSeptember 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased a new power head this year(2014). Have no problems. I own three Ryobi power tools and love them all. The power head I replaced was 13 years old. It helps if you read and follow directions
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 21 >>