728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Watering & Irrigation or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Tuscany 57 gal. Rainwater Harvesting System

Tuscany 57 gal. Rainwater Harvesting System

The Fiskars Tuscany 57-Gallon Rainwater Harvesting System helps collect, store and dispense rainwater from your roof in style. You will capture runoff water to keep thirsty plants around the house happy and healthy. This rainwater harvesting system includes a diverter kit and spigot. When the rain barrel is full, the rainwater continues through the downspout where it will then drain away from the house, preventing it from seeping into the foundation.
Overall rating:
3.944 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(71 reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
81%of customersrecommend this product55 of 68reviews
Rating Breakdown 71 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(32)
4
(22)
3
(6)
2
(3)
1
(8)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
81%of customersrecommend this product55 of 68reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for Tuscany 57 gal. Rainwater Harvesting System
Review 1 for Tuscany 57 gal. Rainwater Harvesting System
from Nashville, TN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fiskars Tuscany Rain Barrel

PostedApril 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We purchased this at our local store this past weekend. It was easy to install. The hardest part being cutting the downspout with a hack saw -- and I built a stand for it to elevate it for use anywhere in our yard and garden. This morning we had a good rain. Not surprisingly the barrel was full when I checked it. And I noticed the diverter worked like a charm. The two main complaints I've read people having with it is that the spigot is too high but unless you put it on a stand you would not be able to put a pail under the spout. Another complaint was the plastic spigot. Unless it was broken when you bought it, it should not be a problem. If you hit it with a cart or something, sure you can break it. Anything is possible, but I'm not worried about it and saved the cost of a brass spigot. Overall, we're very pleased with it and expect many years of good use from it.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, looks good
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Tuscany 57 gal. Rainwater Harvesting System
from Kauai, HI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

leaky valve but otherwise fine

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
easy to install with a level and hacksaw. Amazed at how quickly minimal precipitation could fill the entire barrel.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Cost Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Tuscany 57 gal. Rainwater Harvesting System

You can do better

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought two of these a couple of months ago. Also bought a couple Cascata 65-gal units. The Fiskars has a plastic spigot that snapped off the first time my wife pulled on the hose. The diverter kit is ok, but there's no filtering of the water so you get all kinds of small roof debris in your water. I really can't have that because I'm trying to do drip irrigation and the debris will clog up the drip holes. The spigot is about 1/4 of the way up on the barrel, so you lose a lot of capacity. In contrast, the Cascata fills to the top, has a filter for the incoming water, a metal spigot and a second drain underneath the unit so it can be used to full capacity. Plus it has a planter on top and looks a lot better. Spend a few bucks more and you'll be happier, or just buy a used food-grade 55-gallon barrel and modify yourself.
+34points
34out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Tuscany 57 gal. Rainwater Harvesting System
from Westmont, il
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Added a third one

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had two for the last two years, and just added another. They work great, and, although the price has almost doubled, are still the best choice. Once installed, they are worry free and very efficient.
Pros: Functionality, Stylish, Durable, Strong
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Tuscany 57 gal. Rainwater Harvesting System
from Skokie, IL

Easy to install & works as it should

PostedJuly 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My husband and I were having trouble with water from one rain spout flooding a corner of our yard, and spilling into our neighbors garden. We got this rain barrel yesterday, and were able to install it in about 15 minutes, including cutting a portion of our gutter.
After reading reviews we had purchased a metal faucet to replace the plastic one that it comes with (3/4 inch is perfect); it was very cheap. We installed it with silicon glue in the threads.
As luck would have it we had a huge storm last night (lightening, thunder, tree branches all over the ground), and there was NO standing water in our yard! The rain barrel worked, and there were no leaks. We turned on the faucet just to make sure it was working well, and it was.
Overall, I am very pleased with this product & the minute it turns sunny I'll be watering my vegetables & flowers with rain water!
+29points
29out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Tuscany 57 gal. Rainwater Harvesting System
from Winston-Salem, N.C.

57 Gal. Spice Granite Tuscany Rainwater Harvesting

PostedSeptember 14, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this rain barrel in the spring of 2010 and have just completed my first season of using it. It is well made and easy to set up. This is my first rain barrel and I have been so pleased with it that I plan to purchase a second one to set up alongside it. One of the nicest things about this barrel is that even though it sits in the hot sun all day long on the south side of my house, the water does not get hot. It has saved me money on my water bill this summer and the water is better for the plants because there is no chlorine in it. I highly recommend this rain barrel.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Tuscany 57 gal. Rainwater Harvesting System
from Cedar Hill Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

very satisfied

PostedMay 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought my rain barrel 3 years ago and was very happy with it. My part of the world is in a dry spell right now. Bought the second barrel the next year. This spring I bought the third one. You could say I am satisfied with the system. I wish Mother Nature would space out the rain fall. This is an excellent rain harvesting system.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Sharp
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Tuscany 57 gal. Rainwater Harvesting System
from Greenback, TN

Easy to set up and modify

PostedJune 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have four of these and love them. They are easy to set up, though I do recommend going ahead and getting a brass spigot to replace the one provided. I also modified mine in order to collect all gutter runoff and not just what is diverted. I found them to be easy to work with during modification. The spigot is set high in order to accomodate larger watering cans, which I appreciate. They also work well with soaker hoses. Emptying them is a snap, just tip a bit and they will lay right down allowing you to spray out the debris in the bottom.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Tuscany 57 gal. Rainwater Harvesting System
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64

