728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Window Fans or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 9 in. Twin Window Fan

9 in. Twin Window Fan

The Pelonis 9 in. Twin Window Fan features dual motors and 3 speed settings to help meet your cooling needs. The built-in thermostat automatically turns the fans on and off at a pre-selected temperature, while the reversible control draws air in or blows air out for maximum comfort. The side panels are extendable to fit in double-hung and slider windows of different sizes and the fan housing is made of plastic for durability.
Overall rating:
4.227 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(304 reviews) 303
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product249 of 289reviews
Rating Breakdown 304 reviews
4.2 out of 5
5
(173)
4
(76)
3
(24)
2
(13)
1
(18)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product249 of 289reviews
Customer questions and answers:
24 Questions | 76 Answers
Customer reviews for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
Review 1 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan

it's been workin' for 5 years

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This thing has been running for 5 years so far. Still looks & works like new. I have it in my garage, which I turned into a poker room and my buddies all smoke cigars & cigarettes. You can see the smoke just pour out the window. Both fans are sucking out of course. You can actually feel the draft coming from the gaps in the garage doors, so it has good suction and draft. Overall, this little piece of plastic cranks!!! I had to modify above with a perfectly cut piece of cardboard in the area that the fan doesn't cover, which helps a lot too. When it rains, I take it out of the window.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+30points
30out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan

Twin Window Fan

PostedJuly 5, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I use this fan in our bedroom and a window mounted air conditioner in the adjacent living room. The fan helps push warmer air outside while simultaneously pulling cool air in. It seems to do an okay job but I imagine a more powerful fan would work better. Overall, for the price, it works well enough.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
from West Hollywood, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

EXACTLY what I was looking for.

PostedJune 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Incredible value - I wish I'd bought these fans years ago! They are extremely quiet and efficient. Without moving the unit, you can set the fans to blow in or out, or turn one of them off, or set up exchange (one in and one out); there is also a thermostat so the fans shut off on their own. I put one in my office and one in my kitchen (the kitchen window is just a smidgen too small, so the fan is at a very slight angle, but it's in there securely and works just fine).
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
from Lynwood, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product really works

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
One of my daughters asked me to buy a fan for her and for no reason,I bought this one (the first I bought) and gave it to her,few days later,we were talking about how hot it was and she told me that her apartment was very cool because of the fan,she said I should buy one,instead i bought 3 more,one for me and my wife,one for my other daughter;s place and one for my son's bedroom,I'm really happy with this fans performance,it removes heat during the day,and at night,we reverse it and it brings coolness to inside our bedroom and it looks nice too!!!!!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
from Florida, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great all locations

PostedApril 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We added a family room onto our mobile home and needed to move air from the main house to the new room; solution was these window fans in the existing main house windows. They were easy to install, quiet to operate and the price was right. The versatile operation (in, out or both) is the perfect solution for our air movement. We even added one to the work shop window.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, low noise
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
from Huntington Beach
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Replacement for fan lasting 9 years

PostedJuly 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Nine years ago I bought this fan from Home Depot under the SMC brand name. It looked and functioned exactly as this HDX model. About 2 years ago one of the fans stopped working but I continued to use it as a single fan. After running this fan 24/7 for about 275 days of the year for over 9 years it finally just stopped. A great buy then and I hope the replacement lives up to this standard. No turning it around for exhaust - all of the functions are clear and easily accessible. I use a Stanley remote plug so I can turn it off in the middle of the night from bed if needed. Quiet enough to sleep with. Be sure to compare fan size since many others are only 6 inches. Size does matter!
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Quiet
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
from Wisconsin Rapids, WI
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Suits my needs perfectly

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I live in a one-bedroom apartment that has all the windows facing north, so there is no natural cross-ventilation. I needed something that would draw in fresh air from outside, and this item is perfect for my needs. I set the fan in a living room window. During the day, I draw air into the living room; at night, I reverse the fans, and it gently draws cool night air into my bedroom; what noise there is from the fans stays in the living room. The choice of three speeds and two reversible fans gives lots of options for the amount of air movement desired. I don't really have much need for the thermostat, but it may yet come in handy at some point.
The apartment does have an in-the-wall air conditioner, which I will use when it gets really hot. So far in late May and early June 2013 since I bought this fan, I have not needed the A/C. The fan has met my needs, functioned well, uses less energy than the A/C and is a lot quieter.
Since I've only had the fan for a short time, I can't evaluate things like durability yet. Time will tell.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, very practical, Quiet
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
from Gardena, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

