728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Window Fans or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 9 in. Twin Window Fan

9 in. Twin Window Fan

The Pelonis 9 in. Twin Window Fan features dual motors and 3 speed settings to help meet your cooling needs. The built-in thermostat automatically turns the fans on and off at a pre-selected temperature, while the reversible control draws air in or blows air out for maximum comfort. The side panels are extendable to fit in double-hung and slider windows of different sizes and the fan housing is made of plastic for durability.
Overall rating:
4.212 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(236 reviews) 235
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product191 of 223reviews
Rating Breakdown 236 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(135)
4
(57)
3
(19)
2
(9)
1
(16)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product191 of 223reviews
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 41 Answers
Customer reviews for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
Review 1 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
from West Hollywood, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

EXACTLY what I was looking for.

PostedJune 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Incredible value - I wish I'd bought these fans years ago! They are extremely quiet and efficient. Without moving the unit, you can set the fans to blow in or out, or turn one of them off, or set up exchange (one in and one out); there is also a thermostat so the fans shut off on their own. I put one in my office and one in my kitchen (the kitchen window is just a smidgen too small, so the fan is at a very slight angle, but it's in there securely and works just fine).
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan

it's been workin' for 5 years

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This thing has been running for 5 years so far. Still looks & works like new. I have it in my garage, which I turned into a poker room and my buddies all smoke cigars & cigarettes. You can see the smoke just pour out the window. Both fans are sucking out of course. You can actually feel the draft coming from the gaps in the garage doors, so it has good suction and draft. Overall, this little piece of plastic cranks!!! I had to modify above with a perfectly cut piece of cardboard in the area that the fan doesn't cover, which helps a lot too. When it rains, I take it out of the window.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
from Florida, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great all locations

PostedApril 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We added a family room onto our mobile home and needed to move air from the main house to the new room; solution was these window fans in the existing main house windows. They were easy to install, quiet to operate and the price was right. The versatile operation (in, out or both) is the perfect solution for our air movement. We even added one to the work shop window.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, low noise
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
from Lynwood, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product really works

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
One of my daughters asked me to buy a fan for her and for no reason,I bought this one (the first I bought) and gave it to her,few days later,we were talking about how hot it was and she told me that her apartment was very cool because of the fan,she said I should buy one,instead i bought 3 more,one for me and my wife,one for my other daughter;s place and one for my son's bedroom,I'm really happy with this fans performance,it removes heat during the day,and at night,we reverse it and it brings coolness to inside our bedroom and it looks nice too!!!!!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
from Pomona, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cool Fans of Home Depot

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This fan is very versatile. It can suck air out as well as pull air in. My son's room has never been cooler and neither has he. He and his friends can hang out in comfort now. Thanks so much Home Depot for this "cool" product.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
from Wisconsin Rapids, WI
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Suits my needs perfectly

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I live in a one-bedroom apartment that has all the windows facing north, so there is no natural cross-ventilation. I needed something that would draw in fresh air from outside, and this item is perfect for my needs. I set the fan in a living room window. During the day, I draw air into the living room; at night, I reverse the fans, and it gently draws cool night air into my bedroom; what noise there is from the fans stays in the living room. The choice of three speeds and two reversible fans gives lots of options for the amount of air movement desired. I don't really have much need for the thermostat, but it may yet come in handy at some point.
The apartment does have an in-the-wall air conditioner, which I will use when it gets really hot. So far in late May and early June 2013 since I bought this fan, I have not needed the A/C. The fan has met my needs, functioned well, uses less energy than the A/C and is a lot quieter.
Since I've only had the fan for a short time, I can't evaluate things like durability yet. Time will tell.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, very practical, Quiet
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
from Gardena, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

9 Inch Twin Window Fan

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased the 9 Inch Twin Window Fan to help vent out cooking odors out of my kitchen. I have one of those microwaves that vent the odors through a filter then back into my kitchen.
It takes me less than 30 seconds to set up.
The fan helps out a lot. I do leave it on when I cook and then about 15 minutes to 30 mintues after cooking.
It does have extensions on the end to help the fan fit your window. One is fixed the other adjusts.
It's made of plastic so I can see it breaking if not careful.
The fan is quiet. Has 3 levels, low, medium and high. Has an in and out switch. Also a thermostat.
I've only used the fan to vent out air not blow air in.
I purchased the fan duing the winter (off season). I had to try 3 different Home Depots before I could get one. I used the internet Home Depot because once you order it lets you know in about 5 minutes if it's in stock ot not in stock. Home Depot even calls you.
They show how many they have in stock at the Home Depot you choose but the counts not very accurate. The first Home Depot I tried showed 3 in stock but it came back nothing. The second Home Depot I tried showed about 10 but it came back nothing in stock. The thrid Home Depot showed around 8 left and they had it.
The first 2 Home Depots that called me I did let them know what the internet count showed me.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
from Spokane, WA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great little fans!!

