728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Window Fans or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 9 in. Twin Window Fan

9 in. Twin Window Fan

The Pelonis 9 in. Twin Window Fan features dual motors and 3 speed settings to help meet your cooling needs. The built-in thermostat automatically turns the fans on and off at a pre-selected temperature, while the reversible control draws air in or blows air out for maximum comfort. The side panels are extendable to fit in double-hung and slider windows of different sizes and the fan housing is made of plastic for durability.
Overall rating:
4.214 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(271 reviews) 270
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product220 of 257reviews
Rating Breakdown 271 reviews
4.2 out of 5
5
(154)
4
(67)
3
(21)
2
(12)
1
(17)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product220 of 257reviews
Customer questions and answers:
17 Questions | 50 Answers
Customer reviews for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
Review 1 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan

it's been workin' for 5 years

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This thing has been running for 5 years so far. Still looks & works like new. I have it in my garage, which I turned into a poker room and my buddies all smoke cigars & cigarettes. You can see the smoke just pour out the window. Both fans are sucking out of course. You can actually feel the draft coming from the gaps in the garage doors, so it has good suction and draft. Overall, this little piece of plastic cranks!!! I had to modify above with a perfectly cut piece of cardboard in the area that the fan doesn't cover, which helps a lot too. When it rains, I take it out of the window.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
from West Hollywood, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

EXACTLY what I was looking for.

PostedJune 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Incredible value - I wish I'd bought these fans years ago! They are extremely quiet and efficient. Without moving the unit, you can set the fans to blow in or out, or turn one of them off, or set up exchange (one in and one out); there is also a thermostat so the fans shut off on their own. I put one in my office and one in my kitchen (the kitchen window is just a smidgen too small, so the fan is at a very slight angle, but it's in there securely and works just fine).
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
from Lynwood, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product really works

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
One of my daughters asked me to buy a fan for her and for no reason,I bought this one (the first I bought) and gave it to her,few days later,we were talking about how hot it was and she told me that her apartment was very cool because of the fan,she said I should buy one,instead i bought 3 more,one for me and my wife,one for my other daughter;s place and one for my son's bedroom,I'm really happy with this fans performance,it removes heat during the day,and at night,we reverse it and it brings coolness to inside our bedroom and it looks nice too!!!!!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
from Florida, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great all locations

PostedApril 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We added a family room onto our mobile home and needed to move air from the main house to the new room; solution was these window fans in the existing main house windows. They were easy to install, quiet to operate and the price was right. The versatile operation (in, out or both) is the perfect solution for our air movement. We even added one to the work shop window.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, low noise
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
from El Cajon, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Look good, work great

PostedOctober 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to assemble and mount. Multispeed and reversable fans work great. We bought two, one for the front of the house, one for the back. Just what we wanted.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
from Wisconsin Rapids, WI
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Suits my needs perfectly

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I live in a one-bedroom apartment that has all the windows facing north, so there is no natural cross-ventilation. I needed something that would draw in fresh air from outside, and this item is perfect for my needs. I set the fan in a living room window. During the day, I draw air into the living room; at night, I reverse the fans, and it gently draws cool night air into my bedroom; what noise there is from the fans stays in the living room. The choice of three speeds and two reversible fans gives lots of options for the amount of air movement desired. I don't really have much need for the thermostat, but it may yet come in handy at some point.
The apartment does have an in-the-wall air conditioner, which I will use when it gets really hot. So far in late May and early June 2013 since I bought this fan, I have not needed the A/C. The fan has met my needs, functioned well, uses less energy than the A/C and is a lot quieter.
Since I've only had the fan for a short time, I can't evaluate things like durability yet. Time will tell.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, very practical, Quiet
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
from Gardena, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

9 Inch Twin Window Fan

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased the 9 Inch Twin Window Fan to help vent out cooking odors out of my kitchen. I have one of those microwaves that vent the odors through a filter then back into my kitchen.
It takes me less than 30 seconds to set up.
The fan helps out a lot. I do leave it on when I cook and then about 15 minutes to 30 mintues after cooking.
It does have extensions on the end to help the fan fit your window. One is fixed the other adjusts.
It's made of plastic so I can see it breaking if not careful.
The fan is quiet. Has 3 levels, low, medium and high. Has an in and out switch. Also a thermostat.
I've only used the fan to vent out air not blow air in.
I purchased the fan duing the winter (off season). I had to try 3 different Home Depots before I could get one. I used the internet Home Depot because once you order it lets you know in about 5 minutes if it's in stock ot not in stock. Home Depot even calls you.
They show how many they have in stock at the Home Depot you choose but the counts not very accurate. The first Home Depot I tried showed 3 in stock but it came back nothing. The second Home Depot I tried showed about 10 but it came back nothing in stock. The thrid Home Depot showed around 8 left and they had it.
The first 2 Home Depots that called me I did let them know what the internet count showed me.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
from Spokane, WA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great little fans!!

