728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Natural Stone Tile or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Chiaro 4 in. x 4 in. Tumbled Travertine Floor and Wall Tile (1 sq. ft. / case)

Chiaro 4 in. x 4 in. Tumbled Travertine Floor and Wall Tile (1 sq. ft. / case)

Chiaro is a natural stone travertine that illustrates a rustic "old world" charm. Perfect for today's casual lifestyle. With a large selection of sizes and accessories to choose from, chiaro can easily be laid in a pattern or single layout. This particular travertine is suitable for residential and commercial installations, including kitchens and bathrooms. NOTE: Inspect all tiles before installation. Natural stone products inherently lack uniformity and are subject to variation in color, shade, finish, etc. It is recommended to blend tiles from different boxes when installing. Natural stones may be characterized by dry seams and pits that are often filled. The filling can work its way out and it may be necessary to refill these voids as part of a normal maintenance procedure. All natural stone products should be sealed with a penetrating sealer. After installation, vendor disclaims any liabilities.
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product8 of 8reviews
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(6)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(0)
Appearance 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product8 of 8reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for Chiaro 4 in. x 4 in. Tumbled Travertine Floor and Wall Tile (1 sq. ft. / case)
Review 1 for Chiaro 4 in. x 4 in. Tumbled Travertine Floor and Wall Tile (1 sq. ft. / case)
from Palm Coast, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Beautiful kitchen backsplash!

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The tile is tumbled so it is not uniform and smooth. This is kind of scary when you first open it and we did have to toss a few for broken corners and holes that went clear through. But, our installer said it was easy to cut and quite uniform overall. Once he grouted and the holes became semi-filled, a beautiful look was achieved. The new backsplash did wonders for our cabinets and granite. There are about 3 different shades that I would call, cream, beige, and taupe. Be careful not to use too dark a grout. We went with "bone." The glass tiles were inexpensive and came in 12" x 12" sheets. What an inexpensive way to make your kitchen look elegant and modern! We feel like we're in Tuscany every time we're in the kitchen.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Great Accent, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Chiaro 4 in. x 4 in. Tumbled Travertine Floor and Wall Tile (1 sq. ft. / case)
from Shreveport, Louisiana
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Received What was Ordered Promptly

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
These tiles were ordered to make coasters for Christmas for my neighbors. Because of the "natural" look of the tiles, there was no guarantee any of them would be usable, so I ordered one extra case. I had just enough - I could not use what amounted to a case. Glad I got extra! They came out very well, after stamping then sealing, and putting felt pads on the bottom. All in all, I got what I ordered!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Chiaro 4 in. x 4 in. Tumbled Travertine Floor and Wall Tile (1 sq. ft. / case)
from Norman, OK, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just love it!

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased 60sf of this tile for my bathroom. Was a little skeptical from some of the reviews but it was just as I had hoped. Only a couple were chipped out of all those tiles. They were easy to cut, easy to install and look fabulous! They were shipped super fast and packaged very well. I am totally pleased.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Looks High End
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Chiaro 4 in. x 4 in. Tumbled Travertine Floor and Wall Tile (1 sq. ft. / case)
from shoreline, CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Rich & Rustic Tile

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This tumbled tile has just the casual yet rich look I was hoping for. The natural earthy tones go well with everything. Very happy with my choice ...& Home Depot's price!
Pros: Looks Great, Looks High End
Cons: a few tiles too irregular to use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Chiaro 4 in. x 4 in. Tumbled Travertine Floor and Wall Tile (1 sq. ft. / case)

Amazing little tile for an amazing little price.

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These tiles are under $4.00 a square foot and very easy to install. If you're after a formal look, they're not for you, as there are color variations between them, they have natural holes and some edges are chipped. However, we did a fireplace surround and hearth with them, using another type for trim and a more finished base piece, and it turned out fantastic. It's a casual, comfortable feel. As a neighbor who stopped by said "this has a really cozy feel". We're totally thrilled with the outcome and will definitely be using these tiles again when we finally get around to redoing our master bath
Pros: Looks Great
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Chiaro 4 in. x 4 in. Tumbled Travertine Floor and Wall Tile (1 sq. ft. / case)
from Albuquerque, NM
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Gorgeous countertop in bath

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was looking for something light colored with some character for my bathroom countertop. It needed to be a lighter color to offset the talavera sink, and this travertine fit the job perfectly. I purchased about 10 packages and there were 2 chipped tiles total. I just used these tiles for the cut pieces so no harm. Tiles were easy to cut using a mason blade. I used a white sanded grout, and grouted in between the tiles with a baking bag so I would not get grout in the natural holes in the tile. I wanted to keep that character. Applied 5 coats of glossy sealer and really got the sealer down in the natural holes in the tiles and it looks absolutely fantastic. Very pleased and will probably re-do kitchen countertop with medium color travertine.
Pros: Great Accent, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Looks High End, Effective
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Chiaro 4 in. x 4 in. Tumbled Travertine Floor and Wall Tile (1 sq. ft. / case)
from Auburn, AL, USA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

We actually returned product as not a high enough quality

PostedApril 6, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
The service at store and online was exceptionally good. The tiles were of such a poor overall quality that we returned them and bought elsewhere. Sorry to say.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Chiaro 4 in. x 4 in. Tumbled Travertine Floor and Wall Tile (1 sq. ft. / case)
from Naples, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The tiles are beautiful.

PostedFebruary 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Tiles were a bargain price and were excellent quality. They are non-skid in my shower floor and look great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.