728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Ceiling Fans or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Captiva 52 in. Indoor/Outdoor New Bronze Ceiling Fan-DISCONTINUED

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

Captiva 52 in. Indoor/Outdoor New Bronze Ceiling Fan-DISCONTINUED

The nautical styling and 5 black mahogany blades of the Hunter Captiva 52 in. Indoor/Outdoor New Bronze Ceiling Fan adds a handsome touch of transitional styling that looks great with different home decor styles. The Installer's Choice 2-position mounting system gives you the flexibility to hang the fan standard, angled or flush to achieve your desired look. The fan is wet rated for covered and uncovered use outdoors and Energy Star qualified to help you save on energy costs year round.
Overall rating:
4.571 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(35 reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
91%of customersrecommend this product29 of 32reviews
Rating Breakdown 35 reviews
4.6 out of 5
5
(28)
4
(3)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(1)
Appearance 
4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5
Quality 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
91%of customersrecommend this product29 of 32reviews
Customer reviews for Captiva 52 in. Indoor/Outdoor New Bronze Ceiling Fan-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for Captiva 52 in. Indoor/Outdoor New Bronze Ceiling Fan-DISCONTINUED

Nice looking and quiet. Love it.

PostedMay 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I chose this fan because it is rated for outdoors, but also because it has plain, clean lines. We installed it on our covered porch and it drops down perfectly, hanging from the sloped ceiling, with the parts from the box (no extra drop needed).
It's very quiet and moves a lot of air. The chains don't "clink" either, which is nice.
The blades are a nice, solid plastic, so we don't have to worry about the dampness. They have a wood-grain look to them on one side, but the other side is plain and looks like metal, so that's the side I have showing.
I'm amazed that we got such a nice quality fan for such a good price. We've had some very warm, humid days already this year and the fan has made it very comfortable for us to sit outside on the porch.
I'm very happy with it and would recommend it.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Captiva 52 in. Indoor/Outdoor New Bronze Ceiling Fan-DISCONTINUED
from Cartersville, GA

Very good quality for the price paid

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We chose this fan because of the Hunter name which we know represents good quality and also the price which was very reasonable. We installed the fan easily within one hour. It looks good and performs very well to cool an outside deck area. We are very pleased overall.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Captiva 52 in. Indoor/Outdoor New Bronze Ceiling Fan-DISCONTINUED
from Fremont, OH 43420, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Excellent fan

PostedNovember 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Excellent fan Quiet ceiling fan it for my garage (man cave)
goring to buy one more.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Captiva 52 in. Indoor/Outdoor New Bronze Ceiling Fan-DISCONTINUED
from Tx
Age Range:65 or over
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Perfect for outdoor application

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Excellent value, installed easy for us as we were replacing an 18 year old outdoor fan. Very quiet and looks outstanding. Highly. Recommend.
Pros: Functional, Fast / Speed, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Captiva 52 in. Indoor/Outdoor New Bronze Ceiling Fan-DISCONTINUED
from Orlando

Almost perfect

PostedNovember 4, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We bought 3 of these fans for our lanai. The construction is solid and putting them up was a breeze. Why do I say 'almost' perfect? Its because this fan can not be flush mounted. The box and the description says flush mount, but when I called Hunter I was informed that this was not possible. After hanging the fans with the down rod and no light kit, it hangs down about 12.5 inches from the roof.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Captiva 52 in. Indoor/Outdoor New Bronze Ceiling Fan-DISCONTINUED
from Austin, TX

Great Outdoor Fan!!

PostedMarch 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We bought two of these for our new covered outdoor space. We bought them mainly for their appearance. Almost all the other outdoor fans look cheap. These look really nice. We've had them for 2 years, and they still look like new. No sagging blades and the finish still looks great! Living in central Texas, it gets SUPER hot (100+ almost all summer), and we have humidity at times, and these fans have held up great. They move a lot of air and are VERY quiet. They really do make a huge difference on our back patio. We're able to enjoy it many more months than without them. For the price, you can't beat the appearance, quality, and value of this fan.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Captiva 52 in. Indoor/Outdoor New Bronze Ceiling Fan-DISCONTINUED

Great Product

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Hope this one lasts longer than the first. Of course the first was not a "Hunter" Fan
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Captiva 52 in. Indoor/Outdoor New Bronze Ceiling Fan-DISCONTINUED
from Kinston, NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Fans

PostedAugust 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great Fans. Attractive and extremely quiet. When running you only hear air flowing.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Stylish, Well Made, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Captiva 52 in. Indoor/Outdoor New Bronze Ceiling Fan-DISCONTINUED
from Magnolia, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent product for the value

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product was easily installed and operates with complete satisfaction. The store personnel were all very helpful, from assisting in selection through check out.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Well Made
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Captiva 52 in. Indoor/Outdoor New Bronze Ceiling Fan-DISCONTINUED
from Princeton, Iowa

Great fan at a gerat price!