9 Inch Twin Window Fan

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased the 9 Inch Twin Window Fan to help vent out cooking odors out of my kitchen. I have one of those microwaves that vent the odors through a filter then back into my kitchen.
It takes me less than 30 seconds to set up.
The fan helps out a lot. I do leave it on when I cook and then about 15 minutes to 30 mintues after cooking.
It does have extensions on the end to help the fan fit your window. One is fixed the other adjusts.
It's made of plastic so I can see it breaking if not careful.
The fan is quiet. Has 3 levels, low, medium and high. Has an in and out switch. Also a thermostat.
I've only used the fan to vent out air not blow air in.
I purchased the fan duing the winter (off season). I had to try 3 different Home Depots before I could get one. I used the internet Home Depot because once you order it lets you know in about 5 minutes if it's in stock ot not in stock. Home Depot even calls you.
They show how many they have in stock at the Home Depot you choose but the counts not very accurate. The first Home Depot I tried showed 3 in stock but it came back nothing. The second Home Depot I tried showed about 10 but it came back nothing in stock. The thrid Home Depot showed around 8 left and they had it.
The first 2 Home Depots that called me I did let them know what the internet count showed me.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
from El Cajon, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Look good, work great

PostedOctober 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to assemble and mount. Multispeed and reversable fans work great. We bought two, one for the front of the house, one for the back. Just what we wanted.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
from lakewood,ca. 90712
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

good unit

PostedJuly 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It actually did not fit my type of window. a friend was able to mount it to the window frame and I can open and close the window if the fan is not in use instead having to remove the fan It works great love that I can choose inside or outside air flow
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
from Kent, WA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love this window fan

PostedJuly 29, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to use. Does a great job cooling off the hottest rooms on the west side of my house.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
from Colorado Springs, CO
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

An inexpensive solution to cat-odor problems.

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We are the temporary guardians of our children's two cats and needed a quick and cheap solution to the problem of cat litter box odors for the short term. We found exactly what we needed at Home Depot thanks to the help of the Associate who greeted us at the door, listened to us and directed us to a selection of fans. He even called to check on some details that were not printed on the box so that we felt comfortable with our choice. The fan is silent, it works 24/7 and keeps the litter box odors to a minimum.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
from Boonville, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really good cooling fan

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Good price; low energy use (we are off-grid), and excellent controls.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
from San Diego, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Nice breeze on a hot muggy day

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Good sturdy window fan! Relief on a hot muggy day!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
from Oregon City
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not a thin cheap fan

PostedJuly 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Usually you see these fans and they are flimsy, bendable and fall apart easily but these are pretty well built. I bought 2, one for each kid room and the kids play with them when the windows are closed and they stand up to the punishment. Lots of features. Just wished they moved more air but most of the time we don't have them at the highest level (3) anyways.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
from Torrance, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Nice little fan

PostedJuly 14, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This little fan works well. The only thing that disappoints me is that it doesn't sit in the window quite right. It is a little too wide and would damage the screen if put in the window properly.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Cons: doesn't fit in window well.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
from Washington
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great purchase

PostedJuly 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Well worth the purchase. Does a very good job of cooling our South facing upstairs bedroom down in the evenings.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
from Spokane, WA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great little fans!!

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We bought these fans after reading reviews about how well they work, especially at drawing hot air out of a room. We use them in our upstairs windows and run them 24/7. During the day we keep it on exhaust to keep pulling any warm air out and then switch to fan during the night to pull in the cool night air. It has transformed our upstairs!! It used to be like an oven, often causing us to sleep downstairs on couches. Now we stay comfortable in our own rooms - yay!! These fans work so well - so happy I bought them! And BONUS - they are very quiet!! Best money you'll ever spend!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
from Rock Springs, WY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love this fan

PostedJuly 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have three of these now. The first one I bought at an estate auction several years ago and it is still running. The second replaced an el cheapo Wal-Mart version that died within a year and had no reverse switch on it. The third I bought at the same time as the second wanting one for the other side of the house. Running these along with strategic window and blind opening and closing means I don't need a swamp cooler or air conditioning even when outside temps approach 90F. The upstairs one is supplemented by ceiling fans that I only need to run on the hottest days.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 9 in. Twin Window Fan
from Denver, CO
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love this thing

PostedJuly 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Absolute life saver. I don't have central in my home and (despite what 'they' tell you), the Colorado summers get hot. At least it cools off at night... which is where this great fan comes in.
The ability to change settings so the fans either push out warm air in the afternoon or draw in cool air at night is fantastic. Haven't slept this well since spring!
Very easy to install and well made. I do wish the fans were a bit quieter but overall this is a great product.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 16 >>