728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 11,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Remote

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

11,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Remote

Cool and dehumidify a room with the Everstar 11,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Remote in Black. It features a quiet bucket-less evaporation system with an electronic soft-touch control panel with digital readout, a 24-hour timer function, a 3-speed cool/fan with an automatic air swing for optimal air movement and user comfort, as well as a full function temperature sensing remote control and an ionizer function that promotes a healthier home environment. An advanced Bio Filter air filtration system eliminates dust and fungi for cleaner air. This unit is easily portable with 4 castors.
Overall rating:
3.838 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(37 reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product32 of 37reviews
Rating Breakdown 37 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(12)
4
(15)
3
(5)
2
(2)
1
(3)
86%of customersrecommend this product32 of 37reviews
Customer reviews for 11,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Remote
Review 1 for 11,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Remote
from Seattle, WA

Affordable Relief From A Sweltering Summer

PostedAugust 18, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We purchased this air-conditioner during our recent record breaking hot spell here in the Pacific Northwest - and it perfectly cools our large master suite with only a minimal increase in our monthly power bill!
The unit is attractive (although a finger print and dust magnet) and installation was relatively easy. I agree with the other reviewers, the protective film was a protective pain in the tush! We still have bits and pieces trapped beneath seams, handles, etc. There must be a better way to protect the finish during shipping!
All in all a great product - we plan to purchase another unit to cool the family room.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 11,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Remote
from Longview, WA

PostedJuly 18, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After getting a quote for $6,200 for a heatpump, $400 for this portable unit is a lot better, living in the Pacific Northwest we don't have a lot of hot weather, but when we do, you know it! So far this unit has worked as described, I have no complaints. Following the provided instructions will save you a lot of headaches. Removing the plastic film as described in the manual was easy. Finding the hose and collar was also easy. My only complaint is that the window kit is not big enough for our 60"-tall living room window, so I had to do some modifications. After getting it hooked up, it is great. Have it set at 72, and my furnace thermostat reads 73, so +/- 1 degree is not bad. I am cooling my entire first floor (roughly 800 sq ft) with this unit alone and it works fine. Have not noticed complaints that other reviewers have posted.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 11,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Remote
from Seattle

BEST A/C Unit I've had

PostedMay 26, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had 3 A/C units and this is by far the best and most powerful. I was weary because it was less expensive, but it works great, has good options (timer, remove, etc). I don't read directions, so I couldn't find the hose, but it was hidden behind the rear grate.
The only thing that is annoying is the fact it is all wrapped in a protective wrap, which is a pain to take off (and I wasn't able to remove all)... all in all it is a GREAT unit!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 11,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Remote
from Brooklyn, NY

Protective Plastic Annoyance

PostedJuly 25, 2009
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Pros: A very sleek and attractive looking portable AC unit, with design in mind. The cord is a neutral color to hide itself against most neutral colored walls. The air blows cool and powers up quickly keeping the rooms cool and dry. It's also less bulky than most models and looks more like a piece of entertainment equipment than a kitty litter box or vacuum cleaner.
This model also comes with an air Ionizer which can help to trap pollen and allergens, that's pretty nice considering not all portables have that feature. All and all it does the job while looking good.
Cons: Like most AC portable or not, the fan even on low is far from whisper quiet but at the same time it does put out a strong flow of air. While the unit is a sleek black it is a finger print magnet.
Now my biggest issue. There is a ultra thin protective plastic coating encasing the entire cabinet of the unit...literally. Whoever thought this was a good idea needs to go to everyone's home and hand peel the plastic off themselves. It took easily over and hour to peel the plastic coating off as it is literally covering every piece, even in the drilled holes and inside casing. If no peeled off by someone with OCD you'll more than likely have unattractive plastic fray around the handles and anywhere there is an edge. Does it affect the performance? Not likely, though I'd imagine where one couldn't peel off the coating it might melt/bond with the surface near the higher temperature spots. Also, the plastic coating was applied first, then all the helpful warning labels positioned in key locations around the unit. There is no way to peel off the warning stickers from the coating. So, be sure you remember what and where the labels were, for furture reference.
One pet peeve of mine is the remote, it's...biege and not designed as sleek as the unit it controls. If it were black or even a dark grey I'd give it an additional star.
Other: For those who can't seem to get it to cool out of the box, all AC repairmen recommend that you let any AC unit sit for 2 - 24 hours before installing. The cooling chemical inside all AC's when moved around due to handling etc needs to settle to work as intended. This can mean when you plug in your unit, it will fail to cool your space properly. Running it continuously without allowing it to settle won't help air out the kinks either.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 11,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Remote
from Irving, Tx

