728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Water Softeners or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System

40,000 Grain Water Softener System

The GE 40,000-Grain Water Softener System features SmartSoft technology that monitors water usage and anticipates future demand so you don't run out of soft water. It has 110 grains per gallon maximum hardness-removal capacity and it also removes 10 PPM of iron. Handy features such as programmable operation, an alarm and indicator lights and a permanent memory offer reliable, hassle-free operation. This system has the capacity and convenience features that make it ideal for families of 4 or more.
Overall rating:
4.347 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(75 reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product65 of 73reviews
Rating Breakdown 75 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(55)
4
(9)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(9)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product65 of 73reviews
Customer questions and answers:
65 Questions | 96 Answers
Customer reviews for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System
Review 1 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System
from Utah

As good as the expensive ones and easy to install

PostedJune 28, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works great, miserly with the salt consumption, and super easy to install. My parents paid five times this price to the local "professional" water conditioning company, got a free water purifier, and mine works better. Both were installed in the same month last summer (about a year ago).
What I don't know is if this one will last as long as the expensive models. I'd like the ability to hook it up to my internet router and be able to "idle" it while we're out of town via the web (wow I'm a geek!), but I'm sure that will come out in the next few years.
At the price, it's unbeatable in terms of performance & installation ease.
Make sure to get the right 1/2" or 3/4" to 1" swivel adapters before you leave the store; they're not included and it's pretty much impossible to install it without.
+10points
13out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System
from San Jose, CA

Very pleased

PostedNovember 7, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This water softener works well and is very miserly with the salt. The family loves the softer water and the dishes and laundry are definitely cleaner. No more water spots in the shower, either.
Pros:
- Monitors your water consumption and recharges only when its needed (others recharge on a schedule).
- Low cost (about $500 vs. $2k plus for one from a local company)
- Self-contained - everything in one unit
- Easy to install
Cons:
- The valve assembly is plastic - long term durability is a question mark
- None of the home depots in my area sold the 1" flexible tubing needed to connect this to my water supply. I found what I needed at a plumbing supply co.
Overall very happy with this unit.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System
from Moab, UT

The luxury of soft water

PostedFebruary 2, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is an awesome machine! Quite and efficient and the water treats is amazing. My wife was excited to find the chunks of mineral breaking up and out of her favorite tea pot after only two weeks use. I can only imagine the benefits to the rest of our appliances, not to mention our skin. Thank you GE.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System
from St. Louis, Mo.

Works great but......

PostedFebruary 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love the unit and the water in the house is wonderful! No more calcium deposits everywhere and the dishes from the dishwasher finally look clean. Only issue was installation. Even had Home Depot come out to install and they had a heck of time with it. Needed more tubing and had to install additional piping. Mind you, my home is only two years old so they were working with modern and up-to-date plumbing and still had a fit installing it. If you can get it installed, it's a wonderful product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System
from South East Colorado

Works great

PostedFebruary 20, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought it about two weeks ago, and so far its working good, water is much softer now. We used to have clear choice water softner which went bad and the new one was costing over 2000$, while this was only 500$. Its easy to install and startup. You should be able to lift the salt bag above 4 feet to pour it
Also try to get water testing kit as there is one setting that asks for hardness of water.
It does come with easy installation things but you should know how to solder copper pipes, if not then you may be able to use those kwik connect sharkbite copper connectors (visit local plumbing store)
Any plumbing job is cheaper if you can install things your self. I had to cut the pipes and re arrange them little bit and took me nearly 2 to 3 hours. Other than that everything is easy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System
from New Albany, IN

Easy to install

PostedFebruary 20, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This unit is very easy to insatll. I had mine completed with in 2 hours. You will need some basic skills but it should be easy for the do it yourselfer.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System
from Yale, Michigan

40000 GRAIN SOFTENER

PostedApril 6, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I ordered online on Saturday and received on Tuesday.
All the hookups were the same as my old softener so it only took me about 10 minutes to install. My water is softer than it has been in years. Pleased all the way around.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System
from Portage, MI

