728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Water Softeners or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System

40,000 Grain Water Softener System

The GE 40,000-Grain Water Softener System features SmartSoft technology that monitors water usage and anticipates future demand so you don't run out of soft water. It has 110 grains per gallon maximum hardness-removal capacity and it also removes 10 PPM of iron. Handy features such as programmable operation, an alarm and indicator lights and a permanent memory offer reliable, hassle-free operation. This system has the capacity and convenience features that make it ideal for families of 4 or more.
Overall rating:
4.347 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(75 reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product65 of 73reviews
Rating Breakdown 75 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(55)
4
(9)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(9)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product65 of 73reviews
Customer questions and answers:
65 Questions | 96 Answers
Customer reviews for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System
Review 1 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System
from Moab, UT

The luxury of soft water

PostedFebruary 2, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is an awesome machine! Quite and efficient and the water treats is amazing. My wife was excited to find the chunks of mineral breaking up and out of her favorite tea pot after only two weeks use. I can only imagine the benefits to the rest of our appliances, not to mention our skin. Thank you GE.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System
from St. Louis, Mo.

Works great but......

PostedFebruary 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love the unit and the water in the house is wonderful! No more calcium deposits everywhere and the dishes from the dishwasher finally look clean. Only issue was installation. Even had Home Depot come out to install and they had a heck of time with it. Needed more tubing and had to install additional piping. Mind you, my home is only two years old so they were working with modern and up-to-date plumbing and still had a fit installing it. If you can get it installed, it's a wonderful product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System
from Portage, MI

Soft is good

PostedApril 21, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The water softener was easy to hook up. I did have a small drip leak for about a week that corrected itself. Other than that I've had no trouble and it performs very well. The water is soft and my dishes don't have spots. The setup is super easy, just follow the directions, this was my first time doing any plumbing with the house.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System
from Pleasanton, CA

low cost water softener

PostedJune 21, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It is very simple to install and operate. Water quality is also very good.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System
from New Albany, IN

Easy to install

PostedFebruary 20, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This unit is very easy to insatll. I had mine completed with in 2 hours. You will need some basic skills but it should be easy for the do it yourselfer.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System
from Jackson, California

G.E. Softner

PostedAugust 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Compact, easy to install and program..
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System
from mulvane ks

excellent

PostedMay 18, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this water softner about 4 months ago and it has yet to regenerate. I still have soft water, but i live alone so I do not use much water.
I would recommend this particular model over any other models or brand.
Easy to install, but the only drawback is the bypass valve is flimzy/cheap.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System
from South East Colorado

Works great

PostedFebruary 20, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought it about two weeks ago, and so far its working good, water is much softer now. We used to have clear choice water softner which went bad and the new one was costing over 2000$, while this was only 500$. Its easy to install and startup. You should be able to lift the salt bag above 4 feet to pour it
Also try to get water testing kit as there is one setting that asks for hardness of water.
It does come with easy installation things but you should know how to solder copper pipes, if not then you may be able to use those kwik connect sharkbite copper connectors (visit local plumbing store)
Any plumbing job is cheaper if you can install things your self. I had to cut the pipes and re arrange them little bit and took me nearly 2 to 3 hours. Other than that everything is easy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System
from Yorkville, IL

GE Water Softener

PostedMay 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Awesome results, we had hard water and rust in the water. This softener works excellent. We have had it for just over a year.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System
from Minnesota

Works great so far

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had it delivered to our front door and installed on my own - works great so far. I like the features that tell you how many days it's estimating before you'll run out of salt, as well as the beeping feature when you get low. Nothing to think about once it's operational. Easy to install and get up and running.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System
from Charlotte, NC

Best Softner for the money I have found.

PostedJuly 27, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I finally had to replace my 10 year old GE water softner, And since the other GE did so good I got this GE softner. I have had this unit for several months now and it does excellent, and is easier on salt usage compared to the older unit. I started noticeing when the older unit was getting near the end of it's life that the water was not as good as it once was and that water spots were on things that our well water dried on. I found out the old units brine pump was worn out and the brine tank was leaking where I dropped a saw on it (Clumsey me) . So I got this unit and now all is well again. Clean,soft and good smelling water (No smell). Its a direct fit up to our older GE softner (35,000 GE grain) so install was as simple as slide the old unit out and the new unit in. I recommend installing a whole house sediment fiter on the water line before it enters the softner to help keep the resin balls in the softner more effiicent. Also this unit softens and cleans the water just as good as my friends $2000 Ra**soft system. I am very happy with this unit.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System
from MI

The Best Water Softener

PostedJuly 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Uses much less salt than other models, easy to install for a do it yourself'er, super easy to program. Buy it!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System
from Minneapolis, MN

Great free delivery

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I loved the free delivery to my home. I had a handy man install it, It was a bit of challenge since I had a old system and the plumbing was differnent. But the softener is easy to program and I finally have soft water.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System
from Riverton, UT

Great Softener

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed this on a Saturday afternoon. The operating instructions were very clear and easy to follow. I had to get some advice from my Home Depot store on how to connect the plumbing but it wasn't too difficult. The softener works great. My family really enjoys the soft water.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System
from Wauseon, OH

GE 40,000 Grain Water Softener

PostedFebruary 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent product...especially at the price. Quick prompt delivery to my house. Easy to install. No negatives on this one.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System
from Becker, MN

Great Product

PostedJanuary 26, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Shipping was fast and straight to my door. Setup and install took less than 1 hour once we had the misc. plumbing needed to hook it up from my existing house plumbing. The kit included contains the drain hoses, clamps, grease, and grounding clamps.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System
from Roswell, GA

Excellent Design

PostedApril 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The first one was manhandled by UPS and the housing was broken. We returned it to the local store and my money was back in my account the next day. The second one (judging from the condition of the box) was also manhandled by UPS but apparently faired better than the first one. My husband had no trouble installing it and I like the design. It sure is good to have soft water again. We have a well and some of our water issues include iron, calcium, dissolved slicia, and 13 grains of hardness. I would recommend it for well water which is usually somewhat tough to condition compared to municipal water.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System
from Valrico, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

easy to install to existing line

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had this installed within a few hours to an existing setup. Works great...love the soft water! It also has a low salt beeping feature that is helpful...we are definitely happy with the purhase.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System
from Manassas, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
very easy to install and setup. i was able to finish teh job in two hours.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System
from East Central Fl.
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Perfect

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very happy with this unit. Install was straight forward and simple. Works as well as overpriced service company's units I have had. Does have overflow safety drain, just in case.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>