728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for ES-210 140 mph 305 CFM Gas Blower/Vac

ES-210 140 mph 305 CFM Gas Blower/Vac

The ECHO ES-210 140 mph 305 CFM Gas Blower/Vac provides multiple functions in one easy-to-use machine. This handy blower can be switched to shredding/vacuuming mode and features a 4-blade shredder for efficient waste reduction. The unit also comes with an oversized mulch bag for convenient clean-up and a zipper for easy emptying. The 21.2 cc Power Boost Vortex engine provides powerful operation in any mode.
Overall rating:
3.13 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
47%of customersrecommend this product9 of 19reviews
Rating Breakdown 23 reviews
3.1 out of 5.0
5
(8)
4
(2)
3
(4)
2
(3)
1
(6)
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
47%of customersrecommend this product9 of 19reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for ES-210 140 mph 305 CFM Gas Blower/Vac
Review 1 for ES-210 140 mph 305 CFM Gas Blower/Vac
richpt
from California

Shockingly poor design and performance

PostedFebruary 21, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this Echo blower/vac unit about a year ago after deciding my corded electric blower/vac would be dangerous around our new pool. I had previously purchased my first Echo product (gas trimmer) and was blown away at the ease of starting and power. This unit has been a much different story. The blower is mediocre at best and the vac clogs with ease. The amount of time spent changing from blower to vac (and back) is painful- and requires the use of a screwdriver. The ergonomics and balance are awful during use and cause undue fatigue of the shoulders and back. The bag is huge/ awkward and attaches to the plastic 90 degree connector elbow with a velcro band that cinches down poorly at best. Lastly, the most unforgivable design flaw is the push and twist connection of blower tube to engine. The tube actually disengages from the engine and has blown across the patio and yard on multiple occasions! In summary, this is by far the poorest piece of gardening equipment I have ever owned and could not possibly recommend it's purchase to others. On the bright side, the Echo engine consistently starts on the first pull and with minimimal effort...
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for ES-210 140 mph 305 CFM Gas Blower/Vac
conzumerreports
from Virginia

Do not buy this, very poor desig

PostedMarch 23, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is a very poorly designed model.
First the vacuum attachment secures to the mount with a large radiator type hose clamp. Craftsman units quickly connect with a latch or thumbscrew. Echo's unit takes a while to line up the tube with the cutout switch, and then tighten the hose clamp. If you need to switch back and forth between blower and vacuum, it is a pain. Also if you bump the tube on the ground to try to dislodge the frequent clogs the tube pops out and you need to reattach it again.
The bag is a poor design. It zippers in the length of the bag direction , rather than at the end of the bag. If you need to dump the material into a trash can or garbage bag forget it. A normal design zips at the END of the bag to allow this. The echo's design won't allow this.
As far as performance is concerned its terrible. CFM is low and when you try to pick up leaves and twigs it shows. A twig 75% the size of a pencil will slow this thing to a crawl until it clears maybe, or stall out which is most of the time. It's totally pathetic.
The elbow design to the bag allows the bag to get kinked allowing further clogs.
My 10 year old craftsman at half the price blows this thing away. This echo unit needs to be trashed and design started over. I believe sales only occur because its an echo and high priced. Save your money !
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for ES-210 140 mph 305 CFM Gas Blower/Vac
Jim321
from NC

Don't go there for a vac

PostedNovember 9, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Dunno how good a blower it is since I didn't get that far. But on a thick accumulation of oak leaves, it's a _crummy_ vac. I ran 1/3 tank of gas thru it, and intend to return it. It stopped up twice in that short time, requiring tedious removal of the suction tube. It jammed on a twig once, another removal. The elbow tube to the bag blew off once. The bag stopped up with leaf shreds due to the way it's folded by the cheesy strap. It _might_ work OK on lighter leaves,but if you have oaks, sycamores, etc, look elsewhere.
The only good thing I can say is that it started & restarted fine, and it reduced the volume of leaves pretty well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for ES-210 140 mph 305 CFM Gas Blower/Vac
Jack
from Needham, MA, USA

I never tried it as a blower, only a vaccuum. Returning it.

PostedDecember 2, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
+ It starts up easily.
+ It appears to be quality construction.
+ My echo backpack blower rocks - so in general I give Echo thumbs up on quality (btw just go buy the Echo Model # PB-500T and manually bag your leaves.)
- It takes longer to vacuum and shred than it would take to just bag the leaves. That's the deal killer for me. If you really need shredded leaves for some reason, than perhaps this product is of interest. If you just want to get your leaves cleaned up ASAP, buy a good blower and skip the vacuuming and shredding part.
-The bag fills up so fast. It's so annoying.
This is going back to the store.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for ES-210 140 mph 305 CFM Gas Blower/Vac
GKal
from Deltona, Fl.

ES-210 -- Great machine!