Soft is good

PostedApril 21, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The water softener was easy to hook up. I did have a small drip leak for about a week that corrected itself. Other than that I've had no trouble and it performs very well. The water is soft and my dishes don't have spots. The setup is super easy, just follow the directions, this was my first time doing any plumbing with the house.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System
from Phoenix, AZ

Nice performance

PostedJune 20, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this 40k grain GE unit to replace a 7 year old Kenmore 42k grain softener. Although the internals look almost identical, this GE unit performs much better. Our water feels softer and the noticable sudsing improvements bear that out. It's too new for me to comment on salt usage. This is well worth the investment. Installation was a piece of cake. I would have prefered the copper connectors of the Kenmore unit (the GE connectors are plastic), but no leaks after hooking it up.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System
from Pleasanton, CA

low cost water softener

PostedJune 21, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It is very simple to install and operate. Water quality is also very good.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System
from MI

The Best Water Softener

PostedJuly 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Uses much less salt than other models, easy to install for a do it yourself'er, super easy to program. Buy it!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System
from Charlotte, NC

Best Softner for the money I have found.

PostedJuly 27, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I finally had to replace my 10 year old GE water softner, And since the other GE did so good I got this GE softner. I have had this unit for several months now and it does excellent, and is easier on salt usage compared to the older unit. I started noticeing when the older unit was getting near the end of it's life that the water was not as good as it once was and that water spots were on things that our well water dried on. I found out the old units brine pump was worn out and the brine tank was leaking where I dropped a saw on it (Clumsey me) . So I got this unit and now all is well again. Clean,soft and good smelling water (No smell). Its a direct fit up to our older GE softner (35,000 GE grain) so install was as simple as slide the old unit out and the new unit in. I recommend installing a whole house sediment fiter on the water line before it enters the softner to help keep the resin balls in the softner more effiicent. Also this unit softens and cleans the water just as good as my friends $2000 Ra**soft system. I am very happy with this unit.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System
from Houston

it is a real good investment

PostedAugust 9, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I recommend this water softener it has everything you need it is a energy efficyency and the treatment of the water is excellent.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System
from Jackson, California

G.E. Softner

PostedAugust 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Compact, easy to install and program..
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System
from Georgetown, TX

Easy setup and installation

PostedNovember 14, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this water softener to replace one that was over 15 years old and, in addition to no longer softening the water, was overflowing the brine tank.
Our house was plumbed for a water softener, but the existing hookups were too low and set up for inflow at the opposite side of this unit. I purchased corrugated flexible stainless steel hookup kit from another store (Home Depot does not carry this kit) that had the transition from 3/4" to 1" built in to the corrugated pipes. Hook up with these corrugated flexible adapters was a snap. I recommend these highly for do-it-yourself installation.
Programming and setup of the softener was also simple. The hardness of the water (obtained from our water utility) is input to determine the amount of softening required. What a difference in our water! Dishes come out of the dishwasher sparkling clean, no more lime buildup in the shower or on plumbing fixtures and less soap required for all cleaning.
Our old softener used a lot of salt. I expect this one to be more economical in its use of salt.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System
from Minneapolis, MN

Great free delivery

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I loved the free delivery to my home. I had a handy man install it, It was a bit of challenge since I had a old system and the plumbing was differnent. But the softener is easy to program and I finally have soft water.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System
from Ellendale, MN

Excellent Product

PostedDecember 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product provides good quality water. I am on very rusty well water & have seen a vast improvement in quality of water. The settings are easy to understand and use. Delivery was Free & on schedule. What more could a home owner ask for.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System
from Riverton, UT

Great Softener

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed this on a Saturday afternoon. The operating instructions were very clear and easy to follow. I had to get some advice from my Home Depot store on how to connect the plumbing but it wasn't too difficult. The softener works great. My family really enjoys the soft water.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System
from Becker, MN

Great Product

PostedJanuary 26, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Shipping was fast and straight to my door. Setup and install took less than 1 hour once we had the misc. plumbing needed to hook it up from my existing house plumbing. The kit included contains the drain hoses, clamps, grease, and grounding clamps.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 40,000 Grain Water Softener System
from Wauseon, OH

GE 40,000 Grain Water Softener

PostedFebruary 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent product...especially at the price. Quick prompt delivery to my house. Easy to install. No negatives on this one.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>