728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 8 in. 22.8 cc Gas Stick Edger

8 in. 22.8 cc Gas Stick Edger

Powerful and adjustable cutting depth make this ECHO edger a must have. The pro-torque gear case provides greater cutting power and durability and cushioned grips for greater operator comfort.
Overall rating:
4.818 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product22 of 22reviews
Rating Breakdown 22 reviews
4.8 out of 5
5
(18)
4
(4)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Features 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Quality 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product22 of 22reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for 8 in. 22.8 cc Gas Stick Edger
Review 1 for 8 in. 22.8 cc Gas Stick Edger

Solid edger

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I really like this edger. I only have two complaints. First, the highest you can set the handle is still too low, and i'm only 5'10". I still have to hunch over a bit to get the blade in just the right position. Second, it's solid but not great about setting a new edge. It's taken me several occasions to set a new edge, and sometimes several passes over the same areas, but that's what I expected based upon the reviews. Otherwise, assembly was easy, it feels solid, and operates effectively.
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: doesn't handle as well for taller people
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 8 in. 22.8 cc Gas Stick Edger

Execellent product

PostedJuly 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought this edger in 2007 and it's still running flawlessly!
This machine has it all and performs way beyond expectations . . . and I expected a LOT at this price point.
The aluminum shield broke on my unit, but the machine still cuts through ANYTHING. I wiil order a replacement shield very shortly as this thing kicks dirt all over you without it. ;-)
You cannot go wrong buying this edger - they got it right!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Cons: aluminum shield breaks easily, price point
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 8 in. 22.8 cc Gas Stick Edger
from Erda,Ut
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A very good stick edger

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ok. I don't normally ever review an item, but I thought I'd give my experiences with this one. First of all this is not a model my local HD carries in the store, so I ordered it online. It was shipped to my house via UPS for free and arrived in less than a week. In the item description it says it is NOT legal to ship to CA and that it is NOT CARB (CA Air Resources Board) legal. That's hilarious. Mine said on the box and on the unit itself that it was!! I almost sent it back since most of my CARB legal gardening equipment when I lived in CA ran terrible.. They run too lean and have excess emission devices installed. Surprisingly, this actually runs very good. Starts quick and idles smooth!! Anyway it arrived and the box looked to be in perfect condition, but when I examined the edger closely I saw the plastic muffler guard was cracked. It was done prior to shipping. "Buster Brown" wasn't at fault here. So I called Echo and the customer service person took my name and serial number from the edger and a week later the new guard showed up. Two metric hex head screws and I was done. It beat the heck out of returning and reordering the edger again. So, Yes it actually does run perfect. It does a good job edging around my concrete curbing where a "walk behind" edger wouldn't work. And it edges nicely between my concrete slabs IE: patio and driveway too. his is said to be a "commercial quality unit that should last many years. After close examination and a couple of weeks of use I'd say that was true.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Powerful, Great Engine, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 8 in. 22.8 cc Gas Stick Edger
from Houston
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

You get what you pay for make your purchase count

PostedJuly 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Living on a large corner lot with thick St. Augustine and previously owning a 3Hp edger I was concerned that a stick would do the job. I already own an Echo 225 trimmer so I knew the brand is top quality. Besides every lawn service in the area uses them, I figured they have to last. I bought the bigger model mainly for the metal blade guard after reading the reviews about the plastic guard clogging. I could definitely see that happening with that design. I am glad that the metal guard only comes on the bigger sized engine since it still bogs down a bit if you have overgrown sidewalks, but recovers well and gets the job done. My overall edging time has been reduced and I am absolutely positive I made the right choice in buying the bigger unit. The only negative is the clutch assembly gets hot enough that you want to hold it with arms extended and that takes some time to get used to the additional fatigue. This is my third Echo product purchased over the last 5 years. I'm an Echo guy for life.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Easy to Store
Cons: hot clutch assembly
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 8 in. 22.8 cc Gas Stick Edger
from KY

Great edger.

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Bought this model after reading the less than positive reviews on the less expensive Echo model (issues with power and clogging in the plastic housing). This unit performs as advertised and is a perfect addition to my Echo trimmer. Expensive model, but worth it in the long run. Highly recommend...
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Powerful
Cons: $$$
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 8 in. 22.8 cc Gas Stick Edger
from Lehi, Ut

Great Edger!

PostedMay 31, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this a few weeks ago and have used it three times so far. One lawn I edged was at least 5-6" over the sidewalk edge, this edger blew right threw it with no problem. Great buy and great price!
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 8 in. 22.8 cc Gas Stick Edger
from Homosassa, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worth the extra money

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
When you get right down to it this edger is probably worth the extra money over the standard model.
The metal shield the higher power with good vibration mounts. I think in the long run this machine will outlast me.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Long-Lasting
Cons: plastic wheel
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 8 in. 22.8 cc Gas Stick Edger
from Cincinnati, OH

All you could ask for in an gas edger

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this gas edger based on my previous experience with the ECHO brand. The box showed up completely intact within a couple days. Assembly was very easy. All the necessary tools were included. It also included a pair of safety glasses and a bottle of two-cycle oil. It is easy to start and has plenty of power. I only intended to use this for edging along the sidewalks and driveway. The wheel makes it easy to edge curves, such as planting beds. So, I get plenty of use out of this between the sidewalks, driveway and planting beds.
+8points
14out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 8 in. 22.8 cc Gas Stick Edger

I think this is a great edger

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The edger performed exactly as I expected and did a good job edging around the sidewalk and driveway. I am very pleased with the way it did the job.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 8 in. 22.8 cc Gas Stick Edger
from North Carolina
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

echo 22.8 edger

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This edger is fantastic It cut on the first run no see sawing to get the job done.I recommend this edger to all whether home or commercial.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Great Engine, Light Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 8 in. 22.8 cc Gas Stick Edger
from Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

With this edger, you're done edging before you know it.

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I purchased this edger because my neighbor's lawn service uses one and I was amazed at how fast they could edge. The engine has plenty of power which is probably the main reason it's so fast. I have used an Echo trimmer for several years without any problems. I feel this edger will give me the same dependable service. The only con I have, is the price. That's why I gave value 4 stars.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 8 in. 22.8 cc Gas Stick Edger

Great value.

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This trimmer works very well. It usually cranks up on the first pull.
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Use, Light Weight
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 8 in. 22.8 cc Gas Stick Edger
from Charleston, SC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worth every penny

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Makes edging so much easier! Starts right up and not hard to handle.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 8 in. 22.8 cc Gas Stick Edger
from Clinton, NC 28328, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great edger

PostedMay 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Looks like a great bargin. Sturdy, runs great, easy to use and I would recommend .
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for 8 in. 22.8 cc Gas Stick Edger
Based on the average of (8) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
8 out of 8 recommend this product