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Fan installed nicely and required very little to balance the blades. Actually installed two fans and the second one had some shipping damage. Home Depot replaced in immediately from stock with no questions and no hassel!.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Captiva 52 in. Indoor/Outdoor New Bronze Ceiling Fan-DISCONTINUED
from Winter Park, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

TOTALLY SATISFIED

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
THESE 2 HUNTER FANS ARE THE BEST,MOST QUIET CEILING FANS I HAVE EVER PURCHASED FOR MY GARAGE. UPS DELIVERED THEM QUICKLY,UNDAMAGED, AND FREE SHIPPING.WHAT ELSE CAN I SAY!!! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Captiva 52 in. Indoor/Outdoor New Bronze Ceiling Fan-DISCONTINUED
from Encinitas, California
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Yeah! Blades that won't "swell" or come apart in humidity!!!

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We used to go through ceiling fans like water, as the blades (99% made of pressed MDF) would eventually succumb to the humidity here @ the beach. The blades in all our other fans became unable to be cleaned, as the ambient humidity made the fan blades swell and become off balance.
These blades are PLASTIC. IMPERVIOUS to swelling. They don't look "cheap" as when the fan is in use, you can't "see the blades", so their composition is a much better choice in our weather environment.
From now on? I'll go plastic, and much easier to clean ;)
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Captiva 52 in. Indoor/Outdoor New Bronze Ceiling Fan-DISCONTINUED
from Ft Worth, Tx

Wonderful Fan!!!

PostedJuly 10, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased two Hunter Captivia model 21318 ceiling fan for a open covered patio at my lake house. We installed it on angle iron and was worried that it would be noisey. It has a rubber shield that covers the top of the motor to make it weather pruf and it is so very quite, no vibration at all. It puts out LOTS of air. Since I purchased two of these fans I am thinking about purchasing another one just to have a spare in case something happens to one, then I would still have a matching pair. You will not be disappointed in this fan. I have only purchased Hunter fans since the early 80's and have never had a problem. Hunter fans are the very best!!!!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Captiva 52 in. Indoor/Outdoor New Bronze Ceiling Fan-DISCONTINUED
from Jacksonville, NC

Captiva Bronze Ceiling Fan

PostedSeptember 26, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I found this Ceiling Fan to be a perfect replacement for one I needed to replace at my home.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Captiva 52 in. Indoor/Outdoor New Bronze Ceiling Fan-DISCONTINUED
from Branford, CT

This fan is awesome!

PostedJuly 24, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Purchased this fan this past month at my local H.D. to mount in a front screened in porch. (Was $99 on sale there). Then ordered the Marine II New Bronze Outdoor Light Kit to go with it.
This fan was sort of a pain to put together, nothing quick about it, but the payoff is huge, as it is wet rated for outdoor use also.
Live on the shore, and don't have AC, so putting this on the front porch cools the front of the house significantly as the temps. have been unusually high here this summer. The fan is so quiet. This is the best performing fan I have ever gotten. I wish my other Hunter fans on the interior of my house were as good.
The ONLY negative with this, was that I could only find 1 (one) outdoor wet rated light kit that matched the new bronze color of this fan. Would have been nice to have other choices.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Captiva 52 in. Indoor/Outdoor New Bronze Ceiling Fan-DISCONTINUED
from Northern Ky.

Hunter ceiling fan

PostedJuly 30, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I just bought this fan for my covered porch. It was easy to install, very quite operation, and good airflow. I also got it on sale for 99.00, which was a great deal. The only draw back was there wasn't a good selection of outdoor light kits where I purchased the fan. I've always been a big fan of hunter fans over the years.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Captiva 52 in. Indoor/Outdoor New Bronze Ceiling Fan-DISCONTINUED
from AL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

attractive and functional and price was great

PostedJune 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We ordered this online and received it a day and a half later with free shipping. The fan is very nice looking and we wanted a darker shade fan vs. a white one for under our deck. It was easy to install and included hardware to balance it even after installation when we realized it was a little shaky. An easy fix. And the darker color is a bonus since we won't have to deal with rust spots like you would on a white outdoor fan. We like it so much we ordered another one to replace our rusted white one on our beach condo patio. I can't wait to get it installed. It does not come with a remote but with our setup we did not need one. And the price was amazing especially compared to most other fans. Hope to get many years of use out of it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Captiva 52 in. Indoor/Outdoor New Bronze Ceiling Fan-DISCONTINUED

Great fan!

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Wonderful to be able to sit out on the deck with a guaranteed breeze! This fan makes our deck much more usable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Captiva 52 in. Indoor/Outdoor New Bronze Ceiling Fan-DISCONTINUED
from Metairie, LA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
Home Improvement Profile:Other

IT'S A HUNTER...IT'S BULLETPROOF

PostedOctober 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
MY LAST HUNTER, YEARS AGO, HAD OIL PORTS. WE
HAD IT FOR YEARS AND THEN MOVED .IT IS STILL
GOING, I BELIEVE. THIS HUNTER HAS NO OIL PORTS, BUT SEEMS AS WELL MADE. EZ INSTALL, AND AN OUTDOOR MATCHING LIGHT KIT WITH 2 13W CFL
BULBS FOR ABOUT $40, PLENTY OF LIGHT AND IT
IS LOW PROFILE. MADE ME HAPPY
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Captiva 52 in. Indoor/Outdoor New Bronze Ceiling Fan-DISCONTINUED
from Phoenix, AZ

Perfect fit for the patio

PostedNovember 17, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Beautiful styling and fit for the new covered patio. Silent running and very easy to install. Looks great with the Mariner II light kit!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 >>