728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Window Fans or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 9 in. Twin Window Fan

9 in. Twin Window Fan

The Pelonis 9 in. Twin Window Fan features dual motors and 3 speed settings to help meet your cooling needs. The built-in thermostat automatically turns the fans on and off at a pre-selected temperature, while the reversible control draws air in or blows air out for maximum comfort. The side panels are extendable to fit in double-hung and slider windows of different sizes and the fan housing is made of plastic for durability.
Overall rating:
4.215 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(288 reviews) 287
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product235 of 273reviews
Rating Breakdown 288 reviews
4.2 out of 5
5
(162)
4
(74)
3
(22)
2
(12)
1
(18)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product235 of 273reviews
Customer questions and answers:
20 Questions | 58 Answers
Customer reviews for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
Review 1 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan

it's been workin' for 5 years

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This thing has been running for 5 years so far. Still looks & works like new. I have it in my garage, which I turned into a poker room and my buddies all smoke cigars & cigarettes. You can see the smoke just pour out the window. Both fans are sucking out of course. You can actually feel the draft coming from the gaps in the garage doors, so it has good suction and draft. Overall, this little piece of plastic cranks!!! I had to modify above with a perfectly cut piece of cardboard in the area that the fan doesn't cover, which helps a lot too. When it rains, I take it out of the window.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
from West Hollywood, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

EXACTLY what I was looking for.

PostedJune 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Incredible value - I wish I'd bought these fans years ago! They are extremely quiet and efficient. Without moving the unit, you can set the fans to blow in or out, or turn one of them off, or set up exchange (one in and one out); there is also a thermostat so the fans shut off on their own. I put one in my office and one in my kitchen (the kitchen window is just a smidgen too small, so the fan is at a very slight angle, but it's in there securely and works just fine).
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
from Lynwood, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product really works

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
One of my daughters asked me to buy a fan for her and for no reason,I bought this one (the first I bought) and gave it to her,few days later,we were talking about how hot it was and she told me that her apartment was very cool because of the fan,she said I should buy one,instead i bought 3 more,one for me and my wife,one for my other daughter;s place and one for my son's bedroom,I'm really happy with this fans performance,it removes heat during the day,and at night,we reverse it and it brings coolness to inside our bedroom and it looks nice too!!!!!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
from Florida, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great all locations

PostedApril 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We added a family room onto our mobile home and needed to move air from the main house to the new room; solution was these window fans in the existing main house windows. They were easy to install, quiet to operate and the price was right. The versatile operation (in, out or both) is the perfect solution for our air movement. We even added one to the work shop window.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, low noise
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
from Wisconsin Rapids, WI
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Suits my needs perfectly

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I live in a one-bedroom apartment that has all the windows facing north, so there is no natural cross-ventilation. I needed something that would draw in fresh air from outside, and this item is perfect for my needs. I set the fan in a living room window. During the day, I draw air into the living room; at night, I reverse the fans, and it gently draws cool night air into my bedroom; what noise there is from the fans stays in the living room. The choice of three speeds and two reversible fans gives lots of options for the amount of air movement desired. I don't really have much need for the thermostat, but it may yet come in handy at some point.
The apartment does have an in-the-wall air conditioner, which I will use when it gets really hot. So far in late May and early June 2013 since I bought this fan, I have not needed the A/C. The fan has met my needs, functioned well, uses less energy than the A/C and is a lot quieter.
Since I've only had the fan for a short time, I can't evaluate things like durability yet. Time will tell.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, very practical, Quiet
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
from Gardena, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

9 Inch Twin Window Fan

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased the 9 Inch Twin Window Fan to help vent out cooking odors out of my kitchen. I have one of those microwaves that vent the odors through a filter then back into my kitchen.
It takes me less than 30 seconds to set up.
The fan helps out a lot. I do leave it on when I cook and then about 15 minutes to 30 mintues after cooking.
It does have extensions on the end to help the fan fit your window. One is fixed the other adjusts.
It's made of plastic so I can see it breaking if not careful.
The fan is quiet. Has 3 levels, low, medium and high. Has an in and out switch. Also a thermostat.
I've only used the fan to vent out air not blow air in.
I purchased the fan duing the winter (off season). I had to try 3 different Home Depots before I could get one. I used the internet Home Depot because once you order it lets you know in about 5 minutes if it's in stock ot not in stock. Home Depot even calls you.
They show how many they have in stock at the Home Depot you choose but the counts not very accurate. The first Home Depot I tried showed 3 in stock but it came back nothing. The second Home Depot I tried showed about 10 but it came back nothing in stock. The thrid Home Depot showed around 8 left and they had it.
The first 2 Home Depots that called me I did let them know what the internet count showed me.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
from El Cajon, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Look good, work great

PostedOctober 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to assemble and mount. Multispeed and reversable fans work great. We bought two, one for the front of the house, one for the back. Just what we wanted.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
from Spokane, WA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great little fans!!

