728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System

40,000 Grain Water Softener System

The GE 40,000-Grain Water Softener System features SmartSoft technology that monitors water usage and anticipates future demand so you don't run out of soft water. It has 110 grains per gallon maximum hardness-removal capacity and it also removes 10 PPM of iron. Handy features such as programmable operation, an alarm and indicator lights and a permanent memory offer reliable, hassle-free operation. This system has the capacity and convenience features that make it ideal for families of 4 or more.
Overall rating:
4.347 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(75 reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product65 of 73reviews
Rating Breakdown 75 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(55)
4
(9)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(9)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product65 of 73reviews
Customer questions and answers:
65 Questions | 96 Answers
Customer reviews for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System
Review 1 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System
from Utah

As good as the expensive ones and easy to install

PostedJune 28, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Works great, miserly with the salt consumption, and super easy to install. My parents paid five times this price to the local "professional" water conditioning company, got a free water purifier, and mine works better. Both were installed in the same month last summer (about a year ago).
What I don't know is if this one will last as long as the expensive models. I'd like the ability to hook it up to my internet router and be able to "idle" it while we're out of town via the web (wow I'm a geek!), but I'm sure that will come out in the next few years.
At the price, it's unbeatable in terms of performance & installation ease.
Make sure to get the right 1/2" or 3/4" to 1" swivel adapters before you leave the store; they're not included and it's pretty much impossible to install it without.
+10points
13out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System
from Moab, UT

The luxury of soft water

PostedFebruary 2, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is an awesome machine! Quite and efficient and the water treats is amazing. My wife was excited to find the chunks of mineral breaking up and out of her favorite tea pot after only two weeks use. I can only imagine the benefits to the rest of our appliances, not to mention our skin. Thank you GE.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System
from Portage, MI

Soft is good

PostedApril 21, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The water softener was easy to hook up. I did have a small drip leak for about a week that corrected itself. Other than that I've had no trouble and it performs very well. The water is soft and my dishes don't have spots. The setup is super easy, just follow the directions, this was my first time doing any plumbing with the house.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System
from Charlotte, NC

Best Softner for the money I have found.

PostedJuly 27, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I finally had to replace my 10 year old GE water softner, And since the other GE did so good I got this GE softner. I have had this unit for several months now and it does excellent, and is easier on salt usage compared to the older unit. I started noticeing when the older unit was getting near the end of it's life that the water was not as good as it once was and that water spots were on things that our well water dried on. I found out the old units brine pump was worn out and the brine tank was leaking where I dropped a saw on it (Clumsey me) . So I got this unit and now all is well again. Clean,soft and good smelling water (No smell). Its a direct fit up to our older GE softner (35,000 GE grain) so install was as simple as slide the old unit out and the new unit in. I recommend installing a whole house sediment fiter on the water line before it enters the softner to help keep the resin balls in the softner more effiicent. Also this unit softens and cleans the water just as good as my friends $2000 Ra**soft system. I am very happy with this unit.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System
from Georgetown, TX

Easy setup and installation

PostedNovember 14, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought this water softener to replace one that was over 15 years old and, in addition to no longer softening the water, was overflowing the brine tank.
Our house was plumbed for a water softener, but the existing hookups were too low and set up for inflow at the opposite side of this unit. I purchased corrugated flexible stainless steel hookup kit from another store (Home Depot does not carry this kit) that had the transition from 3/4" to 1" built in to the corrugated pipes. Hook up with these corrugated flexible adapters was a snap. I recommend these highly for do-it-yourself installation.
Programming and setup of the softener was also simple. The hardness of the water (obtained from our water utility) is input to determine the amount of softening required. What a difference in our water! Dishes come out of the dishwasher sparkling clean, no more lime buildup in the shower or on plumbing fixtures and less soap required for all cleaning.
Our old softener used a lot of salt. I expect this one to be more economical in its use of salt.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System
from Riverton, UT

Great Softener

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I installed this on a Saturday afternoon. The operating instructions were very clear and easy to follow. I had to get some advice from my Home Depot store on how to connect the plumbing but it wasn't too difficult. The softener works great. My family really enjoys the soft water.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System
from Becker, MN

Great Product

PostedJanuary 26, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Shipping was fast and straight to my door. Setup and install took less than 1 hour once we had the misc. plumbing needed to hook it up from my existing house plumbing. The kit included contains the drain hoses, clamps, grease, and grounding clamps.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System
from Roswell, GA

Excellent Design

PostedApril 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The first one was manhandled by UPS and the housing was broken. We returned it to the local store and my money was back in my account the next day. The second one (judging from the condition of the box) was also manhandled by UPS but apparently faired better than the first one. My husband had no trouble installing it and I like the design. It sure is good to have soft water again. We have a well and some of our water issues include iron, calcium, dissolved slicia, and 13 grains of hardness. I would recommend it for well water which is usually somewhat tough to condition compared to municipal water.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System
from Yorkville, IL

GE Water Softener

PostedMay 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Awesome results, we had hard water and rust in the water. This softener works excellent. We have had it for just over a year.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System
from mulvane ks

excellent

PostedMay 18, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this water softner about 4 months ago and it has yet to regenerate. I still have soft water, but i live alone so I do not use much water.
I would recommend this particular model over any other models or brand.
Easy to install, but the only drawback is the bypass valve is flimzy/cheap.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System
from Elk Grove, CA

GE 40,000-Grain Water Softener System

PostedMay 31, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Despite some reviews I did buy this water softener and did install myself. I did already have a main water line loop put in by the home builder so pipes were already for the system. It was very easy to install and set up. I was concerned about the plastic in & out pipes on the unit but it doesn’t leak at all, and all of the store brand system I seen all were plastic as well. it has been running a week now and everything is going good. I would buy it again.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System
from Suring, Wisconsin

My water has 17 grains of hardness and iron, but this softner is giving me very soft water in a house of 4 people.

