728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Squirrel Stopper Repellent Spray

Squirrel Stopper Repellent Spray

Messina Wildlife's Squirrel Stopper is an effective, pleasant smelling, liquid squirrel and chipmunk repellent for use on all bulbs, soil, birdseed and feeders to prevent foraging and burrowing by squirrels and chipmunks. The Organic Materials Review Institute (OMRI) lists Squirrel Stopper for use by organic growers and may be used on fruits and vegetables. Squirrel Stopper is applied approximately every 30 days, regardless of weather and watering. Squirrel Stopper dries clear and odor free in about 20 minutes and will not wash off after a heavy rain. Squirrel Stopper can be used around building structures, directly to burrows or even on garbage cans and storage areas to prevent animal intrusion. Do not apply Squirrel Stopper to plants as burning may occur. 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed. Great for chipmunks and squirrels. For use on birdhouses, birdseed, bulbs, and other surfaces.
Overall rating:
3.177 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
62%of customersrecommend this product10 of 16reviews
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
3.2 out of 5.0
5
(6)
4
(3)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(6)
Quality 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Value 
3.1 out of 5.0
3.1 out of 5
62%of customersrecommend this product10 of 16reviews
Customer reviews for Squirrel Stopper Repellent Spray
Review 1 for Squirrel Stopper Repellent Spray
from Burbank, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Useless

PostedJune 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I followed the directions to a 't' and the little varmint was on the feeder every morning. I sprayed the seed, the feeder, the hanger, everything. Useless!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Squirrel Stopper Repellent Spray
from Staten Island, NY, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Product does not work

PostedMarch 16, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Do not waste your money on this product. Purchased product to keep squirrels away. Used product for past month with "NO SATISFACTION" as squirrels still persist on returning to sprayed areas. Product label indicates "safe to use" however, after application, an unpleasant odor does remain. Unfortunately this odor does not keep the squirrels away.
Cons: product does not work
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Squirrel Stopper Repellent Spray
from Mountain Home, AR, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Did Not Work

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Save your money. This product did not phase the squirrels.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Squirrel Stopper Repellent Spray
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent Product

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So far so good. Used this product about 10 days ago, and have not seen one squirrel in the tree since that time. Product does not create a bad odor. Definitely would consider other products from this company.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Squirrel Stopper Repellent Spray
from North Carolina, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Easy and Effective

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My Squirrelbuster bird feeder discouraged the squirrels but not the raccoons who kept playing rugby with it night after night. I tried this spray and haven't had to reassemble my feeder for close to a month now. It's easier to use and less pricey than hot pepper deterrents that mix in with the food itself. So far, so good.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Squirrel Stopper Repellent Spray
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No effect

PostedFebruary 20, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I sprayed it on the door facing used by squirrels to get to the light (which I sprayed as well) which they use to get to the bracket (which I sprayed) which holds the dual suet feeders on the back of my house. I sprayed the bracket and the suet as well. Two days later it was covered in squirrels....A dud!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Squirrel Stopper Repellent Spray
from Woodland Hills, CA

Squirrel Stopper Repellent Spray

PostedSeptember 24, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Unfortunately this product did not work for me. The squirrels in my yard were not detered by the smell. They were able to still climb on the feeder and eat as much as they wanted. I sprayed not only the seeds but the perches as well.
Joey b
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Squirrel Stopper Repellent Spray
from massachusettes
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

PRODUCT IS GREAT !!!!

PostedJune 20, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
so far so good no pesky squirrels tearing up my patio furniture for their nest; and non digging in the mulch .I'm very impressed with this product and would order it again
Pros: Easy to Apply
Cons: need bigger bottle like a weedcontroll size
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Squirrel Stopper Repellent Spray

worked for me!

PostedApril 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i've got some veggies growing on my front porch (snap peas, lettuce, etc) and the squirrels were having their way with it until i used this product. it seems to last for a couple of days; when i went too long without it they came back, but i think it's got them beat again now. the smell is nice and cinnamony, too!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Squirrel Stopper Repellent Spray
from Palm Harbor, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Appears to work well. Must use every 48 hours.

PostedSeptember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was looking for something to keep the squirrels from clinbing up my vehicle and damaging the wiring. This spray does keep them away from the vehicle, and does not smell bad for me. I will continue to use.
Pros: Functionality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Squirrel Stopper Repellent Spray

Pretty good product...

PostedJune 12, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This product worked pretty good! We didn't spry it directly on our flowers, we just sprayed it around the area the flowers were and it completely stopped the squirrels from eating our tulips. Had to apply more often then they recommended
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Squirrel Stopper Repellent Spray
from New Hampshire, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great!

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this stuff. The trick is to spray on and around the plants daily. The chipmunks were taking bites out of all my ripening tomatoes, but not any more!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Squirrel Stopper Repellent Spray
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

good stuff

PostedSeptember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
works well keeping squirrels and chipmonks at bay, the bird feeders are no longer claimed by them
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Squirrel Stopper Repellent Spray
from Smyrna, GA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works for me!

PostedJune 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My vegetables aren't getting touched. My friend down the road is losing everything to squirrels/chipmunks. I just sent them the link for this stuff b/c it has worked tremendously for me. Also, my backyard is full of squirrels and chipmunks. They are digging holes in the yard, but leaving all of my vegetables alone. Now I just wish they'd make a granular of this exact same formula that I could spread on the grass!
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Squirrel Stopper Repellent Spray
from Rome, Georgia, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I can't tell yet, so can't give it more Stars

PostedFebruary 10, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I won't know if this product works until I give it sufficient time. I got it because squirrels got into the motor of my car and chewed up the wiring. There is no place inside the motor where I can spray this product, so I'm having to spray the area on the carport floor underneath the car. I won't know if it's keeping the squirrels away until several months go by and the wiring is still intact.
I live under Hickory trees, so there are plenty of squirrels here. I do hope this stuff works to keep them away. It smells potent enough to do that! I also sprinkled Cayenne Pepper under there.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, pleasant smell
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Squirrel Stopper Repellent Spray

Not what I wanted

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
You can only use on bird feeders. I needed it to go around shrubs. Too much of a hassle to return.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Squirrel Stopper Repellent Spray
from Riverside, California

Squirrel Stopper

PostedSeptember 3, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This product seems to slow down the little rascals. They just love to frolic in the the pepper products
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.