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought these fans after reading reviews about how well they work, especially at drawing hot air out of a room. We use them in our upstairs windows and run them 24/7. During the day we keep it on exhaust to keep pulling any warm air out and then switch to fan during the night to pull in the cool night air. It has transformed our upstairs!! It used to be like an oven, often causing us to sleep downstairs on couches. Now we stay comfortable in our own rooms - yay!! These fans work so well - so happy I bought them! And BONUS - they are very quiet!! Best money you'll ever spend!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
from San Jose, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Fan for Moving Air

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is one of 3 I have in my home which does not have A/C. We use them to circulate air throughout the house. I bought a new one because we used the reverse air out feature during a remodel and it got filled with dust so I wanted a fresh one for home use. They move air great and fit into window perfectly.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
from Huntington Beach, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Durable, works after years of use!

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Have purchased 6 of theses. Original one bought in 2009 & still runs perfectly! (Usage: 8-12 hrs/day in hot months)
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Difficult to Clean
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
from Riverside RI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

window fan

PostedAugust 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works great and I had it in less than a week of ordering it.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan

Surprisingly quiet

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Honestly it looks like a toy fan but after you get past that, it's a quiet, effective fan and at fraction of the cost of a lot of the others. Variable controls and in/out settings are very easy to move for the elderly.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
from central Maine
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great fan really like the exhaust feature

PostedAugust 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
bought this fan to exhaust hot air during the day and draw in cool air at night withut turning fan around. Works Great
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
from Carnation Wa
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Nice window fan

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I would give this fan a five star if the panel was longer. We have sliders that are taller than the fan plus its adjustable panel. I had to tape a piece of cardboard into the open space which wasn't a big deal but it isn't all that attractive.
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
from Seattle, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product has great features. Better than ones twice the price

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used the same Pelonis unit for two seasons; the 3rd season I found one of the fans no longer worked. I bought another brand for twice the price with digital read out and temp settings. I returned it to the store after a couple days and found another Pelonis 9" at Home Depot.
The Pelonis knobs are large and easy to locate at night. The fans work independently. One can exhaust hot air out while the other blows cool air in or you can run only one fan. The fan speed controls allow you to adjust the fans separately or there is a knob for both at once. I bought two units and put one away for the future. Great options and price! Two years running almost constantly through the summer.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Good Shape, Great Value, Lots of Features, High Quality, Reliable, Light Weight, large knobs, no light
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
from Anaheim, CA
Gender:Male

replaced after 9 years with same model

PostedMay 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My mother gave me the fan 9.5 years ago that I just replaced today (5/4/14) as both fans in the unit went out as it was on it's last leg. Last summer I was unable to find these in stock in southern California. So I went to Wal-Mart and got the similar looking model. Which I returned within an hour because it did not blow any air and was loud. Today I happen to look and see that they had them in stock, so I got two units. They are just as strong and quiet as my 9 year old unit was before it died.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, Quiet, works as designed
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan

Wrong pick

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I grabbed one from the last 2 remaining thinking it's a hot seller. Wow big mistake. All i checked was for the window size and fan size. First off the product itself wouldn't work plugged all sockets everywhere. Another thing is the top part is curved and once you close the window you have big openings on the top sides. This is not your average small gap, you'd need the size of like 5 sponges to fill. I really wanted to try it out but again i have to drive back to the depot. If it worked the cool features have in/out blowing and control the strength of spinning.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan

Measure your window frame before you purchase.

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Had to return the fan I purchased because the top portion of the fan where the window should rest is too narrow, not allowing the window to close properly. I had the same fan, under the name of Pelonis, a year or so ago and it did not last a full 9 months. I sincerely do not understand why manufacturers do not take bottom window frame width into consideration when designing window fans.
The Lasko fans last for years and their design is window friendly, fitting any type of window. The Laskos also extend by a couple more inches and have expandable stretchers on both sides as opposed to one stationary.
Cons: design does not fit all windows
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
from California, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works great for me!

PostedJune 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was living in an apartment in Los Angeles that did not have air conditioning. When it gets hot, the apartment got very hot and when it cooled down at night, the apartment stayed hot. It was torture trying to sleep some nights. Just opening the windows was not working. I bought this fan to help bring the cool evening air into my bedroom. All I can say it worked like a charm in cooling the bedroom and making it much more comfortable. When the fans are running they are relatively quiet and it was much quieter than another brand that I tried. I highly recommend this fan if you are trying to cool a small room. Great value and IMO great performance. I wish I bought this sooner!!!!
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, cooling small rooms
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
from Rockmart, Ga
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good fan, great purchase.

PostedAugust 31, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to install, perfect for night or day, to draw air in or to blow it out. Great for kitchen windows or bathrooms without exhaust fan.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: top of fan groove is too narrrow.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 12 >>