PostedMay 31, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The softner came to my house without any issues in just a few days. I had to reverse my intake and outlet copper pipes which took some time, but after about 3 weeks it is working flawlessly. So far so good.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System
from Minnesota

Works great so far

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Had it delivered to our front door and installed on my own - works great so far. I like the features that tell you how many days it's estimating before you'll run out of salt, as well as the beeping feature when you get low. Nothing to think about once it's operational. Easy to install and get up and running.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System
from Woodbine, MD

Great Water Softener

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
So far this water softener has worked quite well. I had very hard well water and was replacing my hot water heater every year or less. I have only had it a few weeks but I can already tell that it is working since the bathtub has not been turning green like usual and I don't have streaks in my toilet bowl anymore. It was VERY easy to install also. It comes with hardware that fits regular 1" PVC but I have 3/4" CPVC pipes so I had to get an adapter for that which wasn't a big deal. Other than all I needed was a few elbow joints, a few extra feet of cpvc, and some pvc cement and it hooked right up to my cpvc pipes. Programming it was very easy also. The display is very simple and straight forward. My only problem was I did not realize I was going to need a place to drain 30-40 gallons of water every time it recharched. The only place I could install it was about 60ft. from my sump pump so be sure you have a drain nearby or you'll have to go buy a 100 ft. hose like I did to drain it somewhere else. Overall I would recommend this water softener.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System

Awsome water softener

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Really does a great job. Made us realize what a terrible job our other one was doing. Water smells so much better, we can even drink it! Easy to install. Love it
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System
from Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Installation Tips

PostedNovember 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
OK,you did your research and concluded this is the Best Buy unit. I agree. It performs flawlessly. My wife loves it, and we actually have suds in the shower!!
Now, for my peer hubbies (who like me are plumbing challenged), here are a few installation tips:
1. Use the Sharkbite adapters at Home Depot. The other home improvement store does not sell these (which contributed to my decision to buy at Home Depot). They make installation a snap with NO SOLDERING if you have a pre-plumbed water softener loop. If so, you will need a 1/2 inch (copper pipe) to a 3/4 inch (flexline) male adapter.
2. The water softener has a 1 inch connection, so the flex line you will need has both 3/4 (for sharkbite connection) and 1 inch (at water softener) female connections. Home Depot has these, too.
3. I installed a ball valve on the "in" side of the line. This lets me shut off water at the water conditioner unit instead of running down to the street and fiddling with that valve. You will need a 3/4 to 3/4 male connection to hook up the ball valve to the flexline. Now, when I need to do minor plumbing work in the house I can just go to the garage and turn the water off there.
4. Be carefull about your hookups. My neighbor's "in" line was the opposite of mine. To figure out what was what, I loosely hooked up my flexlines to the sharkbite adapters and directed them into a bucket while I went to street and turned on main line.
5. Don't forget your DD-214 and get your 10% discount!
+20points
24out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System
from Connecticut
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Similar to my old Kenmore water softener and works very well.

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The GE softener was a direct replacement for my old Kenmore water softener. It looks like it was manufactured by the same supplier. The installation and start up was easy. I used two copper 3/4 inch to 1 inch NPT converters to connect the water lines to the softener. So far the softener is working very well however, it's only been in operation for a week. Anyway, I expect it will serve our family well for the next 10 years just like the Kenmore did.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System
from Greenwich, CT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It worked as advertised

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have had hard water for 30 years, but the effects are more noticible since phosphates were removed from detergents. I installed the water softener 3 weeks ago and I began to see cleaner dishes and no residue on pots and pans within a week. I am not thrilled with the new taste of the water however, so I have been bleeding in 10% untreated water with the softened water. Hopefully, I can find a balance between water that is soft enough and still tastes good.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System
from Tennessee, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best value for price

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We had a Kinetico softener in our previous home which ran flawlessly for 20 years. In shopping for our new home's softener, Kinetico was almost $3000. A Culligan was almost $2000. This softener was a great value.
Installation was simple, using PEX tubing to reroute 30' of water line and installing a bypass. The unit has worked well for a month now.
It arrived in a flimsy cartoon with minimal packing. One tab on a lid was broken, plus the main support ring for the controls was cracked through. I didn't bother with the damage because it would still function. The carton was 25% destroyed on one side and the UPS deliverer apologized.
It is a one piece unit, where the entire unit sits in the salt tank, instead of the salt/brine being in a separate container. This should only be a problem if someone uses impure salt and has to clean the brine tank. With a separate brine tank, you can empty it, turn it over and hose it out.
A concern I have for the future is that it's rated for 110 grains. I have 90 grains hardness, but also have 3 ppm iron. This unit will remove dissolved iron but the hardness setting is kicked up 15 grains to allow for the iron. Now the setting is 90 plus 15 for a total load on the softener of 105 grains. So far so good.
Recommend this softener for the average homeowner.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System
from Shoreview
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Probably more capicity than I need, but I love the features.

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Since the first time when we installed it, I have not heard it run. The water quality is good and the automatic operation is very efficient. My son installed it in a few hours. (Taking out the old one was more work than installing the new.)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>