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We bought these fans after reading reviews about how well they work, especially at drawing hot air out of a room. We use them in our upstairs windows and run them 24/7. During the day we keep it on exhaust to keep pulling any warm air out and then switch to fan during the night to pull in the cool night air. It has transformed our upstairs!! It used to be like an oven, often causing us to sleep downstairs on couches. Now we stay comfortable in our own rooms - yay!! These fans work so well - so happy I bought them! And BONUS - they are very quiet!! Best money you'll ever spend!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
from Seattle, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product has great features. Better than ones twice the price

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used the same Pelonis unit for two seasons; the 3rd season I found one of the fans no longer worked. I bought another brand for twice the price with digital read out and temp settings. I returned it to the store after a couple days and found another Pelonis 9" at Home Depot.
The Pelonis knobs are large and easy to locate at night. The fans work independently. One can exhaust hot air out while the other blows cool air in or you can run only one fan. The fan speed controls allow you to adjust the fans separately or there is a knob for both at once. I bought two units and put one away for the future. Great options and price! Two years running almost constantly through the summer.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Good Shape, Great Value, Lots of Features, High Quality, Reliable, Light Weight, large knobs, no light
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
from Philadelphia Region
Age Range:35 to 44
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Does not exhaust a man cave (cigar/cigs/etc) !

PostedJune 15, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Its very strange. The "Out" setting should do just that, exhaust "Out". However, only the very middle of the fan is actually drawing the air "out", the outer sides of fan, are blowing it all back in ???
Just spoke to the manager where we got ours, and its obviously a defect on this particular product. As I have seen others complain about this issue. So, even without the box, only need our debit card used and will be fully refunded !
Do not recommend this fan for "inward air or exhausting air", seems to have weird issues ?
Cons: does not exhaust !
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
from Silverdale, Wa.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Window Fan

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I replaced a floor fan with this window fan for a number of reasons. It is off the floor and out of the way, has multi speed in/out air flow and two fans to control the air flow. The remote control feature allows me to change the settings as needed from anywhere in my multi purpose room day or night.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, Convenient
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
from Tooele
Age Range:45 to 54
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love this fan...

PostedJuly 1, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Works great, fits in the window, is simple to use!
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan

Excellent fan

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Fan is very quiet and strong, it's worth the extra money from other cheap fans.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan

Great for the 12x12 room I have

PostedJune 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Used one last year because we didn't think we needed an AC. I was right. Fast forward, another year and my daughter (who had an AC in her nursery) is a year older, in a big-girl bed in a new bedroom and can cool herself down if need be. So we again wanted to live without a second AC and again, the fan delivered. It's easy enough to take out of the window if the temperature drops for a few nights (highs in MA just went from 89 one day to 60 the next).
The only hang-up I have is the cord length, but I understand the safety requirements that come with a window fan.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable, not many options
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan

Nice power for the price

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Love the power of the fan. There are a problem installing it to the window. The part when you expend to cover your window have a top and bottom latch for you to lock in the shade. But by putting you fan into the window you wont have access to the bottom latch which make the top latch useless. The top of the fan isnt design big enough to pull your down to create a air tight installation. Feel like the design of the fan fail to install correctly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
from Washington DC
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does the job

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Overall the fan is a good product.
Pros: Two fans that can do exhaust or intake, or one of each; with three speeds.
Cons: A bit expensive for what you get, but there is nothing cheaper on the market.
With the unit we got the "gate" that slides out to expand the width of the window does not open easily, not sure if this is a manufacturing defect or poor design. You have to "pinch" both the upper and lower sides to slide it out, which is impossible to do if the fan is in the window already.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Difficult to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan

Works great!

PostedJune 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Works great for cooling off rooms at night when it cools off outside.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
from Portland, OR
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
So far, three weeks in and lots of use and it works great. Quiet, and more powerful than other window fans. Switches feel a bit cheap but they have held up well so far.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan

Quiet, Quiet, and cools.

PostedApril 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased a Homes fan at a K-Mart, took it back within the week, noise, small fan size( 7 inch fans) , poor quality in way it was made, etc,,.
I went to Home Depot & bought this fan --- it's great, it is very quiet, it cools, it looks great in window (no advertising label on it) 9 inch fans are great, this is the key for its cooling, also has one fan blow in as other blows out.
About only complaint is, I wish right side fan would blow in, & left side out because I have desk area to right side, (I don't have space for my desk on left side, etc,,) but, of course those people to left side of room would love it.
I would recommend this fan over want I had.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
from Litchfield, Maine
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

happy customer

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
this product has worked very well for what I needed it for. easy to install. Does the job.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 15 >>