Worth every penny

PostedJune 13, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I researched and studied these portable units for a month before I decided to purchase one. I bought this for a large master bedroom that never cools in the summer. This unit cools the room in no time. It was easy to install, I don't think it's very loud, certainly not loud enough to keep me from sleeping. I love the swing mode and the timer options. The remote control is pretty sweet too. I didn't have any problem with the plastic coating as other people have. I just made a tear on an edge or a corner and pulled most of it off in big sheets. I can honestly say this was the the best 400 dollars I have spent in a very long time. Turn this unit on you'll say "ahhhhh."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 11,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Remote
from CT

So far, so good!

PostedJuly 30, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this unit a few weeks ago when it was still cool and dry here in CT. Its since gotten very muggy and the unit is doing a good job keeping the humidity down on my first floor.
I agree with the others that it was a pain in the neck to peel off the shipping coating, but otherwise the setup was easy and I'm satisfied with the performance so far.
Sure beats spending more than $10k to put central air in my house!
If you're trying to turn your house into a meat locker, this unit won't work for you, but if you're trying to keep the humidity down and the temperatures in the low 70's, its perfect!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 11,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Remote
from Alabama

Cool and Comfortable

PostedJune 23, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great unit. When we bought our house, we were sadly unaware that the new central air conditioner was actually too small for the house. It works it's butt off trying to cool, but comes up very short. It runs from about 10:30 a.m. til 10:30 p.m. every day. Now comes the new Everstar. It has made a huge difference with keeping our house cool. The dehumidifier portion of the A/C is what has made most of the difference. I would recommend this unit to all who want to stay cool this summer. Watch out for the plastic film on the unit. It will take you some time to remove it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 11,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Remote
from Indianapolis, Indiana

Would not recommend

PostedJune 25, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Don't know about the condensation part of it, I bought this unit to cool my place three days ago. As for the cooling on this machine, I would not recommend it. The coldest air this unit will blow out is 62 degrees. We took the temp right out of the fans on the unit, it blows well (1 star) but could not get it to cool down the room it was placed in. It is placed in a small area. This continuously ran, meaning that my electric bill will go up. So for the money I would not recommend this. It is probably the reason these where the only models they had left when i went to buy one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 11,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Remote
from Wappingers Falls, NY

Seems good so far

PostedJuly 21, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I received this less than a week after I ordered it. It was very easy to unpack and set up. By reading the instructions, you will avoid a lot of the issues that other reviewers did. The only problem I had was trying to remove the connector for the duct hose. A friend was able to fix this for me. Fortunately, we haven't had much HOT weather is NY this season but when, and if, it does come, I look forward to having this AC handle it. I ran it only to make sure it worked and it seemed to do a good job. I can only hope it really does a good job once it's REALLY needed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 11,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Remote
from Southern California

PostedJuly 23, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product cannot even cool down a room that is just under 400 sqft. It is advertised to be able to handle that size. I run this unit on it's coolest setting, 62 degrees, and the coolest my room gets is 82 degrees, even after eight hours of continuos cooling on full blast. To sum it up, it's a piece of junk. The air that it blows out is mildly cool at best. I think I may return it and buy $400 worth of bottled water.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 11,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Remote

A little loud to start, but nice

PostedApril 19, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I originally bought this unit because of a west facing bedroom window which could not be kept cool by my apartment air conditioner. This unit is great. I sleep with a fan at night, and have been able to discard the old fan for this machine. It's a little loud when its first turned on, just to get the temp down and rev up a bit, but once it settles into its long term cooling mode, its a nice little hum to sleep to. The hose attachement was easily installed "without screws!!" to my window, and the adjustable vent hose looks to be a bit cumbersome, but once installed you don't even notice it. I'd recomend this product. I only gave it four stars because it's so large, but really, you can't around that for a portable air conditioner....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 11,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Remote
from Troy, NY

Portable Floor ACs don't remove humidity...