PostedJanuary 3, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The engine on my Craftsman blower/vac seized after 3 seasons of use, so I needed to replace the unit since repair costs were going to exceed the original $110 I paid for it. After doing quite a bit of research, I found that the less expensive blower/vacs (Poulon, Sears, Troy-Bult, etc.) had engine durability rates of 50 hours. I want something to last longer and be able to get parts and service if needed.
With power tools, you get what you pay for, so I decided to look at the major brands and spend a bit more. I have an Echo blower and my brother has all Echo tools that have lasted for 15 years and still going strong. I narrowed my search to the Husqvarna 125BVx, Stihl SH 56 C-E and the Echo ES-210. The Husqvarna is a bit less expensive, but only by about $30. The Echo and Stihl units are priced the same.
I chose the Echo unit over the Husqvarna and Stihl for the following reasons: 5-year consumer warranty (the others are 2 year), more dealer/service locations that are available locally AND open on Saturday in the event I need something, and Home Depot carries Echo kits for tune-up and some limited parts. The Echo has a durability rating of 300 hours, as do most commercial units. I couldn't find the spec for the Husqvarna or Stihl units. The less expensive units are rated at 50 hours. I'm NOT disappointed that I chose the Echo.
The blower function on the Echo is very powerful and does a great job. The main reason I wanted the shredder/vac was to pick up and shred the leaves. I did a 1/4 acre lot that was covered with leaves using only 2 tanks of fuel and 5 large leaf bags. The shred function works well. The unit does not clog as easy as others I've had. As long as you understand the limitations of a handheld vac, you will really appreciate this unit. It's not designed to pick up pine cones and large twigs. Also, don't try to pick up a large pile of leaves at one time. The unit (and every other brand) will clog. The blower tube secures by inserting the tube and turning 1/4 turn. It locks onto the unit and requires some effort to unlock. Some might not like this, but I appreciate the fact that the tube won't fall off on it's own. The vac tube secures with a hose clamp arrangement. I only knocked it off once but I didn't tighten it enough.
The Echo products use a 50:1 fuel/oil mix and 89 or better octain fuel. There was no smoke at all from this unit and it seems to be quieter than others I've used.
If you are only looking for a blower, consider the Echo PB-251. It's the same machine without the impeller blades or vac accessories for vac/shred and you'll save about $60.
While this unit was initially more than I wanted to spend, when I consider that I probably won't be replacing it any time soon and the quality of this machine, it was certainly worth the money. The performance and quality are outstanding.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for ES-210 140 mph 305 CFM Gas Blower/Vac
landscap3r
from PA

Echo product

PostedNovember 1, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The product prformed as expected. Swiitching from blower to mulcher is always a pain, but that is to be expected with these types of blowers. It also gets locked up if you suck up something like pine mulch, acorns, ect. (bring a flathead screwdrive along with you)
I was happy wth how easy it is to detach the bag. Though I was disapointed with the quality of the bag's shoulder strap.
These blowers do beat you up after a few hours, so you might want to consider picking up some advil too ;)
I could see someone giving it a higher ratng but I am rarely satified totally wih the workmanship put into making products
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for ES-210 140 mph 305 CFM Gas Blower/Vac
ToolJunkieTX
from Texas

Does the Job

PostedJanuary 18, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have an Echo trimmer and love how it starts time after time.
The Echo brand is more expensive however I believe you get what you pay for.
I have no complaints as far as the blower is concerned so I will focus on the Vac.
This vac is one of the few that I looked at that has a metal shredder. The bag is easy to dump, just unzip and shake the leaves out. Clogging is not an issue if you don't get carried away.
This model was difficult to use around a willow tree where there are many little twigs.
Overall I like it and would recommend it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for ES-210 140 mph 305 CFM Gas Blower/Vac
DesertDrew
from Gold Basin, Arizona

When you need reliability...

PostedJuly 6, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had my Echo ES 210 for 4 years and it gets heavy, unconventional use powering my gold prospecting equipment. I use the blower to power my drywasher and have a 5-gallon bucket set up as the vacuum container (only dust actually passes through the unit). As long as I don't hog it, it will vacuum up 1 1/2" rocks through the 2" suction tube.
It has always started easily and has over 1000 hours on it only needing routine maintenance.
If you need more power, get the ES 255, another fantastic unit from Echo.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for ES-210 140 mph 305 CFM Gas Blower/Vac
BellevueDoc
from Seattle, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not worth buying

PostedNovember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I love echo and had this product for about 6 months. First time I set it up to use as a shredder it jammed and burned up the engine. Save your money on this one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for ES-210 140 mph 305 CFM Gas Blower/Vac
CaptTim
from League City, TX

Great Product

PostedMay 27, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this machine to exclusively use it for the vacuum function. Easy to assemble and works great. Just don't vacuum big pieces of bar/mulch, it will clog the machine. Other than that this is a must have fior any yard perfectionist!!! I own Echo product exclusively and this one lives up to their standards. A 5 year consumer warranty does not hurt things either!!!!!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for ES-210 140 mph 305 CFM Gas Blower/Vac
Matt84
from Maryland

I love ECHO, but this was pretty bad

PostedMarch 15, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I love ECHO equipment, but I am returning this blower/vac for a regular blower. I bought this blower/vac with the hope that it would save me time picking up all of the leaves in my yard. With all of the clogging, I'm better off blowing everything into a pile and manually bagging.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for ES-210 140 mph 305 CFM Gas Blower/Vac
sccontractor
from SC

