728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Patching & Repair or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Rotted Wood Repair Kit

Rotted Wood Repair Kit

The PC Products Rotted Wood Repair Kit contains everything you need to restore rotted wood back to its original strength and beauty. Included in the kit are the PC-Petrifies to harden rotted and damaged wood, the PC-Woody to permanently repair wood and the PC-Lumber to rebuild, shape and mold missing wood.
Overall rating:
4.68 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product22 of 23reviews
Rating Breakdown 25 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(18)
4
(6)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product22 of 23reviews
Customer reviews for Rotted Wood Repair Kit
Review 1 for Rotted Wood Repair Kit
from California, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked great for window restoration

PostedMay 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The original windows in my historic home had dry rot along the bottom edge and around some nail heads. The petrifier solution worked great to harden the wood. Then the Woody worked well to fill in the missing wood.
Hints: Warm up the woody mixture and it is a little easier to work with. I used a hair dryer. The warmer the day the faster the mixtures cure. Windows look as good as new now!!!
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Easy Instructions, Looks Great, Looks High End
Cons: be patient between steps
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Rotted Wood Repair Kit
from Florida, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

this product is easy to use

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Made my repairs and the wood was like new. Have to follow the instruction but it work great
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Rotted Wood Repair Kit
from Birmingham, AL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product

PostedJuly 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a front entry door with side lights that had rotted underneath the glass of the side lights. It started rotting in 2007 & I thought I was going to have to replace the whole entry system until I found this product. I ordered two of these kits so that I would have enough materials. I followed the directions and got rid of as much rot as possible, then used this kit to essentially rebuild the bottom area under the glass that was so badly rotten. I let it cure overnight then sanded & repainted everything. I am amazed at how great it worked. It looks like a brand new entry system, very strong, durable and it saved me a ton of money in not having to replace everything. I def recommend this product! Looks awesome!
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern
+28points
28out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Rotted Wood Repair Kit

Product worked as advertised

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used all 3 components of the kit: stabilizer, 2-part epoxy, and epoxy stick on a window and window sill that were badly rotted (as deeply as 3"). The product worked well and sanded to a nice finish when dry. The 2-part epoxy is a bit like peanut butter; has a tendency to stick to tools but also sticks well to the wood being filled. Will not doubt choose to use it again.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Rotted Wood Repair Kit
from St. Charles, IL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Rotted Wood Repair Kit

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The kit worked very well. Instructions were simple and easy to follow. However, there is not very much product so it won't cover a large area. A little on the pricey side, but I liked the results I got.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use
Cons: doesn't cover a large area
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Rotted Wood Repair Kit
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Buy

PostedMarch 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm using this to fix up some old and damaged decorative corbels and it's exactly what I needed. The products are very low odor, but definitely wear gloves (staining, some skin irritation). The petrifier does a good job penetrating and hardening rotted wood (not for structural support repairs--they have other products for that). The wood epoxy is easy to mix and apply. I haven't used the "lumber" they included, yet. There is a good amount of each product. My only complaint is having to buy this online--I don't understand why Home Depit doesn't carry this in the stores.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Rotted Wood Repair Kit
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product exceeded my expectations.

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The kit contained everything needed to repair a rotted sill and each component worked as I expected.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Use, Dries Quickly, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Rotted Wood Repair Kit
from Hampton, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works exactly as advertised!

PostedApril 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This stuff really works. The wood epoxy is thick, and not easy to work with, but once it hardens, it is strong. Would buy it again.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy Instructions, Good Protection
Cons: Difficult to Clean
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Rotted Wood Repair Kit
from Arkansas, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product.

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Great product not difficult to work. Looks like the repair will last for years.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Good Protection
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Rotted Wood Repair Kit
from Hamilton Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

wood repair kit

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Coverage 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Low odor 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product works very well for filling in rotted areas of wood. I had a very large area to repair. It did a great job. It does howevery take a lot longer to cure than what they say. If you have a lot of time this is the way to go. I repaired a whole window seal and upright strip. Very happy with results.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Rotted Wood Repair Kit
from Herald, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good all-in-one kit for small repair jobs

PostedSeptember 29, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I purchased this kit to repair a rotted hole in a window sill of my home. It contains everything I needed to make the repair and dries to a very hard, hopefully durable patch. The peanut butter consistency of the product is a little tricky to work with until you get the hang of it because it tends to stick to the putty knife and won't spread uniformly. So you need to dip the knife in some denatured alcohol frequently to smooth and shape the product once you fill the hole.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy Instructions, Good Protection, Dries Quickly, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean
Cons: hard to apply evenly
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Rotted Wood Repair Kit
from Manns Choice, PA 15550, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Since only time will determine effectiveness of product. . .

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Product works as instructed. However, information did not include warning that as wood repair material dries, it shrinks. It does absorb stain, but as a lighter shade than real surrounding wood. Information should provide coverage amount per ounce of product purchased.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Rotted Wood Repair Kit
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

The kit is complete, easy to use and does the job. I highly recommend it.

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The kit is complete, easy to use and does the job. I highly recommend it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Rotted Wood Repair Kit
from Chadds Ford, PA

The kit provided three repair methods, which was helpful.

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this kit to repair a wood sign that had been exposed to many years of weather and wear. Having the option of all three repair methods allowed me to address the different aspects of damage. I recommend this kit for small, but complicated repair of damaged wood.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Rotted Wood Repair Kit
from Enderlin, ND 58027, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

If you live in an old house you need this

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this product repairs old wood windows like no other product.
We always have some on hand when doing projects. We cannot buy this in our town so online ordering and shipping is great.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Dries Quickly
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Rotted Wood Repair Kit
from Montgomery, AL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Rotten Wood Filler Kit

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this kit to repair the bottom corner of the side house door. The rain continuously hammers the side wooden door of my house and the water settled in that one bottom section of the door and caused wood rot. Instead of replacing the whole length of wood, I thought it would be easier to just cut out the bad part and fill it in utilizing this kit and I enjoy doing projects around the house since I have free time. I followed the directions that were provided and I was satisfied with the results, however the moldable putty provided wasn't enough for my project, so I filled in the hole best as possible and used some 30 minute curing concrete mix to fill in the remainder of the hole to prevent rodents, insects, air, and water from entering the house. All the other supplies in the kit were sufficient. In the coming days a representative from Home Depot will bring a storm door to my home that I ordered and install it, so this will prevent more wood rot damage in the future.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Good Protection
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Rotted Wood Repair Kit

Works wonders

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We used this product to eliminate rot and repair a wooden beam outside of our home in the rainy Pacific Northwest. The product was easy to use, has everything we needed in the kit and has been taking the rainy weather just fine.
Pros: Easy Instructions, Good Protection, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
Cons: sets very quickly work fast
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Rotted Wood Repair Kit

Excellent

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent product and service. Thank you Home Depot
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy to Use, Modern, Dries Quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Rotted Wood Repair Kit
from Hampton, VA

Great product

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to use and sealed the wood around my front door.
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Rotted Wood Repair Kit
from Key West, FL 33040, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So Far So Good

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This prodcut is easy to use and worked just as advertised. I used it for some water damage to a door frame and so far so good. Simply follow directions and wait for it to dry. Sands smooth. Just hope it lasts.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, smell is mild
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>