728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Window Fans or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 9 in. Twin Window Fan

9 in. Twin Window Fan

The Pelonis 9 in. Twin Window Fan features dual motors and 3 speed settings to help meet your cooling needs. The built-in thermostat automatically turns the fans on and off at a pre-selected temperature, while the reversible control draws air in or blows air out for maximum comfort. The side panels are extendable to fit in double-hung and slider windows of different sizes and the fan housing is made of plastic for durability.
Overall rating:
4.147 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(184 reviews) 183
Open Ratings Snapshot
84%of customersrecommend this product146 of 173reviews
Rating Breakdown 184 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(101)
4
(44)
3
(18)
2
(7)
1
(14)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
84%of customersrecommend this product146 of 173reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer reviews for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
Review 1 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
lynwood
from Lynwood, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product really works

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
One of my daughters asked me to buy a fan for her and for no reason,I bought this one (the first I bought) and gave it to her,few days later,we were talking about how hot it was and she told me that her apartment was very cool because of the fan,she said I should buy one,instead i bought 3 more,one for me and my wife,one for my other daughter;s place and one for my son's bedroom,I'm really happy with this fans performance,it removes heat during the day,and at night,we reverse it and it brings coolness to inside our bedroom and it looks nice too!!!!!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
aretiredcat
from Florida, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great all locations

PostedApril 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We added a family room onto our mobile home and needed to move air from the main house to the new room; solution was these window fans in the existing main house windows. They were easy to install, quiet to operate and the price was right. The versatile operation (in, out or both) is the perfect solution for our air movement. We even added one to the work shop window.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, low noise
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
Sylvester

it's been workin' for 5 years

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This thing has been running for 5 years so far. Still looks & works like new. I have it in my garage, which I turned into a poker room and my buddies all smoke cigars & cigarettes. You can see the smoke just pour out the window. Both fans are sucking out of course. You can actually feel the draft coming from the gaps in the garage doors, so it has good suction and draft. Overall, this little piece of plastic cranks!!! I had to modify above with a perfectly cut piece of cardboard in the area that the fan doesn't cover, which helps a lot too. When it rains, I take it out of the window.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
Anonymous2b
from Wisconsin Rapids, WI
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Suits my needs perfectly

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I live in a one-bedroom apartment that has all the windows facing north, so there is no natural cross-ventilation. I needed something that would draw in fresh air from outside, and this item is perfect for my needs. I set the fan in a living room window. During the day, I draw air into the living room; at night, I reverse the fans, and it gently draws cool night air into my bedroom; what noise there is from the fans stays in the living room. The choice of three speeds and two reversible fans gives lots of options for the amount of air movement desired. I don't really have much need for the thermostat, but it may yet come in handy at some point.
The apartment does have an in-the-wall air conditioner, which I will use when it gets really hot. So far in late May and early June 2013 since I bought this fan, I have not needed the A/C. The fan has met my needs, functioned well, uses less energy than the A/C and is a lot quieter.
Since I've only had the fan for a short time, I can't evaluate things like durability yet. Time will tell.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, very practical, Quiet
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
ernsand
from Gardena, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

9 Inch Twin Window Fan

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased the 9 Inch Twin Window Fan to help vent out cooking odors out of my kitchen. I have one of those microwaves that vent the odors through a filter then back into my kitchen.
It takes me less than 30 seconds to set up.
The fan helps out a lot. I do leave it on when I cook and then about 15 minutes to 30 mintues after cooking.
It does have extensions on the end to help the fan fit your window. One is fixed the other adjusts.
It's made of plastic so I can see it breaking if not careful.
The fan is quiet. Has 3 levels, low, medium and high. Has an in and out switch. Also a thermostat.
I've only used the fan to vent out air not blow air in.
I purchased the fan duing the winter (off season). I had to try 3 different Home Depots before I could get one. I used the internet Home Depot because once you order it lets you know in about 5 minutes if it's in stock ot not in stock. Home Depot even calls you.
They show how many they have in stock at the Home Depot you choose but the counts not very accurate. The first Home Depot I tried showed 3 in stock but it came back nothing. The second Home Depot I tried showed about 10 but it came back nothing in stock. The thrid Home Depot showed around 8 left and they had it.
The first 2 Home Depots that called me I did let them know what the internet count showed me.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
BaltBullet1