PostedAugust 22, 2009
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ours works fine. It doesn't leak or anything, but when we decided we had to go with the floor type of AC we didn't find any information on these styles not removing the moisture from the air when they run in AC mode.
They do remove the moisture in DRY mode, but you need to attach a hose and place a bucket so you don't ruin your floors.
I'm thinking about purchasing a humidifier to run when we need to remove the humidity. (I live in the North East.)
Other than that this unit is loud. Some of the assembly pieces are hidden in the unit.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 11,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Remote
from Sumner, WA

Good item for moving from room to room

PostedAugust 17, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This air conditioning unit worked well right out of the box. Be sure to follow the instructions during assembly, and pay attention to how you program the timer. The time increments are a bit confusing, but we got it sorted out.
This unit moves well from our living room to the bedroom, and cools both right away. The most difficult part is making sure that the window is sealed and that the exhaust brackets/pieces fit the window correctly, to keep the loss of cool air to a minimum. They are a bit unwieldy and awkward.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 11,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Remote
from St Petersburg, FL

Great A/C, Great Buy

PostedAugust 6, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great air conditioner. Complaints about plastic wrap seem unfounded. Most of the plastic comes off in large sheets if your careful while removing. Window kit was very easy to install. I was up and running in about 45 - 60 minutes. Be aware that the exhaust hose is shipped inside the intake grill. You need to remove three screws to get at it. I almost missed that and thought that I was missing a part. Although the hose itself can be extended to 6 feet, the manufacturer recommends that it be operated at the shortest distance with no bends in the hose. In other words it needs to be placed directly in front of, and close to the window. The A/C easily handles a 400 sq foot room. I am using it to supplement an old central unit which is getting too costly to run here in Florida.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 11,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Remote
from cvg

Awesome unit.

PostedJune 5, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this unit to use in a tent, YEP!!! I said tent. I go camping with friends in WV Memorial Day wknd. It gets incredibly hot and humid.
I looked around and read reviews on different units.
This product worked GREAT!!! Cooled the tent down very quickly. Pretty much had it run all day and nite and never had a problem with the noise. Then again the large quantity of beer I drank probably helped drown out ANY noise. But seriously, it was very quiet.
My friends thought I was crazy for buying and bringing it. Once they realized how well it worked, they changed their minds quick and asked to sleep in my tent.
Overall I am VERY pleased with the product.
If there is one complaint I would have to kind of agree about the protective film. It did take a while, but with some patients it did come off.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 11,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Remote
from Texas

great product!

PostedJune 9, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this unit to cool a 400 square foot upstairs bedroom. It does a wonderful job, quickly cooling down the room. I am thrilled that I do not have to drain the unit as I have had another unit in the past that required frequent messy draining. One tip: I used duct tape (matching light tan color) for a secure connection to the outside vent duct . Plastic covering removal was a pain but everything else about this unit is a joy. Go ahead and buy it. You will love it!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 11,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Remote
from Philadelphia PA

PostedMay 24, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I just purchased this a/c it is my first portable a/c I previously purchased another one but took it back because of the drainage it had to be drained too often. This one you do not need to drain unless it is on dehumidifier so I do not plan to use it. It seems to cool off my living room dining area as well as my window a/c did, My problem was the connection for the hose on back of the a/c I was unable to get it off so I used duck tape and it works great. Also had to duck tape the window vent to keep it from coming off when I closed the window. As for the plastic on the unit it took me no time to remove it. They should definitely improve the venting and hose attachments and the 2nd filter should be easier to get to instead of unscrewing the back each time to get to it. I will see how it works during the hot summer in the Northeast. I give it 4 stars.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 11,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Remote
from Seattle, WA

Works but has design flaws....

PostedJune 7, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this to help keep cool during the real hot days. The unit looks nice and blows cold air. However, there are a couple of things I am not happy with. They put this plastic material all over the unit to help "protect" it during shipping. That is all well and good except its a real pain to try and remove. The other issue is the exhaust hose design. Its really BAD. They give you the most basic exhaust hose design. They don't even put the ends on the hose for you and factory seal them You have to "screw" them on yourself which still leaves the hose ends un-sealed allowing a lot of heat to escape. If the company does it during construction then the ends are usually factory sealed and wouldn't have this heat leak problem. So this unit is not efficient at all. I am most likely going to return the unit and get something else. I wouldn't recommend this unit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 11,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Remote
from bosotn, ma

enough with the protective film

PostedJune 8, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
so i bought the product it got shipped to my house with the side panel damaged. i returned it to home depot and got a new one. the returning process was very easy.
unwrapping the protective film on the AC took a while. i don't understand why they needed to do that much of it. so be patient and you'll get through it.
the AC runs great. cools my attic, about 900 sq feet, fairly quickly and produces low noise.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 11,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Remote
from Las Vegas, NV

Nice Product

PostedMay 14, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this unit yesterday and installed it the same afternoon. I am using it to cool my 1 car garage so I can work on my projects. It took about an hour to unpack and install. I was able to run the exhaust vent out the existing wall vents in my garage so that part of the installation went smoothly. I hope this unit is reliable and will last for years to come...but time will tell.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 >>