728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Water Softeners or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System-DISCONTINUED

40,000 Grain Water Softener System-DISCONTINUED

The GE 40,000-Grain Water Softener System features SmartSoft technology that monitors water usage and anticipates future demand so you don't run out of soft water. It has 110 grains per gallon maximum hardness-removal capacity and it also removes 10 PPM of iron. Handy features such as programmable operation, an alarm and indicator lights and a permanent memory offer reliable, hassle-free operation. This system has the capacity and convenience features that make it ideal for families of 4 or more.
Overall rating:
4.392 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(74 reviews) 74
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product65 of 72reviews
Rating Breakdown 74 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(55)
4
(9)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(8)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product65 of 72reviews
Customer questions and answers:
63 Questions | 94 Answers
Customer reviews for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System-DISCONTINUED
from St. Louis, Mo.

Works great but......

PostedFebruary 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love the unit and the water in the house is wonderful! No more calcium deposits everywhere and the dishes from the dishwasher finally look clean. Only issue was installation. Even had Home Depot come out to install and they had a heck of time with it. Needed more tubing and had to install additional piping. Mind you, my home is only two years old so they were working with modern and up-to-date plumbing and still had a fit installing it. If you can get it installed, it's a wonderful product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System-DISCONTINUED
from Houston

it is a real good investment

PostedAugust 9, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I recommend this water softener it has everything you need it is a energy efficyency and the treatment of the water is excellent.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System-DISCONTINUED
from Georgetown, TX

Easy setup and installation

PostedNovember 14, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this water softener to replace one that was over 15 years old and, in addition to no longer softening the water, was overflowing the brine tank.
Our house was plumbed for a water softener, but the existing hookups were too low and set up for inflow at the opposite side of this unit. I purchased corrugated flexible stainless steel hookup kit from another store (Home Depot does not carry this kit) that had the transition from 3/4" to 1" built in to the corrugated pipes. Hook up with these corrugated flexible adapters was a snap. I recommend these highly for do-it-yourself installation.
Programming and setup of the softener was also simple. The hardness of the water (obtained from our water utility) is input to determine the amount of softening required. What a difference in our water! Dishes come out of the dishwasher sparkling clean, no more lime buildup in the shower or on plumbing fixtures and less soap required for all cleaning.
Our old softener used a lot of salt. I expect this one to be more economical in its use of salt.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System-DISCONTINUED
from Minneapolis, MN

Great free delivery

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I loved the free delivery to my home. I had a handy man install it, It was a bit of challenge since I had a old system and the plumbing was differnent. But the softener is easy to program and I finally have soft water.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System-DISCONTINUED
from Riverton, UT

Great Softener

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed this on a Saturday afternoon. The operating instructions were very clear and easy to follow. I had to get some advice from my Home Depot store on how to connect the plumbing but it wasn't too difficult. The softener works great. My family really enjoys the soft water.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System-DISCONTINUED
from Yorkville, IL

GE Water Softener

PostedMay 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Awesome results, we had hard water and rust in the water. This softener works excellent. We have had it for just over a year.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System-DISCONTINUED
from Elk Grove, CA

GE 40,000-Grain Water Softener System

PostedMay 31, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Despite some reviews I did buy this water softener and did install myself. I did already have a main water line loop put in by the home builder so pipes were already for the system. It was very easy to install and set up. I was concerned about the plastic in & out pipes on the unit but it doesn’t leak at all, and all of the store brand system I seen all were plastic as well. it has been running a week now and everything is going good. I would buy it again.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System-DISCONTINUED
from Shoreview
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Probably more capicity than I need, but I love the features.