No Longer 1400cfm

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
There is no way this fan even comes close to 1400cfm. I bought mine in the store and it's not the same fan. It's width will now fit 24" windows instead of 25.4". It does a good job but no longer 1400cfm which is laughable after plugging this store bought fan in and feeling the air flow with my hands.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
TopCat
from Seattle, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product has great features. Better than ones twice the price

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used the same Pelonis unit for two seasons; the 3rd season I found one of the fans no longer worked. I bought another brand for twice the price with digital read out and temp settings. I returned it to the store after a couple days and found another Pelonis 9" at Home Depot.
The Pelonis knobs are large and easy to locate at night. The fans work independently. One can exhaust hot air out while the other blows cool air in or you can run only one fan. The fan speed controls allow you to adjust the fans separately or there is a knob for both at once. I bought two units and put one away for the future. Great options and price! Two years running almost constantly through the summer.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Good Shape, Great Value, Lots of Features, High Quality, Reliable, Light Weight, large knobs, no light
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
Fred
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Value, Delivered Quickly

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Was glad to find this fan available again this year at almost the same price as last year. Not a super powerful fan, but does the job for small rooms, and at a reasonable price. It's hard to believe how expensive this type of fan can be, and how some manufacturers try to "church it up" by calling a fan "manually reversible" when what they mean is "you can turn it around in the window". This one is actually reversible, three ways. Great value.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
HappyInCali
from California, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works great for me!

PostedJune 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was living in an apartment in Los Angeles that did not have air conditioning. When it gets hot, the apartment got very hot and when it cooled down at night, the apartment stayed hot. It was torture trying to sleep some nights. Just opening the windows was not working. I bought this fan to help bring the cool evening air into my bedroom. All I can say it worked like a charm in cooling the bedroom and making it much more comfortable. When the fans are running they are relatively quiet and it was much quieter than another brand that I tried. I highly recommend this fan if you are trying to cool a small room. Great value and IMO great performance. I wish I bought this sooner!!!!
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, cooling small rooms
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
maxmax

Quiet, Quiet, and cools.

PostedApril 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased a Homes fan at a K-Mart, took it back within the week, noise, small fan size( 7 inch fans) , poor quality in way it was made, etc,,.
I went to Home Depot & bought this fan --- it's great, it is very quiet, it cools, it looks great in window (no advertising label on it) 9 inch fans are great, this is the key for its cooling, also has one fan blow in as other blows out.
About only complaint is, I wish right side fan would blow in, & left side out because I have desk area to right side, (I don't have space for my desk on left side, etc,,) but, of course those people to left side of room would love it.
I would recommend this fan over want I had.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
JatLA
from Los Angeles, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Quite and effective

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I use AC at daytime (90 hot), I use 3 window fans after outside temperature get cooler than inside of house (at night).
This fan is very quite, I can sleep it running in my bedroom with no problem.
It has in-out switch so I put my bathroom fan set as Air-out and bedroom fan Air-in with doors open.
cold air from bedroom window go through rooms and out from bathroom window.
Last year, I wanted to put another one on other room but my local home depot was out of this item.
I bought other manufacture's window fan from other shop (main reason was cheaper than this unit)
I was so regret that I did so.
Other fan from other shop was so loud and I can hear noise from across hallway.
Next month I went back to Home depot got my 3rd fan.
Now, my whole house is circulated with outside cold air at night with no noise.
One thing I don't understand is most of window fans and ACs are designed for Up-Down window.
I live in California and I don't see up-down window too often unless old house/apartment.
all my windows are side slide windows.
This fan also designed for up-down window. I have little gap on top of opening when I put this on my side-slide window.
Pros: Lots of Features, quite !
Cons: designed for up-down windows
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
JayBee55
from Long Beach, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Dual Fan-tastic!

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Was recommended to buy this months ago to address cat litter-box odors. Not available at that time, but a brief Internet search a couple of weeks ago led me to an available product at Home Depot. I was able to pick it up at my local store (they were already in the on-site warehouse but not yet placed on the sales floor), so it could not have been more convenient. It works great now, so I hope it still does well during those hot-weather days.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
alioke

Very quiet fan!