Underpowered Shredder/Vac

PostedFebruary 10, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I own an Echo blower, weed-eater and hedge trimmer, and am very happy with the quality and service that I have received from these items. When I saw the Echo Shredder/Vac I thought that my days of raking leaves were finally over. Wow, was I ever wrong! This equipment easily clogs and the underpowered engine bogs down causing you to have to remove the suction tube from the unit and remove debris from the shredder/flywheel assembly. I am not talking about large pieces of mulch or other debris. If you get too many leaves at one time, or a small twig, sweetgum ball, etc. sucked up into the suction tube, be prepared to spend at least 5 minutes cleaning the shredder assembly. I actually spent a lot more time cleaning this thing out just to keep it running than I did actually picking up leaves. I'm sure that Echo is aware of this problem and would be surprised if these models are not pulled from the shelves soon and replaced with upgraded models.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for ES-210 140 mph 305 CFM Gas Blower/Vac
Sprint
from Lumberton Texas

PostedDecember 12, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought one today after reading about other brands & it was on sale. Easy put together for vacuum. Used it for 15 min picking up oak leaves & it worked good. Just can't pick up to many at a time. It actually worked better than I anticipated.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for ES-210 140 mph 305 CFM Gas Blower/Vac
Anonymous
from NW New Jersey

Over priced, under-powered, useless

PostedOctober 23, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
DO NOT BUY! This unit will disappoint you, both in performance as well as in price! Definately a case of selling the brand name and not the quality in performance. Will not do leaves as well as some $50 electrics!
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for ES-210 140 mph 305 CFM Gas Blower/Vac
sperryrand
from Milwaukee, WI

Good blower, horrid vacuum

PostedNovember 7, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've had my ES-210 for around 3 years. It's a great blower. Plenty of power, easy to start, light weight. The blower has a trigger throttle and a hand lever to set the speed which works great for cleaning off large areas of debris. However, it's a terrible vacuum.
I bought the ES-210 vacuum instead of the blower-only PB-210 to be able to clean up the beds around my house. The beds around my house are mulched, as is a large bed at the back of my property. We have a fence and large mature trees which makes for a big mess in the fall.
The problem? the vacuum system is horrid. The air stream in the suction tube picks up mulch chips and wedges them between the fan blade and the housing. I smell melting plastic and hear the engine lug down when this happens. Time to get out the provided screwdriver tool, loosen the tube, remove the piece, and reassemble the machine. If I hear a chunk of wood, I shut the machine off, let it fall out, then restart. It's a big pain.
The other problem is that the zipper for the bag makes it difficult to fill the 30-gallon paper leaf bags most communities take. I can only unzip the bag partially to fill the leaf bags. I try to keep the zipper only partially open but it usually finds its way completely open when I fill the recycling bag, making a big mess on the ground.
I've resorted to not using the vacuum and instead blow the leaves off my mulch beds and use my mower to bag them up. It's additional work,but much less of an annoyance than dealing with frequent plugs and engine restarts.
The vacuum function does work well to reduce the size of leaves, though, a slight positive even considering the negative issues.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for ES-210 140 mph 305 CFM Gas Blower/Vac
ILIKEBACON
from Augusta Ga

2 day impressions

PostedJanuary 9, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I purchased this blower/vac several days ago after having bad experiences with several cheaper electric and gas ones.
I am only using the vac feature on mine, as far as suction it works very well pulling in anything, but sometimes it will pull in more then it can handle clogging it up, I have to try to limit its intake when dealing with massed leafs or pinestraw. Other then the occasional clog it has chopped up anything it has sucked up, pine cones, hickory nuts and small sticks dont seem to give it any trouble if it sucks one up it chops right through them.
The vac nozzle has to be secured using a flathead screw driver, so it holds on very well but if you need to remove it to clear a clog you need a screwdriver on hand. There is also a safety switch it must press so the positioning when attaching it has to be checked.
The bag is not the best positioned one I have ever used, it is a huge bag and seems well built though. Attaching and removing the bag requires you to twist its tube 90degrees removing it from the unit, the tube is thin plastic which attached to 2 harder material pieces on the unit so I worry about how long it will last. Also you cannot get a good grip on the tube when wearing gloves.
The bag is huge and made of good material but the zipper does not run to the bottom making emptying the bag into a lawn waste container a challenge. Besides holding the waste container open you must hold the vac bag up and use your hand to shovel its contents out, this can be a real challenge if the vac bag is totally full and compressed. By the time I was done emptying the bag I had needed to take off my jacket and roll up my sleeves, due to the awkwardness of it I had to revac the area around my yard waste containers. I have used most of the home use vacuums on the market (at least 6) and this bad system is the worst I have encountered .
Removing, emptying and reattaching the bag to the unit takes twice as long as filling it up, you also have to watch how much in intakes so it doesn't reach 100% capacity.
The unit is decent, the vac and mulch portion is the best I have used but the trouble emptying the bags is a major disappointment.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for ES-210 140 mph 305 CFM Gas Blower/Vac
Based on the average of (7) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
2 out of 3 recommend this product