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Since the first time when we installed it, I have not heard it run. The water quality is good and the automatic operation is very efficient. My son installed it in a few hours. (Taking out the old one was more work than installing the new.)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System-DISCONTINUED
from Manassas, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
very easy to install and setup. i was able to finish teh job in two hours.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System-DISCONTINUED
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great for people with skin problems

PostedJune 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this unit a few days ago and my husband installed in a few hours. It fits very well in any area and the instructions are very clear. I bought a shower filter before investing in a softner just to confirm the difference in the water. I have to tell you that having 2 girls with extremely dry skin that caused them to have excema problems I am 100% happy with the outcomes. I love how the water feels so clean and soft. My girs skins have dramatically improved and my skin which was very dry has become so shiny and soft. My skin is glowy and maintains it's natural oils. I would never ever shower on hard water again. I would recommend this water softner without reservations, specially to those with skin issues, it is the best investment you could ever make and is so worth it. I have no regrets and would advise parents to buy it if thier kids have any skin conditions. I did many research before buying and learned so much about the chemicals in the water and the effects on on the skin. Overall it's a great system so far.
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System-DISCONTINUED
from White Lake, MI, USA

Great so far after 1 month of use

PostedAugust 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this unit about a month go (July 2012) and installed it myself. The description says an installation kit is included, but keep in mind you still need to do some plumbing to get this connected. I used braided steel flexible lines and attached to the existing plumbing from an older softener. Still had to make 3 trips to Home Depot to get the right fittings, etc, but that isn't too unusual for me. Prior to buying this I bought a $10 water test kit at HD to gauge water hardness and iron content. I'm glad I did because I assumed I needed the larger 45,000 or 48,000 grain unit which cost a few hundred dollars more. The test showed that the 40,000 grain unit was large enough for my needs. We are on a private well with a lot of rust, and with my old softener I had to use Red Out salt 100% of the time. So far with this unit I am using regular Morton System Saver salt and have experienced no rust staining in toilets or sinks. I really like how the unit can be programmed and water hardness can be adjusted. Also shows average daily water consumption and flow rate when water is being used. Finally, with my old softener from a "Culligan" type place I was using 2,000 lbs of salt each year. The old unit regenerated each night even if I wasn't using water. This unit generates "on-demand" as needed. I filled the salt container and the unit estimates 200 lbs of salt will last more than 100 days. I expect this softener to pay for itself rather quickly. So far the only negative (thus 4 stars for Quality) is a plasticky feel of the parts connecting to the water supply. I was worried during install that I might torque these and break them since I was using flexible lines, but so far no problems and no leaks. Lastly, my drain line runs 8' high and 30 feet laterally to my septic field. The manual says this is the limit for operation, but it is working great for me with about 40-50 PSI coming in from the well.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Convenient, Looks Great, Takes Less Space, Nice Design, uses very little salt, easy to install with right parts, easy to program and check status
Cons: somewhat plasticky feel to the water connectors
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System-DISCONTINUED

Pleased with installation and function

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought this to replace an ancient softener that was in our house when we bought it. It was impossible to intuitively figure out the operation of the old softener, and we were stuck paying a company to service it. After 18 months, it finally seemed to have died, and we happily caught a Black Friday deal on this softener.
My husband and I were a bit anxious about taking on such a big plumbing job ourselves, but we were determined to understand the equipment and be able to use it ourselves without an outside service provider. The manual was incredibly helpful, and we completed the installation in 3-4 hours, including two trips to the hardware store and two failed attempts to turn the water back on because we still had some leakage from our pipes. All in all, we were pleased at how relatively smoothly it went. The instructions were clear, and they contain a huge troubleshooting section that makes me feel fairly confident in our ability to operate the machine independently in the future.
In the 10 days or so since the installation, we have been blessed with soft water, so it definitely works! Also, the modern design and digital screen make it much more intuitive to use than our old dinosaur. The footprint is also half as big, since they have placed the smaller tank inside the larger tank, which is very nice. It's a pretty attractive piece of equipment, for what it is. Overall, so far, we are very pleased.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Convenient, Takes Less Space, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System-DISCONTINUED
from Utah

As good as the expensive ones and easy to install

PostedJune 28, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works great, miserly with the salt consumption, and super easy to install. My parents paid five times this price to the local "professional" water conditioning company, got a free water purifier, and mine works better. Both were installed in the same month last summer (about a year ago).
What I don't know is if this one will last as long as the expensive models. I'd like the ability to hook it up to my internet router and be able to "idle" it while we're out of town via the web (wow I'm a geek!), but I'm sure that will come out in the next few years.
At the price, it's unbeatable in terms of performance & installation ease.
Make sure to get the right 1/2" or 3/4" to 1" swivel adapters before you leave the store; they're not included and it's pretty much impossible to install it without.
+10points
13out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System-DISCONTINUED
from Yale, Michigan

40000 GRAIN SOFTENER

PostedApril 6, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I ordered online on Saturday and received on Tuesday.
All the hookups were the same as my old softener so it only took me about 10 minutes to install. My water is softer than it has been in years. Pleased all the way around.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System-DISCONTINUED
from Suring, Wisconsin

My water has 17 grains of hardness and iron, but this softner is giving me very soft water in a house of 4 people.