Great Product

PostedMarch 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had my barrel for about a year. Easy to install. Works great. Before buying I read reviews about the spigot breaking. I can tell you the spigot works great. Those that broke it probably abused it. It should break off before ripping the threads off the rain barrel hole. Mine is still working perfectly. I purchased 2 24" concrete blocks (at the other wholesale store) and mounted the barrel on top of that to make it 4" higher. It takes about 1/4" of rain to fill the barrel - I suppose that will vary with roof size. Excellent value and product. Don't let the other reviews scare you away from this one.
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Tuscany 57 gal. Rainwater Harvesting System

Overall good product; will likely need to replace spigot

PostedAugust 6, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good product, but spigot broke. I know others say we must have abused it; but I am no Hercules and it broke on its first use. We bought two, and both broke. We replaced with a regular spigot
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
Cons: will have to replace spigot
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Tuscany 57 gal. Rainwater Harvesting System
from Atlanta, GA

57 Gal. Tuscany Rainwater Barrel

PostedSeptember 23, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this barrel because of $10 off coupon, and because it looked better than cheaper model. It actually matches color of earth/clay, and looks like it is made of ceramics. The installation was easy with the proper tools. You will need 1" drill bit, a drill, and a power saw to cut through the downspout. The spigot is a little flimsy, but it looks like it's easy to replace with something more robust. The barrel fits in the back seat of a car, so you don't need a truck to bring it home.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Tuscany 57 gal. Rainwater Harvesting System

Great Rain Barrel

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ordered during end of season sale on-line with free shiipping; the barrel was delivered quickly and came with diverter inside. The color is similar to the vinyl on my house so the barrel is barely noticeable and it's sturdy. Installed in about 15 minutes (cut the drain pipe and installed the basic diverter kit). Basic diverter works fine - just a couple of rain storms and the barrel was full so I'm using it to water my garden plants. I like it so much I'm probably going to order another if they offer a similar deal; most other stores were much more expensive for nice looking rain barrels. Happy with my purchase.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Tuscany 57 gal. Rainwater Harvesting System
from Alabama, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedApril 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Been using this product for a month now and it is working great. The water diversion system has done well, actually filled up with the first mild rain. All aspects are holding up well, only complaint is that when placed on the ground, there is not enough pressure to run the water through a hose, but the spigot is elevated to allow a watering can to fit beneath.
Pros: Great Quality
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Tuscany 57 gal. Rainwater Harvesting System
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Spigot broke

PostedJuly 6, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
As others have written, the spigot broke. Submitted online claim to Fiskars today. Will report back later with results. As of now, I cannot recommend this product due to the poor quality of the workmanship.
Cons: Not Durable, poor quality workmanship
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Tuscany 57 gal. Rainwater Harvesting System

Plastic Spigot Broke

PostedAugust 4, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this rain barrel from a Home Depot in Troy, MI in late May, 2010. I used it daily and was happy with the barrel at first. It would fill up quickly- I always had water for my garden.
After two months of use the plastic spigot broke off. I went to use it one day and realized the base of the plastic spigot had cracked. In about two more days of use the spigot broke off completely. The spigot did begin to crack right after a heavy rainfall, so there was a great deal of pressure on it when I would take water from the barrel, but this is no excuse for it to break.
Thankfully, Home Depot did give me a full refund for the item, but it was a pain to disassemble, wash out (it had become very smelly after two months of use), and lug back to the store. Now I am looking for a barrel with a studier metal spigot.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Tuscany 57 gal. Rainwater Harvesting System

great rain barrel

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Super easy to install. It took maybe 15 minutes. I put it in on a Friday night, we had a little rain overnight, by 9:30 the next day when I checked it it was totally full. Looks like I need to buy some more.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Tuscany 57 gal. Rainwater Harvesting System

Very Happy

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
We recently purchased this rain barrel and we are very happy with the quality of the product. It was very easy to install and is one of the better looking options on the market. We would highly recommend it to anyone that wants to save a little money on their water bill! The only negative thing I could say is that the spigot doesn't seem like it is very durable. No problems so far, but we are thinking of replacing that at some point in the future.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Stylish, Great Quality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Tuscany 57 gal. Rainwater Harvesting System

Tuscany Rainwater system

PostedSeptember 16, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Tuscany Rainwater system is a very good looking product. Color is "earthy" and goes well with our mountain desert surround. I was unable to use the diverter kit as our gutter is a custom size and too large for the diverters. I managed a custom input hole in the lid and made an overflow drain where the diverter was to have been installed. System is working well as our first rain overfilled the barrel and provided a good test.
Check the condition of your barrel upon arrival. Our first barrel arrived smashed flat by ups although the box looked intact. I refused that shippment and Home Depot sent another that arrived in just a few days.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Tuscany 57 gal. Rainwater Harvesting System
from Williams, AZ 86046, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product has great freatures for our use

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
the product works extremely well. a little pricy but works well for water saving
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Stylish
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Tuscany 57 gal. Rainwater Harvesting System

love but no love for the spigot

PostedJanuary 19, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I love how easy to install and great it harvests rain. But my spigot went from leaky to gone. It broke off after about 6 months :(
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>