PostedJuly 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We were looking for a quiet window fan for night use. This one is excellent because it does not sound like an airplane taking off. We also love that both fans work independently.
For the price this fan is a great value.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Seals Well, Great Value, Economical
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
ChopinWood

Best window fans!

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have two already, one of which is maybe 5 years old, the other is 2 years old. Just bought 2 more this year (2013).
Are they cheaply made? Sure - but check the price.
Do they work? You bet!
Simple to use, with a speed control for each motor, direction control (both in, both out or one each way) and a thermostat so it will turn off at night when it gets cool enough.
I've paid 3-4 times this for a different "best rated" fan (not sold here) with digital read out, digital speed control, etc. but it is louder and is not as user friendly to operate as you have to cycle through the menu pushing up/down buttons.
Simple to use, affordable, and works great.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, works great
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
Paul
from Portland
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice features but poorly designed

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
They are not designed to fit Milgard windows so they do not allow the window to close and create a tight seal. These are also thicker than other window fans and push the screens out due to the thickness. Purchased 2 of these and returned them both and ended up eating the shipping costs.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use
Cons: Difficult to Install, too thick and pushes out screen, does not created a tight seal with milgard windo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
Tuan
from Plano, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good and reasonable price

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
excellent product, easy to install without instruction.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
Mikey
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

It's a small window fan

PostedJuly 31, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought 2 of these fans to cool my 650 sq ft apartment (5200ft^3). My windows are only open 17" high, so any other fan type won't work. I chose the Pelonis (re-branded as HDX apparently) fan because it claimed to move a ridiculous amount of air. The specs claim 1400cfm...which would replace the air in my apartment every 1.9 minutes.
Long story short, they don't make fans like they used to. While these 9" fans do move more air than most competitors twin window fans, I highly doubt they move 1400cfm per fan assembly.
I've looked into what larger, more aggressive 10" fan blades are capable of moving, and most are ~600cfm @ 1500 RPM. Remember, these are bigger, thicker, blades with a more aggressive blade angle than the 9" blades on this fan.
I whipped out both my stroboscope and photo tachometer and measured the H, M, L RPM of this fan (in open air) at approx 1250, 900, 650 RPM, respectively. Probably way too slow to achieve 1400cfm with dual 9" blades at 1250 RPM considering the average 2 x 10" blade would only do ~1200cfm at 1500+ RPM.
I personally believe that the specs are misleading and inaccurate...I'd guess that the entire unit might move 700-900 CFM at most.
I was a little let down when I powered these fans on (after I spent nearly an hour in the store trying to located the box with "Pelonis" on it...which didn't exist.
Like I said, they probably move more air than your average twin window fan, but I would have happier with higher RPMs (and added noise, power consumption) to move more air. The fans are very quite, and I measured 60W at the outlet while the fans were exhausting my apartment and have a solid intake flow.
They did work pretty well in a single room with an intake/exhaust setup, but not as great as I hoped based on the claimed specs.
Also, I had to trim one of the top fins off as they weren't wide enough to straddle my window.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great
Cons: i don't believe the 1400cfm spec
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
buddy
from new hampshire
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

its a great fan

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
my aunt had an extra one of these so she gave it to me. it works great i like that you can put it on in,out,and exchange it blows in nice cool air I love it! we put in my mom and dads window trust me it's an awesome fan!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
beancounter57
from Lacey, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Window Fan!

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love this fan, easy to put up in older home window frames, lightweight, easy to move from room to room if needed. Can make it change from outflow to inflow or combination of the two. When it's hot, I use the outflow to push the hot air out and when the temps start dropping in the early evening I change it to inflow to bring in the cooler air. It really does a great job in cooling down my room in the evenings. I leave it going most of the night too and by morning things are so cool & comfortable. (3 speeds too, so you can back it down to "1" for a nice, not too loud "white" noise at night). Also, very reasonable price!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, Economical
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
TandM

NOT A PELONIS PRODUCT - HDX !

PostedAugust 8, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These fans are not Pelonis fans, they are HDX fans (a Home Depot Company). I don't know how much of a difference this makes, except, I think the price is too high for a generic no name fan. And, of course, it is false advertising when something different is received then what is advertised, ordered, and purchased.
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 10 >>