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We bought these fans after reading reviews about how well they work, especially at drawing hot air out of a room. We use them in our upstairs windows and run them 24/7. During the day we keep it on exhaust to keep pulling any warm air out and then switch to fan during the night to pull in the cool night air. It has transformed our upstairs!! It used to be like an oven, often causing us to sleep downstairs on couches. Now we stay comfortable in our own rooms - yay!! These fans work so well - so happy I bought them! And BONUS - they are very quiet!! Best money you'll ever spend!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
from Seattle, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product has great features. Better than ones twice the price

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used the same Pelonis unit for two seasons; the 3rd season I found one of the fans no longer worked. I bought another brand for twice the price with digital read out and temp settings. I returned it to the store after a couple days and found another Pelonis 9" at Home Depot.
The Pelonis knobs are large and easy to locate at night. The fans work independently. One can exhaust hot air out while the other blows cool air in or you can run only one fan. The fan speed controls allow you to adjust the fans separately or there is a knob for both at once. I bought two units and put one away for the future. Great options and price! Two years running almost constantly through the summer.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Good Shape, Great Value, Lots of Features, High Quality, Reliable, Light Weight, large knobs, no light
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
from New York, NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Completely worthless

PostedMay 24, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased two of these based on the positive reviews but was shocked by how weak the air flow is. Even on the highest setting you have to be within 8-10 inches to feel anything. At first I thought I had the fan on exhaust by mistake, but no, it's just the an incredibly weak fan! I returned them the next day.
Pros: none
Cons: underpowered
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
from Narragansett, RI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Lots of CFM for the buck!

PostedMay 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The fan was in stock at my local Home Depot. It throws lots of CFM at extremely quiet levels. At slow and medium speeds, the fan is barely audible, yet still throws a good amount of air.
What's even more impressive, is the ability to set the 2 fans 3 different ways: Both fans can be bringing air into the room at 3 different speeds; both fans can be exhausting air to the outside at 3 different speeds; BUT GET THIS....on the "exchange" setting, 1 fan can bring air into the room while the 2nd fan simultaneously exhausts air to the outside, again, at 3 different speeds.
The "exchange" feature is excellent for smaller rooms with only 1 window that allows the consumer to shut the door without stressing the fan and still bring in fresh air!
A must for the price!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan

Quiet, Quiet, and cools.

PostedApril 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased a Homes fan at a K-Mart, took it back within the week, noise, small fan size( 7 inch fans) , poor quality in way it was made, etc,,.
I went to Home Depot & bought this fan --- it's great, it is very quiet, it cools, it looks great in window (no advertising label on it) 9 inch fans are great, this is the key for its cooling, also has one fan blow in as other blows out.
About only complaint is, I wish right side fan would blow in, & left side out because I have desk area to right side, (I don't have space for my desk on left side, etc,,) but, of course those people to left side of room would love it.
I would recommend this fan over want I had.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
from Colorado
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great fan

PostedApril 22, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This fan is working great. I really like the thermostat, it's built well and I also like the fuse in the plug end. The reversible fans are a great feature as well. So far I'm very pleased with the fan.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan

hdx window fan

PostedApril 24, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Good product for the money.
Cons - does not blow 1400 cfm as stated.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
from Pensacola,FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

We LOVE these fans!!

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We bought these fans and just LOVE them. They are very quiet!! I love that you can have one fan as exhaust and the other fan blowing air in. I couldn't be happier!!
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, very quiet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Value, Delivered Quickly

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Was glad to find this fan available again this year at almost the same price as last year. Not a super powerful fan, but does the job for small rooms, and at a reasonable price. It's hard to believe how expensive this type of fan can be, and how some manufacturers try to "church it up" by calling a fan "manually reversible" when what they mean is "you can turn it around in the window". This one is actually reversible, three ways. Great value.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan

Works well

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
My daughter loves our window fan so I found this one for her. She loves it and hates to take it out of her window when it gets too warm.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan

Very quiet fan!

PostedJuly 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We were looking for a quiet window fan for night use. This one is excellent because it does not sound like an airplane taking off. We also love that both fans work independently.
For the price this fan is a great value.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Seals Well, Great Value, Economical
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
from California, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works great for me!

PostedJune 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was living in an apartment in Los Angeles that did not have air conditioning. When it gets hot, the apartment got very hot and when it cooled down at night, the apartment stayed hot. It was torture trying to sleep some nights. Just opening the windows was not working. I bought this fan to help bring the cool evening air into my bedroom. All I can say it worked like a charm in cooling the bedroom and making it much more comfortable. When the fans are running they are relatively quiet and it was much quieter than another brand that I tried. I highly recommend this fan if you are trying to cool a small room. Great value and IMO great performance. I wish I bought this sooner!!!!
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, cooling small rooms
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan

Love it!

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We got a window fan because we don't have ceiling fans in our apartment, and needed some air circulation in the bedroom. Searching around, there were several models for over $70, but that was definitely not in the budget. We chose this model for the price and the reviews, and absolutely love it!
The lowest setting is almost whisper quiet. The highest is definitely louder, but isn't terrible. If anything, it's some nice white noise for sleeping. We typically don't need it on super high, anyway - the lowest setting circulates air nicely.
It's also really nice to have the exhaust option. Our kitchen gets really hot because the stove doesn't vent to the outside, it just circulated back into the kitchen. We've moved the fan a few times to help out with the heat in there and it cools down in no time. We definitely plan on buying a second fan to keep in the kitchen.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 14 >>