PostedMay 31, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The softner came to my house without any issues in just a few days. I had to reverse my intake and outlet copper pipes which took some time, but after about 3 weeks it is working flawlessly. So far so good.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System-DISCONTINUED
from Greenwich, CT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It worked as advertised

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had hard water for 30 years, but the effects are more noticible since phosphates were removed from detergents. I installed the water softener 3 weeks ago and I began to see cleaner dishes and no residue on pots and pans within a week. I am not thrilled with the new taste of the water however, so I have been bleeding in 10% untreated water with the softened water. Hopefully, I can find a balance between water that is soft enough and still tastes good.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System-DISCONTINUED
from Tennessee, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best value for price

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We had a Kinetico softener in our previous home which ran flawlessly for 20 years. In shopping for our new home's softener, Kinetico was almost $3000. A Culligan was almost $2000. This softener was a great value.
Installation was simple, using PEX tubing to reroute 30' of water line and installing a bypass. The unit has worked well for a month now.
It arrived in a flimsy cartoon with minimal packing. One tab on a lid was broken, plus the main support ring for the controls was cracked through. I didn't bother with the damage because it would still function. The carton was 25% destroyed on one side and the UPS deliverer apologized.
It is a one piece unit, where the entire unit sits in the salt tank, instead of the salt/brine being in a separate container. This should only be a problem if someone uses impure salt and has to clean the brine tank. With a separate brine tank, you can empty it, turn it over and hose it out.
A concern I have for the future is that it's rated for 110 grains. I have 90 grains hardness, but also have 3 ppm iron. This unit will remove dissolved iron but the hardness setting is kicked up 15 grains to allow for the iron. Now the setting is 90 plus 15 for a total load on the softener of 105 grains. So far so good.
Recommend this softener for the average homeowner.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System-DISCONTINUED
from East Central Fl.
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Perfect

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very happy with this unit. Install was straight forward and simple. Works as well as overpriced service company's units I have had. Does have overflow safety drain, just in case.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System-DISCONTINUED

Great Softener

PostedMay 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a really good water softener - so far at least. We've been using it our new house for 2 months. Water from our well here in South Central Texas is quite hard, and has a very high iron content (5 ppm). Using Diamond Red Out salt, and occasional use of Iron Out powder before regeneration, we have no evidence of iron staining, and our water softness is perfect!
Although the softener regenerate often (every 2 or 3 days for our family of 2), it uses very little salt - even though we have the hardness level set at 30,000. Hopefully we can look forward to years of satisfaction from this easy-to-use machine.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System-DISCONTINUED
from Buffalo, MN 55313, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

40000 grain GE water softener

PostedAugust 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased & Installed in March 2012. I've had it going for about 6 months now and couldn't be happier. Made a difference in less than 24 hours. I considered the 30000 unit, however this one seemed the better choice. A store associate mentioned they originally purchased a 30000 and then upgraded to 40000, so that gave me even more confidence in my decision.
If you are not 100% sure on how to install this, I would recommend having a professional do it. I paid a plumber to install it correctly. A couple reviews I read.... I have a feeling they did not properly install their water softener (taste of saltwater.... you're not supposed to soften your drinking water! water pressure decreased.... I did not experience this at all!) Materials for installation alone were $100 for mine, so keep in mind you'll likely have to purchase materials for installation.
On my unit it recommends Diamond Crystal salt. I've only had to refill it once in the 6 months. Me, my wife and our 1 year old. We use a lot of water in my opinion. The owners manual recommends cleaning a filter in the softener. I plan on doing this every 6 months to keep it clear.
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Looks Great, Takes Less Space, Nice Design
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>